21st July 2005, 09:59 PM
Senior Hubber
Good Movies You would Recommend Others to Watch
Though each person has its own taste, there are certain movies which will touch one and all.. There are certain movies which are not blockbusters or not even hits, but still the movie is a good one.. Lets use this thread to share such movies..
21st July 2005 09:59 PM
21st July 2005, 10:00 PM
Senior Hubber
Let me begin with these two..
21 Grams - I watched this movie recently.. Its an amazing movie revolving around 3 characters and their lives and they end up together... Manirathnam certainly took some inspiration from this movie when making 'aayudha ezuthu'.. I would recommend this movie to any 'Drama' movie lover..
Almost famous - This is an old movie (2001) and is about Music and Rolling stones.. The movie moves around a teenager who travels with a rock band to write about them.. I would recommend this for viewers who are interested in Rock music with a liking for Drama...
22nd July 2005, 01:52 AM
Junior Hubber
The Transporter(2002): very good movie. Very good fight scenes and driving scenes. No innapropriate scenes and the direction and acting is perfect.
Where's the Party Yaar?(2003): hillarious desi comedy(in English). This is one of the funniest movies about Indian people that i have seen so far.
22nd July 2005, 03:42 PM
Senior Hubber
Saw this on Zee MGM (now Zee Studio) recently... dunno if this was a hit or not...
Savior - One of the best movies i've seen. A long and hard look at war, the human side of war, seen through the eyes of an American soldier fighting in the Serbian war.
22nd July 2005, 11:32 PM
Memento
By Christopher Nolan,an amazingly brilliant modern Noir movie.this is definitely not a movie for everyone and repeated viewings may be required.one of my all time favourite.
Usual Suspects good suspense movie.
Snatch a guy Ritchie movie with Brad Pitt and Jason Statham(Transporter) absolutely hilarious movie.
Seven, Brad Pitt in the lead role this is also an excellent movie.
23rd July 2005, 12:20 AM
Senior Hubber
vingem,
Thanks.. Memento and Seven were popular movies during its time.. Memento is a classic movie and you need a paper and pen to watch this movie to retrace the scenes.. I sometimes have to do this with Tarantino movies :)
26th July 2005, 02:42 PM
Admin HubberNewbie HubberTeam HubberModerator HubberPro Hubber
vannakkam
I would like to talk about a few movies that touched my heart.
1. Steeling magnolias: It is a very lovely story of a mother and daughter. The daughter's role was casted by Julia roberts and I dont know the name of the mother character but it is a very lovely movie. It makes you laugh and cry.
2. While you were sleeping: By sandra bullock, it is hilarious.
I will think about more movies that I really enjoyed and let you know.
26th July 2005, 06:35 PM
priya :
Yes, Steel Magnolias was indeed a touching movie. Written by Robert Harling of Natchitoches, it is a moving, bittersweet story line centers around six women in a small southern town who comes to terms with life, death and marriage. It blends comedy and tragedy with stars Sally Field (Julia Robert's mother in this movie), Dolly Parton, Shirley MacLaine, Daryl Hannah, Olympia Dukakis, and Julia Roberts weave the variety of southern life on film.
While you were sleeping with Sandra was another one I enjoyed, the same as Miss Congeniality and Two Weeks Notice.
Others i've enjoyed watching were Terms of Endearment (a touching movie), Sleepless in Seattle, When Harry Met Sally, Pretty Woman, To Kill A Mockingbird (an old movie with Gregory Peck in it).....more when I remember!
27th July 2005, 02:25 PM
Senior Hubber
Seven was one heck of a movie!
Pretty Woman....
----------------------------------------------------------
1)Legally Blond 1
2)Ever after
3)Dangerous minds
4)The Jackal
5)Frailty
6)Abyss
7)Blade 1
8)Predator 1 & 2
9)Face Off
10)Edward Scissorshand
11)Muriel's Wedding
12)My Best Friend's Wedding
13)Father of the Bride (classic and now alike)
14)Cruel Intentions
15)Bride and Prejudice
16)Lancelot
17)Maverick
18)Sommersby
19)Little Man Tate
27th July 2005, 07:52 PM
Beautiful Mind was a good movie too!
Roxanne - a comedy movie with Steve Martin
There was one movie I saw ages ago about a guy with 5 split personalities - a true story - it was really really nice! Will find out the name of the movie...
ET, Tootsie, Ghostbusters, Beverly Hills Cop, Romancing the Stone, Back to the Future, Top Gun, Ruthless People (Danny de Vito- comedy), Twins (Danny de vito and Arnold Sch), Three Men and a baby, Good Morning Vietnam, RainMan, Lethal Weapon, Independance Day, Working Girls....