View Full Version : Kugan's Kitchen Part 6

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

kugan98
14th February 2011, 10:15 AM
Suvai here is my grandma's version of twisted seeni murukku.

TWISTED SEENI MURUKKU

Ingredients:

300 grms all purpose flour
2 tbs of oil
¼ cup or less or more little water
A pinch of salt
A pinch of baking powder (to make it crisp)
Oil for frying

For Syrup:
1 cup sugar
¼ cup water

Method:
Place the flour in the bowl, add in the pinch of salt, cooking soda.
Add in the oil, now add adequate water and knead
into a tight ball. Cover and leave aside for ½ an hour.
The dough will have to be tight otherwise it will not hold the shape

Divide the dough into small balls. The size of a small lime.
Roll out each ball into thin oval shaped puris.
Now with a knife slit along the puri, without cutting the edges.
Roll the slitted puri slowly. Press both ends so that
they will not open when frying.
Heat oil in wok, and deep fry the twisted murukku, till golden colour.
Remove on to tissue paper to absorb extra oil.

In a broad based pot, add in the sugar and water.
Bring to a boil, till the syrup thickens.
When the white bubble shows, add in the fried twisted murukkus.
Stir constantly on low heat, so that all the murukkus are coated well.
Turn off the heat at once or the sugar will crystallize soon.
Cool and store in an airtight tin.

Thanks to the net for the picture.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5057/5484155051_f1dbc12232_m.jpg

kugan98
14th February 2011, 10:18 AM
Suvai, thanks for the link.
I will soon post the vindaloo recipe for you.
Thanks, Kugan98

suvai
14th February 2011, 10:19 AM
kugan nga...........thank u thank u...........grandmakum periya thank u........:-)
enna sollunga....pazhaya recipes naaley oru thani sirapu thaan...antha kaalathiley epadi ellaam yosichi try panni irukaanga recipes......wow thaan.........try pannitu sollaren for sure.

take yr time nga to post the vindaloo recipe.....no hurry.

dev
14th February 2011, 02:05 PM
:lol:@ Raj unncle...

Thanks for the tip K...:)

Suvai, I have already bookmarked mriganayani blog... but since the bookmark is too lonng, I forgot abt it altogether... thanks for reminding me of this blog...:)

Aarthii
15th February 2011, 02:00 AM
suvaika,u r back.
Nice to see u again :)

Aarthii
15th February 2011, 02:00 AM
kuganka,within two days,u have posted many recipes
Thanks for all the recipes.

suvai
15th February 2011, 06:32 AM
aarthi :-) back for now.

dev....book marked ah erkanavey??? i think avanga fav's links are also good...did u try 4th sense cooking? pretty presentations....try panni paarunga.

kugan nga...kitchen la konjam jaasthi satham podalaama...nm /selvi & sudha kaathila vizharaa maathri :noteeth::bangcomp:....sorry :bang paathiram: icon iila ...............athaan bang computer icon pottu iruken...hehehehe

& this wont allow me to add more than 4 icons...lol

dev
15th February 2011, 08:56 AM
Suvai, I am regular to 4th sense cooking aswell...:lol: do chk out her arts n crafts blog aswell...:)

suvai
15th February 2011, 09:00 AM
gm dev...oh ya i saw even what her grand mom & mom made ..;-)

selvieam
15th February 2011, 04:27 PM
suvai welcome back. missed u sooooooooo much
howz everything. after ur visit, hub kalakala erukku,

selvieam
15th February 2011, 04:28 PM
kugan,

karakolukattai is simply superb. today again spice potato rice. awesome.

selvieam
15th February 2011, 04:28 PM
dinner planning to make rawa idli, will post feedback

suvai
16th February 2011, 08:55 AM
ahaa dinner rava idliyaa nga selvi.........thottuka??? hope its a nice mint chutney...good to see u too nga selvi...;-)

Even i made rava idly over the weekend....easy to make & tasty too....maavai karaichomaa....idly paathirathiley oothinomaa.....vega vaichomaaa...within mins...suda suda aavi parakara rava idly readyyyy..............intha vaaram marubadi rava idly senja...naaaan ravai aagiduven....:noteeth:

kugan98
16th February 2011, 09:10 AM
Thanks Dev, Aarthii, Suvai and Selviem for all your beautiful posts.

Glad Selviem you liked the recipes.
Take care every one Kugan98

kugan98
16th February 2011, 09:11 AM
Suvai, here is the recipe for your friend.

CHICKEN VINDALOO

Ingredients:
1 kg chicken breasts cut into big pieces.
3 big onions sliced
2 large tomatoes chopped
3 tbs of ghee

Vindaloo Paste:
2 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp fenugreek seeds
1 tsp black pepper
1 bay leaf
3 tsp coriander powder
2 tsp chillie powder
¼ tsp cardamom powder
4 green chillies
1 tbs ginger paste
1 tbs garlic paste
¼ tsp cinnamon powder
¼ tsp clove powder
½ tsp turmeric powder
2 tsp salt
Enough vinegar

Method:
Grind everything for the vindaloo paste with the vinegar.
Marinate the chicken pieces with the vindaloo paste,
and keep in the fridge over night.
(If you are in a hurry marinate for 1 hour)

Heat a thick wok with the ghee.
Fry the sliced onions, till they turn golden.
Remove and keep aside.

Now in the same pan add in the chicken with the marinate.
Stir fry for about 5 minutes.
Now add in the chopped tomatoes and about 150ml water.
Mix nicely, cover and simmer for about 20 minutes.

Now remove the cover, add in the fried onions and cook
for about 10 minutes till the chicken is cooked well.
The gravy will be thick. Taste for salt and remove.

NOTE: some like to add potatoes to this curry.
You can boil, cube and add last while adding the onions.

Thanks to the net for the picture.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5175/5484731828_f1eb8fa051_z.jpg

suvai
16th February 2011, 09:14 AM
vaanga vaanga kugan...:-) gm to u.
thank u for the vindaloo recipe...apadiye copy paste - print panni koduthidaren.....romba romba tanks ngo.
iniki angey breakfast ennaanu ketkalaama?
enaku breakfast thaan rombaaaa mukiyam...i love my bf & cant be without it...:noteeth:

kugan98
16th February 2011, 10:30 AM
Dev, here is a recipe with green peas.
My niece cooked with panner. Thanks, Kugan

TOFU WITH GREEN PEAS

Ingredients:

2 cups tofu cubed and fried
½ cup fresh green peas
1 cup cubed potatoes
2 tomatoes chopped
4 green chillies sliced
¼ cup curds
2 tbs oil
Salt to taste
¼ cup onion paste

2 tsp coriander powder
1 tsp red chillie powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
2 onions chopped
½ tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp dried fenugreek leaves
1 bay leaf
1 inch cinnamon stick
2 cardamom pods

Method:
Heat a wok with the oil, add in cumin seeds and let it splutter.
Then add in bay leaf, cinnamon stick and cardamom pods.

Now add in the green chillies, chopped onions and the chopped tomatoes.
Sauté well, now add in the onion paste, coriander powder, chillie powder,
turmeric powder and stir fry well.

Add in about 2 cups of water, mix well add in the potatoes.
Let it cook on medium heat till cooked.
Add in the curds, little by little so that it mixes well.
Add in the green peas, fried tofu, and mix well.
Add little water if you want more gravy.
Add salt, dried fenugreek leaves. Mix well.
Taste for salt and remove.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5098/5484642907_514412373d.jpg

kugan98
16th February 2011, 12:34 PM
Suvai, you made me to cry by asking me my breakfast:cry2::cry2::cry2:
Just plain oats with little salt.
Lunch 1 chapathi with keerai kutoo without any thalipoo.
On severe pathiyam, as I said no thembu to write and post recipes.
Feel very weak, well no choice.
Thanks, Kugan98

dev
16th February 2011, 12:38 PM
peas curry looks yum!!!...:slurp:

tvsankar
16th February 2011, 12:43 PM
kugan,
take care.. pathiyam.. sari.. weak a pora alavuka...... frequent a - healthy a - light a - edhavadhu eduthukonga..
wat about the fruit juice... salads..

take care kugan.....................

selvieam
16th February 2011, 01:52 PM
suvai,

ofcourse rava idli is too tasty. very easy to make. i agree with ur comments.

do u use eno salt for that?

selvieam
16th February 2011, 01:53 PM
awesome rava idli kugan, we all enjoyed with red capsicum kara chutney. left over idlis i made like idli uppma with idli podi and packed for the box today.

selvieam
16th February 2011, 01:54 PM
tofu with green peas is tempting, will prepare in the weekend and post the feedback

dev
16th February 2011, 02:24 PM
Suvai, you made me to cry by asking me my breakfast:cry2:
Just plain oats with little salt.
Lunch 1 chapathi with keerai kutoo without any thalipoo.
On severe pathiyam, as I said no thembu to write and post recipes.
Feel very weak, well no choice.
Thanks, Kugan98

K, no thalipoo is ok...but 1 chapathi...:roll: Have they asked u limit the quantity as well?... :think:

kugan98
16th February 2011, 02:48 PM
Thanks tvshanker, Selviem, Dev and friends.
I am not supposed to add, lime, tamarind, sour fruits, kadugu, mustard leaves, tofu, gingelly oil, masala,
milk products, bananas, tomatoes. He also added nothing that grows underground.
Ennathai saapiduvathu? The cooking is very bland. So no appetite. Its so difficult to push down the 1 chapathi.
Can take idli, no dosai, iddiappam, puttu. What will be the combo for that?
My head is going round. Have to go on until the end of April.
Do not worry friends, somehow I will try to survive. Recipes will not come as often as before.
I will try my best to post. Thanks, Kugan98

dev
16th February 2011, 03:09 PM
K, innovate!!!... take this as an opportunity to innovate new dishes with whatever they have allowed u to take... If u are not banned from taking nuts, coconut, peppercorns,jeera,oils other than gingelly oil etc, I am sure U can come up with many new dishes... unga cooking experienceku idhu oru challengenu ninaichukonga... Post the new recipes that u comeup with and we too will join u and see how the paththiyam dishes taste!!...

Anyway, 1 chapathi ellam saapitaal u won't meet even the base minimum of 1200cal/day... that is definitely BAD... if u can take sugar/jaggery/honey, just spread it on chapathi and roll it...and eat...appadiyaavadhu innoru chapathyai ulla thannidunga...;)

kugan98
16th February 2011, 03:40 PM
Dev, no nuts, no coconut.:banghead: Only sun flower oil about 1/2 tsp.
Thats what I do, honey, spread on the chapathi and make a wrap.
Iddiappam, idli ellam honey thaan. I will later post a kutoo recipe,
see how it looks:cry3: Thanks Dev, Kugan

kugan98
16th February 2011, 03:42 PM
Selviem yes we do add eno fruit salt for the rava idli.
The recipe is in Kugan's Kitchen 5. Page 19.
Try and see. Thanks Kugan98

tvsankar
16th February 2011, 03:47 PM
kugan,
pacha mugalai serthikalama..
paasi parupu serthikalama.....

thakkali serthika kudadha....... puliyum serthika kudadha........

tvsankar
16th February 2011, 03:48 PM
unga post padichen kugan. got it.. puliyum, thakkaliyum ilama enna samaikaradhu.......

tvsankar
16th February 2011, 03:49 PM
Lemon kum no va...........

16th February 2011, 04:06 PM
Hi Kugan Ka and Co

Shiv Ji is back :)

Kugan ka, hope you are well, I have not been following this thread for a while due high volumen of work in office.

This toffu thing, can you cook it without frying, I tried it too many times with frying, but it turned out too oily that I couldn't eat it

dev
16th February 2011, 05:01 PM

ennada idhu kuganku vandha sodhanai!!! appo pesama veggiesa steam panni salt n pepper potu saapida vendiyadhu thaan...:( :sigh: But if this is going to cure you completely, then no second thoughts... innum 2 maasam thaane... but qty rombe kuraichidatheenga K...eppadiyaavadhu oru moderate qty saapitidunga... illanna u'll become too weak by the end of this pathiyam... aprom adhu edhavadhu pudhu health problem vanthida pogudhu... paarthukonga...

dev
16th February 2011, 05:06 PM
Hi Kugan Ka and Co

Shiv Ji is back :)

Kugan ka, hope you are well, I have not been following this thread for a while due high volumen of work in office.

This toffu thing, can you cook it without frying, I tried it too many times with frying, but it turned out too oily that I couldn't eat it

avalo kashtapattu en adhai saapidureennga...:P

K has posted some recipes for steamed tofu n all... thedi pidichu senju paarunnga... Scrambled tofu with lots of spices nn veggies will be good... also, u can add it to any dish without frying...but andha taste avalova nalla irukaadhu IMO... neenga try pannni paarunga pidikudhaanu...neenga podura kaarathukku oru velai nalla irundhaalum irukkum!!!

16th February 2011, 05:21 PM
Ezhumalai Devuda

Nalla ma :)

I have tried that steamed one, but it was so soft, it sort of melted :oops: Oh well Shiv ji is not a good cook :|

dev
16th February 2011, 05:49 PM
Ezhumalai Devuda

I have tried that steamed one, but it was so soft, it sort of melted :oops: Oh well Shiv ji is not a good cook :|

oh!!!...maybe u should've used a diff type of tofu... I'm not used to cooking with tofu... so we better wait for K to give her inputs...:)

me nalam...how abt u?...enna eppo ketaalum busy busynu padam podureenga!!!...

16th February 2011, 05:59 PM
me nalam...how abt u?...enna eppo ketaalum busy busynu padam podureenga!!!...

enoda singnature vaasiyunga appO theriyum naa evalavu Busy nu :lol2: :yessir:

16th February 2011, 06:10 PM
Ezhumalai Devuda

What is new? shivji is a destroyer! :)

rose75
16th February 2011, 08:35 PM
Kugan I felt very sad to read your post. Please take care, your health is very important.
Do not worry about the recipes, they can wait. Take care Kugan.

Madhu Sree
16th February 2011, 10:38 PM
rendu moonu naal varaama , appram KK pakkam vandhaaa jolyyaa irukku... overflow of recipes..... :redjump:

K, I tried ur cocunut poli... :slurp: sema tastyaa irundhudhu,,, thanks... (amma neraya thadava senjirukkaaanga, appolaam try panna thonala, nowadays my interests hv gone higher towards cooking tasty fud... :D Thanks a lot... ;)

I did brinji for dinner yesterday, it turned out to be super duper hit, never imagined tht I can cook this my tastier brinji...

Yet to see other recipes from u... paathittu edha try pannalaamnu yosichu solren...:P

Suja Rajkumar
16th February 2011, 11:50 PM
K,
Unga post parthu paavam ayiducchi. You post so many good recipes I feel sad for you. But 1 chappathi is too less. As Dev said minimum req is 1200 cal. Don't go below that. How about thalikattha kootu without coconut? Take care of you health. My prayers are with you.

Welcome Suvainga. Missed you.

Suja

Aarthii
17th February 2011, 02:21 AM
suvai,

ofcourse rava idli is too tasty. very easy to make. i agree with ur comments.

do u use eno salt for that?

selvika,i used to add ENO fruit salt to rava idli mix.
It will trun out very soft selvika.

Aarthii
17th February 2011, 02:25 AM
kuganka,
Take care of ur health.
i felt very bad while reading ur post.
Health is very important kuganka.

Pathiya dishes-um free irukum pothu post pannunga.

suvai
17th February 2011, 06:46 AM
kugan nga sorry to hear that.... ongala konja nenja pathiyam ilaama semma pathiyathiley pottu irukaanga..hmmm..kandipa romba kashtamaa thaan irukum to cook without general ingridients.....

Cheer up nga.....seekiram udambu gunam aagidichinaa...apuram ellaamey saapidalaam thaaney...ipo sacrifice apuram partyyyy :noteeth: odiye poidum months.....april is just around the corner....for being such a sport here is a simple recipe that u can eat ;-) hope the ingris are such that u can eat.

chapaathi roll :

lettuce...nalla thin ahhhh slice pannikonga...
kothamalli nalla podisa narukikonga

ipo konjam keerai/kathirikai/poosani/zuchini/cabbage/beans/pattani ellaam pottu konjama thanni pottu manjal podi pottu (if u can) vega vachi....just mash it all onnum paathiyuma.....can u add black pepper? if so add it along with salt....poondu? if yes add one clove...ilaati without it....half green chilli if u r allowed....ellaathaiyum nalla vega vachi konjam mash panni vachikonga.....now (ithu oru pav baaji mathri consistency ku kondu varanum....so put the whole mashed vegies onto a tava....& let the water evaporate....oru mothai maathri irukum ipo.... ileengala?..basically u add any veg that u can eat & prepare it the above way sareengala!

now u take the chapathi nalla soodu pannitu.....spread the mashed veg mothai on it.....now add the crispy lettuce....sprinkle some kothamalli.....voilaaaaaaaaaaa....u have a super soft taco ready....it will be much better than eating with plain keerai....

if u can take brown bread...u can roll a slice out thin...now put the vegies mothai on it ....roll the bread slice oru sausage roll maathri now what u can do is place it on a baking dish & bake it till the bread slice turns slightly brown....u now remove this from the oven....sprinkle some sliced lettuce on top & sprinkle some kothamalli....hmmmm a super fancy dish ready....onga veetila ellaarum ketka poraanga neenga paarungalen....:noteeth:

u have to have more supplements so drink fruit juices adikadi.....morning saathukudi / orange

evening pomegranate juice....ilaati....have a bowl of mixed fruits....get frozen berries....u can add to the bowl.

now.....another way to eat is chappathi u can mash up a banana...sprinkle some vellam (brown sugar)...& add a pinch of cinnamon powder to it.....spread it & have it as a desert too....

mash up apples & u can do the same....as the bananas....u can also make yr chapathi crisp....& add some boiled mashed apples with brown sugar / vellam or honey & cinnamom.....crispya saapita nalla irukum nga.

just pm me what exactly u can eat & i will try to gather more recipes for u or picky my own brain (noteeth icon pottukonga)

virunthu nu neenaichi pathiya saapaatai saapitudunga plz...(wink icon here)

Take care of yr health nga kugan...a lot of prayers are being said for u ...

suvai
17th February 2011, 06:51 AM
selvi ngo.....i dont add enos to my rava idly......but they come out well..........ilati irukavey iruku MTR mix...:noteeth:

awww sorry nga suja & selvi....that u both missed me too...sometimes u gotta do what u gotta do ;-) ileengala!

.....kaanavilai nu paper la advertisement kodukaama iruntha sareee.....:rotfl::rotfl:

17th February 2011, 06:53 AM
Must be getting ready for marriage? As they say the path to a man's heart is through his stomach! :)
Have fun ! :)

(amma neraya thadava senjirukkaaanga, appolaam try panna thonala, nowadays my interests hv gone higher towards cooking tasty fud... :D Thanks a lot... ;)

suvai
17th February 2011, 06:55 AM
sorry nga kugan & dev for a longgggg posts....

kugan98
17th February 2011, 01:14 PM
My dear Tamby, soft tofu is no good for frying.
It is only good for steaming. You can fry firm tofu.
Even firm tofu you need not deep fry. You can shallow fry.
There will not be much oil. I usually shallow fry to add to my noodles.
I add it raw when I cook beans sprouts with it.

I am posting pictures of soft tofu and firm tofu.
Today I grilled firm tofu for lunch.
I will post the recipe. Take care, Kugan98

SOFT TOFU:
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5099/5484694656_8794f88553.jpg

FIRM TOFU:
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5218/5484694684_247071ddd9.jpg

kugan98
17th February 2011, 01:18 PM
Tamby, here is the recipe for grilled tofu. Kugan98

GRILLED TOFU

Ingredients:

10 firm tofu, sliced horizontally

Marinate:
1 tbs of honey
1 tsp very finely grated ginger
1 tsp very finely grated garlic
1 tbs thick soy sauce
1 tsp red chillie powder
2 tsp Japanese sesame sauce

1 tbs of sesame oil
Lime to garnish
Onion slices to garnish

Method:
Marinate the tofu slices in the above marinate, for about 3 hours.
Apply little sesame oil to the grilling pan.
Arrange the tofu slices and grill them in an oven.

Pour the marinate in a saucepan and boil till it is thick.
Remove the grilled tofu slices to a tray.
Pour the thick marinate over the slices.
Serve with a lime wedge and garnish with onion slices.

NOTE: If you do not have a grill, you can pan fry it.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5213/5484101189_25d11d3326_z.jpg

kugan98
17th February 2011, 01:24 PM
My dear friends, thank you all very much for the concern you all have for me.
I am really indebted to you all.

I think we all can forget about me for some time and concentrate on our cooking.
I feel very bad that I am upsetting every one.
Cheers Kugan will come out of this.
Thanks, thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
17th February 2011, 01:45 PM
Madhu Sree, I am very very happy that the dishes have come out nicely for you.
Please try other dishes and give us the feed back.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
17th February 2011, 01:59 PM
Suja, Rose, Aarthii, thanks for all your concern.
I am sure all your prayers will surely cure me.
Thanks, every one. Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
17th February 2011, 02:03 PM
Suvai, Kugan says:ty::ty::ty::ty::
You have taken so much trouble to cook up a dish for me.
Thanks again Suvai, I will surely try it out.

Thanks again Suvai, Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
17th February 2011, 02:54 PM
Friends, I met a cook in India, he gave me some tips.
I am posting them here. Thanks, Kugan98

SOME TIPS WHILE MAKING BIRYANI

Soak the biryani rice for only 15 minutes.
Only then your rice will look long and beautiful.

For rice cooker biryani the water rato is 1 to 1 ½

Always put the washed rice in the boiling water.
Not before the water boils. Do not stir it often.

Add a small piece of raw papaya while cooking mutton
for biryani. It takes less time to cook the mutton.

If making onion raitha for biryani, add little salt to the onions.
Keep aside for a minute, then squeeze and wash in water.
You will not have strong onion smell.

Small cubed bread slices fried in ghee, add more taste to the biryani.

Saute more onions in low flame in ghee while making biryani.
It gives a very nice taste and aroma.

When adding garlic and ginger, they should be the same amount.

Biryani would taste better if consumed after keeping for about 5 hours.

17th February 2011, 04:11 PM
Oh Amazing stuff Kugan ka, you are truly divine when it comes to cooking :)

Many Many thanks, I will try it this week end, and let you know

Take care of your health !

17th February 2011, 05:01 PM
Nice tips K :)

17th February 2011, 05:12 PM

K, I just saw this post of yours.. So sorry to hear. It must be difficult for you. Anyway, good that it is only up to April. Like Dev said make sure that you get the per day requirement of calories. Take care K.

lakme
17th February 2011, 06:12 PM
Kugan, I just came here and saw all the posts. With so much good will, you will definitely come out of this. All the best, will keep you
in my prayers.

tvsankar
17th February 2011, 07:15 PM
Kugan dear,
neenga enna enna sapidalam..list pannunga pl..
doctor kae doctor venum - udambu dhan idhu..enbadhu pola...,..

ungaluku - engalal mudinjdha recipe thara try panrom......... konjam variety kedaikudha parkalamae..........

wat about Lemon......... orange....... grapes........ sollunga kugan..........

dev
17th February 2011, 07:20 PM
Tvs aunty, no sour fruits for Kugan... so orange,lemon ellam out...

tvsankar
17th February 2011, 07:33 PM
dev,
thanks for the info.. hmm pulipu kudadha....

gulabjamun
17th February 2011, 08:27 PM
Kugan, thanks for the grilled tofu. Looks great, will try out soon.

17th February 2011, 10:49 PM
Tvs aunty, no sour fruits for Kugan... so orange,lemon ellam out...

enathu Aunty ah :shock:

Naa avangala ivalvu naalum akka nu koopitukitu irunthEn , sari, avangalayum antha Aunty list la sethukidurEn :)

Aarthii
18th February 2011, 02:07 AM
kuganka,tofu recipes looks good.
Thanks kuganka

tvsankar
18th February 2011, 02:36 AM
enathu Aunty ah :shock:

Naa avangala ivalvu naalum akka nu koopitukitu irunthEn , sari, avangalayum antha Aunty list la sethukidurEn :)

my age is 47 - enna nu kupida poreenga PS........

dev
18th February 2011, 10:28 AM
my age is 47 - enna nu kupida poreenga PS........

PSku 40...adhanaala akkane koopidalaam...:P

dev
18th February 2011, 10:59 AM
A simple chicken fry recipe by Chef Damu...

Heat 2 tbsp oil. Add sombu and curry leaves. Let brown.
Add slit green chilles, onion-1 chopped fine. Let it turn slightly brown.
Add 1/2 kg chicken, 2 sp coriander pwd, 1/2 sp chilly pwd, 1 sp pepper powder, turmeric,salt. Cook on medium flame-covered. No need to add water as the chicken will ooze out enough water.
once done, add a tbsp or 2 of pottu kadalai powder and keep mixing. keep flame on low. Cook for 2-3 till the raw smell goes off and the chicken dries out. Add more oil if masala sticks to bottom. The masala should coat each piece of chicken well.
Take off flame and add lemon juice if u wish to.
Serve garnished with coriander leaves.

kugan98
18th February 2011, 01:52 PM
Thanks Dev, for the chicken recipe.
I too owe a chicken pepper fry recipe to Rose75.
I will post soon.

Dev, do you remember the pasta episodes we had.
My friend sent me a Kerala pasta recipe.
She is bugging me why I have not posted it yet.
I will post soon. Thanks and take care. Kugan98

kugan98
18th February 2011, 02:04 PM
This is what my friend called this curry.
It tasted nice with chapathi in India:thumbsup:. Kugan98

POTATO PULI KULAMBU

Ingredients:
½ kg small potatoes or cut into cubes
3 medium onions sliced
4 medium tomatoes sliced
1 lime sized tamarind
3 tsp chillie powder
3 tbs coriander powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder

1 tbs oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp cumin seeds
½ tsp urad dal
¼ tsp fenugreek seeds
Little coriander leaves

Method:
Use 4 cups of water to extract the tamarind juice.
Heat oil in a wok, add all the seasonings.
Let them splutter. Add in the sliced onions.
Sauté well till they turn lightly brown. Add in the tomatoes.
Stir fry and cook till they turn mushy.

Add in the potatoes, turmeric , chillie and coriander powders.
Stir fry for a couple of minutes. Add in salt and the tamarind water.
Let it come to a boil, lower the heat.
Simmer till the potatoes are cooked.
Add little water if the gravy is very thick.
Remove and garnish with the coriander leaves.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5213/5484091581_03c7cc4b49_z.jpg

18th February 2011, 04:25 PM
PSku 40...adhanaala akkane koopidalaam...:P

Neenga Ungada vayasa sollakoodathu, Usha akka ungaluku thangachi mathirir :rotfl3:

muraipadu naa ungalaiyum akka nu thaan koopidanum :poke:

yOv I am 32 :hammer: :rant:

dev
18th February 2011, 04:51 PM
Neenga Ungada vayasa sollakoodathu, Usha akka ungaluku thangachi mathirir :rotfl3:

muraipadu naa ungalaiyum akka nu thaan koopidanum

yOv I am 32 :hammer: :rant:

en ippadi tension aagureenga... :lol2: neenga 32va irundhaalum naan ungalukku thangachi thaan...:P

dev
18th February 2011, 04:56 PM
K, nethu oru TV showla paarthen... simpleaa irundhichu... generally Chef Damu's recipes are good... adhaan post pannninen...:)

Potato puli kuzhambu paarka padu colorfulaa irukku... we rarely use potatoes at home... last week thaann senjom...ini 10 daysku potato thoda maatom...next time, will try this...:)

18th February 2011, 05:45 PM
en ippadi tension aagureenga... :lol2: neenga 32va irundhaalum naan ungalukku thangachi thaan...:P

Yah you are two day younger than me :lol2:

dev
18th February 2011, 05:49 PM
Yah you are two day younger than me

:notthatway: 2 daysa illai 2 monthsa 2 yearsaanu correcta sollanum... poi solla koodadhu... :yes: anyway, nnaann ungalai vida youngerngrathai oththukittadhukku nandri...;)

dev
18th February 2011, 06:44 PM
Idli/chapathi/parotta in spicy tamarind sauce : (Chef Damu)

Heat oil. Splutter mustard, curryleaves... Add dry chilles, green chillies slit, onions chopped. Saute till translucent.
Add coriander pwd, chilly pwd, turmeric pwd, salt. Saute for a min.
Add jaggery, tamarind juice. Let boil well and the thicken to a tomato sauce consistency.
Add mini idlis, mix well.
Serve garnished with coriander leaves.

Note:
Can do the same with chapathi, dosai, parotta, scrambled idli.

18th February 2011, 07:25 PM
Yah you are two day younger than me :lol2:

two-kkum day-kkum naduvile oru thousand missing? :)

18th February 2011, 08:13 PM
Uncle :lol:

18th February 2011, 08:15 PM
Uncle

Shiv ji Jo oda Signature ah vasicheengala ?

dev
18th February 2011, 08:36 PM
K, do post the kerala style pasta...

dev
18th February 2011, 08:45 PM
two-kkum day-kkum naduvile oru thousand missing? :)

.......:exactly:

18th February 2011, 09:05 PM
.......:exactly:

Yes I am ageless and Eternal, I am always young :poke:

gulabjamun
18th February 2011, 09:37 PM
Kugan, thank you very much for all the nice recipes. Kugan it was me who asked you for the fish pepper fry. Not Rose 75. Sorry kugan you must be very confused and tired.
Please take your time to post. Thank you very much.

dev
18th February 2011, 10:54 PM
Yes I am ageless and Eternal, I am always young :poke:

:sigh: .............

18th February 2011, 11:04 PM
:wave: dev

suvai
19th February 2011, 10:02 AM
kugan nga ongaluku oru puthu salad....;-)

1 kai alavu baby spinach.........oru arai kai alavu bean sprouts......grated carrots say half a kai..grated ginger 1/2 tsp........green onions cut konjam vaasanaiki say 1 tblspoon.....1 tblspoon puthina chopped...add salt & pepper.....it will be crunchy & fresh...mada mada nu saapitidunga ;-)..to this u can add boiled sundal....tastes good....;-)
try panni paarunga if u like it nu....

regularly one can add little walnuts...cranberries...lemon juice...olive oil....chile sauce...& mix

dev
19th February 2011, 11:07 AM
Suvai, K can't take veggies that grow below the ground...so that includes carrots, ginger and onions...:(

dev
19th February 2011, 11:08 AM
:wave: dev

Enge, marupadiyum himalayaska?...

kugan98
19th February 2011, 01:02 PM
Suvai, thank you very much for the recipe.
I really appreciate your thoughtfulness in finding recipes for me.
Do not worry I will plus and minus your recipe to suit me.
Thanks again Suvai. Kugan98

kugan98
19th February 2011, 01:04 PM
Sorry Gulabjamun, I will post the recipe soon for you.
I asked my niece to cook the fish pepper fry.
her picture is not very clear. Anyway I will post it for you.
Thanks and take care, Kugan98

kugan98
19th February 2011, 01:39 PM
Gulabjamun, I got this recipe from a hotel chef.
I think we can make it vegetarian by using cauliflower florets,
and making the batter without the egg.:goodidea::slurp:

HOTEL STYLE FISH PEPPER FRY

Ingredients:

200 grms of boneless fish cut into chunks (vanjaram fish)
1 tsp oil
1 tsp lime juice
½ tsp black pepper powder
Little salt

Batter:
1 egg
3 tbs corn flour
1 tsp maida flour
Little salt
Water to make batter

2 tbs butter
2 green chillies chopped
3 pips garlic chopped
1 tsp ginger chopped
1 sprig curry leaves
½ tsp pepper powder
½ tsp red chillie powder
2 tbs chopped coriander leaves

2 lemon slices for garnish
Oil for deep frying

Method:
Marinate the fish cubes with the lime juice, salt,
oil and pepper for about 20 minutes.

Mix the ingredients to make like a bajii batter.
Heat a wok with the oil. coat the fish with the batter.
Now add the pieces one by one and deep fry.
Remove and keep aside.

Heat a wok with the butter. Add in the garlic, ginger and green chillies.
Sauté well, add in the curry leaves, and the fried fish.
Now add in the pepper powder, chillie powder and toss well.
Add salt if needed. Add in the coriander leaves, toss well and remove.
Garnish with the cut lemon slices.

NOTE: We can cook this dish with cauliflower florets.
Omit the egg, while making the batter.

Sorry the picture is not clear:sigh2:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5295/5484080321_4c39b9c630_z.jpg

rose75
19th February 2011, 02:51 PM
Kugan, the fish pepper fry looks super. I am sure it will taste yummy.
I have tasted in hotels, I am sure it will be like this.
Kugan if you do not mind, do you have the recipe for fish fingers. My son loves it.
It is so expensive in hotels. Thanks. Rose75

dev
19th February 2011, 07:13 PM
rose, I have a simple recipe which I call as Fish Fingers...here it is...give it a try if u like it...

Cook fish in water to which lil salt and turmeric powder is added. De-bone and mash it.
Add in soya sauce, tomato sauce, chilli sauce, pepper powder, lemon juice(optional. can use vinegar aswell), salt. Mix well and shape it into logs(finger like).
Beat an egg and dip the fish fingers in it.
Roll them in bread crumbs and deep fry or shallow fry in oil .
Done!!!

suvai
19th February 2011, 08:52 PM
kugan nga.....yes plz do substitute ingris with what you can eat....sareengala!

dev...net la pathiya saapadu blogs or recipe books irukaa??? i am yet to stumble upon it. Most of the recipes do have some main ingri that K cannot use....

kugan nga/ dev...entha doctor "ithai saapidaatheenga athai saapidatheenga" nu sollaraangalo avangaley oru recipe bookum kaiyoda koduthaa nalla thaan irukum ileengalaaa...:noteeth:

kugan ngo.........."kadal vaazhakai" recipe ingris looks interesting....naan nila vazhakai or cauliflr pottu panni parkaren...:noteeth:

suvai
19th February 2011, 08:55 PM
dev/kugan...have u gone thru "daily musings" try panni paarunga....some recipes are unique

dev
19th February 2011, 09:40 PM
Suvai, thanks for reminding me of daily musings... Ippo blog list rombe looooooooooong aagidichu...so niraya blogs regularaa chk panna mudiyuradhillai...

suvai
19th February 2011, 09:48 PM
Suvai, thanks for reminding me of daily musings... Ippo blog list rombe looooooooooong aagidichu...so niraya blogs regularaa chk panna mudiyuradhillai...

:mrgreen::mrgreen:...apo innum neriya blog names kodukaren.....:noteeth:

gulabjamun
20th February 2011, 11:42 AM
Kugan, I tried your fish pepper fry.
Chance ye illa, better than the one we had in the hotel.
Thanks Kugan, my family was very pleased with the dish. My husband asked me to ask you if you know how to make chicken balls that they serve in the hotel. Sorry Kugan, all are non-vege recipes. Hope you do not mind.
Thank you.

kugan98
20th February 2011, 03:15 PM
Dev, thank you very much for the fish finger recipe.
I have one which is a little different.
Anyway the more recipes the better.
Thanks Dev.

NOTE: Ask your cousins to try it.

kugan98
20th February 2011, 03:16 PM
Thanks Suvai for your nice posts.
You always make us laugh with your posts.
Its like a tonic to us. Thanks Suvai.

kugan98
20th February 2011, 03:21 PM
Gulabjamun, I am very glad that I made your family happy.
This recipe is from a hotel chef, mine cannot be better:grin:
Anyway thank you very much. I will post the chicken balls recipe soon.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
20th February 2011, 03:30 PM
Rose here is our version of fish finger fry.
Mine is a little Indianised:-D
Try both Dev's and mine. Thanks.

FISH FINGER FRY

Ingredients:
500 grms of boneless fish fillet cut into finger lengths.

Marinate:
1 tbs of lime juice
1 tsp white pepper powder
1 tsp ginger juice
1 tsp garlic juice
¼ tsp chillie powder
Salt to taste

100 grms bread crumbs
3 eggs
Oil for frying

Method:
Clean the fish fingers and marinate in the ingredients
for about 30 minutes.

Heat oil in a wok.
Beat the eggs lightly in a bowl.
Dip the fish fingers in the beaten egg.
Roll it in the bread crumbs, and deep fry.
Remove when golden to a kitchen paper.
Serve with chillie sauce.

FISH FILLET:

http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/9558/fishoi.jpg

FRIED FISH FINGERS:

http://img814.imageshack.us/img814/8955/fishsticks.jpg

kugan98
20th February 2011, 06:55 PM
DEV, here is the Kerala Macroni

KERALA MACORONI PASTA

Ingredients:
250 grms macaroni
Little salt
Little turmeric powder
Little oil

1 vegetarian seasoning cube (can use chicken seasoning)
1 big red tomato chopped
3 onions chopped
3 pips garlic chopped
1 tsp ginger chopped
4 green chillies chopped
1 sprig curry leaves

½ tsp chillie powder
2 tsp coriander powder
Little black pepper powder
Little garam masala powder
1 tbs oil
Salt to taste
Little coriander leaves for garnish

Method:
Boil the pasta with little oil , turmeric and salt.
Cook till the pasta gets 3/4 cooked.
Drain the water into a container, keep aside the pasta.
Take 1 cup of the drained water and dissolve the seasoning cube.

Heat the oil in a wok, add in the chopped onions and sauté till brown.
Add in the chopped green chillies, ginger , garlic and curry leaves.
Sauté for a minute, add in the chopped tomatoes. Cook till mushy.
Add in the coriander, and chillie powder, cook till a nice aroma comes.

Pour the 1 cup of the seasoned drained water.
Mix well and cook till the gravy a bit thick.
Sim the fire and add in the boiled pasta.
Add pepper, garam masala and mix till the masala is well mixed.
Cook till the pasta is cooked and the gravy absorbed.
Remove and garnish with the coriander leaves

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5094/5481703787_f0f460f08c_z.jpg

Aarthii
21st February 2011, 02:31 AM
kuganka,fish fry looks great!
Thanks for the recipe.

Aarthii
21st February 2011, 02:39 AM
kuganka,i need the recipe for the hotel style crispy rava dosa.
Can u plz post the recipe ,if u have.

rose75
21st February 2011, 10:06 AM
Kugan, your fish finger fry is fantastic. So simple to follow. I am sure it is going to be a hit in my house. I too can do this dish as a starter. Thanks, thanks.
One more request, my husband went to a drinking party, there they served moru, moru shredded fried chicken as bite for their drinks. He said they looked like small fish fingers, but it was chicken. Can you please post the recipe for us. Sorry for disturbing you with all non-vege items. Rose.

bkarthika
21st February 2011, 10:42 AM
Hi Kugan and Kugan Thread Friends,
How r u all? I got little bit time in the tight work.So i came to see the thread. So many receipes posted...I will try all when i am free.
I hope Kugan and NM didnt forget abt my adventure in Preparation of Idli batter for Soft and fluffy idli..
Finally i got it....So i came here immediately to share my happiness....Thank u very much Kugan and NM for guiding me....Thank u all....

selvieam
21st February 2011, 12:27 PM
awesome fish fingers kugan, will try.

selvieam
21st February 2011, 12:27 PM
kerala style macroni yummy. i made for the box today.

selvieam
21st February 2011, 12:29 PM
Aarthi, how r u??

how is pranya? settled???

i make rava dosa, rava - 1 cup, maida - 2 cups, rice flour - 3 cups, besan 2 tblsp, chopped coriander and curry leaves, pepper - jeera coarsely ground, grated ginger, salt, optional grated carrot. this will turn out nicely.

let us wait kugan's receipe too.

kugan98
21st February 2011, 02:14 PM
Aarthii, thank you very much for your nice post:-D.
I am sure you will like the fish finger fry.
There are many ways to do rava dosai.
I will soon post for you the hotel style.

kugan98
21st February 2011, 02:16 PM
Rose thanks for your nice post.
Hope you will try out the recipe for fish fingers.
I will soon get back to you with the moru-moru chicken:confused2:
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
21st February 2011, 02:20 PM
bkarthika, your idlis turned out soft:redjump::redjump:
I am very happy for you.
I hope NM reads this post.
My NOV anneh too helped you. We did our bit that's all.
Please try out other recipes when you have the time.

kugan98
21st February 2011, 02:25 PM
Selviem, glad that you liked the Kerala macoroni.
This was started by our Dev. ( Ya, where is she, missing:confused2:)

Try the fish fingers too. I am sure your children will like it.
Thanks for your rava dosai recipe. A bit different from mine.
I will try your version too. Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
21st February 2011, 02:29 PM
My dear friends, yesterday we went to an engagement ceremony.
There they served paasiparupp sambar for idli.
All my friends said that it was very tasty.
I could not taste anything:cry2:

Somehow I got the recipe, I am doing it for tiffin today.
I will soon post the recipe. Kugan98

selvieam
21st February 2011, 03:28 PM
kugan,

we make pasiparuppu sambar for idli. that we call as tiffon sambar, we have separate tiffon sambar powder.

this sambar goes well with idli, dosa, iddiyappam and pongal varieties. this is very very tasty.

let me see ur version of tiffon sambar.

selvi

dev
21st February 2011, 08:18 PM
K, fish finger super tempting!!!... Macaroni is very indianised... kandipp try pannuren...:)

Sry, I got busy with kid's school admission...:sigh: The search is still on...

COIMBATOREANS... any info on Lisieux public school(the new one with CBSE syllabus)?... It's very close to home and it's by the same Lisieux matric management... so just want to kno how god this new one is!!!...

suvai
21st February 2011, 08:24 PM
hello nga kugan.....engagement la paasiparupu saambar saapida mudiyalai nu kavalai padaatheenga.....pathiya saapaadu complete pannidunga.....oru periya virunthey vachidalaam ;-) okaya?!

for u a simple dal :
mysore parupu or pasi parupu....oru kai .....athiley....konjam thaniya powder/salt/oru krambu/oru pattai/ 4 to 5 black pepper whole....salt...kothamalii...ellam boil together....will be good ...for the chapathi...hope u can eat the ingris i mentioned above....
another day u can make it with garam masala powder a pinch.....add kasthoori methi powder or leaves to it...ithuvum different ah suviaya iurkum.....;-)

ellamey u can just boil it dont need to fry any of the above.....hope u like the taste :-)

suvai
21st February 2011, 08:26 PM
vaanga dev...:-) good luck with the admission......all said & done...a school close to home...takes away a few frowns off from our forehead..:noteeth:

kugan98
21st February 2011, 08:47 PM
Thanks Selviem, I will post the sambar recipe soon.
I am sure yours will be super. Konjam enakku bayama irukku:shaking:
Joking Selviem, apa apa konjam galatta vendum.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
21st February 2011, 08:49 PM
Dev, unggala kaanomnu aadi poieten.
Pray you get the school. Thanks kugan98

kugan98
21st February 2011, 08:53 PM
Suvai ungga kaalai kaatungga. Eppadi sollurathu.
You take so much pain to get recipes for me.Thanks from the bottom of my heart. I did not want to attend the function, but the brides mother forced me to come. I had no choice. I felt very bad in front of so many people.
Thanks Suvai, take care, Kugan98

kugan98
21st February 2011, 09:04 PM
Selviem, here is the recipe. Again I could not taste, but my family gave the:thumbsup: The secret lies in the freshly ground powder. Kugan98

PAASIPARUPPU IDLI SAMBAR

Ingredients:

1 cup paasiparuppu, boiled till cooked and mashed
1 big onion chopped
1 big red tomato chopped
3 green chillies, slit into 4 and cut across
1 brinjal cut into small cubes
1 small carrot cut into small cubes
1 potato cut into small cubes
¼ tsp turmeric powder
1 tbs thick tamarind juice (optional)
¼ tsp jiggery
Salt as needed

To Roast In ½ tsp Oil And Powder:
1 ½ tbs of kadalai patuppu
1 ½ tsp of coriander seeds
4 dried red chillies
½ tsp fenugreek seeds

To Season:
1 tbs ghee or oil
1 tsp cumin seeds
½ tsp mustard seeds
¼ tsp asafoetida powder
1 sprig curry leaves

Method:

Heat a wok with the ghee. Add in the tempering items.
Let them splutter, add in the onion and sauté till light brown.
Add in the tomatoes, turmeric powder and sauté for a minute.

Now add in the green chillies and the cut vegetables.
Now fry in medium flame for about 2 minutes.
Add in salt and stir fry well.

Now add in required water, tamarind juice and let it boil till
the vegetables are cooked.
Add in the jiggery, and the sambar powder.
Let it come to a boil. Add in the cooked dal and mix well.
Add water if needed to get a sambar consistency.
Let it boil once more, remove and garnish with the coriander leaves.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5211/5481602227_b9b60b4c88_z.jpg

kugan98
21st February 2011, 09:07 PM
O.K friends, tomorrow morning breakfast is garlic bread.
I have called my aunt for the moru-moru chicken.
Aarthii, your rava dosai too coming.
Also the chicken balls. Hold on friends.
Kugan98

suvai
22nd February 2011, 01:56 AM
adaa saamiyo.....en kaal elaaam ethukunga kugan vendavey vendaaam......saaami kaala iruka athai getiya pidichikonga ;-)

en mind ku vara recipes ongaluku ezhutharen avolo thaan....whether it is good or suitable for u to eat is in the testing....hope its better than eating just boiled keerai :noteeth:....

paasiparuppu sambar looks good ;-)

dev
22nd February 2011, 09:49 AM
Thanks Suvai n K... we'll decide on something by the end of this week... Most of the (so called) good schools are very far from my place... The only school I'm very keen on is vivekalaya... That too is very far... Ippodhaiku we'll put her in some skkol nearby...konnjam perusanaprom paarpom...:)

Paasiparuppu sambar...yum!!!...will try it soon...

Selvi, I think u've already posted ur verson of tiffonn sambar... but ippo looking for the recipes is sooooooo hard... can u repost the recipe when u find time...

kugan98
22nd February 2011, 12:37 PM
Dev, I think you made the good decision. I am suffering because the so called good school is so far away from my home. I had to pull strings here and there to get the school. What ever happens, we have to run to the school to get them. Somebody has to stand by to go to school. No school buses go there. Made a very wrong move. Thanks and take care. Kugan98

kugan98
22nd February 2011, 12:37 PM
Suvai, Suvaio Suvai, Thanks, Kugan98

Suvai, I made your cheese cake. Its so difficult to hunt
for the recipe to copy and paste (lazy)
Do not worry, I will type out your recipe and post with the picture.
Cheers. Kugan

kugan98
22nd February 2011, 12:42 PM
GARLIC BREAD

Ingredients:

4 hot dog buns, cut horizontally
60 grms of butter
2 pips garlic, make it into a paste
2 tsp olive oil
A pinch of dried parsley
A pinch of Oregano
White pepper to taste
Salt to taste
Grated cheese (optional)

Method:

Cream all the ingredients, except the cheese and parsely.
Apply the creamed paste on the buns.
Heat a dosai kal and toast until lightly brown.
Place on a plate and sprinkle parsely and cheese before serving.
Tasty garlic bread is ready.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5176/5482270014_8e808953dc_z.jpg

dev
22nd February 2011, 01:43 PM
Dev, I think you made the good decision. I am suffering because the so called good school is so far away from my home. I had to pull strings here and there to get the school. What ever happens, we have to run to the school to get them. Somebody has to stand by to go to school. No school buses go there. Made a very wrong move. Thanks and take care. Kugan98

Hmmm...I can understand K...only time will tell how good the decision we made is...:)

kugan98
22nd February 2011, 01:47 PM
Aarthii, there are so many methods to do this rava dosai.
I found a super cook in India, and got this recipe from him.
He is a chef in a famous hotel there. Try it out.
It turned out good for me, better than my own recipe. Kugan98

HOTEL STYLE CRISPY RAVA DOSAI

Ingredients:
¼ cup all purpose flour
½ cup rice flour
1 cup fine rava

1 big onion chopped very fine
1 tbs finely grated ginger
2 tbs finely chopped coriander leaves
1 tbs finely sliced curry leaves
2 tsp very finely chopped green chillies
1 tbs cumin seeds
1 tsp coarsely crushed black pepper
1 cup little diluted curds
About 2 cups of water
salt to taste
oil as needed

Method:
Mix the rice flour, all purpose flour and the rava.
Add the curds and enough water to form a pouring consistency.
Leave it aside for about 15 minutes.

Now mix in all the other ingredients , except the oil.
Now give every thing a proper mix.
If your batter is thick, add more water to get a pouring consistency.

Heat a dosai kal, it should not be very, very hot.
Now pour a ladle full of the dosai batter from the outward base
of the dosai kal. After that slowly fill in if you have major gaps.
Do not worry about the small , small holes.

Pour 1 tbs of oil over the dosai and cover it.
Let it cook on medium flame for about 1 to 2 minutes.
Now remove the cover and, increase the flame.
Cook for another 2 minutes till you see the dosai looking
brown here and there.

Remove the dosai, once you feel it is fully roasted.
The dosai should be served immediately to enjoy the crispiness.

Reduce the flame for a minute before you prepare the next dosai.
Always stir the mixture well before pouring the batter.
Serve it with any chutney or sambar.

This is how it should look on the kal:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5060/5482203166_3ff9fa8b2f.jpg

Your Dosai should not look this colour:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5018/5482286234_5b12d2cf7f.jpg

The right colour of the dosai::-D

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5173/5482203302_ab89100181.jpg

dev
22nd February 2011, 01:52 PM
Garlic bread...I have all ingre except cheese... will try it maybe tomorrow...I got some pizzahut coupon last week... So went to PH for the first time in cbe... I would say they really suck!!... pizzala cheeseai boodha kannadi vechu thedanum...:lol: also the taste of both the pizzas I tried was just so so...Garlic bread,salad venna nalla irundhichu... unga garlic bread paarthadhum PH experience niyabagam vanthidichu...:)

Anyone wanting to try Italian food(pizza,pasta whatever) in cbe, go for Little Italy... Their pizzas are way better than PH's tastewise...:thumbsup:

BTW K, did I tell u... had cousins over last weekend annd we had fun making roti jala...;) :P

dev
22nd February 2011, 01:57 PM
Rawa dosai looks super yummmm!!!...wonder Y mom never prepares it at home... I'll try it onnce I become free... I'm sure the lil one will love the moru moru dosai...:)

kugan98
22nd February 2011, 02:16 PM
Thanks Dev, for your sweet comments.
I make my own pizza, no shop ones.
Garlic breads are very easy to make.

Dev, have you been to a hotel called SEVEN ELEVEN in your place?
I heard that their grilled chicken is the best.

Dev, you should take pictures and post for us.
Since now RR has given rights to every one.

dev
22nd February 2011, 02:27 PM
K, pls post the pizza recipes when u find time n energy for it...

Seven Eleven in cbe???!!!... never heard of it...enge irukunu theriyuma K?... Will def take pics n post if I happen to visit the place... everyday food pics edukka continuous interest irukiradhillai K...

suvai
22nd February 2011, 09:44 PM
hello nga kugan.....ahaaaa.......cheese cake (no baking) try panneengala??? pasanga ellaam enna sonaanga? avanga verdict thaaan true :-)

dev....i also make my own pizza....nothing to beat home made pizza especially the sauce..;-)

Aarthii
23rd February 2011, 03:09 AM
kuganka,thanks for the rava dosai recipe.
It looks yummy

Aarthii
23rd February 2011, 03:10 AM
suvaika,kuganka,
plz post the recipes for making pizzas.

kugan98
23rd February 2011, 05:23 AM
Thanks dev, did your cousins enjoyed making the roti jala?
was the mould o.k?

Dev, a friend told me about this seven eleven shop.
I told you to take pictures of what you cook in the house from the thread.
Not the shop:-D Its o.k Dev, if you do not have the time.

Not only you, anyone from the forum who can take pictures, please do.
All of us can see how the dish turned out.

I was hunting high and low for the pizza recipe that I posted earlier.
Wasted few hours doing that.

PLEASE RR Sir, do something:cry2::cry2:.

Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
23rd February 2011, 05:39 AM
Suvai, I made little changes here and there.
I did not have a small springform cake tin.
Thats why my cheese cake is a bit flat.
Everyone enjoyed the cake. Thanks Suvai.

NO BAKE EGGLESS CHEESE CAKE

Ingredients:

1 ¼ cups of Graham Cracker crumbs
¼ cup melted cooled butter.
¼ cup sugar

Whip together:

250 grms of Philadelphia Cream Cheese
1 cup of sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 cup thick whipped cream

Chopped nuts (optional)

Method:
Mix the Graham crumbs, butter and sugar.
Mix until they clump together and have the texture of damp sand.
Press the mixture onto a base of an 8 inch springform pan.
Refrigerate for at least half an hour.

Cream the cheese, essence and sugar with an electric mixer until smooth.
Now pour in the whip cream and mix until creamy.

Now pour the cheese mixture on the cracker base.
Can sprinkle the nuts on top if using.
Now refrigerate the cheese cake for about 4 hours.

A Little Flat Cheese Cake:-D

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5053/5481339991_323f4f74ba_z.jpg

This is how a cheese cake should look like:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5220/5482184374_fb7bcd5067.jpg

kugan98
23rd February 2011, 05:41 AM
Aarthii, try out the rava dosai.
I will repost the pizza recipe, later in the evening.
Thanks, Kugan98

suvai
23rd February 2011, 08:01 AM
o m g!!! kugan ngoooo the cheese cake is perfect.....it looks the same as I make...:thumbsup:.....oru "super chef" cap iruntha ongaluku pottudalaam.......u wait & see nov ngov is going to put a picture for u...:noteeth:

kugan iniki i tried yr thakali thokku..& red capsicum chutney.......its in "kugan's kitchen" (muthal) ate it with chapathi very yummy...i have saved some for idly too thank u!!!...(wink icon pottukonga)

aarthi has asked for pizza & i was searching high & low...at one point i gave up then said to myself..."enakaachi unakaachi kandu pidikaama vidarthilai" nu finally got it....:noteeth:....its kugan's kitchen (muthal) page 33 # 1310....phewwwww!!!

kugan i was reading page after page all the comments & pictures....it was so nice to go back in time.....i have to commend as to how far u have come....& all of us along with u....:clap:
athellaam padika padika some of it brought a huge smile on my face..

i also tried yr thai fried rice....onga friend recipe...i have tried it many times....& must say.....athey taste every time that i have tried....thank u thanku ngo!

aarthi enjoy!!..

23rd February 2011, 08:10 AM
oru "super chef" cap iruntha ongaluku pottudalaam.......u wait & see nov ngov is going to put a picture for u...:noteeth:..

http://www.cutelittlefactory.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/SuperChef.jpg

suvai
23rd February 2011, 08:13 AM
:mrgreen::mrgreen: nov ngov....neenga romba super fast i have to say!!
thank u for filling in the request...:thumbsup::ty:

lakme
23rd February 2011, 08:47 AM
Nov, wonderful! No one is more deserving than our Kugan! oru thanga modiram kooda kudunga!!
Kugan, I was also going through some old recipes bcoz I wanted to make something different with vazhakkai--ammadi, how many recipes.
May God bless you in every way!

kugan98
23rd February 2011, 09:45 AM
Suvai so sweet of you. Thanks for all your nice words and compliments.
Suvai even if we tell them the thread and the page, its not that easy to go to the page.
Moreover soooo many pictires are missing every where.
I took a lot of trouble to snap and upload.
The sad thing is that, I lost some pictires when my pc crashed last year.
Including yours:cry2::cry2:

If the threads are not locked, I might slowly upload what ever pictures that I have.
Suvai I am really honoured by super chef cap suggested by you and given by our NOV anneh.:notworthy:

If not for the support of all my dear friends from the forum, we could not have come this far. Thanks again everyone.

NOV anneh, thank you very much. I really appreciate it. Kugan98

kugan98
23rd February 2011, 09:51 AM
Lakme, thank you very much for your kind wishes and compliments.
I like to leave this behind to all young girls and future brides.
For I too came to Malaysia as an ignorant bride.
I will leave peacefully when God takes me away.
Take care, enjoy the recipes. Kugan98

23rd February 2011, 03:34 PM
Enna K ippadi sentimentalaa paesi mood out paNReenga :(

I made kaara kuzhambu last week end and it was superb.. by mistake I added the tamarind a bit in excess, yet it tasted so good. Thanks for the recipe K :)

23rd February 2011, 03:37 PM
And what is this that I see only the thavaLai (frog) picture of google adsense instead of the pictures posted by K of her dishes. This new format is becoming a hassle :twisted:

kugan98
23rd February 2011, 05:50 PM
Roshan, I am sooo happy that you liked the kara kulambu.
I too like my things a bit more pulippu. ( That's why pathiyam, no puli:banghead:)

Roshan, I too saw the frog. Then it disappeared.
It must be the same frog that I dissected in school:rotfl::rotfl:

Thanks Roshan, take care, Kugan98

23rd February 2011, 05:52 PM
Kugan ka

Unga Thread summa athiruthu :thumbsup:

BTW, neenga sonna mathiri Toffu seinchu parthEn besh besh romba Nanarinthuthu !

kugan98
23rd February 2011, 08:49 PM
P.S Tamby, thanks for your nice words.
Glad you liked the tofu recipe.
Kugan98

kugan98
23rd February 2011, 09:06 PM
My dear friends, here I am posting the pizza recipe again. Enjoy. Kugan98

VEGETARIAN PIZZA

Ingredients:

PIZZA DOUGH
150 grms high protein flour
130 grms plain flour
½ tsp sugar
½ tsp salt
3 grms dry yeast
15ml olive oil
160 ml lukewarm water

PIZZA SAUCE
1 onion chopped
1 ½ tbs olive oil
6 large red tomatoes chopped fine
3 pips garlic chopped
15 fresh mint leaves chopped
2 tbs coriander leaves chopped
1 small piece of cinnamon stick
2 cloves
3 tsp red chillie powder
¼ tsp cumin seed powder
Salt to taste

PIZZA TOPPINGS
1 capsicum cut into slices
2 green chillies cut into thin slices
1 small onion cut into thin slices
2 pineapple rings cut into cubes
1 tomato remove the seeds and cut into cubes
6 tinned button mushrooms sliced
1 cup grated mozzarella cheese

Method:
Pizza Dough:
In a mixing bowl, add the two flours, yeast, sugar and salt.
Add water and the olive oil and knead for 10 minutes,
Until the dough is smooth and elastic.

Lightly grease a bowl with the olive oil, put the dough and cover.
Set aside in a warm spot until the dough has almost doubled in volume. Divide dough into 2 equal portains.
Flatten out to form a dics. Use a rolling pin to stretch out the disc.
Use this as your base for the pizza.

PIZZA SAUCE
Heat the olive oil, add the garlic, onions, cinnamon stick, and cloves.
When the garlic browns , add in the mint leaves.
Fry for a minute, add in the tomatoes, and coriander leaves.
Fry for a second, add in the chillie and cumin powders.
Add salt and sauté well. Remove from the stove and cool.
Blend to a smooth paste.

Now spread the sauce over the pizza base.
Now add little of every thing of the toppins on the pizza.
Now sprinkle the grated mozzarella cheese on the pizza.
Bake in a oven pre heated to 400 deg., fah. Till the crust is crisp
And the cheese melts. Serve hot.

Note; I made thin pizza base, you can make it thick if you like.
You can use shop bought pizza sauce if you find it diffcult to make
This sauce. Nothing like home made sauce.

The Ingredients For Topping:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5295/5480903347_2a8ba881e6_z.jpg

Small Pizza:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5094/5481501576_7f1246529a.jpg

Large Pizza For Guests:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5171/5481503248_c230bb2721_z.jpg

Aarthii
24th February 2011, 02:12 AM
kuganka,great!u have posted the pizza recipe.
Thanks a ton for it kuganka.

Aarthii
24th February 2011, 02:22 AM
aarthi has asked for pizza & i was searching high & low...at one point i gave up then said to myself..."enakaachi unakaachi kandu pidikaama vidarthilai" nu finally got it....:noteeth:....its kugan's kitchen (muthal) page 33 # 1310....phewwwww!!!

kugan i was reading page after page all the comments & pictures....it was so nice to go back in time.....i have to commend as to how far u have come....& all of us along with u....:clap:
athellaam padika padika some of it brought a huge smile on my face..

i also tried yr thai fried rice....onga friend recipe...i have tried it many times....& must say.....athey taste every time that i have tried....thank u thanku ngo!

aarthi enjoy!!..

Well said suvaika,

ingaiyum adhe kathai thaan,eppa ellam ,previous threads-a recipe kaga open pannuveno,appo ellam i used to spend a few minutes by reading the thread ,apart frm the recipe.
I used to think a lot of kuganka's dedicated work and in each and every post i used to see kugan-ka's enthusiasm towards cooking.

then suvaika unga posts,ethanai thadavai padithalum puthusa padikara mathri oru energy plus happiness kidaikum.U r great suvaika :)

kugan98
24th February 2011, 08:27 AM
Well said Aarthii, Suvai is like tonic to us.
She really makes the thread kala kalappu.
Thanks, Kugan98

NOTE: The frogs are really making my head go round.:roll:
Any solution NOV anneh?

kugan98
24th February 2011, 08:31 AM
How about trying this pineapple cake.
Dev, you can add apple pieces:-D
Thanks, Kugan98

EGGLESS PINEAPPLE CAKE

Ingredients:

1 cup finely chopped pineapples (I used tinned)
1 tsp pineapple essence
2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
¾ cup fine sugar
½ cup butter
¾ cup milk
A pinch of cardamom powder
A pinch of salt.

Method:
Preheat oven for 200 degrees C for about 10 minutes.
Grease a small pan and line with paper.

Sieve the flour, baking powder, cardamom powder and salt.
Wish together the butter and sugar in a bowl till creamy.
Add milk little by little and wish again.
Add little flour if the mixture curdles.
Now add in the flour and fold slowly.
Lastly add in the pineapple slices and the essence.
Fold well. Pour the batter into the container.
Bake for about 30 to 40 minutes, or till a cake tester comes out clean.
Remove and cool. Serve.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5056/5481477356_6fc136013e.jpg

suvai
24th February 2011, 08:54 AM
hello nga kugan...........that "cap" was long overdue ;-) Glad u accepted it on behalf of all the active & silient members on this thread...

athennaanga frogs??? i dont see or hear any..(no teeth icon pottukongo)

acho aarthi....sorry to say i have no writing skills...etho thonarathai type pannidaren intha kugan's thread la avolo thaan...................anyways....hope yr little one likes the pizza.

amaaam kugan ngo..."cap" pottukitu cake bake paneengala??? :noteeth:

dev/selvi/nm/sudha/madhu/aarthi/ss/suja/lakme/gulab/rose/ ipadi ellaar kaileyum...oru thattu oru karandi koduthu clap ku bathilaa thattara satham ketkuthungala??? :noteeth:...dont worry...naan conducting the satham to be harmonious.....:noteeth:

suvai
24th February 2011, 09:10 AM
i will try the cake kugan nga....:-)

selvieam
24th February 2011, 10:02 AM
suvai,

wow what a great energy u give to everyone by ur writings. yea it is like boost for us.

suvai i also searched for tiffon sambar which i posted loooooooooooong back. but failed. i write again this weekend.

selvi

selvieam
24th February 2011, 10:02 AM
kugan,

pizza tempting, next week let me try. kids likes it very much.

selvi

dev
24th February 2011, 10:18 AM
K, super recipes post apnni irukeenga... but pics paarthu drool panna vidama indha frogs vandhu imsai kodukudhunga...:twisted::bangcomp: let me take the issue to the admin...

kugan98
24th February 2011, 05:45 PM
Selviem, naan kandu pidichiteneh:pink::pink:
Of course with lot of neck pain:-D

Here is the recipe.

Tiffon Sambar powder
---------------------
Kadalai paruppu - 1 cup
dry coriander seeds - 1 cup
Methi seeds - 1/4 cup
Dry red chilly - 25
In a pan put 2 tblsp of oil , in the slow fire fry the red chilly nicely. remove it and keep in a plate. Then in the same pan fry rest of the ingredients one by one nicely , remove it and let it comes to room temperature. Then grind coarsely in the mixier and store it in a air tight container to retain the freshness of the powder.

Preparation of pasiparru/toor dhal sambar for tiffon items:
-----------------------------------------------------------
Pasiparuppu / Toor dhal - 1 cup soak in water for an hour so that it can be cooked very easily in the pressure cooker.
While cooking the dhal, just add a drop of castor oil and 1/4 tsp of turmeric powder, this helps to cook the dhal very soft and it will not come out of the cooker.
In a kadai put 1 tblsp of oil then add kaduku, urad dhal, one red chilly, hing . once the kaduku pops up add sambar onions 10 to 15 (slit lengthwise), curry leaves- a few, one green chilly (slit lengthwise) fry for 2 to 3 minutes.
Now add the vegetables carrot - 1 medium size (finely chopped),brinjals -2 (finely chopped), fry for 4 minutes. Then add tomato - 1 big size (chopped coarsely), fry for 2 minutes. Now add the dhal water to this cover and cook for 5 minutes. Once the vegetables are cooked add the tamarind extract from gooseberry size of tamarind. Let it boil for a while, then add the required salt, turmeric powder. once it comes to boil, now add the cooked dhal, sambar powder 2 tsp. Check for the taste, if u need more of sambar powder then u can add another 1/2 tsp. Allow it to boil for 5 minutes, add some fresh coriander leaves, then the sambar is ready. This goes with pongal,idli,dosa, idiyappam, vada, uppuma , wheat dosa, ragi dosa, kambu dosa etc.

For rava dosa we used to make toor dhal sambar, for that slight variation is there. when we cook toor dhal, just add 1/2 cup of chopped yellow pumkin without skin. Then follow the above procedure, finally we have add 1tsp of jaggery. Then we get perfect hotel sambar taste.

Optional: If we like garlic smell, then we add 2 garlic cloves crushed , when we r doing tadka for sambar.

Also if we dont have carrot and brinjal, we can use finely chopped potatoes.

kugan98
24th February 2011, 05:51 PM
Suvai, thanks again for you nice post.
The cap is sitting in my hall. Thanks.

Suvai, once I off the pc, all the pictures will disappear.
So I will have to log on to Imageshack, with my name and password.
All the pictures will be back in the places.

Now I see that even others cannot see the picture:idontgetit:
I do not know where is the mistake:confused2:

Thanks for your nice pm. You are a gem.
I owe a lot to you Suvai. Thanks and take care, Kugan98

kugan98
24th February 2011, 05:55 PM
Thanks Selviem for your nice post.
When I was in India my niece made a mixed vege dosai.
This is how she makes her little ones to eat the vege.
It tasted nice, I will soon post the recipe. Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
24th February 2011, 06:08 PM
Dev, thanks for your nice post.
You are our spokesman. Please resolve the frog matter soon.:ty:

What curry did you all make for the roti jala?
Dev, normally they will roll up the roti jala, like this for parties.
Served with chicken curry.

The Rolled Roti Jala:
Thanks to the net.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5051/5481939588_cf207ed0f1.jpg

24th February 2011, 07:05 PM
Kugan ka

Next week is Shivarathri, are you doing mass cooking again?

dev
24th February 2011, 07:05 PM
Suvai, once I off the pc, all the pictures will disappear.
So I will have to log on to Imageshack, with my name and password.
All the pictures will be back in the places.

Now I see that even others cannot see the picture:idontgetit:
I do not know where is the mistake:confused2:

Kugan, My guess is... mark the images as private... that might make it viewable even if you logged out... Just try this and if it doesn't work, we'll ask RR...

dev
24th February 2011, 07:09 PM
You are our spokesman. Please resolve the frog matter soon.:ty:

What curry did you all make for the roti jala?
Dev, normally they will roll up the roti jala, like this for parties.
Served with chicken curry.

The Rolled Roti Jala:
Thanks to the net.

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/824/rotijala.jpg

K, I can only see a frog again...:(

Since we don't cook meat at home, I made egg curry using sakthi chicken masala pwd... and for the vegetarians, it was mushroom curry...

kugan98
24th February 2011, 07:51 PM
P.S Tamby, no mass cooking for me.
Taking rest. Thanks Kugan98

kugan98
24th February 2011, 07:54 PM
Dev, there is no place which says mark private. Naaneh or :ashamed:
who does not know much about all these things.
Hope everything will sort out soon. Thanks, Kugan98

24th February 2011, 11:10 PM
Dev

Ungaluku intha thavala tholla thaanga mudiyalapOla :lol:

dev
25th February 2011, 03:44 PM
aamam shivji... edhavadhu oru nalla vazhi kaatungalen indha frogai thurathuradhukku...

dev
25th February 2011, 03:45 PM
Dev, there is no place which says mark private. Naaneh or :ashamed:
who does not know much about all these things.
Hope everything will sort out soon. Thanks, Kugan98

K, U'll see mark as public on the right hand side in imageshack...I think under 'actions'...

kugan98
25th February 2011, 09:20 PM
Sorry, Dev, I cannot see the mark on the right hand side.
I hope NOV anneh will look into this matter.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
25th February 2011, 09:54 PM
Dev, actually I have no mood to post with this frog.
What to do. Kugan98

MIXED VEGETABLE RAGI DOSAI

Ingredients:
1 cup raw rice
½ cup urad dal
½ cup ragi flour
Salt
Little oil

50 grms carrot grated
100 grm cucumber grated and squeezed
50 grms cabbage very finely sliced
1 medium onion very finely cut

Method:
Soak the rice and the urad dal for about 5 hours.
Grind to a smooth batter. Mix salt and the ragi flour.
The consistency should be like dosai flour.
Keep it over night to ferment, or ferment for about 8 hours.
After the flour has fermented, add in all the vegetables.
Heat a dosai kal and make dosais.
The dosai will not be very thin, a little like oothappam.
Serve with nice chutney.

NOTE: You can add any veges of your choice.
See that they are very finely cut.
I simply sprinkled some veges on top:-D

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5218/5480817881_a7fedb39d0_z.jpg

25th February 2011, 10:00 PM
Hi K, made corriander chicken today for lunch .. super super ! thanks for the recipe.

Again, I can see only the frog picture :(

Suja Rajkumar
25th February 2011, 11:21 PM
Hello Makkalae,
Long time. K how are you doing. Thanks for the recipes. Just finished making some boondhi ladoos for my friend. Could only make no tasting!! Sugar kidayathu ennakku. K and friends a small help. Kindly post all your tips to make soft chappathis. Tried out on Wed, they all came out like varatti. Don't know what I am doing wrong. Have been asked to stay away from white rice. Tired of eating Godhumai rice and dosai. So, please post your tips. Could never make good soft chappathis!

Suja

dev
26th February 2011, 10:01 AM
Suja, I'll tell u how I make chapathis... just give it a try... I use reliance brand flour. U have to try diff brands and see which gives softer chapathis.

Take req qty of wheat flour in a big shallow bowl. Add a spn of ghee/oil, salt. rub well into the flour.
Now add water(approx 60% of flour) and mix it using a spoon. Once it starts coming together, use ur hands to knead the dough. Another trick is to add enough water at the start itself and not midway. Thanni jaasthi aagitaal, u can always add more flour. That's easier than adding water to tight dough. The dough should not be hard as a rock. it shouldn't crack when u try making a ball or roll. it should me smooth but not sticky. It should be easy to knead and not take all ur muscle power to knead.

Once well kneaded, let it sit for 10-15 mins. knead for a min again and then roll into thin circles.not paper thin though.
Heat a tawa to almost smoking point. flame should be medium high.
1.Place the chapathi on the tawa and turn over in say 5 secs.
2.Now let the other side cook until u start seeing nice bubbles.
3.now turn over again.Keep pressing the sides so they cook well. once the underside is cooked, take off flame.
4. keep it in a closed container.

As u become more comfortable, u can do step 3 on direct flame . This way the chapathi will puff up like a baloon and stay soft for long. use thongs to remove the chapathi from flame.

Whaterver method u use, remember to add enough water to make the dough and to cook the chapathi on med-high flame. If u cook on low flame(like how we cook roast), U'll only get a flying disc as more moisture will evaporate n the chapathi will become dry!!!... chapathi cooks in almost the same time as uthappams cook... it needn't be cooked for as long as we cook crispy dosai/roast...The trick is to cook it quickly so that u don't lose much moisture from the chapathi....only then chapathis will be soft. But if u cook on very high flame, the chapathi will be rough to touch.

For a good demo, just watch any of the roti/paratha/chapathi video by Mrs.Manjula on youtube... or on Manjulaskitchen.com

dev
26th February 2011, 10:38 AM
Sorry, Dev, I cannot see the mark on the right hand side.
I hope NOV anneh will look into this matter.
Thanks, Kugan98

:( will take it to RR aswell....

dev
26th February 2011, 03:46 PM
K, here is RR's reply to the frog issue...

dev,

imageshack has restrictions that I have no control over. I suggest to repost them using hub albums or attachments.

Suja Rajkumar
26th February 2011, 07:28 PM
Thanks Dev. Will try out your method, and also watch the you tube video. Should I use warm or hot water to knead the dough?

Suja

dev
26th February 2011, 08:33 PM
Suja,you can use warm water if u wish to... but not a must...I use room temp water as I use a food processor to knead the dough...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jD4o_Lmy6bU
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vwtelJNe7ls&feature=related

Some add baking soda/baking pwd to make soft chapathis... but it kills the nutrients in the food...
U can see in the first video, she kneads the dough easily as she adds enough water at the beginning itself.
In the 2nd video, she adds lil by lil and u can see how hard it is for her to knead...
But anyway both will yield sof chapathis,....it's just the time it takes and muscle power needed...

kugan98
27th February 2011, 01:23 PM
sorry testing

Lathz
27th February 2011, 01:52 PM
WOOW d kevar thosai isso temptin.....hungryyyyy

dev
27th February 2011, 07:09 PM
K, ragi dosai looks super!!!... I see that U've posted the pic from flicker... pls do the same for the other pics... Pics illadha recipes nalla illai...;)

kugan98
27th February 2011, 08:04 PM
Sorry friends, I was very upset with the frog.
Had no mood to post recipes.

Suja, sorry ma, I am glad Dev gave you the tips.
Its the same as she has said. Follow it and see.

Lathzs thanks for the nice compliments.

My son Ruben, took the trouble to find out how to upload on flicker.
As you all know I am a tube light in this matter.
I have to thank him for this.
I cannot be doing for all the threads. I will try my best for this thread.
Thanks Dev, for all the trouble you took.
Take care, Kugan.

kugan98
27th February 2011, 08:11 PM
My niece did this chutney for the ragi dosai.
It had a different taste. Try it. Kugan98

TOMATO AND PEANUT CHUTNEY

Ingredients:

4 tbs groundnuts dry roasted (powdered)
4 ripe red tomatoes chopped

To Roast And Powder Coarsely:
1 tsp oil
1 tbs urad dal
¼ tsp mustard seeds
5 dry red chillies cut into pieces
1 pinch of asafoetida powder
¼ tsp tamarind paste

Salt to taste
A pinch of sugar
1 tbs oil

Method:
Dry roast the peanuts and powder them. Keep aside.
Heat 1 tsp oil and fry all the ingredients, grind coarsely.
Keep aside.

Heat the 1 tbs oil, add in the chopped tomatoes
and cook them in their own juice.
Cook till the tomatoes are well cooked and mushy.
Add in the ground spices, peanut powder,
salt and sugar. Mix well and see that all are combined well.
As the tomatoes are well mashed we do not need to grind
the mixture.
If you like you can, season with little mustard seeds, dry chillies and curry leaves.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5139/5482234876_9041033863_z.jpg

dev
27th February 2011, 10:01 PM
That's a nice twist to the usual tomato chutney...will try it...:)

K, I had the oppor to taste something called naatu kozhi fry in a restau here... It had a diff kind of masala added to it... not too masalas(I guess no patta,krambu n stuffs)... it was not deep fried...just cooked well till the flesh falls off from the bones and let to crispen a bit(kind of brownish here and there)... Do u have any recipe similar to this K?... there was no onion-tomato added to it... something very simple but the secret was in the masala powder...

dev
27th February 2011, 10:02 PM
K, a big thanks to Ruben on our behalf... :)

kugan98
28th February 2011, 09:24 AM
Dev, I called my aunt she said normally nattu kozhi will be a bit tough.
So what the resturants do is that they will boil the chicken with spices.
remove the stock for naatu kozhi rasam.Then the meat is stir fried with little spices.
She can be wrong I do not know.
She said she will e-mail me the recipe for the naatu kozhi fry soon.
Take care, Kugan98

dev
28th February 2011, 02:25 PM
K, I think ur aunt is right... the chicken pieces were softer than those in the usual naatu kozhi dishes I've had...so I guessed it was boiled till the meat falls off the bones stage and then sauteed with some masala... I'm very keen to know abt the masala as it had a very nice mild flavour and taste...

selvieam
28th February 2011, 03:27 PM
kugan,

thanks for finding tiffon sambar. peanut chutney is awesome i tried for breakfast.

thanks kugan

dev
28th February 2011, 08:46 PM
K, Inniku dinner kerala style pasta... turned out well...:) Thanks a lot for the recipe...

dev
28th February 2011, 08:59 PM
Here's Kugan's vegetarian pizza recipe...

VEGETARIAN PIZZA

Ingredients:

PIZZA DOUGH
150 grms high protein flour
130 grms plain flour
½ tsp sugar
½ tsp salt
3 grms dry yeast
15ml olive oil
160 ml lukewarm water

PIZZA SAUCE
1 onion chopped
1 ½ tbs olive oil
6 large red tomatoes chopped fine
3 pips garlic chopped
15 fresh mint leaves chopped
2 tbs coriander leaves chopped
1 small piece of cinnamon stick
2 cloves
3 tsp red chillie powder
¼ tsp cumin seed powder
Salt to taste

PIZZA TOPPINGS
1 capsicum cut into slices
2 green chillies cut into thin slices
1 small onion cut into thin slices
2 pineapple rings cut into cubes
1 tomato remove the seeds and cut into cubes
6 tinned button mushrooms sliced
1 cup grated mozzarella cheese

Method:
Pizza Dough:
In a mixing bowl, add the two flours, yeast, sugar and salt.
Add water and the olive oil and knead for 10 minutes,
Until the dough is smooth and elastic.

Lightly grease a bowl with the olive oil, put the dough and cover.
Set aside in a warm spot until the dough has almost doubled in volume. Divide dough into 2 equal portains.
Flatten out to form a dics. Use a rolling pin to stretch out the disc.
Use this as your base for the pizza.

PIZZA SAUCE
Heat the olive oil, add the garlic, onions, cinnamon stick, and cloves.
When the garlic browns , add in the mint leaves.
Fry for a minute, add in the tomatoes, and coriander leaves.
Fry for a second, add in the chillie and cumin powders.
Add salt and sauté well. Remove from the stove and cool.
Blend to a smooth paste.

Now spread the sauce over the pizza base.
Now add little of every thing of the toppins on the pizza.
Now sprinkle the grated mozzarella cheese on the pizza.
Bake in a oven pre heated to 400 deg., fah. Till the crust is crisp
And the cheese melts. Serve hot.

Note; I made thin pizza base, you can make it thick if you like.
You can use shop bought pizza sauce if you find it diffcult to make
This sauce. Nothing like home made sauce.

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/attachment.php?attachmentid=117&d=1298906848
http://www.mayyam.com/talk/attachment.php?attachmentid=118&d=1298906865

dev
28th February 2011, 09:00 PM
http://www.mayyam.com/talk/attachment.php?attachmentid=118&d=1298906865

kugan98
1st March 2011, 10:41 AM
Thanks Selviem, I am glad you liked the chutney.
At times small changes makes big differences in the taste.
Take care Selviem, I hope everything is fine.
Come to the thread when you feel free.
Kugan98

kugan98
1st March 2011, 10:54 AM
Dev, I am also glad that you liked my friend's recipe for the pasta.
There are few more waiting:-D
I will cook and post one by one.

I will be a bit slow in posting, nowadays both my feet swell when I sit for a long time. The doctors advice me not to hang my legs while sitting.
Also not to stand for a long time.
How to sit in the office with legs up:rotfl3::rotfl3:
How to cook without standing:confused2:

Don't know lah Dev, how long this vandi wants to run.
I am taking life very easy. Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
1st March 2011, 10:57 AM
Thanks Dev for reposting the pizza recipe with pictures.
I have posted pictures until pages 113 so far.
I will slowly update the pictures.
Thanks Kugan98

kugan98
1st March 2011, 11:07 AM
Try this simple curry and see. The grinding of the tomatoes and onions makes the difference in this simple curry. Kugan98

BLACK EYED BEANS CURRY

Ingredients:

1 cup black eyed beans soaked and boiled till cooked
1 big onion sliced
1 sprig curry leaves
2 tbs oil
Salt to taste

To Grind Together:
2 big onions sliced
2 big tomatoes sliced
1 tbs garlic paste
1 tbs ginger paste

2 tbs thick tamarind pulp

2 tsp coriander powder
½ tsp cumin powder
1 tsp chillie powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp garam masala powder

1 inch ginger julliened
2 tbs chopped coriander leaves

Method:

Boil the beans with a little salt. Do not over boil.
Strain them. Take about 2 tbs of the beans and mash a little.
Keep away all the beans.

Heat a pot with the oil, add in the sliced onions.
Sauté until light brown. add in curry leaves.
Add in the ground ingredients and sauté till oil separates.
Add in the tamarind pulp and mix well.

Now add in the dry spices and mix well. Fry for about 5 minutes.
Now add in the boiled beans as well as the mashed beans.
Mix well, add in salt and about 1 ½ cups of water.
Add more if you want more gravy.

Cover and simmer for about 10 minutes.
Till the gravy boils well and gravy a bit thick.
Lastly add in the julliened ginger. Mix well.
Remove and garnish with the cut coriander leaves.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5096/5488188304_056b42ea7b_z.jpg

kugan98
1st March 2011, 11:27 AM
Rose, first accept my humble apologies for posting your request very late.
I was upset with the Imageshack and forgot every thing.:notworthy:

Sorry, I cannot cook to post the picture for you.
This is a simple dish, easy to follow. Try and give us the feed back. Kugan98

SHREDDED CHICKEN FRY

Ingredients:

500 grms boneless chicken breasts
1 tsp garlic juice
1 tsp ginger juice
1 tsp lime juice
1 tsp red chillie powder
¼ tsp coriander powder
1 tbs pottukadalai flour
A tinge of sugar
Salt to taste

Oil to deep fry
Fried curry leaves to garnish

Method:

Cut the chicken into fingers about 2 inches in length.
The pieces should not be very thick.

Now mix in all the ingredients and marinate for about
2 hours.
Heat a wok with the oil, when the oil is hot,
drop few pieces at a time and fry till little crisp.
Do not burn the chicken pieces
Drain and put on kitchen towel papers to absorb the oil.
Serve garnished with crisp fried curry leaves.

Good as a snack or starters for a drinking party.

kugan98
1st March 2011, 12:05 PM
Dev, ask your cousins to try it.

NAATU KOZI VARUVAL

Ingredients:

To Boil The Chicken:
500 grms naatu kozi chicken pieces’
½ tsp coriander powder
¼ tsp aniseeds powder
¼ tsp pepper powder
½ tsp ginger juice
½ tsp garlic juice
1 tbs tomato saaru (very fine pureed)
Little turmeric powder
Little salt

To Fry:
1 tbs peanut oil
1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste
1 tsp chillie powder
2 tsp coriander powder
½ tsp garam masala powder
½ tsp mustard seeds
1 sprig curry leaves
Little salt

Method:
Boil the chicken with the above ingredients.
Once cooked remove the chicken pieces.
Make chicken rasam by adding more ingredients.
The chicken pieces would have absorbed all the flavour.

To Fry The Chicken:

Heat the peanut oil in a wok, add in the mustard seeds.
When it splutters, add in the curry leaves.
Now add in the ginger and garlic paste, fry for a second.
Add in the spice powders, and the chicken pieces.

The little rasam from the chicken pieces would mix well
with the the spices and coat the chicken well.
Sauté continuously until you get a rich brown colour.
Remove and enjoy.

NOTE: my aunt says some people like to add in small
broken red chillies, while adding the curry leaves.

bkarthika
1st March 2011, 12:27 PM
Hi Kugan,

How r u? I felt sad after reading ur post. Dont worry! God will be with you.Even I am suffering with Knee problem.I am also thinking that it will bocome ok one day....Anyway take care of ur health....

Friends I want the recipe for Poosanikkai Morkulambu which is done in Kongu style...I think dev will be having this recipe...Dev if u have means pls post it...My hub asked to do this curry....

Thanks in advance!!!

selvieam
1st March 2011, 02:14 PM
kugan,

nattu kozhi varuval and shredded chicken was tempting. let me try whenever i have party at home.
thanks kugan.

dev
1st March 2011, 04:03 PM
K, thanks a lot for the recipes...will try them when I get a chance to cook nv... will pass on the recipes to my cousins...:)

K, if u r interested, just read thru the books written by nutritionist Rujutha Diwekar... U might not be able to follow all that she says when u r under ayurveda treatment... once the treatment is over, u can try her techniques to gain better health... She has writen 2 books so far..."women and the weight loss tamasha" and "don't lose ur mind, lose ur weight"... The best part about her is that she allows us to eat all categories of food(be it cheese or paneer or pastries or whatever)...but we need to stick to some rules(which are very practical and easy to follow)...and ofcourse workout atleast 3 days a week or min of 3 hrs a week...even if u r not able to follow the changes she recommends, u will have a good time reading the book... The books are available online at flipkart, landmark etc...not sure if they deliver overseas...

Suja Rajkumar
1st March 2011, 09:38 PM
K,
Don't worry. Our prayers are with you. Kadavul paarthupaar. Admire your dedication to this thread. Meanwhile, can you drink barley water or barley kanji to reduce the swelling. I read vazhaithandu is good too. Kavalai padaatheenga.

Tried your tomato pnut chutney. It was good.

Dev, thanks for the tips and link. Tried it, still no good results. May be the flour. I am using a whole wheat flour that is reddish in color. A friend is coming over to show me how to make the chappathis. Will keep you posted about the results. Thanks Dev.

Suja

Aarthii
1st March 2011, 09:44 PM
suja,exactly,u r correct.
with that whole wheat flour ,u will not be able to get soft chappattis.
when i was there in india,i used to make soft chappattis very easily,but now here i too bought that whole wheat flour,though it has more nutrients ,and said to be more healthy,the chappatti will not turn soft.
if u come to know frm ur friend,plz lemme know suja.
It will be useful for me.

Aarthii
1st March 2011, 09:51 PM
Kuganka,
Dont worry!
everything will be alright soon.
Our prayers are always there for u and ur health.

Thanks for the recipes.

Aarthii
1st March 2011, 09:53 PM
Dev,thanks for the information reagrding the nutritionist.Came to know about her frm ur message only.
U r a great Information Bank dev!
Thanks once again

rose75
1st March 2011, 10:27 PM
Kugan, thank you very much for the shredded chicken recipe.
I will try it out soon. Then I can make for my husband's drinking parties.
Kugan, it is o.k take your time to post the recipes. We are all very lucky to get you.
I read about Kerala fish curry and Goan fish curry in another thread.
Can you post for us the recipe. No hurry take your time. It does not matter if no pictures.
We all love fish curries. Thanks.

Aarthii
2nd March 2011, 02:11 AM
Friends ,i need the recipe for kadai vegetable.
Can anyone plz the post a nice restaurant style of making it.
Kuganka,have u posted this recipe before?

Suja Rajkumar
2nd March 2011, 04:54 AM
Aarthi,
My friend came over and showed be parathas, stuffed parathas, and rotis. I had made the dough with water and salt and left it covered for 30 min. She told me that whole wheat flour is not good for the chappathis. She said best is Sujata atta. I had made the dough with Pilsbury atta, which was whitish in color. She suggested for a beginner like me Golden Temple atta would be good to start with. The chappathis were soft even without adding ghee or oil. Hope this helps. Will try to make it in a couple of days. Friend made enough for 2 days!!!.

Suja

NM
2nd March 2011, 10:04 AM
Hi K - even when you aren't well, you still cook/post recipes/photos for us.
We salute you!
BUT, please take care of yourself.

kugan98
2nd March 2011, 02:58 PM
bkarthika, thanks for your nice mail.
It's all the will of God.

I will soon post the recipe for poosini moorkulambu.
Cooking tomorrow. I do not know it is kongu or not.
That's how i cook. Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
2nd March 2011, 03:00 PM
Selviem, thanks for your mail.
Please try out the chicken recipe and post us the feed back.
Thanks, Selviem. Kugan98

kugan98
2nd March 2011, 03:05 PM
Dev, thanks for your concern.
I will ask my niece to get the books.
Friends are always coming from India.
She can pass on to them. Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
2nd March 2011, 03:09 PM
Suja, thanks ma for everything.
I am happy that you liked the chutney.

There you see, you have to use the ( She said best is Sujata atta):-D
Your brand .Just making fun, glad your chapattis will be softer here after.

I too make mine with only salt and water.

kugan98
2nd March 2011, 03:14 PM
Rose, try out the recipe and post us the feed back.
Rose if you want I will post the recipes for the two fish curries.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
2nd March 2011, 03:19 PM
Dear Aarthii, thanks for your nice mail.
I am having a hard time remembering the recipes that I have posted.:banghead:

I will post the recipe for the kadai vegetables for you.
Its another dish with mixed vegetables and spices.

I hope you can get the brand of atta flour as Suja.
Then you too can make soft chappathis.

kugan98
2nd March 2011, 03:24 PM
NM, thanks for your nice mail.
How are you feeling now?
Hope everything is fine with you.
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
2nd March 2011, 04:26 PM
bkarthika, here is how I do the mor kuzhambu.
Cook for your husband. Thanks, Kugan98

MOR KUZHAMBU

Ingredients:
1 cup poosini cut into cubes and boiled with with little salt

2 cups thick curds (not so sour) beaten well
½ tsp turmeric powder
Salt to taste

To Grind Fine:
½ cup grated coconut
1 small piece of ginger
4 green chillies
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp kadalai paruppu soaked

1 tsp oil
1 sprig curry leaves
½ tsp mustard seeds
A pinch of asafoetida

Boil the poosini (ash gourd) with little salt and just enough water.
Keep aside.

Beat the curds well with the turmeric powder and salt keep aside.

Now grind the ingredients fine. Add it to the curds mixture.
Mix well. Now add the cooked poosini to the curds.
Pour the mixture into a pot.
(R emember this should not be boiled at all.)

Keep the mixture on the stove, and when the mixture gets heated,
stir well, give a minute and take it off the stove.

Heat the oil in a pan, add in mustard seeds, curry leaves and
asafoetida powder. Pour the seasonings on the mor kuzhambu.
Stir and serve.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5052/5490989799_def6a90c2f.jpg

bkarthika
2nd March 2011, 04:30 PM
Hi Kugan,
Thank You very much for the MOR KUZHAMBU recipe. Tomorrow i am going to make this one. Take care of ur health....

kugan98
2nd March 2011, 04:55 PM
I made this, after seeing my friend doing kaya balls:-D

PEANUT BUTTER BALLS

Ingredients:
150 grms self rising flour
30 grms corn flour
1 tbs custard flour
70 grms sugar
1 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
1 egg (optional)
180ml milk
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 tbs oil
6 tbs of peanut butter
Little oil for greasing.

Method:
Mix all the flours, salt and baking powder.
Mix well and keep aside.

Whisk the sugar with the egg, until well mixed.
Add in the milk, mix well again.
Now add in the flour and mix until you get a smooth batter.
Add in the oil and the vanilla essence. Mix again and keep aside
for about 30 minutes.

Heat a kuzi paniyara chaty. Brush it lightly with some oil.
Pour some batter into each holes about ½ full.
Add a little dollop of the peanut butter in the middle of the batter.
Top up again with little batter to cover.

Once bubbles appear on top of the balls, and the bottom slightly browened,
Flip the balls over to cook the other side.
Once it is brown, remove the balls to a plate.
Serve with tea or as a snack.

NOTE: You can use jam , kaya or any filling of your choice.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5252/5491027425_c144cf4b4f_z.jpg

dev
2nd March 2011, 07:01 PM
Karthika, my recipe for Poosanikkai Morkulambu is the same as Kugan's... we add lil water to the curd while churning it... avalo thaan...

K, peanut butter balls looks so so soooooo yummy... :slurp:

Suja, sry tht ur chapathis din't turn out well... maybe the flour... try the brand ur friend suggested and let us know... As for oil, I always add atleast a lil oil/ghee to any dish I make so that we don't lose out on the fat soluble vitamins... U can leave it out if u want to...

Aarthii, have u tried vahchef's version of kadai veg?... it's good...give it a try...

2nd March 2011, 07:23 PM
Hi Kugan akka and co

Nalaiku ellarum ready ah? I mean Shivarathri ku :)

NM
3rd March 2011, 04:39 AM
Thanks K. I had my knee arthroscopy on Tuesday. Though the leg is still swollen, i feel better. I am taking it easy for now. The surgeon found a lump in the knee which was probably preventing me from straightening or bending it. Pray all will be good in no time.

kugan98
3rd March 2011, 10:25 AM
Thanks Dev, try the peanut balls for your little one.

NM, I am very happy for you.
I was thinking about you on the 1st.
I thought that you will be warded for few days.
Glad that everything is over.
Thanks to God. Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
3rd March 2011, 10:30 AM
P.S Tamby, every year, I will be hopping from one Sivan temple to another for prayers. The last will be the Sivan temple in Sentul, which is near my house.

This year I was lying down in bed, with my legs propped up in high pillows:cry2::cry2:

Hope others had a nice time.

kugan98
3rd March 2011, 10:45 AM
Dev, I was thinking about Rose75's request for the fish recipes.
Suddenly I remembered about your request for vegetarian fish curry:oops:
I felt so bad. I have the recipe and forgot about it:banghead:

Dev, according to my aunty, she learned the recipe from one cook who is the assistant to the famous "six taste king"

Dev, their method of making the fish slices is very confusing.
They ask to get a leaf called aadathodai leaf.
It seems it will be in a shape of a fish:confused2:
spread the mixture on the leaf. put a small banana stem
on the middle of the paste, cover again with a leaf, then steam it.
remove the steam and cut into slices before frying.

Dev I tell you, see my method for making the fish, very easy.
But the gravy according to the recipe is very tasty.
No tomato, no coriander powder.
Happy trying. Kugan98

kugan98
3rd March 2011, 11:03 AM
Dev, here is the recipe for you.
Accept my apologies:ashamed:
Kugan98

VEGETARIAN FISH CURRY

Ingredients:

For The Fish:
50 grms karamani
50 grms green gram dal
50 grms chick peas
25 grms kadalai paruppu
25 grms raw rice
15 grms sago
4 dried red chillies
2 pips garlic
Small piece of ginger
Little salt

For The Gravy:
150 grms tamarind
¼ tsp turmeric powder
3 tsp kas kas paste
3 tsp chillie powder
Salt to taste

2 tbs gingelly oil
2 dry red chillies broken
½ tsp mustard seeds
5 pips of garlic ( slice it if it is big)
2 shallots sliced
½ tsp fenugreek seeds
½ tsp cumin seeds

1 sprig fried curry leaves

Method For The Fish:
Soak the ingredients for the fish
Grind to a thick paste as we would grind for adai.
Take any leaf and shape the paste like a fish slice.
Use a stick to open up one side like a fish slice.
Steam the slices for about 10 minutes.
Remove and fry it in oil like a fried fish
Keep aside.

Method For The Curry:

Make 3 tumblers of tamarind juice.

Heat a pot with the oil.
Add in the seasonings as per order given.
Now add in the chillie powder, turmeric powder, salt
and the kas kas paste.
Let the curry come to a nice boil .
Now reduce the flame to minimum and allow the gravy
to become a bit thick.
Add in the vegetarian fish and bring to one boil
without stirring.
Garnish with the fried curry leaves.

STEAMED FISH:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5173/5493175561_a84d221ea0_z.jpg

FRIED FISH:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5292/5493177065_9087b9885b_z.jpg

FISH CURRY:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5177/5493178329_3a9bae44c9_z.jpg

bkarthika
3rd March 2011, 11:47 AM
Hi Kugan,
Today i made the Mor kuzhambu. It came out well...Your Vegetarian fish curry looks tempting. I will try this curry in weekend.. Kugan have u posted the recipe for PARUPPU URUNDAI KUZHAMBU .. If not means pls post it..I am bored of doing Sambar and Sambar sadham...Tomorrow i am planning to make this PARUPPU URUNDAI KUZHAMBU..
Thanks in Advance!!!

bkarthika
3rd March 2011, 11:50 AM
Karthika, my recipe for Poosanikkai Morkulambu is the same as Kugan's... we add lil water to the curd while churning it... avalo thaan...

Dev,

Thanks...Anyway i tried Kugans version and it came out well..

selvieam
3rd March 2011, 02:15 PM
wow kugan, fish looks so great. i will try next week.

3rd March 2011, 03:47 PM
Kugan ka

WHat happened to your legs :(

Happy Shivartri all :notworthy:

3rd March 2011, 03:49 PM
http://smsjokes.co.in/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/shiva-cartoons.jpg

Happy Shivrathri

lakme
3rd March 2011, 06:43 PM
Kugan and friends of KK, I will be making this Mor kuzhambu for a dear friend who recently had a kidney stone. As a result, he cannot take kathrikkai, tomato etc (vegs. with seeds). I will make cluster beans/kothavarakkai poriyal (usili type). Any suggestions for other veg dishes? Usually ennai kathrikkai is the famous accompaniment, but that's ruled out. One koottu for sure, what else? No thakkali rasam also!

Thanks in advance! Kugan, thanks to you, no more menu plannning headache:)

bkarthika, here is how I do the mor kuzhambu.
Cook for your husband. Thanks, Kugan98

MOR KUZHAMBU

Ingredients:
1 cup poosini cut into cubes and boiled with with little salt

2 cups thick curds (not so sour) beaten well
½ tsp turmeric powder
Salt to taste

To Grind Fine:
½ cup grated coconut
1 small piece of ginger
4 green chillies
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp kadalai paruppu soaked

1 tsp oil
1 sprig curry leaves
½ tsp mustard seeds
A pinch of asafoetida

Boil the poosini (ash gourd) with little salt and just enough water.
Keep aside.

Beat the curds well with the turmeric powder and salt keep aside.

Now grind the ingredients fine. Add it to the curds mixture.
Mix well. Now add the cooked poosini to the curds.
Pour the mixture into a pot.
(R emember this should not be boiled at all.)

Keep the mixture on the stove, and when the mixture gets heated,
stir well, give a minute and take it off the stove.

Heat the oil in a pan, add in mustard seeds, curry leaves and
asafoetida powder. Pour the seasonings on the mor kuzhambu.
Stir and serve.

]

Aarthii
4th March 2011, 01:10 AM
Aarthi,
My friend came over and showed be parathas, stuffed parathas, and rotis. I had made the dough with water and salt and left it covered for 30 min. She told me that whole wheat flour is not good for the chappathis. She said best is Sujata atta. I had made the dough with Pilsbury atta, which was whitish in color. She suggested for a beginner like me Golden Temple atta would be good to start with. The chappathis were soft even without adding ghee or oil. Hope this helps. Will try to make it in a couple of days. Friend made enough for 2 days!!!.

Suja

Suja,
I have bought that golden temple Atta only.
It's slightly reddish in color and i was not able to make soft chappathis with it.
Can u tell me,in what ratio she added flour and water?
Clear my doubts suja

Aarthii
4th March 2011, 01:12 AM
Dear Aarthii, thanks for your nice mail.
I am having a hard time remembering the recipes that I have posted.:banghead:

I will post the recipe for the kadai vegetables for you.
Its another dish with mixed vegetables and spices.

I hope you can get the brand of atta flour as Suja.
Then you too can make soft chappathis.

Take ur own time and plz post the recipe ,once wen u r free kuganka.
Fish curry looks great kuganka.
Amazing!

Aarthii
4th March 2011, 01:15 AM
Aarthii, have u tried vahchef's version of kadai veg?... it's good...give it a try...

no dev have not tried yet.Going to try it for today's dinner.Thanks for the info dev

kugan98
4th March 2011, 05:27 AM
Thanks bkarthika for your feed back.
I too today made the mor kuzhambu for lunch.

Are you a vegetarian? Why only sambar and sambar saatham?
bkarthika, if you have the time slowly go through the threads.
We have so many different types of kuzhambus.
Let us know, what type of dishes your family likes.
We will help you to prepare simple dishes for daily cooking.
I think you are in India, lots of varieties of veges you can get.
Cooking is fun, once you know the ABC of cooking.
Do not worry, we are here to help you.

kugan98
4th March 2011, 05:33 AM
bkarthika, the authentic paruppu urundai kuzhambu is made by adding the paruppu urundai direct to the kuzhambu without steaming the balls. That is very risky if you do not know the knack to do it. The balls will dissolve in the kuzhambu. You can either steam the balls or fry the balls before adding to the kuzhambu.

I remember posting a recipe. I also remember Selviem posting a recipe.
Just do not know where to hunt for them. I will post another recipe for you.
Thanks, and take care, Kugan98

kugan98
4th March 2011, 05:41 AM
Lakme, I feel very sorry for your friend. I can understand the feelings.
As you said, you only cannot cook veges with seeds.
Then your friend is very lucky. There are so many dishes that you can cook without adding brinjals, tomatoes.
Try keerai kutoos, veges kutoos, potato dishes, vaalaipoo dishes and so many types.
Not like me, so many restrictions.
Let us know, what else your friend can take.

kugan98
4th March 2011, 06:01 AM
Thanks Aarthi for your post.
I hope Suja will help you to make soft chappathis.
Let me know how your kadai veges turned out.
Most of the recipes will be about the same for this dish.
Lots of veges with some spices.
Kadai means the pot in which we cook.
Here in Malaysia, we call it wok, kuali or cheenchatti:-D
In India is known as kadai, vadai chatti, irumbu chatti.

KADAI VEGETABLES

Ingredients:

50 grms carrots cut into cubes
50 grms beans cut into ¼ inch piece
50 grms cauliflower florets
50 grms green peas
50 grms capsicum cut into cubes

Grind To Paste:
2 green chillies
3 pips of garlic
½ inch piece ginger

Grind Coarsely:
1 tsp coriander seeds
½ tsp cumin seeds
2 dried chillies

2 tbs oil
1 big onion sliced
1 big tomato chopped
¼ tsp turmeric powder
1 tbs coriander powder
2 tsp chillie powder
½ tsp garam masala powder
1 tsp kasuri methi
Salt to taste
Little cut coriander leaves
Little ginger cut into strips.

Method:
Heat the oil in a kadai. Add in the coarsely ground spices.
Now add in the sliced onions and sauté until a bit brown.
Add in the ginger garlic green chillie paste sauté well.
Add in cut tomatoes, stir fry well.

Now add in the vegetables except the capsicum.
Stir nicely, sprinkle little water and let the vegetables cook.
Now add in the turmeric, coriander and chillie powders.
Sprinkle little more water and stir fry well to mix every thing.

Now add in the capsicum, salt, garam masala powder,
And the kasuri methi leaves. Stir fry well.
The dish should be a little dry.
Add in the ginger strips and cut coriander leaves.
Remove and serve.

The Kadai:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5093/5495213583_16a3b01e16.jpg

This is how the dish will look like:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5251/5495230139_9e94f6ce50.jpg

kugan98
4th March 2011, 06:07 AM
NOV anneh, how are you and your family?
I presume you must be very busy.

NOV anneh my friends tell me that after some times, the pictures
in Flicker will disappear. How do you post pictures?
What media do you use, flicker, Imageshack or photobucket?:confused2:

I see now that my old pictures are back again.:redjump::redjump:
I do not know how long.

Aarthii
4th March 2011, 06:40 AM
karthika,
Here comes the prauppu urundai kulambu recipe of both kuganka,selvika

PARUPPU URUNDAI KULAMBU (Kuganka's Method)

Ingredients:
To make the urundai:
1 cup toor dal soaked for an hour
3 dry red chillies
Little asafetida powder
Little aniseeds
1 small onion chopped very fine
Little coriander leaves chopped very fine
Little salt.
Method:
Drain the dal, add in the dry chillies, aniseeds and salt.
Grind to a thick paste, add in the onions, coriander leaves,
asafetida powder, mix well. Shape into balls . keep aside.

Ingredients:
To make the kulambu:
1 lime size tamarind soaked in a cup of water
1 onion chopped
1 tomato chopped
1 tsp sambar powder
1 tsp chillie powder
2 tsp coriander powder
Little tumeric powder
1 tbs oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp cumin seeds
½ tsp fenugreek seeds
1 sprig curry leaves
2 cups of water
Salt to taste
Method:
Heat oil in a FLAT BOTTOMED PAN
Add in the mustard seeds, cumin seeds, fenugreek seeds,
curry leaves and asafetida powder.
Now add in the chopped onions and sauté well.
Add in the chopped tomatoes and cook till mushy.
Now add in the tamarind extract, and let it boil.

When it boils add in another 1 cup of water
Add in the chillie, coriander,sambar, and tumeric powders.
Add salt and let it boil till the raw smell goes.
The gravy should be a bit watery at this stage.
Add more water if needed.

Now drop the balls one by one.
Do not stir the kulambu after you add the balls.
Otherwise the balls will break. Cook until the balls are well cooked.
The gravy would have become a bit thick now.
Now you can stir gently once the balls are cooked.
You can garnish with cut coriander leaves.

Selvika 's Recipe

here i am posting the receipe of paruppu urundai kulambu.

paruppu urundai:
================

kadalai paruppu - 1 cup
toor dhal - 1/4 cup
soak for 2 hours. wash and drain.
ginger - 1 "
green chilly - 3
sombu - 1/4 tsp

grind the above with the dhal coarsely.

now add the following ingredients and mix to the ground dhal

reqd salt
turmeric pdr- 1/4 tsp
coconut grated - 2 tblsp
onion - 2 medium size, chopped
corainder leaves - 1 small handful chopped
curry leaves - few chopped
hing - 1/2 tsp
mix all the above ingredients thoroughly.

now make small ball and steam in the idli vessel.

By the side, we can prepare the curry .

Kulambu:
--------

small onion - 10 sliced
pepper - 1/4 tsp
jeera - 1/2 tsp
coconut grated - 1/4 cup (if needed we can use even 1/2 cup)
tomato - 1 small

now in a kadai add 1 tsp of oil, then add pepper, jeera, onion, tomato and coconut. all the above items should be added one by one, so that each and every items should fry nicely except coconut.
coconut can be fry for 2 minutes. then grind this to a fine paste.

now in a kadai, add oil 3 tsp, kadukku, urad dhal, venthayam, karuvadagam (little) , 1 small tomato finely chopped, garlic slices - 2 tsp .once this is fried nicely then add curry leaves. now add tamarind extract (from a big size lemon).
once it comes to boil add turmeric powder, salt.
either 2 tblsp of sambar powder or
red chilly powder 1 1/2 tsp
dhania powder 2 1/2 tsp
this is purely according to our spiceness we want.

now let it boil for 2 to 3 minutes. then add the coconut paste. allow it to boil nicely. then slow the fire, add the steamed balls, after this let it boil for 2 to 3 min. then switch off the stove. After the balls are inside the curry, once the first boil comes , then switch off otherwise the balls will become very hard.
Garnish with little coriander leaves.

Aarthii
4th March 2011, 06:41 AM
Kuganka,kadai vegetable looks yummy.
Plz post the reicpe kuganka.

kugan98
4th March 2011, 06:42 AM
FRIED URUNDAIS:
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5138/5495299419_db87923e36.jpg

THE KUZHAMBU:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5293/5495890848_2071d27198.jpg

Aarthii
4th March 2011, 06:42 AM
Dve,tried Kadai vegetable frm VahRehVah site.It turned good.
Thanks dev.

Aarthii
4th March 2011, 06:43 AM
kuganka,
unga velaia kuraichutten-nu ninaikaren ;)
selvika way of paruppu urundai kulambu post pannitten :)
I had a copy of both the recipes in my laptop.

kugan98
4th March 2011, 06:48 AM
Thanks Aarthii, you have saved me lot of time.
I will post the recipe by evening.

kugan98
4th March 2011, 06:56 AM
AArthii, I want to ask you something.
Rubenee has been chosen by her school, to go to Japan on the Children's exchange programme. Her friends frighten her by saying that, normally in a house they will have one common bath tub, and everyone have to use the same water to bath without using soap:think:
She is very scared, and what are the chances of getting vegetarian food there.
Since you have stayed in Japan you should have a rough picture of the country. She is studying Japanese now.
I advised her to take lots of maggie mee. To buy there bread, butter and jam.
Some cornflakes and things for breakfast.
Let me know your views. Thanks, Kugan98