View Full Version : Kugan's Kitchen Part 6

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16

kugan98
16th February 2012, 04:16 AM
Thanks NM and Dev, I think, P.S Tamby should not take the risk.
Can try the recipe with little green chillies.
Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
16th February 2012, 04:19 AM
Dear Gulabjamun, I am so happy to see your post.
Please do not feel bad to ask for recipes.
I will post if I know, that's all.
Feel free like asking your own family members.
I saw your pm for bottle gourd recipe.
I will post it also
Glad you liked the tofu recipe.

I know of a recipe that used besan flour in spinach.
I will post it for you.
Keep writing, thanks. Kugan.

kugan98
16th February 2012, 04:23 AM
Here to you, Gulabjamun.
The good taste comes from the chillie and lime juice. Kugan

SPINACH BESAN

Ingredients:

1 tbs oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp cumin seeds
Little asafoetida powder

Crush roughly:
3 garlic pips
3 green chillies

1 big onion sliced
3 cups of chopped spinach leaves
Salt to taste
A pinch of sugar

To mix well like mooru:
2 tbs besan flour
Little tumeric powder
¼ cup water

Lime juice to taste

Method:
Heat a wok with the oil, add in mustard, cumin and asafoetida.
Let them splutter well. add in the crushed garlic and green chillies.
Now add in the chopped onions and saute till lightly brown.
Add in the chopped spinach, little salt and a pinch of sugar.

Stir fry untill the spinach is cooked.
Now add in the besan mixture and keep stirring continuously.
The mixture will become slightly thick.
Check for salt, add in the lime juice and remove.

You will have a yellowish, greenish thick, spinach besan.
Enjoy it with chapathi, or rice.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7206/6883309965_039a503b15_z.jpg

kugan98
16th February 2012, 04:28 AM
SELVIEAM:-D welcome to the forum again.
So glad to see your post.
I am fine Selvieam, with all your prayers and wishes.

Please do not worry if you are busy.
As I have said over and over, our family comes first.
Do drop in when you are free.
Do not worry about recipes, even though I know you are a fantastic cook.
Take care, take care of the kids.
Bye, Kugan

I will tell Meerra that you liked her plum cake.

rose75
16th February 2012, 12:47 PM
Thank you, thank you Kugan for all the nice simple recipes.
Thanks to Gulabjamun for requesting nice recipes.

Well, Kugan it seems my mom was watching a cookery show.
They showed how to make bitter gourd thokku.
Since my mom does not know how to read and write, she does not know the recipe.
She said the dish looked very tasty.
If you happen to know the dish, p;lese kindly post it for us.
Thanks Kugan take care of your health. Rose

dev
16th February 2012, 09:40 PM
It is a great insult to Shivji :evil: thai chillie ellam enaku rusk saapidra mathari :lol2:

cool...;)

dev
16th February 2012, 09:42 PM
K, don't worry... I was just pulling his legs... I'm sure he knows his limits...so even if he tries the recipes, he'll adjust chillies to his taste...

16th February 2012, 09:58 PM
K, don't worry... I was just pulling his legs... I'm sure he knows his limits...so even if he tries the recipes, he'll adjust chillies to his taste...

:exactly: :)

suvai
18th February 2012, 08:06 PM
appappaaa......milagaai pathi padika padika....enaku oru inji milagai recipe thaan mind ku varuthu....its like milagaai kari...but...with inji....oru wedding la taste panninen....after that i have not tasted or tried on my own....if anyone does have the recipe...summa intha pakkamum podungalen..:noteeth:

okay oru kelvi...;-)

ennai paarthu whistle!!!! adikarthu yaar nu kandu pidiyunga paarkalaaam kugan / dev/ nm / selvi...(good to see u too)..:noteeth:...:noteeth:

kugan98
19th February 2012, 04:01 AM
Thanks all my dear friends for the nice posts.
Our Malaysian chillies are not that spicy.
Let me try the recipe first.
Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
19th February 2012, 04:09 AM
Gulabjamun, here is your request for surakai recipe.
A very simple recipe. Try it out.

SURAKKAI SUBJI

Ingredients:

2 tbs oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp urad dal
1 dry red chillie cut into two
1 sprig curry leaves
½ cup shallots sliced

1 tomato chopped
300 grms surakkai cleaned and cut into cubes
¼ tsp tumeric powder
Salt to taste
1 tbs sambar powder
½ cup water

2 tbs grated coconut, grind into fine paste
A dash of lime juice
Little coriander leaves

Method:
Heat oil in a pan, add in the mustard and urad dal.
Let it crackle, add in the red dry chillie, curry leaves and the onions.
Saute them well, for a minute, add in the tomatoes, and the surakai pieces.
Saute them well for about 5 minutes.

Add in the tumeric , sambar powders, add also salt and the water.
Stir fry well, cover and cook, till the vege is cooked.
Now add in the ground coconut, stir fry well and cook for 5 minutes.
Lastly add in the lime juice and the coriander leaves.
Remove and serve with rice or chapathi

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7065/6898887047_40fb88ec41_z.jpg

kugan98
19th February 2012, 04:12 AM
Dear Rose, thanks for your nice mail.
Well I have asked my aunt if she knows any bittergourd thokku.
I will post the recipe as soon as I receive it from her.
So do not worry, shoot away your requests.
Kugan

kugan98
19th February 2012, 04:24 AM
Nice to see you active again Suvai.
Your recipe will be posted very soon.

Suvai, do you know something?
I have been buying Japanese cucumbers, thinking that they are zuchini :banghead:
Today I managed to buy the real zuchini.
Recipe coming soon.

Are you referring to inji puli, or mirch ka salan?
Let us know Suvai.
Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
19th February 2012, 04:29 AM
Suvai, naan kandu pudichitten:redjump::redjump:
ungga pressure cooker thaan, ungalai paarthu whistle addich irrukku.:rotfl::rotfl:
Kugan

suvai
19th February 2012, 06:15 AM
:noteeth: :noteeth: kandu pidichiteengala??? :mrgreen::mrgreen:

enai paarthu vera yaaru whistle athuvum 3 - 4 tharam adika poraanga :noteeth: apadi adichaangana dharma adi freeyaa neraiyavey kidaikum

glad u got the real zuchini...methuvaa try panni paarunga...vera vazhi ilai inga antha kaai thaan get in plenty....athanaama namma oor thannikaai pola use pannikarthu..:noteeth:

tender zuchini kidaichithina...salad ku very thin slices panni saapidunga fresh ah suvaiya irukum..;-)

ada raama ivolo naal jap cucumber thaan zuchini nu nenaichikitu irutheengala? :noteeth:

inji puli...nalla kaarama irunthichi.... mirch ka salan naan try panninathu kidaiyaathu K..

suvai
19th February 2012, 06:21 AM
hmmm surakai subji looks good...no tomatoes kugan ngo!!....looks yumzyyy.

irukavey iruku zuchini...pottu pannida vendiyathu thaan :noteeth:

suvai
19th February 2012, 07:55 AM
kugan ngo.....kadapa kallu theriyum..athennaanga kadapa nu oru curry/kurma/kuzhambu nu irukaa enna?
apadi irunthichinaa....suvaiya irunthichinaa podunga recipe plz :noteeth:

dev
19th February 2012, 10:37 AM
K, suraikkai recipe paarkave superaa irukku...

Do u have a recipe for kerala spl gooseberries in brine?...

gulabjamun
19th February 2012, 08:28 PM
Kugan thanks a lot for the sorakkai subji.
I tried it out and it was sooo yummy.
Everyone liked it in my house.
I like simple recipes like this. Hope you will post more like this.
Thanks Kugan. Gulabjamun.

suvai
19th February 2012, 08:53 PM
dev......nalama ...:-) kutty nalla irukaalaa?

kadappa or kadapa recipe link podunga kidaichaa :noteeth: neenga thaan super faast aachey in kandupidichifying new good recipes....;-)....mudiyum bothu dev...no rush....at all....sareengala

kugan98
20th February 2012, 03:38 AM
Dev, thanks for your nice post.
I will post the recipe for gooseberries in brine soon.
They are very simple to make.
Here in Malaysia we get only the small ones.
I think they are called aranelli.
I thought of asking Sumi if she can get dry gooseberrie vatral there.
Some one showed me how to make your own hair oil.
Thanks Dev. Kugan

kugan98
20th February 2012, 03:43 AM
Suvai if I am not mistaken, I have already posted a kaddapa recipe.
Let me go through the blog and find out.
My blog is not updated for a long time:sigh2::sigh2:
Let me see what I can do.

NOTE: Long weekend, President Day ah, enjoy.

kugan98
20th February 2012, 03:52 AM
ZUCHINI MOTHAI

here is a simple zuchini mothai from my kitchen.

zuchini oru kai alavu cut into small pieces.
green chilli - 2 cut
tomatoes - 3 small or 1 big cut into small pieces.
onions - 1 cut into small pieces
3 or 4 cloves of garlic cut into small pieces.

mint & corriander leaves half a handful each chopped fine.

red chilli powd - 1/2 tsp or less
garam masala - 1/2 tsp or less (optional)
turmeric - 1/2 tsp or less

1 inch cinnamon
cloves - 2 nos.
jeera - 1/2 tsp
Oil & salt accordingly.

In a vessel, add oil....when hot add jeera / cloves/ cinnamon...now add onions fry for a bit add green chillies fry for a bit now add the tomatoes....water ellaam 3/4th evaporate aanathum....add red chilli powd...fry it now add turmeric...fry it....when oil floats add the garlic pieces....fry it for a bit now add the cut zuchini.....dont add water.....stir well till the masala gets coated on the zuchini....now add salt & cover & cook till the zuchini turns mushy & water evaporates.....only after which should you add the cut mint & corriander.......give it a good stir...(do all this in medium flame......till it all blends...now put off the flame....add the garam masala (optional) i added....tasty subji for chapathi or roti or even rice.

The Real Zuchini:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7066/6905536443_3481658332_z.jpg

The Zuchini Mothai:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7047/6905536457_9eca4b46ac_z.jpg

kugan98
20th February 2012, 04:00 AM
Suvai here is the kadappa recipe.

KADAPPA

Ingredients:
1 cup green gram dal soaked and boiled well
1 big potato boiled and mashed roughly
1 big onion chopped
4 pips garlic
2 one inch cinnamon sticks
3 cloves
½ tsp aniseeds
2 tsp oil
Little turmeric powder
Coriander leaves chopped
Lime juice to taste
Salt for taste

To grind to a fine paste:
1 tbs fried gram dal
1 tsp poppy seeds
8 green chillies
2 tbs scrapped coconut
4 pips garlic

Method:
Heat a wok with the oil, add in the cinnamon sticks, cloves and aniseeds.
When they splutter, add in the chopped onions, garlic and sauté.
When the onion turns golden, add in the cooked gram dal, and salt.
Add in about 2 cups of water, turmeric powder and let it come to boil.
When it boils, add in the potatoes, and the ground paste.
Let it boil well. Mix well, remove from the stove.
Add the lime juice, and garnish with the coriander leaves.
Goes well with rice, chappathi and bread.

http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/3867/kadappa.jpg

rose75
20th February 2012, 04:27 AM
Kugan thanks for posting the picture of real zuchini.
I will try out the recipe soon. Thanks Suvai for the recipe.

Hoping your aunt will response to your requset for bitter gourd thoku.

suvai
20th February 2012, 05:59 AM
hello nga kugan,
correct ah zuchini padam pottu....mothaiyum senjiteengala? superrrr o superrrr....:-) thank u kugan for trying it out....hope you & your family enjoyed it too.

kadappa recipe muthalaiye pottuteengalaa...ooops...sorry to have given u the trouble to have gone thru threads to post it again....naaaney search panni irupeney....thank uuuuuuuu!!
neenga taste panni irukeengala intha thalapa..kadapavai? :noteeth:
kurma maathri irukumo?

Thank u for both the recipes nga kugan...:-)

rose try pannitu sollunga ongaluku pidichithaanu...:-)

suvai
20th February 2012, 06:00 AM
k...engaluku inga family day...;-)

suvai
20th February 2012, 06:26 AM
Pulut Kacau or Wajik.....ithuku oru recipe iruntha podunga K....:noteeth: hope there is no egg in it....

bkarthika
20th February 2012, 03:21 PM
My dear friends, I am back to the forum.
It was because of my dear friends, prayers and wishes.
I am very very grateful to every one.
Give me some time and I will come back full force.
Take care my dear friends. Kugan

Kugan,

WELCOME BACK!!!! how r u? how is ur health now? I feel very happy now.....

20th February 2012, 05:31 PM
kadappa looks like what my mum used to make for roti canai back in the 70s :happydance:

20th February 2012, 10:28 PM
Mahashivaratri wishes to all !

kugan98
21st February 2012, 04:21 AM
Suvai, thanks for your nice post.
I had facetime with Meera, and she told me about the long week end.
I have posted the wajik recipe in Kugan's Kitchen 4.
I will repost it for you.
Kugan.

kugan98
21st February 2012, 04:23 AM
GLUTINOUS RICE PUDDING (WAJIK)

Ingredients:
500 grms glutinous rice over night
250 grms palm sugar chopped into pieces
200 grms soft brown sugar
400 ml thick coconut milk
150 ml thin coconut milk
100 ml water
½ tsp salt
4 screwpine leaves shredded and knotted

Method:
Drain the glutinous rice, place in a shallow heat proof dish.
Steam rice over rapidly boiling water for 20 minutes.
Now add in the 150 ml thin coconut milk.
Mix nicely and steam again for 20 minutes.
Fluff up and keep aside.

Put the water and both the sugars and screwpine leaves,
in a wok, stir and cook over low heat until sugar dissolves.
Strain the syrup.

Place the syrup, coconut milk and salt in a wok.
Cook over medium high heat, stirring constantly until,
mixture is thick . the surface will be full of bubbles.
Test a little with two fingers, it would be sticky.

Now add the steamed rice. Stir constantly until mixture is thick and sticky.
The wajik will form a ball while stirring, also quite gooey.
Turn mixture into a shallow tray, lined with a banana leaf.
Allow to cool and harden, then cut them into serving size pieces.

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/6843/wajik.jpg

kugan98
21st February 2012, 04:26 AM
Welcome, welcome bkarthika, :pink::pink: so glad to see again in the thread.
Hope every thing is fine with you.
Thanks for all your wishes and prayers.
Do drop in when time permits.
Try out the simple recipes.
Thanks and take care. Kugan

kugan98
21st February 2012, 04:43 AM
Dear Dev gooseberry in brine is very simple.
This is how my aunt makes it in India.
Are they in season now?

Here it is:

GOOSEBERRIES IN BRINE:

Ingredients:
1 clean glass jar with cover
20 gooseberries cleaned and dry
enough water to fill the jar
salt to taste
little vinegar
3 green chillies, slit length wise

Method:

Boil the water with salt, and let it cool a bit.
add in the gooseberries, slit green chillies, little vinegar.
taste for salt, let it cool completely.
close the lid and keep for a week.
your gooseberries are ready to use.

Thanks For The Picture:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7201/6912664667_59127d3a03_z.jpg

kugan98
21st February 2012, 04:50 AM
Dear friends, yesterday was Mahasivaratri. Thanks P.S brother.
Usually after prayers, I will be hopping from one Sivan temple to other with friends.
Ending with Sentul Sivan temple for the last puja.
This year due to my health, had prayers in the house and went to sleep.:fatigue:
I hope every one had a good time yesterday.

Today is Ammavasai, another hectic day.
Take care friends. Kugan

kugan98
21st February 2012, 04:56 AM
NOV anneh, thanks for your nice post.
Yes, anneh, my grandmother too will make something like that minus the strong spices.
Every time chapathi, sure to have this whole moong dal curry:)
That was my grandma's trade mark.

NOV anneh please ask amma for all her simple recipes.
I am sure, they must be very yummy.
Moreover, old is gold. We do not want to forget, old recipes.
Thanks anneh. Take care. Kugan

kugan98
21st February 2012, 05:02 AM
Dear Rose, here is your request.
Try it at once and give your mom.
It was really very, very yummy. Kugan

BITTERGOURD THOKKU

Ingredients:

4 tbs oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp urad dal
1 sprig curry leaves

¼ kg long bittergourd cut into cubes
¼ tsp tumeric powder
1 tsp salt

3 big onions sliced fine
4 ripe tomatoes chopped fine
2 tsp chillie powder

1 lime size tamarind, take 1 cup juice
Jaggery to taste
Salt to taste

To Roast and powder fine:
1 tsp raw rice
2 tsp tur dal
1 tsp cumin seeds

1 sprig curry leaves torn with fingers

Method:
Heat oil and add in the seasonings, fry well.
Add in the cut bittergourd pieces, fry again well.
Add in the tumeric and salt, add in the onions, saute well.

Add in the chopped tomatoes, chillie powder and cook till mushy.
Add in the tamarind juice, add in the jaggery. Taste for salt.
Cook till thick and oil rises, add in the roasted powder.

Stir fry well, add in the torn curry leaves and remove.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7188/6912767809_374de0fb0c_z.jpg

bkarthika
22nd February 2012, 09:42 AM
Hi Kugan,

What a surprise??? I am able to see all the pictures!!!!.. I hope u remember that once i complained that I am not able to see all the pictures posted in this thread...Even till yesterday all the pictures are visible.....Today I got it...Really I am very happy to see the pictures......Really Kugan, if we see the picture, I feel how the taste it will be!!!!! By seeing the picture itself I am satisfied!!!!!!

Take Care!!! Bye.

rose75
22nd February 2012, 04:54 PM
Kugan, I do not know how to thank you for the bitter gourd recipe. My mom was so glad.
She said the picture looked the same.
I will cook it for her and give you the feed back.
Thank you, thank you Kugan. You have made an old soul happy.
Rose

dev
22nd February 2012, 09:24 PM
Thanks a lot for the gooseberry in brine recipe... gooseberries season thaan... arainellikayum kothu kothaa paarka mudiyudhu ella marathiayum... but not many seem to make good use of it... paadhi keezha thaan vizhundhu kidakkudhu...:( can we preserve arainelli also in brine?...

dev
22nd February 2012, 09:25 PM
Kugan, unga kai pattal pavakkai kuda inikkum pols irukku...;) pic looks sooo tempting...

nithishri
23rd February 2012, 01:07 AM
Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii kugan akkka, how are youuuu??? Glad to seee u back here :)

kugan98
23rd February 2012, 05:46 PM
Dear bkarthika, I am so happy for you.
I too will feel something missing if there is no picture.
The picture will give you an idea how the dish would look like.
Thanks bkarthika, please come to the forum when time permits.
Thanks and take care. Kugan.

kugan98
23rd February 2012, 05:47 PM
Thanks Rose, waiting for your feed back.
Take care. Kugan

kugan98
23rd February 2012, 05:55 PM
Thanks Dev, for your nice post.
Dev, you can preserve aranelli in the same way.
Here in Malaysia, they will add sugar to the brine.
They sell them in the shops here.
I am looking for gooseberry vatral to make hair oil.
It seems the hair oil will prevent hair greying:roll:

Try out the bitter gourd recipe and let us know.
Credit should go to my aunt.
She has mailed me a simple potato thokku.
I will post it soon.
Take care. Kugan.

kugan98
23rd February 2012, 06:00 PM
Nithiiiiiiiiiii, so glad to see you in the forum again.
Thanks for all your kind wishes.
Please come often to the forum, when time permits.
Try out the recipes and give us the feed back.
Post simple recipes that you have. Thanks, take care. Kugan

kugan98
23rd February 2012, 06:56 PM
Friends, I made this pakoda for tea.
Try it out friends. Kugan

ONION PAKODA

Ingredients:

(A)
1 cup channa dal
1 tbs rice flour
½ tsp chillie powder
½ tsp aniseed
A pinch of asafoetida powder
Salt to taste

(B)
2 green chillies chopped fine
2 tsp ginger chopped fine
2 tsp coriander leaves chopped fine
1 sprig curry leaves chopped
2 big onions sliced

(C)
2 tbs hot oil
Little water

Method:
In a bowl, mix all the ingredients in (A) well.
Now add all the ingredients in (B) to the bowl.
Using your hand knead all the ingredients well.
Add in the hot oil, and continue kneading.

The onions will release some water while kneading.
Sprinkle very little water to bind everything well.
The mixture will be little sticky.
Heat oil in a wok, pinch a small amount of the mixture,
And drop in hot oil on medium heat and fry till golden.
Serve hot as a snack with a hot cup of tea.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7208/6777018000_5baa84b533_z.jpg

selvieam
26th February 2012, 09:38 AM
kugan, pakoda is tempting. will try out for a party.

dev
26th February 2012, 10:27 PM
Hi Aarthi, I tried ur Vendaikka kulambu and it tasted sooooo good!!!... thanks a lot for the recipe...do come to the hub often...:)

dev
26th February 2012, 10:42 PM
pakoda 1 plate parcel pls...;)

kugan98
27th February 2012, 08:27 AM
Selviem, thank you very much for your post.
Please try out the pakoda, very simple and tasty.
No need for any sauce for dipping too.
Thanks Kugan

kugan98
27th February 2012, 08:31 AM
Dev, thank you very much for your nice post.
Try out the onion pakoda Dev, very simple and tasty.

Dev, my now worry is about Aarthii.
She is not the type to keep away from the forum.
At least she will mail me her reasons.
I know her from the time she was staying in Japan.
Let us all pray that she is well and good with her family.
Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
27th February 2012, 08:50 AM
Well friends I was a bit busy cooking things for my niece,
who had the "manjal neeratu Villa " in her house for her daughter.

Well, I cooked, rava biryani :roll:
Urad dal kali, onion pakoda and seeni vadai.
Since my maid, made the batter for seeni vadai a bit watery,
I had to fry them into balls.
I will redo the seeni vadai and post the picture.

I will post the recipe for the above , if any one is interested.

I also made, puttu, methu vadai, urad dal kangi and kesari.
I have posted the recipes for all these in our forum, before.

Thanks, Kugan

RAVA BIRYANI:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7205/6933806881_2e12c4aa72_z.jpg

URAD DAL KALI:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7190/6933806899_785d63fa75_z.jpg

SEENI VADAI:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7065/6933806887_a730ea1593_z.jpg

ONION PAKODA:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7186/6933806911_5aaf96919f_z.jpg

rose75
27th February 2012, 01:31 PM
Kugan, I just do not know how to thank you.
Mikka nantri, my mom loved the bitter gourd thoku.

I will try the onion pakoda too, looks very nice.
Please post all the recipes that you cooked for your niece.
Seeni vadai is something new to all of us.
So is rava biryani and urad dal kali.
Waiting for your nice recipes.

Will pray for our Aarthii.
Rose75

gulabjamun
27th February 2012, 07:39 PM
Kuganka, thanks for all the nice recipes.
I too tried the bitter gourd thoku, turned out super.
Please post all the recipes, seeni vadai, kali and rava biryani.

Akka your concern about Aarthii shows your good gentle heart.
We all will pray for her. Gulabjamun.

dev
27th February 2012, 09:49 PM
K, indha onion pakodava readymade bajji maavila senjaal nalla irukuma?... I have a big pack of leftover bajji maavu from the housewarming... not many takers for bajji at home...:(

kugan98
28th February 2012, 05:06 AM
Dear Rose, thanks for your nice post.
I will post soon the recipes for you.
I am very glad that your mom liked the bitter gourd thokku.

You know, urad kali, urad dal kanjii, are all disappearing recipes.
We must not forget all these recipes.

Thanks and take care, Kugan

kugan98
28th February 2012, 05:11 AM
Thanks Gulabjamun for your nice post.
I did not know that there will so much response for disappearing recipes.

I received few pms requesting for the recipes.
Please do not be silent readers. Post your comments in the forum.
I will feel happy to read and reply your queries.
Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
28th February 2012, 05:15 AM
Dev, you can use the bajii flour.
Add little more rice flour, and all the other ingredients.
If the smell of asafoetida is not enough, add little more.
Try and let me know.
Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
28th February 2012, 05:18 AM
Dev, why you do not like my rava biryani:shaking:

kugan98
28th February 2012, 05:29 AM
Aarthii mailed me, Aarthii vanthachu, Aarthii vanathachu:bluejump::happydance::clap:
I feel so happy, she explained everything in the mail to me.
Thanks Aarthii, I feel so happy now. I feel very relieved.
Thanks to the Almighty. Kugan

kugan98
28th February 2012, 06:08 AM
Here is a dish, to welcome Aarthii.
Enjoy the dish Aarthii. Kugan

SOYA MASALA

Ingredients:

(A)
2 cups soya chunks
2 pips garlic smashed
1 small piece ginger smashed
1 small stick of cinnamon
2 cloves smashed
Little milk
Little salt

(B)
For Marination:
2 tsp chillie powder
½ tsp tumeric powder
½ tsp pepper powder
1 tsp garam masala powder
3 tbs corn flour
Salt to taste

(C)
For Masala:
4 tbs oil
1 tsp aniseeds
1 stick cinnamon stick
2 cardamom pods
1 sprig curry leaves
1 big onion sliced
1 green chillie chopped
1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic pste
2 tsp chillie powder
½ tsp tumeric powder
½ tsp garam masala powder
½ tsp pepper powder
1 tbs lime juice
Salt to taste

Method:
Add all the ingredients in (A) in a pot with water.
Boil everything for about 10 minutes.
Let it cool, drain and wash in lots of water and squeeze.
Cut into halves and keep aside.

Now add all the ingredients in (B) into the soya chunks.
Let it rest for about 10 minutes.
Now heat about 2 tbs of oil in a non-stick pan.
Shallow fry the soya chunks till golden and crisp. Keep aside.

Heat 2 tbs of oil, add in the aniseeds, let it splutter.
Add in the curry leaves , add in the onions, saute till lightly brown.
Add in the ginger garlic paste, stir fry well.
Add in the chillie powder, tumeric, garam masala, and salt.

Add in about a ¼ cup of water, add in the soya chunks.
Mix well and let it simmer for about 10 minutes.
The masala should coat all the soya chunks well, and gravy dry.
Add in lemon juice and remove. Garnish with coriander leaves

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7206/6936720419_c118759109_z.jpg

Mrs.Mano
28th February 2012, 10:41 AM
Dear Kugan!

Just now I have seen your post and then read all the comments and wishes about your health. i felt very happy to know that you have recovered from all the pain and the problems. Welcome back! Nice to see you here posting delicious recipes as always!!

selvieam
28th February 2012, 04:24 PM
kids love soya chunks, i will try this out tomorrow., it looks great.

lakme
28th February 2012, 09:47 PM
Kugan, rava biryani looks so tempting; please post the recipe!

So glad to see you back and this thread back in action.

Aarthii
29th February 2012, 07:01 AM
Dear Friends,
Very sorry for my absence without any notice.
really had a very hectic time,and hardly i couldn't find enough time to sit infront of system.
Went to india for a two months trip and returned back just one week back.

Kuganka,happy to see u back.So many posts u have made.Thanks for the wondeful recipes kuganka.

Dev,How was ur trip?Sorry for not mailing you dev.Really was very busy.How is my lil darling?
Hope you enjoyed the trip very well.Eventhough i didnt mail u,i thought about you and your trip a lot.I was telling my husband always about your trip.

Selvika,how r u and family?Made ur kadalai curry recently for a potluck,it was a sooper hit.Thanks selvika.

Suvaika,eppadi irukeenga?

Meera thanks for all the recipes u have posted on behalf of kuganka.

Hai to all my other friends rose75,gulab,lakme and all others.Sorry if i left anybody else.

Aarthii
29th February 2012, 07:02 AM
Thanks for the wonderful welcome recipe kuganka :))

Aarthii
29th February 2012, 07:04 AM
Thanks for trying out vendaikka kulambu,it is a all time hit in my house :)
If u keep it and have it on the next day,it will be even more tastier dev.

kugan98
29th February 2012, 05:28 PM
Dear Mrs. Mano maam, thank you very much for your concern.
I am feeling much better now, it's because of blessings and wishes from kind people like you maam.
Thank you very much for your kind words. God Bless your family.
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
29th February 2012, 05:30 PM
Selviem, thanks for your nice post.
Please give us the feed back, after trying the recipe.
Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
29th February 2012, 05:31 PM
Thanks Lakme for your nice post.
I will post the recipe for rava biryani today.
Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
29th February 2012, 05:36 PM
Aarthii, so glad to see you in the forum.
I read all your mails, and understood your situation.
I am sure you must have been very happy, organizing your dad's 60th birthday.
Please take complete rest before coming to the forum.
I was just worried about you.
Take care. Kugan

kugan98
29th February 2012, 05:44 PM
RAVA BIRYANI

Ingredients:

400 grms roasted rava or 2 cups

1 tbs oil
1 inch cinnamon stick
4 cloves
5 cardamom pods

3 medium onions cut into slices
Little salt
¼ tsp tumeric powder

100 grms carrot cut into sticks
100 grms beans, cut into 1 inch in length
100 grms cauliflower cut into florets

1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste
¼ cup curds
4 medium tomatoes chopped
1 tbs chillie powder
2 green chillies, chopped

1 tbs mint leaves
1 tbs coriander leaves
Salt to taste

2 cups water
Enough lime juice

Method:

Heat oil in a non stick wok, add in the cardamom pods, cinnamon stick and cloves.
Let them splutter, add in the sliced onions and little salt.
Saute well , add in the tumeric powder and saute well till lightly brown.
Add in the carrots, beans and cauliflower. Stir fry well.

Now add in the ginger garlic paste, stir fry, add in the curds.
Now add in the cut tomatoes, chillie powder and green chillies.
Add also the mint and coriander leaves, add enough salt.
Stir fry and cook for a minute.

Now add 2 cups of water and allow the mixture to come to a boil.
Slow the flame very , very low , add in the lime juice, add the roasted rava.
Stir nicely, without forming any lumps. Cover and cook on it’s own steam for 10 minutes.
Remove the cover and fluff up the cooked rava. Your biryani is ready.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7198/6794757846_81236c2af6_z.jpg

29th February 2012, 06:30 PM
Hi K, my sister bought a new PC and has signed up for net connection... I will be recommending her this thread tomorrow. :redjump:

my mum and sisters are pure vegetarians (no egg too).

kugan98
1st March 2012, 02:36 PM
NOV anneh, I really honoured. Thank you very much.:ty::ty:
I hope mother and sister will like this kitchen.
In our house too no eggs.
Thanks again NOV anneh.
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
1st March 2012, 02:41 PM
I dedicate this dish to NOV anneh's mother and sister.
Thanks. Kugan

FRIED TOFU MASALA

Ingredients:

5 pices square tofu cut into small pieces
Little oil

1 tbs oil
3 cloves
2 cardamoms
1 inch cinnamon stick
1 tsp cumin seeds

1 big onion chopped
1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste
1 tbs mint leaves
1 tbs coriander leaves
1 big tomato chopped
2 tsp chillie powder
1 tsp cumin powder
½ tsp amchoor powder
Salt
Little coriander leaves

Method:
Cut the tofu into squares, and shallow fry them. Keep aside.
Heat oil in a wok, add in the cloves, cardamoms, cinnamon and cumin seeds.
Now add in the onions and saute well.
Add in the ginger and garlic paste, stir fry till raw smell goes.

Add in the mint and coriander leaves, add also the tomatoes.
Cook till the tomatoes are mushy. Add in the chillie and cumin powders.
Add also the amchoor powder and enough salt.
Add about ¼ cup of water and the shallow fried tofu pieces.

Cook till oil separates, remove and garnish with little coriander leaves.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7051/6943277027_27395f465c_z.jpg

Aarthii
1st March 2012, 07:15 PM
fried tofu masala looks good.can this be tired with paneer kuganka?

kugan98
1st March 2012, 08:10 PM
Thanks Aarthii for your post.
Yes, you can try it with paneer.
Shallow fry the paneer and drop it in water.
This is to prevent the paneer from going hard.
I am sure it will taste as good as tofu.
Try it out Aarthii. Thanks. Kugan

dev
1st March 2012, 09:19 PM
Thanks for trying out vendaikka kulambu,it is a all time hit in my house :)
If u keep it and have it on the next day,it will be even more tastier dev.

Aarthii, trip was wonderful...:) no issues... din't get a chance to taste the food at Haldirams... Kids loved the weather there and refused to wear jackets/sweaters most of the time!!!... manali poi thaan jacket potaanga...

Vendakkai kuzhambu...I actually made it with an intention to store some for the next day...but oru thuli kuda michcham aagalai...;) next time I'll hide some to taste the next day...:D

dev
1st March 2012, 09:20 PM
Super recipes K...rava biriyani is a must try...:)

Aarthii
2nd March 2012, 02:12 AM
Will try it with panneer for sure kuganka.
Kuganka,coming sunday am planning to invite two families for lunch,Am planning to make veg kuruma for chappatti.please post a veg kuruma recipe,which is very easy to make and even tasty too.Am going to make it directly on the get together day.So without any fail,i wanted to make it tatsy .Please help me kuganka.
And one more help,i would like to make rasmalai too.Is it easy to make ,without any trails?

Post the recipe of that also kuganka.

Aarthii
2nd March 2012, 02:14 AM
Am happy that you all enjoyed the trip dev :)
For sure,try that vediakka kulambu again.

Dev,have u tired any rasmalai recipes before?If u have a recipe,which makes perfect rasmalai,please let me know.
take care

Aarthii
2nd March 2012, 02:25 AM
A recipe from me,which i tasted in my friends place.The taste was very good.

RidgeGourd Curry

Ingredients

Ridgegourd : 2 nos
Onion : 1 big
Tomato : 1 big
Coriander powder: 1 tsp
chilli powder : 1/2 to 1 tsp
Turmeric powder : 1/4 tsp

Things to Grind :

Coconut 2 to 3 tbs
Garlic pip 1
Coriander powder 1 tsp

Method:

Chop the onion into small pieces(even fine too)
Chop the tomato into small pieces
Peel the skin of ridegourd and chop it into small pieces
Heat the kadai,and pour oil into it,once when the oil is ready,add the mustard and urad dal
once when it is done,add the onions,and fry it nicely,once when the onions got fired,add the tomatoes.
fry the tomatoes nicely,once when the skin of the tomato leaves it,add the ridegourd pieces and fry it nicely.
After few minutes,add corainder powder,chillie powder,turmeric powder.Mix everything nicely.
Add lil water,boil the ridegourd pieces.
Once when it is half done,add the grinded paste and add salt .
Add about 1/2 to 1 cup of water and allow it to boil for 5 to 10minutes.
Once when the veg pieces are done garnish it with coriander leaves.
Goes well with chappatti and even rice too.

PS : Instead of ridgegourd ,zucchini can also be used.

kugan98
2nd March 2012, 04:31 AM
Thanks Dev, do try out the rava biryani.
It's a change from normal upma.
Read your pm, thanks for the trouble taken.
Will reply soon. Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
2nd March 2012, 04:34 AM
Dear Aarthii, thank you very much for the nice post.
Also for the recipe given. I will try it out soon.

I have posted vege kurmas and rasa malai before.
I will e-mail the recipes to you.
For easy work, buy a tin of rasagolla and make your rasamalai:-D
Look out your e-mail. Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
2nd March 2012, 04:45 AM
Dear Aarthii, please go to the Kugan's Kitchen Blog.
You can see all the recipes.
All are tested ones. Thanks. Kugan

dev
2nd March 2012, 11:22 AM
Aarthi, try Kugan's special veg kurma which has lil coconut milk in it...very tasty even without coconut milk...easy to make aswell...

I always make rasmalai using haldirams rasgullas... just squeeze out the juice from rasgulla and put it in warm water and squeeze out the water gentkly...u can put the rasgullas in a lemon squeezer and squeeze very gently... will be less messy than squeezing by hand...
Boil milk with some cashew paste and saffron strands(mixed in warm milk)...
Add sugar to taste, cardamom powder and the rasgullas... simmer for 2 mins... take off flame and garnish with pistachios(sliced)...Chill n serve...
Simple and yummy...

If u can't get readymade rasgullas, just go for warm gulabjamuns with vanilla ice cream... very easy and loved by all...

U can also try Mrs.Mano's rasmalai using milk powder and eggs if u want to try from scratch...

dev
2nd March 2012, 01:44 PM
Interesting recipe Arthi... will try it...:) Kandippa will try the vendakkai curry again...we loved it a lot!!!

K, do u have a recipe for sweet mixture...the kind u get in TN... a mixture of white sticks(I guess potatoes),peanuts,cashews,raisins etc and enough sugar to make it taste like a sweet dish...

gulabjamun
2nd March 2012, 02:25 PM
Kugan your rava biryani came out perfect.
It's taste too was very yummy. Now we have a new dish for any parities.
Thank you Kugan, please post the seeni vadai recipe also.
Gulabjamun

Aarthii
3rd March 2012, 01:24 AM
Kuganka,thanks for the kuruma,rasagulla recipes .
will try it for sure and come back to you with the feedbacks.

Aarthii
3rd March 2012, 01:27 AM
Thanks for the rips regarding rasmalai dev,Lemme whether i can get readymade rasmalai's
Hot gulab jamun nice idea dev :) but is it possible to make it on the party day?
Already i have to make two to three dishes right?
any idea of making it warm again,if i prepared it on the previous day for the next day afternoon lunch.

Aarthii
3rd March 2012, 01:29 AM
Dear Aarthii, please go to the Kugan's Kitchen Blog.
You can see all the recipes.
All are tested ones. Thanks. Kugan

Will chk the blog for sure kuganka.

V_S
3rd March 2012, 04:43 AM
kugan ma'am,
This is my first post in this thread. Sorry, I don't visit this thread often. I have been reading occasionally about your delicious dishes. Today, my wife wanted to try a new dish and immediately recommended this thread and she picked your 'Surakkai Subzi'. To be honest, surakkai never tasted this good before. So delicious! My wife and me saying a huge thanks to you and to your hard work. Great job!

Also heard that you were not feeling well for some time and very happy that you are back. Please take care.

kugan98
4th March 2012, 08:37 PM
Thanks Dev, Aarthii and Gulabjamun for your nice posts.
Aarthii, I hope everything turns out well for your party.
Kugan

kugan98
4th March 2012, 08:42 PM
Dear V_S, Kugan's kitchen extends a warm welcome to you and your wife.
We in the Kugan's kitchen, are very honoured by your compliments and feed back.:ty::ty:
This will inspire us to post more nice recipes.
We are very glad that you liked our simple recipe.
Please try out more of our recipes.
Most of them are simple, day to day cooking.
Please come to the forum when time permits.
I am feeling lot better is because of blessings and wishes from kind people like you.
Take care. Kugan

kugan98
4th March 2012, 08:50 PM
You all must have heard of sweet halwa's.
Here is a spicy potato halwa to try:roll:

SPICY POTATO MASALA HALWA

Ingredients:

½ kg potato boiled and mashed well, without any lumps.
3 tbs oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp urad dal
1 spring curry leaves
1 tbs ginger minced well
100 grms onion chopped very fine
Little salt
1 tsp rice flour
2 tsp chillie powder
1 tsp coriander powder
1 tsp garam masala powder
Salt to taste

Method:

Heat oil in a wok, add in thge mustard seeds, cumin seeds and urad dal.
Let them splutter well, add in the curry leaves, and the ginger.
Stir fry well, add in the onions and little salt, fry well.
Add in the rice flour, chillie powder, and stir fry again.

Now add in the mashed potato, coriander and garam masala powder.
Add enough salt, and keep on stirring till it comes like a halwa.
Remove and serve with rasam rice, or curd rice.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7187/6806221156_c2830ddccf_z.jpg

suvai
4th March 2012, 10:57 PM
Hello nga kugan......................ada ada daaa daaa daaaa thaaan ponga.......onga special veg kurma ku....romba super....romba tasty....perfect taste......A1.....i also made veg pulao............very simple & abaramaana taste....renduthukum......:thumbsup::thumbsup:.... ..........dev yr suggestion was perfect..ty too!

can u believe a kurma without garlic & ginger....antha doubt ellaam thooki pottudum inthe kurma...:noteeth:

blog la irunthu thaan eduthen rendu recipes um...;-)

aarthi....good to see u ....& happy to know all is well.....i will give u a very very very simple rasmalai recipe......all the best with it......if u want to give it a try.
Kugan ...dev...selvi...neengalum try pannalaam...let me know how it turns out..........:-)

En friendoda Easy O Easy Rasmalai..........:noteeth:

I usually double the quantity of everything and make in a bigger rectangular dish. It usually takes about 45 - 55 minutes in the oven but you should keep checking after the first 30 minutes

In a bowl mix together 2 cups part skim ricotta cheese ( 1 lb container ) with 1 cup of sugar until very smooth.

Pour into a 8 inch square glass baking dish and place in a preheated 350 degrees oven for 20 minutes. Continue to bake another 10-20 mins, checking the mixture every 5 minutes until it separates from the sides of the pan. Remove and cool.

Bring to a boil in a saucepan 2 cups half and half with a pinch of saffron added to it. Let it cool.

Cut the baked ricotta into serving size squares and place in a serving dish. Pour the half and half over it, sprinkle slivered unsalted almonds or pistachios on top and allow to soak and chill in the refrigerator. Enjoy !

I usually pour a can of low fat evaporated milk on the baked ricotta squares instead of half and half. No need to heat the evaporated milk, so that makes sit easier.

You do not need to add sugar to the milk as when you pour it on the baked ricotta and chill in the fridge it will absorb the sugar from the ricotta and become sweet.

I soak a pinch of saffron in a couple of tsps of warm water, let it stand for half and hour and pour it on the rasmalai when I add the slivered pistachios. Very easy and delicious ......aahaaaa aahaaaa aaahaaa nu sollikitey irupaanga onga family / friends :noteeth:

u better make plenty becoz....meethi irukavey irukaathu for sure :noteeth:

Another tip....for one container of ricotta cheese you can use half container of sugar ( use the same container for measurement)....try Tri Stelle ricotta cheese.... works very well)...hope this helps

suvai
4th March 2012, 10:59 PM
dev....aarthi yoda vendakai puli kuzhambu recipe thedinen kidaikala....entha K's page nu konjam sollunga plz..;-)

suvai
4th March 2012, 11:02 PM
konja naal etti paarka mudilainaa....reverse gear kandipaa pottaganum kugan's page la....to catch up........... :noteeth:

suvai
4th March 2012, 11:44 PM
hmmmm kugan nga have u tried....vennai puttu?....shouldnt puttu be uthir uthir....but the pic i saw was mushy.....onga aunt recipe or yrs iruntha podunga..plz
another one is sada payasam???

dev namaku picture or link pottuduvaanga paarunga ..:noteeth:

dev ....hope all is well ...:-)

suvai
5th March 2012, 01:14 AM
Perai paarunga...inthe recipe ku........"mannaangkatti"....:noteeth:

rose75
5th March 2012, 06:09 AM
Dear V_S, Kugan's kitchen extends a warm welcome to you and your wife.
We in the Kugan's kitchen, are very honoured by your compliments and feed back.:ty::ty:
This will inspire us to post more nice recipes.
We are very glad that you liked our simple recipe.
Please try out more of our recipes.
Most of them are simple, day to day cooking.
Please come to the forum when time permits.
I am feeling lot better is because of blessings and wishes from kind people like you.
Take care. Kugan

Kugan, you are truly a amazing person.
V_S praised you and your cooking, but you have given the credit to all in the Kugan's kitchen.
You are such a generous person. I want to salute to you.
Your recipes are simple and very delicious. Keep up the good work.
Take care Kugan, Rose75

dev
5th March 2012, 10:28 AM
Here's the recipe, Suvai...Hope u like it as much as u liked the kuruma...;)

Vendaikka kulambu

Vendaikka Kulambu by Aarthii

Required Items :

Lady’s Finger (Smaller in size) 5 to 6
Tamarind Juice : small lemon size
Salt
hing

For Grinding:

Coconut Threads: 3 tbsp
Onion: 1/2 (If it is big)
Cumin Seeds: 1/2 tsp
Garlic: 3 pips
Sambar Powder: 1 tbsp
Red chilli: 1

Seasonings:

Urad dal,Mustard seeds,fenugreek seeds : 1/2 tsp

Method:

Cut the edges of LF and divide it into two pieces.
Chop the onion roughly.
Grind the onions, coconut threads, cumin seeds, garlic,red chilly and sambar powder into a fine paste.
Soak the tamarind in water and make the tamarind juice.
In the tamarind juice, mix the grinded paste and stir well and salt, hing.
In a pan, pour oil and add the seasonings.
Now add the chopped lady’s finger and fry it until the raw smell of it goes.
Now add the tamarind juice-grinded mixture and allow it to boil.
After some 5 to 10 mns,open the pan check whether the lady’s finger is boiled.
If the gravy is too thick add some water and let it boil for another 2mns
Garnish it with coriander leaves.

This gravy tatses nicely for the next day.

Though it is a vegetarian curry,it tastes as like a fish curry.It goes well with chappati also.

dev
5th March 2012, 10:33 AM
K, Mannankatti recipe enga arusuvaila paartheengala?... maththa 2um new to me,...

selvieam
5th March 2012, 02:04 PM
i have tried dev's rasamalai and mano aunty rasamalai both r too good. will try suvai's too

selvieam
5th March 2012, 02:06 PM
kugan, rava bryani and onion pakoda was super. thanks k.

dev
5th March 2012, 03:42 PM
Suvai, it's hard to find ricotta cheese here... kidaichaal try panni paarkiren...thanks a lot for such an easy rasmalai recipe...:)

dev
5th March 2012, 03:45 PM
k, idhu enna bayangarama halwava irukku!!!... try panni paarkiren... I guess it'll be good for chapathis rolls aswell...

kugan98
5th March 2012, 06:15 PM
Suvai, thank you very much for your nice post.
I really enjoyed reading them.

I think we have to crown you as the queen for finding,
recipe names that we have not heard of.

Suvai, the recipe name mannaangkatti" made me laugh like mad:rotfl::rotfl:
As for sada payasam, I have not heard it before.
As for the vennai puttu, Suvai I do not know why they have named it as such.
My great grandma and grandma all used to do this dish.
They have two versions, one sweet and one savoury.
I have the picture of the savoury version, sweet is missing.
I will do and post it for you.
Actually they could have called it rice halwa.My grandma will do it with "pulungal arisi":-D

Thanks for your rasagulla recipe. I doubt we get ricotta cheese here.
Let me try and see.
Take care Suvai, happy hunting for more new recipes.
Kugan

kugan98
5th March 2012, 06:19 PM
Try the potato halwa and see.
Yes you can use it as stuffing for chapathi.

Dev, how come I missed Aarthii's recipe?
Is it in our blog? Surely I would have tried and posted with pictures.

Thanks Dev, take care. Kugan

kugan98
5th March 2012, 06:21 PM
Thanks Selviem for your nice post.
Very glad that you liked both the recipes.
Try others and post us your feed back.

kugan98
5th March 2012, 06:25 PM
Thanks Rose for your nice post and compliments.
We are all a family Rose. " One tree does not make a jungle"
Post to us your feed back on recipes tried.

Rose, thanks for the two recipe that you have pmed me.
I will rewrite , cook and post with pictures.
Keep up your good work.
Thanks, Kugan

kugan98
5th March 2012, 06:36 PM
I will do the sweet version and post it soon. Kugan

SAVOURY VENNAI PUTTU

Ingredients:
1 cup rice flour
3 cups buttermilk ( mooru).
Salt to taste
1 tbs oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tbs urad dal
1 tbs channa dal soaked
1 dried chillie cut into pieces
1 sprig curry leaves
1 tsp grated ginger

Method:
Mix the flour with the buttermilk in heavy saucepan.
Heat oil in a pan, add the mustard seeds.
Then add the dals and the dry chillies.
A minute later add the ginger and curry leaves.
Pan fry for a moment and pour it over the buttermilk.
Add salt and cook over medium heat,stirring continually.
It will thicken and start leaving the sides of the pot as you stir.
Remove it and spread it evenly in a well greased pan.
Let it cool, cut it into squares and serve.

NOTE: Actually you have to soak the rice, grind it into a batter.
Then you add in the buttermilk with all the seasonings, and stir
on a stove till cooked, then you spread in a tray, cool and cut into slices.
This is a short cut to do this:roll:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7177/6955663507_22583d118b_z.jpg

kugan98
5th March 2012, 06:47 PM
GARLIC ROLLS

Ingredients:

(A)
1 tbs water
½ tbs yeast
1 tbs sugar

(B)
1.5 cups all purpose flour
½ cup warm water
1 tsp salt
1 tbs olive oil
1 tbs more water if needed. ADD LAST.

(C)
6 tbs salted butter
2 tbs minced garlic
2 tbs minced coriander leaves

Little olive oil

Method:
Mix ingredients in (A) and let it proof for 10 minutes.
Mix all the ingredients in (B) into a bowl.
Add in the proofed yeast, into (B) and mix till you get a smooth,
slightly sticky dough. Add oil to your fingertips and knead until the dough springs back.

Wrap in cling film and allow to double, by keeping in a warm place.
Mix all the ingredients in (C) for the garlic spread.
Grease a baking pan with olive oil.
Knock down the air in the dough and divide the dough into two equal parts.

Transfer one portion of the dough to a floured surface and roll gently,
into a rough rectangle of ½ inch thickness. Apply little flour if sticky.
Spread about 2 tbs of garlic spread on one side.
Roll from one end gently and firmly.

Cut into 4 equal parts. Now place the rolls with cut side up in the greased pan.
Allow to rise for about 20 minutes.
Do the same for the other portion.
Preheat oven to 180 degrees C. Bake for about 30 minutes or until the top
is golden brown. Serve fresh and hot.

NOTE: The amount of water depands on the flour.
Use your judgement to get a slightly sticky dough, that behaves when you
apply oil.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7207/6809583562_7893edb0c2_z.jpg

Aarthii
6th March 2012, 12:02 AM
can u believe a kurma without garlic & ginger....antha doubt ellaam thooki pottudum inthe kurma...:noteeth:

aarthi....good to see u ....& happy to know all is well.....i will give u a very very very simple rasmalai recipe......all the best with it......if u want to give it a try.
Kugan ...dev...selvi...neengalum try pannalaam...let me know how it turns out..........:-)

En friendoda Easy O Easy Rasmalai..........:noteeth:

I usually double the quantity of everything and make in a bigger rectangular dish. It usually takes about 45 - 55 minutes in the oven but you should keep checking after the first 30 minutes

In a bowl mix together 2 cups part skim ricotta cheese ( 1 lb container ) with 1 cup of sugar until very smooth.

Pour into a 8 inch square glass baking dish and place in a preheated 350 degrees oven for 20 minutes. Continue to bake another 10-20 mins, checking the mixture every 5 minutes until it separates from the sides of the pan. Remove and cool.

Bring to a boil in a saucepan 2 cups half and half with a pinch of saffron added to it. Let it cool.

Cut the baked ricotta into serving size squares and place in a serving dish. Pour the half and half over it, sprinkle slivered unsalted almonds or pistachios on top and allow to soak and chill in the refrigerator. Enjoy !

I usually pour a can of low fat evaporated milk on the baked ricotta squares instead of half and half. No need to heat the evaporated milk, so that makes sit easier.

You do not need to add sugar to the milk as when you pour it on the baked ricotta and chill in the fridge it will absorb the sugar from the ricotta and become sweet.

I soak a pinch of saffron in a couple of tsps of warm water, let it stand for half and hour and pour it on the rasmalai when I add the slivered pistachios. Very easy and delicious ......aahaaaa aahaaaa aaahaaa nu sollikitey irupaanga onga family / friends :noteeth:

u better make plenty becoz....meethi irukavey irukaathu for sure :noteeth:

Another tip....for one container of ricotta cheese you can use half container of sugar ( use the same container for measurement)....try Tri Stelle ricotta cheese.... works very well)...hope this helps

Thanks for the rasmalai recipe.Idho seekirama try panittu ungalaku reply panren suvaika.Thanks a lot suvaika.

Then regarding kuruma,as such before preparing it,ennkaum athe doubt thaan irunthathu,ginger garlic illama eppadi irukumnu,but it tasted awesome.Turned very good.And it was perfect combo with ghee rice on the party day.

Aarthii
6th March 2012, 12:04 AM
Kuganka,party went well.
Made ur speical vegetable kuruma and it turned out very good ans was very tasty with ur ghee rice.Thanks kuganka

Aarthii
6th March 2012, 12:10 AM
Dev,made gulab jamoons for dessert.
But warm-a koduka mudiyala,i made it on the previous day,and served it as a chilled dessert.

Aarthii
6th March 2012, 12:12 AM
Garlic Rolls !!!!!!!!!!!! :))))
Most wanted recipe by my family kuganka.We used to get from stores always.Now i can make by myself ;)
Thanks a lot for the recipe kuganka.

dev
6th March 2012, 09:27 AM
Yes, teh recipe is in the blog K... do try it and post a pic for us to drool over...;) :lol:

Garlic rolls...:slurp:

dev
6th March 2012, 09:31 AM
Glad the kuruma was a hit,Aarthi... will ahve to try ghee rice sometime...

Gulabjamuns...I too make it a day or 2 before the party and heat it up n serve warm...;) Another interesting variation is to make small balls of jamuns and once cool, add it to softened vannila ice-cream and freeze them in individual servings till set(like 8 hrs or so)... guests will be in for a surprise... I suttufied this idea from sanjeevkapoor website...

selvieam
6th March 2012, 03:25 PM
friends, i am more impressed about the kuruma, please send the receipe. want to try. gulab jamun idea is simply super dev. will try next time for the party.

selvieam
6th March 2012, 03:25 PM
garlic rolls are favourite for us, will try very soon.

kugan98
6th March 2012, 05:31 PM
Aarthii, I am so glad for you.:happydance::happydance:
Very very happy that every thing turned out well for you.
I was keeping my fingers crossed till you posted about the party.
Try the garlic rolls, very easy.
You are lucky, you can get all the ingredients in the supermarkets there.
Here in Malaysia, I doubt you get ricotta cheese.
Also the Western stuffs are sooo expensive.
Take care. Kugan

kugan98
6th March 2012, 05:33 PM
Thanks Dev, I will cook Aarthii's both the dishes and post with pictures.
I did not know how I missed it.
Thanks, Kugan

kugan98
6th March 2012, 05:35 PM
Dear Selviem, I will repost the recipe for you.
Try it out, also try out the garlic rolls.
Thanks, Kugan

SPECIAL VEGETABLE KURMA
Ingredients:

To be soaked and added to the roast ingredients:

2 tbs kas -kas
1 tbs cashew nuts broken

To roast in oil and grind to a paste:

1 tbs oil
½ cup grated coconut
1 tsp coriander seeds
1 tsp aniseed
½ tsp cumin seeds
3 dry red chillies
2 cardamom
2 cloves
1 inch cinnamon stick

2 tbs oil
1 sprig curry leaves
1 big onion chopped
2 big tomatoes chopped
¼ tsp tumeric powder
½ tsp chillie powder
1 cup water
1 cup thick coconut milk
Salt to taste

2 cups half boiled vegetables ( cauliflower, carrots, beans, green peas )

Method:
Soak the cashew nuts and kas - kas in little hot water.
Heat oil and fry the ingredients to grind till you get nice aroma.
Now drain the soaked ingredients, add it to the roasted ingredients,
Now grind everything to a smooth paste. Keep aside.

Heat the 2 tbs of oil in a wok, add in the curry leaves and onions.
Saute well for few seconds till the onions turn little brown.
Add in the tomatoes, ground paste, tumeric , chillie powder and salt.

Cook till the tomatoes blend well with the ground masala and oil separates.
Mix well, add in the water, coconut milk and the boiled vegetables.
Cover and simmer for few minutes, and remove.

kugan98
6th March 2012, 05:42 PM
My dear Suvai, I made this vennai puttu specially for you today.
I lost my old picture. Please do not go around looking for uthir, uthir vennai puttu:-D
The vennai puttu will be kola, kola, but tasty.
When I was a kid I used to run to my uncle's house, when my great grandma makes this,
vennai puttu for breakfast in our house.:rotfl::rotfl:
Here is the recipe, enjoy. Kugan

VENNAI PUTTU
Ingredients:

1 cup raw rice, soak and grind fine
1 cup jaggery, boil with ½ cup of water and strain
2 tbs channa dal soaked and boiled till cooked, but firm
2 tbs coconut chips (palu, palu )
¼ tsp cardamom powder
1 tbs ghee
A pinch of salt
Little roasted cashew nuts for garnishing

Method:

Bring 2 cups of water to boil, slowly add in the batter,
On low flame keep stirring the mixture continuously.
Keep on stirring till the rice flour is cooked.
Wet your fingers and touch the batter, it should not stick to your finger.

Now add in the jaggery mixture, cardamom powder, and the salt.
Keep on stirring until the mixture becomes a mass and leaves the sides.
Add in the coconut chips and the channa dal.
Add in the ghee and stir till all is mixed well.

Pour in a greased tray, level with a spoon.
Garnish with the cashew nuts.
When cold, cut into slices and serve.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7058/6958663637_b4c5630b37_z.jpg

kugan98
6th March 2012, 05:58 PM
Friends, while still in the subject of buns, today I made some,
cheesy garlic buns for tea. The black spots on the buns are the grated cheese.
You can grate the cheese fine, and add to it, mine was a bit coarse.

CHEESY GARLIC BUNS

Ingredients:

1 tbs sugar
¾ tbs dry yeast
¼ cup warm water

1 ½ cups plain flour
¼ cup grated cheese, more if you like (Parmesan, Chedder or any of your choice )
1 tsp garlic powder
¼ tsp salt
½ cup warm water
1 tbs olive oil

Method:

Add the sugar, dry yeast and warm water in a container. Let it become frothy.
Now in a bowl, mix together, the flour, cheese, garlic powder and salt.
Make a dent in the centre of the flour , and add the frothy yeast mixture.
Add also the ½ cup of warm water.

Knead the dough with olive oil to a smooth and pliable.
The dough should be soft, smooth and pliable.
Keep the bowl covered with a cling wrap in a warm place.
After an hour the dough should have raised double in volume.

Knead it again to make it smooth.
Divide into 6 equal balls and arrange it with enough gaps, in a greased tray.
Keep aside in a warm place for about 30 minutes.
Pre heat the oven for 180 degrees

Bake for about 20 to 30 minutes, till you get a golden coloured buns.
Serve the buns warm.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7067/6958663641_e5d79dff08_z.jpg

selvieam
6th March 2012, 08:34 PM
thanks kugan for posting the receipe, will try out. receipe looks different. will post feedback after i tried.

Aarthii
7th March 2012, 01:54 AM
Glad the kuruma was a hit,Aarthi... will ahve to try ghee rice sometime...

Gulabjamuns...I too make it a day or 2 before the party and heat it up n serve warm...;) Another interesting variation is to make small balls of jamuns and once cool, add it to softened vannila ice-cream and freeze them in individual servings till set(like 8 hrs or so)... guests will be in for a surprise... I suttufied this idea from sanjeevkapoor website...

Definitely try that Ghee rice dev,whenever i make the ghee rice,all the guests who comes for that session,will definitely ask for the recipe .So please try it when u get free time.
It is very easy and u can make a lot of quantity also without any difficulties.
U have given me a nice idea for jamoon and icecream,will try it for the next party dev.Thanks dev

Aarthii
7th March 2012, 01:56 AM
Aarthii, I am so glad for you.:happydance::happydance:
Very very happy that every thing turned out well for you.
I was keeping my fingers crossed till you posted about the party.
Try the garlic rolls, very easy.
You are lucky, you can get all the ingredients in the supermarkets there.
Here in Malaysia, I doubt you get ricotta cheese.
Also the Western stuffs are sooo expensive.
Take care. Kugan

yes akka,the party went well.I was very happy about the outcome of the dishes.Thanks for the cheesy buns kuganka.

7th March 2012, 07:47 AM
Hi K.... just got back from Penang. Had the most delicious Nasi Dalcha there and was wondering whether you would have the recipe :lol:

kugan98
7th March 2012, 08:46 PM
HELLO FRIENDS,WISHING EVERY ONE A HAPPY HOLI

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7179/6961827081_a132157ea3_z.jpg

kugan98
7th March 2012, 08:53 PM
NOV anneh, I only know how to make the dalcha.
I asked around and they said, do the dalcha, add in the rice and cook it as a one pot meal.
My better half told me that, a certain stall in Penang is famous for this nasi dalcha.
It seems there will be a long line of customers waiting.
Also he said that there will be a kick in the rice.
He has tasted it before we became vegetarians.

A regular fellow hubber has asked me for the recipe of goat's brain prettal:shaking::shaking:
Do you by any chance know the recipe anna.?

kugan98
7th March 2012, 09:06 PM
We normally make simple paruppu kadayal. This is a little different.
Try it friends. Kugan.

SPICY TOOR DAL KADAYAL

Ingredients:

(A)
½ cup toor dal soaked for 20 minutes
4 ripe red tomatoes, cut into 4
3 green chillies, cut across
1 marble sized tamarind without seeds
1 tsp chillie powder
1 ½ cups of water

(B)
Salt to taste

(C)
Seasonings:
1 tbs oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
2 dried chillies broken
½ tsp cumin seeds
4 pips of garlic smashed
1 sprig curry leaves

Method:
Add all the ingredients in (A) into a pressure cooker.
Cook for about 4 whistles, off the stove and let it release the steam.
Open the cooker, add in enough salt, use a spoon or “mathu” and mash the contents well.
Heat a pan, add in the mustard seed, let it crackle well.

Add in the cumin seeds and the dry chillies.
Lastly add in the smashed garlic and saute till the garlic turns golden brown.
Add in the curry leaves, stir and remove.
Pour the seasonings on to the dal and mash again once more.
Serve with steaming rice with a dollop of ghee.

NOTE: You can even cook it in a pot without using the pressure cooker.

This is how I use the mathu:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7053/6961865531_76de76dbc2_z.jpg

The Finished Dish:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7058/6961865537_e50c138b61_z.jpg

dev
7th March 2012, 11:08 PM
Nice maththu...nice dhal....;) Similar to andhra style tomato pappu... adhula puli mattum irukaadhu...will try this version aswell... oru ingre +,- aanalum taste maarume!!!

dev
7th March 2012, 11:10 PM
Sure, will try the ghee rice aarthii...:)

J, buns paarka superaa iruku...

dev
7th March 2012, 11:11 PM
K, sweet mixture recipe kettu irundhen... Guess u missed taht post... recipe irundhaal poadunga for the white colored sweet mixture....

7th March 2012, 11:23 PM
vaang dev

Facebook :lol2: :lol2:

8th March 2012, 07:02 AM
K. no thats how its cooked... it looks/smells like ghee rice.
see http://tastyornot.blogspot.com/2011/05/nasi-dalca-rahim-queen-street.html

bkarthika
8th March 2012, 10:19 AM

I WISH U ALL A VERY HAPPY HOLI & WOMEN'S DAY !!!!!

I SALUTE ALL THE WOMEN'S OF THE WORLD AND I AM VERY HAPPY AND PROUD TO BE A WOMAN!!!!!

dev
8th March 2012, 10:35 AM
vaang dev

Facebook :lol2: :lol2:

indhaanga...vaangikongannn...:hammer::hammer::hamm er:

Ini pesalaam...:D

dev
8th March 2012, 10:38 AM
Wish everyone a very colorful holi...:D

kugan98
8th March 2012, 06:20 PM
Thanks Dev, for your wishes and nice post.
Dev, I have not forgotten about the sweet mixture.
I have asked Sumi to find out and pm me.
I will write about it as soon as I hear from her.
Thanks. Kugan

8th March 2012, 06:20 PM
indhaanga...vaangikongannn...:hammer::hammer::hamm er:

Sasthriyakal :lol2:
Neenga Eppo Sikh ah maareneenga :lol2:

kugan98
8th March 2012, 06:26 PM
Thanks NOV anneh, I am sure it must be a secret family recipe.
Thanks for the link, I do not understand about the chatnni thing.
Anyway let me ask around first.
Thanks anneh, take care Kugan

kugan98
8th March 2012, 06:29 PM
Thanks bkarthika for your wishes. How are you?
Take care and come to the forum when you are free.
Thanks, Kugan

kugan98
8th March 2012, 06:37 PM
Dear friends, the hubber who requested for the brain preattal,
has asked me not to disclose her name. She says she feels shy.
She wanted the recipe, to full fill her grandmother's wish.
Do not worry friend, I will not disclose your name.
Moreover, I believe people still consume goat's brain.
So it is nothing to be shy of. I am proud that you want to full fill your grandmother's wish.
I will ask my aunt in India for the recipe and post it for you.
Of course, I will not have a picture to post.

8th March 2012, 06:39 PM
Kugan akka

How is your health now?

kugan98
8th March 2012, 06:56 PM
YOUNG JACKFRUIT PREATTAL

Ingredients:

4 tbs oil
2 one inch cinnamon sticks
3 star anise
2 cardamom pods

2 big onions chopped fine
Little salt
1 sprig curry leaves
4 medium tomato chopped fine

To Grind To Paste:
3 tbs grated coconut
5 pips garlic
1 inch ginger
1 tsp aniseeds
2 ½ tsp chillie powder
1 ½ tsp coriander powder
¼ tsp tumeric powder

2 cups, young jackfruit, ¾ boiled and cut into cubes
¼ cup of water
Salt to taste
Lime juice to taste
Little coriander leaves for garnishing
Little curry leaves for garnishing

Method:
Heat oil in a non-stick wok, add in the spices.
Let them crackle, add in the chopped onions and little salt.
Saute till little brown, add in the chopped tomatoes.
Cook till mushy. Add in the ground paste.

Stir and cook till the raw smell goes, and oil seperates.
Add in the cooked jackfruit cubes, add in about ¼ cup of water.
Add enough salt, stir well , cover and cook on low flame for about 10 minutes.
Now stir fry the contents well, the dish should be semi dry.

Add in the lime juice, mix well, garnish with the leaves and remove.
Serve with rice or roti.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7206/6964185223_ccb66622fd.jpg

kugan98
8th March 2012, 06:58 PM
Thanks P.S Tamby for your concern.
I am feeling so much better now.
Take care, Tamby. Kugan

dev
8th March 2012, 08:25 PM
Since u din't reply to tht post, I thought u missed the post...

Young jackfruitna usual jackfruit but unripeaa?...pic looks soooooooooo good...

8th March 2012, 08:49 PM
Enathu Palapazha pirattal ah :shock:

Aarthii
9th March 2012, 02:21 AM
kuganka,jackfruit dish looks good.
Inge young jack fruit kidaikumanu theriyala,lemme chk it in shops

kugan98
9th March 2012, 02:57 PM
Dev, thanks for your post.
It is pinju Palakaai. Young jack fruit.

O.K a tip for you, normally people do not like to cook this young jack fruit.
The reason is, it is a messy job to clean the young fruit. You know the rubbery milk that will ooze out when you cut.
You will stain your hands as well as the knife:-D

O.K just cut the fruit into big chunks.
put them in a wok with water, little salt and tumeric powder.
Boil it till it is 3/4 cooked. Remove cool and then it is easy to cut off the rough skin.
Also remove the core in the middle and then cut them into cubes.
Ready for cooking into any dish.
Kugan.:smokesmile:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7200/6820333406_cfc1d9ef2c.jpg

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_VFXvaowmz4w/SPSgQZdYH3I/AAAAAAAAAeQ/4PcBg5G1tL0/s400/IMG_2808.JPG

kugan98
9th March 2012, 03:01 PM
Aarthii, you are very lucky. You can get this young jack fruit in tins.
Soaked in brine. I have seen many in the Korean supermarkets.
Also do you have Lotte supermarket in your place?
They have all the things that you need from China, Japan and even from India.
Try it out Aarthii. Thanks. Kugan

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7044/6820333410_5f603e42f4_z.jpg

kugan98
9th March 2012, 03:13 PM
Enathu Palapazha pirattal ah :shock:

Illa P.S Tamby, pilaa kaai pirattal.
Try it out very tasty.
Kugan

kugan98
9th March 2012, 03:31 PM
The much awaited Venaikka Kulambu By Aarthiii With Picture. Kugan

Vendaikka Kulambu by Aarthii

Required Items :

Lady’s Finger (Smaller in size) 5 to 6
Tamarind Juice : small lemon size
Salt
hing

For Grinding:

Coconut Threads: 3 tbsp
Onion: 1/2 (If it is big)
Cumin Seeds: 1/2 tsp
Garlic: 3 pips
Sambar Powder: 1 tbsp
Red chilli: 1

Seasonings:

Urad dal,Mustard seeds,fenugreek seeds : 1/2 tsp

Method:

Cut the edges of LF and divide it into two pieces.
Chop the onion roughly.
Grind the onions, coconut threads, cumin seeds, garlic,red chilly and sambar powder into a fine paste.
Soak the tamarind in water and make the tamarind juice.
In the tamarind juice, mix the grinded paste and stir well and salt, hing.
In a pan, pour oil and add the seasonings.
Now add the chopped lady’s finger and fry it until the raw smell of it goes.
Now add the tamarind juice-grinded mixture and allow it to boil.
After some 5 to 10 mns,open the pan check whether the lady’s finger is boiled.
If the gravy is too thick add some water and let it boil for another 2mns
Garnish it with coriander leaves.

This gravy tatses nicely for the next day.

Though it is a vegetarian curry,it tastes as like a fish curry.It goes well with chappati also.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7185/6966480537_b27df18032_z.jpg

dev
9th March 2012, 03:44 PM
K, we get very small sized jackfruit...like this... http://solaiachiskitchen.blogspot.in/search?q=jackfruit
It'll not have seeds in it and also the sulais wouldn't have formed...they call it kari pala here... we used to make podimas,poriyal,kurma with it...I just wanted to confirm if it is the same as teh one u used...ungalodathula seeds ellam iirukku...adhaan kaeten,,,

That's a very nice tip too clean the young jack...;) thanks a lot K...

Aarthi's LF kuzhambu...hmmm...looks sooo delectable...Sakthi sambar powder worked so well for this particular recipe...

kugan98
9th March 2012, 09:03 PM
I did not know that it was called kari pala.
Actually mine was a bit old. It fell off my tree.
Normally we pluck when it is very young for cooking.
Thanks for the nice link.
Ungalukku eppadi thaan intha maathiri link yellaam kidaikkuthu?
Try the dish Dev, let me try out some dishes from her site.
Take care. Kugan

dev
9th March 2012, 09:59 PM
K, I wanted to show u a pic of kari pala and tried google...sariyaana results varalai... aprom namma good old memory search panninen...remembered this post by Solai... poi avanga blogla oru search vitten... thadaa...;)

Anyway, appo naan sollura kari pala and the one u've cooked is the same... adhu podhum...I'll try this recipe when I get karipala here... it's one of our fav veg...esp for me,mom n dad...

dev
9th March 2012, 10:04 PM
Just saw...solai aachi too has a version of palakkai pirattal...lil diff from urs... paarunga...http://solaiachiskitchen.blogspot.in/2008/12/palakkai-pirattal-baby-jack-fruit.html

suvai
11th March 2012, 02:10 AM
ahaaaaa......ty for both the super recipes savory & sweet Vennai Puttu....I think i will be trying sweet for sure :noteeth: try pannitu sollaren.....sollunga Kugan.....halwa texture la irukuma ?? I like the ingris...coconut vellam nei & pallu pallu thengaai...& here is a no pallu icon :noteeth:........ellaamey super combo ithai senjitu sollaren epadi vanthichi nu.....thank u nga for posting both the recipes for vennai puttu....i first thought it wld be uthir uthir....onga savory ingris are similar to mor kaLi........i was shocked to see how u have been brought up with this vennai puttu...naan kelvi pattathu kooda kidaiyaathu.......neenga super thaango!

chakkai pirattal looks very yummy ngo....aarthi we do get it as a canned product...at indian grocery stores.

dev thank u so very much for aaarthi's puli kuzhambu & kugan onga picture of it is making me change my menu for tomorrow ;-)...ty both.

pity u cant get ricotta cheese nga kugan....paneer la konjama try panni paarunga....it might work...for they say that it is the closest to ricotta.

mannangkatti nijamaavey oru recipe thaanga....even i was :noteeth:....i am still hunting for it...kidaichithinaa podaren ongaluku...;-)

ok here is another one for u:noteeth:....amrutha palam.....

rose75
11th March 2012, 11:13 AM
Kugan, your young jack fruit recipe and garlic rolls turned out so well and yummy.
Many many thanks to you. Kugan we get peeled young jack fruit slices in our wet market.
So no problem of peeling them. Thanks again. Keep posting simple daily dishes.
Rose.

kugan98
11th March 2012, 05:30 PM
Thanks Dev, I saw the recipe.
It is a bit little different.
No harm in trying out her recipe too.
Thanks, Kugan

kugan98
11th March 2012, 05:40 PM
Suvai O Suvai, thanks for the nice posts.
I used to hate so many dishes when I was small.
Even I will run away from the ulunthu kanjii.
My grandmother will try to force it on us.
Now I yearn for all those dishes.
One of it is also the Amutha Palam.
Aiyoh, very very old dish, must be a forgotten one.
I still remember that dish.

My aunt made fun of me when I asked her for the brain prattal dish.
She asked me, have you forgotten every thing.
Suvai, those days if it is a big feast in my house, a goat will be slaughtered.
I still remember that all the parts of the goat will be used.
From head to legs:banghead::banghead:
Well all that those days, maybe that's why I am paying back in form of sickness.

O.K I will post the Amurtha Palam recipe soon for you.
Take care Suvai, Kugan.

kugan98
11th March 2012, 05:42 PM
Rose, thank you very much for your nice post.
Thanks for your compliments.
I will try my best and post all the simple recipes for you.
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
11th March 2012, 05:47 PM
Aarthi's Ridgegourd Curry

RidgeGourd Curry

Ingredients

Ridgegourd : 2 nos
Onion : 1 big
Tomato : 1 big
Coriander powder: 1 tsp
chilli powder : 1/2 to 1 tsp
Turmeric powder : 1/4 tsp

Things to Grind :

Coconut 2 to 3 tbs
Garlic pip 1
Coriander powder 1 tsp

Method:

Chop the onion into small pieces(even fine too)
Chop the tomato into small pieces
Peel the skin of ridegourd and chop it into small pieces
Heat the kadai,and pour oil into it,once when the oil is ready,add the mustard and urad dal
once when it is done,add the onions,and fry it nicely,once when the onions got fired,add the tomatoes.
fry the tomatoes nicely,once when the skin of the tomato leaves it,add the ridegourd pieces and fry it nicely.
After few minutes,add corainder powder,chillie powder,turmeric powder.Mix everything nicely.
Add lil water,boil the ridegourd pieces.
Once when it is half done,add the grinded paste and add salt .
Add about 1/2 to 1 cup of water and allow it to boil for 5 to 10minutes.
Once when the veg pieces are done garnish it with coriander leaves.
Goes well with chappatti and even rice too.

PS : Instead of ridgegourd ,zucchini can also be used.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7210/6826108892_1b13b308b3_z.jpg

kugan98
11th March 2012, 06:07 PM
Yesterday we went to a house for "Valaikkapu"
A unique rasam was served. I got hold of the recipe from them.
Taada! I made it today in my house. Try it out friends.
They also had a subjii of beans and potatoes, also a simple salad.
Recipes coming soon.
Thanks, Mala for the recipe. Kugan

CAULIFLOWER RASAM

Ingredients:

(A)
Seasonings:
2 tsp oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
A pinch of asafoetida powder
2 dried chillies cut into pieces
1 sprig curry leaves
1 stalk coriander leaves chopped

(B)
To Pound Coarsely:
1 tbs cummin seeds
1 tbs black pepper corns
1 tbs urad dal
5 shallots
5 pips garlic
½ tsp tumeric powder

(C)
300 grms cauliflower cut into small florets1
1 red tomato chopped
¼ cup tamarind juice (or to taste)
1 litre water
Salt to taste

Method:
Heat oil in a pot and add in the seasonings.
Let it splutter, add in all the ingredients in (B) and (C)
Simmer until it is heated through.
Remove once it starts to boil.
Serve with rice.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7043/6826108896_1611f3cf78_z.jpg

11th March 2012, 06:42 PM
we had an idli aandaa like this when I was growing up!
it was huge!

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/422639_336027359771934_849765826_n.jpg

suvai
12th March 2012, 01:22 AM
hello nga kugan......ohhhhh amrutha palam is a very very old dish ngalaa? apo kandipa poduveenga recipe...;-)
i know exactly when u say...u ran from it...:noteeth:
there was one such item that my mom used to force it on all of us......"castor oil" omggggg...athoda oru keerai vagaiyum.....idlyum kodupaanga.....raaama raamaa......nu oduven naan......:noteeth:
I am positive a lot of those rare items have been lost...but now atleast....people like you are try to bring it back...;-)

Family function na....summavaa nga kugan...thalai kaal kai nu ellaathaiyum padaipaanga pola :noteeth:

cauliflr rasam ah??? puthusu thaan enaku.....;-)

I was talking to a friend of mine about vennai puttu....she said her grandmom/mom...used to make it with idiyaapa maavu....(the one you steam & keep aside athu thaaney?)

nov ngovvv....idly looks so soft....ennaa sollunga idly maavai velai thunila pottu ...steam panni....suda suda eduthu thattiley pottu oru tsp nei oothi....super saambaroda/ kaara chutneyoda saapitaaa....adaaa adaaa adaaa thaangov!!!! :noteeth:

Aarthii
12th March 2012, 03:08 AM
Had a nice potluck at our place yesterday :)

Here comes the menu

Starters

Batata vada : Made by a maharastra friend,ultimate hit of the potluck.Most wanted by everyone.
Ps: Already made request for the recipe,kuganka if u have please post it.

Veg items

Idli along sambar and coconut chutney(made by me)
Roti's along with Mushroom curry,Aloo subzi,Chole Masala.
Veg pulav

Non veg items:
Mutton curry,
shrimp Masala
Chicken dry
Chicken briyani

Dessert
Poorna Poli (Maharastra style)
Cake

Had a nice time yesterday.

Aarthii
12th March 2012, 03:10 AM
Kuganka,thanks for the ridgegourd curry photo.
Curry taste eppadi irunthathunu neenga sollave illaiye :(

Aarthii
12th March 2012, 03:13 AM
yes dev,sakthi sambar powder is the very basic and most ingredient for this recipe.
i always use sakthi sambar powder only.

suvai
12th March 2012, 05:35 AM
hi aarthi.....sounds like u all had a good time at potluck....batavada recipe kettu namma kugan kita koduthaa senji oru drooling pic oda pottuduvaanga :noteeth:

Today i tried priya rasam powder to make rasam....:thumbsup: A1 thaan ;-)

Aarthii
12th March 2012, 07:30 AM
Yes akka,we had a very good time yesterday.
Come and join us for a potluck suvaika.If u come,i would be happy :)

Oh,priya rasam powder,Can we get it in indian groceries?

Aarthii
12th March 2012, 07:34 AM
yes definite-a kuganka pic pottuduvanga :)
yesterday it looks so good suvaika and very yummy too.
My friend made it in a perfect shape,She made some 50 vadas all the vadas were in the same size like machine made ones.

kugan98
12th March 2012, 10:44 AM
NOV anneh, my great grandmother, used this idli paanai.
She gave it to my grandmother, my grandma gave it to my mom.
My mom literally forced it on me. Enna kodumai.:banghead:
We are all into the non-stick era now.
Well I have to pass it on to Aishu:rotfl::rotfl:
We can make 8 idlis at a go. One would be enough.:-D
Thanks. Kugan.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7054/6975122783_4718a4fc98_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7199/6975122789_071cb00907_z.jpg

kugan98
12th March 2012, 11:03 AM
:lol::lol:
hello nga kugan......ohhhhh amrutha palam is a very very old dish ngalaa? apo kandipa poduveenga recipe...;-)
i know exactly when u say...u ran from it...:noteeth:
there was one such item that my mom used to force it on all of us......"castor oil" omggggg...athoda oru keerai vagaiyum.....idlyum kodupaanga.....raaama raamaa......nu oduven naan......:noteeth:
I am positive a lot of those rare items have been lost...but now atleast....people like you are try to bring it back...;-)

Family function na....summavaa nga kugan...thalai kaal kai nu ellaathaiyum padaipaanga pola

cauliflr rasam ah??? puthusu thaan enaku.....;-)

I was talking to a friend of mine about vennai puttu....she said her grandmom/mom...used to make it with idiyaapa maavu....(the one you steam & keep aside athu thaaney?)

nov ngovvv....idly looks so soft....ennaa sollunga idly maavai velai thunila pottu ...steam panni....suda suda eduthu thattiley pottu oru tsp nei oothi....super saambaroda/ kaara chutneyoda saapitaaa....adaaa adaaa adaaa thaangov!!!! :noteeth:

Suvai you are kindling all my childhood memories .
How I used to wail and cry to drink that horrible castor oil.
My cousins will hold my hands and feet, my mom will lay me on her maddi,
and will close my nose tightly, no choice have to breath, will open my mouth and swallow.
I will get fever if I know the castor oil day is coming:twisted:

Suvai the goat is not for padayal. To cook for relatives who come come for the virunthu.
I clearly remember, even the blood was used to make a poriyal:frightened:

Again every summer a goat will be slaughtered to make attu vathal to last a year.

Suvai, you can use the steamed flour, to make the vennai puttu.
That is the short cut:

Try the rasam, my cauliflower is a bit big in size.
Cut them small and use. You can call it a soup also, if not for the tamarind.

Thanks Suvai, nice to read your post. Kugan

kugan98
12th March 2012, 11:12 AM
Dear Aarthii, thanks for your nice post.
Glad that you enjoyed in the pot luck.
I hope every one enjoyed your idli sambar too.

Well Aarthii, let me give you a defination of what is batata vada.
How was the shape, round like a ball or flat like a vadai?
As to what I know batata vada is nothing but our potato bonda.
Every one makes their own style, that is the ingredients will wary a little in each and every once style.

O.K read what is said about batata vada.

Batata Vada is a popular Indian vegetarian fast food in Maharashtra,
India. It literally means potato fritters. The name "Batata" means
potato in English. It consists of a potato mash patty coated with
chick pea flour, then deep-fried and served hot with savory condiments
called Chutney. The vada is a sphere, around two or three inches in
diameter or round lime sized balls.
Although Maharashtrian in origin, Batata Vada is gaining popularity in
the rest of India as well

Preparation

The potato filling and the batter used to coat the filling are the
only two components of batata vada.
The potatoes are boiled, mashed coarsely and kept aside. Vegetable oil
is heated in a pan and ingredients like asafoetida, mustard seeds,
chillies, onions, curry leaves are added and fried for a couple of
minutes till onions are translucent. Then, ginger-garlic paste,
turmeric, salt are added and fried for a few seconds. The mashed
potatoes are then added to this mixture and cooked further for a few
minutes.
A thick batter is made using chick pea flour, seasoned with salt,
turmeric and red chilli powder. Sometimes baking soda is also added in
a small quantity to make the batter fluffier. To make the fritters,
little balls of the potato mixture is coated in the batter and
deep-fried in a couple inches of hot vegetable oil.

Serving

Batata vada is typically served very hot with green chillies and
chutneys of various types. The most common way to eat it though is in
form of Vada pav.

kugan98
12th March 2012, 11:18 AM
O.K Aarthii, this is my style of doing batata vada.

BATATA VADA

Ingredients:

The Filling:

5 potatoes boiled till ¾ cooked
1 onion chopped fine
3 green chillies chopped fine
1 tbs ginger garlic paste
¼ tsp tumeric powder

½ tbs oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
¼ tsp cumin seeds
Little coriander leaves chopped
Little curry leaves chopped
Salt to taste
lime juice to taste

For Batter:
1 cup besan flour
¼ cup rice flour
½ tsp red chillie powder
A pinch of cooking soda
A pinch of asafetida powder
Little salt
Oil for frying.

Method:
Peel and mash the potatoes well.
In a pan add 1 tsp of oil, when hot, add in the mustard seeds,
and cumin seeds. Fry a bit, add in the onions, green chillies
ginger garlic paste , and curry leaves , sauté for a little while.

Add the salt, tumeric powder and combine.
Add the mashed potatoes, and combine and cook for a minute.
Add the coriander leaves, and lime juice, and turn off the heat.
Mix all well, shape the into lime sized balls and keep them aside.

Mix all the ingredients in the batter section, except the oil.
Add enough water to make a thick batter. A bit thicker than dosai consistency.
Heat oil in a wok for deep frying.
Take the ball one at a time and dip in the coating batter.

Slip each one carefully into the hot oil.
Fry them until they turn golden brown.
Serve hot as it is or with any ketchup or chutney.

NOTE:
Aarthii if you want to make vada pav, this is how you do it.

How to assemble Vada Pav:

Cut pav bread horizontally in the center. Spread a tsp of green
chutney and garlic chutney (optional) on one of the halves of the pav,
layer with onion slices, place a batata vada and cover with the other
half of pav. Gently press using your palm and serve along with lemon
wedges.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-TPDq6aB6GDw/Tb_xGzEQ61I/AAAAAAAAAnU/HyvDp0kygkA/s1600/bonda4.jpg

kugan98
12th March 2012, 11:22 AM
Dear Aarthii, sorry I did not mention about the ridgegourd curry.
It was really tasty. Every one enjoyed in my house.
I was pretty sure that you will give the recipe, only if it was tasty.
Thanks Aarthii for the recipe. Keep writing.
Kugan.

NOTE: My batata vada will not be as pretty as your friends.

12th March 2012, 04:06 PM
K, yes, our idli aanda was exactly like that... if Aish doesnt want it, I will come and take it. :D
The aandaa was also used for boiling water to take bath in the early mornings... all 9 of us!

dev
12th March 2012, 04:38 PM
Enna orye idli andaa paecha irukku!!!...my MIL still uses an idli paanai(and white cloth)quite similar to the one in ur pic,K...her's is 10 idli capacity...4 in the bottam thattu n 6 in mel thattu...She'll use only the mel thattu as she feels the idli made in the kheezh thattu will be soggy... so can make only 6 idlis at a time...:sigh:

Aarthii, glad u had a gala pot-luck..:)
Batata vada is very similar to out potato bonda... we'll use chopped gin-gar in bonda...they use gin-gar paste instead... maththapadi not much diff...I once tried vada pav recipe from sanjeevkapoor.com... http://sanjeevkapoor.com/vada-pav---any-time-temptations.aspx I added gin paste aswell... very spicy n the batata vada was yummy...I use aachi/sakthi bajji-bonda mix for mel maavu...I prefer aachi bonda mix as it has a nice asafoetida flavour...

dev
12th March 2012, 04:44 PM
Cauliflower rasam...reminds me of the cauliflower rasam/soup I once had in a friend's place long back... it had some garam masala spices in it and was so yummy with rice and on its own as a soup too... will try this version...

Aarthii's ridgegourd curry eppadi ivalo naal miss panninen!!!...senju paarthiduren...thanks for the recipe with pic K... :)

Aarthii, no doubt all ur recipes are yummy... atleast all those I tried were really good...LF curry, plain kuruma,pottu kadalai chutneyfor mixed rice... all were very easy and yummy aswell...:)

12th March 2012, 06:30 PM
Health recipe of the day: Corn Poha

Corn is high in fibre, beta-carotene and protein. It steadies blood sugar levels and is a great weight loss snack. Try Jyotsna Solanki’s creative recipe.

Ingredients:
100 gms. sweet corn
1 onion
1 green chilli
1 cup coriander leaves
Salt as per taste
1 tsp. cumin seeds
1 tsp. coriander powder
1/2 tsp. turmeric powder
Oil for cooking

Method:

Grind coarsely 25gms corn in a blender.
Heat oil in a pan, add the cumin seeds.
When they crackle, add chopped onion.
When the onions are done, add chopped green chilli, salt and spices.
Then add the ground and whole corn.
Add the coriander leaves.
Add 1/2 cup water, cover and cook till the corn is done and dry.

Aarthii
13th March 2012, 01:24 AM
Kuganka,Thanks for the batata vada recipe as well as the explanation regarding the dish.
Thanks a ton.will try it soon,and will come back to you with the feedback.

Aarthii
13th March 2012, 01:27 AM
Thanks for your comments regarding the ridgegourd curry.Am happy that you all liked it.

Your NOTE shows your perunthanmai :)

Batata vada looks exactly like the ones which my friend made kuganka.

Aarthii
13th March 2012, 01:30 AM
Aarthii, no doubt all ur recipes are yummy... atleast all those I tried were really good...LF curry, plain kuruma,pottu kadalai chutneyfor mixed rice... all were very easy and yummy aswell...:)

Oh my dear dev !,I read these lines more than twice,even more than that also.Am so happy that u liked my recipes.Thanks for making me feel happy dev.
Loved your comments dev :)

suvai
13th March 2012, 02:44 AM
Yes akka,we had a very good time yesterday.
Come and join us for a potluck suvaika.If u come,i would be happy :)

Oh,priya rasam powder,Can we get it in indian groceries?

Thanks aarthi for yr invite..but.....happy that you enjoy pot lucks....:-)

yes yes we can get priya rasam powder in all grocery stores these days....also canned Chakkai in salted water ..especially from Thailand...kidaikuthu...

suvai
13th March 2012, 02:57 AM
kugan ngo...namma urulai kizhangu Bonda A1...;-)

batata vada pic looks very good too........summer la thaan try pannanum....but i think the votes will be more for our regular urulai bonda..:noteeth:

ohhh function naala kaal kai elaamaaa...i thought it was some sort of padaiyal...;-)

ongalukum "castor oil" days undaaa....:noteeth: omg what a racket i used to create....at home...ennai pidika 4 per odi varanum...apuram onga amma technique thaan enga ammavoda tecnique um.....kaalai pidi.....kaiya pidi....mookai pidi....vaaya thira.....muzhungu...mirattal...acho... thaan...:noteeth:
after all that.............antha green (keerai stuff) with idly.....o m g ..hahahah

what is the difference between uppuma & seeyali...(what is seeyali) in the first place...therinthaal konjam sollunga plz.

dev
13th March 2012, 09:35 AM
Oh my dear dev !,I read these lines more than twice,even more than that also.Am so happy that u liked my recipes.Thanks for making me feel happy dev.
Loved your comments dev :)

I'm happy that I made u happy today...;) Ur recipes are all my kind of recipes,Aarthii...easy to make n yummy... so seekiram try panniduven... I HATE being in the kitchen for long(but I don't mind blog hopping,reading recipes for even the whole day ;) :lol: )... at the same time I don't like to eat so-so food coz it never leaves me satisfied...So I'll look for sweets or other junks to satisfy my taste buds... Konjam sapitaalum nalla ruchiya venum enakku...;) and ur recipes fit in all these criteria...:D adhaan sonnen...

Do post more such recipes when u find time...:)

How's the lil Prince doing?...

dev
13th March 2012, 09:37 AM
corn poha... rombe vithyasama irukku...sounds interesting too...will try it sometime...thanks PS...:)

dev
13th March 2012, 10:19 AM
Suvai, siyaali is idli upma I believe... Mrs.Mano has a slightly diff version though...

IDLI SEEYALI:
Mash 6 to 7 idlies nicely. Soak a small lemon sized tamarind in water and extract the thick juice from it. Dry fry 1sp Bengal gram, 1sp coriander seeds, 1sp black gram and 2 red chillies. Then powder it finely. Pour 2tbsps gingelly oil in a kadai and add 1sp mustard seeds. When they splutter, add 2 chopped onions and 2 chopped green chillies. Fry well. Now add the tamarind extract and let it simmer for a few minutes. When it thickens, add the powder, and a little salt and mix well. When it becomes a thick gravy, add the mashed idlies and mix well. Put off the fire. Add chopped coriander leaves and curry leaves.

kugan98
13th March 2012, 03:56 PM
You are welcome NOV anneh.
I doubt Aishu will even look at it.
Thanks. Kugan

13th March 2012, 04:00 PM
corn poha... rombe vithyasama irukku...sounds interesting too...will try it sometime...thanks PS...:)

Try paneetu solunga, and dont forget the chillies :lol2:

kugan98
13th March 2012, 04:03 PM
Dev, enna thaan sollungga, old ways are still the best.
The idli batter, the rice will be a little kora kora.
One big idli which will be swimming in sambar.
Apadiyeh soak panni saapitaal, ada ada thaan.
For non-stick idli thattu, we have to grind fine.

Ahem! Dev, Aarthii oda recipes thaan simple and tasty ya:cry2::cry2:
Naan ungga kooda doo.

Dev, we make the seeyali a bit different.
I will post the recipe with picture tomorrow.

kugan98
13th March 2012, 04:04 PM
P,S Tamby, your recipe looks good.
Let me buy fresh corn and try it out.
Of course I will post it picture.

kugan98
13th March 2012, 04:10 PM
Aarthii, when you get the recipe for batata vada ,let us know.
Just to see the difference.

Unggalukku enna, tanga mothira kaiyaal kuttu pattutingga.
Imm nadathungga.

Thanks Aarthii, you deserve the praise.
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
13th March 2012, 04:20 PM
Suvai nga, even if I cannot afford a gold crown, let me buy at least a silver or bronze crown.
I must crown you as the queen, for finding names of disappearing recipes.:-D

Suvai, namma day old iddliya vatchu, iddli upmava , tomato iddli, Lemon iddli, Pepper iddli
Masala iddli, Coriander iddli , appadinu vitha vitha ma, upma seivom.
Athuleh Seeyali upmavum onu.

I will post the recipe with picture, tomorrow.
Take care Suvai. Kugan

13th March 2012, 04:30 PM
P,S Tamby, your recipe looks good.
Let me buy fresh corn and try it out.
Of course I will post it picture.

Pls do :)

dev
13th March 2012, 08:26 PM
Achacho...ippadi ellam doo vidatheenga K...:cry: Many of ur recipes fall under the easy n yummy category... u also try even the time consuming, difficult ones... I do that very rarely... I have a BIG list of ur easy+yummy recipes... No doubt U've made our meal times yummier(not to forget the variety of recipes u cook with each and every veg/dhal/wahtever it is) and cooking all the more easier... :)

K, we still grind the rice a lil coarse and no non-stick idli thattu... mom uses stainless steel thattu and MIL uses age-old idli paanai...same with dosai... we prefer iron tawa for dosais...non-stick is a big no no... But chapathiku I like non-stick...superaa varum...:D

Do post ur version of idli seeyali... All the while I've been of the opinion taht seeyali is idli upma...:oops:

dev
13th March 2012, 08:30 PM
Aamam...I too used to wonder where from she gets all these "strange" recipe names... aprom neenga sollum podhu thaan theriyum it's what our ancestors used to ahve regularlynu...:)

gulabjamun
14th March 2012, 04:38 PM
Kugan you have posted so many simple dishes.
In fact, daily in my house is one of your dishes. We are all very lucky to have you.
Thanks Kugan for all the nice recipes. Gulabjamun.

kugan98
14th March 2012, 06:54 PM
Dear Dev, thanks for your nice post.
Dev, Seeyali, is actually a type of upma made with old iddlis.

You see, normally when there is old iddli, we will break it up into small pieces,
than talichufy it as upma.

My mil will make it into so many varieties.
Cut it into cubes, and it will become tomato iddli, machurian iddli,
masala iddli, coriander iddli, lemon iddli , pepper iddli and so on.
One of it is seeyali iddli. When we have visitors for breakfast, we have many varieties for them.
Her style of making the seeyali is a little different from the recipe, posted by you.
O.K let me post the recipe for you.

kugan98
14th March 2012, 07:00 PM
Dev and Suvai, here is the seeyali recipe. Enjoy.

SEEYALI

Ingredients:

2 tsp of oil
¼ tsp mustard seeds
¼ tsp urad dal
½ onion chopped fine
1 sprig curry leaves
Salt to taste

To Be Dry Roasted And Made Into Rough Powder:
1 tbs coconut
¼ tsp coriander seeds
¼ tsp cumin seeds
2 dry red chillies
½ tsp roasted channa dal
Little tumeric powder
Little asafoetida powder

3, a day old iddlis cut into cubes
Little coriander leaves to garnish.

Method:
Heat a non stick pan with the oil.
Add in the mustard and urad dal.
Let them splutter, add in the onions, salt and curry leaves.
Saute till the onions turn a bit limp.

Add in the powdered mixture, saute well in the oil.
Add in the cubed iddlis, and stir fry well, till the masala is coated well.
Garnish with the cut coriander leaves.
Serve hot.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7190/6835814618_41e4ba4188_z.jpg

kugan98
14th March 2012, 07:03 PM
Dear Gulabjamun, thank you very much for your nice post.
I felt very happy to know that you all enjoy my dishes.
Do try out new dishes and post us the feed back.
Thanks, take care. Kugan

14th March 2012, 07:05 PM
Chilli Con Qourn

300g pack of Quorn Mince
1 tbsp oil
1 onion, finely chopped
2 garlic clove, finely chopped
½ tsp ground cumin
1 tsp chilli powder
2 bay leaves
400g can chopped tomatoes
300ml vegetable stock
1 green pepper, de-seeded and chopped
400g can kidney beans, drained
2 tsp cornflour
1 tbsp water
salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste freshly chopped coriander and red chillies to garnish

Method

1.Heat the oil in a large frying pan. Fry the onion and garlic until soft and golden. Add the Quorn Mince, spices and bay leaves fry for 3 minutes.
2.Add the tomatoes, vegetable stock and green pepper and bring to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 10minutes, stirring occasionally.
3.Stir in the kidney beans and cook for 5 minutes
4.Mix the cornflour with the water to a smooth paste. Stir into the Quorn chilli to thicken. Cook gently for a further 5 minutes. Remove bay leaves and discard.
5.Serve immediately with jacket potato or boiled rice.

kugan98
14th March 2012, 07:09 PM
Friends, I tasted this dish in a friend's house.

FRENCH BEANS WITH SESAME SEEDS

Ingredients:

2 tbs oil
1 onion sliced

Mix The Spices:
1 tsp chillie powder
1 tsp coriander powder
½ tsp cumin powder
1 tsp garlic paste
1 tsp ginger paste

150 grms french beans cut into 1 inch in length
5 tbs of water
Salt to taste

200 grms potato, cut into thin strips with skin and deep fried
1 fresh red chillie sliced
1 stalk coriander leaves chopped
1 tbs of lime juice Or to taste

2 tbs roasted sesame seeds

Method:
Heat the oil in a wok, add in the onions and saute well.
Add in the mixed spices and stir well, till a nice aroma comes.
Add in the beans, water and salt.
Mix well and cook till the beans are cooked.

Add in fried potatoes, and the fresh red chillies.
Stir fry once, add in the coriander leaves and the lime juice to taste.
Off the stove, sprinkle the sesame seeds, stir once and remove.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7191/6835814632_f862a4767b_z.jpg

kugan98
14th March 2012, 07:14 PM
First, I would like to apologise to the hubber who requested for this recipe, for the delay.
My aunt was late in posting the recipe to me.
I hope you will cook and serve it to your grand mother.
Thanks. Kugan.

NOTE: sorry no picture.

GOAT BRAIN PRATTAL

Ingredients:

1 goat’s brain, cleaned , keep aside

For Marination:

1 tsp chillie powder
¼ tsp tumeric powder
1 tsp aniseed powder
Little salt

2 tbs oil
1 cup of chopped shallots
1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste
2 green chillies choppede fine
½ tsp garam masala powder
Salt to taste
1 handful of chopped coriander leaves

Method:
Spread the marination powders evenly over the brain.
Keep aside for for about 10 minutes.
Heat oil in a non-stick pan.
Add in the chopped shallots and salt.

Add in the ginger garlic paste, chopped green chillies.
Saute for a minute. Add in the garam masala, and stir fry for a minute.
Now push the onion mixture to a side, add in the marinated brain.
Now cover the brain with the onion mixture.

Cover and cook on a low flame for few minutes.
Now slowly and gently scramble the brain using a wooden spoon.
The brain should be like scramble eggs, in big pieces , not too mushy.
Stir it constantly to avoid burning.

Remove and garnish with coriander leaves.

kugan98
14th March 2012, 07:20 PM
P.S Tamby:clap::clap: well done, you have posted a recipe with picture.
The dish looks very yummy.
Ahmma, Cuorn na enna tamby?
I still owe you a recipe to try.
Do not worry, I will do it fast.
Take care. Kugan

NOTE: school holidays, house with lots of relatives.
That's the reason:-D

14th March 2012, 07:30 PM
Goat brain :banghead:

14th March 2012, 07:32 PM
Ahmma, Cuorn na enna tamby?

Kugan akka

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/6/65/Quorn_logo.png

Quorn is a vegiterian food , it is "
The mycoprotein used to produce Quorn is extracted from the fungus Fusarium venenatum, which is grown in large vats" It tastes, similar to Soya and Toffu and Extrmley healthy and High in Protein :)

NM
15th March 2012, 06:41 AM
Hi K :- Old thosai mashed and thaalichchi with mustard seeds, dried chillies, curry leaves and sprinkled salt & sugar to taste also taste yummy! my mom used to make it when we have old thosai :)

suvai
15th March 2012, 07:59 AM
hello dev....:-) ty for letting me know about seeyali....& also posting mrs mano's recipe.
Yappa...evolo vishayam iruku therinjika...its amazing how in those days...nothing was wasted. (Excellent & satifying "no waste" policy ) :noteeth:

ps....i tried yr corn poha...with a little twist....i just boiled the corn & added to the seasoning...it tasted good...ty for an easy recipe.

dev & kugan...ipo oru kuzhapu kuzhaparen paarunga ongalai.....:noteeth:
seeyali = uppuma made with big pieces of old idly's....amaamva ilaiyaa :noteeth:
idly uppuma = uppuma made with uthirtha idlys correct ah ilaiya.....
seeyali = made with old dosai.............:noteeth:
ipo ennai old hard idlys aala adika varaporaanga ellaarum.....(odaren naan)...:noteeth:

nm nga....dosai seeyali kooda unda :noteeth:...innovative minds of those days are to be appreciated.....& followed.....i guess.....;-)

kugan nga.....seeyali...recipe of yrs is very different....sounds very simple.....kandipa try pannaren.....but wld it make a difference if it is not old idly's??...i like the addition of coconut to it....;-)
crown na ongaluku thaan podanum......athellaam en thalaila nikkaathu :noteeth:

suvai
15th March 2012, 07:59 AM
k nga onga beans with sesame looks easy & tempting too...this one life time is not enough to try out all the available recipes ngo!!! :noteeth:

when a name of a recipe does not sound familiar to me, then i post it here for u...for i know u wld some how come to say...ohhh athuvaaa....ohhhh ithuvaaa....which keeps many of us wonder ethuvo??? :noteeth:.....;-)

suvai
15th March 2012, 08:15 AM
kugan nga...i have to say that all the recipes that i have tried so far of yours as well as mrs mano are all keepers.......& thank you for your dedication to this thread.. Your enthusiasm sometimes bowls me over completely....;-)
thank u solli maalaathungo!....

15th March 2012, 06:16 PM
ps....i tried yr corn poha...with a little twist....i just boiled the corn & added to the seasoning...it tasted good...ty for an easy recipe.

Great, try the next receipe I posted above, that is a lot spicier :)

kugan98
15th March 2012, 08:11 PM
Thanks P.S Tamby for the explanation.
I do not think we get the Quron thing in Makaysia.
Let me try it out with soya meal maker.
I have already bought the fresh corn.:happydance::happydance:
I will try out the recipe and post the feed back.
Thanks Kugan

kugan98
15th March 2012, 08:18 PM
Thanks Suvai for your nice reply.
You cannot kollapify Dev and myself.
Eppadi irunthaalum, athu oru upma thaan.:boo:
Suvai enathaan sollungga, uthir uthir iddli upma thaan suvaio suvai.

Hope I will not forget to post your amutha palam recipe.
Too many recipes in hand to try out.
Thanks Suvai, take care. Kugan

kugan98
15th March 2012, 08:25 PM
Dev, Sumi sent these two pictures of the sweet mixture.
She says that potato is grated into strips and deep fried.
Later it is toasted in sugar syrup. Garnished with nuts and raisins.
I have not tasted nor seen it.
I will try it out when I visit India in July.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7065/6838628208_d81c12a619_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7202/6838628214_d41b04a157_z.jpg

kugan98
15th March 2012, 08:35 PM
Hi K :- Old thosai mashed and thaalichchi with mustard seeds, dried chillies, curry leaves and sprinkled salt & sugar to taste also taste yummy! my mom used to make it when we have old thosai :)

NM how are you and every one at home?
You are right, uthir uthir dosai upma will be soo super.
I like the crunch, crunch noise and taste of the roasted urad dal in the thalipu.
Come often to the thread when you are free.
Take care, Kugan

dev
16th March 2012, 11:32 AM
Idli seeyali paarke superaa irukku...senju paarkiren...:) Beans stirfry snackaagave saapidalaam pola irukku!!!...deep frying the potatoes thaan inga problemye...I'll try with boiled potatoes instead...

Adhu enna dosai seeyali...adhavum oru recipe with pic post pannunga K... Ingellam dosai meedham aachuna wasteku thaan pogum... why should we waste food when it can be turned into something yummy!!!

dev
16th March 2012, 11:36 AM
Adhe thaan K... Sumi kitta recipe irundhaal vaangi post pannunga pls... And my thanks to sumi for sending the pics over to u... Kandippa try panni paarunga...it's so addictive...;)

16th March 2012, 04:14 PM
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_FfG1yA0oRQE/S8XA1sGW_MI/AAAAAAAAFos/IDBvvvAJvqQ/s1600/Obanzai,+fried+Tofu+and+veggies,+yum!+sweet+sauce. JPGGingered Tofu and Green Veg

Ingredients

2tbsp olive oil
4cm piece of fresh ginger, peeled and finely diced
2 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed
1 onion, peeled and chopped
125g (4½oz) mushrooms, quartered
300g (10½oz) broccoli, cut into florets
125g (4½oz) chopped curly kale
200g (7oz) tofu, cubed
1-2tbsp soy sauce or stock if you prefer
2tbsp sesame seeds, toasted

Method

Heat the oil in a wok and stir-fry the ginger, garlic and onion for 2-3 minutes.

Add the mushrooms, broccoli, curly kale, tofu and soy sauce and toss everything together. Cover the wok and leave to cook for 6-7 minutes – this will steam rather than fry which is s healthier way to cook. Stir-fry again for the last 2 minutes, then serve, sprinkled with sesame seeds.

16th March 2012, 05:00 PM
hello dev....:-)
dev & kugan...ipo oru kuzhapu kuzhaparen paarunga ongalai.....:noteeth:
seeyali = uppuma made with big pieces of old idly's....amaamva ilaiyaa :noteeth:
idly uppuma = uppuma made with uthirtha idlys correct ah ilaiya.....
seeyali = made with old dosai.............:noteeth:
ipo ennai old hard idlys aala adika varaporaanga ellaarum.....(odaren naan)...:noteeth:

suvai nga.. adhu sari.. konjam old dosai, konjam old idli ( adhula reNdu periya size, naalu chinna size )... ellathaiyum serthu seeyali senja saapida maateengala ?

Kuganji... which oil gives more taste for seeyali thaalippu ?

dev
16th March 2012, 09:04 PM
K, we get lots of karisilanganni(the one with yellow flowers) here...I tried making kootu using it...but it had a strong smell of teh keerai... how do we cook this keerai for best results?

kugan98
16th March 2012, 09:27 PM
Dear Dev, thanks for your nice post.
Dev, I have got an idea, why don't you bake the potato strips.
Then you can add it to the beans. That way you can avoid deep frying.

Dev, I called my aunt and she said that, add more garlic and onions to the keerai.
Also with chillie powder, tumeric powder and tamarind, you can mask the smell.
I only remember my grandma making hair oil for us.
I doubt you can get the keerai here in Malaysia.
Thanks and take care. Kugan.

kugan98
16th March 2012, 09:32 PM
Madhu:happydance::happydance: so happy to see you in the forum.
I think it is a long time since you posted.
Glad that Suvai's post pulled you here.

Madhu, nalla ennai is the best for seasoning the seeyali.
My aunt will use ghee when we have guests.

Please drop your comments, when ever you log on to the forum.

kugan98
16th March 2012, 09:36 PM
P.S Tamby, here is the picture of the corn poha.
I boiled the corn, before cooking the dish.
As I felt that, for the quick cooking, the raw corn will not be cooked.
Thanks. Kugan

Health recipe of the day: Corn Poha

Corn is high in fibre, beta-carotene and protein. It steadies blood sugar levels and is a great weight loss snack. Try Jyotsna Solanki’s creative recipe.

Ingredients:
100 gms. sweet corn
1 onion
1 green chilli
1 cup coriander leaves
Salt as per taste
1 tsp. cumin seeds
1 tsp. coriander powder
1/2 tsp. turmeric powder
Oil for cooking

Method:

Grind coarsely 25gms corn in a blender.
Heat oil in a pan, add the cumin seeds.
When they crackle, add chopped onion.
When the onions are done, add chopped green chilli, salt and spices.
Then add the ground and whole corn.
Add the coriander leaves.
Add 1/2 cup water, cover and cook till the corn is done and dry.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7186/6841286498_c505460050_z.jpg

16th March 2012, 09:40 PM
P.S Tamby, here is the picture of the corn poha.
I boiled the corn, before cooking the dish.
As I felt that, for the quick cooking, the raw corn will not be cooked.
Thanks. Kugan

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7186/6841286498_c505460050_z.jpg :shock:

Kugan akka, This is Sweet corns, my receipe was with Quorn (soya life cubes) so I dont think the way you made it would have tasted nice :oops:

I did not know Quorn was not available in Malaysia :oops:

kugan98
16th March 2012, 09:54 PM
My Malay friend served me vegetarian fritters with this sweet chillie sauce.
It was really very yummy, better than shop bought ones.
I borrowed some from her to take home:-D
Here is here recipe, try it out. Kugan

RED CHILLIE SAUCE

Ingredients:

20 fresh red chillies, deseeded and chopped
5 pips of garlic chopped fine
1 inch ginger chopped fine
1 cup vinegar
1 cup sugar
1 tsp salt

Method:

Grind the chillies, ginger and garlic using little vinegar.
Add this ground mixture in a non stick pan.
Cook on low flame for few minutes till the raw smell goes.
Now add in the remaining vinegar, sugar and salt.
Keep stirring in between every 10 minutes.
Cook on low flame till you get the correct consistency.
Taste for salt or sugar, remove and cool.
Put into clean bottles and use as you like.
Always use a dry soon to dish out.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7197/6841286524_2885a18381_z.jpg

Aarthii
17th March 2012, 02:15 AM
Kuganka,antha sweet mixture recipe-a post pannunga please.
I love that mixture very much.
I have tasted it once or twice.

Aarthii
17th March 2012, 02:16 AM
yes dev,neenga sollara mathiri antha mixture addictive thaan.
we all finished that whole packet in 1/2 hr.It tastes very yummy .

dev
17th March 2012, 10:54 AM
Thanks for the tip, K... I read it has a lot of medicinal value...

K, baking ellam ippo very rare... coz we have power very rarely in Tamil Nadu...:lol: ;) TN is in stone-age...:banghead:

dev
17th March 2012, 11:19 AM
yes dev,neenga sollara mathiri antha mixture addictive thaan.
we all finished that whole packet in 1/2 hr.It tastes very yummy .

hehehe... I'll have a spoonful everytime I enter the kitchen... I buy it very rarely coz of fear of weight gain...;)

17th March 2012, 05:06 PM
RED CHILLIE SAUCE
My mum does the same (but without the ginger :think: ) and it is really lovely to eat with nasi lemak! :yes:
and you know what, becos of the vinegar this sauce can keep months in the fridge (use cling wrap so that it doesnt evaporate).

dev
17th March 2012, 05:58 PM
"vegetarian fritters with sweet chillie sauce"...super starter and any time snack...will def try this recipe...inga thai veg fritters kidaikaadhu... namma ooru fryums ethavathoda saapidalaam...:think:

kugan98
17th March 2012, 09:08 PM
Aarthi, thanks for your nice post.
You and Dev are making me very anxious to taste the sweet mixture.
I will have to wait till July to try that:sigh2::sigh2:
I have asked Sumi to find out from any one she knows.

kugan98
17th March 2012, 09:33 PM
Dev, a friend of mine sent me this, she said she found it in the "sri sri ayurvedic site"
Thanks to the site. Also thanks to my friend. Kugan

A special herb which gives light inward-this herb was used by vallalar to get his body immortal: There are 3 different spcies again. Blue, White and Yellow.

Manjal Karisalankanni Keerai :
The Botanical name : Eclipta alba
Tamil name : karisalankanni

.Medicinal Value: It acts as a livertonic,chlolagouge,emrtic,purgative,deobstruen t,hepictonic
Specially recommended in the treatment of Constipation, Eye defects, Jaundice, Enlargement of liver, Spleen disorders, Skin diseases, Hair fall and Premature graying of hair.

Ingredients:
1 bowl full (leaves alone)
small Onion 1 large chopped
Country tomatoes 2-3 chopped
Garlic 8-10 semi crushed
Green chilies 3 finely chopped
Thoor Dal 1 small cup
Salt
Turmeric powder 1/2 spoon
Oil 1 cup
Cumin seeds 1/2 spoon
Asafoetida 1/2 spoon
Urad dal 1/2 spoon
Curry leaves few.
Method:
Pressure cook thoor dal with salt...till tender for about 3-5 whistles. Set aside.
In a pan heat few spoons of oil. Add greens and fry them for a while. Add enough salt...cover and cook for 3-5 minuted.Then in earthen pot(mann-chatti) coarsely grind greens and dal together.
In a separate pan. Heat oil. Add green chilies, garlic, small onions and tomato....fry them till tender. Further add salt, turmeric, Cover and cook till they form a thick gravy.Now add greens+dal paste to this gravy and cook over medium heat for about 4-6 minutes.
In a separate pan...heat oil. Add mustard, cumin, asafoetida, curry leaves, chana and urad dal. Let it pop and splutter well. Run this seasoning over the gravy.
Serve this gravy along with plain rice. Run a spoon full of ghee to go with your rice! Enjoy!

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_yI3zZdUU9m0/SknbRJVcYJI/AAAAAAAAAcE/HoH9uUww_FE/s320/manjal%2Bkarisalankanni%2Bkeerai.JPG

dev
17th March 2012, 09:39 PM
Thanks K for the info n recipe... very useful indeed... the recipe is a bit diff from what I tried...will try this recipe soon...

kugan98
17th March 2012, 09:39 PM
NOV anneh, thanks for your nice post.
My friend said that one can add few bird's eye chillie for extra kick.
Amma must have been a super cook. Try using ginger, it gives a nice aroma like maggi's
NOV anneh, super with roti canai also.
Thanks for the tip to preserve it from evaporation.

kugan98
17th March 2012, 09:45 PM
Dev please try the chillie sauce, very yummy.
You can have it with bajii, pakoras, even vadai.
Or try this, grate some carrots, cut some onions, green chillies.
add them to all purpose flour with little baking powder.
Make it into a little loose batter, drop spoonfuls in oil and deep fry them.
Serve them with this chillie sauce, yummy.
Thanks. Kugan

suvai
17th March 2012, 10:01 PM
dev.....thank u for posting seeyali of mrs mano........it is surely different....i guess the thick puli extract will surely make a difference....have u have tried it? or even puli uppuma.....i have not...afraid of the soggy business..:noteeth: not sure if kugan has posted puli uppuma..i will dig ;-)

madhu nga......neenga sollara seeyali veryyyyy different ngo....its not only idly...but also dosai added to gether....:noteeth: actually a very innovative way to mix both...meenthichinaa try pannaren for sure ;-)

perai maathiduvomaa : doseeyali...:rotfl:

kugan98
17th March 2012, 10:05 PM
Try this simple vendi dish. Kugan

COCONUT SPICY VENDI

Ingredients:

To Make Coconut Masala:

¼ cup grated coconut
2 tsp coriander seeds
1 tbs tamarind paste
3 dry red chillies
Little water

2 tbs oil
1 ½ cups vendi cut into ¼ inch discs
¼ tsp mustard seeds
1 sprig curry leaves
1 big onion chopped
Salt to taste
1 tomato chopped
Little jaggery (optional)
Little coriander leaves for garnish

Method:

Grind the ingredients fine to make the coconut masala.
Heat 1 tbs oil, add in the cut vendi and stir fry till the stickness goes.
Remove and keep aside.
Add another tbs of oil, add in the mustard seeds, let it crackle.

Add in the curry leaves, also the onions and salt.
Saute well it turns transparent.
Add in the chopped tomato, and cook till mushy.
Now add in the ground coconut masala, add little water, and cook till raw smell goes.

Add in the sauteed vendi, stir fry till the vendi is cooked.
Add in the jaggery and stir fry again for a minute.
Remove and garnish with the chopped coriander leaves

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7197/6990138623_4cd24c9152_z.jpg

suvai
17th March 2012, 10:07 PM
kugan ngo.....i am yet to make the idly seeyali..the ingris u have used is very different....i will remember...to..kandipa try it soon ;-)
onga beans i tried today...but i did it with sepangkizhangu...i actally boiled then cut it neelam neelamaaga then roasted it & added to the rest of the recipe....loved it...especially the roasted sesame seeds....thank u for anotherrrr nice recipe.....:-)

dev how lucky u r to get differentttttt types of greens....intha karisaalangani keerai inga kidaikarthilai...or maybe naan pora annaiki irukarthilaiyo ennammo :noteeth:

suvai
17th March 2012, 10:10 PM
aaahaaaa......vendi vantho???:mrgreen::mrgreen:...vanthu vanthu...miga azhagaa vanthu.....:noteeth: naan seekiramey try pannitu solluthu...:mrgreen::mrgreen:

ohhhh vendi looks so green & fresh...frying it first...is that the secret ;-)
kungan...intha masala can be used for other vegies like kathirikai also ileengala?

onga thread & your postings irukeyyy...adengappa....kadavul kita varam kettu inoru extra stomach kettu irunthu irupen (varathu munadi therinji iruntha) :rotfl::rotfl:

suvai
17th March 2012, 10:17 PM
kugan ngo....ty for giving explanation about seeyali....& also the varieties your elders used to make......athula kothamali seeyali nu pottu iruntheenga...recipe iruntha podunga athaiyum oru kai paarthitaa poguthu :noteeth:

suvai
17th March 2012, 10:27 PM
Great, try the next receipe I posted above, that is a lot spicier :)

no thanks...but have u tried it?....what is the taste & texture like?.. for me..its not the spice its the vat collection that says....hmmmmm NO...:Noteeth:

dev
18th March 2012, 10:02 AM
K, kandippa try pannuren the sauce... vendi looks super yummy...

Suvai, I've not tried Mano's seeyali...all we make is idli upma or the masala varities of mini idlis that K has posted earlier...

Keerai...this karisilanganni grows very well in wet land... In my uncle's palce, it has grown like a green carpet around coconut trees... thappi thavari kaalai ulla vaika mudiyaadhu...appadi pudhar maadhiri valarnthu irukku... I took some from there to try...no-one here cooks this keerai...:(