View Full Version : Kugan's Kitchen Part 6

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16

Lathz
23rd November 2011, 02:47 PM
am so happy to hear dat kugan akka is recovering...hoping for her speedy returns to our kitchen.....
thanx alot dear meerra for ur kinda good news......and aso ur taro root roast is really temting but i neva ate it before shud try it n clip in d comments ok...

meerra
23rd November 2011, 05:40 PM
Dear Suvai, Aarthi and Lathz, thanks for your nice posts.
Suvai, sure I will post recipes without rice.
Have you tried cracked wheat.?
I cook all the rice dishes with cracked wheat.
My family has no complains.
Thanks and take care, Meerra

meerra
23rd November 2011, 05:42 PM
LENTIL SOUP

2 tbs oil
3 pips garlic chopped
1 tbs ginger chopped
3 tbs red onion chopped
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 cup tomatoes chopped
1 cup diced carrots
1 tsp garam masala powder more or less to your taste
1/4 tsp tumeric powder
Little pepper powder
Salt to taste
1 cup brown lentils
6 cups of water.
Lime juice to taste
Little coriander leaves.

Method:
Add oil, add in the chopped garlic, ginger and onions.
Saute well, add in the cumin seeds, stir fry well.
Add in the chopped tomatoes , carrots and stir fry well.

Now add in the tumeric powder, and garam masala powder.
Stir well, add in the salt , pepper powder and cleaned lentils.
Add in 6 cups of water and let it simmer for about 25 minutes.
When the lentil is cooked remove, add in lime juice to taste
Garnish with coriander leaves.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7168/6388629239_1f0147f534_z.jpg

meerra
23rd November 2011, 05:47 PM
O.K frienz, I have a very big day ahead.
As the saying goes, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do"
Tomorrow is Thanksgiving Day.
I am going to cook few vegetarian Thanksgiving dishes.
Then midnight off to shopping:rotfl::rotfl:
Does anyone do that, Suvai, Aarthi and so on.
It is fun.
Take care folks. Meerra

suvai
23rd November 2011, 08:35 PM
hi aarthi.....i am good ty....& hope the same with u too......kulir aarambichidichi....bundle up yr little one well when going out....

priorities aarthi.......so naan kaanamal ponaa dont u worry....will come on when i have the opportunity..;-)

kugan kitchen kulla vanthitu....paathirathai urutaamal poga mudiyumaa???:noteeth:

meera......thank u for the lentil soup....awesome that u make everything with cracked wheat....inga rice apo apo thevai...ilaati...kitchen la paathiram konjam loud ah urulum...:noteeth:

your lentil soup looks yummylicious...will make this one for sure........meera is it 1 Tablespoon of garam masala for this quantity?

midnite shopping aaah!!!! enjoy enjoy....:-)

meerra
23rd November 2011, 10:59 PM
Achacho Suvai, naanum sothapitenah:banghead:

I have corrected the recipe.
Suvai, you can add celery, or any veges you like.
It is a wholesome soup.
My family is used to cracked wheat.
Once in a way I will give them a treat with basmathi rice.
Suvai, I am glad you are around.
Please pop in when time permits.
Looking forward for your posts.
Happy Thanksgiving. Meerra

suvai
24th November 2011, 03:10 AM
ennaa meera...sothapal ilaatha kitchen unda...;-)....ithuku poi muttipaangala suvathiley........:noteeth:......

enaku celery na.....konjam ila....suthama pidikaathu :noteeth: boarding la irukum bothu udambu sari ilaina ellaa soup leyum celery thaan...athaano ennamo oru "no in the mind" :noteeth:
but i will surely put other vegies & give it a try....

suvai
24th November 2011, 04:32 AM
Here is a simple (kurma das's) Tomato payatham parupu Dhal....very delicious & very easy to make...goes well with chapathi / toast /english muffins / rice or cracked wheat ;-)

1 cup (200 gms) moong dhal
8 cups of water (1.9 L)
3 bay leaves
1 Tbls butter (I used half)
2 1/2 tsp salt ( i used less)
2 Tblsp ghee ( I used 1 Tblspn oil)
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp jeera
2 dried chillies crushed
2 tsp grated ginger
1/4 tsp perungayam ( asafetida )
1 tsp turmeric - i used 3/4
5 medium sized tomatoes washed & chopped
2 Tblspn lemon juice
1 Tblspn chopped fresh corriander leaves ( I added a little mint too )

Dry roast mung dal for 4 to 5 mins.....this should be slightly browned. Now wash this dal under running water & return to saucepan....add the water bay leaf butter & salt. Cover & cook this well over medium heat for 30 minutes or till dal is done.

In a kadai heat the oil or ghee toss in the mustard seeds....when this splutters add in the cumin seeds crushed chillies, grated ginger, asafetida, turmeric. Stir fry for about 20 seconds, then add the chopped tomatoes & turn them well for about a minute or two ( i fried this till tomatoes became a pulp ) Now add this to the boiled dhal, stir - cover & cook till fully blended. Finally add the lemon juice / corriander & mint leaves (if u want). Enjoy!
This really comes out well.....& it is pretty fast too.

meerra
24th November 2011, 05:23 AM
Suvai, thanks a ton, for your super recipe.
I am sure it goes well with cracked wheat or chapathi.
Let me tackle it after Thanksgiving cooking.
Thanks and take care, Meerra

meerra
24th November 2011, 05:28 AM
WELL FRIENZS, IT'S PARTY TIME AGAIN.
KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISHES OUR DEAR FRIEND NM, A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY.
MAY YOU BE BLESSED WITH ALL THE BEST IN THE WORLD.
HAPPY BIRTHDAY NM.

HERE ENJOY YOUR CAKE

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7145/6391843275_5170ebbc93_z.jpg

NM
24th November 2011, 06:47 AM
Dear meerra, thank you so much for the wishes and please thank Kugan for remembering me :)

meerra
24th November 2011, 07:09 PM
You are welcome NM.
Kugan gave me a list of names to post wishes before she left.
She also asked me to pm few more frienz, for their birthday dates.
I forgot, :ashamed: I have to do it.
Thanks NM, take care. Meerra

Vani19
26th November 2011, 08:50 AM
Dear Meera, Sorry I could not come here that often. Thanks for posting wonderful recipes on behalf of Kugan, glad to read that Kugan is recovering. Take care and well done.

dev
26th November 2011, 01:49 PM
NM, belated b'day wishes!!!...Hope u enjoyed the cake posted by Meera...:)

suvai
26th November 2011, 11:12 PM
NM nga....Happy Birthday from Kugans page also..;-)
Dev......cake ellaam nalla saapittu itha nu rendu piece onnu ongalukum innonu selvi kum vaichi irukaanga paarunga thatiley...:noteeth:

meerra
28th November 2011, 08:46 AM
Thanks Vani, for your nice post.
Thanks for your wishes for Kugan.
Please come often to the form when ever time permits.
Thanks again. Meerra

meerra
28th November 2011, 08:48 AM
Thanks Lathz for your pm.
I will surely post your request soon.
Thanks and take care. Meerra

meerra
28th November 2011, 08:53 AM
Dear Suvai, thanks a ton for your super recipe.
I am posting it with the picture.
Please post simple recipes like that for us.
Thanks Suvai.

SUVAI'S MOONG DAL
1 cup (200 gms) moong dhal
8 cups of water (1.9 L)
3 bay leaves
1 Tbls butter (I used half)
2 1/2 tsp salt ( i used less)
2 Tblsp ghee ( I used 1 Tblspn oil)
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp jeera
2 dried chillies crushed
2 tsp grated ginger
1/4 tsp perungayam ( asafetida )
1 tsp turmeric - i used 3/4
5 medium sized tomatoes washed & chopped
2 Tblspn lemon juice
1 Tblspn chopped fresh corriander leaves ( I added a little mint too )

Dry roast mung dal for 4 to 5 mins.....this should be slightly browned. Now wash this dal under running water & return to saucepan....add the water bay leaf butter & salt. Cover & cook this well over medium heat for 30 minutes or till dal is done.

In a kadai heat the oil or ghee toss in the mustard seeds....when this splutters add in the cumin seeds crushed chillies, grated ginger, asafetida, turmeric. Stir fry for about 20 seconds, then add the chopped tomatoes & turn them well for about a minute or two ( i fried this till tomatoes became a pulp ) Now add this to the boiled dhal, stir - cover & cook till fully blended. Finally add the lemon juice / corriander & mint leaves (if u want). Enjoy!
This really comes out well.....& it is pretty fast too.

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6229/6415940699_d8a001cc0d_z.jpg

meerra
28th November 2011, 08:55 AM
Dear frienz, today I made Oreo truffles.
I will post it with the recipe tomorrow.
Thanks, Meerra

meerra
30th November 2011, 05:23 AM
Hello Frienzs, what is happening?
Dev, Rose, Gulabjamun, Selviem, Aarthi, Suvai, Lathz, Lakme,
And many more.
It is o.k if you all are busy, I can understand.
Just pulling your legs.:-D
Take care. Meerra

meerra
30th November 2011, 05:28 AM
Here is the recipe:

OREO TRUFFLES

Ingredients:

225 grms ( 8 oz ) of cream cheese, softened
1 pkg ( 16.6 oz ) Oreo cookies ( any flavor )
450 grms (16 oz ) semi sweet chocolate

Method:

Crush the Oreo cookies in a food processor.
Add the crushed cookies in a bowl, add in the cream cheese.
Use your fingers and mix the mixture well.

Place the bowl in the fridge for about ½ an hour to firm up.
Remove and shape the mixture into round balls. About 1 inch size.
( If the mixture becomes soft while rolling, simply put the bowl in the freezer, little while until the mixture becomes hard again )

Place the rolled balls in the freezer for about 40 minutes.
Shortly before removing the balls from the freezer, melt the chocolate.
Place the chocolate pieces in a microwaveable bowl.
Microwave on High for about 2 minutes, or till the chocolate is melted.

(You can use a double boiler if you do not have a microwave.)
Keep the melted chocolate aside for a minute.
Get ready a baking tray, line it with wax or parchment paper.
Add truffles in small batches to the bowl of melted chocolate.

Use a fork to roll the truffles in chocolate until evenly coated.
Remove truffles with fork, letting excess chocolate to drip back into the bowl.
Place the truffles on the lined baking tray.
While the chocolate is still wet, you can sprinkle little chocolate rice,
Or anything that you fancy.

Leave the baking tray in the fridge till the chocolate hardens.
Remove and enjoy.

NOTE: You can even pipe lines across the truffles after it has harden.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7156/6427826279_0bb4228c3d_z.jpg

rose75
30th November 2011, 08:50 PM
Hello Meera, sorry for not coming often to the hub. I feel lost without our dear Kugan.
Anyway, I tasted two dishes in my friends house. They just told me the recipe verbally.
I have pmed you both the recipes in my own words. Please rewrite the recipe and post it for us.
I am sure you will cook and post the pictures too. Sorry Meera, this is how I always ask Kugan.
I hope you do not mind. Radish stir fry and capsicum curry.
Thanks Meera. Rose 75

Aarthii
30th November 2011, 10:07 PM
Meera,Oreo Truffles are very good.
Lovely Meera !!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for the recipe Meera :) :)
Thanks a lot.

Lathz
1st December 2011, 04:57 PM
hye meerra....i tried out d oreo truffles.....
cumes out great...but juz dat d size is shapeless yet my hubby enjoy it......thanx alot...huggies

gulabjamun
1st December 2011, 06:15 PM
Hello meera, thanks for all the nice recipes. Sorry for not coming often.
will try my best to come often. Tried Suvai's dal, yummy.
If not for your picture, I would not have tried it.
Thanks Meera.

meerra
2nd December 2011, 03:59 AM
Rose, thanks for your nice popst.
Please do not worry, ask me any recipe.
If I know I will surely post it for you.
Look out for the recipe. Thanks. Meerra

meerra
2nd December 2011, 04:00 AM
Thanka Aarthii for your nice post.
I know you are a long time friend of Kugan.
Please try out the truffle.
I am sure your little one will like it a lot.
Take care. Meerra

meerra
2nd December 2011, 04:05 AM
Bravo Lathz:clap::clap: well done.
Your truffles look perfect. Practice makes perfect.
I feel very happy that you tried it.
You are just like me. I like to try out new things.

Lathz, I will post for you the black pepper noodles, as taught by Kugan.
There are many styles of doing this.
I hope this is the version you are looking for.
Happy cooking. Take care, Meera

meerra
2nd December 2011, 04:10 AM
BLACK PEPPER NOODLES

Ingredients:

2 tbs oil
2 pips garlic minced
2 shallots sliced thinly
2 dried mushrooms , soaked and sliced thinly
250 grms fresh Udon noodles
½ green capsicum , cut into thin slices
50 grms Chinese cabbage, shredded
A handful of beansprouts

½ tbs vegetarian oyster sauce
1 tsp light soy sauce or to taste
½ tsp thick soy sauce for colour
1 tsp coarsely ground black pepper ( more or less )
A pinch of aji no motto ( optional )

A dash of sesame oil
Little spring onions for garnishing
Little fresh red chillie strips.

Method:

Heat a wok with the oil. Add in the minced garlic, stir till nice aroma comes.
Add in the sliced shallots, mushrooms, fry till fragrant.
Add in the udon noodles, seasonings. Stir fry well.
Add in the Chinese cabbage, beansprouts and capsicum.

Toss well to blend, add in the dash of sesame oil. Taste for salt.
Dish up and serve garnished with chillie strips and spring onions.

NOTE: This is a vegetarian version.
You may add seafood , cooked chicken or any vege of your choice

THANKS TO THE NET FOR THE PICTURE:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7003/6438561765_b33940248d.jpg

suvai
3rd December 2011, 09:02 PM
Hello Hello Meera....that is amazing that you have tried the Kurma Das Dhal that I posted.
You sure are a mini kugan...:noteeth:.....tries out new recipes with a lot of confidence...bravo!!
I make that dhal very often as it is very simple. Glad you liked it.
Happy to note that gulabjamun also tried the same & it turned out well...:-)

Meera, truffles looks very exotic & heavenly....;-)

here is another recipe that you might try out with tofu:

Firm tofu..1 packet..cut into bite size squares or rectangles.(dont cut it too small)..make sure you dry out all the excess water from it.
In a bowl, add about 4 Tblspns of yoghurt....to this....add enough red chillie powder (to your taste) I used about 1 Tblspn as this silly tofu refuses to give it that umph..;-) To this add garlic ginger paste about 1 & half tsp of each...also add 1 to 2 Tblspn of oil.....to this I also added corriander chutney (north indian style) that I had in the fridge..also add salt accordingly as the green chutney had salt in it already...give a good mix & place the tofu coating it well in the mixture & marinate it in the fridge for about 15 to 20 mins...in the mean time take a baking sheet.....put some foil on it...rub it with oil....now place well coated tofu ( that is marinated )....individually......bake it in a pre heated oven for about 15 mins....( 350/375 degrees)...now take it & flip them over carefully....without scrapping the foil.....& bake it till it becomes well cooked for another 10 to 15 mins depending on your oven. It should be crisp outside & medium soft inside....it is very good as a snack. (Mind you if the yoghurt is very thin then it might release water ) so use thick yoghurt.
I know it sounds like there is a lot of work involved but....it is tasty ;-) Try it when you find time.
one can also add tandoori masala paste or powder...to it.

meerra
4th December 2011, 08:21 AM
Thanks Suvai for your nice post.
Ya Suvai, all Kugan's training while I was in Malaysia.

Your new recipe looks very tempting.
Well I have a small function this weekend.
Lot of preparations to do in between work.
Anyway I will try it soon and post the picture.
I am sure the kids will love it.
It is shivering cold nowadays.
Thanks for coming to the forum.
Take care Meerra.

meerra
4th December 2011, 08:25 AM
Well Rose, here is your stir fried radish recipe.
Enjoy it. Meerra

STIR FRIED RADISH

Ingredients:

3 cups of grated radish
1 tbs oil
¼ tsp mustard seeds
1 small onion sliced
1 tsp grated ginger
1 tsp minced garlic
2 tsp chillie flakes
A pinch of turmeric
Salt to taste
1 tsp lime juice
1 tsp roasted and ground cumin powder
Little coriander leaves for garnishing

Method:

Squeeze out little juice from the grated radish if it is very mushy.
Heat the wok, with the oil. Add in the mustard seeds ,ginger, garlic and onions.
Stir fry till nice aroma comes. Add in the grated radish.
Add in the chillie flakes , turmeric powders, and salt.

Give a very good stir, till everything is mixed well.
Give a quick brisk stir fry. The radish need not cook long.
Add in the roasted cumin powder, lime juice.
Give a good stir, remove and garnish with the coriander leaves.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7030/6450189151_c7c8cabccd_z.jpg

suvai
4th December 2011, 09:57 PM
ahaaa...the raddish stir seems very simple.............looks very yummy & delicious....try pannidaren for sure.

ya it is getting cold here too meera....stay warm...:-)

meerra
7th December 2011, 04:39 AM
Hello every one, Thanks Suvai foir your nice post.
Rose, I have posted your recipe.
Another one is coming, come on guys.
Take care, Meerra

meerra
7th December 2011, 04:44 AM
Rose, here is your second request.

CAPSICUM CURRY

Ingredients;

1 tbs oil
1 big onion chopped
1 sprig curry leaves
½ tsp ginger paste
½ tsp garlic paste

2 tsp chillie powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
2 tsp coriander powder
Salt to taste
2 tomatoes cut into cubes

2 cups water
2 big capsicums cut into cubes

1 tbs roasted peanut powder
½ tsp dry fenugreek leaves
Little coriander leaves

Method:

Heat the oil in a kadai. Add in the chopped onions and curry leaves.
Sauté till the onions turn light brown. Add in the ginger and garlic paste.
Sauté for about a minute. Add in the chillie, turmeric and coriander powders.
Add in the salt and the cut tomatoes. Stir fry and cook till oil rises.

Add in the 2 cups of water, and the capsicum cubes.
Cook for about 10 minutes on low flame.
The gravy should be a little thick now. Add in the peanut powder.
Add also the fenugreek leaves. Mix well, cook for a minute.
Remove and garnish with coriander leaves.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7009/6468487531_d494b7003e_z.jpg

selvieam
7th December 2011, 07:48 PM
meerra , thanks for the delicious receipes, will try both. radish looks yummy very attractive too.

Aarthii
7th December 2011, 10:46 PM
Meera ,thanks for the Capsicum Curry recipe.It looks good.I like capsicum very much.
How is kuganka doing?
Thanks for all the recipes meera.

rose75
7th December 2011, 11:17 PM
Meera, thanks for posting both the recipes that I pmed you.
They look exactly like i saw. Oh. my Kugan's family is fantastic.
all are good cooks. I will try them out soon.
Thanks Meera.

gulabjamun
9th December 2011, 06:15 AM
Meera, thanks for all the nice recipes.
Just simple recipes like Kugan does.
Any new news of kugan. Tell her we all miss her very much.

suvai
9th December 2011, 10:10 AM
hi meera.....:-) i tried yr fried radish....with a little twist....added peanuts to it....& it turned out very delicious...went well with chapathi..;-) thanks for the recipe.

suvai
9th December 2011, 10:39 AM
iniki nite ku enna tiffin inga na.....adarett.............:noteeth: guess pannunga paarkalaam

kugan irunthaa.....udaney inga oru phone anga oru phone pottu....ithai poi ipadi kuzhapiteengaley suvai nu solluvaanga :noteeth:

dev iruntha....link mela link paranthu poi...kandu pidichiduvaanga :mrgreen:

selvi iruntha....suvai.....ithuku poi ipadi oru per koduthu oru kalaku kalakiteenga nu solluvaanga

aarthi...will say....suvaika...engey irunthu ithai kandu pidicheenganu

:mrgreen:

meerra
9th December 2011, 02:42 PM
Thanks, frienz, for the nice posts.
Selviem, Aarthii, Suvai, Rose and Gulabjamun.
Imm, what happened to our Dev?:think:

Kugan, goes for her follow ups.
She is fine, sends her greetings to every one.

Suvai ungga last post:idontgetit: What dish is that?
Anyway it was fun to read. As usual paathiram urutal.
Meerra

meerra
9th December 2011, 02:54 PM
Frienz, actually kugan asked me to post lot of non-vege recipes before she left.
I do not know why, my family decided to go vegetarian, till Kugan goes home safely.
We only take chicken, fish and eggs, that too only on weekends.
Now we find going vegetarian is not that difficult.
Maybe, who knows, we might become vegetarian for life.:-D

NOTE: If anyone needs any non-vege recipe, please do not hesitate to ask.
Of course I will post it without the pictures.
Thanks. Meerra

dev
9th December 2011, 08:23 PM
Hi Meerra, glad to know Kugan is keeping well... :)

Suvainga, adhu ennaga adarett?...enakku adai thaan theriyum...:roll:

Can u ppl suggest some basic recipes that can be done using an electric kettle in a hotel room...;) I read one can make soup, noodles etc... any experiences?....

suvai
10th December 2011, 07:16 AM
:noteeth: sorry dev & meera to kulapify you with "adarett"....heheheee

okay konjam thalliye ninukaren kitchen la...kayiley kidaikarthai thooki en mela poda koodathu...:noteeth:

athu onnum ileenga dev /meera....i had little bit of left over of both adai & pesarett maavu....so athai onnaa serthu....konjam onions/ then added this powder - combo of fennel/cinnamon/cloves....to the mixture & made as usual.....superrrrrr o superrrrrr lol....ithuku naan vacha peru....adarett...lol

kugan iruntha....head banging on the wall icon irukum for sure :noteeth:

dev....there are lots of cups & bowls noodles that we get here to which we can just add hot water cover for a few mins & then it is ready to eat......other than that...with just a kettle vera onnum seiyaraa maathri therilai.

meerra
10th December 2011, 07:27 AM
Thanks Dev, for your nice post.
For a moment, I was missing you.

Going for a holiday Dev?
Ya as Suvai said, we have ready made soup bowls or cups.
we can boil the water and pour it into a cup with the dried noodles.

Let me ask around and see first.
take care Dev.

meerra
10th December 2011, 07:30 AM
Suvai, thanks for your nice hilarious post
Pity Kugan not around to enjoy the fun.
She loves your pranks very much.
Happy that your combo was very yummy.
Shall try it out one day.
Take care Suvai.

meerra
10th December 2011, 07:39 AM
O.K frienz, it is party time again.
It is our dear Suvai's birthday.
KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISHES OUR DEAR SUVAI A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY
HAPPY BIRTHDAY SUVAI.
MAY THE LORD BLESS YOU WITH ALL THE BEST IN THE WORLD.
ENJOY YOUR CAKE SUVAI. IT IS VEGETARIAN

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7145/6484581319_9b12866f84_z.jpg

HERE IS A FRUIT CHOCO BASKET FOR YOU.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7013/6484581341_7c69b6d7d0.jpg

suvai
10th December 2011, 07:43 AM
awwwwwww......thank u for your kind wishes meera on behalf of the kugan & its members!!!

Beautifullllllll vegetarian cake...meera...romba neat & clean looking one too..!!!

okay....ellaarum vaanga.....inthaanga thattu pideenga....with a piece of lovely cake on it...:noteeth:

i can hear kugan say save a piece for me :noteeth:

i love the goody basket too thank u meera..;-)

dev
10th December 2011, 03:16 PM
Wish U a very happy Bday Suvai...:)

Unga adrett supernga...:lol:

dev
10th December 2011, 03:25 PM
yes Meerra, going on a holiday... I did soem research and asking around... some friends say we can cook noodles,soup right in the kettle if the heating element is concealed...also eggs can be boiled...I found some interesting instant Indian recipes which I'll post here if the experiment turns out satisfactory... Since it's a lil long trip with kids, I wanted to try some basic stuffs so that their stomach gets some relief from hotel food once in a while... looks like this kettle( http://www.flipkart.com/home-appliances/electric-kettles/itmdyczfm9yhp76d?pid=ektdyczcpganzyzx&_l=2NwCUy0nCy52Yn4ZJLRKPw--&_r=W27bPaYNo_bENbNM4OTw9Q--&ref=84a67c45-0459-40b4-a271-0c9c6aa3a7da ) can help in some basic cooking other than boiling water...

suvai
10th December 2011, 07:16 PM
Wish U a very happy Bday Suvai...:)

Unga adrett supernga...:lol:

Thank you dev for your kind wishes.....:-)

adarett........:noteeth: :noteeth:

dev....u have given more tips than i could have imagined with just a simple kettle.....adengappa....mudinja oru virunthey pottudalaam pola oru kettle vachi :noteeth:
enjoy your trip & be safe....:-)

NM
12th December 2011, 04:08 PM
A very Happy Belated Birthday Wishes to dearest Suvai. Hope you had a blast!

dev
12th December 2011, 06:07 PM
Aamanga Suvai... actually the instant sambar n rasam mix I tried turned out really tasty... poha mix was good too... innum enna upma and pongal mix try pannina podhum... we get puli semiya in the market here...it comes with some masala...all u've to do is add that masala n enough salt for a decent semiya... idhu podhume 10 days tripku kidsku... Actually lil S is very sensitive to hotel food...2 naal continuousaa saapitaale stomach upset aagidum... adhanaal thaan indha research ellam...;)

meerra
13th December 2011, 10:19 PM
Thanks Suvai and Dev, for your nice posts.
I was little busy in the weekend with a small function.
As you all know we do not have any sort of help.
All have to be done by us. Kugan has a maid to help out:-D
Here everything is us.

I was so busy that I forgot to take the pictures of the spread that I had.
Dev, your tips with kettle cooking is amazing.
Should try one by one.
Thanks, Meera

meerra
13th December 2011, 10:23 PM
Try this simple pineapple goju.
It was a hit with everyone. Thanks. Meerra.

PINEAPPLE GOJU

Ingredients:

1 tbs oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 sprig curry leaves
1 cup pineapple, cut into I inch cubes. Use tinned pineapple
1 tbs thick tamarind paste
Salt to taste
1 cup water

Masala Powder: Roast in oil and powder
1 tbs oil
1 tbs coriander seeds
¼ tsp raw rice
½ tsp funugreek seeds
1 tsp urad dal
½ tsp channa dal
2 tbs grated coconut
½ tsp asafetida powder
1 tsp chillie powder or more to taste

1 tbs jiggery, or to taste

Method:
Heat oil in a kadai, add in the mustard seeds and curry leaves.
Add in the pineapple cubes, tamarind paste and water.
Add in the salt and let it come to a boil.

Now add in the ground powder and stir well.
Add in the jiggery and cook on low flame.
Cook till the gravy becomes thick, check for seasonings.
Remove and serve with rice chapathi, or ghee rice.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7157/6505911609_874b95ac48_z.jpg

meerra
13th December 2011, 10:28 PM
Frienz, I did a fruit arrangement, how do you all like it?

13th December 2011, 10:49 PM
Hello Aunties :lol2:

I yaam back ,had some personal problems , but now things are being sorted , so I can post regularly :)

Meera akka is fullfilling Kugan akka's sevai, hats off!

13th December 2011, 10:50 PM
Belated Birthday wishes Suvai inga :)

Dev Aunty

How are you ? :yessir:

gulabjamun
14th December 2011, 10:23 AM
Meera, the pineapple gojuu, sounds very yummy.
I will try it out soon. your fruit arrangement looks super.

rose75
14th December 2011, 05:12 PM
Meera, you are wonderful, your recipes are all very nice.
I will try out the pineapple gojuu soon.
By the way Meera do you have any recipe for gravy made with groundnuts?
If you have , kindly please post it for me.
Thanks, rose.

dev
15th December 2011, 08:17 PM
Tip: Dosa batter gone sour?... kids refusing to have dosa along with chutney?... mix some mint/coriander chutney(without adding tamarind if it si for reducing sourness of the batter) to make some delicious, colorful dosas...:) you can also add tomato chutney, carrot/beetroot chutney etc... tomato chutney will increase the sourness of the batter though...

dev
15th December 2011, 08:20 PM
Meera, that's a beautiful fruit arrangement!!!...will try to replicate it sometime... what is the base used to stick the fruits?...

15th December 2011, 08:46 PM
Dev

Ungaluku naan hello sonathu theriyalaiya :x

dev
16th December 2011, 09:45 AM
enakku hello soneengala???!!! neenga verai yaaro auntyku thaane sonnenga!!!...

meerra
16th December 2011, 08:31 PM
Thank you Rose for your post. Please hang on, I will soon post the recipe for you.
Take care, Meerra

meerra
16th December 2011, 08:33 PM
Ah, brother, nice to see you active in the forum again.
I know you cannot cook, but atleast leave a comment for the dishes
posted by us. We will feel happy.
Thanks for inquiring about Kugan. Take care, Meerra

meerra
16th December 2011, 08:39 PM
Dev, thanks for the tips on sour dosa flour.
I am sure many will benefit from it.

as for the fruit arrangements, actually I saw it in my friends house.:-D
She had done it in a round bowl.
Since I was having a function in my house.
I bought a basket and did the arrangements there.
You need the little hard type of sponge, plastic spikes and fruits.
I used two types of melon, strawberry, grapes and pineapple.
You can use any fruits of your choice.
Take care, Meerra

Here is the picture:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7022/6520963215_5b921c297e_z.jpg

dev
16th December 2011, 09:11 PM
Thanks a lot Meera... will give it a try sometime...:)

meerra
17th December 2011, 05:27 AM
Well Rose , here is the recipe for the groundnut curry.
Enjoy. Meerra

GROUNDNUT CURRY

Ingredients:

1 tbs gingelly oil
¼ tsp mustard seeds
¼ tsp urad dal
¼ tsp cumin seeds
¼ tsp funugreek seeds
¼ tsp aniseeds
1 sprig curry leaves
1 pinch of asafetida

1 big onion chopped
1 tomato chopped
1 brinjal cut into cubes
1 cup fresh groundnuts, boiled till cooked
¼ tsp turmeric powder
2 tbs sambar powder
Salt to taste
1 tbs tamarind paste mixed into 1 cup of water

Method:

Heat oil in a kadai, add in the seasonings.
Let them splutter well. Add in the chopped oniopns.
Let it brown a little. Add in the chopped tomatoes and brinjal.
Stir fry well and let it cook till the brinjals are little soft.

Add in the cooked groundnuts, fry well for a minute.
Now add in the turmeric powder, sambar powder and salt.
Stir fry well, add in the tamarind juice.
stir well , cover and cook for few minutes.

The gravy should be a little thick now.
Taste for salt and remove.
Goes well with rice, chapathi and things.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7006/6523162823_7b26d31275_z.jpg

meerra
17th December 2011, 05:33 AM
O.K frienz, another celebration for this month.
it's our brother P.S ( RAGHU'S ) birthday.

Kugan's Kitchen wishes our dear brother a very happy birthday.
May The Lord Bless Him With All The Best In The World.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR BROTHER.

Here enjoy your cake and chocolates.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7030/6523162863_ccfc45c4ef_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7172/6523162887_e07635dd73.jpg

suvai
17th December 2011, 07:41 PM
A very Happy Belated Birthday Wishes to dearest Suvai. Hope you had a blast!

Hello nga NM.....thank you for your Kind wishes!!...:-)

suvai
17th December 2011, 07:44 PM
hello meera..........your fruit arrangement looks beautiful..............u r very creative....:-)

suvai
17th December 2011, 07:45 PM
Belated Birthday wishes Suvai inga :)

Thank you PS for your kind wishes..:-)

suvai
17th December 2011, 07:46 PM
Have a Wonderful Birthday PS...:-)

dev
18th December 2011, 03:17 PM
Happy Bday PS...:)

19th December 2011, 09:18 PM
Many thanks Meera akka :)

Thanks Suvai inga :)

Thanks Devuda :)

Once again Many thanks for Kugan akka for reminding Meera akka for remembering my birthday, and wish Kugan akka a speedy recovery from her operation!

NM
20th December 2011, 04:06 AM
Dear Raghu thathaa,

Happy Belated Birthday to you:).
Hope you had a blast in this 'thallaadum vayasu' ha ha

20th December 2011, 04:20 PM
Dear Raghu thathaa,

Happy Belated Birthday to you:).
Hope you had a blast in this 'thallaadum vayasu' ha ha

Thanks NM patt :evil:i, intha vayasilayum ungalukku kann parvai nalla iruke, computer ellam use panureenga :lol2: naa ninaichen ungaluku intha vayasula, kai kaal ellam thalladum nu :lol2: :poke:

meerra
21st December 2011, 06:21 AM
Thanks brother, hope you had a nice time.
I know Kugan's heart will be thinking of you all all the time.

What's for Christmas folks?
Hope to do some cookies for the kids.
Take care, Happy holidays.
Meerra

meerra
21st December 2011, 06:28 AM
Here is a simple broccoli stir fry. Try it out frienz.

BROCCOLI STIR FRY

Ingredients:

1 tbs oil
½ tsp cumin seeds
1 pinch of asafetida powder
1 tbs finely chopped garlic
2 green chillies finely chopped
350 grms broccoli cut into bite size
Salt to taste

Toppings: Mix all together
½ cup besan flour
¼ tsp cumin powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
¼ tsp garam masala powder
½ tsp mango powder
½ tsp coriander powder
½ tsp chillie powder
1 tbs oil
Little salt

Lime juice to taste

Method:
Heat oil in a non-stick pan. Add in the cumin seeds.
Add in the asafetida powder , garlic and the green chillies.
Stir fry for a second. Add in the broccoli and salt.
Mix well, cover and cook for about 2 minutes.

Uncover the broccoli and sprinkle the toppings evenly.
Do not stir, cover and cook for about 5 minutes.
Sprinkle little water , just to moisten the flour.
Cook again covered for 3 minutes.

Sprinkle with lime juice and remove.
Goes well with rice or roti.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7158/6546422179_c183872bbf_z.jpg

gulabjamun
21st December 2011, 01:42 PM
Meera, I hate broccoli, but your recipe looks very yummy.
Sure will give it a try.
many thanks for it. Gulabjamun

gulabjamun
21st December 2011, 01:43 PM
Happy belated birthday wishes P.S

21st December 2011, 10:43 PM
Thanks Meera akka for your kind words :)

Thanks Gulabjamun for your wishes :)

dev
22nd December 2011, 04:51 PM
Broccoli stir fry looks very tempting Meera... I'll try this recipe with cauliflower...:)

rose75
22nd December 2011, 05:38 PM
Hai Meerra, I tried the broccoli stir fry, it turned out very yummy.
Now no excuse, not to cook broccoli in our house.
What's your menu for Christmas.?
Rose

nithishri
23rd December 2011, 10:17 PM
Hi all,
I dont know if anybody recognises me here..I used be active here like 2 yrs ago...I see that Kugan akka is unwell... can anyone tell me what happened... ? Meanwhile Meera ka seems to be doing a god Job. No doubtt the brocolli stir fry seems amazing...
Hope all are doing well..If anybody recognizes me, pls do drop in to say a Hi...

24th December 2011, 07:30 AM
welcome back nithisri, why the long absence?
soon pongal will be here :slurp:

meerra
24th December 2011, 05:12 PM
Thanks brother, Gulabjamun, Rose, Dev and Nithi for the nice posts.
Hope you all will enjoy the broccoli stir fry.
Thanks. Meerra

meerra
24th December 2011, 05:21 PM
welcome back Nithi, you are right in time for Christmas:-D
I am sure Kugan will be very happy to know that you are here.
Kugan is getting better. She will be back in Malaysia In March.
Take care, come often when time permits.
Kugan really misses lots of her friends.
Sudha India, Madhu, Suja and many more.
Thanks. Meerra

meerra
24th December 2011, 05:26 PM
WISHING EVERYONE A MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR.
FROM KUGAN'S KITCHEN

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year
Kugan's Kitchen wishing you all a Christmas
Full of laughter, love and light,
With delicious holiday foods
To excite your appetite.
We're hoping you receive
Delightful gifts to make you smile,
With family and friends
To love you all the while.
We wish you a Merry Christmas;
May your Christmas dreams come true,
And when Christmas is over,
Happy New Year, too!

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7022/6563685327_3ba236b01a.jpg

meerra
24th December 2011, 05:31 PM
Dear frienz, try this dip for this holidays.

GUACAMOLE DIP

Ingredients:
2 ripe avocados
½ cup red onion minced
2 green chillies, minced
2 tbs coriander leaves chopped fine
1 tbs lime juice or little more
½ tsp salt or to taste
Little black pepper powder
½ big tomato, chopped with pulp and seeds removes.

Method:

Cut and remove the seeds of the avocados.
Scoop out the flesh, put into a bowl.
Mash the avocado with a fork.
Add in all the other ingredients and mix well.
Refrigerate till ready to use.
Serve with tortilla chips.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7151/6563736313_f858918868_z.jpg

meerra
24th December 2011, 05:33 PM
Well frienz, made some cookies and the plum cake for Christmas.
Hope to post soon the recipes with pictures.
Till then Happy Holidays.
Take care. Meerra

meerra
24th December 2011, 05:36 PM
Groucho, uncle, Wishing your family a very Happy Christmas.
When is your little one coming.?

Appadiyeh ungga, mother-in-law's fruit cake recipe konjam podungga.
Thanks uncle. Meerra

meerra
24th December 2011, 05:39 PM
NOV uncle, missing for sometime.
Hope you had a nice time in India with your family.
I too miss India a lot, I love the food there.
I have asked Kugan to visit me in US before returning to Malaysia.
She is not that happy, I might visit her in India before she returns.
Take care uncle, Happy Holidays.
Meerra

24th December 2011, 08:10 PM
Thanks Meerra - I had tea in HSB with bajji :slurp:
just back from dinner at Sangeetha's - chettinad mini tiffin - very filling with carrot idly, kal thosai, chettinad vadai, kuzhi paniyaaram, kEsari and coffee - all for just 10 ringgit! :slurp:

selvieam
24th December 2011, 09:57 PM
meerra, thanks for all ur receipes. waiting for ur plum cake. we love it . our regards to kugan.
our prayers are always there.

suvai
25th December 2011, 07:07 PM
hello mini kugan!!!..:noteeth: hope all is well.....glad to hear that u might plan to visit kugan....hope u do & convey all our good wishes to her..:-)

Nov ngovvv.....onga dinner at sangeethas seems very satisfying to manasu/stomach & pocket......:-) wondering what is chettinad vadai.....;-)

Merry Christmas to all who celebrate !!

meerra
26th December 2011, 03:37 AM
NOV uncle, you have made me drool with all the food you had:-D
At first I used to convert US dollars to RM.
My head will go round, I cannot buy anything.
Now I am used to all that. I cook all my food.

NOV uncle, I too love the kuih kapit.
My Italian friend taught me to make a similar version of the kuih.
I am posting it for every one.
Take care uncle. Meerra

meerra
26th December 2011, 03:40 AM
Selviem, thanks for your post.
How is the weather in your place?
How are your boys doing?
I will post the plum cake recipe soon.
The thing is that it will not have any plums:-D
Yet they call it the plum cake.
Take care Selviem. Meerra.

meerra
26th December 2011, 03:45 AM
Suvai, how are you? Thanks for your nice post.
Well Kugan has visa for US. That's why I asked her to come.
Anyway I will pass all your wishes to her, if I visit her.

meerra
26th December 2011, 03:49 AM
Here is the Italian version of our kuih kapit:-D

PIZZELLE

Ingredients:
¾ cup caster sugar
3 eggs beaten
¾ cup melted butter
2 tsp vanilla essence
½ tsp aniseeds
1 ½ cups all purpose flour

Little powdered sugar

1 Pizzelle maker

Method:

In a bowl , beat the sugar and eggs.
Add in the melted butter, vanilla and aniseeds.
Add in the flour and beat the mixture until smooth.

Preheat your pizzelle maker, brush with vegetable oil.
Drop batter with a tablespoon, onto the preheated grid.
Close lid and bake approximately 50 seconds.

Lift the lid and remove the cooked pizzelles with edge of a fork.
Place them on paper towel lined cooling racks in single layers.
Cool completely and sprinkle each with the powdered sugar.
When cool you can place them in airtight containers.

this is the pizzelle maker:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7158/6571208809_05f86efb17_z.jpg

The Pizzelles:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7158/6571208791_6bef7556df_z.jpg

suvai
26th December 2011, 04:18 AM
hi meera...all is well here ..

pizzelles maker...looks beautiful with all the designs...:-)

your guacamole is similar to what i make.

suvai
26th December 2011, 04:34 AM
hello nithi....welcome back....epadi irukey?hope all is well......
i still remember yr greens saaru...& also one kurma of yr sis in law i think....i remember becoz both turned out well ;-)

suvai
26th December 2011, 04:36 AM
hi selviem.....i made yr potato thokku....it always comes out well....& its a fav dish on the table..;-)
hope all is well..

rose75
26th December 2011, 10:06 PM
Hai Meera, so sad that you miss all the Malaysian food.
Good anyway you are clever to cook to full fill cravings.
Nice dip. Thanks Rose

gulabjamun
27th December 2011, 06:44 AM
Meera thanks for all your recipes.
Waiting for the cake recipe.
thanks.

28th December 2011, 09:01 PM
NOV uncle,

NOV uncle,

Avar ungaluku uncle na, enaku thaatha :rotfl: :yessir:

By the way

meera akka

Do you know how to make Gobi Manchurian?? If so pls post the recipe, thanks :)

selvieam
30th December 2011, 01:29 AM
meerra so nice of u. whenever u r free u post the receipe. i told my boys that i will make plum cake. all ingredients are ready at home. anyway i planning to make normal cake for this newyear.
i tried eggless cake lastweek it came out well.
here climate is very pleasant. boys are at home for 2 weeks. they r fine. our regards to kugan.

selvieam
30th December 2011, 01:30 AM
suvai, we r fine here. how about u. thanks a lot for the feedback. ur posts are always make us energetic.
keep going

meerra
30th December 2011, 08:32 AM
Sorry Selviem, as you know, working people.
I am posting it now for you.
Thanks. meerra

meerra
30th December 2011, 08:34 AM
KERALA PLUM CAKE

Ingredients:

120 grms mixed fruits ( sultanas, raisins, cherries,mixed peels etc ) roughly chopped
120 grms mixed nuts ( cashews, almonds, walnuts etc ) roughly chopped
1/3 cup fruit juice or rum, or brandy

½ tsp baking soda
1 tbs vinegar

½ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp mixed spice powder
¼ tsp salt
125 grms all purpose flour ( sift all these together )

120 grms butter
120 grms brown sugar

Method:

Put the mixed fruits in a bowl, add in the fruit juice or brandy.
Soak it over night.

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.
Grease a 9 inch pan and keep aside.

In a small bowl, mix the baking soda and vinegar, keep aside.
In a mixing bowl, beat the butter until light and fluffly.
Add in the brown sugar and beat well.
Add in the shifted flour and mix well.

Add in the soaked fruits, nuts, and the vinegar + baking soda mixture.
Mix every thing well. Transfer the contents to the greased pan.
Bake for about 40 minutes at 180 degrees.
Test to see if the cake is cooked.

Remove and let it cool

The Cake :
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7145/6597918485_053149a14f_z.jpg

The Sliced Pices:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7172/6597918477_6969d23c3e_z.jpg

meerra
30th December 2011, 08:42 AM
P.S brother, if I am not mistaken, Kugan has already posted the gobi manchurian.
Any way let me check and post it for you.
Thankls Meerra

30th December 2011, 03:04 PM
ok, thanks meera akka :)

I do have short memory :oops:

meerra
30th December 2011, 11:33 PM
o.k P.S brother, here is the recipe for you. Enjoy.

GOBI MANCHURIAN

Ingredients:
1 Medium Gobi/Cauliflower - cut into florets
1/2 cup Cornflour
1/2 cup All Purpose Flour/Maida
2 Tbsp Soy Chili Sauce
1 tsp hot Red Chili Powder
3 Tbsp Tomato sauce
1 capsicum cut into chunks
1 Big Onion cut into chunks
1 tsp Butter -melted
4 Garlic Cloves- Chopped finely
1 Tbsp Ginger-Garlic-Green chili paste
2 Green chilies - Chopped finely
1/2 inch Ginger- Sliced into thin strips
Oil for deep frying

METHOD:

Mix cornflour+ maida + Garlic-Green chili paste + melted hot butter+
salt( as per taste) along with little warm water to make a thick
paste.
Dip Cauliflower florets into this paste and deep fry them until golden
brown and set them aside.
Now in a wok heat little oil and fry onions till transparent.
To this add chopped garlic cloves and fry them until transparent.
Now add green chilies and ginger and then add in capsicum and fry them
for a min.Note that capsicum should still remain crispy.
Now add soy sauce+ chili sauce+ tomato sauce+ red chili powder and
saute it for a few secs.
To this add about 3 tbsp of water and the above fried and cooled gobi.
Stir fry nicely and dish out.

Garnish with fresh coriander leaves and serve hot.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7011/6601523037_0ba9b70121_z.jpg

meerra
30th December 2011, 11:37 PM
KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISHES EVERY ONE A VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR.
MAY THERE BE ONLY JOY AND LAUGHTER IN EACH AND EVERY HOME.
GOD BLESS

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7163/6601514879_19aff12221_z.jpg
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7015/6601514893_d3932d3686_z.jpg

suvai
31st December 2011, 05:38 AM
Hello meera...& Kugan ngo!!!
I take this to Wish both yourselves as well as your families a Wonderful 2012!!!
Let there be more blessings from above for good health & happiness!!..:-)

Thank you meera for your kind wishes!!

I also wish all our kugan friends a Happy New Year!!!
More fun in the kitchen, more happiness in your homes.

rose75
31st December 2011, 09:11 PM
Hello friends, wishing you all a very happy new year.
Hope Kugan comes back, healthy and with lots of recipes for us.
Rose75

gulabjamun
1st January 2012, 07:34 PM
Happy New Year Friends.
Enjoy the new year and come back happy and similing to the forum.
Hope to see more new recipes this year.
Gulabjamun.

dev
2nd January 2012, 09:39 AM
Hi friends, wishing you all a very happy 2012!!!...

Am back from my yr end vacation...:)
Meera, will try thr plum cake sometime... It's one of my fav cakes... If u do have a recipe for blackforest cake, do post it when u find time...:)

suvai
2nd January 2012, 10:01 AM
vaanga vaanga dev....:-) hope you all had a good time!!!
any special food item saapiteengala? hotel kettle kai koduthichaa? :noteeth:

dev
2nd January 2012, 03:45 PM
yeah, momos saapitten manalila...;) kettle superaa use panninen... sarkkarai pongalla irundhu sambar varaikkum ellam seiya mudinjichu...very useful indeed...:)

3rd January 2012, 06:14 PM
Thanks Meer akka for "Gobi Manchurian" , will try it soon :slurp:

selvieam
4th January 2012, 04:39 PM
hi friends,

wishing u all a very happy new year.

selvieam
4th January 2012, 04:40 PM
meerra thanks a lot for plum cake receipe will try definitely and give u the feedback. no need of eggs for plum cake?? picture is so tempting.

nithishri
5th January 2012, 12:58 AM
hello nithi....welcome back....epadi irukey?hope all is well......
i still remember yr greens saaru...& also one kurma of yr sis in law i think....i remember becoz both turned out well ;-)

Thanks for remembering akka... Hope u r doing fine :)

nithishri
5th January 2012, 01:05 AM
welcome back nithisri, why the long absence?
soon pongal will be here :slurp:

Hi Nov ... yes got busy with work n stuff.. Ipo kinda not that busy...Yes soon pongal will be here

nithishri
5th January 2012, 01:07 AM
welcome back Nithi, you are right in time for Christmas:-D
I am sure Kugan will be very happy to know that you are here.
Kugan is getting better. She will be back in Malaysia In March.
Kugan really misses lots of her friends.
Sudha India, Madhu, Suja and many more.

Thanks. Meerra

thanks for the welcome meera..convey my reagrds to kugan akka... U r doing a gr8 job here ka////

nithishri
5th January 2012, 01:11 AM
Happy new yr to all of u

nithishri
7th January 2012, 08:53 PM
why two days a no active participants

dev
8th January 2012, 12:37 PM
Nice to c u back Nithi... wish u a happy new year!!!

meerra
8th January 2012, 08:11 PM
Hai guys, sorry, for not logging for sometime.
Not well and heavy workload.

I have some good news for every one.
Kugan is much better and is out of all medical follow ups.
She is in a ashramam, for her inner peace.
She will be back in Malaysia, one month ahead of her plan.
I am so happy for her, even though she dashed my hopes of seeing her.

I will be back soon to answer everyone.
Meerra

dev
8th January 2012, 08:21 PM
Hi Meera, that's a great, great news for KK... looking fwd to her return...:)

I tried the broccoli stir fry and everyone at home enjoyed it... thanks a lot for the recipe... n take good care of ur health...:)

Balaji.r
8th January 2012, 09:37 PM
Dev, where I can find broccoli stir fry receipe? yelp please .

nithishri
10th January 2012, 02:28 AM
Nice to c u back Nithi... wish u a happy new year!!!
happy new yr dev :)

nithishri
10th January 2012, 04:25 AM
Folks I wish to share with you the recipe of eral kolambu
courtesy : my childhood friend

There is the recipe

Prawn - 1/4 kg

To grind Ingredients
Onion - 1.5
garlic - 3 pods
ginger - 3/4 inch
Green chillies - 3 long

tomato - 2 small

coconut thuruval - 2 tbspn
pepper corns - 1 tbsp
sombhu - 1/2 tsp

Thaalippu ingredients
Oil - 2 tbsp
curry leaves - 1 kotthu for the nice aroma
cloves - 4
cinnamon - 1 inch

Powders
manjal thool - 1 tsp
shakthi masala chilly pwd or homemade - 2 tspns or less as we have added green chillies n pepper alreasy
coriander - 1 tbspn

Garnish
coriander leaves
lemon juice

Method
First add 2 tspns of oil and add the "To grind ingredients" until green chillies one by one and fry well until
the raw smell of onions disapper. Now add tomatoes and saute until they are mushy. Once u notice the oil seperating
add coconut thuruval, pepper corns and sombu and fry them not more than 1 minute. Cool this down and grind it into
a smooth paste

Marinate the prawn with little salt and turmeric and set aside while the above is cooling down

Now take a kadai and add the thaalippu ingredients. U should get the nice aroma of curry leaves and cinnamon.
At this stage add the ground paste and stir for few seconds.Dont stir too much as we have done agood amount of frying
in the earlier stages. Add all the powders and salt to taste. When the raw smell of powders disapper add the marinated prawns and upto 2
cups of water. Check the consistency that u need and add extra or less water.
Simmer the gravy for 20- 30 minutes. Check the prawns by tasting. If the masalas have not sunk in simmer for some more time.
Garnish with coriander leaves and lemon juice

NM
10th January 2012, 08:58 AM
Dear meerra :- thank you so much for letting us know how Kugan is faring. Great to hear she's much much better!

lakme
10th January 2012, 08:07 PM
Dear friends, happy new year and Pongal to all in Kugan's kitchen. I logged on after a long gap; glad to hear the good news about our Kugan.
Meerra, thanks for keeping the thread alive.

May 2012 be happy and prosperous for all of us.

Lakme.

10th January 2012, 08:24 PM
Meera akka

Glad to hear Kugab akka is coming soon :) and you have done a great Job in her absense!

nithishri
11th January 2012, 07:47 PM
Hi Friends,
If anyone knows to make a good fluffy aapam, pls post me the recipe
I tried aapam last night and it was a major flop in terms of the looks. Taste was great though.
Help pls
dev, suvai akka, meera akka ..anybody pls help

11th January 2012, 07:58 PM
foolproof method

soak rice overnight (kurnai arisi is perfect)
next day grind rice with coconut milk
add salt (and sugar if you want sweet appam)
next take a tsp of dried yeast and add to warm water & some sugar)
15 mins later when its frothy, add to your rice mixture
leave mixture to ferment for 8 hours.
make super soft and fluffy appams :D

this is how its made in penang

http://www.friedchillies.com/images/articles/Claypot-Appam_1.jpg

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_GVEDZTtlGyc/SwTeCGhFzvI/AAAAAAAAEG8/bWdtz5tZbyg/s1600/appam6.jpg

11th January 2012, 08:01 PM
:shock: :shock: @ NOV

11th January 2012, 08:15 PM
:huh:

11th January 2012, 08:17 PM
:huh:

Neenga nalla Samayal pannuveengala ? :roll:

dev
11th January 2012, 08:37 PM
Neenga nalla Samayal pannuveengala ? :roll:

namma NOVa paarthu neenga eppadi ippadi oru kelvi ketkalaam!!!...:angry2:

dev
11th January 2012, 08:39 PM
omg!!!...the man chattis on charcoal...should def visit penang for these aappams...;) Indiala kuda ivalo traditionalaa senju paarthadhillai...

11th January 2012, 09:02 PM
namma NOVa paarthu neenga eppadi ippadi oru kelvi ketkalaam!!!...:angry2:

Summa Time passing :lol2:

nithishri
11th January 2012, 10:23 PM
Thanks for the recipe Nov and thank for the pictures. I am jus so jealous at whoever made those fluffy aapams in the picture
Nov ... could you also give me the proportions of rice n coconut milk too ? It would be helpful

12th January 2012, 07:06 AM
dev, man chatti appam is also a dying tradition here. did you notice the charcoal aduppu? also the cooking style, where they place a chatti with hot coals on top of the chatti which is cooking the appam.
:sigh2:

nithisri, I am of the old school where everything is based on kai-alavu ie rough estimates. :(
what you need to do is mix both first paal and 2nd paal - the constituency of the mixture must not be too thick or too thin. If its too thick after fermenting, you can still add some milk to make it thinner, but stirring should be very minimal.
when you pour the mixture into the chatti, it should flow easily to the sides when you tilt the chatti - that is the correct patham.

dev
12th January 2012, 09:19 PM
I did notice teh charcoal aduppu...but mela irukira chattila coal irukiradhu theriyalai... will try this method here if I get a chance... I think one can do it when they do a BBQ...:)

meerra
14th January 2012, 01:26 AM
Dev, where I can find broccoli stir fry receipe? yelp please .

Sorry Balaji for the late reply.
The recipe is in page 334.
Thanks. Meerra

Anyway here is the recipe again for you.

BROCCOLI STIR FRY

Ingredients:

1 tbs oil
½ tsp cumin seeds
1 pinch of asafetida powder
1 tbs finely chopped garlic
2 green chillies finely chopped
350 grms broccoli cut into bite size
Salt to taste

Toppings: Mix all together
½ cup besan flour
¼ tsp cumin powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
¼ tsp garam masala powder
½ tsp mango powder
½ tsp coriander powder
½ tsp chillie powder
1 tbs oil
Little salt

Lime juice to taste

Method:
Heat oil in a non-stick pan. Add in the cumin seeds.
Add in the asafetida powder , garlic and the green chillies.
Stir fry for a second. Add in the broccoli and salt.
Mix well, cover and cook for about 2 minutes.

Uncover the broccoli and sprinkle the toppings evenly.
Do not stir, cover and cook for about 5 minutes.
Sprinkle little water , just to moisten the flour.
Cook again covered for 3 minutes.

Sprinkle with lime juice and remove.
Goes well with rice or roti.

meerra
14th January 2012, 01:29 AM
Thanks Nithi for your nice recipe.
I hope every one tries it.
As for aapam recipe, Kugan has already posted a fool proof recipe.
Try and see.
Thanks. Meerra

meerra
14th January 2012, 01:33 AM
NOV uncle, thanks for the picture and recipe for aapam.
One small question. In our house, we add little cooked rice while grinding the batter.
My granny used to say that it will make the aapam fluffy.
Do you do that, or the yeast is good enough.
Thanks uncle. Meerra

meerra
14th January 2012, 01:34 AM
Thanks to all those who have posted in the thread.
Selviem, Dev, P.S brother, Nithi and uncle NOV and Balaji.
Take care, Meerra

meerra
14th January 2012, 01:39 AM
Frienz, try this simple muffin. Meerra

SAVOURY CARROT MUFFIN

Ingredients:

1 cup all purpose flour
½ cup grated carrots
1 tbs minced coriander leaves
¼ tsp black pepper
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt

½ cup tomato puree
¾ cup milk
1 tbs curds
1 tbs olive oil
½ cup grated cheese

Method:
Grease a muffin tray. Pre heat the oven to 350 F
Mix the flour, grated carrots, coriander leaves, black pepper,
Baking soda , baking powder and salt.

Fold in the tomato puree, milk , oil , curds and cheese.
Spoon the batter into muffin moulds.
Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes or till cooked.
Serve hot with sauce or butter.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7023/6691232671_18b1a3eea1_z.jpg

meerra
14th January 2012, 01:42 AM
Dear Frienz, I am running around for my visa to India and Malaysia.
I have decided to visit Kugan in India and accompany her to Malaysia.
So I have to set every thing right in my home as well as my office.
So please bear with me if I am missing for sometime.

meerra
14th January 2012, 01:46 AM
KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISHES EVERY ONE A VERY HAPPY PONGGAL.
MAY HAPPINESS AND WEALTH OVER FLOW LIKE THE MILK FROM THE POT.
HAPPY PONGGAL

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7146/6691232681_3aae064d37.jpg

meerra
14th January 2012, 05:33 PM
Frienz, this is a special birthday.

KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISHES OUR DEAREST, MOST LOVED MOD'S MOM (Nov uncle's)

A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

MAY THE LORD MURUGAN SHOWER HER WITH GOOD HEALTH, LONG LIFE,

LOTS AND LOTS OF HAPPINESS WITH HER CHILDREN , GRANDCHILDREN AND GREAT GRANDCHILDREN

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM. ENJOY YOUR VEGETARIAN CAKE

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7017/6694410819_0cc513e121_b.jpg

dev
14th January 2012, 06:56 PM
One of my fav recipe from Tarla Dalal...Dal Makhani
Ingredients

1/2 cup urad (whole black lentil)
1 tbsp rajma (kidney beans)
1 cup low fat milk
1/2 tsp cumin seeds (jeera)
1/2 cup finely chopped onions
1 tsp ginger-garlic (adrak-lehsun) paste
1 tsp chilli powder
1/4 tsp turmeric powder (haldi)
2 tsp coriander (dhania) powder
3/4 cup fresh tomato pulp
1 tsp oil
salt to taste

For The Garnish
2 tbsp chopped coriander (dhania) (dhania)

Method

Clean, wash and soak the whole urad and rajma overnight. Drain and keep aside.
Combine the dals, and salt with 2 cups of water and pressure cook till the dals are overcooked. Whisk well till the dal is almost mashed.
Add the milk and 1 cup of water and simmer for 10 minutes while stirring occasionally.
Heat the oil in a non-stick pan and add the cumin seeds. When the seeds crackle, add the onions and ginger-garlic paste and sauté till the onions turn golden brown.
Add the chilli powder, turmeric powder, coriander powder and tomato
Pulp with ¼ cup of water and sauté for 5 to 7 minutes.
Add this to the dal mixture and simmer for 10 to 12 minutes till the
Dal is thick and creamy.
Serve hot, garnished with the coriander.

dev
14th January 2012, 07:59 PM
sry Balaji...missed ur post...:oops:

Meera, carrot muffin sounds interesting...I have all the ingre on hand...will try it after pongal...:)

dev
14th January 2012, 08:00 PM
Wish everyone in KK a very happy pongal...:)

dev
14th January 2012, 08:04 PM
NOV, pls convey my heartiest Bday wishes to mom...:)

rose75
15th January 2012, 02:35 AM
Wishing everyone in kugan's thread a very happy ponggal.
Thanks Meera for the nice muffin recipe.

15th January 2012, 07:23 AM
oh wow Meera & Kugan! :ty: :ty: :ty:
Yesterday was mum's 90th birthday and she had a glorious time surrounded by all her children, grand children and great grand children!
and of course so much of delicious vegetarian food! :D

thank you once again for remembering!

And a fantastic overflowing Pongal greetings from all of us.
Waiting for the moment when K joins us again!

suvai
15th January 2012, 08:03 AM
Happy Pongalo o o o Pongalllllll to all!!!!!!

Meera...have a safe trip & plz tell kugan that we are all thinking about her.

nov ngovvvv......belated Birthday Wishes to your Mother!!! more wishes from above for her to live long with good health & happiness.

dev i am still intrigued as to how u prepared all those dishes in a kettle....enakum solli kodunga...:noteeth:

dev
15th January 2012, 10:38 AM
Suvai, Morphy richards has a kettle that comes with temperature control... cooking was quite easy as I prepared all the ready mixes...:) enna recipe venumnu sollunga...solli thanthiduren...

nithishri
17th January 2012, 02:54 AM
dev, man chatti appam is also a dying tradition here. did you notice the charcoal aduppu? also the cooking style, where they place a chatti with hot coals on top of the chatti which is cooking the appam.
:sigh2:

nithisri, I am of the old school where everything is based on kai-alavu ie rough estimates. :(
what you need to do is mix both first paal and 2nd paal - the constituency of the mixture must not be too thick or too thin. If its too thick after fermenting, you can still add some milk to make it thinner, but stirring should be very minimal.
when you pour the mixture into the chatti, it should flow easily to the sides when you tilt the chatti - that is the correct patham.

thank u nov... i will give it a shot next time and let u know the results
Belated happy bday to ur mom

nithishri
17th January 2012, 02:54 AM
Happy Maatu pongal n kannum pongal to all :)
Meera akka thanks for the encouraging words

nithishri
17th January 2012, 02:57 AM
Dev..Dal makhani is definitely a must try :)

dev
17th January 2012, 09:11 PM
Do give it a try Nithi... it's so yummmm!!!... I had it for almost all the meal when we were in punjab... ;)

Balaji.r
17th January 2012, 10:37 PM
sry Balaji...missed ur post...:oops:

Meera, carrot muffin sounds interesting...I have all the ingre on hand...will try it after pongal...:)

Not a problem , Dev. Thanks meerraa.

Pongal vazhthukkal for everyone.

17th January 2012, 10:44 PM
Belated Pongal wishes to all :)

And belated 90th birth day wishes to Nov anneh's mother :)

Balaji.r
17th January 2012, 10:47 PM
Belated wishes, Nov. btw, noticed sat lunch menu :slurp:

meerra
18th January 2012, 12:52 AM
Thanks everyone for all your nice posts.
I think, Selviem and Aarthii are missing for sometime.
I am really excited about my trip.

Thanks Dev, for the makani recipe.
Will surely try it out when I get the time.
The problem in US is that you cannot buy things in small quantity.
Black urad dal it will be a big packet.
You cannot buy 200 grms or 300 grms:confused2:

Thanks everyone. Take care. Meerra

meerra
18th January 2012, 12:54 AM
try this simple and healthy way of roasting the nut.
You can even do it with our pumpkin. Meerra

ROASTED BUTTERNUT SQUASH

Ingredients:

4 cups of cubed butternut squash
2 tbs extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp rosemary finely chopped, or use dry ones
1 tbs balsamic vinegar
Little fresh ground pepper
Salt to taste.

Method;

Preheat oven to 400 F.
Toss the butternut squash with all the ingredients.
Spread them single layer on a non-stick cookie sheet.

Roast until the squash turns soft and lightly caramelized.
It will take about 30 minutes in the oven.
Remove from the oven, sprinkle little salt and p[epper if needed.
Serve hot.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7143/6715816381_9c13336af3_z.jpg

dev
18th January 2012, 11:11 AM
Meera, appo u can buy it from India when u visit Kugan...;) Do convey our regards to K and let her know that we are all so very excited to have her back in the hub...:D

Butternut squash recipe souns do simple n easy... salad maadhiri appadiye saapidalaam pola iruku!!!...

rose75
19th January 2012, 04:35 PM
Thanks Meerra for the squash nut recipe.
I tried it with sweet potatoes. Enna solla?
So yummy Meerra. You can have it like a snack.
The rosemary smell is so good. First time I am trying roasting veges.

Please give all our love and hugs to Kugan, when you see her.
Tell her how much we all miss her.
Rose75

gulabjamun
21st January 2012, 04:26 PM
Meerra, super recipes. Cooking runs in your family.
I will be trying out all your recipes. They are very easy to follow.
Please give our wishes and regards to Kugan.
We all miss her very much.

suvai
22nd January 2012, 06:31 AM
Hi Meera,
Great news about Kugan....:-)
I am sure she must also be eager to get back to usual routine.....plz pass on...from all the ladies from here......a big group hug...;-)

Butternut squash.....also prepared by me similarly..

dev.....so that particular kettle is the main one that needs to be taken with...when travelling...& of course the ready mix.. packages......:-)

dev
22nd January 2012, 09:25 PM
Tht's right Suvai... u can manage to cook with the usual kettle aswell but will need to be switched on n off freq...This model is very convenient and doesn't need much monitoring once u get the hold of it... Without the ready mix, I doubt if we'll be able to cook much... seasoning can't be done in the kettle I guess...never tried it so far... Actually the ready mixes are very handy...the rasam powder and upma mix is a big hit at home... I make rasam out of the instant mix atleast once a week... Sambar powder-I made a batch without the dhal... Just cook dhal, vegs,tomato(all put together in a cooker) and then add the mix and give a nice boil.. quick sambar...;)

gulabjamun
24th January 2012, 04:17 PM
Meerra, one request, do you have recipe for lasagna?
When are you going to see kugan?
Pass our regards to her. we all miss her very much.

Balaji.r
26th January 2012, 08:17 PM
The recipe is in page 334.
Thanks. Meerra

Anyway here is the recipe again for you.

BROCCOLI STIR FRY

Thanks for this receipe. Tried this today, Brocolli stir has come out good :)

26th January 2012, 08:23 PM
Folks

I have a question, regarding Dosa!

How come all the Dosa's made in Resturant are far more crispier than the ones made in Home? :confused2:

dev
26th January 2012, 11:20 PM
Provided ur dosa batter is right, u just have to use a flat dosa tawa(electric tawa preferred as heat is even) and spread the dosas as thin as possible... keep the temp on low-med and use oil liberally... cook only on one side... nalla crispyaa varum...

27th January 2012, 03:57 PM
Provided ur dosa batter is right, u just have to use a flat dosa tawa(electric tawa preferred as heat is even) and spread the dosas as thin as possible... keep the temp on low-med and use oil liberally... cook only on one side... nalla crispyaa varum...

Oh thanks Dev, I will give it a go. but still prefer the shop one over my mum's dosa :lol:

dev
27th January 2012, 06:45 PM
and they say a bit of thuvar dhal is used while grinding the dosa batter in hotels... when cooked, nalla color varumnu solluvanga...

27th January 2012, 07:21 PM
and they say a bit of thuvar dhal is used while grinding the dosa batter in hotels... when cooked, nalla color varumnu solluvanga...

I am not sure , but I just had another one from the shop, it was really crispy! :oops:

dev
27th January 2012, 09:24 PM
I am not sure , but I just had another one from the shop, it was really crispy! :oops:

I found some more tips on the net... just try it...http://sadhanakitchen.blogspot.com/2011/01/paper-roast-dosa.html
http://chutneys-sumathi.blogspot.com/2009/04/crispy-paper-dosa.html
http://cookerybits.blogspot.com/2010/05/crispy-dosa.html
http://simpleindianfood.blogspot.com/2007/09/special-ghee-roast-dosa.html

podhuma?

27th January 2012, 09:40 PM
Shall Try it. Thanks Dev :)

meerra
27th January 2012, 10:39 PM
Hello Guys, sorry for not logging in for sometime.
Tonight is my flight to India.
Have been very busy.

Thanks to all those who posted in the forum.
Thank you Dev, for clearing our brothers doubt on crispy dosai.

Thanks brother for all your nice posts.

Rose, I am posting the lasagna recipe for you, try it out.

Thanks again every one.
Bye Meerra.

meerra
27th January 2012, 10:41 PM
VEGETARIAN SPINACH LASAGNA

Ingredients:

9 lasagna sheets, boiled as per direction
1 jar of marinara, or your favourite sauce
1 tsp chillie flakes

1 bunch of spinach, chopped roughly
400 grms ricotta cheese

2 tbs olive oil
2 pips of garlic minced
200 grms button mushroom sliced
1 cup of zucchini sliced
¼ tsp pepper powder
Salt to taste

1 cup grated cheddar cheese ( more if you like )

Method;

Preheat a oven to 350 F

Heat a pan, add in the olive oil.
Add in the garlic, add in the zucchini and mushrooms.
Add in salt , pepper and cook only till they are wilted.
Remove and keep aside.

Mix the chopped spinach and the ricotta cheese. Keep aside.
Add the chillie flakes to the sauce, mix and keep aside.

Spray a oven proof dish with cooking spray.
Pour about a ½ a cup of sauce to cover the bottom.
Lay 3 lasagna sheets on top, followed by mushroom mixture.
Followed by a layer of spinach and ricotta cheese mixture.
Now spoon the sauce to cover the layer.

Do this two more times, ending with the lasagna sheets.
Pour sauce to cover the lasagna sheets.
Now sprinkle the cheddar cheese covering the top.
Cover very loosely with tin foil and bake for about 50 minutes.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7150/6771557371_b7db67fd4d_z.jpg

rose75
28th January 2012, 04:13 PM
Meera, I am really touched by your gesture.
You posted my request even though you were busy.
Thank you very much.
Hope you have a safe trip.

suvai
29th January 2012, 08:31 AM
Tht's right Suvai... u can manage to cook with the usual kettle aswell but will need to be switched on n off freq...This model is very convenient and doesn't need much monitoring once u get the hold of it... Without the ready mix, I doubt if we'll be able to cook much... seasoning can't be done in the kettle I guess...never tried it so far... Actually the ready mixes are very handy...the rasam powder and upma mix is a big hit at home... I make rasam out of the instant mix atleast once a week... Sambar powder-I made a batch without the dhal... Just cook dhal, vegs,tomato(all put together in a cooker) and then add the mix and give a nice boil.. quick sambar...;)

dev....ivolo vishayam can be made in that kettle....apo athuku "super kettle" nu per maathidanum :noteeth:
really.....who would have guessed making all that in a kettle..eh!!.....amazing thaan!!!

gulabjamun
29th January 2012, 04:38 PM
Meera, thanks for all your contributions.
You did a good job in Kugan's absence.
I hope you will be active in this thread even after Kugan comes.
Please post to us all your US version of our recipes.
Have a safe trip. Give our regards to Kugan.
Thanks Gulabjamun.

30th January 2012, 08:36 PM
Can some on explain me the diff between "kal" dosa and a Normal Dosa? AFAIK Kal dosa is Jaffna style dosa? :roll:

kugan98
5th February 2012, 01:48 AM
My dear friends, I am back to the forum.
It was because of my dear friends, prayers and wishes.
I am very very grateful to every one.
Give me some time and I will come back full force.
Take care my dear friends. Kugan

kugan98
5th February 2012, 01:53 AM
Friends, Meerra, asked me to wish you all goodbye.
She had a hectic time here visiting all the relatives.
She promised to chip in when ever time permits.

She is a very busy person.
Goes to work at 7.30 a.m. Comes home at 6.30 p.m
Has a family to take care, weekends are spent with cooking, cleaning,
shopping and taking care of children's studies.
I am very very grateful to her and rest of my forum friends,
for keeping the thread moving during my absence.
Thanks again friends. Kugan

kugan98
5th February 2012, 02:13 AM
My dear P.S Tamby, as to what I know,
Kal dosai is thick and spongy, where as normal dosai is thin and crispy.
Maybe they added little kal (toddy) to ferment the kal dosai:-D
I do not know, can anyone enlighten my P.S Tamby?
Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
5th February 2012, 03:11 AM
A sweet recipe to start with.
Try it out friends, very simple. Kugan

APPLE COBBLER

Ingredients:

1 cup self rising flour
1 cup evaporated milk
1 cup fine sugar
125 grms melted butter
2 cups sliced apples, tossed in brown sugar

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees
Butter a baking dish.

Mix the flour and sugar into a mixing bowl.
Add in the milk and whish well.
Then add in the melted butter and mix everything well.

Pour the batter into the baking dish.
Arrange the apple slices all over the batter.
Bake in the oven, for about an hour or until golden and bubbly.
Remove, scoop on to a serving plate and serve.

You can serve as it is or with some cream.
I added few dried blueberries on top

NOTE: You can use any fruit and call it that cobbler.
Ripe peaches taste heavenly.

Apple Cobbler Before Baking;

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7004/6819026095_e5a3b8c82e_z.jpg

After Baking:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7014/6819026553_75927fc1ba_z.jpg

5th February 2012, 07:22 AM
Welcome back kugan! Good to see you active again. Don't stress yourself. Post one recipe a week! :)

5th February 2012, 09:01 AM
:happydance: :happydance: :happydance: :happydance: :happydance: :happydance:

http://urdustar.com/home/attachments/i-love-urdustar/109270d1266595501t-suno-suno-sunooooooooooooooo-2434063ar7o2es83t.gif

Thank you Batu Malai Muruga for bringing back K safely! :bow:
The best Thaipusam present for us!

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_Ht7gliJk83k/TTcsPIEM56I/AAAAAAAAAFU/mHX8mFkpKmc/s1600/Thaipusam_at_Batu_caves.jpg

dev
5th February 2012, 01:43 PM
K vandhaachu...:happydance::happydance::happydance:: bluejump::bluejump::bluejump::redjump::redjump::re djump::pink:

dev
5th February 2012, 01:44 PM
Welcome back K... we are all very happy for U... :D

Vandha speedlaye oru recipeaa!!! ... take enough rest and pop in once in a while... pls don't strain urself...

Take care K...:)

suvai
5th February 2012, 07:47 PM
:cheer::cheer:hello nga kugannnnnnnnnnnnn :cheer::cheer:

:-) vaaanga vaangaa vaanga.......!!!!!

ellaarummmmmmmm oru thattum karandiyum edunga kaila .......lets make some good kitchen noiseeeee to welcomeeeeeee our kugannnnnn :noteeth:

Court Pillaiyarrrrkum Nandri for bringing u back safe & sound.:-)

suvai
5th February 2012, 07:47 PM
Please take good care of yourself......kugan!!!

Meera, thank you too for all your fabulous recipes & efforts!!! wish you too all the very besttttt.

Dev...:-) nov ngov :-)

suvai
5th February 2012, 07:49 PM
dev......epadi 9 icons potttu irukeenga....it allows only minum of 5 ilaiyo???

nallaa thaan iruku....icons ellaam maathi maathi kuthikarthai paarthaaa :noteeth:

suvai
5th February 2012, 07:50 PM
nov ngov.....Batu Caves Muruganai paarka paarka santhoshamaa thaan iruku.....:-)

suvai
5th February 2012, 07:52 PM
Kugan nga.......vanthathum kitchen la yaaar paathiram urutaraanganu paarthitu...oru sweet recipe yoda thaan velila vantheengala :noteeth:

dev
5th February 2012, 08:47 PM
Suvai, 10 icons podalame ippo!!!

Meera, It was nice having u here on the hub during K's absence... do drop a word when u find time to...Take care...:)

suvai
6th February 2012, 07:28 AM
dev...i didnt realize...ini kavalai padaama podalaam icons :noteeth:

rose75
6th February 2012, 07:31 PM
Welcome home Kugan. We are all so happy to see in the forum.
We all missed you very much.
Take rest Kugan and come bouncing back with nice simple recipes.
WELCOME HOME. Rose75

NM
7th February 2012, 10:56 AM
Dear Kugan,
WELCOME BACK!

:pink::redjump::bluejump::cheer::clap::swinghead:: 2thumbsup::bow:

It is GREAT to see you!!!!!
Take your time, have a good rest.
We can wait.

Thank you to meerra for standing in when Kugan was not available.
:ty::thumbsup:

lakme
8th February 2012, 12:18 AM

Dear Kugan, welcome back!! I'm so happy that you're feeling better.
Please take your time, rest and recover first.

lakme
8th February 2012, 12:20 AM
Thanks to Meerra for keeping KK active!
Nov, thanks for posting such a beautiful picture; correcta sonnenga: best Thai Poosam present!

gulabjamun
8th February 2012, 08:02 PM
WELCOME HOME KUGAN.:pink::pink:
Very happy to see you in the forum again.
Take your time Kugan, we all missed you very much.
Nov's welcome was great. It shows how we all missed you.
Rest first Kugan. Take care.

kugan98
9th February 2012, 07:57 AM
I just do not know how to express my heartfelt thanks for all the nice welcome.
I only sat and cried out my happiness:cry2::cry2:
Rajraj uncle, Nov anneh. Dev, Suvai, Rose 75, NM, Lakme, P.S Tamby and Gulabjamun.
Also for the pms that I received.
I am so happy that I have so many sincere friends in the forum.
Every one is like my own family.
Thanks my dear friends,:ty::ty: May the God bless all your families.
Take care. Kugan.

kugan98
9th February 2012, 08:03 AM
VEGETARIAN STEAMED CHINESE BUNS (CHAR SEIW BUNS )

Ingredients:

The Fillings:

2 tbs olive oil
2 pips garlic smashed
1 big onion sliced
200 grms tofu cut into small cubes and shallow fried
200 grms button mushroom cut into small pieces
¾ tsp chilli powder
1 tsp dark soy sauce
½ tsp light soy sauce
1 tsp vegetarian Teriyaki sauce
A pinch of sugar
A pinch of salt

1 tsp corn flour
¼ cup water

The Dough:
½ cup warm milk
¼ cup sugar
2 ½ tsp dry yeast

2 cups of all purpose flour
½ tsp salt
¼ cup yogurt
3 tbs olive oil
Little warm water if needed

Method:
Heat oil in a pan. Add in the smashed garlic, saute well.
Add in the sliced onions, stir fry well.
Add in the mushrooms, and the fried tofu. Stir well.
Add in the chillie powder, and all the sauces.

Add also the sugar and salt. Give a very good stir fry.
Mix the corn flour with the water, add it to the tofu mixture.
When it starts boiling, switch the flame to low and cook till thick.
Remove and allow it to cool in a bowl.

Mix the warm milk, sugar, and yeast and allow it to proof for 10 minutes.
In a bowl, add in the flour, yogurt and salt.
Now add in the frothy yeast, little oil and knead until soft and elastic.
Cover and proof for about an hour.

Knock down the dough and divide into 12 equal parts. ( more if you like )
Roll it out into small disc, place the fillings in the middle.
Make it into a round buns. Cut small square parchment papers.
Put a bun on each paper and let it proof again.

Use a steamer and steam the buns till cooked. Serve warm.

THE FILLINGS:
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7059/6844296021_2720fe996d_z.jpg

THE STEAMED BUNS:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7014/6844296035_550b6a1f6a_z.jpg

kugan98
9th February 2012, 08:15 AM
I am missing my friends, Selviem, Aarthii, Lathz, Sudha India, Groucho anna and sorry if I have left out any.
Pray God keeps them well and safe in his arms.
Take care friends. Kugan

9th February 2012, 10:01 AM
WELCOME BACK KUGAN!!
So nice to see you back and immediately in action. Hope you are in the bestest of health. IrunthAlum, edukkavendiya rest edukkanum. No obligation to flood the thread with recipes, take it easy and post as and when you are free.

Thanks to Meera, Dev, NOV and others for keeping this thread alive and the contributions.

Once more, Welcome back Kugan.

Walterrop
9th February 2012, 04:18 PM
http://123foodcourt.com/samosahttp://123foodcourt.com/sites/default/files/samosa.jpg

(http://123foodcourt.com/samosa)

Ingredients
1. 2 boiled potatoes, peeled and cut into ½ inch cubes
2. 4 soft taco (tortilla)
3. 1 tsp chopped cilantro
4. 1 tsp garam masala
5. 1 tbsp oil, plus oil for frying (Deep Fry)
6. Water to make a paste
7. 1 tsp cumin seeds
8. 1 tsp red chili powder
9. 1 tablepoon vegetable oil
10. 1 tbsp all purpose flour
11. 1/4 up peas

Method of preparation:-

1 Heat oil in a pan and put in cumin seeds. When they crackle, add red chili powder, potatoes, peas and salt.
2 Mix well and then add garam masala and cilantro. Keep aside.
3 In a small bowl mix all purpose-flour, water and make a paste. Cut tortilla in half.
4 Fold it into triangle shape, place the potato filling in and stick the edges tightly with paste.
5 Heat oil in a frying pan. Carefully slip it into the hot oil. Fry until it becomes crispy and golden. Serve hot.

123foodcourt.com (http://123foodcourt.com/)

meerra
10th February 2012, 01:20 AM
Hello guys, how are you all?
I was too busy in Malaysia, to leave a message for every one.
Rested for few days after the 23 hours of flight from Malaysia

I would like to thank, Nov uncle, Groucho uncle, Rajraj uncle Suvai, Dev, Lakme, Lathz,
Aarthii, Selviem, Rose, Gulabjamun, NM, Nithisri, P. S brother, and everyone who interacted with me.
You all made my short stay a memorable one.
I hope I full filled Kugan's wishes, well.

I will come to the forum when time permits, with my US recipes.:-D
Till then goodbye and take care everyone.
Bye guys. Meerra

10th February 2012, 06:26 AM
Do not be a guest meerra, you are now one of us.
Come often :D

meerra
11th February 2012, 02:18 AM
Thanks Nov uncle, I will surely visit, whenever time permits.
Meerra

kugan98
13th February 2012, 01:15 AM
Thanks Groucho anneh for your nice post.
I am sure you must be very excited waiting for the arrival of your little princess.
My prayers are there for the safe delivery.
My sincere wishes to anni.
Take care, Kugan

kugan98
13th February 2012, 01:19 AM
A nice welcome to Kugan's Kitchen, Abdul Kadar Elahi A.
On behalf of all the members of Kugan's Kitchen, I extend a warm welcome.
Very happy that you posted a recipe on your first day itself.
Please do not vanish with this post alone.
Come often when time permits.
Post the simple recipes that you know.
Have a nice time here. Thanks, Take care. Kugan

kugan98
13th February 2012, 01:26 AM
A silent reader sent me this recipe and asked me to try it out.
Well, I have tried, rewritten and posting with the picture.
Hope you will at least now come to the forum.
Thanks for the recipe. Kugan

DAL TOFU MASALA

Ingredients:

2 tbs oil or ghee
4 pips garlic grated
1 inch piece ginger grated
1 big onion chopped
1 big tomato chopped
1 green chillie chopped
2 tsp chillie powder
2 tsp coriander powder
½ tsp garam masala powder
½ cup water
Salt to taste

To be cooked well and mashed well:
¼ cup moong dal
¼ tsp tumeric powder
2 pinches of asafoetida

200 grms tofu cubed and shallow fried
¼ tsp kasuri methi
Little lime juice

Method:
Heat ghee or oil in a wok. Add in the ginger and garlic.
Fry them well, add in chopped onions and saute till lightly pink.
Add in the tomatoes, and cook till mushy.
Add in the chillie, coriander and garam masala powders.

Add in the water, and salt and cook till oil separates.
Now add in the cooked dal, and little water if needed for consistency.
Bring to boil, add in the shallow fried tofu pieces.
Add also the kasuri methi leaves. Simmer for 2 minutes and remove.
Lastly add in the lime juice to taste.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7052/6864676241_9533aa72a1_z.jpg

Lathz
13th February 2012, 05:26 AM
welcum back kugan aka.....so happy to c u....miss u alot....

Lathz
13th February 2012, 05:31 AM
thanx meera for the great job while kugan akka absences....lov u tooo

suvai
13th February 2012, 05:34 AM
vaanga kugan.....:-)
dal & tofu....hmmmm never tried that combo.... since there is masala in this i am sure it will taste good....try panninen na kandip post pannaren results...;-)

iniki zuchini namma veetila ....athoda recipe summa kai ku kannuku vanthathai pottu thallinen....result yummyyy....ezhutharen recipe ongaluku...time kidaichithuna...try pannunga.

I am sure all must be so happy at home that u r there to swing the kitchen back in full speed :noteeth:

dev
13th February 2012, 02:34 PM
A recipe specially for our chilli lover Raghuji...:lol: Do try this recipe with tofu/soya chunks for a vegetarian version...
http://sanjeevkapoor.com/green-chilli-chicken-foodfood.aspx

Green Chilli Chicken

ngredients
• Chicken,1 1/2 inch pieces 800 grams
• Small Green Chillies 1 cup
• Green chillies 3
• Onions 2 medium
• Ginger 1 1/2 inches
• Garlic 10 cloves
• Fresh coriander leaves 1/2 cup
• Salt to taste
• Oil 3 tablespoons
• Cumin seeds 3/4 teaspoon
• Turmeric powder 1/4 teaspoon
• Coriander powder 2 teaspoon
• Roasted cumin powder 1 teaspoon
• Garam masala powder 1 teaspoon
Method
Chop onions, ginger, garlic, coriander leaves and 3 green chillies and put in a grinder jar. Add salt and sufficient water and grind to a smooth paste. Add this paste to chicken and mix well. Set aside to marinate for at least ½ hour or 24 hours in a refrigerator. Heat oil in a deep non-stick pan. Add cumin seeds and sauté till the colour changes. Add whole green chillies and mix well. Add salt and turmeric powder and mix well. Sauté for 2 minutes on high heat. Add marinated chicken and mix well. Add coriander powder, roasted cumin powder and garam masala powder and mix well. Cook on high heat for a minute. Then cover and cook on high heat for 3-4 minutes. Reduce heat and cook for about 15-20 minutes, adding water if required. Serve hot.

NOTE:

Pin vilaivugalukku naan porupillai.

NM
14th February 2012, 08:20 AM
DEV - 1 CUP small CHILLIES-ah????? aiyooh!! nenechi paarkavE mudiyala ... Raghuji try pannattum, enakku intha 1 cup-a paarthathum :smokesmirk: antha smoke vanthuduchi! saaptathum intha vEdi vedichidum! :cheer: Raghu thambi paavam :rotfl3:

dev
14th February 2012, 12:36 PM
Nm, enna ippadi bayapadureenga... namma Raghu sema brave theriyuma when it comes to chillies... neenga venumna paarunga, avar idhai senju paarthitu vandhu thumbsup solvaaru...:lol: :)

14th February 2012, 05:34 PM
DEV - 1 CUP small CHILLIES-ah????? aiyooh!! nenechi paarkavE mudiyala ... Raghuji try pannattum, enakku intha 1 cup-a paarthathum :smokesmirk: antha smoke vanthuduchi! saaptathum intha vEdi vedichidum! :cheer: Raghu thambi paavam :rotfl3:

NM akkaaa :evil:

I yaam a Brave Shivji , I can handle 25 green chillies in my Tofu dish! :poke: Followed by 1 tub of Youghurt :lol2: :yessir:

14th February 2012, 05:35 PM
Nm, enna ippadi bayapadureenga... namma Raghu sema brave theriyuma when it comes to chillies... neenga venumna paarunga, avar idhai senju paarthitu vandhu thumbsup solvaaru...:lol: :)

Senju paakurEn :x
, aana Hospital selavellam neenga than kattanaum :lol2:

dev
14th February 2012, 07:35 PM
NM akkaaa :evil:

I yaam a Brave Shivji , I can handle 25 green chillies in my Tofu dish! :poke: Followed by 1 tub of Youghurt :lol2: :yessir:

Naan sonnen illa NM...;)

dev
14th February 2012, 07:36 PM
Senju paakurEn :x
, aana Hospital selavellam neenga than kattanaum :lol2:

Idhukellam Shivji hospitalise aagiduveengala enna...Idhellam ungalukku jujubi aache...;)

kugan98
15th February 2012, 04:23 AM
Thanks you Lathz for your nice welcome.
I hope you are fine. Please come to the forum when you are free.
Try out simple recipes and post to us the feed back.
Thanks again. Kugan

kugan98
15th February 2012, 04:25 AM
Thank you Suvai for your nice post.
I will surely try out your recipe and post with pictures.
Kugan

kugan98
15th February 2012, 04:28 AM
DEV, thanks for your nice recipe.
The thought of eating and running to the rest room often:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:
Anyway I will try out the non-vegetarian style with less chillie of course.
Good Dev, chip in more recipes, when you find.
Thanks and take care. Kugan

kugan98
15th February 2012, 04:30 AM
Welcome NM, I think P.S Tamby can take the heat.
Look out for chillies that are not spicy.
That will do the trick.
Thanks, Kugan

kugan98
15th February 2012, 04:34 AM
P.S Tamby, how are you?
Do you want to take the risk:-D
Give us the feed back.
Have you tried the famous Mirch Ka salan recipe?
All green chillies, they use jalapeno.
Very tasty. Thanks. Kugan

kugan98
15th February 2012, 04:39 AM
I tried this dip after tasting in a friend's function.
Most of the ingredients are bought, but it tasted very good.
Try it out friends. Kugan

SPINACH DIP

Ingredients:

150 grms of frozen spinach, thawed and drained
1 cup mayonnaise
450 grms of sour cream
50 grms of dry leek soup mix. ( You can buy it in supermarket )
1 can of water chestnut, drained and chopped
2 tbs of red capsicum chopped fine
1 tsp of onion powder
1 tsp of garlic powder
1 tsp sugar
2 tbs grated cheese
1 tbs of olive oil

Method:

Mix all the ingredients, well and chill in the fridge overnight.
You can use it as a dip or as a spread for your bread.

Note: If you want to keep for more than a week, then add little
preservative like potassium sorbate, or any that you know.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7070/6878003625_18102a9603_z.jpg

NM
15th February 2012, 06:25 AM
Thamby - i am waiting for the feedback!

Dev/K:- i was thinking of vietnamese chillies that we get here !

gulabjamun
15th February 2012, 08:42 AM
Kugan, thanks for you tofu and dip recipes.
I tried the tofu and it came out very tasty.
I like simple recipes like that, so that we can cook it for daily in our house.

Kugan my friend brought some spinach keerai, something like kutoo to office.
There was no dal, but it looked some what little yellowish sticky.
She told me her mom used flour to thicken. Good with chapathi.
Please post if you know the recipe.

I hope you do not mind me asking you recipes so often.
Gulabjamun.

15th February 2012, 03:28 PM
P.S Tamby, how are you?
Do you want to take the risk:-D
Give us the feed back.
Have you tried the famous Mirch Ka salan recipe?
All green chillies, they use jalapeno.
Very tasty. Thanks. Kugan

Kugan akka

I am going to try it. ParamanukE aApu vaika Dev try panraanga :lol2:

BTW, do you read the "The universal truth" thread ? :)

15th February 2012, 03:34 PM
Thamby - i am waiting for the feedback!

Yes , I shall try it this week end and I will post the chillie sensation after that :lol2:

dev
15th February 2012, 09:45 PM
PS, That's the spirit...go ahead!!!...;) :p :shaking:

K, interesting recipe... but seivena theriyalai...too many ingre to be bought...;)

NM, naanum thai chillies thaan ninaichen indha recipeai paarthathum...:lol:

15th February 2012, 10:08 PM
NM, naanum thai chillies thaan ninaichen indha recipeai paarthathum...:lol:

It is a great insult to Shivji :evil: thai chillie ellam enaku rusk saapidra mathari :lol2:

selvieam
15th February 2012, 10:34 PM
welcome back kugan. happy to see u in the forum. was bit busy so i couldnot come to the hub. now definitely i will visit . how r u doing now? thanks for the receipes.
take care. donot strain urself.

selvieam
15th February 2012, 10:35 PM
merra , thanks for ur wonderful job. do drop in whenever u find time. tried plum cake, it came out very nicely.