View Full Version : Kugan's Kitchen Part 6

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16

kugan98
7th August 2011, 07:25 PM
Rose, make a visit to our blog, you can get so many types of chutney recipes.
Green, red, white, yellow and so many colours.
I will try a ginger chutney tomorrow. Thanks, Kugan98

7th August 2011, 11:24 PM
Kurma looks yummy....will try when I get a proper kitchen :) :oops:

dev
8th August 2011, 08:03 AM
K, carrot cake indha weekend try pannuradha plan... Lil S liked the orange cake a lot... carrot is one of her fav veg... Did u try a new carrot cake recipe or is it the one U've posted already?...

kugan98
8th August 2011, 06:08 PM
Thanks Crazy for visiting Kugan's Kitchen.
Try the kurma and let us know the feed back.
thanks and take care, Kugan98

bkarthika
8th August 2011, 06:13 PM
Hi Kugan,
How r u ? I hope u r in good health. So many recipes to try....Take care!! Bye

kugan98
8th August 2011, 06:13 PM
Dear Dev, thanks for your nice post.
I will have to try the orange cake minus the egg.
Let me use egner instead of the eggs.

As for the carrot cake, this is a new one.
It came out very perfect. I made little changes to make it vegetarian.
I think it will taste great with cheese frosting.
I will post it now for you.
Thanks and take care, Kugan98

bkarthika
8th August 2011, 06:14 PM
Hello Kugan thread friends,
How r u all ? Please give me the link of blog...I missed it...Take care!!! BYE!!!!

kugan98
8th August 2011, 06:20 PM
EGGLESS CARROT CAKE

Ingredients:

2 cups self raising flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon powder

½ cup melted butter
1 cup evaporated milk
1 ½ cups castor sugar ( little less if you like )
½ cup curds

1 tsp vanilla essence
1 tsp almond essence

2 cups grated carrots, squeeze the juice
1 cup chopped cashew nuts, or almonds

Method:
Mix well the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon powder
and little salt. Set aside.

In another bowl, take the butter, sugar, milk and curds.
Give a good mix with a whisk, so that the sugar is dissolved,
and all the wet ingredients are blended well.

Add in the vanilla and almond essence, give another good mix.
Fold in the flour well, then use the whisk and give a good mix.
Finally fold in the grated carrots, and the chopped nuts.

Preheat the oven to 150 degrees Centigrate.
Grease and flour a 9 inch cake pan. Pour the batter into the pan.
Bake for about 40 minutes, or till the cake is cooked.

Use a cake tester to test if the cake is cooked.
Remove the pan and let the cake cool for 10 minutes in the pan.
Remove the cake from the pan and cool for another 10 minutes.

Serve as it is or ice the cake.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6150/6021381139_3518918f36_z.jpg

kugan98
8th August 2011, 06:23 PM
Thanks bkartika for your nice mail.
It is nice to see your post once in a way.
Please drop in when ever time permits.
Have you given us your gmail ID ?
Please pm me your gmail ID.
We will give you the access to the blog.
Thanks and take care. Kugan98

dev
8th August 2011, 07:27 PM
K, thanks for the recipe... will try it and let u know...Should we bake this cake at low temp(150)?... I usually bake at 170 or 180 C...

As for the orange cake, u can use ur basic eggless sponge cake/vanilla cake recipe...just add orange to it and leave out vanilla essence

kugan98
8th August 2011, 10:35 PM
Dev, do please bake at what ever temperature you are used to.
I will usually start with 150, and later increase to 180.
I always place my tray in the middle shelf.
I think it depends on the oven you have.
I have a kirukku oven:rotfl2:
Thanks, best wishes for the carrot cake.

I squeezed out the carrot juice, added little milk and sugar,
gulped it down as carrot kheer:rotfl:

gulabjamun
9th August 2011, 05:39 AM
Kugan, as usual lot of mouth watering recipes. So many types of chutneys. Yes all we know is coconut and tomato chutney.
I think you must be a very jovial person. I can see that in your threads. I am very happy Kugan, I like people who are very jovial and nice. Thanks again for your nice recipes. waiting for your bun recipes. Thanks. Gulabjamun.

I have a kirukku oven:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:

bkarthika
9th August 2011, 09:31 AM
Thanks bkartika for your nice mail.
It is nice to see your post once in a way.
Please drop in when ever time permits.
Have you given us your gmail ID ?
Please pm me your gmail ID.
We will give you the access to the blog.

Hi Kugan,
I think I have the access to the Blog. I just need the link.
Thanks in Advance....

dev
9th August 2011, 12:10 PM
Thanks K... I'll bake it at 180 C... :)

rose75
9th August 2011, 06:11 PM
Kugan, you are choo nice. Thanks for the chutney recipes. I have ample time to try out the recipes. Please take your time to post other chutney recipes. Thanks. Rose 75

kugan98
9th August 2011, 09:26 PM
Thanks Gulabjamun for your nice post.
I will post the bun recipe soon.
Now I am in the mood to bake buns and breads.
Thanks, take care, Kugan98

kugan98
9th August 2011, 09:31 PM
Dear bkarthi, I have asked our Dev to give you the link.
Please save it somewhere, so that you will not forget.

kugan98
9th August 2011, 09:33 PM
Dev, try the cake and let us know the feedback.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
9th August 2011, 09:37 PM
Do not worry Rose, try out the chutney first. If you like you can make the chutney for the function.
Actually, you can make chutney with brinjal, radish, cabbage, carrot, mint, coriander leaves, peanuts and so on.
I have most of the chutneys in the blog, have a look.
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
9th August 2011, 09:43 PM
Rose, here is the ginger chutney.
The picture is not clear, I had to go out on an urgent matter.
I asked my maid to take the picture. This is the result.:banghead:
Thanks, Kugan98

GINGER CHUTNEY

Ingredients:

1 tsp oil
2 tbs channa dal
1 tsp urad dal
5 dry red chillies
1 ½ tbs ginger chopped
2 tbs grated coconut
1 tsp tamarind paste
Little jaggery
Salt to taste

1 tsp oil
¼ tsp mustard seeds
¼ tsp urad dal
1 sprig curry leaves
1 red chillie cut into pieces
Little asafoetida powder

Method:
Heat the oil, roast the channa dal and urad dal till golden.
Add in the dry chillies, and fry well. add in the ginger and saute well.
Add in the coconut, tamarind paste, stir well and remove.
Use a blender add in jaggery, salt with other ingredients.
Grind to a smooth chutney.

Heat the oil, add in the seasonings and pour over the chutney.
You have a nice spicy chutney.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6141/6026236318_4e65bdcf81_z.jpg

kugan98
9th August 2011, 09:47 PM
Here is another chutney from my old file.

RED CAPSICUM CHUTNEY

Ingredients:

200 grms capsicum chopped
1 onion chopped
6 red chillies cut into pieces
2 pips garlic sliced

1 tsp tamarind paste or more
2 tbs peanuts roasted, remove skin
1 sprig curry leaves

tsp jaggery
Salt to taste
Oil

Method:
Heat about 2tbs of oil, add the capsicum, onions
Red chillies and garlic. Roast till brown and soft.
Remove from heat and allow to cool.

Now in a blender add all the above ingredients.
Grind them together to a nice paste.
Add little water only if needed. ( I did not add)
Serve with idli or dosai.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6209/6026236484_1d0a390698_z.jpg

kugan98
9th August 2011, 09:59 PM
Mostly we will buy the garam masala from the stores.
Try making your own, cheap, and clean.
Kugan98

GARAM MASALA

Ingredients:
½ cup cumin seeds
½ cup coriander seeds
2 tbs mustard seeds
2 tbs black pepper corns
3 cinnamon stick
2 bay leaves
3 dried chillies
4 cloves
4 cardamom
2 sprig curry leaves

Method:
Set the oven at 160 degrees Centigrate.
Place all the ingredients spread out in a tray.
Heat for about 15 minutes, till a nice aroma comes.
Cool every thing and grind coarsely.
Put it in an airtight bottle.

OR

Roast each item separately in a pan, and grind it,
to a coarse powder.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6205/6025698781_3bcc0dfedd_z.jpg

9th August 2011, 10:26 PM
kugan,
I think crazy needs a recipe for "proper kitchen". ! :lol:

Kurma looks yummy....will try when I get a proper kitchen :) :oops:

dev
10th August 2011, 09:21 AM
Karthika, here is the link to the blog...login using ur gmail id...

http://www.kuganskitchen.blogspot.com/

NM
10th August 2011, 01:13 PM
Dear K;-
as usual, i made the mistake of browsing your kitchen when i'm hungry so..... athu ooruthu !!!!!!! Delicious recipes!! Maid edutha padam blur-a irunthaalum, nallavE irukku :).
I will try the carrot cake K. The one that I tried a fe months ago ended up in the bin ! athuvum sotha-sothanu... now i know you have to squeeze out the juice, see the other lady did not say that, so, naanum mix pannittu bake panni paartha, athu oru cake bengkang mathiri irunthuchi! aiyooh! dare not show my critic husband, so it went straight to the bin. Ananthiy was waiting and then when i told her 'Swiper the fox from Dora' took it, she gave me THAT look !! i know .....

dev
10th August 2011, 06:11 PM
NM, U don't really have to squeeze out the juice from the carrots to make good carrot cake... K has posted few carrot cake recipes where she doesn't take out the juice... maybe the proportions din't work out right... chk the blog and try any of the recipes and let us know how the kutti enjoyed the cake...:)

dev
12th August 2011, 03:14 PM
K, I tried the carrot cake with a few modifications(maida:wheatflour-50:50, used eggs and skipped evaporated milk, didn't squeeze juice out of carrots) and it turned out so good... I forgot to add the essence...so flavor was so carrotey... Lil S enjoyed the cake right out of the oven...:)

kugan98
12th August 2011, 07:39 PM
My dear friends, I have been extreamly busy with relatives from U.K and India.
Today is Varalakshmi pooja, also very busy from morning.
Just finished vilakku pooja.
Please every one have the Grace of my Varalakshmi.
I will be back soon tomorrow.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6189/6035479126_a2a36a4661_z.jpg

12th August 2011, 07:47 PM
Hi All

Kugan akka,
This varalakshmi pooja is for ladies right ? BTW I had some Thai food today, they had some similar items like out "cutlets" , do you know what they are ?

kugan98
13th August 2011, 11:41 AM
Dear NM, I was really overjoyed to see your post after a long absence.
How are you feeling now? I hope a bit better.

As for the carrot cake, the recipe was given by a friend, and she asked me to try it out. NM, I grated the carrots and found that it was very sotha, sotha.
Moreover there was lot of carrot juice. ( Must be a juicy carrot):-D
Well the batter too was a bit watery. I was worried that the batter will become more loose, and the cake will have a orangy colour. Also I was scared that the cake will turn out like our bengkang.
I also had to think about the cashew nuts that I am putting in.
If the batter is too watery, the nuts will sink in the cake.
The nuts make a lot of difference in the taste of the cake.
So I squeezed out the juice, before adding to the batter.
The cake turned out perfect.

NM one more thing we must consider, Dev used wheat flour. Normally wheat flour takes in more liquid, also she used eggs and not evaporated milk.
That's why her cake was not soggy.
If you do use eggs, try out like our Dev.
Thanks NM, hope this time your cake turns out good.
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
13th August 2011, 11:50 AM
Dev, I am so happy that your carrot cake turned out well.
I am happy that you can tweak and make things.
I am learning hard how to omit eggs in nice cakes.
Thanks Dev, take care, Kugan98

kugan98
13th August 2011, 11:53 AM
My dear P.S Tamby, I have asked my Thai friend for a vegetarian Thai cutlet.
We will see, what she posts for us.
Or can you describe what were the main ingredients in the cutlet.
Was noodles used in the cutlet? Thanks and take care, Kugan98

kugan98
13th August 2011, 12:10 PM
Rubenee's family went to India for a pilgrimage.
I made a high tea to welcome them.

Pizza, noodles , carrot cake, savoury buns, sweet buns, kuih koswee and sago china grass.

Here is the spread:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6146/6037710462_8f40b8fcc6_z.jpg

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6069/6037154065_5e0c7c6008.jpg

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6067/6037706378_9ae34b2263.jpg

kugan98
13th August 2011, 12:34 PM
Here is the recipe for sweet buns.

SWEET BUTTER BUN

Ingredients:

1 tbs yeast
4 tbs sugar
½ cup warm milk

2 cups flour
4 tbs melted butter
½ cup warm milk (add as needed )
Little salt

Butter Cream:
200 grms soft butter
5 tbs icing sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence

Method:

Mix the yeast, sugar and warm milk in a bowl. Let it become foamy.

In a bowl, mix the flour, and salt. Pour the yeast mixture in the flour.
Knead to a soft dough, add in the melted butter, and add more milk,
as needed and knead to a soft dough.

Let it rest in a bowl covered with a cloth. It should double in size.
Punch the air out of it and knead again for 5 minutes.
Make small balls from the dough and arrange in a greased tray.
Let it rest, till it doubles in size again.

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees Centigrate.
Place the tray and bake for about 20 minutes, or until the top gets golden.
Remove and let the buns cool completely.

Beat the butter, sugar and essence until fluffy.
Using a icing noozle, inject the icing into the buns.

THE SWEET BUNS. (can you see the place where the icing is injected)

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6195/6037741116_435546f6e7_z.jpg

THE BUN WITH THE CREAM ( I used only little cream )

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6204/6037741852_7914d849ff.jpg

THE ICING NOOZLE:
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6062/6037192991_2e7a37bfbb.jpg

kugan98
13th August 2011, 12:40 PM
My dear friends, I need a help from my IT friends.
I like to print the name of the dish on my pictures.
You see, the sago china grass, the name is there.
When I print the name, the printing does not come when I post.
Do we need special soft ware? Then how come the name has
come on sago China grass? Can anyone enlighten me?
Thanks, Kugan98

gulabjamun
13th August 2011, 04:49 PM
Kugan, I died and went to heaven on seeing your spread.:omg: I wished I was your neighbour. Fantastic Kugan. How you can manage to do so many kinds.
Your buns look so yummy. Nothing like homemade ones. Let me try and see.
Your sago china grass looks so beautiful.
Sorry Kugan, I am not an IT expert, hope someone will help you.
Well done Kugan. Thanks. Gulabjamun.

lakme
13th August 2011, 06:10 PM
Kugan, I wouldn't mind going on a pilgrimage too if I could get a spread like this when I come back! Everything looks
yummy!!

13th August 2011, 06:24 PM
Dear K
Do you have any different recipe for uluththam kanji/kooL?
Need them for mum, who is recuperating at home now.

dev
13th August 2011, 07:07 PM
OMG... what a spread!!!... savoury bun and noodles recipes pls....

dev
13th August 2011, 07:10 PM
to write on pics, try this... very simple...http://picfont.com/

Lathz
15th August 2011, 05:14 AM
http://http://www.turnbacktogod.com/india-celebrates-62nd-independence-day/

kugan98
15th August 2011, 10:52 AM
Oh, my dear Gulabjamun. Luckily you went to heaven:-D
Thanks for your nice compliments. Try the bun , it is very easy.
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
15th August 2011, 10:53 AM
Lakme, you are welcome to my house, I will cook for you.
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
15th August 2011, 10:56 AM
Dev, thanks for the compliments and the link.
It will take some time for me to understand the link.:confused2:

I will post the recipes for the savoury buns and noodles for you.
The noodles are hot favourite in our house.
we cook that about 4 times in a month.

kugan98
15th August 2011, 10:59 AM
Dear NOV anneh, I am posting two types of savoury and two types
of sweet urad dal recipes.
All of us pray that amma gets well soon.
Take care, Kugan98

URAD DAL SAVOURY KANJI

Ingredients:
½ cup rice
½ cup urad dal
1 tbs sprouted funugreek seeds or soaked seeds
3 pips of garlic smashed
Small piece of ginger finely minced
¼ tsp cumin seeds
¼ cup of low fat milk
Salt to taste
5 cups of water.

Method:
Wash the rice and the urad dal.
Put in a pressure cooker all the ingredients
Pressure cook till about 5 whistles.
Serve with a thuvayal after the steam is released.

RAGI URAD DAL KOOL

Ingredients:
4 tbs ragi flour
4 tbs urad dal flour
4 cups of water
1 tbs cooked rice
Salt as needed
4 cups of mooru or as needed
2 tbs of chopped onions
1 green chillie chopped
Few curry leaces chopped fine
¼ tsp roasted cumin seeds crushed

Method:
1. Mix Ragi flour, and the urad dal flour in 1 cup of water, without any lumps.
2. Heat remaining water in a pot.
3. Once the water starts to boil, add mixed flours, reduce the flame to medium.
4. Allow the flour mix, to boil until it thickens. Keep on stirring, see that there are no lumps.
5. When cooked, add in the cooked rice, and salt . Remove from flame.
6. Allow it to cool for some time and add butter milk , onions, green chillies,
curry leaves and the cumin seeds. Serve.

kugan98
15th August 2011, 11:01 AM
NOV anneh, here are the sweet versions. Kugan98

ULUNTHA KANJI
Ingredients:
100 grms skinless whole ulunthu
1 tbs raw rice
900 ml coconut milk from a coconut or low fat milk
cup sugar
tsp of salt
A pinch of cardamom powder
1 knotted pandan leaf

Method:
Soak the ulunthu and rice for about 2 hours.
Grind them with a little water to a thick paste.
The paste should be a little coarse.
Mix the ground paste, coconut milk and salt.
Put a wok on fire. Pour the mixture with the pandan leaf.
On a slow fire, keep on stirring the mixture
Till it thickens and there is no raw smell of the ulunthu.
Now add the sugar and cardamom powder.
Stir till the sugar is dissolved.
Remove the pandan leaf, and dish out into a bowl.
This is a very good source of protein.

Note: You can add more milk if you want the kanji to
be more watery.

Another method is :

ROASTED URAD DAL HALWA
Ingredients
• 1/4 heaped cup roasted urad dal powder
• 1/4 level cup sugar
• 1/2 teaspoon of cardamom powder
• a drop of yellow colour
• 1/2 cup water
• 1/2 cup low fat milk
• 1 tablespoon ghee or butter, more if needed
• 1 tbs roasted cashew nuts
Method
Warm the ghee in a heavy based wok. Add the cardamom powder and mix for a few seconds. Add the urad dal powder and fry on low to medium heat for a few minutes. . Add the water, milk, yellow colour and sugar. Cook on low heat till all the water gets absorbed and the mixture forms a ball.
Top with chopped nuts and serve warm.
This makes just enough for 2-3 small servings.

kugan98
15th August 2011, 11:03 AM
What happened Lathz ? Your post is empty.
Kugan98

kugan98
15th August 2011, 12:10 PM
Dear Dev, there are many ways to fry this noodle.
Here is one type for you. Kugan98.

VEGETARIAN FRIED NOODLES

Ingredients:

2 tbs of oil
2 pips garlic chopped
1 big onion sliced
1 tbs chillie paste
2 firm fried tofu cut into desired size
½ a stalk of mustard greens cut into 1 ½ inch in length
250 grms yellow noodles

2 tbs chillie sauce
1 tbs tomato sauce
1 tbs dark soy sauce
2 tbs light soy sauce
1 tbs vinegar ( optional )

Sugar little
Salt to taste

1 tomato, discard the seeds and cut into cubes
1 handful of bean sprouts
1 potato cut into cubes and fried
1 fresh red chillie cut into slices

Little cucumber julienned
2 calamanis limes cut into halves

Method:

Heat oil in a wok, add in the chopped garlic. Fry till fragrant.
Add in the sliced onions and saute till transparent.
Add in the chillie paste and fry till the raw smell goes.
Add in the fried tofu and the mustard greens.

Stir fry well, add in the noodles. Mix nicely by tossing well.
Add in the all the sauces, salt and sugar , mix throughly until evenly coated.
Cover the noodles and cook for 3 minutes on a slow fire.
Now remove the cover and stir for 2 minutes on high heat.

Finally add in the tomatoes , bean sprouts, fried potatoes.
Fry till the veges have soften.
Taste for salt and remove. Sprinkle the sliced red chillie, slices on top.
Serve with the julinned cucumber and the calamanis limes.

NOTE: You can use shredded cabbage instead of mustard grrens.

FOR NON-Vegetarians, you can add in prawns after adding the chillie paste.
You can add in a shredded fried egg on top before serving.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6197/6064127247_c3bb63c0d0.jpg

15th August 2011, 03:25 PM
My dear P.S Tamby, I have asked my Thai friend for a vegetarian Thai cutlet.
We will see, what she posts for us.
Or can you describe what were the main ingredients in the cutlet.
Was noodles used in the cutlet? Thanks and take care, Kugan98

Hi akka

No need to rush as and when you get the recipe post it :) The cutlet was not hot, it had some nuts (Cashew/Peanuts), some onions, ginger garlic . No it was not served with noodles, it was more like a starters .

15th August 2011, 04:38 PM
Dear NOV anneh, I am posting two types of savoury and two types
of sweet urad dal recipes.
All of us pray that amma gets well soon.
Take care,
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_rKNxBDdYvso/SZ7PuokYBHI/AAAAAAAADhw/SKeyR8BhiF4/s400/cas02+LSC208+Much+Appreciated+close+up.jpg

lakme
15th August 2011, 07:26 PM
Lakme, you are welcome to my house, I will cook for you.
Take care, Kugan98

Kugan, thanks!! who knows, someday I may be able to meet you and taste your delicious cooking. Meanwhile, you're in my kitchen through your recipes!

rose75
16th August 2011, 12:46 PM
Kugan, what a wonderful spread. So nice to see so may items. Kugan, I did not know you can make so many types with urad dal. Very healthy stuff the urad dal.
Also mouthwatering noodles, I love noodles Kugan. Kugan can you post the recipe for the sago china grass. So colourful and nice. Thanks. Rose.

mona
16th August 2011, 01:30 PM
can you post the receipes of chutney varieties(except coconut chutney) served in Madurai Murugan Idly Kadai at Chennai/Madurai

dev
16th August 2011, 03:58 PM
Thanks a lot Kugan... what's the diff between the commonly used noodles and yellow noodles?...can I use flat noodles or the regular noodles instead of y.noodles?...will it make any significant diff in taste?

kugan98
16th August 2011, 06:03 PM
Thanks Lakme, nice to know that I am in your kitchen.
Lakme, finally I settled for little big brinjals.
Cooked and taken pictures already. I will post it for you.
I hope it would be like the dish that you ate.

kugan98
16th August 2011, 06:07 PM
Welcome to Kugan's Kitchen Mona.
Murugan idly kadai has brought you to this kitchen.

Well as far as I know, they serve, coconut chutney, onion chutney,
coriander leaves chutney and sutta kathirikkai chutney.

I think I have posted all these chutneys in my Kugan's Kitchen.
If you like please pm to my dear friend DEV, your gmail ID.

She will give you the access to our blog.
All the chutneys are there. Thanks and take care, Kugan98

kugan98
16th August 2011, 06:18 PM
Dear Dev, here in Malaysia, we get fresh yellow noodles.
I forgot that in India you only have dried noodles.
The dried noodles will not make any changes in the taste.

Nothing to worry, just cook the noodles or just soak in boiling water.
When they are soft, drain out the water completely.
Do not make them very mushy.

One step to change in the cooking. Add the noodles last, after adding everything.
On high flame stir fry well, so that the sauces are well incorporated .
You are adding the noodles last since the noodles are already cooked.

P.S Savoury buns coming:wink:

kugan98
16th August 2011, 06:24 PM
Sorry, Lakme, I could not get small brinjals.:ashamed:

STUFFED BRINJALS

Ingredients:

Stuffing:
2 tsp of oil
5 pips garlic
2 onions finely chopped

(B)
1 tsp coriander powder
1 tsp chillie powder
½ tsp cumin powder
1 tbs ghee or oil
1 tsp jaggery
¼ tsp tamarind paste
Salt to taste

10 small brinjals with stem.

2 tbs oil
1 tsp cumin seeds
¼ tsp funugreek seeds
1 sprig curry leaves
¼ cup of water

2 tbs tamarind paste
1 cup of water
Salt to taste

Little chopped coriander leaves

Method:
Heat the 2 tsp of oil. Add in the garlic pips and chopped onions.
Fry till they are cooked, about 5 minutes. Remove and cool.
Add in the ingredients in (B). Grind to a paste adding little water.
Keep aside.

Wash the brinjals, do not remove the stem, slit them vertically,
and horizontally like a plus sign, from the opposite end of the
stem, without breaking them into half.
Seperate the brinjal quarters gently and fill the stuffing inside slowly,
without breaking the brinjals. Keep aside the remaining paste.

Heat the 2 tbs of oil in a flat non- stick pan. Add in the cumin seeds.
Add in the funugreek seeds and the curry leaves. Fry for a second.
Now slowly place each of the stuffed brinjals in the pan.
Add the remaining paste on the top. sprinkle the ¼ cup of water.
Cook on very low heat for about 20 minutes. Turn the brinjals slowly.

Once the brinjals are ¾ cooked, mix the tamarind paste with the 1 cup of water.
Pour on top, cover and cook further till the brinjals are well cooked.
You should have a thick gravy, garnish with coriander leaves.

To serve, gently lift the stuffed brinjals with a wide spoon and place
on a serving plate and pour the gravy. Goes well with rice or roti.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6080/6049456440_ed29a97609_z.jpg

kugan98
16th August 2011, 06:26 PM
Ops Rose, I forgot your post. Thanks for the nice post.
My whole family loves noodles. I will post the sago china grass,
recipe for you soon. Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
16th August 2011, 06:40 PM
Ruben came home with a complain that my fried rice tastes the same everyday.:angry2:
His friend brought some fried rice, and the smell was so good.
So he asked his friend to bring the recipe the next day.
Well the recipe was simple and sounded a little like Schewan fried rice.
Anyway, I tried and here is the recipe. Kugan98

RUBEN’S FRIED RICE

Ingredients:

1 cup long grained rice

(B)
CHILLIE PASTE:
6 dry red chillies, soaked in warm water
5 garlic pips
1 tsp salt
2 tbs vinegar
2 tbs oil

2 tbs oil
2 tsp finely chopped garlic
¼ cup chopped cabbage
3 tbs chopped carrots
3 tbs chopped capsicum
Salt to taste

Little shredded salad leaves.

Method:
Cook the rice, drain and let it cool. ( A day old cooked rice is better )

Grind all the ingredients in (B) with little water to a saucy consistency.

Heat 2 tbs of oil in a wok. Add in the finely chopped garlic.
Saute till a nice aroma comes. Add in the chopped vegetables.
Saute for 2 minutes, add in the ground chillie paste, and salt.
Saute till the raw smell goes.

Add in the cooked rice , toss the rice well.
Remove and garnish with little shredded salad leaves.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6201/6048940231_8856a1bc5c_z.jpg

dev
16th August 2011, 09:27 PM
Nouthwatering brinjal curry... :slurp:

Thanks for the tips on noodles... will try with regular noodles...adhukku I've make bean sprouts first...senjittu solren K...:)

bkarthika
17th August 2011, 09:57 AM
Karthika, here is the link to the blog...login using ur gmail id...

http://www.kuganskitchen.blogspot.com/

Hi dev,
How r u ? Thanks for the link. But its blocked in my office..... Anyway so far i am able to access the forum...Once again Thanks!!!!

bkarthika
17th August 2011, 09:59 AM
Hi Kugan,
How r u? I hope all r fine in ur family....So many recipes u have posted...I have to try it in the weekend...Take care!! BYE!!!

gulabjamun
17th August 2011, 11:40 AM
Kugan, thanks for all the nice recipes. Kugan I remember your kathirikkai chutney, also your kathirikkai patchadi. I do not remember sutta kathirikkai chutney. I am sure the aroma will be different. Please kindly post it for us. Thanks, Gulabjamun.

Lathz
17th August 2011, 02:05 PM
dunno kugan ka i tried to upload my carrot cake ....but cant...so sad.....my hubby enjoy it very much he compliment ur receipe very much.....now days he is enjouyinh home made tiffins.....all d credits goes to u ka...love u alot....

lakme
17th August 2011, 05:58 PM
Kugan, thanks for the brinjal recipe. I did get some very fresh, tiny brinjals this week, so I'll try this on Saturday. Thanks!

kugan98
17th August 2011, 07:49 PM
Dev, you can fry the noodles with out the beans sprout also.
If you are active you can make the sprouts.
Or you can use shredded cabbage also.
Try and let us know.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
17th August 2011, 07:53 PM
bkarthika, so sad to hear that they do not allow you to see the blog in your office.
Do you have a system at home?
Take care, bkarthika, try the recipes and let us know.
Thanks. Kugan98

kugan98
17th August 2011, 07:55 PM
Dear Gulabjamun, sutta kathirikka, suddatha kathirikka:-D
O.K fine, I will post the recipe for you.
Thanks for your good memory. Kugan98

kugan98
17th August 2011, 07:58 PM
Dear Lathz, so glad that your carrot cake came out nice.:redjump::redjump:
Please send your picture to my e-mail.
I will post the picture for you.
I am not clever to explain to you the producer to upload pictures.
I will pm my e-mail ID to you.

kugan98
17th August 2011, 08:00 PM
Dear Lakme, hope the brinjal dish comes out well as you expect.

dev
17th August 2011, 08:11 PM
K, I love bean sprouts... so Idon't mind the extra boring work to make bean sprouts...:)

kugan98
17th August 2011, 08:38 PM
I tried my hands at making garlic bread. Kugan98

GARLIC BREAD

Ingredients:

2 tsp yeast
1 tsp sugar
¼ cup warm milk

3 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp Italian seasoning
1 tsp basil
2 tsp garlic powder
1 ½ tbs melted butter
¼ cup warm milk or little bit more as needed
1 tsp oil
Little salt

Garlic Spread:
2 tbs finely minced garlic
2 tsp butter
1 tsp Italian seasoning
Little salt

Method:
Mix the yeast, sugar and warm milk. Set aside to foam.

In a bowl, add in all the dry ingredients and mix well.
Add in the yeast mixture, butter and oil to the flour.
Slowly add in the milk and knead the flour to a soft dough.
Set aside in a covered bowl, until the dough doubles in size.

Punch down and roll the dough into a rectangle.
Let it be about ½ inch thick.
Now spread the garlic spread, on the rolled dough.
Now gently roll the dough into a thick sausage.

Grease a loaf pan, and place the dough inside the pan.
Let the dough rise again to double again.
Preheat the oven to 200 degrees and bake for about 30 minutes.
Once the top is golden, remove from the oven and let it cool for 5 minutes.

Remove the bread from the loaf pan and cool for another 30 minutes.
Slice the bread and enjoy.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6086/6052644831_b7b61c97b9_z.jpg

The side view:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6084/6055446549_14576017be_z.jpg

kugan98
17th August 2011, 08:45 PM
My dear friends, Gulabjamun pmed me to say that she read somewhere that our NOV anneh's mom is not well and in hospital.
We from all the Kugan's Kitchen, claps our hands in prayer, and beg the Almighty so that amma gets better soon. Dear Lord please answer our prayers.
All from the Kugan's Kitchen.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6205/6052645257_3712d8b7f9_z.jpg

dev
17th August 2011, 09:24 PM
My prayers for NOV's mom to get better soon...:bow:

rose75
18th August 2011, 12:47 PM
My prayers for Nov's mom to get better soon.
Rose75

dev
18th August 2011, 05:19 PM
Garlic bread...:Slurp: Appadiye konjam slice panni pic post panni irundhaal innum nalal irundhirukkum...:yes:

lakme
18th August 2011, 05:35 PM
Sorry to hear about Nov's mother--my prayers for her speedy recovery and good health.

gulabjamun
18th August 2011, 06:23 PM
Nov Sir, our prayers for the speedy recovery of your mom.
Gulabjamun.

dev
18th August 2011, 07:25 PM
Kugan, tried the tender coconut curry... yummy!!!...I din't have garam masala...so used chicken curry masala...

kugan98
18th August 2011, 09:20 PM
Dear Dev, thanks for your nice post.
I have added the side view of the bread.
Happy to know that you tried the tender coconut curry.
Thanks for your nice feed backs.
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
18th August 2011, 09:25 PM
Try this simple sago dessert. Kugan98

SAGO CHINA GRASS

Ingredients:

200 grms sago
Little red colour
Little green colour

1000 ml water
2 ½ tbs china grass powder
300 grms sugar
500 ml coconut milk
½ tsp salt
Few drops of vanilla essence.

Method:
Wash the sago and boil with plenty of water till transparent.
Pour in a sieve , wash under running tape , and drain well.
Divide into 2 portions. Colour one red and the other portion green.

Now boil the water, sugar and the china grass powder.
Boil till the powder dissolves well. add in the coconut milk and salt.
Boil for another 10 minutes. Add in the essence.

Now divide the mixture into 2 portions.
Mix well the red portion of the sago into one portion of the china
grass, pour into a tray and let it set.

Keep the other portion of the china grass mixed with the green sago,
warm. Once the red portion is set, pour the green portion of the
mixture on the top of the red portion.
Let it set and cool in the fridge. Cut into slices and serve.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6185/6056441590_27f03e22bd_z.jpg

19th August 2011, 06:15 AM
http://eslpod.com/eslpod_blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/02/thank.gif

to all the lovely ladies of Kugan's Kitchen, for your prayers and well wishes.
My mother is much better now and is expected to be discharged today.
Thank you once again :D

dev
19th August 2011, 08:43 PM
K, naan appadiye 2 slice garlic bread eduththu saapititen...;) I'm not very confident in baking bread. Neenga post pannirukira recipe n pics are very tempting...Konjama senju paarkiren...

dev
19th August 2011, 08:44 PM
NOV, glad to know that ur mom will be discharged soon... take good care of her...:)

Lathz
20th August 2011, 05:35 AM
sorry to hear abt nov mom...hope she recover soon...my prayers for her ......

kugan98
21st August 2011, 12:17 PM
NOV anneh, we are glad that amma is discharged from hospital.
We all will pray for her long life.
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
21st August 2011, 12:21 PM
Dev, bread making is very easy, if you try once.
Then you will have the confidence.
Nice to make your own bread for tea time.
I made the other day masala bread.
It was over before I can take the picture.
I will be doing it again soon, so the picture will come.
Pizza too is very simple to make.
Just have the sauce ready and the things.
I make often for the children.
Try it once Dev, you will not regret.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
21st August 2011, 12:36 PM
Rose, here is another kara chutney for you to try out.
Thanks. Kugan98

TOMATO ONION KARA CHUTNEY

Ingredients:

2 tsp oil
6 dry red chillies cut into pieces
2 tbs roasted channa dal
3 pips garlic
A small piece of ginger
2 onions chopped
3 tomatoes chopped
½ cup grated coconut
½ tsp tamarind paste
1 tbs coriander leaves
Salt to taste

Seasonings:
1 tsp oil
¼ tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp urad dal
1 red chillie cut into pieces
1 sprig curry leaves
2 tbs chopped onions

Method:
Heat oil in a pan, add in the dry chillies, fry well and remove.
Add in the garlic, ginger, and the onions. Saute well.
Add in the tomatoes, and stir fry well till the raw smell goes.
Remove and keep aside.

In a dry grinder, grind the fried red chillies and the roasted channa dal,
to powder.
Then in a wet grinder, first grind the grated coconut and the coriander leaves.
Once the coconut is ground, add in all the other ingredients and grind
to a little coarse paste. The consistency should be like a chutney consistency.

Heat a pan, and add in the seasonings as per list.
Pour on top of the chutney and mix.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6087/6064136161_dd08623c79_z.jpg

kugan98
21st August 2011, 12:43 PM
Friends, normally we will do different types of poriyal with long beans.
add scrapped coconut, or milk, or add in a beaten egg and so on.
Lets try little curry with the long beans. Kugan98

LONG BEANS CURRY

Ingredients:

2 tsp oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
1 sprig curry leaves
2 big onions chopped
Salt to taste

500 grms long beans cut into 1 inch in length

Grind To Paste:
3 tbs grated coconut
1 tsp aniseeds
1 tsp chillie powder
1 tsp coriander powder
½ tsp garam masala powder
¼ tsp tumeric powder

Method:

Heat oil in a wok, add in the mustard seeds, curry leaves and onions.
Saute well till the onions are translucent.
Add in the long beans and srir fry till the beans are cooked, about 10 minutes.
(It is best to buy long beans that are of soft veraities )

Add in the ground paste, salt and 1 cup of water.
Mix well, cover and cook for about 5 minutes.
Remove the cover and cook for another 5 minutes till the raw smell goes.
Taste for salt and remove. The gravy should be semi thick.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6195/6064697080_9f810affb6_z.jpg

rose75
21st August 2011, 06:27 PM
Kugan thanks for another chutney. I noticed something new. Onions for tempering, should taste good. What do you cook for Krishna prayer day? Your long beans too look very tasty. I like simple dishes like that. Thank you Kugan.

dev
22nd August 2011, 12:47 PM
long beans curry is new to me... we get long beans only in select stores here...will try the recipe with beans...:)

K, how do we know that the bread is baked right... I've tried making bread once but it was a flop... I din't know how to test if it is done... also, should we bake it at a temp higher than cake baking temp or should it be at a lower temp?...Also, I'm not very confident about the dry yeast that we get here...is dry yeast and active dry yeast the same?... if not, how do we substitute dry yeast in palce of active dry yeast?...

I make pizza at home but use readymade pizza base...;) yeastna enakku avalo bayam...:lol: I'm not a big fan of teh pizza we get in shops here in India... I prefer mine with loads of topping and also a decent qty of cheese...Inga kidaikuradhu mostaa topping edho curd riceku oorugai vaikira maadhiri vechirupaanga... cheeseum thedi thaan kandu pidikanum... so I prefer making at home... IMO, only Little Italy in cbe serves GOOD pizza...

gulabjamun
23rd August 2011, 06:01 AM
Kugan, very simple long beans curry. Ithu thaan ennakku venum:-D
Such simple, simple dishes for daily cooking. You are a queen in such dishes. Your bread all looks very mouthwatering. Please tell us all the tips for simple bread makings. Thank you very much Kugan for all the effort you put in for us. Gulabjamun.

roosevelt92
23rd August 2011, 03:48 PM
thanks for informing about this delicious recipes yummy ....

kugan98
23rd August 2011, 07:02 PM
Thanks Rose, try the chutney.
Make the best of the chutney for the function.
Well I made, uppu seedai, seeni seedai, murukku and paal payasam.
Still the visitors puranam is not over yet. Waiting for another
batch this friday.

kugan98
23rd August 2011, 07:18 PM
Dear Dev, Ahem! tips for bread making.
Dev, instant dry yeast means, you mix the yeast with the flour and all the ingredients given.
Dry yeast means, you have to put the dry yeast in a container.
add warm water, and little sugar and let it foam up for about 10 minutes.
Then you add it to the flour and knead with more water as needed.
If the yeast mixture does not froth up, that means your yeast is not active.Dead:-D
You have to look for new packet of yeast.
The measurement is the same. if 1 tsp dry yeast, it is also 1 tsp instant or active yeast.
Yes making pizza at home is so economical. Can you get the sauce in bottles there? Or I will post how to make pizza sauce. The only expensive thing is the cheese. My pizza too will be loaded with the toppings. You can make your own base. You need only 2 cups or 200 grms of flour.

Dev, normally bread is baked in a preheated oven 190 degrees Centigrade.
Usulally I will put it in the lowest shelf. You can knock the bread with a spoon, when you see the top is nice brown. you will hear a hollow sound. That means your bread or bun is cooked.

Dev today I made another batch of plain buns. I will post the picture.
Try the long beans curry, very simple.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6063/6073347960_9e78f8b4d8_z.jpg

kugan98
23rd August 2011, 07:35 PM
I have given the tips for bread making.
Try your hands at it. Thanks and take care. Kugan98

kugan98
23rd August 2011, 07:40 PM
Welcome to Kugan's Kitchen Roosevelt92.
Thanks for your compliments. Hope you will continue
to drop in Kugan's Kitchen, when ever you are free,
and give us the feed backs if you try any dish.
Also you are welcome to post any recipes of yours.

dev
23rd August 2011, 08:31 PM
K, ur buns look so cute... :) I love these buns with veg hotdogs,topped with onions,bellpeppers n cheese(they call it dizzy dogs here), pizza buns...when in a bakery, I always prefer these spicy buns to all those yummy cakes...pls post ur khara/masala bun recipes... with all ur tips n tricks, I'll try a small batch of buns first...

yes, we do get pizza sauce here but I use pasta sauce for pizza as well... I used to make my own sauce when in sg...it's a recipe by Jamie oliver , slightly tweaked to suit my taste... U need to add fresh basil to the sauce... since I don't get fresh basil here, I've stopped making the sauce... Do post ur version...will give it a shot...

23rd August 2011, 09:22 PM
kugan: You reminded me of 'tea and bun in a roadside tea stall' days! :lol: I don't think I will try it now because I lost all the immunity that I had in India! :( May be, I will visit you for bun and fun! :) Or dev?

kugan98
23rd August 2011, 10:12 PM
Dev, thanks for your nice post.
Please when you have the time post your version of the pizza sauce.
Mine is very simple, I will post it soon for you.
As I said visitors puranam still not over yet.
Very very busy, weddings are coming. Thalai suttuthu.:roll:
Thanks Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
23rd August 2011, 10:13 PM
Uncle long time missing from the thread.
You are welcome for the buns.
Take care uncle. Kugan98

kugan98
23rd August 2011, 10:22 PM
Dev, sorry I did not have the veges on that day, so I simply made it with lots of onions. Just simply follow the recipe. Thanks, Kugan98.

MASALA SAVOURY BUNS

Ingredients:

The Dough:

2 ½ tsp dry yeast
½ cup luke warm water
2 tbs sugar

3 cups all purpose flour or bread flour
2 tbs of powdered milk
4 tbs melted butter
½ cup luke warm water, little more or less.
1 ½ tsp salt

Savoury Filling:

1 tsp oil
2 green chillies chopped
1 cup onion sliced fine
Little salt
½ tsp chillie powder
A pinch of garam masala powder
A pinch of tumeric
1 tbs chopped coriander leaves

Method:
Mix the yeast, sugar and the warm water.
Let the mixture become frothy.

Mix the flour, melted butter, powdered milk and salt in a bowl.
Make a well in the middle.
Pour in the frothy yeast mixture in the flour. Mix well.
Now slowly add in the warm water, little by little.
Knead into a soft dough. Cover and keep aside to double in size.

The Stuffing:
Heat oil in a pan, add in the onions, green chillie, and salt.
Saute for a second. Add in chillie powder, tumeric powder,
and garam masala powder. Stir fry well. add in the coriander leaves.
Fry dry and dish out. Let it cool.
( I wanted to add in coarsely mashed boiled potatoes, and mixed veges, but ran out of it )

Once the dough has risen, punch down the dough again.
Now on lightly floured place, divide the dough into portions,
as how big you want. Take a portion, flatten the dough, put in the filling,
as you will do for modak. Close well and put them on a greased tray.

Give them enough space to rise and expand again.
Once they are well risen, bake them in a per heated oven, 190 degrees C , till
they are cooked for about 20 minutes, or until the top gets golden.

NOTE: If you are using the veges, 2 boiled mashed potatoes.
2 cups of diced veges, like carrot, beans, peas and so on.

THE SAVOURY BUNS:
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6065/6073297095_a99c77af58_z.jpg

VIEW OF THE FILLINGS:
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6192/6073838604_66151c34d3_z.jpg

kugan98
23rd August 2011, 10:34 PM
WE ALL FROM THE KUGAN'S KITCHEN WISH OUR MODERATOR, OUR ANNEH
A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

MAY THE LORD BLESS YOU WITH A VERY GOOD HEALTH, WEALTH, AND
LOTS AND LOTS OF HAPPINESS. GOD BLESS YOU.

Here is your cake Anna;

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6182/6072837175_4c6e254099.jpg

Here is your simple lunch:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6181/6073378508_ffdea77057_z.jpg

We want to feed all these children on your birthday:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6069/6072845967_4da4a77aed_z.jpg

gulabjamun
24th August 2011, 08:27 AM
A very happy birthday to you Nov sir.
Gulabjamun.

gulabjamun
24th August 2011, 08:28 AM
Kugan buns are all so super. Can you post the plain bun's recipe. Looks so fantastic.
Gulabjamun.

24th August 2011, 09:46 AM
http://www.carolynssweettooth.com/images/rev%20web%2012.jpg

Lathz
24th August 2011, 10:51 AM
happy birthday Nov Anne......hav a blast!!

rose75
24th August 2011, 11:39 AM
A very happy birthday Nov. May this year's birthday bring you joy and happiness.
Rose75

rose75
24th August 2011, 11:40 AM
Thank you very much kugan for the nice buns.
Hope to try it during this holidays. Rose75

dev
24th August 2011, 02:26 PM
Happy Bday NOV...:) Hope amma is back home to celeb ur bday...

dev
24th August 2011, 02:39 PM
masala buns super... irunga yeast oru pkt vaangitu senju paarthiduren... enna aanalum paravala...;) :lol:

kugan98
24th August 2011, 05:34 PM
I will post the recipe for the plain buns.
You can split the bun, spread butter, jam or anything.
It will taste super. Thanks. Kugan98

kugan98
24th August 2011, 05:35 PM
Rose try out the buns and give us the feed back. Kugan98

kugan98
24th August 2011, 05:39 PM
Dev, summa try and see. Worst come to worst, the buns will be little hard:-D
But can be consumed. See that your dough is soft and smooth.
Add water little by little, until you get a soft dough.
That's it. Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
24th August 2011, 05:50 PM
Gulabjamun, here posting the plain bun for you. Kugan98

PLAIN BUN

Ingredients:

250 grms flour or bread flour
2 tbs milk powder
30 grms caster sugar
10 grms melted butter
¾ tsp salt
¼ tsp bread softner ( optional )
¾ tsp bread improver ( optional )
1 ½ tsp dry yeast.
160 ml warm water

Method:

In a container, add in the dry yeast, 1 tsp of the sugar,
and 20 ml of the warm water. Stir till the sugar is melted.
Set aside for about 10 minutes. Let it froth.

In another bowl, add in the flour, milk powder, sugar, butter,
salt, and if using the bread improver and softner.
Mix everything well with your fingers and keep aside.

As soon as the yeast froths up, make a well in the flour, pour
In the yeast mixture, and the warm water.
Knead well to form a dough. The dough should be smooth and soft.

Place the dough in slightly oilled bowl, cover with a cloth. Let rise
until doubled in size.
Punch down the dough again. Turn out on a slightly floured surface and
divide into 10 equal portions. Shape each portion into a small ball.

Cover with kitchen towel and let them rise in a warm place ,
Until they are doubled in size.
Preheat oven to 190 degrees Centigrate and bake for about 20 minutes,
or till the top are golden in colour. Remove and cool.

THE PLAIN BUNS:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6080/6076445130_b588f59073_z.jpg

HALF OF THE BUN:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6203/6075911275_b2268f394a_z.jpg

kugan98
24th August 2011, 05:53 PM
Ore bun puranama irrukku:lol: I want to cook "kutaan Choru tomorrow.
You know what we cooked when we were kids.
A one pot meal. let me see how it turns out.
Thanks, Kugan98

gulabjamun
24th August 2011, 08:56 PM
Kugan, bun posu posunu eerukku. Will try and give you the feed back. Thanks. Gulabjamun.

lakme
25th August 2011, 02:17 AM
Kugan, all your recent posts are "bun-derful" :)

rose75
25th August 2011, 11:58 AM
Kugan nalla kalakureengga. I have tried out 4 types of chutney and got the thumbs up from my husband. I will let you know the out come after the function.
Imm kutaan choru, sounds very interesting. post pannungga. Lets see.
Thanks, Rose75

25th August 2011, 06:41 PM
A very happy birthday to you Nov sir.

happy birthday Nov Anne......hav a blast!!

A very happy birthday Nov. May this year's birthday bring you joy and happiness.

Happy Bday NOV... Hope amma is back home to celeb ur bday...
Thank you my wonderful sisters...:bow: I feel so blessed in Kugan's Kitchen.
Thank you once again K, for the wonderful cake, meal and charity.... :bow:

kugan98
25th August 2011, 07:33 PM

Lakme:rotfl::rotfl:

Rose, waiting for your feedback

Thanks NOV anneh

kugan98
25th August 2011, 07:46 PM
Dear friends enjoy this healthy kutaan choru.
You can add any vegetables of your choice. Kugan98

KUTAAN CHORU

Ingredients:

2 cups raw rice, boiled strained, keep aside

To Be Soaked The Previous Night, And Boiled.
2 tbs black channa
2 tbs green pes
2 tbs tattai payir
2 tbs motchai

1 cup of tamarind juice, from a lemon sized tamarind ball
1 tsp tumeric powder
Salt to taste

5 beans cut into 1 ½ inches in length
1 small sweet potato cut into cubes
100 grms ash gourd cut into cubes
100 grms brinjals cut into cubes
1 long drumstick cut into 2 inches in length

To Roast In Little Oil And Powder;
3 tbs coriander seeds
1 tbs urad dal
1 ½ tbs channa dal
7 dry red chillies
Little asafoetida

To Season:
1 tbs oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp cumin seeds
1 sprig curry leaves

2 tbs chopped coriander leaves

Method:
In a pot, pour the tamarind water, add in the tumeric powder.
Add in the vegetables , like sweet potato, brinjal and drumstick.
Let them cook, after they are nearly cooked, add in the beans and ash gourd.

When all the vegetables are cooked add in the boiled dals.
Mix well, add in the powdered masala, mix well.
See that there is enough gravy to mix with the rice.
Or add little water to make the gravy.

Now do the seasonings and pour over the gravy.
The gravy should be like thick gojju.
Now add in the rice and mix gently, see that the gravy coats all the rice.
Garnish with the cut coriander leaves.

THE GOJU FOR THE CHORU:
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6198/6079840344_fc3df488e8_z.jpg

THE KUTAAN CHORU:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6206/6079306299_428f8529f0_z.jpg

gulabjamun
26th August 2011, 05:48 AM
kugan rice looks so yummy. With all the vegetables and pluses, I am sure it is a wholesome healthy meal. Sure to try it out soon. Thanks. Gulabjamun.

rose75
27th August 2011, 04:58 AM
Kugan I tried out your kutan choru for dinner. Everyone was so pleased. It tasted so nice. First it looked like puli choru, but after tasting, every one said thumbs up for the dish. Thanks a million Kugan.

Lathz
27th August 2011, 07:30 AM
kugan ka,,,,,tonite my dinner is ur kutan choru...looks so tempting.......

dev
28th August 2011, 05:45 PM
K, here is the pizza sauce recipe I use...http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/vegetarian-recipes/the-quickest-tomato-sauce

Pls do post ur version aswell...

kugan98
28th August 2011, 07:36 PM
My dear friends, thank you very much for all your nice posts.

Rose 75, Gulabjamun, Lathz and Dev.
I am dead tired with all the cookings.
Today the last batch of visitors left after Ammavasai lunch and tea.
All my body is aching:-D

Dev, thanks for the link of the pizza sauce.
I am posting the sauce recipe as how I make.
Very tasty recipe. Today too made a pizza for tea on request.
How was the little ones birthday.?

Aarthii send me a mail that she is very busy with her moving to India.

kugan98
28th August 2011, 07:39 PM
PIZZA SAUCE

Ingredients:

200 grms tomato paste
2 red tomatoes chopped very fine with its juice
3 pips garlic chopped very fine
1 tbs capsicum chopped very fine
2 tbs onions chopped very fine ( optional )
¼ tsp chillie flakes
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp basil chopped or dried
2 tbs olive oil
Pepper to taste
Salt to taste

Method:

Heat oil in a wok, add in the chopped garlic and onions.
Saute well till a nice aroma comes.
Add in the chopped capsicum and the chopped tomatoes.
Saute well till the tomatoes become mushy.

Add in the tomato paste, chillie flakes, oregano, basil,
pepper and salt to taste. Reduce the flame.
Allow to simmer for 10 minutes.
Remove and use as required.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6068/6088547525_593769f78f.jpg

lakme
28th August 2011, 08:25 PM
Kugan, pls rest. Recipes can wait.
Once again, hats off to you!

Lathz
29th August 2011, 06:52 AM
kugan ka..pls take rest..dun stress too much.....
v need u ..... tc

29th August 2011, 06:56 AM
Dear K, I made your butter prawns yesterday and it turned out to be a great hit with my kids. :D
I didnt have a few of the ingredients like rice wine, etc, but I substituted those items and it was delicious. (Iused cornflakes instead of oats :lol: )

kugan98
29th August 2011, 08:25 PM
My dear Lathz and Lakme. Thank you very much for your concern.
Yes, my health is not that good, but I love the forum and cooking.
I will post the picture of the simple spread that I cooked on Sunday.
Thanks again my dear friends. Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
29th August 2011, 08:33 PM
NOV anneh getting the compliments from you is like getting a knock with the finger with a gold ring. ( The price of gold is sooo expensive):-D

Thank you very much my dear anneh. I am glad that the children enjoyed the dish.
Good subsititue for oats is cornflakes. Thanks anneh.
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
29th August 2011, 08:39 PM
Dear friends, here is the spread.
Few more items are missing from the picture.
Kugan98

THE SPREAD:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6209/6093281978_dc30b06eca_z.jpg

kugan98
29th August 2011, 08:42 PM
Dear Friends, our friend Aarthii, took up baking classes in Canada.
This is the cake which she did and iced.
She posted the picture to me.
Congrats Aarthii, very well done. Even I cannot ice such a beautiful cake.
Keep up the good work. Kugan98

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6065/6093280804_cdf7b082d7_z.jpg

kugan98
29th August 2011, 08:51 PM
Dev, I was asked to make a thin crust pizza.
I tried and it came out nice. I still prefer the thick base.
I am sure you can count the cheeze on top of the pizza.:-D

THE THIN CRUST:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6070/6092774395_84d2ac462a_z.jpg

THE BAKED PIZZA:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6076/6092775667_9531e8b6e2_z.jpg

lakme
30th August 2011, 03:43 AM
[QUOTE=kugan98;732149]Dear friends, here is the spread.
Few more items are missing from the picture.
Kugan98

Kugan, your "simple spread" looks amazing! Please tell us what the different items are.

30th August 2011, 09:26 AM
K, what specials for:

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/169084_190617687618918_100000120654625_780564_2543 357_n.jpg

dev
30th August 2011, 05:31 PM
wow, aarthii!!!... kalakiteenga...:D :clap:

K, pizza dough recipe already post panni irukeenganu ninaikiren... I'll chk the blog... yeast ready, fest epponu thaan theriyalai...;)

dev
30th August 2011, 05:37 PM
K, eppadi thaan ippadi non-stop samaikireengalo!!!...enakku thalaiyay suththudhu...:P ;)

kugan98
30th August 2011, 07:49 PM
Dear Lakme, here is the list of the items.
From left to Right:

Rava Payasam
Methu vadai
Keerai Kutoo
Rasam
Murungakai kutoo
Cauliflower 65
Panner Butter Masala
Kesari
Mock Chicken Curry
Potato Salad
Thalicha Dal
Kadai Bendi

Missing Items:
Ghee Rice
White Rice
Sambar
Appalam
Mint Togayal

For Tea:
Pizza
Curry Puffs
Kuih Koswee

kugan98
30th August 2011, 07:57 PM
NOV anneh, thanks for the beautiful picture of Pillaiyar.
NOV anneh, normally, I will do sweet mothagam.
Two types of Kolukkatai, sweet aapam, pongal and sundal.

This year Pillaiyar has to be satisfied with the fruits offering that will be done by
my co sister. I am leaving to India tomorrow morning on an urgent matter.
I will be back on Saturday. Take care NOV anneh.
Kugan98

kugan98
30th August 2011, 08:09 PM
Dev, try this pizza dough, very simple.

Basic Pizza Dough:

2 cups all purpose flour
little salt
3/4 cup warm water, or more or less as needed

1 tbs yeast
1 tsp sugar
1/4 cup warm water

1 tbs olive oil or corn oil

Method:

Mix the yeast, sugar and the 1/4 cup of warm water.
Set it aside for about 10 minutes.
It will foam up well.

Put the flour and salt in a bowl and mix well.
Pour in the yeast mixture into the flour.
mix well with your fingers.

Now slowly add in the 3/4 cup of water little by little.
Knead to a soft dough. apply little oil to your hand if it is sticky.
apply oil all over the dough generously and cover it.

Now cover the bowl with a damp cloth and set aside in a warm place.
It should double in size in about an hour.
when doubled, knock out the air and knead again. for about 5 minutes.

Now you can use it to make your base.

Thanks. Kugan98

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6145/6096558281_10f53f37e0.jpg

kugan98
30th August 2011, 08:20 PM
Dear Dev, this trend of feeding the people started with my great father-in-law.
Followed by my father - in-law.. Nobody goes home without eating in our house.
Let it be any time, we have to serve the appropriate food at that time.

So we always have chapathi dough, idli batter, roasted rava and things like that in our fridge. That's our life.

My worry now is that, my maid is already living with us for the past 4 years.
She will return to Indonesia at the end of next year.
She wants to get married. I cannot stop her.
Will I get a vegetarian maid?:confused2::confused2:
Thanks Dev. Kugan98

kugan98
30th August 2011, 08:44 PM
WISHING ALL MY FRIENDS OF THE KUGAN'S KITCHEN A VERY HAPPY

GANESH CHATURTHI
May Lord Ganesh shower every one with succss in all your Endeavours

Happy Ganesh Chaturthi.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6210/6096961770_76d28e2700_z.jpg

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6065/6096415865_cd5938c903_z.jpg

gulabjamun
31st August 2011, 08:49 AM
Oh my God Kugan, your Pilliar is sooo beautiful. Your pooja too.
Wishing you too a happy Pilliar Chathurthi. Hope every thing is alright with you.
Your family's virunth thombal surprises me. Gulabjamun.

dev
31st August 2011, 02:37 PM
Dear Dev, this trend of feeding the people started with my great father-in-law.
Followed by my father - in-law.. Nobody goes home without eating in our house.
Let it be any time, we have to serve the appropriate food at that time.

So we always have chapathi dough, idli batter, roasted rava and things like that in our fridge. That's our life.

My worry now is that, my maid is already living with us for the past 4 years.
She will return to Indonesia at the end of next year.
She wants to get married. I cannot stop her.
Will I get a vegetarian maid?:confused2::confused2:
Thanks Dev. Kugan98

typical Indian ishtyle( with the busy lifestyle thesedays, this trend is fast disappearing) ...;) but what surprises me is the no. of items u cook for each meal!!!... indha maadhiri meal mela meal ellam 1 naal pattini kidanthu vandhaal thaan saapida mudiyum ennala...illana max I can is to taste all the dishes...adhulaye vayar nirambidum...

Kavalai padatheenga... marupadiyum oru nalla veg maid kidaipaanga... :)

rose75
1st September 2011, 02:34 PM
Kugan, your chutney's were super good. Many asked for recipes. I am very greatful and thankful to you for making the function a great success.
Kugan, thank you again. Rose75

Aarthii
3rd September 2011, 02:50 AM
kuganka,thanks for uploading my basket weaving cake photo.
Pizza recipe looks great! kuganka :)
My son likes pizza very much.Have to try it for sure.
Have mailed u.Plz chk ur mail

Aarthii
3rd September 2011, 02:52 AM
Thanks dev.

kugan98
3rd September 2011, 07:18 PM
Friends, I just came home today evening.
Thanks Rose and Aarthii for your nice posts.

Rose, I am glad that I made your day.
Aarthii, I saw your mail. So enjoy another two weeks in Canada.

Every one seems to be missing.
I was thinking about our dear friend Selviem.
I am sure she must have come back from her holiday.
Take care Selviem, I presume you must be really busy with school.

Also I was thinking about, Mala, Suja, Sudha, Suvai, Madhu, and many more of my friends. I was thinking about every one during my flight.

My dear friends, where ever you all are, take care.
Kugan98

kugan98
3rd September 2011, 07:23 PM
A simple vendi dish, that is very yummy.

VENDI TOMATO MIX

Ingredients:

500 grms young vendi cut into 1 inch in length

1 tbs oil
2 big onions chopped fine
½ tsp ginger paste
½ tsp garlic paste
3 red tomatoes pureed

1 tsp chillie powder
2 tsp coriander powder
½ tsp garam masala powder
Salt to taste
Little cut coriander leaves

Method:
Sprinkle little salt and deep fry the cut vendi.
Remove and keep aside.

Heat a wok, with the oil, add in the chopped onions.
Saute till lightly brown. Add in the ginger, garlic paste.
Stir fry till the raw smell goes. Add in the tomato puree.
Cook till the oil separates.

Add in the chillie powder, coriander powder, and garam masala.
Stir fry well, add in the salt, mix well.
Now add in the fried vendi, mix well and cook for 5 minutes.
Remove and garnish with the cut coriander leaves.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6074/6108589081_7f46ed92e3_z.jpg

dev
3rd September 2011, 08:31 PM
K, glad to c u back... :) Thanks a lot for the pizza dough recipe... I'll try it sometime this week...last week was quite busy...sry...

Vendakkai looks droolworthy... I make a similar dish but use kitchen king masala or add kasuri methi towards the end if using gm...also, I don't use cori.pwd... I prefer to add grated onions as it gives some body to the dish than using chopped ones...will try this recipe next time...

selvieam
4th September 2011, 07:24 PM
Hi friends,
how r u all? back from vacation last week just settled. kids are back to school from tuesday.
missed so much in the thread. will take time to see all the receipes.

selvieam
4th September 2011, 07:32 PM
kugan,

ur spread was so much. i was breatheless after reading the menu. how u made all those items. u did marathon cooking. as dev said, we can just taste those items. after 10 days of fasting we can have those food i think. so maaaaaaaaaaaaaaany dishes. appppa. great job kugan.

selvieam
4th September 2011, 07:33 PM
Aarthi dear, cake looks toooooo professional, i admired the picture like anything. feel like eating ur cake. just missed.

Aarthii
4th September 2011, 07:42 PM
Selvika,welcome back!
Really missed u a lot.
How r u and family?How was the vacation?
Thanks a lot for ur comments selvika.Am so happy.I shared ur words with my husband and pranay.They both also felt very happy :)))
Come to canada selvika,will make a special cake for u :)

Aarthii
4th September 2011, 07:44 PM
Kuganka,vendi masala looks good.
Actually i was searching for this recipe for a very long time.what a coincident? U have posted it kuganka.
Thanks a lot kuganka.

Aarthii
4th September 2011, 07:45 PM
Dev chk ur mail,have mailed u.

selvieam
5th September 2011, 12:24 PM
thanks a lot aarthi. vacation was too good. kids enjoyed very much. def. will visit canada to eat ur cake.

sudha india
5th September 2011, 01:41 PM
Friends, I just came home today evening.
Thanks Rose and Aarthii for your nice posts.

Rose, I am glad that I made your day.
Aarthii, I saw your mail. So enjoy another two weeks in Canada.

Every one seems to be missing.
I was thinking about our dear friend Selviem.
I am sure she must have come back from her holiday.
Take care Selviem, I presume you must be really busy with school.

Also I was thinking about, Mala, Suja, Sudha, Suvai, Madhu, and many more of my friends. I was thinking about every one during my flight.

My dear friends, where ever you all are, take care.
Kugan98

Hello K

After a loonnng time, visited Hub, and just happened to see your post. Was really touched that you remember
many of us inspite of our absence for a long time. Thanks K.

My hello to all other friends in KK.

kugan98
5th September 2011, 02:31 PM
Thanks Dev, for your nice post.
Dev, I tried using Kitchen King Masala for a dish.
The dish became very dark in colour.
Is it like that, or the one I bought is black.
Will try your method in making the vendi dish.
Will try again next time and see.
Thanks Dev. Take care Kugan98

kugan98
5th September 2011, 02:43 PM
My dear Selviem, I just thought about you, and you are here..
I feel so happy to see your post. I know how difficult it is with school,
going children. It is o.k Selviem, take your time, family comes first.
I am glad that you all are back. Hope you had a good time with your family.
Take care Selviem. Thanks Kugan98

kugan98
5th September 2011, 02:47 PM
Thanks Aarthi for your nice post.
Try the dish when you have the time.
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
5th September 2011, 02:50 PM
My dear Sudha, I was overjoyed seeing your post.
How can I forget all my friends. Even if you all do not come to the forum,
every time I log on, all your faces will come to my mind.
Every one is in my prayers daily. I can understand, everyone has their
commitments.. So take care, Sudha, Thanks Kugan98

kugan98
5th September 2011, 03:11 PM
INDIANIZED CHEEZY MACORONI

Ingredients:

2 cups macoroni
1 tbs oil
Little salt

1 tbs butter
1 big onion chopped
2 green chillies chopped
1 big tomato, remove seeds and chopped
2 tsp chillie powder or curry powder

2 tbs butter
3 tbs flour
2 cups warm milk
¼ cup warm water
1 cup grated cheeze
½ tsp coarsely ground black pepper
Salt to taste

½ cup grated cheeze
½ cup bread crumbs

Method:
Cook the macoroni with lots of water, salt and oil.
Drain it once it is cooked, add little oil, mix well and keep aside.

Heat 1 tbs of butter in a pan. Add in the onions and saute well.
Add in the green chillies, and stir fry once.
Now add in the tomatoes and chillie powder.
Stir fry well and remove. Keep aside.

Heat a thick bottomed pot with the 2 tbs of butter.
Once it melts, add in the flour and using a whisk, whisk,
and cook for about 3 minutes.. Add slowly the warm milk and keep on whisking
so that it dose not form lumps.

Add in the ¼ cup of warm water, grated cheeze, pepper powder and salt.
Let it cook for few minutes, till sauce thickens. There should be a good amount
of sauce, so that your macoroni will not be dry, while baking. Off the stove.
Mix in the onion mixture, and the cooked macoroni. Mix well.

Grease a baking pan and pour the mixture into the pan.
Sprinkle the half cup of cheese on top. also sprinkle the bread crumbs on top.
Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes at 180 degrees Centigrate.
Serve warm with any accompaniments.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6064/6115249629_52d05b22bd_z.jpg

Lathz
5th September 2011, 03:46 PM
kugan ka....ur cheezy macaroni so tempting......can we do witout the bread crumbs?? can it be replace wit anything else?

dev
5th September 2011, 04:49 PM
Dev chk ur mail,have mailed u.

will do...:)

dev
5th September 2011, 04:53 PM
K, I use Everest brand KK masala... it doesn't make the dish black...I add abt 1/2 tsp of the masala for a serving of 3-4...KK masala can be added to many NI dhal recipes and also most veggie dishes...

kugan98
5th September 2011, 06:11 PM
Dear Lathz, you can just sprinkle cheeze on top and omit the bread crumbs.
I followed the recipe given by my niece from US.
Infact I regretted for using the breadcrumbs.:banghead:
it is best eaten while still hot.
Try it out Lathz. Thanks. Kugan98

dev
5th September 2011, 08:33 PM
K, can u post the authentic mac n cheese recipe?... I've never had mac n cheese but guess the lil one will like it... try pannuren...:)

Sudhaka, nice to c u on KK... how's the cafe going?... Din't get a chance to go thr yet...:(

selvieam
6th September 2011, 11:28 AM
kugan,

nice to hear from u. i am just going through the hub. ur cheese macroni is awesome. def. my kids will love it.

thanks for sharing the receipe.

dev
6th September 2011, 11:39 AM
Selvi, welcome back...:) U can chk the recipes on kugan's blog as well...I hope U've access to the blog...

selvieam
6th September 2011, 05:36 PM
yea sure dev, hope u r doing well. how is the little one?

kugan98
6th September 2011, 06:42 PM
Dear Dev, thanks for your nice mail.
Sorry, I saw the Kitchen King Masala was another brand.
O.K Dev, I will post a simple no bake mac and cheeze recipe for your little one.
This recipe is suitable for small children.
Tomorrow I will post Mac and Cheese baked recipe for you.
Take care. Kugan98

MAC AND CHEEZE

Ingredients:

½ cup elbow macaroni
2 tbs butter
½ tbs flour
1 cup milk
1 tbs of chopped yellow onions
1 cup chedder cheeze shredded
Little fresh ground pepper
A pinch of dry mustard
A pinch of salt

Method:

In a pot of boiling , salted water cook the pasta to al dente.
Drain, return to the pot and melt in the butter. Toss to coat.

Whisk together the milk, flour, onions, pepper mustard and salt.
Stir into the pasta and add the cheeze.
Over low heat, continue to stir for 3 minutes or until creamy.
Serve at once.

NON-VEGETARIANS, can add one egg to the milk mixture and whisk every thing.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6197/6120328512_28f07dbb17.jpg

kugan98
6th September 2011, 06:46 PM
Selviem, it is so nice to see you in the forum.
I hope your children will like the recipe.
Thanks and give us the feed back.
Take care, Kugan98

bkarthika
7th September 2011, 09:36 AM
Hi Kugan,
How r u?how is ur health? I hope all r fine in ur family.....Kugan i need a small help from u...I heard that Horse gram(Kollu) is used to reduce the fat in our body....Now i am staying away from my family and working.Can u post me the recipe for Kollu podi which can be taken daily. Or u can suugest me the ways to take kollu without cooking or much preparation...
Thanks in Advance!!!!

kugan98
8th September 2011, 05:35 AM
bkarthika, thanks for your nice mail. Sorry to hear that you are staying far away from your family. I am sure you will miss them very much.

As for kollu recipes, I think I have posted many recipes using kollu.
You can use kollu instead of dal, for all your preparations.
Rasam, sundal, poriyal, kadayal, thogayal, podi and so on.
The only problem is kollu takes a long time to cook.
I have also heard that kollu is very heaty.

Anyway I will give you a simple recipe for kollu podi, which you,
can take with idli, dosai or even with rice.

KOLLU PODI

Ingredients:
100 grms kollu
25 grms toor dal ( optional )
5 dried chillies
1/4 tsp cumin seeds
a pinch of asafoetida powder
1 pip garlic
salt to taste
few drops of oil.

Method:
heat oil in a frying pan, roast the dals first.
then add in the chillies, and cumin seeds and asafoetida powder.
lastly add in the garlic. remove.
cool and grind along with the required amount of salt.
cool and store in an airtight bottle.

bkarthika, I remember reading this somewhere. I do not know how far this is true.
So please, just read for information only.:confused2:

.Ayurvedic Weight Loss Remedy

In ayurvedic medicine horse gram, or kollu podi, can be made into a weight loss preparation that can be drunk in the morning and evening. To prepare, mix one tablespoon of kollu podi powder with one tablespoon of ground cumin seed. Boil these two powders in four glasses of water, and drink one glass on an empty stomach every morning and evening. Anyone who is pregnant or breast feeding would be wise to seek professional advice before using kollu podi for weight loss.

Horse Gram and Kollu Podi Health Benefits

Horse gram can be eaten in much the same way you would prepare are dal. You can soak the beans overnight and cook on the stove or in a pressure cooker and serve with rice. The cooking time is slightly longer than other beans. Horse gram can also be added to vegetables, stews or salads. Horse gram also comes in powder form, called kollu podi, which can be added to soups and stews. . However, having said that, horse gram is an excellent source of protein and contains very good levels of the minerals molybdenum and iron. It is also a naturally good source of vitamins and amino acids.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6189/6125662064_09012d2d06_m.jpg

bkarthika
8th September 2011, 10:13 AM
Hi Kugan,

Thank you very much for the kollu podi recipe and also for the Tips on weight loss...I am planning to prepare this podi and take daily. Thanks once again!!!!

kugan98
8th September 2011, 07:12 PM
Thanks bkarthika, let me know how you feel after taking the podi.
Nammalum, konjam weight kuraikalameh:-D
Thake care, Kugan98

kugan98
8th September 2011, 07:17 PM
WISHING ALL MY FRIENDS A VERY HAPPY ONAM, FROM THE KUGAN'S KITCHEN.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6066/6126650107_93bab9dcbc_z.jpg

ENJOY THE MEAL

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6071/6126650257_287cca6b18_z.jpg

Aarthii
8th September 2011, 07:27 PM
Wow,nice pictures kuganka.
Happy onam ,my dear friends :)

vm
9th September 2011, 06:31 AM
Kugan,

Spread a asathitenga pa. You have cooked a month's spread in a day. BTW, I made the spicy tomato chutney and it was super o super with dosai and thayir sadam.

Have you given the recipe for the mock chicken kuzhambu? the kuzhambu color is very attractive and that's going to be my menu for Saturday lunch.

kugan98
9th September 2011, 05:54 PM
Thanks Aarthii for your nice post.
What did you cook for Onam?

kugan98
9th September 2011, 05:56 PM
Thanks for your post and compliments VM.
You have been missing for some time.
I will post two types of curry for you.
One is mock chicken, the other is real chicken:roll:
Thanks and take care. Come to the forum when you feel free.
Kugan98

kugan98
9th September 2011, 06:01 PM
MOCK CHICKEN CURRY
Ingredients:

2 tbs oil
2 one inch cinnamon sticks
2 star anise
3 cardamom pods
3 cloves
1 tsp aniseeds
1 sprig curry leaves
1 big onion sliced
1 red tomato chopped

1 big onion }
1 big red tomato } grind both and keep aside.

1 tbs ginger paste
1 tbs garlic paste
2 tbs meat curry powder
1 tbs chille powder
½ tbs kas kas powder
½ tsp tumeric powder
Salt to taste

¼ cup grated coconut }
6 cashew nuts } grind both and keep aside

½ kg mock chicken, marinated with little ginger and garlic.
Deep fried and keep aside.

Little chopped coriander leaves.

Method:
Heat oil in a pot, add in the spices, let them splutter.
Add in the curry leaves, onions and chopped tomatoes.
Saute well till the onions are translucent.
Add in the ground tomato and onions. Stir fry well.

Add in the ginger garlic paste, meat curry powder, chillie powder,
kas- kas powder and the tumeric powder. Stir fry well till oil separates. Add salt.
Add in about 3 cups of water and allow the gravy to boil on low flame.
When there is no raw smell, add in the coconut and cashew nut paste.

Cook for about 10 minutes, add in the fried mock chicken.
Mix well, let it come to a boil, the gravy will be a bit thick.
Remove and garnish with the cut coriander leaves.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6067/6130077034_ae47120424_z.jpg

kugan98
9th September 2011, 06:04 PM
THE REAL CHICKEN CURRY:???:

CHICKEN CURRY

Ingredients:
1 chicken about 1.5 kg cut into about 12 pieces.
3 tbs grated coconut
6 fresh red chillies sliced
2 tsp coriander seeds
1 tsp poppy seeds
1 tsp fennel seeds
1 tsp cumin seeds
1" cinnamon stick
2 cardamoms
2 cloves
2 tsp ginger chopped
2 tsp garlic chopped

1 big onion sliced
3 tomatoes chopped
½ tsp tumeric powder
1 tsp chillie powder
Juice of 1 lemon or to taste
2 sprigs curry leaves
Oil as needed
Salt to taste
Fresh coriander leaves for garnishing.

Method:
Roast the grated coconut,poppy seeds, coriander seeds, cumin seeds
fennel seeds, cardamoms, cloves, cinnamon stick and sliced fresh red
chillies in little oil and grind to a paste along with the garlic and ginger.

Heat oil in a pot and fry the onions till golden, then add in the curry
leaves and chopped tomatoes and saute well.
Now add in the ground paste, red chillie powder and tumeric powder
and saute again. .
Add the chicken , salt , mix and cook for 5 minutes.
Add 2 cups of water , cover and cook till the chicken is done.
Add the lemon juice, taste for salt mix well and remove.
Serve hot garnished with the coriander leaves.
The consistency of this curry will be a bit thick

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6184/6129527043_bb2a7e7359_z.jpg

swathivst
9th September 2011, 11:22 PM
Hello,

I have been following this thread for almost a year and have tried quite a few recipes from this thread. Every recipe that I tried has turned out to be really good. There is a good collection of recipes here. My hearty wishes to Kugan and everyone in this thread.

Swathi

dev
9th September 2011, 11:45 PM
Hi K & Swathi, thanks for the PM... I've sent the invite...pls chk ur mail,swathi...

K, sorry for the long absence coz of personal reasons...though I din't post, I used to visit the hub everyday...:)
2 chicken curry recipesum interestingaa irukku... but real chicken curry pic thaan supera irukku... mock chicken curry pic looks more like fish curry...maybe coz of the color of teh curry...;)

dev
9th September 2011, 11:50 PM
K, will try the mac n cheese tomorrow... thanks a lot for d recipe...

selvieam
10th September 2011, 01:54 AM
dev

mac cheese tried today , very tasty. kids loved it. definitely ur kutty will enjoy.

selvieam
10th September 2011, 01:56 AM
thx kugan for mac n cheese receipe. will try chicken curry next time. onam spread is tempting so much. i made sambar and aviyal today.

vm
10th September 2011, 02:46 AM
Thanks for your post and compliments VM.
You have been missing for some time.
I will post two types of curry for you.
One is mock chicken, the other is real chicken:roll:
Thanks and take care. Come to the forum when you feel free.
Kugan98

Kugan,

Thanks for the recipe pa. I'm a vegetarian and will try mock chicken tomorrow.

Hope you are feeling better.

kugan98
10th September 2011, 04:25 AM
Dear Swathi, thank you very much for your nice compliments.
I am sure our DEV has given the permission for the blog.
Swathi, one small request, when ever you log on to the forum,
please just post one or two lines. We feel very happy to see.
Hope you will try out more recipes and have a good time in
the forum. Thanks and take care, Kugan98

kugan98
10th September 2011, 04:28 AM
Thanks for your nice post Dev.
Missed you the few days. I am posting the Mac N Cheese, for adults:)
Try it out Dev, Thanks Kugan98

kugan98
10th September 2011, 04:31 AM
Selviem, thanks for trying out the Mac N Cheese.
Selviem, you can add in one egg with the milk,
and whisk every thing. I did a vegetarian version.

Selviem, I too always celebrate all festivals, by just cooking,
their dishes for my family. For the Hari Raya, I cooked, the ketupat,
that means cubed rice with the peanuts gravy. Also some cookies.
The children feel happy.
Take care Selviem. Kugan98

kugan98
10th September 2011, 04:40 AM
Thank you very much VM for your mail.
Sorry I did not know that you are a vegetarian.:oops:
That's why I gave a recipe for real chicken curry.

kugan98
10th September 2011, 04:45 AM
MAC AND CHEEZE FOR DEV

Ingredients:

1 cup of elbow pasta
Little salt
50 grms of chedder cheeze cut into cubes

1 tbs flour
½ tsp salt
½ tsp dry mustard
A pinch of black pepper
A pinch of chillie flakes
A pinch of ground nutmeg

1/3 cup of sour cream
1 egg slightly beaten
3 tbs yellow onion chopped
¾ cup milk
¾ cup heavy cream
¼ tsp of worchestershire sauce
½ tsp of tabasco sauce, or any hot sauce
¾ cup grated chedder cheeze.

Method:
Preheat oven to 180 degrees Centigrate
Boil a large pot of water with little salt and the macaroni.
Cook until al dente.

Grease an 8 x 8 inch baking dish.
Drain the macaroni well and pour them evenly into the prepared dish.
Sprinkle in the cubed cheeze and mix gently until evenly distributed.
Set the dish aside.

In a large mixing bowl, add in the flour, salt, mustard, black pepper,
chillie flakes and nutmeg powder well.
add in the sour cream, egg and whisk until blended.
Next whish in the onions, milk, heavy cream, and the two sauces.

Pour this mixture over the macaroni in the baking dish.
Finally sprinkle the grated cheeze evenly over the top.
Bake until the sauce sets around the edges.
The middle must be a little saucey. About 30 minutes.
Remove and allow the dish to cool for 10 minutes. Enjoy DEV

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6066/6131032483_18a23bedbb.jpg

kugan98
10th September 2011, 04:51 AM
What happened to Lakme, Lathz, Rose 75 and Gulabjamun?:confused2:
Where ever you are please take good care.
Thanks Kugan98

10th September 2011, 07:39 AM
I am posting the Mac N Cheese, for adults:)

Kugans Kitchen going 18+ :rotfl2:

kugan98
10th September 2011, 08:23 AM
Aiyoh NOV anneh, what I meant was, hot sauce is used in that dish.
So it is not suitable for small children.:rotfl::rotfl:
NOV anneh:roll: Thanks Kugan98

dev
10th September 2011, 03:04 PM
k, thanks for the new M & C recipe... I don't have the sauces... will try it later... for now, I made the kids version n the lil one liked it...thanks a lot for the recipe...:)

swathivst
10th September 2011, 05:26 PM
I tried the masala bun yesterday and the measurements are so very correct that I got the perfect buns. Thanks for the recipe.

Swathi

lakme
10th September 2011, 05:38 PM
What happened to Lakme, Lathz, Rose 75 and Gulabjamun?:confused2:
Where ever you are please take good care.
Thanks Kugan98

Kugan, just busy with work. Cooking only very basic stuff! I do visit here every once in a while to see how all our friends are doing.
I have so many recipes bookmarked to try....the list keeps on growing!

rose75
10th September 2011, 06:25 PM
Kugaaaan, I am here. Thank you very much for all the nice recipes.
Glad that Kugan's Kitchen is going 18 + , ha, ha ha.
Kugan to tell you the truth, your recipes are the best , I have ever followed with wonderful results.
You are really great. I have had many failures with other people's recipes.
Thank you, thank you. Kugan.

Lathz
11th September 2011, 07:32 AM
kugan ka...am here too.....
sorry ka was not feeling well having high fever....
unable to cook anythign but still drop in for ur new receipes...will catch u up once get well ..mis u aka
keep posting ....

gulabjamun
11th September 2011, 03:47 PM
Kuganka, I am also very sorry. Have been very busy with relatives wedding. Too many visitors in the house. I just cannot imagine how you can cook for so many people.
Ennakku bendu kalanduvittathu:-D Thanks Kuganka I will drop in when I am free.
I have benefited so much from you. Thanks Gulabjamun

11th September 2011, 06:11 PM
I made easy onion rings, inspired from a TV show. Turned out nice and cruchy and loved by the kids.

http://ninecooks.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/onion.jpg

You need the above kind of onions, not the red variety we use for everyday cooking.
Cut slightly thick rings. Separate the rings.
In a bowl, whip some yogurt (thayiru) with water.
Once there are lots of bubbles, soak the onion rings in the mOru for a couple of hours.
Now coat the onion rings with rice flour and deep fry.
Once the onions are light golden color, remove from oil, drain and salt.
Very crunchy onion rings ready! :slurp:

http://www.drivinganddining.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/deep-fried-onion-rings-concession.jpeg

kugan98
11th September 2011, 06:22 PM
Dev, thanks for your post. I can send you the sauces.
Then you can try out the dish. Thanks. Kugan98

kugan98
11th September 2011, 06:25 PM
Dear Swathi, thank you very much for your nice post.
Thanks again for your nice compliments.
I am glad that I am of use to you.
Try out other recipes and give us the feed backs.

kugan98
11th September 2011, 06:27 PM
Thanks Lakme for your post. I can understand.
It is o.k, just drop us a line, when you visit the forum.
It will make us happy. Thanks and take care, Kugan98

kugan98
11th September 2011, 06:29 PM
Rose I am soo happy with your post.
Glad that the recipes turn out good for you.
Thanks again Rose, Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
11th September 2011, 06:31 PM
Dear Lathz, I am so sorry to hear that you were not well.
The weather nowadays is like that.
Take care Lathz, health comes first.
I know what it is to be sick. Thanks, take care.
Kugan98

kugan98
11th September 2011, 06:35 PM
Dear Gulabjamun, here too the same story.
Too many weddings and relatives.
Had to go for a wedding in P.J, then rush to klang for another.
Evening another wedding in Sunway Lagoon.
Too tired to do anything. It is o.k GJ.
Take care , do write when you are free.
Thanks, Kugan98

kugan98
11th September 2011, 06:37 PM
NOV anneh, the onion rings very beautiful
Also perfect rings, the method too, very simple.
I remember posting a recipe for onion rings before.
Your recipe looks very perfect.
I will try it out tomorrow. Thanks NOV anneh.
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
11th September 2011, 06:50 PM
Ahem! tried my hands at bread making. Wow, so tasty and better than store bought.
Try it friends. Kugan98

PLAIN WHITE BREAD

Ingredients:

4 cups bread flour
2 tbs full cream powdered milk
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp bread softner
¾ tsp bread improver
2 tbs olive oil
¾ cup warm water, little more or less

1 tbs yeast
2 tsp sugar
¼ cup warm water

1 tbs olive oil to coat

Method:

Mix the yeast, sugar and warm water in a container.
Cover and let it froth for 10 minutes. Keep aside.

Mix the flour with all the other ingredients with your fingers,
except the warm water and oil.
Now make a well in the middle of the flour, pour in the yeast mixture.

Knead the flour, slowly adding the ¾ cup of warm water and the oil
in between, you should knead for about 10 minutes.
The dough should be soft and smooth.

Place the dough in slightly oiled bowl, cover with a cloth.
Let it rise until doubled in size.
Punch down the dough again, and knead for another 2 minutes.
Place in a well greased loaf pan and cover, allow to double again.

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees C, for 10 minutes.
Bake for about 40 minutes, or until done.
Remove from tin and allow it to cool down completely.
Slice and enjoy with your butter and jam.

The Dough Rising:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6169/6135809509_2afeccafeb_z.jpg

The Baked Bread:
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6070/6136357626_c51b026315_z.jpg

dev
11th September 2011, 09:29 PM
aiyoh kugan, don't bother urself...we get the sauces here... naan veetila kaivasam illainu sonnen... vaanginaprom senju paarkiren...:)

dev
11th September 2011, 09:29 PM
Bread supera irukku K...onion ringsum super easyaa irukkum pola irukku...senju paarthiduren...

kugan98
12th September 2011, 06:39 PM
Thanks Dev for your post.
Do you get all the sauces there?
Do try when you get the time.

kugan98
12th September 2011, 06:44 PM
This hot mango jam was served in the recent wedding that I attended.
It was really supper. Try it out friends. Kugan98

HOT MANGO JAM

Ingredients:

500 grms firm ripe mangoes
1 tsp ginger grated
1 pip garlic grated
2 dried red chillie cut into small pieces
¾ cup brown sugar ( more or less to your taste )
¼ cup vinegar
¾ cup water
Little salt.

Spices to be tied in a muslin cloth:
1 stick cinnamon about 2 inches
2 cloves
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp coriander seeds
2 cardamom pods cracked

Method:
Peel and cut the mangoes into i inch cubes.
In a pot, add in the mango pieces, water, ginger, garlic,
And the spice bundle, tied in the muslin cloth.
Cook for about 10 minutes, till the mangoes are cooked.

Now add in the vinegar, salt, dry chillies and the sugar.
Cook for about 20 minutes till the jam thickens.
Remove the bundle and squeeze out the juice, before discarding.
Cool and transfer to clean bottle. Yummy hot jam is ready.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6166/6140367652_c72e263c6c_z.jpg

Aarthii
12th September 2011, 07:52 PM
kuganka,bread looks great !
Bread softener and Bread impover means what?
can u tell me the brand name?
Bread looks awesome !

dev
12th September 2011, 09:04 PM
K, we do get both the sauces U've mentioned in the recipe... U see, these days, there is jump in the number of expats in the city and also ppl who have travelled far n wide....adhanaalayo ennavo I can see many imported stuffs...I even found japanese nori sheets(the one used to make rice rolls) in a store!!!... we also get rambutan, lychees, star fruit, dragon fruit, kiwi fruit etc... enna vilayay ketaal thaan thalaiyay suththudhu...

dev
12th September 2011, 09:08 PM
Mango jam ethoda saapida nalla irukkum?... I've lost my sense of smell (not fully though...I still can smell strong stuffs) after a bout of cold, ear infection and wheezing... oru tasteum(other than salt,sweet,hot n bitter) theriya maatengudhu... :banghead: :cry: so no enthu to cook or eat... any remedis pls sollunga...

13th September 2011, 02:42 PM
dev, this might be old news for you, but my mom used to make rasam, normal rasam, but with additional dry chilli (for the heat), and seeragam (I don't know, udalai seer-AkkumO?), but it sure help (vonly help, not completely wipe out) to rid of the phlegms. Recently, I noticed extremely spicy Tom Yam does the same. Take care, hope you are feeling better.

kugan98
13th September 2011, 07:50 PM
Dear Aarthi, thanks for your nice post.
Bread improver and softners are ingredients to make the bread soft.
I am posting the pictures of those that I bought here.
I do not know what brand they sell there.
You can do the bread even with out those ingredients.
Only tjhing is that the bread will be a little hard.
Try it out without the ingredients.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6078/6144115614_e5cd9e773c_z.jpg

kugan98
13th September 2011, 07:57 PM
Dev dear your post only brought tears to my eyes:cry2::cry2:
I know how difficult to be sick. You have been my great help.
What about the treatment you are taking.
Dev, I am posting something which says onions are good. Try

Dev, the hot jam was served with biryani rice in the wedding.
I think, the jam will be good with bread, chapathi and things like that.
It was a clear yellow jam with small pieces of red chillie here and there.
It was really very tasty. Try it when you are better.
Take care, Kugan98

https://docs.google.com/viewer?attid=0.1&pid=gmail&thid=1325db91549c04cb&url=https%3A%2F%2Fmail.google.com%2Fmail%2F%3Fui%3 D2%26ik%3D532d99d39a%26view%3Datt%26th%3D1325db915 49c04cb%26attid%3D0.1%26disp%3Dsafe%26realattid%3D d7cb87079aa0e178_0.1%26zw&docid=8083c6b7161436e79fbb75d0d0ace083%7C07e91b593 59911f108264403d980f55f&a=bi&pagenumber=6&w=800

kugan98
13th September 2011, 08:00 PM
Groucho anna, how are you?
You are missing for a very long time.
Must be very busy I guess, How is Mrs. getting on?
Thanks for the tips for Dev.
Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
13th September 2011, 08:29 PM
When ever I go to Thirupathi, I will not miss this gonggura thokku.
They serve in all the restaurants there. I have about 3 pots of the plants.
I do this often in my house. Very yummy. Kugan98

GONGGURA THOKKU

Ingredients:

200 grms gonggura leaves
2 green chillies, sliced
2 tsp chillie powder
Salt to taste

5 tbs of gingelly oil
¼ tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp channa dal
¼ tsp vengaya vadagam
1 tsp roasted ground funugreek seeds.

Method:
Clean and wash the leaves. Spread them on a paper and let them dry.
There should be no moisture left in them.

In a pan, heat 1 tbs og the gingelly oil.
Add in the dried leaves, and the green chillies.
Stir fry the leaves, you can see the leaves, starting to shrink and change colour.
Keep stirring till all the leaves have shrunk and changed colour.

Now cool the leaves and put the leaves in a mixie jar.
Add in the chillie powder and the salt. Grind without adding any water.
It will be a coarse paste. Remove and keep.

In a pan add in 4 tbs of gingelly oil. Add in the vadagam, mustard and channa dal.
Now add in the ground paste, and mix well.
Cook for about 5 minutes till all the oil gets absorbed.
Remove and cool. Store in a glass bottle.

Serve with steaming rice with a dollop of ghee.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6155/6143566931_117c7ca4fb_z.jpg

My Plant:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6079/6144118616_f002c47042_z.jpg

dev
13th September 2011, 09:37 PM
Groucho, thanks for the tips... tom yom sounds interesting... here we usually take chicken soup, selavu rasam, thoothuvalai-musumusukai rasam...

dev
13th September 2011, 09:59 PM
K, thanks... I've never had anything sweet along with biriyani... will try this mango chutney...:)

Gongura plant eppadi vaikanum?...should we get a plant with roots n plant it or start with seeds?... gongura inga rare... but S loves gongura in dhal(or anything sour for that matter ;) )... the chutney looks super good...

lakme
14th September 2011, 01:34 AM
Dev, my favorite remedy is honey with manjal podi--mix half tsp turmeric in 1 Tbsp honey and eat. You can do this every few hours; gives good relief. Hot milk with turmeric also helps.

Get well soon!

kugan98
14th September 2011, 05:47 AM
Dev, we have a family recipe for sweet tomato jam, which goes very well with pulao rices. It is very famous in our circle of friends and family. Sweet but tasty.
I have posted the recipe long time ago.

As for the gonggura plant, it is so easy.
After removing the leaves from the cut gonggura plant,
just stick the cut plant into a pot, or in your garden.
It will just grow, no efforts needed.

Dev, take care of your self. Try the methods given by our friends.
The methods are simple and harmless. Take care, Kugan98

kugan98
14th September 2011, 06:09 AM
Thanks Lakme for your nice tips.
Hope all these help our Dev.
Anyone else with home remedies?
Thanks Kugan98

14th September 2011, 06:22 AM
Groucho anna, how are you?
You are missing for a very long time.
Must be very busy I guess, How is Mrs. getting on?
Thanks for the tips for Dev.
Take care, Kugan98Am doing fine, so does the Mrs. Been busy with other threads and my own stuff (blog, etc). I need to catch up on the previous pages. Take care.

bkarthika
14th September 2011, 09:53 AM
Hi Kugan,
How r u ? How is ur health..I hope all r fine in ur family...I have a doubt...When i am accessing the thread, I am not able to view the pictures attched in the recipe!!! Any technical issue or permission i needed to view the pictures. Kugan are you posting only recipes or recipes with picture?? I am bit confused in this....Can somebody help me to sort out this issue?
Thanks in Advance!!!

dev
14th September 2011, 10:01 AM
Dev, my favorite remedy is honey with manjal podi--mix half tsp turmeric in 1 Tbsp honey and eat. You can do this every few hours; gives good relief. Hot milk with turmeric also helps.

Get well soon!

Thanks Lakme... I take honey n pepper pwd everyday... will try honey-turmeric for few days... :)

dev
14th September 2011, 10:35 AM
never knew gongura plant is so easy to grow!!!... appo gongura keerai kidaikum podhu vaangi plant panniduren...:) will try the sweet chutneys for biriyani soemtime...

kugan98
14th September 2011, 06:26 PM
Dear Karthika, all my recipes are with pictures.
I see no reason, why you cannot see the pictures.
You do not need special permission to see the pictures.

Karthika, may be if you are seeing the forum from your office,
they might have something to blok the pictures.

Hello, if anyone knows anything about this, please kindly help Karthika.
Thank you and take care. Kugan98

kugan98
14th September 2011, 06:27 PM
You are right Dev, after plucking the leaves from the plant,
Just plant the sticks in your garden or pots.

kugan98
14th September 2011, 06:34 PM
Tried baked potato wedges, turned out well. Kugan98

BAKED POTATO WEDGES

Ingredients:

6 tbs olive oil
8 pips garlic crushed

2 large russet potatoes

3 tbs corn flour
1 ½ tsp salt
1 ½ tsp fresh black pepper powder
½ tsp kashmiri red chillie powder
½ tsp garlic powder

Method:
Warm the olive oil till hot in a pan. Add in the crushed garlic pieces.
Remove the pan and let the garlic infuse well in the oil. Set aside.

Parboil the potatos with the skin. Do not over boil the potatoes.
Remove the potatoes and let it cool. Then cut them into wedges.
Put the potatoes into a large bowl. Pour only the infused oil in.
Now add in all the other ingredients. Mix gently untill well combined.

It is important to make sure that the corn flour coats all the pieces well.
Lay the pieces on a baking tray, lined with a aluminum foil without over lapping.
Bake in the preheated oven 180 degrees C, for about 20 to 30 minutes,
untill they are golden brown and crisp. Serve with tomato or chillie sauce.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6176/6147132504_60ea05c50f_z.jpg

selvieam
14th September 2011, 07:56 PM
wow, our favourite baked potato wedges. i bake without garlic and flour. will try ur receipe next time. thanks for sharing kugan

dev
14th September 2011, 09:27 PM
You are right Dev, after plucking the leaves from the plant,
Just plant the sticks in your garden or pots.

Will do...:)

Baked potato wedges sound like my kind of recipe... not much effort needed...;) pic looks very tempting...

bkarthika
15th September 2011, 10:07 AM
Dear Karthika, all my recipes are with pictures.
I see no reason, why you cannot see the pictures.
You do not need special permission to see the pictures.

Karthika, may be if you are seeing the forum from your office,
they might have something to blok the pictures.

Hello, if anyone knows anything about this, please kindly help Karthika.
Thank you and take care. Kugan98

Hi Kugan,
Thanks for the reply. For me only text of the recipes are visible and not even image with crossmark(which is showed when image not gets loaded) is showing, I mean its not showing the image attachment also... In my office , i am able to see the pictures attached in other forum also. If they r blocking means they will block the url(forum) itself. I dont think so that they can block only images of a particular site...I think this is an issue of the forum..I dont know whether any other user is facing the same issue...To whom i have to report about this so that it can be solved? Pls help me in this.... Thanks in Advance!!!

15th September 2011, 03:47 PM
kugans kitchen super

Aarthii
15th September 2011, 05:43 PM
kuganka ,baked potato wedges looks yummy.Have to try it.I have never tried this.
Thanks for the bread softner and bread improver products photo kuganka.Will try to get it here.
I searched in two to three food stores,but i was not able to find it.Lets see, will search in few other shops,or else will try it without these.

kugan98
15th September 2011, 06:30 PM
Thanks Selviem, please try, I am sure they will like it.
Kugan98

kugan98
15th September 2011, 06:32 PM
Dev, I am sure your little one will like it.
Try and see. Kugan98

kugan98
15th September 2011, 06:36 PM
Dear NOV anneh, I do not know how to reply to our friend Karthika.
Can you please help her.
This is her complaint. Thanks anneh.

""Hi Kugan,
Thanks for the reply. For me only text of the recipes are visible and not even image with crossmark(which is showed when image not gets loaded) is showing, I mean its not showing the image attachment also... In my office , i am able to see the pictures attached in other forum also. If they r blocking means they will block the url(forum) itself. I dont think so that they can block only images of a particular site...I think this is an issue of the forum..I dont know whether any other user is facing the same issue...To whom i have to report about this so that it can be solved? Pls help me in this.... Thanks in Advance!!!""

Karthika, hopefully NOV anneh gives you a good solution. Kugan98

kugan98
15th September 2011, 06:37 PM
Dear Scale, welcome to Kugan's Kitchen.
Thanks for your compliments. Please do drop in often.