View Full Version : Oscar Thamizhan 'Isaipuyal' AR Rahman News/Updates

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11

21st June 2011, 02:09 PM
Jiiva is red hot now
After the stupendous success of Ko, Jiiva has become red hot in the market. Everybody wants to sign him and is offering him record amounts as salary. But Jiiva the smart guy is only looking at the potential of the script and the director. He has signed two films Mysskin's Mugamudi for UTV and Gautham Menon's film for Ko producers RS Infotainment. Both the films will start around the same time in August. In Mysskin's film Jiiva will play Tamil cinemas first superhero, while Gautham Menon's is a romantic thriller.

Indeed seems true also telugu websites says its bilongual as already gvm committed with arr- ram-samantha....its a tamil version with jiiva?l

Hope it yurns out true

21st June 2011, 03:32 PM
கந்தசாமியும் சூப்பர் ஹீரோ சப்ஜெக்ட்தானே?

21st June 2011, 05:48 PM
thalaivar wins lux sandal cinema award for vtv -[telugu]ye maya chesave

award receved by arr his mother

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/m/Events/priyacharmi_200611/1027869.html

25th June 2011, 09:04 PM
http://www.amazon.com/Gems-Duets-Collection-Michael-Bolton/dp/B004Z0QYKQ

Reviews are awesome! Need to buy this.

BTW becoming a diamond in the thread where I started my Hub Posting :redjump: :bluejump: :cheer:

27th June 2011, 09:04 AM
thalaivar interview in cnn

http://edition.cnn.com/video/#/video/international/2011/06/23/icon.bollywood.rahman.music.bk.b.cnn

27th June 2011, 09:05 AM
Emotional connect: Rahman and his music

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/ndtv-special-ndtv-24x7/emotional-connect-rahman-and-his-music/203623

27th June 2011, 09:06 AM
part 2

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/ndtv-special-ndtv-24x7/rahman-on-his-music-his-life/203622

satissh_r
27th June 2011, 04:49 PM
http://hphotos-snc6.fbcdn.net/259585_10150215379426720_63441126719_7737265_52788 22_o.jpg

satissh_r
27th June 2011, 04:51 PM
Launch date set for Jagger, Stewart and Stone Superheavy supergroup single

Universal has lined up a worldwide radio and commercial release date of July 7 for Miracle Worker, the first single from a newly-launched supergroup featuring Mick Jagger, Dave Stewart and Joss Stone.

Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack composer A R Rahman and reggae artist Damian Marley also feature as part of SuperHeavy, whose eponymous first album is due to be released via Universal’s A&M label on September 19.

Jagger told Music Week, “Dave really wanted to make a record with a different group of musicians; in other words, with different backgrounds of music. Instead of everyone being a rock musician, or basically a blues musician, or some other genre, he wanted to get as many genres together that would fit. I said,

‘It sounds like a good idea.’ I never thought it would actually happen.”

A&M UK managing director Orla Lee, who with her team is co-ordinating the project’s global roll-out, said the unique collection of the artists involved meant the campaign could target a wide range of fans both musically and geographically.

Lee, who also looks after The Rolling Stones for Universal, added, “On paper it maybe shouldn’t work but the combination of their voices together makes it work and when you look at it from a social-networking side

A R Rahman, for example, has 5m Facebook friends and The Rolling Stones 6.4m so you’ve got a truly global project.”

Ahead of the first single’s release, teaser images will roll out this week online and will include the album’s artwork, designed by American artist Shepard Fairey who was behind Barack Obama’s Hope poster for the 2008 US presidential election.

Other activity, including a video for the single, will follow in the run-up to SUPERHEAVY JAGGER HEADS UP A SUPERGROUP ALL SET TO PERFORM MIRACLES the album’s release.

SuperHeavy brings together Jagger and Stewart for the first time since they worked on the soundtrack to the 2004 remake of the movie Alfie, while Stewart explained to Music Week that Stone was an “obvious” addition to the group. “She’s such an incredible singer and spirit,” he said.

Marley’s involvement was born from Jagger and Stewart’s shared love of Jamaican music. “We’d always wanted a Jamaican musician because Mick and I are crazy about Jamaica and Jamaican music,” said Stewart.

As for Rahman, he ended up in the group as the album began to be recorded in his home city of Los Angeles and they crossed paths with him. “He brings so much musical knowledge, amazing musicianship, melody and singing power from a different culture,” Stewart explained.

In just the first six days together 26 songs were written by the collective, while recording spread from LA to the south of France, Turkey, Miami, the Caribbean and Chennai in India, the locations mirroring the variety of the musical and geographical backgrounds of the five members.

And, despite all those egos in the same studio, Jagger said they found a way of working harmoniously together.

“With five of you everyone has to give and take quite a lot. We tried to understand everyone wouldn’t be too egotistical, start throwing things around the studio, we wouldn’t have fights,” he said.

“We were writing a lot of stuff and throwing it away. I would say, ‘That’s rubbish, another cliché Joss,’ and she’d say, ‘Well, you come up with something then!’”

But what emerged, according to Jagger, was something refreshing for everyone involved. “We’re four vocalists. We’ve never worked like that before. It’s great because the whole burden’s not on you and that made it fun.”

27th June 2011, 06:41 PM
Transcript of ARR's NDTV Interview with Prannoy Roy (http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/rahman-on-his-music-his-life-114955)

satissh_r
27th June 2011, 09:06 PM
Transcript of ARR's NDTV Interview with Prannoy Roy (http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/rahman-on-his-music-his-life-114955)

So, what would you write for this da da da da da da. So, what happened was lyricist Mr YR Muttu had written this song for a kind of a thing which was "chinna chinna". It was a very long line.

Oru national award winner pera kuda ozhunga poda theriyala ivanungalukku... Enna national channelo :huh:

satissh_r
27th June 2011, 09:12 PM
Just read through the whole transcript... full of typos :mad: Mani ku bathila Money, Abbasuku bathila a buzz :lol:

27th June 2011, 09:15 PM
TOYOTA ETIOS LIVA DOWNLOADS

Liva TVC ft. ARR : http://toyotaetiosliva.in/Liva_2506111.flv
Liva Song : http://toyotaetiosliva.in/song.zip
Liva Ringtone : http://toyotaetiosliva.in/ringtone.zip

Toyota Etios Liva Downloads Page
http://toyotaetiosliva.in/download.htm
source:arryg

28th June 2011, 07:34 AM
i didnt like the interview..Prannoy :banghead:..kappithanama ketaru kelviya..eppaparum did u realise,did your mom realisenu..konjam musicala poirkalam..but that Dilse story was good :),7 stages of love..i was a the last stage that time :lol:

satissh_r
28th June 2011, 07:50 AM
i was a the last stage that time :lol:

He said lust stage, transcriptla athyum kotta vittangala enna?

30th June 2011, 09:02 PM
AR Rahman teams up with Kathir again
Oscar Award winner AR Rahman is all set make his comeback to Tamil films with Kathir's next film. They are teaming up again in upcoming film Kodai Vidumurai.

The music director has given the not recently to compose the music for upcoming film Kodai Vidumurai. Recently, during the launch of the film, lyricist Vaali has revealed the news that AR Rahman would score the tunes for the film.

AR Rahman has scored the music for Kathir's all previous ventures. Their combo had given musical hits like Idhayam, Uzhavan, Kadhal Desam etc. The makers are hoping that the duo will create the same magic again.

Kodai Vidumurai is a comeback movie for Kathir, who directed his last in the year 2002. he has roped in Srikanth to play the lead role. However, he is yet to finalize the actress for the female lead role.
http://entertainment.oneindia.in/tamil/news/2011/ar-rahman-teams-kathir-240611-aid0017.html

30th June 2011, 09:03 PM
:bluejump::bluejump:

30th June 2011, 09:13 PM
thats good news for music lovers.

30th June 2011, 09:15 PM
AR Rahman has scored the music for Kathir's all previous ventures. Their combo had given musical hits like Idhayam, Uzhavan, Kadhal Desam etc. The makers are hoping that the duo will create the same magic again.

Kodai Vidumurai is a comeback movie for Kathir, who directed his last in the year 2002. he has roped in Srikanth to play the lead role. However, he is yet to finalize the actress for the female lead role.
http://entertainment.oneindia.in/tamil/news/2011/ar-rahman-teams-kathir-240611-aid0017.html

Can't they verify even simple things like this :banghead:

1st July 2011, 02:40 AM
:bluejump::bluejump:

raghavendran sir!wooow!neenga 'arr fan-na'??ivalo naala enakku ithu theriyama pocheh!cheh!!!very good...very good!

1st July 2011, 04:21 AM
AR Rahman teams up with Kathir again
Oscar Award winner AR Rahman is all set make his comeback to Tamil films with Kathir's next film. They are teaming up again in upcoming film Kodai Vidumurai.

The music director has given the not recently to compose the music for upcoming film Kodai Vidumurai. Recently, during the launch of the film, lyricist Vaali has revealed the news that AR Rahman would score the tunes for the film.

official-la entha news-sum illa!so doubt-than!

1st July 2011, 07:52 AM
raghavendran sir!wooow!neenga 'arr fan-na'??ivalo naala enakku ithu theriyama pocheh!cheh!!!very good...very good!
illa na Srikanth fan...enga thalaivarku nalla combo matirkenu santhosa patten...
btb AR fana agarthuku unga kitta illa vera yarkitiyavudhu certificate vanganuma?...

1st July 2011, 11:39 AM
mani film,GVM,Rana confirmed ARR muziq..
.:smokesmile:
:redjump::redjump::boo:
ellamae nxt year thaan...
Kathir film should be bonus....if it becomes true

1st July 2011, 02:45 PM
mani film,GVM,Rana confirmed ARR muziq..
.:smokesmile:
:redjump::redjump::boo:
ellamae nxt year thaan...
Kathir film should be bonus....if it becomes true

What about the new Bharathiraja movie ? It's not confirmed yet but I think ARR will be composing the music for it. Radhika talked about it a few months ago.

2nd July 2011, 02:42 AM
Bharathiraja's 'Annakodiyum Kodi Veeranum'
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/68198.html

thalaivar music pannuvara??

2nd July 2011, 03:18 AM
Comedy Show Jay Hind! Commonwealth Games Anthem Kalmadi Version -
deleted & controversial

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQazqItpP_g

2nd July 2011, 11:29 AM
I doubt this confirmation news about Kodai Vidumurai. Becoz in the 'Rahmania' show yesterday, Raihanaa said if ARR scores for KV it would be a treat for music fans.

3rd July 2011, 03:05 AM
arr wins best MD award for V.V [tamil]and YE MAYA CHEESAVE [telugu]

http://magicalblogs.blogspot.com/2011/06/58th-filmfare-awards-south-winners-list.html

http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=174822112580836

3rd July 2011, 03:08 AM
chinmaye tweets

And RahGod wins Filmfare Number 26 and 27 today. No one can even think of crossing that number. And that is da ARR! Rahmaniacs shout out!

3rd July 2011, 03:46 AM
chinmaye tweets

And RahGod wins Filmfare Number 26 and 27 today. No one can even think of crossing that number. And that is da ARR! Rahmaniacs shout out!

WOW! :) The only thing now awaiting Rahman ji is the honorable Bharat Ratna and this day is not far.

3rd July 2011, 04:05 AM
I doubt this confirmation news about Kodai Vidumurai. Becoz in the 'Rahmania' show yesterday, Raihanaa said if ARR scores for KV it would be a treat for music fans.

appa chance irukku innu nenakiren!

3rd July 2011, 04:27 AM
rahgod ...osum!!!

4th July 2011, 07:13 PM
Rahman: My Faith, My Music (Episode 2, Part 1) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UnCSEub09RU)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UnCSEub09RU

4th July 2011, 07:18 PM
A.R. Rahman, I did it my way Promo II - NDTV (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYi9XmTyZYE&feature=channel_video_title)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYi9XmTyZYE&feature=channel_video_title

4th July 2011, 08:16 PM
he says Rockstar will be one of his best soundtracks and it is finished in this interview..:bluejump:

6th July 2011, 05:59 PM
http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/270709_207761339270746_119238248123056_548639_5373 109_n.jpg

Dear Friends, who stab me in my back, I will always love you and pray for you to the Almighty that He makes me love you more and forgives my sins and yours forever! Amen!"
- A.R. Rahman
:bow:.........
thanks jaaze :)

satissh_r
6th July 2011, 06:27 PM
Thanks Mahen! do you have the 2nd part also??

6th July 2011, 06:33 PM
Read the full interview here: www.facebook.com/arrahmansg

7th July 2011, 07:57 AM
Rahman’s new muse
In the music industry, it couldn’t get any bigger than A R Rahman for reigning beauty queen, Pantaloons Femina Miss India-International 2011, Ankita Shorey. She is his new muse and is playing the lead in the maestro’s latest music video — Baari Hamaari Hai.
Featuring the youth of India, who like to enjoy every moment of their lives to the hilt, this video, which features Rahman in a funky new avatar has Ankita playing an uber talented new-age girl. “It’s all about celebration of life. I had great fun doing all sorts of activities, right from Bharatnatyam to playing volleyball to river rafting in the rapids, all in one shot,” says Ankita bubbling with enthusiasm.
“To me, Rahman’s the God of music. After he bagged an Oscar for Jai Ho... (Slumdog Millionaire fame), where he’s worked with the Pussycat Dolls, Baari Hamaari Hai is his next new release. This is also the first time Rahman’s selected a fresh face and a Miss India talent in his video. And I am honoured with this opportunity to showcase my potential,” she adds.
“Rahman is very humble and down to earth. I was awestruck by his simplicity on the sets while shooting the song. When he won the Oscars, I had never imagined that I would get to work so soon with him in my life. I’m glad I was the chosen one,” she says.
After winning the Miss India crown, Ankita’s already receiving interesting offers from B-Town. Coming from a theatre background, she aspires to notch her spot in Indian cinema. “There’s so much more to achieve. I am waiting for the right launch into Bollywood.”
http://epaper.timesofindia.com/Default/Scripting/ArticleWin.asp?From=Archive&Source=Page&Skin=TOINEW&BaseHref=TOICH/2011/07/07&PageLabel=19&EntityId=Ar01902&ViewMode=HTML

7th July 2011, 08:34 PM
Ten years ago Hossam Ramzy had an idea…

Throughout his illustrious career Hossam has had the honour of working with some of the most talented and creative musicians in the world. The idea of making an album with some of those artists is one that has flourished over the last decade.

Rock the Tabla is the realisation of that idea. An exploration in music with some of the artists he has come to love and be inspired by, including Billy Cobham, A.R. Rahman, Omar Faruk Tekbilek, Manu Katché, Joji Hirota, Phil Thornton, Chaz Kkoshi, John Themis, Jimmy Waldo…

“These are people I really have the highest of musical, and human, respect for. You can expect music that is born out of love and respect for these artists and music that really just moves me personally. This is why it has taken 10 years. Perfection takes time.– Hossam Ramzy

Rock the Tabla is a highly creative fusion of styles with a vast and multifaceted layer of depth and colour. All of course with that inevitable swing you would expect from Egypt’s Ambassador of Rhythm.

Be the first to receive the latest news and information by email as it becomes available.

source: http://www.rockthetabla.com/index.php

7th July 2011, 08:35 PM
Ten years ago Hossam Ramzy had an idea…

Throughout his illustrious career Hossam has had the honour of working with some of the most talented and creative musicians in the world. The idea of making an album with some of those artists is one that has flourished over the last decade.

Rock the Tabla is the realisation of that idea. An exploration in music with some of the artists he has come to love and be inspired by, including Billy Cobham, A.R. Rahman, Omar Faruk Tekbilek, Manu Katché, Joji Hirota, Phil Thornton, Chaz Kkoshi, John Themis, Jimmy Waldo…

“These are people I really have the highest of musical, and human, respect for. You can expect music that is born out of love and respect for these artists and music that really just moves me personally. This is why it has taken 10 years. Perfection takes time.– Hossam Ramzy

Rock the Tabla is a highly creative fusion of styles with a vast and multifaceted layer of depth and colour. All of course with that inevitable swing you would expect from Egypt’s Ambassador of Rhythm.

Be the first to receive the latest news and information by email as it becomes available.

source: http://www.rockthetabla.com/index.php

9th July 2011, 03:04 AM
THE GIBSON INTERVIEW

The Gibson Interview: A.R. RahmanAmanda Sodhi|07.07.2011A.R. Rahman is without a doubt one of India’s finest composers, with over 120 original soundtracks and albums to his credit, including the memorable Roja, Lagaan, The Legend of Bhagat Singh, Slumdog Millionaire, Delhi-6, 127 Hours and Connections. He has accumulated well over 42 awards including Oscars, Grammys, Filmfares, National Awards and a BAFTA award, as well.

An artist pretty much every Indian admires, Rahman has sold more than 300 million albums of his work, according to multiple sources. He is also part of Mick Jagger’s SuperHeavy band, which was announced recently and also consists of Dave Stewart, Joss Stone and Damian Marley. Rahman will be performing a big show at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles on July 10, along with the Los Angeles Philharmonic. Gibson India recently spoke to the composer, musician and singer, who discussed his Hollywood show, the evolution of his compositions and his work with SuperHeavy.

Can you tell us a bit about your upcoming performance at the Hollywood Bowl?

This is a very special concert for us because, normally when I do concerts and tours, we do all the movie songs and extravaganza kind of stuff. But, the concept for this is all my theme music and all my instrumental music and to play it with L.A. Philharmonic. So, a lot of people wanted this in a concert for a long time back in India, too, and we now are doing this here at the Hollywood Bowl.

How long will you be performing at the Hollywood Bowl?

I think it’s an hour and a half of my stuff. And, the other things will be another hour and a half. We will have international music as well.

Will you be singing alone or with other singers?

I’m singing a couple of songs and we have a choir coming, too.

Could you give us a preview of the songs you’ll be performing?

I’ll be performing “Changing Seasons” and I’m performing “Jai Ho.” So, how this concert is, is that we have this huge orchestra and this huge orchestral theme along with a screening of montages to give [the audience] a feel of how it’s done. Normally, when an Indian audience sees the movie, all the scores are done in the back and they don’t know how it’s done. Here, they can see it.

I have read about a lot of incidents with die-hard fans coming up to you. Is there an encounter with any of your fans that you would like to share?

Mostly I think when they come with the expectation, when they buy the tickets, they know the artist and what kind of artist they are. Most of them, of course, they want to get more of me and want to see me performing or playing or something like that. We did a 24-city concert last year in the U.S., U.K., South Africa, and it was great. It’s very exhausting when you do a big tour, but the gratification is the love which they give at that point of time, and that makes it worth it.

So, it looks like you had a lot of fun in the “Baari Humaari Hai” music video.

Oh, you saw that?

It looks very different from other music videos you’ve done, and it looks like you had a lot of fun with it.

Yes, I wanted it to be drastically different.

In a lot of your compositions, one word is repeated twice, like “Masakali Masakali” or “Jai Ho Jai Ho” or “Dil Se Re, Dil Se Re.” And, it’s something that happens quite often. Is it deliberate?

It’s because of multiple reasons. Most of the songs have that formula that way, but not all of them. Also, I think when I did music in the ’90s there were three different films produced – Tamil, Telugu and Hindi. And, the only way to make people like something was to have something in common that was very easy to hook on to. So, that was the formula which worked, but, we have moved on from that.

Over the years your compositions have become both simpler and more experimental, too, compared to your earlier work. In your eyes, what are some trends you’ve noticed in your own music’s evolution?

So many things have opened up. Initially, probably my vision was to have a world kind of sound for Indian movies… a lot of things have opened up. I think it is also a reflection of what you go through internally and what comes out of that. Sometimes certain characters or movies demand a certain sound and you have to go in that zone and create the stuff. If you look at stuff I did in the ’90s it is probably ahead of its time and sometimes the things I do now, people want more of ’60s sound or ’70s sound. So, it depends what movie I’ve done and what frame of mind I’m in. Most of my works have become more orchestral in past 10 years because of my involvement in the orchestra, even at Hollywood Bowl you will see most of the scores after 2000 have been more orchestral and many orchestras can play that. A lot of things have happened. And, when you do music you should never get bored with one kind of style, so you go into things that are more challenging and that demands more artistic inputs.

Does it ever bother you that if you come out with a soundtrack, like Jaane Tu…Ya Jaane Na or Ghajini, that people say, “Oh it’s too commercial for a Rahman project”? Does that bother you at all that there seems to be a different measuring stick used for your music?

No, the thing is when you start liking one piece… if you have a band, they have one sound and they never change it, whereas as a composer I keep changing stuff based upon the different movies and projects I’m working on and my state of mind, too. If I get sick of something I want to move on. If I do the same thing, they’re going to say, “Oh, he’s doing the same thing.” [laughs] So, when you move on, it’s hard for them to catch it. Sometimes it takes time for them whether it be three months to six months to accept the genre of music I’m doing. So, those who are really actively following me get it, but the general public takes time, not for everything, but some things take time.

As an artist, do you monitor different reviews or blogs to check out reaction to your work? How important is audience and critics’ feedback to you?

I think for me, I have to be my own critic. I have to love what I do, and after that comes all the stuff. And, because I’m working with all the best people, directors or lyric writers, it’s a team and we take care of each other as well.

Can you tell us about what’s going on with SuperHeavy?

The biggest thing now is our band SuperHeavy’s single “Miracle Worker” is coming out on [July] 7th, and in India we also want to release one more song called “Satyameva Jayate,” that the band, all of us, have done together. And I’m very excited about it, too

http://www.gibsonguitar.in/News-Lifestyle/Features/hi-in/The-Gibson-Interview-A-R-Rahman.aspx

9th July 2011, 03:16 AM
THE GIBSON INTERVIEW

The Gibson Interview: A.R. RahmanAmanda Sodhi|07.07.2011A.R. Rahman is without a doubt one of India’s finest composers, with over 120 original soundtracks and albums to his credit, including the memorable Roja, Lagaan, The Legend of Bhagat Singh, Slumdog Millionaire, Delhi-6, 127 Hours and Connections. He has accumulated well over 42 awards including Oscars, Grammys, Filmfares, National Awards and a BAFTA award, as well.

An artist pretty much every Indian admires, Rahman has sold more than 300 million albums of his work, according to multiple sources. He is also part of Mick Jagger’s SuperHeavy band, which was announced recently and also consists of Dave Stewart, Joss Stone and Damian Marley. Rahman will be performing a big show at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles on July 10, along with the Los Angeles Philharmonic. Gibson India recently spoke to the composer, musician and singer, who discussed his Hollywood show, the evolution of his compositions and his work with SuperHeavy.

Can you tell us a bit about your upcoming performance at the Hollywood Bowl?

This is a very special concert for us because, normally when I do concerts and tours, we do all the movie songs and extravaganza kind of stuff. But, the concept for this is all my theme music and all my instrumental music and to play it with L.A. Philharmonic. So, a lot of people wanted this in a concert for a long time back in India, too, and we now are doing this here at the Hollywood Bowl.

How long will you be performing at the Hollywood Bowl?

I think it’s an hour and a half of my stuff. And, the other things will be another hour and a half. We will have international music as well.

Will you be singing alone or with other singers?

I’m singing a couple of songs and we have a choir coming, too.

Could you give us a preview of the songs you’ll be performing?

I’ll be performing “Changing Seasons” and I’m performing “Jai Ho.” So, how this concert is, is that we have this huge orchestra and this huge orchestral theme along with a screening of montages to give [the audience] a feel of how it’s done. Normally, when an Indian audience sees the movie, all the scores are done in the back and they don’t know how it’s done. Here, they can see it.

I have read about a lot of incidents with die-hard fans coming up to you. Is there an encounter with any of your fans that you would like to share?

Mostly I think when they come with the expectation, when they buy the tickets, they know the artist and what kind of artist they are. Most of them, of course, they want to get more of me and want to see me performing or playing or something like that. We did a 24-city concert last year in the U.S., U.K., South Africa, and it was great. It’s very exhausting when you do a big tour, but the gratification is the love which they give at that point of time, and that makes it worth it.

So, it looks like you had a lot of fun in the “Baari Humaari Hai” music video.

Oh, you saw that?

It looks very different from other music videos you’ve done, and it looks like you had a lot of fun with it.

Yes, I wanted it to be drastically different.

In a lot of your compositions, one word is repeated twice, like “Masakali Masakali” or “Jai Ho Jai Ho” or “Dil Se Re, Dil Se Re.” And, it’s something that happens quite often. Is it deliberate?

It’s because of multiple reasons. Most of the songs have that formula that way, but not all of them. Also, I think when I did music in the ’90s there were three different films produced – Tamil, Telugu and Hindi. And, the only way to make people like something was to have something in common that was very easy to hook on to. So, that was the formula which worked, but, we have moved on from that.

Over the years your compositions have become both simpler and more experimental, too, compared to your earlier work. In your eyes, what are some trends you’ve noticed in your own music’s evolution?

So many things have opened up. Initially, probably my vision was to have a world kind of sound for Indian movies… a lot of things have opened up. I think it is also a reflection of what you go through internally and what comes out of that. Sometimes certain characters or movies demand a certain sound and you have to go in that zone and create the stuff. If you look at stuff I did in the ’90s it is probably ahead of its time and sometimes the things I do now, people want more of ’60s sound or ’70s sound. So, it depends what movie I’ve done and what frame of mind I’m in. Most of my works have become more orchestral in past 10 years because of my involvement in the orchestra, even at Hollywood Bowl you will see most of the scores after 2000 have been more orchestral and many orchestras can play that. A lot of things have happened. And, when you do music you should never get bored with one kind of style, so you go into things that are more challenging and that demands more artistic inputs.

Does it ever bother you that if you come out with a soundtrack, like Jaane Tu…Ya Jaane Na or Ghajini, that people say, “Oh it’s too commercial for a Rahman project”? Does that bother you at all that there seems to be a different measuring stick used for your music?

No, the thing is when you start liking one piece… if you have a band, they have one sound and they never change it, whereas as a composer I keep changing stuff based upon the different movies and projects I’m working on and my state of mind, too. If I get sick of something I want to move on. If I do the same thing, they’re going to say, “Oh, he’s doing the same thing.” [laughs] So, when you move on, it’s hard for them to catch it. Sometimes it takes time for them whether it be three months to six months to accept the genre of music I’m doing. So, those who are really actively following me get it, but the general public takes time, not for everything, but some things take time.

As an artist, do you monitor different reviews or blogs to check out reaction to your work? How important is audience and critics’ feedback to you?

I think for me, I have to be my own critic. I have to love what I do, and after that comes all the stuff. And, because I’m working with all the best people, directors or lyric writers, it’s a team and we take care of each other as well.

Can you tell us about what’s going on with SuperHeavy?

The biggest thing now is our band SuperHeavy’s single “Miracle Worker” is coming out on [July] 7th, and in India we also want to release one more song called “Satyameva Jayate,” that the band, all of us, have done together. And I’m very excited about it, too

http://www.gibsonguitar.in/News-Lifestyle/Features/hi-in/The-Gibson-Interview-A-R-Rahman.aspx

Thanks Anand sir

Rahman ji truly knows the pulse of his hc fans :bow:

9th July 2011, 03:46 AM
A.R. Rahman: From 'Slumdog' to Hollywood for Indian composer

http://www.dailynews.com/ci_18431075?source=most_emailed

11th July 2011, 08:33 PM
The Hollywood Bowl performance was disappointing. The advertising could have been different so the audience would not have been misled! And the Jai Ho song in the end was a sheer disaster. The lady did not know what the he'll she was singing and had a terrible voice and the male singers were equally bad!!!

The title should have been more like "LA Philharmonic performing for AR Rahman songs" or something like that!

11th July 2011, 08:40 PM
but it was said that its gonna be mostly with arr's instrumentals rite?
1. wat happened?
2. post pics

11th July 2011, 08:50 PM
This is what I heard from AR's lawyer

ar isnt performing throughout ... rather its a concert of his music .... it sounded amaizing at teh rehearsals today

11th July 2011, 08:54 PM
someone pls throw light on this song:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQbDVCZAPJo

11th July 2011, 11:57 PM
Jaaze if it's a concert of his music then why even have his name in the lost of performers? The first name in Hollywood Bowl was A R Rahman's so everyone went in with so much expectation. About 15,000 people!!! It was not just Indians even the Americans were so annoyed and I heard people say "this is just sad, for his name he could have done better." Why should he spoil his name in such things is what I don't understand?

Another annoying thing was that when he was introducing the pieces that were going to be played he read them off a paper and never looked up and around. He was looking at the floor the entire time. When he's known about this for almost 3-4 months now je could have made an effort memorize atleast the first 2 sentences. As much as I love Rahman and his music, I don't like the way he performs on stage. I dont know if he's the same towards the audience in other countries but this is how he is here. And even after the concert he just leaves the stage, most artists usually stick around for a good 10-15 minutes talk to the crowd and then go. He might be super busy but he can't forget that we are busy too and he has the power to change his next day's schedule and we don't.

12th July 2011, 12:24 AM
can understand ur frustration...
this is not the first time there were sodhappals.
write in his fb page....

16th July 2011, 02:56 AM
Rahman’s performance at Toyota launch in Bangalore

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xjubl7_rahman-s-performance-at-toyota-launch-in-bangalore_news

ARR INTERVIEW
http://i51.tinypic.com/212tuad.jpg

16th July 2011, 03:35 AM
edhukkuppa ipdi ellaam thookkittu varaanga...
konjam overa've poiduchu...

16th July 2011, 08:26 AM
very unlike ARR and unnecessary :banghead: :sigh2:

16th July 2011, 08:53 AM
Vendaadhadhu idhellam!! :hammer:

16th July 2011, 09:15 AM
http://www.rediff.com/movies/slide-show/slide-show-1-maestro-in-concert-ar-rahmans-la-show/20110713.htm

Towards the middle of AR Rahman's concert on Sunday at Los Angeles' Hollywood Bowl venue, the city's philharmonic orchestra started to play the theme from Bombay -- by all counts the best score by the Indian composer. It was a magical moment, as nearly 18,000 people in the audience sat in hushed silence under LA's clear sky facing the unlit Hollywood sign.

There was a chill in the air (the weather had been beautiful in LA), and the loud, but sweet and simple sound of flute played by Naveen Kumar, followed by souring violins that filled up the venue, gave me goose bumps.

I just wish the rest of the concert had been this magical. There was a huge build up to the show, and some interesting opening acts that energized the audience -- Karsh Kale playing pieces from his new album Cinema, Rhythms of Rajasthan -- a folk troupe performing Nimbooda Nimbooda, and a local dance group -- Bollywood Step Dancers dancing to Beedi and Let's Have Some Ronak. Many people stood up and began to dance to the upbeat Bollywood songs.

There was hope for a lot more of that when Rahman's performance started. After all, that is what Bollywood shows are about -- singing and dancing to our favorite film songs. Rahman's concerts have always been superior in staging than the other Bollywood shows. The composer himself is the star, as is his music, the singers and those fabulous songs.

But this Sunday's show -- Journey to India -- was very disappointing. During the evening, the composer walked on to the stage a number of times, read prepared introductions to each music segment -- as if he was speaking to an audience that he presumed was not familiar with his music and films. Then each time he would leave the stage, while an American conductor along with a large group of musicians from the Los Angeles Philharmonic, played the compositions from the films.

For a while the staging and format of the evening looked impressive. In the center of the stage was a giant screen (along with four other smaller screens on the sides) projecting images from each film that Rahman introduced -- Lagaan, The Rising: Ballad of Mangal Pandey, Endhiran, Roja, Ravaan, Water, Warriors of Heaven and Earth (the 2003 Chinese period film Rahman composed music for), and the only India-themed film that many Americans seem to have seen -- Slumdog Millionaire. The projection was stunning, crisp and clear and initially everything looked spectacular.

But then the format began to appear dull and repetitive. There was some singing by local singers -- Stanford University's Raagapella and a Cal State Fullerton group, but it was mostly uninspired. Rahman did sing Jai Ho in the end, but by that time the audience was mostly bored. Many had left since it was cold and late. After all Monday was a working day.

Since the big success of Danny Boyle's Slumdog Millionaire, Rahman has been trying to develop a strategy to make a big splash in Hollywood and mainstream America. But his two subsequent soundtracks for Couples Retreat and Boyle's 127 Hours -- for which he won two Oscar nominations, did not make much of an impact.

Exactly my thoughts

17th July 2011, 06:58 PM
does anybody have this song?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKDgq6zi6iE

it gets played in S3E20 of Entourage. It is Rich Skillz - Slow down but i cant find it anywhere.

19th July 2011, 11:22 AM
A.R.RAHMAN wins Vijay Awards 2011 for best music direction
standing ovacation for rahman's mother

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hd6M7Qkcjtw

19th July 2011, 11:31 AM
It was paisa vasool for many people: AR Rahman

Though director Shonali Bose has slammed Rahman's Hollywood Bowl show and wanted a refund for her ticket, the Grammy Award winning musician is ecstatic with the response there

Though "Amu"'s director Shonali Bose has slammed AR Rahman's Hollywod Bowl show and even wanted a refund for her ticket and time, the Grammy and Academy award winning musician is happy with the concert.

In his blog, Rahman has already written about the genesis of this show. The musician was in the midst of having finished 26 Jai Ho concerts when he returned to his writing table to do other things in music. Writes Rahman, "When I was in the midst of it, the offer from Hollywood Bowl with the LA Philharmonic orchestra playing my music came in and it was hard to resist. So, my conductor Matt Dunkley, my management team GSA and me decided to do the dream show which we always wanted to do in LA. The dream was to play significant orchestral themes from 20 years of my movie soundtracks, most of them were unreleased since the idea of releasing a score separately doesn't exist in India much. Songs dominate, big time :-)"

Elaborating how it all started, Rahman says, "It started 8 years ago with the Birmingham Symphony orchestra, and then last year we did one show in the South Bank of London with the London Philharmonic orchestra playing the music. We wanted to go further in extending the whole experience. Hence, we added new music and (almost) matching film clips playing simultaneously. The Bowl's picnic-like atmosphere, the half moon staring at us kindly, the big screen projecting Rajnikant, Chinese heroes and Aamir Khan was a paisa vasool for many people (I am going by the cheers we got for that :-) ) The LA Philharmonic orchestra along with our very own Naveen (flute) and Asad (sitar) created an unusual blend of a show I had never predicted..."

Though Bose has said that Rahman's role at the show was reduced to that of an announcer, the ace musician defended why he restrained himself from playing or singing too much by saying, "Since the orchestra playing my music was the main thing here, I wanted to restrain myself from playing or singing too much and it was tough not doing anything :-) I had enough time to give descriptions of the musical themes before they played."

In fact so happy is Rahman with the show that he is even keen on bringing it to India. "My mind was constantly thinking - when can I play live to my own people back in India with an orchestra like this? It is such joy, which inspires good things when you have these 100 odd extraordinary musicians, choral singers playing and singing together to create a feeling which is melancholic, complex, invigorating and liberating all at the same time..."

While an overwhelming majority of his fans have eulogized and congratulated him, one lone netizen, Varsha Pc , expressed her discontent on Rahman's social networking site itself saying: " I am disappointed by the show.... Was sad to see that you werent there in center stage for most of the period ."

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/news-and-interviews/It-was-paisa-vasool-for-many-people-AR-Rahman/articleshow/9268084.cms

20th July 2011, 06:38 PM
Ramu Finally Gets The Rights To Rangeela Song

http://movies.ndtv.com/movie_story.aspx?section=Movies&Id=ENTEN20110179002&keyword=bollywood&subcatg=MOVIESINDIA&nid=115819

You can hear the reworked version here.

http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Movie-Promos/YvTYbX22/3/Rangeela-Not-A-Love-Story.html

Sunidhi Chauhan?? does a wonderful job at recreating Asha ji's magic. Not sure about the md though.

senthilv.com
20th July 2011, 10:30 PM
***The Hollywood Bowl performance was disappointing. The advertising could have been different so the audience would not have been misled! And the Jai Ho song in the end was a sheer disaster. The lady did not know what the he'll she was singing and had a terrible voice and the male singers were equally bad!!!

The title should have been more like "LA Philharmonic performing for AR Rahman songs" or something like that!***

I'm sorry what did you expect? Were expecting an Indian style concert idolizing their idols and shaking legs on the stage? Seems like they expected an Indian singer to vocalize the songs. Very few seem to have an idea of what Western style orchestra does. It is not their fault you didn't know the musical format. Western style orchestration-Concert has completely different tradition and etiquette.

What the audience really got was a superior orchestration and interpretation of Rahman's songs for the most part. Ok, Jai Ho was not good but there were some amazing gems. All the Slumdog Millionaire's music were great. The ad masuam chase music was exceptional so was the Ode of Slumdog (Seems like completely new take on SDM music rewritten for the concert) The Roja song interpretation was heartfelt and Endhiran was grand in Hollywood style. You cannot even dream of this kind of music live in the near future with the orchestration of this quality.

Generally, it is a travesty to Indian music that lot of us cannot listen to music without visuals. This concert should be experienced without all those visuals but they knew about Indian audience and plugged in those visuals. They took care to sync the music to visuals and it is not easy to sync live to projected visuals, they had a theme and was not random.

Some of us were exposed to Western classical style orchestration by Raja sir even a commoner can appreciate more compared to rest of India. it is their loss if they couldn't appreciate. Also it is disappointing our Indian people were talking loudly, commenting, shouting in the middle of the song and that is ignoring the dance numbers.

Overall, the orchestra did an amazing job. An experience to remember.

22nd July 2011, 02:35 AM
If anyone sneezes, my name crops up: Rahman

He is miles away in Los Angeles, busy working on his "biggest project" — the band Super Heavy — featuring Mick Jagger, Dave Stewart, Joss Stone and Damien Marley. But when the telephone line crackles, AR Rahman's voice is as clear as crystal. "I've always wanted to be part of a band once again. Working with such legends from the industry is indeed a dream come true. This is as big as it gets for me," says the maestro from Chennai, the excitement palpable in his voice.

With his time considerably spent working on his new project, Rahman recounts the moment when the offer came by him. "I was going through a very dark phase in my life. The Mumbai shootout happened and a sound technician of mine was a victim. I drew into a shell. I couldn't fathom who could orchestrate such an act of barbarity. That's when I got a call offering me the project. At that time, I really needed something to immerse myself into and this was the perfect project. Not only did I get to work with such legends, it also helped me channel my pain in a more creative manner.

Despite being miles away and super busy, Rahman makes it a point to keep track of what's going on back home. "Just a week ago, the serial blasts happened again in Mumbai and I was deeply troubled. The only way people can counter such acts of barbarity is by spreading love," he says, emphatically. For someone as reclusive as Rahman, being away from his family has indeed been a tough task. "I've been travelling a lot in the past few months, working on various projects. My family, especially my kids, miss me a lot. But I try and explain it to them saying it's better for me to work this way, than be an absentee father who slogs all the time in Dubai and sees his family just once a year, only for a few days. So, now my children have understood," he explains.

While the world may raise a toast to his sheer musical genius, back home, sections of the film and music fraternity have minced no words in criticizing him. Be it for the Commonwealth Games anthem, the Ismail Darbar controversy or his style of working — Rahman has been subjected to not-so-kind words. "Ever since the Oscars happened, criticism has come my way more frequently," he laughs. Known to be a man of few words, this time around Rahman minces no words. "Some of it (criticism) is scathing, but what can you do? Today, if anyone sneezes, my name crops up. Everyone is entitled to an opinion, fair enough. But at times, it bothers me. At the end of it all, I'm only human," he admits.

Known to work in a solitary environment, Rahman confesses that he changed his style of working only for the band. "When I'm in my studios I work alone, in the silence of the night. But with "Super Heavy", we had the other band members drop in to do their bit, give their ideas and suggestions and bond musically. The one thing we all knew was that no matter how big a star one is, we had all put our egos in our bags to come up with something that would blow the listener's mind away. Plus, everything with "Super Heavy" is recorded live, whereas I'm used to working on production pieces," he admits.

Despite a heavy lineup, the music from the album will not be very different from what's expected of the band members. "We haven't tried to make it very different for the western audience. But at the same time, I wanted to design something with an Indian feel. That's when I created "Satyameva Jayate". It will be interesting to hear Mick (Jagger) sing in Sanskrit!" laughs ARR.

Having recently won two Filmfare awards (one for Telugu and the other for a Tamil film), the question on everyone's mind is what next? With Rahman spending most of his time in LA, film projects at the moment have taken a backseat. "I only take up movies I'm excited about, be it the story or the people I'll be working with. Currently, I'm busy working on producing a musical. I'm in talks with a few producers." Ask him why this desire to turn producer and he is quick to reply, "When we go to the theatres and end up seeing a bad film, we grumble about it for days. I realized that I could come up with something that the audience would love watching and I would enjoy doing too," says Rahman before signing off.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/news-and-interviews/If-anyone-sneezes-my-name-crops-up-Rahman/articleshow/9298418.cms

29th July 2011, 11:01 PM
http://i.indiaglitz.com/tamil/news/gautham290711_01.jpg

http://behindwoods.com/new-images/photo-galleries-q1-09/tamil-photo-gallery/yohan-adhyayam-ondru/wmarks/yohan-adhyayam-ondru01.jpg

30th July 2011, 12:34 AM
Baba,

It's not official right, I mean ARR's involvement in this project. Why the hurry :huh:

30th July 2011, 03:35 AM
Baba,

It's not official right, I mean ARR's involvement in this project. Why the hurry :huh:

thats why didnt open a new thread for this. it's a rumour that ARR is composing the music for this movie. so i posted it in the ARR News thread.

30th July 2011, 04:10 AM
I introduce to you, A. R. Rahman

A.R. Rahman-Part 1.qt (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRAS0y0uj1U)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRAS0y0uj1U

A.R Rahman-Part 2.qt (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7s32G_V67g)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7s32G_V67g

30th July 2011, 06:59 AM
now its official. ARR is the composer and the same has been mentioned in today's ad. :-)

30th July 2011, 08:25 AM
MISSION 2: PARIS

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/222578_10150268616954655_621629654_7391052_5312346 _n.jpg

Its officially confirmed that after Shankar, & AR Murugadoss, Vijay will join hands with Gautham Vasudev Menon for a detective story. The first mission will be in New York and the second one shall take place in Paris.

Earlier Gautham menon approached Vijay for KAAKHA KAAKHA,but due to unavoidable circumstances,Vijay was unable to sign the project. And from then on both Vijay & Gautham Menon wants to work together & also fans were eagerly waiting for this deadly combo.Finally after recent meetings between the two the project is finalised.

TITLE IS """ YOHAN: ADHYAYAM ONDRU """. The project is expected to start by June 2012, & it will be Vijay's 55th movie. Oscar award winner AR Rahman will be joining the team with Manoj Paramahamsa handling the camera. The complete cast & crew will be finalised in few months & a photoshoot is expected by the year end. Watch out this space for more info on this project.

source: http://vijaythelegend.com/fullnews.php?nid=66

30th July 2011, 09:51 AM
thats why didnt open a new thread for this. it's a rumour that ARR is composing the music for this movie. so i posted it in the ARR News thread.

It's official now :D

30th July 2011, 04:13 PM
Rahman in Vijay - Gautham Menon film

http://i.indiaglitz.com/tamil/news/arrah300711_1.jpg

On Friday, when newspaper advertisements announcing the launch of 'Yohan: Adhyayam Ondru', a film which will bring together Vijay and Gautham Vasudev Menon, didn't feature the name of the music composer, IndiaGlitz predicted that A R Rahman will join the team.

We got it right this time too, for it has now been officially announced that the Oscar-Grammy winner will compose music for the film, which will be produced by Gautham's Photon Kathaas.

And one more interesting detail has also emerged. Yesterday, a tagline in the advertisements said 'Mission One: New York'. Today, it was 'Mission Two: Paris', proving our other claim, that the film would be an adrenaline pumping action-thriller, which will be shot in different foreign locales.

Expectations are running high on the movie and Vijay fans are extremely thrilled that their favourite star is teaming up with Gautham Menon. The only thing that disappoints them is that they have to wait for more than a year to watch the film.

I still would like to hear the confirmation from Rahman ji himself.

1st August 2011, 02:34 AM
Boney Kapoor has roped in AR Rahman for Mr India 2. But can he give us a Hawa Hawaii?

Shekhar Kapoor may have declined to direct Mr India 2, but Boney Kapoor is on a roll. Kapoor, who as head of entertainment content at Sahara is going to produce Mr India 2, has not only got actors from the original film, Anil Kapoor and Sridevi to revive their iconic characters, he has roped in AR Rahman too.

The music director in fact, has kept away from Bollywood music for the last two years, except for completing an old commitment (Imtiaz Ali's Rock Star). He has been busy traveling abroad for international assignments.
The reason why Rahman agreed to the film was the challenge of composing songs at par with those from the original. Songs from the 1987 film were composed by legendary duo Laxmikant-Pyarelal.

source: http://www.mid-day.com/entertainment/2011/jul/310711-Bollywood-Boney-Kapoor-AR-Rahman-Mr-India-2-Hawa-Hawaii-Laxmikant-Pyarelal.htm

1st August 2011, 04:21 AM
im sorry for posting this here, but its very urgent. can anybody provide me the keyboard notes for thenmerku from karuthamma ? (or atleast where to get it from)

1st August 2011, 05:55 AM
im sorry for posting this here, but its very urgent. can anybody provide me the keyboard notes for thenmerku from karuthamma ? (or atleast where to get it from)

I can email you a midi if that helps. PM me with your email add :)

1st August 2011, 10:55 AM
I still would like to hear the confirmation from Rahman ji himself.

Rahman, Gautham team up
Srinivasa Ramanujam

It's time to rejoice for Rahman fans! It’s now official that the Mozart of Madras will work on Gautham Menon’s next Tamil film that will have Ilayathalapathy Vijay in the lead. Titled Yohan: Adhyanam Ondru, the movie will mark the return of the Gautham-Rahman combination post the superhit musical Vinnaithaandi Varuvaayaa. When CT contacted Rahman about the kind of music he’ll be composing for this one, he simply said, “Can't talk now. It is for next year.”

Meanwhile, the composer is said to be currently working on Rajinikanth’s Rana. It is reliably learnt that Rahman has already composed four songs for the film. Interestingly, one song from the film — a duet sung by Srinivas and Chinmayi — has already been filmed on the female lead of the film, Deepika Padukone.

1st August 2011, 04:24 PM
AR Rahman to Score Music for Mr India 2

http://img.16reels.com/pictures/news/displayimages/3051.jpg

Bollywood producer Boney Kapoor, who is now head of entertainment business of Sahara India, is going to produce ‘Mr. India 2’, a sequel to the super hit 1987 released science fiction superhero film ‘Mr India’, directed by Shekhar Kapur.

Anil Kapoor and Sridevi, the lead actors from the original film, will revive their iconic characters in the new version. But it will not be directed by Shekhar Kapoor.

Music will be composed by maestro AR Rahman.

Buzz is that the film is going to be shot in 3D and the budget is said to be Rs 100 crore.

I will be on cloud 10 if this is true :) Sad that shekhar kapoor won't be joining the bandwagon, he needs to be convinced.

4th August 2011, 08:49 PM
It's official now :D

audio release aagara varaikkum ethuvum uruthi illa!'aale illatha kadaiiku tea aathara'mathirithan GM movie arivippu!

5th August 2011, 04:40 PM
http://www.femalefirst.co.uk/bollywood/Bollywood+role-59818.html

Myleene Klass to hit Bollywood cinema

Singer, model, actress, pianist, fashion designer, media personality, and presenter. Now Myleene Klass may have another occupation added to her long list. Bollywood actress.

The busy celeb who took a recent trip to India to film a documentary about Bollywood icons, met up with Oscar-winning composer A R Rahman, who introduced her to leading Bollwood producers. The telly beauty impressed them with her enviable post-pregnance figure, landing herself what could be a new career.

http://www.femalefirst.co.uk/image-library/port/250/m/myleene-klass-tenyears.jpg

Myleene, 33, told The Sun: "I've been asked to star in a Bollywood film as they really like my post-pregnancy figure out there. So rather than trying to drop those last few pregnancy pounds, I'm back on the curries."

A friend also added that she was excited at the prospect of a major role in the world's biggest movie industry.

He said: "Myleene loves all things musical and that's what's great about Bollywood - it's acting and dancing. They loved her curves but also her exotic looks. It's early days, but she's excited to find out what kind of role they will dream up for her."

Myleene, 33, told The Sun: "I've been asked to star in a Bollywood film as they really like my post-pregnancy figure out there. So rather than trying to drop those last few pregnancy pounds, I'm back on the curries."

A friend also added that she was excited at the prospect of a major role in the world's biggest movie industry.

He said: "Myleene loves all things musical and that's what's great about Bollywood - it's acting and dancing. They loved her curves but also her exotic looks. It's early days, but she's excited to find out what kind of role they will dream up for her."

Myleene who has two girls, 4-month-old Hero Harper and three-year-old Ava with partner Graham Quinn, would certainly look fabulous as ever glammed up Bollywood style. She might even consider doing a Bollywood fashion.

5th August 2011, 05:33 PM
thalaivar is doing all kinda useless works...
indha international collaborations'la uruppadiyaa edhuvum kedaikkira maadhiri therila...
time waste and focus loss.

5th August 2011, 05:46 PM
thalaivar is doing all kinda useless works...
indha international collaborations'la uruppadiyaa edhuvum kedaikkira maadhiri therila...
time waste and focus loss.

What's wrong with promoting newcomers. Rahman ji is a pioneer in bringing in fresh talent and just because he hasn't signed projects in India doesn't mean he has lost focus.

5th August 2011, 05:51 PM
i din mean that he should not support newcomers sunil.
i was just expressing my views on collaborating with famour artists across the globe...
wat do we get, we hear a song and say, 'at 2:46' he says 'govinda' in high pitch, we can make that out', 'his voice stands out well in the chorus', etc., :(
and the most annoying thing is, the ARR fb page has turned into a TeleShoppingNetwork page, which only brings down the exclusivity his name had.

5th August 2011, 05:58 PM
i din mean that he should not support newcomers sunil.
i was just expressing his views on collaborating with famour artists across the globe...
wat do we get, we hear a song and say, 'at 2:46' he says 'govinda' in high pitch, we can make that out', 'his voice stands out well in the chorus', etc., :(
and the most annoying thing is, the ARR fb page has turned into a TeleShoppingNetwork page, which only brings down the exclusivity his name had.

True, sorry for the confusion.

I posted somthing similar in the superheavy thread

I wouldn't like to but I'm starting to wonder if Rahman ji's presence in this band is a gimmick just to get the attention of people from the
subcontinent.

Vocally, he has truly been relegated in Miracle worker :(

music man
6th August 2011, 02:17 PM
Yesterday, I was hearing some of the BGms from ARR's earlier movies....I really miss those peppy ones now...I can understand ARR is trying to achieve something very distinctive when compared to his peers....I think this SUPER HEAVY thing is simply blown out of proportion... He is just one of the band members...His band mates are a mix of legends and ordinary people...Its just a publicity stunt that he was roped in at the last to garner his huge Indian base...

He can in turn go the GEMS way...Making Mick Jagger to sing to his compostions..(an entire album)...His collaboration with Bolton was good...That new Sajna sounded good...No one knew exactly what was Rahman's contribution to this SUPER HEAVY....I believe he might have composed a track or two and would have lent his odd voice here and there and also by contributing as an instrumentalist...

There are better instrumentalists than ARR and we see from one of the videos that he plays his Continuum and piano...So once the album releases, we will be excited finding the Rahman sound in the songs and find and go gaga over his odd vocal presence here and there...

Its better to comment once the album releases..but ...I only hope the SUPER HEAVY will be missing a trick if they don't utilise ARR as a composer....

6th August 2011, 06:30 PM
A BGM suite - "A Gentleman, An Indian and A Mudhalvan - A.R.Rahman"
Listen to it here http://www.backgroundscore.com/2011/08/big-bang-symphony-arrahman.html

7th August 2011, 12:41 PM
anyone know what this is?
http://www.sonofapreacherman.tv/

http://youtu.be/BUlQXq1KCuQ

Benny Lava
7th August 2011, 09:43 PM
Ramu Finally Gets The Rights To Rangeela Song

http://movies.ndtv.com/movie_story.aspx?section=Movies&Id=ENTEN20110179002&keyword=bollywood&subcatg=MOVIESINDIA&nid=115819

You can hear the reworked version here.

http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Movie-Promos/YvTYbX22/3/Rangeela-Not-A-Love-Story.html

Sunidhi Chauhan?? does a wonderful job at recreating Asha ji's magic. Not sure about the md though.

I dunno whether it is just my imagination, but I can see mild traces of "Requiem for a Dream" in this trailer.. both the video and music (the idea of a dream gone terribly bad)

8th August 2011, 07:58 AM
I don't know if this has been here before :huh:

BBC Radio2 The Mozart of Madras - Dany Boyl's special program on rahman.... 56 minute documentary including an interview.

http://soundcloud.com/stickler989/bbc-radio2-the-mozart-of

9th August 2011, 01:02 PM
ARR is composing a theme song for Hero Honda to be penned by Blaaze.

9th August 2011, 01:03 PM
A new HERO will rise today, in London @ the O2...theme song composed by Academy Award Winner ARR, the show hosted by the Badshah of Bollwood SRK will have scintillating performances by Akon, Anushka Sharma, Ranbir Kapoor among others..

- Vijay Iyer

satissh_r
9th August 2011, 02:06 PM
A new HERO will rise today, in London @ the O2...theme song composed by Academy Award Winner ARR, the show hosted by the Badshah of Bollwood SRK will have scintillating performances by Akon, Anushka Sharma, Ranbir Kapoor among others..

- Vijay Iyer

With the London riots and all you think this show will happen? Heard a lot of events including football matches have been canceled this week

10th August 2011, 02:34 AM
New logo of hero honda unveiled by srk and ar rahman. :) follow link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rsOqR1QH0M

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yx7vh5-NANU

10th August 2011, 02:53 AM
You can see thalaivar at the launch here

http://www.grafix365.com/wp-content/plugins/wp-o-matic/cache/cec0e_282038_248282718526187_160451690642624_82465 6_3037417_n.preview.jpg

10th August 2011, 02:54 AM
Hear the anthem here http://soundcloud.com/rahman360/herohonda-anthem-rahman-360

10th August 2011, 03:04 AM
good quality video here
https://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=10150734290480360

11th August 2011, 02:41 AM
AR Rahman at edgbaston third test day 1 lunch with Harsha Bhogle at the studio

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oh0-HdUzf20

11th August 2011, 12:14 PM
Any interesting things he shared, Sunil?

11th August 2011, 02:17 PM
Ajay, can't you access the link? :confused:

11th August 2011, 02:18 PM
2nd part of the interview. sorry about the quality.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqnmkhVOUD0

11th August 2011, 02:21 PM
I can only watch.. Not able to listen..

11th August 2011, 02:37 PM
Some points

Mick Jagger met A.R. Rahman before Slumdog Millionnaire.
Theres a portion on Damien Marley and Mick Jagger is complimenting him, saying he's very passionate and stays away from the clichéd rap scene.
Dave Stewart along with Mick Jagger is the arranger and decides the final cut for songs.
A.R. Rahman mentions everyone is a driving force and how he learned something new everyday. They also talk about the video shooting of SuperHeavy songs which shows the background and sensibilities of each member.

11th August 2011, 04:25 PM
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B005EWQWV0/ref=dm_sp_alb/275-5962109-3254637

u can hear "Rock the tabla" samples here...both the Rahman's compositions are same it seems but great to listen......Rahman collabration with Egyptian music will be something really special - dunno how to get the full songs or atleast if the album releases here, we can buy it :D

12th August 2011, 07:08 PM
arr wikepediya in tamil

http://ta.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E0%AE%8F._%E0%AE%86%E0%AE%B0%E0%AF%8D._%E0%AE%B0% E0%AE%95%E0%AF%81%E0%AE%AE%E0%AE%BE%E0%AE%A9%E0%AF %8D

13th August 2011, 01:00 AM
Hindus laud Mick Jagger for singing in Sanskrit

The Hindus have applauded Rolling Stone legend Mick Jagger for singing in Sanskrit.

Jagger has sung in Sanskrit in 'Satyameva Jayate', the second single on a new album of rock supergroup SuperHeavy, which also features Indian musical legend AR Rahman, Joss Stone, Dave Stewart, and Damian Marley.

Composed by Rahman, it is reportedly four minutes and seven seconds long. 'Miracle Worker' was the group's first single.

Distinguished Hindu statesman Rajan Zed, in a statement in Nevada (USA) on Friday, welcoming Jagger and his group for experimenting in Sanskrit, urged other popular singers/groups like Madonna, U2, AC/DC, Bruce Springsteen, Britney Spears, Beyonce Knowles, Jay-Z, Lady Gaga, Elton John, etc., to record in Sanskrit.

Sanskrit was a storehouse of wisdom which needed to be explored further by popular culture in order to bring spirituality into the life of consumerist society full of distractions, Zed, who is president of Universal Society of Hinduism, argued.

'Satyameva Jayate' (commonly translated as 'Truth alone triumphs') is part of a mantra from ancient Hindu scripture Mundaka Upanishad. Sanskrit is considered a sacred language in Hinduism and root language of Indo-European languages.

Hinduism is oldest and third largest religion of the world with about a billion adherents and moksh (liberation) is its ultimate goal.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/news-and-interviews/Hindus-laud-Mick-Jagger-for-singing-in-Sanskrit/articleshow/9580267.cms

14th August 2011, 02:50 PM
Memoirs of a Rahmaniac (19 Years of A.R.Rahman) revised an old post with new thoughts and experiences

http://www.backgroundscore.com/2011/08/memoirs-of-rahmaniac-19-years-of.html

17th August 2011, 01:16 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oRVlTUCSJ98

19th August 2011, 08:53 PM
AR with Karan Thappar...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=bRAS0y0uj1U

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=v7s32G_V67g

19th August 2011, 08:56 PM
raghav, very old one and recently posted again by sunil in the previous pages...
looks like fans are in drought and browsing for old videos of rahman :)

20th August 2011, 03:53 AM
AR Rahman Special - Roja 2 Robo

http://www.tubetamil.com/view_video.php?viewkey=6048a7b6409bc345d2a9&page=12&viewtype=&category

20th August 2011, 02:21 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yc0CVEuUvRs

HERO Honda official ad

Music: AR
Direction: Anurag Kashyap

my long term dream team have come together :bow:

20th August 2011, 03:01 PM
ya its a good ad..Ar's voice :bow:
hope this combo comes together for a movie

20th August 2011, 03:15 PM
கன்னட திரையுலகில் நுழைகிறார் ஏ.ஆர்.ரஹ்மான்!

தனது திரையுலக வரலாற்றில் முதல் முறையாக இசைப் புயல் ஏ.ஆர்.ரஹ்மான் கன்னட திரையுலகில் நுழைந்துள்ளார். காட்பாதர் என்ற கன்னடப் படத்திற்கு அவர்தான் இசை. தமிழ்த் திரைப்பட இசையமைப்பாளராக அறிமுகமாகி, இந்திய இசையமைப்பாளராக உயர்ந்து, இப்போது உலக இசையமைப்பாளராக அவதாரம் எடுத்துள்ள ஏ.ஆர்.ரஹ்மான் முதல் முறையாக கன்னடப் படத்திற்கு இசையமைக்கவுள்ளார். காட்பாதர் என்ற படத்திற்கு அவர்தான் இசையமைப்பாளர். உபேந்திரா மூன்று வேடங்களில் நடிக்கும் இப்படத்தில் செளந்தர்யா நாயகியாக நடிக்கிறார். சிம்ரன் அம்மா வேடத்தில் நடிக்கிறார்.

இப்படத்தின் கதை தமிழ் ரசிகர்களுக்கு ஏற்கனவே நன்கு தெரிந்த கதைதான். ஆம், அஜீத் நடித்த வரலாறு படத்தின் ரீமேக்தான் இது. இப்படத்தில் தந்தை அஜீத்துக்கு ஜோடியாக, கனிகா நடித்திருப்பார். இப்போது கனிகா வேடத்தில் கன்னடத்தில் நடிக்கப் போவது நம்ம ஊர் சிம்ரன். மகன் உபேந்திராவின் ஜோடியாக வரப் போகிறார் செளந்தர்யா. இவர் அந்தக் கால கன்னட நாயகி ஜெயமாலாவின் மகள் ஆவார். இந்தப் படத்தில் இன்னொரு விசேஷமும் உள்ளது. அது பி.சி.ஸ்ரீராம். அவர்தான் இப்படத்தை இயக்கப் போகிறார்.

http://cinema.dinakaran.com/cinema/KollywoodDetail.aspx?id=5527&id1=3&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=facebook

20th August 2011, 06:48 PM
Music: AR
Direction: Anurag Kashyap
my long term dream team have come together :bow:
Hope they take it to movie level collaboration

20th August 2011, 07:34 PM
for an ad, that song konjom over thaan :) the song is too good..should be used in one his films

23rd August 2011, 01:04 PM
'Welcome to people' music by ARR?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1716777/fullcredits#cast
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Welcome_to_People

24th August 2011, 03:18 PM
A.R. Rahman To Score Alex Kurtzman’s ‘Welcome To People’ Starring Chris Pine & Olivia Wilde

http://i2.blogs.indiewire.com/images/blogs/theplaylist/archives/AR-Rahman-WelcomeToPeople.jpg

For screenwriter Alex Kurtzman—best known for penning blockbusters like “Star Trek,” “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen” and “Mission: Impossible III”—he couldn’t ask for a better batch of talent as he readies his directorial debut, “Welcome to People.” The film stars Chris Pine, Elizabeth Banks, Olivia Wilde, Michelle Pfeiffer and Mark Duplass, and it will also feature a little cameo by Jon Favreau. But it appears the quality list of collaborators doesn’t end there as Kurtzman has enlisted one of the best known and celebrated film composers in the world to tune up his movie.

Film Music Reporter reveals that none other than A.R. Rahman will be writing the music for the film. The Bollywood legend came to Hollywood prominence thanks to his Oscar-winning score for Danny Boyle‘s “Slumdog Millionaire.” He added another Hollywood credit in 2009 with “Couples Retreat” for some reason (guess this writer now has a reason to rent it) before re-teaming with Boyle for last year’s “127 Hours,” which earned him another Oscar nod. And while Rahman’s works for Boyle’s films were somewhat supercharged, Kurtzman’s film may have him drawing down the faders a bit.

Written by Kurtzman along with his usual partner-in-crime Roberto Orci as well as Jody Lambert, the film follows the story of a twenty-something businessman (Pine) who, after the death of his father, must deliver $150,000 in cash to the alcoholic sister (Banks) he didn’t know he had and her son, a 12-year-old with major anger management issues. The man doesn’t want to part with the money but still reaches out to them without revealing who he really is. Wilde plays Pine’s girlfriend and Pfeiffer his mother, with Duplass set to portray a neighbor who takes a romantic interest in Banks’ character. Unless this premise is a bit wackier than it lets on, it will be interesting see Rahman exercising some different musical muscles. It’s a pretty great choice and Kurtzman certainly seems poised to deliver big things with his film.

The film is currently in post-production and no release date has been set, but it’s a safe bet that it’ll head into theaters sometime next year.

26th August 2011, 03:18 AM
Fantasy / Anthimaalai by ARR (1992)

http://www.mediafire.com/?5qc8kehm044n4fh

THANX ARRYG

26th August 2011, 06:03 AM
Fantasy / Anthimaalai by ARR (1992)

http://www.mediafire.com/?5qc8kehm044n4fh

THANX ARRYG

What is this Anand?

26th August 2011, 11:22 AM
Anthimaalai was one of the earliest works of ARR. Didnt get much publicity when it released. Hence it was re-released after the success of Roja.

27th August 2011, 03:07 AM
but,arr just the keyboardist and programmer for this album not a composer!

27th August 2011, 05:17 AM
then who was the composer?

29th August 2011, 03:04 AM
then who was the composer?
sorry sir!i'm also don't know who is the md!

29th August 2011, 03:10 AM
rahman old interview

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1cu2qE3yEGA

29th August 2011, 03:25 AM
Desh Ko Salaam

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a49-BbDxocA&feature=related

29th August 2011, 03:27 AM
Some things in life are not planned: AR Rahman

Oscar winning musician A.R. Rahman is set to compose music for his first full-fledged Hollywood......
"At the end of 2008, a lot of dark things happened in my life. I lost my sound engineer and we had floods in Chennai. I was going through a lot of stress in my work. At that point of time, I got a call from Dave Stewart asking, ‘AR, would you be interested in collaborating with Mick and me?’ So I
thought, ‘Anything to get out of here at this point,’ Some things in life aren’t planned,” says Indian music legend AR Rahman, who’s teamed up with musicians Mick Jagger, Stewart, Joss Stone and Damien Marley to form the music group, SuperHeavy.

But even before Jagger announced the formation of the band in May this year, recordings were well underway in LA, having originally started in 2009. “The time we had in the studio was full of excitement, enjoyment, innovativeness — so different from how it generally works for me. Usually, I just lock myself in a room, make my music and only when I think it’s ready, do I show it to a second person. But here, it was a different situation altogether. In one zone, there would be beautiful smells, scented candles and a piano in an almost angelic atmosphere, and on the other side, you’d smell marijuana.”

Just before India’s Independence Day, SuperHeavy released its second single Satyameva Jayate... Adds Rahman, “A long-standing dream of mine was to take one of the morals of Indian culture, which is Satyameva Jayate (truth alone triumphs) and make it into a song. I thought it would be historic if Mick, Joss, Damien, Dave and I could come together for a song like this, which is iconic in a way. When we started working on the song, I didn’t have any lyrics other than Satyameva Jayate. Later, we filled in the lyrics, and we added the choir to make it more epic.”

SuperHeavy’s first album hits store shelves on September 19, and Rahman has managed to add one more song to the album with an India reference: “Apart from Satyameva Jayate… there is also a romantic number called Mahia…”

The Grammy winner is currently working on Alex Kurtzman’s Welcome to People and a DreamWorks Studio animated movie, tentatively titled Monkeys of Mumbai. His upcoming Indian projects include Imtiaz Ali’s Rockstar and Rajinikanth’s Rana.

Oscar winning musician A.R. Rahman is set to compose music for his first full-fledged Hollywood......
"At the end of 2008, a lot of dark things happened in my life. I lost my sound engineer and we had floods in Chennai. I was going through a lot of stress in my work. At that point of time, I got a call from Dave Stewart asking, ‘AR, would you be interested in collaborating with Mick and me?’ So I
thought, ‘Anything to get out of here at this point,’ Some things in life aren’t planned,” says Indian music legend AR Rahman, who’s teamed up with musicians Mick Jagger, Stewart, Joss Stone and Damien Marley to form the music group, SuperHeavy.

But even before Jagger announced the formation of the band in May this year, recordings were well underway in LA, having originally started in 2009. “The time we had in the studio was full of excitement, enjoyment, innovativeness — so different from how it generally works for me. Usually, I just lock myself in a room, make my music and only when I think it’s ready, do I show it to a second person. But here, it was a different situation altogether. In one zone, there would be beautiful smells, scented candles and a piano in an almost angelic atmosphere, and on the other side, you’d smell marijuana.”

Just before India’s Independence Day, SuperHeavy released its second single Satyameva Jayate... Adds Rahman, “A long-standing dream of mine was to take one of the morals of Indian culture, which is Satyameva Jayate (truth alone triumphs) and make it into a song. I thought it would be historic if Mick, Joss, Damien, Dave and I could come together for a song like this, which is iconic in a way. When we started working on the song, I didn’t have any lyrics other than Satyameva Jayate. Later, we filled in the lyrics, and we added the choir to make it more epic.”

SuperHeavy’s first album hits store shelves on September 19, and Rahman has managed to add one more song to the album with an India reference: “Apart from Satyameva Jayate… there is also a romantic number called Mahia…”

The Grammy winner is currently working on Alex Kurtzman’s Welcome to People and a DreamWorks Studio animated movie, tentatively titled Monkeys of Mumbai. His upcoming Indian projects include Imtiaz Ali’s Rockstar and Rajinikanth’s Rana.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Some-things-in-life-are-not-planned-AR-Rahman/Article1-738379.aspx

30th August 2011, 09:29 AM
http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/296112_233952643318282_119238248123056_628429_1523 87_n.jpg

5th September 2011, 08:01 PM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/70546.html

7th September 2011, 09:26 AM
Tv9 - 30 minutes on A R Rahman world music

http://ap7am.com/ap7am_show_detail_videos.php?newsid=40642

7th September 2011, 05:09 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDMsBwyIvDY&feature=player_embedded

14th September 2011, 01:37 PM
Vikatan magazine-la [vikatan medai]intha intha vaaram k.balachandar namma thalavara patti etho interview thanthu irukar pola!

14th September 2011, 02:04 PM
Yes.. something on thse lines (not verbatim)

உங்கள் அறிமுகங்களிலேயே பெருமைக்குரியவராக கருதுவது யாரை?

பதில்: என் தயாரிப்பில். மணிரத்னம் இயக்கத்தில் அறிமுகப்படுத்தப்பட்ட ஆஸ்கார் நாயகன் ரஹ்மான்

15th September 2011, 03:30 AM
full interview iruntha post pannunga bro!

17th September 2011, 02:42 PM
A.R.Rahman is the Music composer for Neethane en Ponvasantham. Now you can open the thread again.

http://www.videos.behindwoods.com/videos-q1-09/actor-actress-interview/jiiva-15-09-2011.html

17th September 2011, 09:11 PM
machi open the bottel!

20th September 2011, 12:34 PM
Off late the quality of Tamil film music has come down drastically IMO. Even though an ARR fan, I enjoyed listening to U1's Paiyya, HJ's Engyum Kadhal and GVP's few songs. But now it looks so dry. Hope Thalaivar sends out a tamil album soon to bring the josh back.

20th September 2011, 01:05 PM
A.R.Rahman is the Music composer for Neethane en Ponvasantham. Now you can open the thread again.

http://www.videos.behindwoods.com/videos-q1-09/actor-actress-interview/jiiva-15-09-2011.html

Thalaivar side-la irundhu confirmation vandhaa nalla irukkum-nu ninaichen. Will open it now :)

20th September 2011, 01:15 PM
not another lous film..and goutham kandippa venam thalaivare...:banghead:...surea it will be monotonous..vtv influence kandippa irukum..Gvm doesnt know any other love story other than his own story..ivan tholla thangamudiyala :evil:

20th September 2011, 03:04 PM
Off late the quality of Tamil film music has come down drastically IMO. Even though an ARR fan, I enjoyed listening to U1's Paiyya, HJ's Engyum Kadhal and GVP's few songs. But now it looks so dry. Hope Thalaivar sends out a tamil album soon to bring the josh back.

ajay, listen to gvp's "mayakkam enna". it's a really great album. really surprised that selvaraghavan chose HJ for his next movie with Arya.

20th September 2011, 05:08 PM
ajay, listen to gvp's "mayakkam enna". it's a really great album. really surprised that selvaraghavan chose HJ for his next movie with Arya.

it's true ajay!sila samayam romba boring-ah irukku!oru sila padalgal thavira.nichayam thalaivar tamil music tharanum.rockstar tamil-la vantha eppadi irukkum innu konjam karpanai panni parungga!yes,GVP mayakkam enna songs really good!sila padalgal kekka konka puthusa irukku.but selva next with hj is just rumur!hope he stay with GVP to bring up some variety and from him!

20th September 2011, 11:08 PM
gangai amaran praises arr [see at 28.49]

http://www.tubetamil.com/view_video.php?viewkey=1fc4f4b4ffc8674ce2f5&page=13&viewtype=&category=

20th September 2011, 11:16 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwwsR3d-Rkc&feature=related

21st September 2011, 03:34 AM
just listened to that Kun Faya Kun track. It's just brilliant!!!

after listening to that song for a couple of times i really thought about how all other Music Directors must feel when they listen to this song. In the last few years I felt that the gap between ARR and all other MDs became a bit smaller. I mean ARR is still the No1. but for example Harris Jeyaraj is like the most successful MD of the last few years in Tamil. But he has now diversity in his output. So this puts ARR again ahead of his "competition". The other MDs must feel like they are in an unfair situation. They just cant get on the level of ARR!

22nd September 2011, 11:32 AM
Mangalampalli, A.R. Rahman selected for GIMA Award

http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp-national/tp-andhrapradesh/article2471756.ece

24th September 2011, 01:15 PM

I am glad that my rasanai is still in tact.. idhellaam seekiram dry aagidum'nu naan appavae sonnaen.

24th September 2011, 01:18 PM
Oh Mana peNNae - performed by Sathya Prakash in last night's super singer grand finale. A memorable performance. The fusion he tried worked out well IMO. Rendition was better than the original..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OnNEzhGEdyA

24th September 2011, 02:43 PM
I am glad that my rasanai is still in tact.. idhellaam seekiram dry aagidum'nu naan appavae sonnaen.
Be thankful at least theres yuvan/gvp/harris...imagine if our industry is dominated by vijay anthony/srikanth deva/dsp etc

24th September 2011, 03:28 PM
Be thankful at least theres yuvan/gvp/harris...imagine if our industry is dominated by vijay anthony/srikanth deva/dsp etc

Dont worry.. adhellaam nalla paattunnu silaagirathukku oru koottam nichchayam irukkum...

24th September 2011, 06:33 PM
Ashanti OMkar's tribute to H Sridhar [last interview]

http://soundcloud.com/thamarai/ashanti-omkars-tribute-to-h-sridhar

satissh_r
26th September 2011, 08:01 AM
'Lagaan' makes it to all-time 25 best sports movies list

Aamir Khan's 'Lagaan' which won an Oscar nomination in the Best Foreign Language Film category, has made it to the all-time 25 best sports movies list compiled by Time magazine.

The 2001 film, set in the times of the British Raj in India, clinched the 14th spot on the list.

Produced by Aamir and directed by Ashutosh Gowariker, 'Lagaan' tells the story of a group of villagers who strike a deal with the representatives of the Raj - if the locals defeat them in a game of cricket they get a break on their 'lagaan', or land tax.

"From the thunderclap in the first torrential rainstorm -- a cue for riotous dancing -- to the climactic sunlight on the smiling faces of millions of viewers, this Bollywood epic is cause for joy of meteorological proportions," the magazine says, calling the film "the longest and most enthralling underdog-sports movie ever".

"Even those who know none of cricket's complicated rules will bounce in their seats to AR Rahman's irrepressible tunes; here, one can immediately and fully accept the Bollywood trope of music and dance as an expression of life's deepest, most soaring emotions. As sports film, social document or communal ecstasy, Lagaan is the all-time all-rounder," it added.

'Lagaan' is the only Indian movie in the list, which is topped by 'The Big Lebowski', a film on bowling made in 1998. 'Body and Soul' (1947), 'Breaking Away' (1979), 'Bull Durham' (1988) and 'Caddyshack' (1980) rounded off the top five.

1st October 2011, 03:37 AM
A.R. Rahman - GQ Men of The Year Awards 2011 - Full Interview

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68n2_HVTgeA

2nd October 2011, 09:28 AM
ARR confirms working on Mani's next tamil film
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GH7k7K0fE1g

shylu65
2nd October 2011, 08:12 PM
"I have just finished a Hollywood movie. You will come to know about it in January. And I am doing one Dreamworkz animation film. Apart from this, I am also doing a Yash Raj film for the first time, something I am very excited about," he said.
http://entertainment.in.msn.com/bollywood/news/article.aspx?cp-documentid=5482015&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

3rd October 2011, 03:27 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__U6wh5uYQI

4th October 2011, 01:58 PM
Mani, Rahman to launch Aravaan audio

It looks like singer Karthik is all set to have his dream come true on Wednesday evening.

The audio of Aravaan, which marks the popular singer's debut as a composer, will be released by none other than Mani Ratnam and A R Rahman (who introduced Karthik in films).

The event will also have this year's Dada Saheb Palke award winner, director K Balachander as the guest of honour. Aravaan stars Aadhi and Pasupathi in the lead roles along with Dhanshika and is directed by Vasantha Balan of Angaadi Theru fame. Bharath and Anjali appear in crucial cameos in the film, while Bollywood star Kabir Bedi plays the bad guy. The period flick is based on Su Venkatesan's Tamil novel Kaaval Kottam.

5th October 2011, 03:01 AM
Rahman and his special connection

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/news-and-interviews/Rahman-and-his-special-connection/articleshow/10230533.cms

5th October 2011, 03:01 AM
AR Rahman talks nothing, but music: Yash Chopra

http://zeenews.india.com/entertainment/music/ar-rahman-talks-nothing-but-music-yash-chopra_97705.htm

6th October 2011, 03:17 AM
2 thalaivars at aravaan audio lunch

http://behindwoods.com/new-images/photo-galleries-q1-09/tamil-photo-gallery/aravaan-audio-launch/aravaan-audio-launch-aravaan-11.html

http://behindwoods.com/new-images/photo-galleries-q1-09/tamil-photo-gallery/aravaan-audio-launch/aravaan-audio-launch-aravaan-40.html

http://behindwoods.com/new-images/photo-galleries-q1-09/tamil-photo-gallery/aravaan-audio-launch/aravaan-audio-launch-aravaan-51.html

7th October 2011, 02:52 PM
Seems like ARR is in bangok. Below foto my Uncle with him!
http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/315956_250080658372066_100001104013457_731593_3194 28436_n.jpg
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=250080658372066&set=a.250080645038734.65269.100001104013457&type=1

8th October 2011, 12:11 PM
A.R. Rahman tops iTunes World charts all over the world!
Rockstar #1 in US and #2 in UK!

Slumdog Millionaire #1 in New Zealand, Belgium, Spain and Luxembourg, #3 in Australia and Austria as of 6 Oct 2011!

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s720x720/308794_251220938258119_119238248123056_688750_7342 20061_n.jpg
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=251220938258119&set=a.170213936358820.35032.119238248123056&type=1&ref=nf
http://www.apple.com/euro/itunes/charts/top10worldalbums.html

8th October 2011, 07:05 PM
amazing!!

9th October 2011, 10:04 AM
Seems like ARR is in bangok. Below foto my Uncle with him!
http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/315956_250080658372066_100001104013457_731593_3194 28436_n.jpg
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=250080658372066&set=a.250080645038734.65269.100001104013457&type=1
looks like director Kathir..

10th October 2011, 04:44 PM
arrahman: Rest in Peace Jagjit ji...No one can replace your voice and the perfection you had towards your art...

And, this happened couple of years back.. (http://entertainment.oneindia.in/music/indian/2009/jagjit-challenges-rahman-300109.html)

We have lots to learn from this man!!

10th October 2011, 04:56 PM
Rahman ji is the biggest fountain I've come across when it comes to knowledge on ethics. :bow:

jaykaybee
10th October 2011, 06:22 PM
arrahman: Rest in Peace Jagjit ji...No one can replace your voice and the perfection you had towards your art...

And, this happened couple of years back.. (http://entertainment.oneindia.in/music/indian/2009/jagjit-challenges-rahman-300109.html)

This proves nothing has changed rahmanji...also goes on to show the respect he has for others irrespective of wat they hav done to him.....
He's one of the great souls, whom i wud lk to follow in life......

Benny Lava
10th October 2011, 07:19 PM

Sad news! :( May his soul rest in peace.
Whatever be his opinion on ARR, his credentials as a musician cannot be challenged. RIP!

13th October 2011, 02:56 AM
ரஹ்மான் புகழ் பெறத்துவங்கி இருந்த காலத்தில் அவரிடம் இளையராஜா பற்றி கேட்கப்பட்ட போது அவர் சொன்னது " சினிமாவுக்கு வந்த புதுசில், எந்த இசை கலைஞரை பார்த்தாலும், குடியும் கூத்துமாக கும்மாளமாக இருப்பார்கள், சரி சினிமா காரர்களென்றாலே இப்படித்தான் போலிருக்கிறது என எண்ணிக்கொண்டேன், ஆனால் ராஜா சார் எந்த கெட்ட பழக்கமும் இல்லாமல் சுத்தமாக இருப்பார்." என்றார்.

பிறகு ஒரு சமயத்தில் ரஹ்மான் கோடிக்கணக்கில் சம்பளம் வாங்குவது பற்றி கேட்கப்பட்டபோது அவர் சொன்னது "இளையராஜா சார் நினைத்திருந்தால் தமிழ்நாட்டையே எழுதி வாங்கி இருப்பார்"

மேற்சொன்ன இந்த இரண்டு கருத்துக்களுக்காக மட்டுமே, இளையராஜா ரசிகர்கள் ரஹ்மானுக்கு வாழ்நாள் முழுக்க நன்றிக்கடன் பட்டவர்கள். போட்டி உலகில், எந்த விதத்திலும் குறைவில்லாமல் கோலோச்சிக்கொண்டு இருக்கும் ரஹ்மான் இப்படி பாராட்ட மிகப்பெரிய மனது வேண்டும்.

ரஹ்மானைப்பார்த்து எப்படி இசைப்பது என்று மட்டுமல்ல எப்படி பெருந்தன்மையுடன் இருப்பது (magnanimity) என்றும் கற்றுக்கொள்ளலாம். அது மட்டுமல்ல ரஹ்மானும் ஒழுக்கத்திற்கு உதாரணம் தான் அந்த வகையில் இந்த தலைமுறையில் இருந்து எல்லா வகையிலும் சரியாக நடக்கும் உதாரணமாக ரஹ்மான் இருக்கிரார் :clap:

music man
16th October 2011, 08:54 AM
Thala Ajith in an old ARR jingle "Paaru Paaru Miaami Cushion Paar

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyAYh8gsJNs

20th October 2011, 06:46 AM
nobel peace prize concert -official

http://www.youtube.com/user/NobelPeaceConcert

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PRzlpvHLPE < Jai Ho

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PpWBKzP6r4 < Man in the mirror

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PpWBKzP6r4 < Finale

--

20th October 2011, 06:50 AM
unni menon on arr in manathodu mano

start 10.52

http://www.tubetamil.com/view_video.php?viewkey=f157fb8dcd462d8c326f&page=1&viewtype=&category=

20th October 2011, 03:51 PM
unni menon on arr in manathodu mano

start 10.52

http://www.tubetamil.com/view_video.php?viewkey=f157fb8dcd462d8c326f&page=1&viewtype=&category=

What is the name of the song he sings right before 10:52 ? Is it composed by ARR or why do they talk about ARR ?

20th October 2011, 07:23 PM
HJ just tweeted that he's gonna work with Gautham Menon again very soon. Hope ARR still gonna do Yohan.

20th October 2011, 08:55 PM
What is the name of the song he sings right before 10:52 ? Is it composed by ARR or why do they talk about ARR ?

baba88,ungalluku tamil theriyatha sir?

20th October 2011, 09:13 PM
Vote! The best AR Rahman film score

http://www.rediff.com/movies/slide-show/slide-show-1-vote-the-best-ar-rahman-film-score/20111020.htm

21st October 2011, 12:45 AM
baba88,ungalluku tamil theriyatha sir?

Even i don't see anything mentioned about ARR in that video at 10:52 :?

21st October 2011, 01:23 AM
Even i don't see anything mentioned about ARR in that video at 10:52 :?

see at videoclip no 3

21st October 2011, 02:20 PM
i think the Hindi VTV project is dropped...gvm ippo veruma indha trilingualdhan panrar pola..yaruku theriyum nalaiku idha drop pannitu innoru padam another loverstorynu start pannalum pannur :neutral:

21st October 2011, 05:42 PM
VTV hindi completed..PP going on now..next year release

22nd October 2011, 02:44 AM
i think the Hindi VTV project is dropped...gvm ippo veruma indha trilingualdhan panrar pola..yaruku theriyum nalaiku idha drop pannitu innoru padam another loverstorynu start pannalum pannur :neutral:

thevaiye illatha project ithu!konja kuda nambikaye illa intha padam odama innu!kaasukku-than thandam!

22nd October 2011, 02:49 PM
i also want vtv to get dropped..gvm oda korangu budhi pathi solladhan adhai sonnen

23rd October 2011, 09:46 AM
Jai Ho won Public Choice Award by World Soundtrack Academy. I guess Jai Ho had created a new record for the number of records it won :D

23rd October 2011, 11:13 AM
Jai Ho won Public Choice Award by World Soundtrack Academy. I guess Jai Ho had created a new record for the number of records it won :D

not 4 jai ho but 4 127hours!

23rd October 2011, 07:20 PM
Sleepy mistake :oops:

24th October 2011, 07:35 AM
Shreya G struggles singing ARR's portion :lol2:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKXSAVY4ebk

music man
25th October 2011, 10:01 AM
Hi all!!

Just check this video...This is from my most favourite electronic composer of all times..the legendary Vangelis..Here he has collaborated with his long time pal Jon Anderson..

This track is from his "Jon Anderson and Vangelis - The Friends of Mr. Cairo (1981)"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Ph8hNljOXE

This track is really surprising because, from itwofs, we came to know that the BGM "Ekamevadhvitheeyam - Theme music from Baba" is inspired from the "Al Capone" theme (1987) by Ennio Morricone...Its well known that A.R.Rahman considers the Greek wizard Vangelis as his major inspiration...The thing here is the Vangelis track is the original one, whereas Ennio Morricone's theme was released 6 to 7 years later....

Or do all the three legends have a common source of inspiration????

25th October 2011, 11:54 AM
Rahman scores for RA.One

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/news-and-interviews/Rahman-scores-for-RA-One/articleshow/10484382.cms

satissh_r
25th October 2011, 12:54 PM
Rahman scores for RA.One

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/news-and-interviews/Rahman-scores-for-RA-One/articleshow/10484382.cms

Poor poor journalism, last time SRK worked with Rahman was in Dil Se :banghead:

25th October 2011, 02:51 PM
It's TOI. No surprises there :lol:

25th October 2011, 04:41 PM

I can't believe such a journalist exists, "I'm Gonna Throw Up!". How could he forget 1 2 ka 4 and more importantly SWADES

26th October 2011, 09:46 AM
IDKWTHBPH-Before.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/293454_10150334435836720_63441126719_8655713_15527 05068_n.jpg

Found this click on FB. AR with Black on a light Background. 8-)

26th October 2011, 10:25 AM
:thumbsup: :cool:

26th October 2011, 05:19 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EC0j2f7s9F8&NR=1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EC0j2f7s9F8&amp;NR=1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zpM0SqLDrhk

Happy deepawali Rahmaniacs

Benny Lava
26th October 2011, 09:03 PM
see at videoclip no 3

Adha modhalla sollunga :twisted: Naanum munna pinna forward panni paathen!

Where is the next week one? Poongatrile is my most favorite of all songs sung by Unni menon. Some songs sound as if the singer was born to sing that particular one, it fits their voice and expression to the T. Poongatrile is one such song. Lovely voice!

28th October 2011, 12:25 PM

it's false news guys!confirm by gopal arryg.

28th October 2011, 02:48 PM
Apparently, Rahman dropped all his commitments abroad and returned to his studio in Chennai to record the music for the scene.

ithan semma comedy!

28th October 2011, 03:43 PM
Latest from GVM Ananda Vikatan interview (Anand Sir, dont ask for a scanned image. I dont have a scanner at home nor I can read AV at office :-))

* ARR has started composing tunes for Yohan

* ARR has given 2 additional tracks for hindi VTV.

28th October 2011, 05:55 PM
Latest from GVM Ananda Vikatan interview (Anand Sir, dont ask for a scanned image. I dont have a scanner at home nor I can read AV at office :-))

nichayama kekkamaten ajay,bikas naane net-la download pannithan ippa padikkiren free-ya!

28th October 2011, 07:02 PM
who is the md for NEP ??hj or thalaivar??

satissh_r
28th October 2011, 09:21 PM
who is the md for NEP ??hj or thalaivar??

Must be HJ or someone else, Deepavali annaiku vantha newspaper ad la kuda MD yaarnu podala... May be he's still trying to find a MD

29th October 2011, 03:34 AM
nichayama kekkamaten ajay,bikas naane net-la download pannithan ippa padikkiren free-ya!

where do you download it ?

29th October 2011, 10:00 AM
where do you download it ?

google-la search panni,vikatan PDF innu type pannungga!u will get it!

29th October 2011, 10:12 AM
arr interview

http://rahman360.com/?p=4734

29th October 2011, 10:18 AM
superb still..wooow!!!thalaivar

http://i.imgur.com/OOTTe.jpg

29th October 2011, 11:54 PM

GVM confirmed that VTV 2 is coming.

12th November 2011, 06:57 PM
12 Cues from Rockstar Background Score & and a brief note on the score

http://www.backgroundscore.com/2011/11/rockstar-background-score.html

13th November 2011, 12:27 PM
In Bollywood, the soundtrack doesn't stay in the background

http://www.thenational.ae/arts-culture/film/in-bollywood-the-soundtrack-doesnt-stay-in-the-background

14th November 2011, 08:29 AM
A.R.Rahman,SRK,Kareena in a Rohit shetty movie
Kareena Kapoor will pair with Shah Rukh Khan yet again after RA.One in Rohit Shetty's next film. There had been a great deal of speculation about who will be cast in the project.

Though many names including that of Katrina Kaif were being tossed around, Bebo emerged winner.

The music for Rohit's film is being scored by A R Rahman.

http://www.mid-day.com/entertainment/2011/nov/111111-informer-2.htm

14th November 2011, 09:07 AM
Who is this Rohit Shetty? Idhukku munnadi enna padam panni irukkaru :?

wizzy
14th November 2011, 09:44 AM
^ ethuvum solra marie ella :mrgreen: also don't think it is confirmed

14th November 2011, 10:33 AM
Who is this Rohit Shetty? Idhukku munnadi enna padam panni irukkaru :?

Epic blockbuster Singham :lol2:

14th November 2011, 11:17 AM
Ajay Devgn vachu pala blackbusters kudutha singhamthaan Rohit Shetty. :banghead:

16th November 2011, 02:46 AM
Uncle Yoonus about Acquaintance with AR Rahman

16th November 2011, 02:47 AM
Uncle Yoonus about Acquaintance with AR Rahman

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g1BJ5tMLnQQ

18th November 2011, 02:41 AM
Dubai International Film Festival to Honor Indian Music Composer A. R. Rahman with Lifetime Achievement Award

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/dubai-international-film-festival-honor-263085

http://www.emirates247.com/entertainment/ar-rahman-to-receive-lifetime-honour-at-diff-2011-11-17-1.428825

AR Rahman to receive lifetime honour at DIFF
http://www.khaleejtimes.com/DisplayArticle11.asp?xfile=data/theuae/2011/November/theuae_November491.xml&section=theuae
http://www.variety.com/article/VR1118046274?refCatId=13

Dubai fest to fete Rahman
http://www.dubaichronicle.com/2011/11/17/diff-to-honour-indian-composer-a-r-rahman-with-lifetime-achievement-honour/

18th November 2011, 02:44 AM
A R Rahman back to Malayalam
IndiaGlitz [Thursday, November 17, 2011] 0 Comments

After his one of the debut movies as a music director 'Yodha' , one of the world's favourite musician A R Rahman definitely reared million of fans in the state of Kerala. But never he attempted something for Malayalam films. Many of his Tamil ventures featured Malayalam lyrics and Kerala music, as a tribute to an industry that helped him and his family to stay on. But the recent news offer something for the Mollywood cinephiles to cheer.

Yes, ARR will be soon heard in Malayalam as has agreed to be a part of the magnum opus historical 'Randaamoozham' directed by Hariharan in the scripts of M T Vasudevan Nair.

Mohanlal will be in the role of Bheeman in this literary adaptation, which may also feature south Indian stalwarts like Kamal Haasan and Mammooty as Duryodhanana and Karnan. Pitched as the costliest ever movie ever made in Malayalam, 'Randaamoozham' will be on sets by the mid of 2012.

20th November 2011, 04:54 PM
can anyone help me how to use smiles..

satissh_r
20th November 2011, 05:05 PM
can anyone help me how to use smiles..

//Dig// http://codex.wordpress.org/Using_Smilies //

20th November 2011, 05:17 PM
//Dig// http://codex.wordpress.org/Using_Smilies //

thank u bro!try panni paapome!

AravindMano
1st December 2011, 05:19 AM
மணிரத்னம் படம் தொடங்கிவிட்டது ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமான் இசையில் உயிரைத் தாலாட்டும் ஒரு பாடல் எழுதியிருக்கிறேன்.

Why am I getting a "message too short" alert? Unicode not recognized?

Kumar2020
1st December 2011, 12:19 PM
Noted poet Vairamuthu has tweeted that he has written a “soul stirring song” for Mani Ratnam’s next film.

The tweet says the song will be a melody tuned by AR Rahman.

Vairamuthu has blown the lid of secrecy over Mani Ratnam’s next project said to be a love story with new faces.

Vairamuthu says the song is a lovely duet drenched in melody and will stand out in the midst of Kuthu and Tanglish numbers.

The buzz is that the film has been titled Pookadai and it stars Gautham, actor Karthik’s son and Thulasi daughter of yester year actress Radha.

It is also reported that Arjun would be playing a pivotal role in the film. The shoot ofthe film will kickstart near Thengapattanam in Kanyakumari district by the end of the month.

http://www.sify.com/movies/vairamuthu-pens-for-mani-ratnam-news-tamil-lmbk8zghjji.html

R.Latha
2nd December 2011, 12:48 PM
more pookadai news

Mani Ratnam is ready to wield the megaphone after a break. His yet-to-be-titled film will go on floors very soon, before which the ace director wants to record all the songs.

"There will be six songs in total," say circles close to him.

"Mani, along with A R Rahman and lyricist Vairamuthu, has already recorded a song. It is a soft romantic number which has mellifluous music by the Oscar-Grammy winner and soothing lyrics from the Kaviperarsu," they say further.

Actor Karthik's son Gautham is making his acting debut with this movie and a hunt is still on for the heroine. "A new face may be the leading lady of this film. Mani Ratnam is yet to take a final call on this," the sources say.

To be produced on Mani Ratnam's Madras Talkies banner in association with a corporate house, the film, set in the backdrop of coastal regions of Tamil Nadu, has script by ace writer Jeyamohan. "Shooting will start soon," conclude sources.

---

sha
5th December 2011, 05:05 PM
http://gulfnews.com/arts-entertainment/music/a-r-rahman-the-reluctant-star-1.943281

5th December 2011, 08:23 PM

Thambi GVP :thumbsup:

manojsmba
6th December 2011, 05:53 PM
கௌதமுக்கு நோ சொன்ன ரஹ்மான்

மணிரத்னம் படம், ர*ஜினி படம் என தமிழில் ரஹ்மான் பிஸி. இதுதவிர சர்வதேச பிராஜெக்ட்கள் இருக்கின்றன. இதனால் கௌதமுக்கு நோ சொல்லியிருக்கிறார் ரஹ்மான்.

கௌதம் இயக்கும் விண்ணைத்தாண்டி வருவாயா படத்தின் இந்தி *ரீமேக்கிற்கும் ரஹ்மான்தான் இசை. கூடுதலாக இரண்டு பாடல்களும் போட்டுக் கொடுத்தார். அதேபோல் நீதானே என் பொன்வசந்தம் படத்துக்கும் ரஹ்மானிடம் பேசிணுயிருந்தார் கௌதம். ஆனால் நேரமின்மை காரணமாக இசையமைக்க முடியாது என அவர் கௌதமிடம் கூறியதாக*த் தெ*ரிகிறது.

அதேநேரம் கௌதம் அடுத்து விஜய்யை வைத்து இயக்கும் யோஹன் அத்தியாயம் ஒன்று படத்திற்கு கண்டிப்பாக இசையமைப்பதாக தெ*ரிவித்துள்ளார்.
http://tamil.webdunia.com/entertainment/film/featuresorarticles/1112/06/1111206027_1.htm

kham
6th December 2011, 11:59 PM
Breaking news guyz!!

Im hearing from reliable sources dat A.R.Rahman - Rajnikanth - Shankar are coming together for another movie, and A.R. Rahman

7th December 2011, 04:21 AM
ippolaam rajiniyae sonnaalum oorula namba aalu illa...
vandhaa paappomnu irukkaanga...

7th December 2011, 11:25 AM
possible..Shankar is quite free after Nanban..and rajni's kocha is a quickie..wont be surprised if they team up again..Moreover Ajit/Vijay/Surya ellame busy, next freeyana big star Rajni mattum thaan :)

7th December 2011, 04:23 PM
Breaking News .

Director Shankar is once again in news by expressing his wish to make a movie along with Kamal Hassan and Rajinikanth together. His dream comes true , Sun Pictures Banner Chief Kalanidhi Maran is ready to produce that movie with a budget off Rs, 500 crore . If all things goes good this 500 crore project will done in three languages (Tamil, Telugu, Hindi ). One time discussion has over and in next days things will creates new buzz in Indian film industry.

This will be Second Movie for Kamal Hassan with Shankar , And for Rajini this will be third movie with Shakar. Rajini and Kamal had worked with some movie together in earlier days of their entry to tamil film industry. After a long break both super star and universal star are working for a good thing. This news itself most happiest thing not only for tamil film industry but also to whole Indian film industry.

Once again Director Shankar is shining and showing his capacity .

7th December 2011, 05:31 PM
500 crores? Enna vilaiyadaraangala :evil:

7th December 2011, 09:15 PM

indha "trustable source" "authentic source" nu pOdara posts ellaathayum ban paNNanum!

kham
8th December 2011, 09:51 AM
@satya_1979

Im not sure about the second news mentioned about the movie.. I got to know from Thalaivar's studio that Shankar has met Thalaivar last week and had a relatively long discussion. ARR has relatively agreed to do the project. If this movie goes ahead Thalaivar will be the MD eventhough lookin at last 2 releases of the combo im not dat excited.

If u wish u can take the news, or drop it from the other eye.. :)

8th December 2011, 10:21 AM
kham, my post was not pointed at you - at the media who creates and spreads news as per their whims and fancies (500 C, Rajni-Kamal etc) ! I am also a ARR Devotee like you :) If thalaivar is involved in great projects, would be as happy as you are!

R.Latha
8th December 2011, 07:15 PM
AR Rahman gives Dubai pupils a lesson of note

During an hour-long function yesterday, Rahman, 45, took questions from children of the Global Indian International School in Dubai's Mankhool area, and heard them singing some of his songs.

"You have to find yourself. Find out what your dreams are made of. Don't try to be someone else," Rahman said. "You have to work hard and be the best in whatever you do. You must find new ways to be different from other people. Work hard and define yourself so you are unique."

The students posed some tough questions for Rahman, such as asking for an inspirational message and whether he would leave behind a protégé to continue his legacy.

He responded by urging them to work hard in whichever field they chose.

"Each one of us is blessed with something. There is a treasure in each one of us," he said, responding to a parent's query about how he defined success.

"You sometimes find this early, sometimes late," he said. "Often you find it after you are tested in life. Success is also the blessings and good wishes of your family and friends."

http://www.thenational.ae/arts-culture/music/ar-rahman-gives-dubai-pupils-a-lesson-of-note

R.Latha
11th December 2011, 08:25 PM
AR Rahman Live in Concert in Dubai barely managed to strike a chord with thousands of his fans who had gathered to watch the music maestro in action Friday night at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

http://www.emirates247.com/entertainment/films-music/is-mozart-of-madras-losing-touch-ar-rahman-disappoints-fans-2011-12-10-1.432039

12th December 2011, 06:14 PM
A friend in ARRYG posted a topic,

Is AR Rahman the greatest musical composer the world has ever witnessed?

I am sharing my response below :)

Not only is he the greatest composer alive but also a great human being who I really look up to as I do to my parents. Rahman ji is one of the biggest reasons why I'm happy everyday because he's had a big hand in changing my attitude towards life to that of a carefree Sufi who appreciates all the little things in life. He has also sedimented my love for my family, friends and most importantly for humanity. This influence itself proves his greatness. So in that sense he is the greatest composer simply because no other composer has shaped my approach to life as much as him.

There are a lot of biased A.R. Rahman fans out there who don't appreciate the work of others. I personally am a fan of good music first and then a Rahmaniac and this too is due to his influence. Each to their own but I try and expand my listening horizons of music everyday as I make beats occasionally. I took up experimenting with music due to getting influenced by my bro as well as being inspired by Rahman ji. It is vital for me to listen to a range of music genres to get inspired. There are genres that Rahman ji hasn't attempted whereas other Indian composers have so in these terms it would be unfair to give him all the credit alone. Rahman ji has left behind so many composers but he always iterates he still is a learner and has far to go. (Modesty and humbleness personified :bow: )

The average listener would say a good song is one with meaningful lyrics, soul stirring melody and superb arrangements. With due respect all these factors are conventional ones and certain good songs get lost with time. Compared to other composers how many of Rahman ji's songs have got lost with time? Well, even the non-rahmaniacs could pull out more than a dozen of his compositions that they freshly remember till this day. So considering I said, I'm a fan of good music, it is definitely Rahman ji who provides good music more often than not. And why is he a cut above the rest is because he gives importance to as well as delivering the best of sound quality. This is done in a completely different league to the others in the scene. So it's not all about delivering good songs, it is equally vital that the song possesses a matching quality.

Rahman ji broke the pattern mould in Indian songs. He may not have attempted certain genres that his contemporaries have delivered but he is more versatile because other composers attempt new genres only to the repeat those genres over and over again later on. Rahman ji hardly repeats genres that he has experimented with and he has covered more genres than all of the Indian film music directors give or take a few.

I read one comment a while ago Rahman ji has not delivered a classic BGM and the person went ahead and gave a few examples for comparisons. I'm a big fan of John Williams and would like to stress how I fail to understand how his Memoirs of a Geisha lost to the score of Brokeback Mountain in the Oscars but with due respect to Hollywood composers, I don't see why we are complaining about Rahman ji not be on par with them in terms of BGM. Isn't this child talk since Rahman ji is our Indian icon and we should't want him to be something he is not. Considering this he nevertheless takes up the challenge to satisfy his critics. So yes he attempts western classical music and excels like anything. eg. bgm of the legend of bhagat singh, laagan, zubieda, bose and the end credits of enthiran. All these are classics in their own space and put some hollywood material to shame. So instead of asking when is Rahman ji going to compose a memorable bgm I will argue and ask when is James howard, hanz zimmer or john williams going to compose a song like Mel isaiye, Porakalam enge, kannanule and I could go for ages with this list.

Critics should not judge brilliance by Western standards plus nowadays critics are just looking for any excuse to have a go at him because they handle the fact over how much he has achieved and how he's made a crossover and now they argue that he doesn't have time for his country, so I really don't understand these dumb people who keep contradicting themselves.

So for me personally versatility defines greatness and above all personality and there's no denying in the fact that no other composer who match Rahman ji's personality.

Sunil

12th December 2011, 06:57 PM
Vijay's Yohan will be made like an international film: Gautham Menon

Eros International Media Ltd (EIML), a leading global company in the Indian film entertainment industry, has announced a co-production deal with Photon Kathaas Productions (PKP) for forthcoming Tamil movie Yohan Adhyayam Ondru (John: Chapter 1) starring Vijay. Produced in association with Future Film Production Ltd (UK Production), the film will be directed by Gautham Menon with music by AR Rahman and is expected to commence production from Q2 2012.

Mr Gautham Vasudev Menon says, “I am really looking forward to filming an all-out action film after Vettaiyadu Villaiyadu. Also interesting because I will be working with Vijay for the first time. Yohan will be made like an international film while still retaining all the elements, especially music, that makes Indian cinema work. AR Rahman has already composed a theme song for the film which is simply outstanding. PKP (of which I am a part of) and I have found the ideal partners in Eros for a film on this scale, which needs to be produced and released on an international scale.”

Yohan is the first of its kind (in South India) action thriller centering around a character that will be featured in a series of films (prequels and sequels). The film will be shot in international locations, predominantly in the United Kingdom with the active support of UK government. The UK has a very favourable policy towards encouraging foreign filmmakers to shoot their films in the UK.

Kumar2020
13th December 2011, 10:49 AM
Vijay's Yohan will be made like an international film: Gautham Menon

Eros International Media Ltd (EIML), a leading global company in the Indian film entertainment industry, has announced a co-production deal with Photon Kathaas Productions (PKP) for forthcoming Tamil movie Yohan Adhyayam Ondru (John: Chapter 1) starring Vijay. Produced in association with Future Film Production Ltd (UK Production), the film will be directed by Gautham Menon with music by AR Rahman and is expected to commence production from Q2 2012.

Mr Gautham Vasudev Menon says, “I am really looking forward to filming an all-out action film after Vettaiyadu Villaiyadu. Also interesting because I will be working with Vijay for the first time. Yohan will be made like an international film while still retaining all the elements, especially music, that makes Indian cinema work.AR Rahman has already composed a theme song for the film which is simply outstanding.
PKP (of which I am a part of) and I have found the ideal partners in Eros for a film on this scale, which needs to be produced and released on an international scale.”

Yohan is the first of its kind (in South India) action thriller centering around a character that will be featured in a series of films (prequels and sequels). The film will be shot in international locations, predominantly in the United Kingdom with the active support of UK government. The UK has a very favourable policy towards encouraging foreign filmmakers to shoot their films in the UK.

wow....eventhough its still very early....but this statement by gautham menon is very exciting....and i cant wait anymore....hope time passes by quickly......and if this is an action thriller made by one of the very finest filmmaker in india and also personally one of my favourites...imagine how the BGM for this movie will be.....im sure both a.r rahman and gautham menon will rock again through this movie after vtv...although this is a different genre....

14th December 2011, 11:49 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/377947_2608998158303_1655455298_2449205_1124757249 _n.jpg

Kumar2020
14th December 2011, 11:58 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/377947_2608998158303_1655455298_2449205_1124757249 _n.jpg

The Man......The Music......The Magic.....!!!

its me M.r Ajay...your facebook friend....Kumareswaran Thiruchelvam...have a nice day...

14th December 2011, 12:02 PM
Oh.. Ok.. :) :thumbsup:

16th December 2011, 11:11 AM
hindi vtv song releases around christmas
amy jackson in twitter.com\i_am_amyjackson

23rd December 2011, 10:14 PM
"Looking Forward To Composing For SRK Again" - A. R. Rahman EXCLUSIVE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aK4Ty4lX3iE&feature=youtu.be&t=3m1s

28th December 2011, 11:23 PM
'I Wanted The World To See Who She Is' - A R Rahman on his Mother
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UFaLrmM-3r8

28th December 2011, 11:50 PM
Steven Spielberg signs up AR Rahman

A. R. Rahman, also called as mozart of madras created history by bagging two academy awards for the stunning music of Danny Boyle directed Slumdog Millionaire. He has added another feather to his cap-that of working with world-famous Jurassic park fame director-producer Steven Spielberg.

Buzz has it that this top director has roped in A.R.Rahman to give music for top screen-writer Alex Kurtzman’s directorial debut titled Welcome To People. Confirming the news, Rahman was quoted to have said, “Yes, I have just finished the soundtrack for WTP. It was great to work with Kurtzman, who is a top screen-writer in Hollywood and have Spielberg backing it. I really had a great experience working on the film.”

Apart from Slumdog Millionaire, Rahman has worked on two other Hollywood projects viz. Couple’s Retreat and 127 Hours. On his part, the iconic Spielberg gushed about Rahman and was quoted to have said, “I have heard interesting compositions of Rahman and would love to work with him in he near future.”

R.Latha
1st January 2012, 01:54 PM
"I have just finished a movie called "Welcome To People" (yes, it's a Steven Spielberg film, directed by Alex Kurtzmen of the "Mission Impossible" series fame, but Rahman says it matter-of-factly) and in Hindi, I am doing Yashji's movie, and in Tamil, I am doing Mani Sir's movie, and there's Bharat Bala's film," is Rahman's response when asked what he's currently working on.

And there's a world tour coming up? "It's not like a world tour. But there is a show," and he laughs before saying, "I've to clear my debts, so I got to do shows now." He adds, "It's a four-five countries tour, India - maybe. I think they are working on it right now. But there's another big thing coming up - actually, another kind of tour, a German collaboration. The German Film Orchestra Babelsberg is going to do a multi-city tour in India, and on my music - you know, the "Bombay" theme, "Lagaan" theme, etc. And I wanted to revive this dying art of orchestra. Nowadays it's all machines, so I thought of collaborating and bringing to India a 100-piece orchestra. This German orchestra will be playing all my themes from the last decade along with the singers from my Music Conservatory. They will cover Mumbai, Delhi, Calcutta, Chennai and Bangalore. The Delhi schedule is on January 22," says Rahman. He wants to attend all of the five events, but due to prior commitments, will be able to attend only three. Let's see if Delhi gets lucky!
http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2011-12-31/news-and-interviews/30573371_1_ar-rahman-yashji-bharat-bala

baroque
2nd January 2012, 02:10 AM
Fabulous things go on for Rahman.
yeah... read the other day about his project for Spielberg production:thumbsup:, Yashraj films in Hindi & ManiR in Tamil, we can expect some great treats.......Very happy!

WISH YOU ALL A HAPPY AND PROSPEROUS 2012.

Vinatha.

3rd January 2012, 02:27 PM
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO A.R.RAHMAN........

Any plans for fans meet @ ARR's house? i think there was one planned some years back and ARR obliged to cut the cake that the fans (ARRYG group) had brought........ plans iruntha pleaaaaaaaase include me :D

3rd January 2012, 02:51 PM
Innum 2 days irukke birthday-kku. Adhukkulla wish pandreenga :?

3rd January 2012, 10:58 PM
newyear celebrations 1 week ah nadakkarathillaya..athe pola than ithuvum :) ethuna fans visit to ARR house irukka therinjukkathan

R.Latha
4th January 2012, 04:11 PM
TOI interview

What do you think of the new rage - 'Kolaveri di'?

It's a sweet song. It's got a fresh new sound, its composer is a young guy...it's a clutter-breaker song.

What does its success tell us about trends in music - and marketing?

It became a hit due to the internet, the way it went viral. Shekhar Kapur, the filmmaker, used to tell us five years ago that this was the way it would work in the future - and it did...but not every song will do the same thing. We last saw this with 'Jai Ho' in Slumdog Millionaire, which also caught people's attention around the world.

Can you compare the two?

Yes. Although no one abroad understood what 'Jai Ho' meant, they were singing it. The song had a catharsis everyone understood. Its words were catchy and the music was different to prevailing dark, serious films.

Speaking of films, you were credited with bringing melody back to Bollywood - but today, film compositions again sound repetitive. Your view?

There is a certain kind of cannibalism in the film industry today...if one item song works, every filmmaker begins trying to make the same kind of item song rather than be challenged creatively. I'm driven by musical passion but not every filmmaker is. Many would just copy each other - but listeners are discerning. When i composed passionate tracks for Rockstar, people sat up and noticed.

You've moved from folksy to techno, then rock-Sufi compositions. But what's your defining musical style?

I don't know. I go by what drives me in new territory. I compose without a dominant personality. At the moment, i'm living between three worlds, Tamil cinema, Hindi cinema and the West. These are very different. I'm surrounded by all kinds of musical influences, i'm living in-between time zones, i'm listening to Chopin, to Tchaikovsky, to amazing world music... all these shape my style.

So, like S D Burman, will we see influences like Chopin shaping your film compositions soon?

These might influence me in the next couple of years...as of now, i have purposely kept away from too many film assignments - i want to work with passion rather than be driven by deadlines.

Imagine a world where there's no technology to help make music - what instruments would you use to compose?

The voice is the greatest instrument. It works everywhere - i'd use the voice anytime.

Yet, you don't sing much - we get a sense of the singer inside you appearing for small intervals, then receding. Why this shyness?

You know, being a performer-composer, you want to be perfect. I do not sing without riyaaz. I have to stand before my own singers and tell them to sing in time but also do so myself!

What kinds of music do you like hearing?

I have to deal with so much contemporary music for my work that i find my favourite music always leans to the purest form of classical music, whether south Indian, northern, western or qawwali.

Do you have one favourite raga?

Yes. I think the most amazing raga is Bhatiyar.

6th January 2012, 01:14 AM
It’s 2012; hence the mark of two decades since Rahman Ji landed on the scene.

DEAR OSCAR THAMIZHAN MOZART OF MADRAS ISAI PUYAL PADMA BHUSHAN DR. ALLAH RAKHA RAHMAN HAPPY 20th BIRTHDAY, BEST WISHES!!!!

My recalling of how I became a Rahman Ji worshiper

My earliest memory is when I heard Rukkumani. I was three and I know many people can’t remember things from childhood because they are so grown up but the memories we do have must mean something because we’re able to reach to that part of our brain and use it to better ourselves. Anyways, I was at my cousin’s house with Roja playing on the Hi-fi next to me, when Rukkumani came on I thought it was the best thing I’ve ever heard and I kept telling my cousin to rewind the song after it finished. She seemed extremely pissed off but after a while even she couldn’t get the song out of her head. Funnily I didn’t even know who the Music Director was lol I was unaware of Rahman Ji’s existence yet I had been warped by this one song like never before.

The next track to change me was Mukkabla. I watched the film before I heard the track and when watching the film, every song was beautifully shot. My picks are Ennavale Ennavale and Mukkabla. As a listener I love Urvasi Urvasi and Kaadhalikkum Pennin Kaigal.

My brother used to purchase audio cassettes every week or his week wouldn’t be complete hehe. That’s how I developed an ear for Indian film music. I still didn’t know that all the material I was listening to was in fact dubbed from Tamil. Time passed and I was continuously humming and nodding my head along to Humma Humma, Kuchi Kuchi, Maya Machindra, No Problem, Ooh La La La etc. whilst not bothering to check the audio credits as I used to just take the cassette and shove it in the stereo.

Once on holiday in India, me and my family went to an audio shop, I saw the CD of Rangeela and it read original music by A.R. Rahman and I saw his face for the first time. I still remember that day as I didn’t let anybody change the music for our five hour drive. When arriving home (UK) I went to my brother’s collection as I wanted to listen to Chor Chor (Thiruda Thiruda) and when taking the cassette out I made sure I look at the name of music director on the cover. I got into this habit and became selective to A.R. Rahman. Over time I realised that Rangeela was his debut Hindi project as prior to that all his material was dubbed. P.K. Mishra and Mehboob deserve high praise for not slaughtering the lyrics.

Post my India holiday I dwelled in the soundtracks of Priyanaka (Indira), Kadhal Desam (Duniya Dilwalon Ki), and other A.R. Rahman albums that were lying in my house yet being unknown to me.

In 1998 - 99 A.R. Rahman released many Hindi projects i.e. Dil se, Daud, Doli Saja Ke Rakhna, Earth *Kabhi Na Kabhi *(exlcuing Anjali Anjali from Duet), Taal and Thakshak.

With the millennium round the corner, I still wasn’t a hardcore fan as I am now. I still hadn’t heard any Tamil songs. In 2000 A.R. Rahman arrived with Pukar and Zubeida. I didn’t take much notice of Zubeida but I loved Pukar. In hindsight, this was a result of Pukar having more of a distinct South Indian touch. I was passionate about the South Indian touch in songs. I craved it so much that I preferred listening to Hindi songs that copied South Indian songs more Hindi originals themselves. I don’t know what attracted me towards them, maybe it was the soul and soporific factor as well the fact that more additional instruments, pads etc. were included. Or maybe it was the tone of the ragas.

In early 2000s Rahman Ji was focusing more on Hindi projects and his tracks were going throw the slow poison phase. At this time I started liking SELs (Shankar Ehsaan Loy) music as they delivered the nineties Rahman Ji sound. I started arguing with my brother that SEL are more melodious but he was very defensive of Rahman Ji then. It was 2003; Saathiya and The Legend of Bhagat Singh released. I used to listen to Mera Rang De Basanti every day before sleeping. At the same time I used to SELs Armaan on loop.

With the invention of the internet, life changed completely. I heard all my favourites in Tamil and Telugu respectively. It opened doors for me to other South Indian MDs.

During the initial days of me becoming an obsessed Rahmaniac. Don't get me wrong, I heard many songs of his up till then (Refer to above) but one day I thought, let's listen to sir's native songs. So I sat up at some silly time during the night downloading Rahman Ji's Tamil albums for hours and hours...

Once I shifted them to my iPod I heard some songs and others I forwarded naively. I forwarded certain songs like an idiot and then came the song that turned my life like a table lol (sorry for my lame idioms/metaphors)

The shakers and then the Signature humming of the song sent me somewhere else hehe The first interlude and the use of pizzicato aaah certainly divine. Basically, I can't explain how I felt as I'll be here all day and adjectives will be flowing from every angle.

I heard that song numerous times that night and I downloaded the Hindi dubbed version. For the first time I heard the Tamil version (Mel Isaiye from Mr. Romeo) before the Hindi and TBH I wasn't satisfied with the Hindi one due to repeated listening of the original. But the Hindi lyrics Mil Hi Gaye translates to I've met you and that day I realized I had truly met Rahman for the rest of my life.

During this time I also started experimenting with music. I had been influenced by Rahman ji’s diversity and I started appreciating his material that I naively ignored in the early 2000s now and also was going gaga over Rahman Ji’s power house vocals. I started listening to more and more genres and feel now I’ve become more defensive about Rahman ji compared to my brother.

I am so happy I went to his concert to in 2010, it was a dream come. There are two people whom I’ve always wanted to see and god has been really kind to me. One was Rahman Ji himself and the other one was Arnold Schwarzenegger.

To the pioneer of music Rahman Ji, have the best day and I pray that God showers you with more and more success. Not only have you delivered the best of the best but you've also made me and so many others change into better people. I and so many others simply can't thank and congratulate you enough and we are ever indebted to your love.

Love,

Sunil Malhotra

6th January 2012, 04:59 AM
Happy bday thalaiva :)

6th January 2012, 07:00 AM
Oscar-winning composer AR Rahman, who celebrates his birthday today, gets chatty about topics close to his heart

The year 2011 was a relatively disappointing one for fans of the Mozart of Madras, AR Rahman, as the composer released just a couple of India albums (Rockstar and Ek Deewana Tha). But there's good news in this new year as Rahman - who turns 46 today - is all set for his homecoming, quite literally, with at least four projects down south.

There's Rajinikanth's Kochadaiyan, Gautham Vasudev Menon's Yohan: Adhyayam Ondru, Mani Ratnam's film and a movie with Bharatbala on the cards. "I am doing Rajini's film and it should be exciting," he starts off. Will he use any of the tunes that he already composed for Sultan or Rana, the other Rajini films that are on hold at the moment? "We're yet to decide about that," he says.

Though all these assignments will keep the composer in the country this year, the first week of 2012 has seen him out mostly of India. "I was out of the country on January 1 and will be pardes on my birthday as well, so there are no special plans," he says.

Rahman will join hands with his favourite director, Mani Ratnam, yet again for his upcoming flick that's already making headlines. So what can we expect from the combination this time around? "Mani is quite secretive these days," he says with a smile and adds, "We're still in the process of working out the music for the film."

Is there any non-Rahman film music that he has liked of late? "I can't think of anything other than Why This Kolaveri Di?, which is nice," he replies.

Currently, the composer is extremely happy that some of his popular orchestral tracks will be performed live by a team from the German Film Orchestra, Babelsberg, and the students from his KM Music Conservatory in a five-city tour. "When I was a musician, a crowd used to gather to witness how music is made," he reminisces, and adds, "In these concerts, you can witness this and the way orchestral tracks are played, sans any digital enhancements. "Unfortunately, now the studios have shrunk and this no longer happens."

Rahman's keeping his vocal chords busy this year too, and he's begun by crooning a track in Ek Deewana Tha. "It's an addition to this album and something that didn't feature in the Tamil original (Vinnaithandi Varuvaaya)," he signs off.

source: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/news-and-interviews/AR-Rahman-Musically-yours/articleshow/11375899.cms