View Full Version : Oscar Thamizhan 'Isaipuyal' AR Rahman News/Updates

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

16th March 2011, 12:40 PM
http://ge.tt/#4I1okAE

shylu65
16th March 2011, 02:28 PM

Quite interesting article! It's better to view as google doc - http://docs.google.com/viewer?url=http://ge.tt/4I1okAE/Rahman-StraitsTimesLifeSingapore-15Mar2011-Low.pdf&chrome=true as you can zoom in, so that it will increase the readability.

In that article under ROAD TO OSCARS column they have mentioned, "1999: Performed with late pop star Michael Jackson in Munich, Germany, at his Michael Jackson And Friends concert." - Did he?
When asked how he destresses when he is not thinking about music, he laughs: "I am on Facebook." - lol :D

16th March 2011, 07:47 PM

Thanks, Ajay.

ARR is the most consistent music director I've ever come across and in addition to this even after 20 the man has become more of a perfectionist. :)

17th March 2011, 11:55 AM
http://i53.tinypic.com/2n19ons.jpg

ARR @ Rockstar shooting spot in Kashmir: http://rahman360.com/?p=3453

AudazJay
18th March 2011, 02:12 PM
amazing still! :thumbsup:Thanks Ajay :-D

19th March 2011, 05:38 PM
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Lifestyle/Story/STIStory_645863.html

21st March 2011, 11:12 AM
Yes, it is true! Director Gautham Menon and Parthipan are all set to work together and take the small screen by storm. The director is soon to make a serial with Parthepan as the protagonist. No, do not groan, for this is not going to be your regular cry fest mega serial. The serial will be a one of a kind detective series where Parthepan will play the lead and take the audience through the mysteries and adventures of a detective.

When contacted about it, Parthepan confirmed that it is true and that he and Gautham Menon spoke about this when they met at the Directors-40 event. The surprise doesn't stop with this! The director has also managed to rope in Oscar winner AR Rahman to compose music for the title song! Gautham Menon, who will direct and produce the serial, has confirmed this news and said that an official announcement will be made soon. Look like three great personalities are making their small screen debut and we find this project exciting and hope we can review the series!

muzammil_fr
21st March 2011, 12:33 PM
Urgent - Must watch Jhootha hi sahi - Down Down Medias
Hello guys,
Before 1 week someone in somewhere who messaged about Jhootha hi sahi have to watch, it's not like how media review & some peoples who reviewed about that movie, finally i saw that movie in DVD, FYI i don't know a hindi word, that dvd don't have subtitles too, again i told myself, i see for music don't care about languegue, i liked the story, it's really superb, from the starting of movie untill end A.R.Rahman stump everywhere i really enjoy whole movie bgm, and must talk about song picturation one of bests after long long time ago, every song used very perfectly, i really missed 3 months to watch the fantastic movie, moving scenes in movie very good, really i don't never hope that i can enojoy this movie as it's after i read those stupid media review, since long time i don't watch hindi movie because of bad review, so guys if you are someone in my case watch the movie, i go soon rip video songs and uploaded here, watching the movie have feeling watch a english movie (Music & pictures). i hope you all who missed the movie will watch.

22nd March 2011, 02:09 PM
http://soundcloud.com/dj-krazie/dj-krazie-2k10non-stop-ar-rahmans-hits-medley-mix/

This is mix is done by my brother whom I consider a more ardent ARR fan.

24 Non Stop AR Rahman’s Hits - Remixed by Dj Krazie 2010.

1. Dil Se – Dil Se Re – AR Rahman
2. Jodhaa Akbar - Mann Mohanaa - Bela Shende
3. Lagaan - O Paalanhaare – Lata Mangeshkar
4. Daud – Shabba Shabba - Neeraj Vora, Ranu Mukherji, Sonu Nigam
5. Dil Se – Jiya Jale - Lata Mangeshkar, M.G.Sreekumar
6. Daud – Bhavre - Asha Bhosle
7. Doli Saja Ke Rakhna - Jhula Bahon Ka – Sadhna Sargam
8. Jeans - Columbus – Sonu Nigam
9. Duniya Dilwalon Ki - Mustafa Mustafa – AR Rahman
10. Mr Romeo. - Paas Aaja Baalma – Ila Arun
11. Jodhaa Akbar - Khwaja Mere Khwaja - AR Rahman
12. Raavan - Kata Kata - Ila Arun, Sapna Awasthi, Kunal Ganjawala
13. Jeans - Hai Re Hai Rabba – Udit Narayan
14. Doli Saja Ke Rakhna - Chal Kheva Re Kheva – Sukhwinder Singh, Ranu Mukherjee
15. Kisna - Hum Hain Is Pal Yahan – Udit Narayan
16. 1947 Earth - Rut Aa Gayi Re - Sukhwinder Singh
17. Nayak - The Real Hero – Ruki Shukhi Roti - Shankar Mahadevan, Alka Yagnik
18. Love Birds – No Problem – Apache Indian
19. Love You Hamesha - Ek Ladki Thi – Kavita Krishnamurthy
20. Roja – Roja Jaaneman – Hariharan
21. Mangal Pandey - The Rising - Holi Re - Udit Narayan, Shreya Ghoshal, Deepak Giri, Shalini
22. Rang De Basanti - Rang De Basanti - Daler Mehndi
23. Humse Hai Muqabala - Sun Ri Sakhi - Hariharan
24. Taal – Ni Main Samaj Gayee - Sukhwinder Singh, Richa Sharma

22nd March 2011, 07:16 PM
Yes, it is true! Director Gautham Menon and Parthipan are all set to work together and take the small screen by storm. The director is soon to make a serial with Parthepan as the protagonist. No, do not groan, for this is not going to be your regular cry fest mega serial. The serial will be a one of a kind detective series where Parthepan will play the lead and take the audience through the mysteries and adventures of a detective.

When contacted about it, Parthepan confirmed that it is true and that he and Gautham Menon spoke about this when they met at the Directors-40 event. The surprise doesn't stop with this! The director has also managed to rope in Oscar winner AR Rahman to compose music for the title song! Gautham Menon, who will direct and produce the serial, has confirmed this news and said that an official announcement will be made soon. Look like three great personalities are making their small screen debut and we find this project exciting and hope we can review the series!

seems interesting..crime series on TV is far more thrilling than on cinema..with thalaivar it could only be better..heard its on Vijay TV,my fav channel...eagerly waiting for it :D

shylu65
23rd March 2011, 01:26 AM
A.R.Rahman's first authorized biography to release on April 6!
http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/news/2011/03/22/15529/index.html

23rd March 2011, 10:39 AM
http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/190404_180821015298112_119238248123056_392431_4078 058_n.jpg
‎"AKON is a really nice guy and we might collaborate in future," says AR Rahman at the Press Conference held in Marina Bay Sands last week. Stay tuned to OLI 96.8FM and www.facebook.com/arrahmansg for the full interview! (Photos of AKON and AR Rahman from the album Freedom)

23rd March 2011, 12:10 PM
On 6th April, 2011 Om Books International will be launching 'AR
Rahman: The Spirit' of Music which provides a fascinating window into
the world of the great artist. Rahman's honesty, intelligence and
unpretentiousness shine through as he talks about everything you
wanted to know about his life and his world of music. The book launch
will be attended by some well-known celebrities and will have renowned
film maker and producer Mani Ratnam doing the honours.

The book has been written by renowned film historian, Nasreen Munni
Kabir, who has also made over 80 documentaries on Indian cinema for
Channel 4 TV, U.K. In this book, she provides rare insights into
Rahman's private life and his music. There are photographs from his
personal archives as well as a gratis CD of music composed by him (8
tracks).

Says Ajay Mago, Publisher, Om Books International, "It is indeed a
rare honour to publish this book. AR Rahman's journey, like that of
most great artists, is one that moves and inspires. Nasreen Munni
Kabir has recorded this journey, over the last three years. This book
also has a CD with AR Rahman's compositions for free distribution with
the first edition."

A two-time winner of the Academy Award (Oscars), the BAFTA and the
Grammys, AR Rahman is popularly known as the man who has redefined
contemporary Indian music. He started his career composing commercials
for cinema and television. But after ROJA (1991), Rahman's musical
genius caught the attention of Andrew Lloyd Webber who invited him to
compose music for the stage production of BOMBAY DREAMS. He is now
familiar to the audiences in the West as his song Jai Ho from the film
SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE topped the charts all around the world. His film
soundtrack albums have sold over 150 million copies across the world
and he deservedly enjoys iconic status in India.

23rd March 2011, 12:25 PM
The students at Global Indian International School Singapore were thrilled and overjoyed to perform in front of the Living Legend AR Rahman. God bless them :)

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?fbid=180825595297654&id=119238248123056&aid=39112

His message to aspiring young singers there: Just believe in yourself and you will find endless possibilities of success in your life.
-A.R. Rahman

23rd March 2011, 01:24 PM
Mani Sir to release the authorized autobiography
http://www.sify.com/movies/mani-ratnam-to-launch-rahman-s-biography-april-6-news-national-ldwtujhbbdd.html

28th March 2011, 02:42 PM
http://www.flipkart.com/rahman-nasreen-munni-kabir-spirit-book-9380070148?ref=b4ff046d-6ed2-4517-8c01-e16b866936bb

29th March 2011, 07:08 PM
Pretty poetic

http://www.mmail.com.my/content/67805-pretty-poetic

http://www.mmail.com.my/sites/default/files/imagecache/medium/ARGQ_BW_fullrez.jpg

HIS music has touched many hearts but his extraordinary talents gained an even bigger international attention in 2008, thanks to the success of Slumdog Millionaire. Now, Bollywood composer A.R. Rahman is soaring even higher.

With countless memorable Tamil and Hindi tunes decorating many films from India, Rahman has long been a legendary figure within the region.

His song Chaiyya Chaiyya from the award-winning Hindi film Dil Se is an example of the many songs that have remained unforgettable, and cherished by music lovers until today. Songs by A.R. Rahman have also broken language barriers.

Recently, the maestro was in Singapore as part of his latest project - 'The Jai Ho Concert: The Journey Home World Tour'. It is no surprise that this world renowned composer/singer attracted not only Indian locals in Singapore but also foreign fans. They just could not miss the opportunity to experience his music live.

Since music is universal and language is out of the door, that's definitely the case with Rahman's concert.

The concert proved to be a psychedelic experience as it showcased his various influences. Fans were entertained with a range of sound - from classical-influenced tunes, to songs that are laced with hip hop, reggae, as well as dance beats and ballads.

His ability to fuse Eastern classical music with Western sensibilities is evident at the concert, that would definitely be the reason for Rahman to cross over easily as a great composer from Mumbai's own Bollywood, to Chennai's Kollywood and most recently all the way to Hollywood.

Those at the concert were obviously in awe of his talent in concocting his massala of music. The songs presented in the Singapore gig were catchy and upbeat, and some of the 'tear jerkers' really made the audience emotional. The entire experience was pretty dramatic.

The stage for the concert was simple with band members framing the stairs in a very laid-back style. The same stairs were also utilised by dancers and singers as they made their entrances and exits.

The mood changed accordingly as suggested by the creative and colourful visuals on a huge screen that became the backdrop for the entire evening. As a result, the concert was a total audio-video sensation for viewers.

It was a remarkable moment when legendary veteran Hindi singer Lata Mangeshkar appeared on screen to sing a duet with Rahman. Their song was Luka Chuppi from the film Rang De Basanti, an Academy Award nominee for Best Original Song in a film in 2006.

The audience were 'assaulted' with hits after hits, and no one was complaining for sure!

Another interesting segment was when the troupe did a medley which compiled all Rahman's classic hits from various films. As the singers lined the steps, Rahman walked on stage to begin the 'journey through films'.

In another captivating segment, Rahman performed a composition of songs based on prayers that represented his Hindu and Muslim background, which was pretty spiritual.

Over 20 songs were performed including many in medleys. Rahman and his supporting singers also sang some of his electro-infused tracks such as Nanan, Yeh Jo Des Hai Tera, Rang De Basanti, Latikka's Theme, Barso Re, Dil Se, Bombay Theme and Ringa.

That night, Rahman did everything. If he didn't sing the lead, he'd be playing an instrument *- the piano, keyboard, guitar as well as the accordion. Song number 21 was Chaiyya Chaiyya, and that got the crowd even more excited.

As he left the stage after finishing the song, the crowd just stood still in anticipation for the biggest hit of all. And yes, the maestro knew that too, and immediately appeared with the entire cast to complete the concert with Jai Ho - the song that was part of the Slumdog Millionaire craze. That really got the crowd even wilder as they sang and danced along.

The end of the concert was also like watching a movie. During the opening, Rahman made an entrance through a huge 'brass door' projected on the background screen. That was also his exit.

HONOURED FOR HIS MUSIC

According to Wikipedia, In 2009, for his score in Slumdog Millionaire, Rahman won, among others, the Critics' Choice Award; the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Score; the BAFTA Award for Best Film Music and two Academy Awards for Best Original Music Score and Best Original Song at the Oscars.

His work for the film 127 Hours garnered him Golden Globe, BAFTA and two Academy Award nominations for Best Original Music Score and Best Original Song this year.

29th March 2011, 07:50 PM
http://i52.tinypic.com/169mbsh.jpg

http://i51.tinypic.com/2zo9gz6.jpg

http://i52.tinypic.com/2nizbdh.jpg

30th March 2011, 04:28 PM
A R Rahman is the Sachin Tendulkar of music and Sachin is the Rahman of cricket. And ace director Mani Ratnam has brought these two legends together, for a short film.

The film shot for Shakthi Foundation, which works for the rights of the differently abled, has Sachin in front of the camera, with Mani Ratnam wielding the megaphone.

The Oscar-Grammy winner has taken care of the background score and he has provided soul-stirring music, we learn. "The short film is a shot in the arm for the physically challenged who successfully cross all hurdles in front of them," sources say

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/65374.html

30th March 2011, 04:40 PM
Rahman fought suicidal thoughts

The world knows about the genius of Oscar-winner Allah Rakha Rahman but very little is known about the enigmatic musician’s private life. Now, his first-ever official biography, A R Rahman The Spirit of Music, published by Om Books International, promises to let fans the world over know what makes the reserved Rahman tick.

The biography, written by Nasreen Munni Kabir, will release on April 6. It talks about how he approaches work, and more importantly, how he understands
his own life. The book also talks about how his spiritual leanings have helped him develop a balance and how his irrepressible spirit fought demons of suicidal
thoughts. He says in the book, “I live from day to day now. I believe that everything will be taken care of. It gives me a sense of stability instead of me
feeling that I need to act or react to everything around me.”

However, this sense of tranquility and faith didn’t come overnight. In the book, Rahman gives a detailed account of how at one time he didn’t want to live and how 1989 was the turning point in his life when his mother sold all the gold jewellery kept aside for the marriage of his younger sisters.

Rahman says, “With
that money I bought my first Fostex 16-track mixer/recorder. In those days, film
music in Chennai was recorded on single mono track and here I had 16 tracks. All
those years of struggle, humiliation, being ordered around by other people,
seeing worry on the faces of my family, remembering the feeling of being
overwhelmed by an inferiority complex, the lack of self-esteem, and even at
times, fighting suicidal thoughts – all that seemed to fade away. Sitting in the
music studio that night, and staring at my new recorder, I felt like a king. The
new me was born and the future seemed glorious.” Nasreen says she was shocked
when Rahman spoke of suicidal tendencies and asked him if he really meant it,
and he told her, “It felt so hopeless and I often wondered how I was going to
get out of all that.”

It took several meetings and interactions on Skype over a period of three years before the book was compete. The biography also talks about Rahman’s mentor Mani Ratnam, how he met wife Saira, and going through a depressing phase, as he was disturbed by 9/11, and the Iraq war. Rahman reveals this is when he met his spiritual teacher who also wrote the song Khwaja mere khwaja...(Jodhaa Akbar) under a pen name, Kashif.

“My teacher made me think in my small and humble way, that I could be a
bridge between the two divided worlds,” says Rahman. When asked if he still
suffers from self-doubt, despite all the fame, Rahman says in the book, “I have
tried to develop a balance over the years. Whether people praise my work or rip
it apart, I trust the possibility that a few months later they may like it.”

Things you may not know about Rahman

* At age five, he was a loner and stayed at home most of the time. He would
lock himself into a room and play the harmonium for hours.
* His father R K
Shekhar was a composer, arranger and conductor and worked in over a hundred
Malayalam films.
* His paternal grandfather was a bhajan singer in a temple
in Mylapore, South Chennai.
* He met Saira, his wife on his 28th birthday.
His mother and sister Fathima saw her at the shrine of Sufi saint Moti Baba in
Chennai.
* Rahman hopes to release an album with all his family members who
are into music.
* When alone, he likes to go for walks in The Regent’s Park,
London. In India, he spends his alone time in a 5x7 meditation room at his music
studio.
* Whenever he dreams of home, he sees his old house at Habibullah
Road where he spent 20 years. The house had a leaking roof.
* Him being
called the Mozart of Madras isn’t his favourite label and says, “Poor Mozart
should be left alone.”

source: http://www.hindustantimes.com/Rahman-fought-suicidal-thoughts/Article1-678929.aspx

31st March 2011, 01:30 AM
A R Rahman is the Sachin Tendulkar of music and Sachin is the Rahman of cricket. And ace director Mani Ratnam has brought these two legends together, for a short film.

The film shot for Shakthi Foundation, which works for the rights of the differently abled, has Sachin in front of the camera, with Mani Ratnam wielding the megaphone.

The Oscar-Grammy winner has taken care of the background score and he has provided soul-stirring music, we learn. "The short film is a shot in the arm for the physically challenged who successfully cross all hurdles in front of them," sources say

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/65374.html

Didn't this happen long back? I remember reading this 3-4 years ago.

31st March 2011, 11:22 AM
Looks like Indiaglitz reporter read an old magazine this time..

31st March 2011, 11:59 AM
yup old news :oops: about 6-7 months back... http://www.rahmanism.com/2010/08/sachin-mani-ratnam-short-film-shakthi.html

1st April 2011, 05:28 PM
Mani gave my career a boost: Rahman

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Images/2010/8/c4c8dc3e-7f16-4c40-86c4-cf21fa394212HiRes.JPG

AR Rahman’s mentor Mani Ratnam whom he fondly calls “Mani sir” will launch the music maestro’s first-ever official biography, written by Nasreen Munni Kabir, on April 6 in Mumbai, along with some high profile actors and directors. A source informs Aishwarya Rai and Abhishek Bachchan and filmmaker Rakyesh Omprakash Mehra are some of the people likely to grace the occasion.

Nasreen reveals that in her book Rahman talks about working with Mani’s cousin Sharada and her husband Trilok on an ad and eventually meeting Mani through them. The director-composer duo went on to first work together in Roja (1992) and continue to work together even after their 20-year-long association. Rahman says, “I felt a kind of vacuum when the production of Roja ended and told Mani Ratnam, ‘I am not going to work on another movie or another director. Working with you has been so satisfying.’”

Rahman also says Mani prodded him to not limit his music to his films or him. “It should be for the whole world,” director had told him.

Nasreen says the success of Roja helped him gradually overcome doubts over his abilities. Mani Ratnam believed in him from day one and gave his ego and talent a huge boost till Rahman started believing that he could do something. Rahman also credits Roja’s success for giving him “a kind of status”.

Time Magazine listed his music for Roja among the ten best soundtracks of all time in 2005. He says, “People started to respect and take me seriously.”

However, Rahman disagrees when asked if he gives his best compositions to Mani. He says, “I don’t need to impress Mani sir with grand ensembles and elaborate arrangements. Sometimes, he likes simplest melody. He doesn’t think twice about experimenting. That’s a great quality.”

Published by Om Books International, AR Rahman The Spirit of Music offers foliomusic of The Bombay Theme and Cry of the Rose by Rahman and a CD containing unreleased sound recordings.

1st April 2011, 11:09 PM
Shankar's Nanban is going to be released in October. So it's just a quickie. Especially for Shankar who usually takes 2 years to complete a movie. So it's understandable that they chose HJ as the music composer.

2nd April 2011, 12:45 PM
http://www.flickr.com/photos/arrahmanfans/5580975655/

Rahman got Rs 5.4 crore for 'dud' song: Report

http://expressbuzz.com/nation/rahman-got-rs-54-crore-for-dud-song-report/261452.html

'Rahman is a genius’

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Rahman-is-a-genius/Article1-679825.aspx

2nd April 2011, 12:49 PM
Shankar's Nanban is going to be released in October. So it's just a quickie. Especially for Shankar who usually takes 2 years to complete a movie. So it's understandable that they chose HJ as the music composer.

intha news ingga romba avasiyama??!!!

2nd April 2011, 01:16 PM

3I does not have gr8 scope for music. So it looks better with HJ.

2nd April 2011, 01:26 PM
3I does not have gr8 scope for music. So it looks better with HJ.

baba88,sandaikku vara poraru bro!avaru HJ bakhtar!

2nd April 2011, 06:44 PM
Well I am a die hard ARR fan. But I also listen to good music by other MDs. I just wanted share this news because many people are still wondering why Shankar didn't choose ARR for this project. That's it

2nd April 2011, 08:31 PM
Chef arrested for trespassing into A R Rahman's studio

CHENNAI: Chennai city police on Friday night arrested a 30-year-old chef on charges of trespassing into music maestro A R Rahman's studio in Kodambakkam.

Afrose Rasel Khan (30), a native of Loria Bazaar in Bediya district of Bihar went to Rahman's studio on Fifth Street, Dr Subbarayan Nagar, Kodambakkam at 11.30pm on Friday, police said.

He knocked on the door and told the security guards that he wanted to meet Rahman immediately. The guards alerted Rahman's assistant H Faizuddin. Khan claimed he was the the original composer of the 'Jai Ho' song which won Rahman the Oscar award.

Police said Khan threatened to burn Faizuddin alive if he was not allowed to meet Rahman. Faizuddin said he was being threatened by the man for the last three days. He called the police who came and took Khan into custody. He was slapped with charges of verbal abuse, criminal intimidation and trespassing.

Police said Khan was employed as a chef in a private catering agency in Mahim, Mumbai. Khan was remanded in judicial custody after being produced before a magistrate court in Chennai.

2nd April 2011, 08:49 PM
நள்ளிரவில் ரஹ்மான் வீட்டுக்குள் புகுந்த பீஹார் இளைஞர் கைது

சர்வதேச புகழ் பெற்ற தமிழ் இசையமைப்பாளர் ஏ ஆர் ரஹ்மான் வீட்டில் புகுந்த இளைஞரை மடக்கிப் பிடித்தனர் போலீசார்.

ஏ.ஆர்.ரஹ்மான் வீடு சென்னை அசோக் நகரில் உள்ளது. நேற்று இரவு 11 மணியளவில் இவரது வீட்டுக்குள் மர்ம இளைஞர் ஒருவர் உள்ளே நுழைந்தார். இதனால் வீட் டில் இருந்தவர்கள் அதிர்ச்சியடைந்தனர்.

இது குறித்து உடனடியாக போலீசுக்கு தகவல் தெரிவிக்கப்பட்டது. அசோக் நகர் போலீசார் விரைந்து சென்று அந்த இளைஞரை மடக்கி பிடித்தனர். பின்னர் அவரை போலீஸ் நிலையத்துக்கு கொண்டு வந்து விசாரணை நடத்தினர். அவரது பெயர் ரஜுத் கான்.

பீகாரை சேர்ந்தவர். போலீஸ் விசாரணையில் ரஜுத்கான், 'நான் ஏ.ஆர்.ரஹ்மானின் தீவிர ரசிகர். அவரிடம் இசையை கற்றுக்கொள்ள விரும்பினேன். இதனால் அவரது வீட்டுக்கு வாய்ப்பு கேட்பதற்காக சென்றேன்,' என்று கூறியுள்ளார். இந்த இளைஞர் மும்பையில் ஒரு நிறுவனத்தில் சமையல் கலைஞராக உள்ளாராம்.

இது தொடர்பாக போலீசார் அவரிடம் தொடர்ந்து விசாரணை நடத்தி வருகிறார்.

7th April 2011, 06:37 AM
In Conversation with A.R.Rahman

http://www.backgroundscore.com/2011/04/in-conversation-with-arrahman.html

7th April 2011, 11:47 AM
Book Review: A R Rahman-The Spirit Of Music

http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Special-Features/fG30u753/3/Book-Review-A-R-Rahman-The-Spirit-Of-Music.html

7th April 2011, 12:04 PM
Launch Of 'AR Rahman - The Spirit of Music' Book

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/Events/26400.html

mani sir,rgv and arr

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/m/Events/ar7411/960144.html

satissh_r
7th April 2011, 04:19 PM
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/news-and-interviews/Deadlines-make-you-stop-procrastinate-AR-Rahman/articleshow/7898446.cms

Don't you feel too young for a biography?

No. I started working from the age of 11 and that's a long time back. The book explores the spirit of music, which is my being and I love to talk about it.

Considering your hectic schedule, how long did it take to complete the book?

Guess Munni got down to writing, like she says, about four years ago. But I don't keep an account of time. But yes, I had to give her a deadline. And only deadline makes you stop procrastinating.

Any special part in the book?

Everything related to my life is special to me. But yes, the most memorable part in my life was 1989, a turning point in life. I finally got my own studio, but the only problem was that it was empty. There was no equipment in it. I would be sad and often go and sit there wondering how I would fill it up. I needed Rs. 4 lakhs which is equivalent to Rs. 4 crore today. My mother came to my rescue. She sold of all the gold jewellery that she'd kept for my sisters wedding. And with that money I bought my first Fostex 16-track mixer/recorder. Life changed for me.

You returned that money?

Of course! So much more than that...

You have also ventured into the Hollywood market. How comfortable you are there?

I am comfortable in both the environment. When I was scoring `Couples Retreat' there, it was little difficult as I was trying to coordinate from India with the production team in LA. But now I have a home there, thank God! I have met some wonderful people in the West. And I am glad that I have experienced the best of both the worlds.

How do you deal with the pressures considering your hectic schedules?

I visit a Sufi dargaah, located near Mahabalipuram which is next to the sea. I derive my sanity from there. Just stepping inside is therapeutic for me. It removes all my stress.

Anything specific you indulge in other music?

Music is the only passion I shamelessly indulge in. However, for recreation I enjoy watching movies. ' Wizard of Oz ' was the first film I ever saw, followed by the ` Bond ' movies. I also watch a lot of World cinema through DVDs mostly brought by one of my best friend who's now based in Toronto. I also like catching up with my old friends, walking all by myself and being with the family.

You are also starting a film company?

Yes. And my vision through the production house is to provide a platform for new ideas and change the perception of music implementations in films in such a way that it can bring back the old charm. Beautiful film music can be made relevant to any period. I am keen that we produce family entertainment that enriches our lives. I am also hoping that my vision will change the status of musicians in India. A musician is a professional, whether he or she is successful or not. The profession itself must be regarded as a stable job.

8th April 2011, 11:49 PM
Mani Ratnam: Rahman had everything in him

April 8, 2011 07:30:08 PM IST
Pankaj Sabnani, Glamsham Editorial

Filmmaker Mani Ratman did the honours of launching A R Rahman's biography, 'A R Rahman The Spirit of Music'.

Recollecting the early days when he had met Rahman, Mani said, "Rahman had everything in him- the desire, the passion, the need for perfection and the resolve of not giving up. As much a fan I am of his music I am a larger admirer of him as a human being. That has not changed one bit."

view MANI RATNAM UNVEILS A. R. RAHMANS BOOK picture gallery

Rahman said at the lauch, "Everybody comes to a halt in live sometimes, like there's a wall and you feel that the whole world has ended. But in those cases, the wall moves. Don't end yourself at that time. There's a solution to everything if you look for it."

When asked about where he gets his thoughts, Rahman said, "When you are a creative person, there are different things which inspire. Mostly, I've worked with great teams. So all thoughts come from collaboration."

Nasreen Munni Kabir, who has written the book, revealed, "The process of writing the book started eight years back, but the film really came about together in the last six weeks."

The book launch was attended by Ram Gopal Varma, Ashutosh Gowariker, Imtiaz Ali, Anthony D'Souza, Subhash Ghai and other prominent people in A R Rahman's

8th April 2011, 11:50 PM
Everything related to my life is special to me--A. R. Rahman

http://www.totalfilmy.com/feature/20110408/everything_related_my_life_special_mea_r_rahman-32759.html

8th April 2011, 11:51 PM
Rahman was ready for criticism

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Rahman-was-ready-for-criticism/Article1-682680.aspx

8th April 2011, 11:52 PM
‘Jai ho’ row gets chef boiling with anger

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/4/5/nation/8413017&sec=nation

9th April 2011, 11:21 AM
Cheerful ARR in Singapore :)

http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=10150714561090001&oid=119238248123056&comments

11th April 2011, 05:37 AM
A.R. Rahman Launches His Biography

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rAp4w6KUEAs&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gwg2kV5ImSc

Rajeev Masand interview with AR Rahman (Part 1 of 2)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cMGEuZ1zqXk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDBvJDgTBVg

11th April 2011, 02:45 PM
Edited becoz file needs to be changed...

14th April 2011, 01:06 PM
A R Rahman on Nasreen Munni Kabir’s biography ‘AR Rahman – The Spirit of Music’

April 13, 2011 (Calcutta Tube / IBNS):Ace musician AR Rahman has added one more feather to his hat, with filmmaker Mani Ratnam unveiling UK-based author Nasreen Munni Kabir’s biography on the music maestro titled AR Rahman – The Spirit of Music. The Oscar-winning composer in conversation with Sreya Basu. Read the interview at Calcutta Tube.

What made you interested in getting your biography?

In 2004, I met my teacher, who said I don’t read. But then, there’s something called knowledge heart-to-heart, which I believe in, for which I did this (biography). (Smiles). The book is a process of my life. I thought it’s the right time to see certain things which might inspire other people when they know about the path I went along, the odds I faced and overcoming of them. I had a good writer Munni (Nasreen) who has made the book readable for people.

How authentic is Nasreen’s biographic work- AR Rahman – The Spirit of Music?

The book is a combination of different meetings, video conferences. Most of the editing work happened a couple of months back. By the time, I would finish my work, it would be morning for her (Nasreen Munni Kabir). We would go for three-four hours transcribing. She would keep sharing photographs and other documents and ask if they are okay. That’s how we went about. But one thing, she was clear that she wanted me to check if all is okay. So, that’s why I can safely say that this book is more authorized one.

How much did you enjoy working on your biography (at times they turn very tiresome)?

I relived all the moments that was not possible otherwise. One of the biggest moments that I relived was the construction of my studio. I didn’t have money to buy any equipment. There was an AC (air conditioner), a carpet in the new-smelling studio…but no equipment. A couple of weeks later, my mom saw me sitting in that empty studio and she asked: ‘What do you want?’ I said I want to buy equipment that will cost Rs 4 lakhs, which was like Rs 400 crores at that time. And my mother immediately sold some of my sister’s jewellery and bought me the equipment to set up my studio. That was a huge, historic moment for me. Thanks to Nasreen that I could revisit the moment.

What is that one thing that has inspired you the most in life?

When you are a creative person, I think there are different things which inspire, it could be the lyrics, the script or the great persons’ team you are working with.

What took you so long to come up with your biography? Is it your reserved nature?
I am shy. Being shy is different from being reserved. Sometimes you want to hold your thoughts. Never reveal anything before it’s complete within yourself. So there are lots of things in process within me. And I want to let the process continue within me before I reveal it. It is very easy saying that ‘I will do this, I will do that’, but it has to be complete when it comes out.

What is the one thing that you want people to know about you through the book?
I dedicate the book to anybody who is suffering and wants to come up the situation. The whole idea is redemption; if I can, anybody can come out of darkness.

The idea of life is…there’s a wall and if you give up, that brings you to a dead end. If I would have given up hope, I would have missed all that are happening in my life now. Through the book, I want people to know that something extraordinary exists beyond the wall. So don’t do anything foolish like committing suicide. If I would have done that (suicide), then would have lost everything…may be, some people would have been saved from (my) bad music. (Smiles)

AudazJay
14th April 2011, 01:21 PM
[SIZE="4"]
I dedicate the book to anybody who is suffering and wants to come up the situation. The whole idea is redemption; if I can, anybody can come out of darkness.

The idea of life is…there’s a wall and if you give up, that brings you to a dead end. If I would have given up hope, I would have missed all that are happening in my life now. Through the book, I want people to know that something extraordinary exists beyond the wall. So don’t do anything foolish like committing suicide. If I would have done that (suicide), then would have lost everything…may be, some people would have been saved from (my) bad music. (Smiles)

He doesn't realize how many lives he has brighten with his music. To quote Shantanu Moitra "Rahman’s music calmed me the way I’m sure it had done to millions of listeners over the years."

14th April 2011, 06:24 PM
Singer Chitra, who is in Dubai for an ARR-themed concert has tragically lost her only daughter Nandana aged 8. The little one apparently fell into the swimming pool of the villa that the family was staying at.

May The Almighty give Chitra and her family the strength and resolve to bear this irreparable loss!

baroque
16th April 2011, 08:55 AM
yeah...
Chithra, We love you.
Please hang in there, before you know it, you will endure the situation & find ways to honour your kid's memories.

vinatha.

jinju
16th April 2011, 01:43 PM
A.R. Rahman Launches His Biography

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rAp4w6KUEAs&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gwg2kV5ImSc

Rajeev Masand interview with AR Rahman (Part 1 of 2)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cMGEuZ1zqXk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDBvJDgTBVg

after days of waiting, wife just called and told that the courier has just arrived. waiting for office hours to get over, get home, and read the book!

17th April 2011, 07:55 AM
Jinju,

A quick review pls :)

17th April 2011, 06:16 PM
Magic of Ramu, Rangeela and Rahman to roll all over again!

http://spicezee.zeenews.com/articles/story85960.htm

ARR's music has a global touch - AKON

http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2011-04-16/news-and-interviews/29421765_1_akon-konvict-hip-hop

Jamming with AR

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Jamming-with-AR/Article1-686351.aspx

17th April 2011, 08:53 PM
Jinju, did you place the order through Flipkart? If so, how was the service?

19th April 2011, 08:20 AM
Jinju, did you place the order through Flipkart? If so, how was the service?

Not available at book stores in chennai? :roll: I'll be in chennai in August, must buy it :)

19th April 2011, 09:04 AM
Not available at book stores in chennai? :roll: I'll be in chennai in August, must buy it :)
Welcome Welcome!

19th April 2011, 05:04 PM
Rahman: I was forced to become a musician

http://www.rediff.com/movies/slide-show/slide-show-1-extract-of-the-book-a-r-rahman-the-spirit-of-music/20110418.htm

19th April 2011, 05:05 PM
Tamil version-la kedacha enna pola pamaranukku romba easy-ya irukkum!

jinju
20th April 2011, 01:56 PM
sathya, yes i did order thru the Flipkart link posted by AB in the previous page..thanks to him! apart from the fact that it took 10 days from the book release date to reach me, no issues (actually i think the courier guy botched it up, coz i got a call from flipkart enquiring whether i got the book, after which in 15 mins the courier guy called up and asked me to guide me to the address!). There's a cash on delivery option, so no worries.

LM, i've just been thru 20 pages or so, it's an out and out Q and A biography. as far as i read: some more details about his childhood; his days as a session musician with Ilayaraja and Raj Koti; how Roja happened; the new working style they adopted for RDB; inside stories on how songs like Mayya Mayya, Tere Bina, Paathshaala of RDB were born; and how mani sir gave him 2 weeks for 5 tunes for Bombay and at the end of 2 weeks, he only had the Bombay Theme to play for mani ratnam, and mani ratnam replied 'i want this, give me the tunes later!'. etc, etc...so far, most of which we know and a lot that we didn't know...interesting! 2 pages of pics of thalaivar and his wife at their home, him in off white kurta and she in white salwar, her adjusting his kurta buttons...superb! (i loved those pics coz that side of thalaivar isn't seen often...romaance mood:-D). many unseen pics, and for those who play music, the notes of Bombay Theme is there in the end.

20th April 2011, 02:35 PM
Thanks for the sneak preview Jinju. Will buy the book soon :D

24th April 2011, 08:21 PM
RGV Plans for Rangeela Sequel with AR Rahman

http://telugu.16reels.com/news/Movie/2680_RGV-Plans-for-Rangeela-Sequel-with-AR-Rahman.aspx

28th April 2011, 03:49 AM
A R Rahman at "In The Mix Studios" [Pics]

http://arrajib.blogspot.com/2011/04/r-rahman-at-in-mix-studios-pics.html

28th April 2011, 03:50 AM
In pursuit of music

http://www.deccanherald.com/content/157072/in-pursuit-music.html

28th April 2011, 05:28 PM
100 Greatest Bollywood Soundtracks Ever by Planet Bollywood

http://www.planetbollywood.com/displayArticle.php?id=060306044135

34. Lagaan (2001) Music: AR Rehman Lyrics: Javed Akthar

Lagaan is the best musical album so far for this decade. AR Rehman came up with an album that is a winner by all standards. From the excellent lyrics, to the wonderful singing and superb music compositions, each and every song from Lagaan is a gem. From the exhilarating Ghanan Ghanan, to the powerful Mitwa, to the melodious Chale Chalo, to the romantic O Rey Chhori, to the wonderful Radha Kaise Na Jale, and the brilliant bhajan O Paalanhaare, any way you look at it, Lagaan music is truly a masterpiece. No doubt, AR Rehman truly deserves the music awards he got for Lagaan.

38. Taal (1999) Music: AR Rehman Lyrics: Anand Bakshi

Back in 1999, Taal is unquestionably the most eagerly awaited Hindi film album of the year. Ghai has said numerous times that Taal has the best music than any of his previous film. One may argue with that statement, but Taal is definitely amongst his best. To the beautifully penned Ishq Bina, to the flawless Taal Se Taal Mila, to the soft romantic Nahin Samne, to the brilliant Ramta Jogi, to the stunning Kariye Na, to the enjoyable Kahin Aag Lage, and wonderful Ni Main Samajh Gayee, Taal is an excellent album. It shows that AR Rahman has focused a lot more on melody in Taal, and that is main substance of music, melody.

46. Dil Se..(1998) Music: AR Rehman Lyrics: Gulzar

Dil Se… is an achievement for AR Rehman. Winner of Best Music Award of 1998, Dil Se is simply one of the best albums of the 90s. Every song is distinctive in its own way, which makes Dil Se...an enjoyable album. From the energetic Chhaiya Chhaiya, to the superb Jiya Jale Jaan Chale, to the brilliant E Ajnabi, to the wonderful Dil Se Re, and the lively Satrangi Re, Dil Se.. had some of the best songs of 1998 that made it a huge success in the music market. No doubt, Dil Se.. is ranked as AR Rehman best album till date.

1st May 2011, 03:48 AM
Rahman: Imperfection's also an art!

http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2011-04-29/news-and-interviews/29487089_1_concert-composition-rock-star

1st May 2011, 11:35 PM
Video: AR's performance in Cine musicians Union 50th year

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nusg6zW0Sss
(Watch AR's performance from 6.50)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Twgyjkp6VV4
(Watch Ilayaraja speaking about RK Sekar at 8.30)

2nd May 2011, 07:38 AM
When ARR sings manipaya, audience oda reaction :bow:

music man
2nd May 2011, 08:09 PM
Video: AR's performance in Cine musicians Union 50th year

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nusg6zW0Sss
(Watch AR's performance from 6.50)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Twgyjkp6VV4
(Watch Ilayaraja speaking about RK Sekar at 8.30)

Very emotional moment when Illayaraja mentions R.K.Sekar in his speech...

V_S
3rd May 2011, 12:12 AM
Heard that Michael Bolton is singing in Hindi for ARR's new album Gems. World is coming together with Rahman. :notworthy:

3rd May 2011, 01:42 AM

http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2011-04-29/news-and-interviews/29487089_1_concert-composition-rock-star

This is an excellent read! :ty: Anand

V_S
3rd May 2011, 08:55 AM

Question: In this commercial world, when people (read Ameesha Patel) forget to invite their own parents at their launch parties, you wept and mourned for your first album producer Malaysia Vasudevan, who passed away recently...

ARR: That's the way I am! I don't know about others, but I don't get to lose anything by paying my homage to people who've helped me.

ARR, You are the man, kaN kalangidichi :notworthy:
Thanks Anand!

3rd May 2011, 10:02 AM
my humble request to thalaivar,'sir neenga inimel bollywood or hollywood movie music pannuvathey romba nallathu.anggathan ungga isaikku nalla maraiyathai undu innu naan nenakiran!'tamil pakkam ini varatheenga.because 'unggalai verukkum padalam,ippa suddenly romba vegama 'workout'aagittu irukku tamilcine world-la! a.r.rahmana?yaaru athu,enna porulu innu kekaravangga kuda irukangga[nandri kettavangga]...

3rd May 2011, 10:18 AM
my humble request to thalaivar,'sir neenga inimel bollywood or hollywood movie music pannuvathey romba nallathu.anggathan ungga isaikku nalla maraiyathai undu innu naan nenakiran!'tamil pakkam ini varatheenga.because 'unggalai verukkum padalam,ippa suddenly romba vegama 'workout'aagittu irukku tamilcine world-la! a.r.rahmana?yaaru athu,enna porulu innu kekaravangga kuda irukangga[nandri kettavangga]...
:huh: enna aachu Anand Sir? Why this sudden frustration? PM the details, if cannot be posted here.

3rd May 2011, 10:31 AM
tamil media-ya voda oravanjanai patti sollren sir!unggalukku purivum innu nenakiren!

7th May 2011, 02:19 PM
http://www.koodal.com/tamil/movies/hotnews/6548/is-a-r-rahman-behind-ponniyin-selvan-drop

It says that ARR convinced MR to drop Ponnyin Selvan and make a love story like Alaiypayuthe.

7th May 2011, 02:45 PM

7th May 2011, 03:41 PM
yaarukku?...

7th May 2011, 04:48 PM
for the news posted by baba...thats such a stupid reason..

7th May 2011, 05:07 PM
for the news posted by baba...thats such a stupid reason..
uNmaiyA irukkumnu nambureengaLA? also, do you think ARR would suggest something like that or Mani Sir will make / drop a movie by suggesion of somebody? freeaa vidunga sir.
given the reputation of HIM , this has to be ignored.

7th May 2011, 10:09 PM
thats the reason i used :banghead: for the news :)

8th May 2011, 07:30 PM
The important thing is, a romantic movie by Mani would be a fresh welcome.... lets enjoy the news :)

14th May 2011, 04:03 PM
Michael Bolton -arr is a genius :)
http://www.facebook.com/update_security_info.php?wizard=1#!/video/video.php?v=10150767440715001&oid=119238248123056&comments

14th May 2011, 06:34 PM
Rhythmic ripples of ‘Mellisai’ mark function

http://www.thehindu.com/arts/cinema/article2009923.ece?homepage=true

14th May 2011, 11:32 PM
Rhythmic ripples of ‘Mellisai’ mark function

http://www.thehindu.com/arts/cinema/article2009923.ece?homepage=true

Paratthoukal Rahman ji :clap:

15th May 2011, 11:40 AM
"A.R. Rahman is a Genius" - Legendary Singer Michael Bolton
A.R. Rahman is a genius, says legendary singer Michael Bolton, talking about his next album Gems which features Sajna, by A.R. Rahman.
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=10150767440715001&oid=119238248123056&comments

16th May 2011, 06:29 AM
Rahman is a true musician: Natalie Di

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/news-and-interviews/Rahman-is-a-true-musician-Natalie-Di/articleshow/8321016.cms

16th May 2011, 06:30 AM
VIVEK AND VADIVELU PRESENTING AWARD FOR THALAIVAR

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PUzabDie8ZM&feature=related

16th May 2011, 01:26 PM
Chaos mars Rahman's scintillating show

NAGPUR: Thousands of Nagpurians who had thought of having a good time listening to the soothing music of maestro A R Rahman on Sunday were in for a rude shock as the show turned out to be a logistic nightmare. Neither the number of seats were adequate nor was the parking space.

The fans who reached the venue early got a place to park their vehicles and a seat. They enjoyed a scintillating performance of the academy award winner and his team. But those arrived a bit late had to miss first half of the show and many had to watch the performance - organized by Bodhi Foundation - without a seat.

If this were not enough, police stopped the concert at 10.15 pm in middle of a song 'Pray for my brother' because of the time limit. A disgusted Rahman told the audience that if they wanted to listen to rest of the concert they should come to Bangalore. Police commissioner Ankush Dhanvijay justified the decision saying that law was same for everybody.

Many ticket holders did not even get to listen to one song. Raju Madan spent Rs 25,000 and got a two hour long traffic jam in return. "Since last one and a half hours I have been trying to find a place to park my car. The traffic is moving so slowly that I can't even go back," a disgusted Madan said at around 8.30 pm.

Such was the chaos that even the ministers and top bureaucrats were inconvenienced. Friends and relatives of the volunteers entered the VIP area in front of the stage and blocked the view. Police personnel had to repeatedly make them sit down. Many sat at the feet of VIPs. Tempers ran high among VIPs. A woman from a prominent family poured water on a police officer who was occupying her seat. This led to exchange of expletives.

The scene behind the VIP area was worse. The number of seats for Rs 1,000 pass were not enough. Many entered the space meant for Rs 2,000 pass holders. "Despite having bought Rs 1,000 tickets, we were treated like beggars. People snatched chairs from each other," said Dr Sunita Mahatme. Another fan Neha Chouharia complained there was no trace of organizers to control the situation.

Fans were infuriated over traffic control. DCP (Traffic) Sahebrao Patil, however, said that his men had done their best to control the traffic. "The parking space is inadequate for 15,000 vehicles. There is no space left. If we had not been present, the chaos would have continued for the whole night," he said in the middle of a kilometre long traffic jam.

Those who did get to hear were literally left asking for more as the maestro belted out his favourite numbers mixing them with less known ones, including a Tamil song. Teaming up with artists Remo Fernandes, Shivmani, Gurpreet, he provided the capacity crowd their money's worth. The audience left wishing the same could be said of the organizers.

16th May 2011, 01:27 PM
A.R.Rahman - UNPLUGGED with VJ Paloma - May 19 - 08 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lqy2VuFGC_E

17th May 2011, 06:46 AM
Yash Chopra signs AR Rahman to compose music for his forthcoming film starring Shah Rukh Khan

Yash Chopra, who will be directing a film after seven long years, has gone ahead and done something that nobody could think of.

The filmmaker has signed AR Rahman for his next directorial venture. This will be the first time the Oscar winning composer would be lending tunes to a Yash Chopra film in his career spanning 20 long years.

Our source revealed, "Yash Chopra has been a part of the industry for the last 50 years and YRF Films have ruled Bollywood over the last 40 years. However, this will be the first time the two iconic talents will come together.

While details of Yashji's film are still being kept under wraps, it is clear that it will be Shah Rukh Khan who'll indeed be a part of the project."

Chopra himself was all praises for the composer. "I am starting work on the music of my film which is yet untitled with AR Rahman.

Apart from the great honour that he has consistently brought to our country, he is alsi someone who has created some outstanding and memorable music.

And music, as you know is not only very dear to me but also an integral part of my films. I am looking forward to creating some wonderful music combining Rahman's contemporary world music sensibilities and my old world tastes in lilting melodies," said Chopra.

On the other hand, Rahman, while speaking about working with Chopra for the first time said, "I'm very excited about working with Yash Chopra. I am humbled by his faith in me.

I have seen that Yashji always portrays music as the inevitable essence of love and divinity in his movies. I hope as a team we can bring tremendous joy to all."

Chopra also cleared certain speculations about the cast of the film, saying, "Everyone knows that when I make a movie, Shah Rukh will be involved in it. He is like family to YRF and I have always regarded him as one of my own.

There will be two leading ladies in my film. Once Adi (Aditya Chopra) gives me the final draft of the script, I will finalise the two girls opposite SRK."

17th May 2011, 01:13 PM
http://cms.mumbaimirror.com/portalfiles/1/30/201105/Image/170511/F26-01.jpg

17th May 2011, 02:00 PM
Didn't ARR had a misunderstanding with Yash Chopra earlier? I remember reading something that ARR was offered very less by Yash and was told it's a privilege working in Yash's film so salary will be less. And hence ARR walked out of the film. Or am I imagining things :roll:

17th May 2011, 02:42 PM
Didn't ARR had a misunderstanding with Yash Chopra earlier? I remember reading something that ARR was offered very less by Yash and was told it's a privilege working in Yash's film so salary will be less. And hence ARR walked out of the film. Or am I imagining things :roll:

indha maadhiri kadhaya naanum kelvipatten...
a couple of years back.

17th May 2011, 02:46 PM
Come on guys, this is cine industry..

17th May 2011, 03:49 PM
Come on guys
vaanga, Ajay kooppidugirAr :)

17th May 2011, 04:21 PM
why yash chopra? :evil:
LM, not only that, i thing it was something to do with music rights as well...

17th May 2011, 06:25 PM
"I am looking forward to creating some wonderful music combining Rahman's contemporary world music sensibilities and my old world tastes in lilting melodies," said Chopra.

Sounds good to me!

17th May 2011, 06:56 PM
Yash Chopra ropes in Rahman for his next

One more first for Yash Chopra. After teaming up with Salman Khan for the first time, the movie mogul has now collaborated with Oscar-winning composer A R Rahman for his yet-to-be-titled film starring Shah Rukh Khan.

'I am starting work on the music of my as-yet-untitled film with the very talented Rahman. Apart from the great honour that he has consistently brought to our country, he is also someone that has created some outstanding and memorable music, something which is very important and dear to me and my films,' Chopra, who will also be directing the film, said in a statement.

'I am looking forward to creating some wonderful music combining Rahman's contemporary world music sensibilities and my old world sensibilities of lilting melodies,' he added.

The filmmaker has yet to finalise the female lead for his movie to be made under his banner Yash Raj Films (YRF).

'Everyone knows that when I make a movie, Shah Rukh will be involved with it. He is like family to YRF and I have always regarded him as one of my own. There will be two leading ladies in my film. Once Adi gives me the final draft of the script, I will finalise the two girls who will be cast along with Shah Rukh,' said the 78-year-old whose last directorial venture was cross-border love story Veer-Zaara that came in 2004.

Two-time Oscar winner Rahman is also excited about the opportunity to work with Yash Chopra.

'I am very excited to work with Yashji and I am humbled by his faith in me for his film. I have seen that Yashji always portrays music as the inevitable essence of love and divinity in his movies. I hope as a team we can bring tremendous joy to all,' said Rahman.

http://www.sify.com/movies/yash-chopra-ropes-in-rahman-for-his-next-news-bollywood-lfrnagjibei.html

17th May 2011, 07:26 PM
YC :evil:......

18th May 2011, 05:25 AM

I too read this, so was surprised by todays news. However, it's definitely good the two are together so we should be in for a treat. Familiy entertaiment and romantic subjects are feathers in ARRs hat. He's already provided Yash Chopra like tailor made music for Doli Saja ke Rakhna and this was in 1998 so I'm really excited. ... Not forgetting that SRK is also part of the unit and IMO ARRs best work in Hindi has been for SRK.

18th May 2011, 10:48 AM
I too read this, so was surprised by todays news. However, it's definitely good the two are together so we should be in for a treat. Familiy entertaiment and romantic subjects are feathers in ARRs hat. He's already provided Yash Chopra like tailor made music for Doli Saja ke Rakhna and this was in 1998 so I'm really excited. ... Not forgetting that SRK is also part of the unit and IMO ARRs best work in Hindi has been for SRK.
:shock: u mean MAniratnam and Ashutosh ? :)

18th May 2011, 12:43 PM
SRK-ARR earlier combos,,

One 2 ka 4
Dilse
Swades

18th May 2011, 03:38 PM
i would only consider the first one as ARR-SRK combo :)

18th May 2011, 04:09 PM
good move from AR i suppose.....Yash raj is a big name in Bolly and SRK too - though i dont like either of them, music should come out well, which is all we should be bothered abt - isnt it? :D

18th May 2011, 04:32 PM
Swades

:bow:

I've already expressed how I feel about (http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?5280-Album-of-the-week-Guru/page45) Swades. But yes, it was Ashtosh ji who excerpted the songs from ARRs bandwagon. Nonethless, all songs did have SRK as the pivot.

20th May 2011, 08:00 PM
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/a-r-rahman-and-mick-jagger-form-supergroup/153032-45-75.html

A R Rahman and Mick Jagger form supergroup

New York: Academy award winning Indian musician A R Rahman has joined forces with rock legend Mick Jagger, 'Eurythmics star' Dave Stewart, Damian Marley and Joss Stone to form a supergroup.

The double Oscar winning 'Jai Ho' hitmaker has been secretly recording with the 'Rolling Stones' frontman, Bob Marley's youngest son and British soul singer Stone, reported New York Post online.

"They just finished a record and their first video and are talking to major labels about a deal. The name for the band at the moment is 'Super Heavy'," said a source close to the quintet.
"Each member has a very distinct and different style, but it works. Mick has been recording with Dave for a while, and both worked with Joss in the past," added the source.

Rahman, who also won two Grammies for his music in the Mumbai based potboiler 'Slumdog Millionaire', had also collaborated with American music icon Michael Bolton for the latter's new album releasing this June.

'Gems - the duet collection' by Bolton features a melody by Rahman along with works of global pop superstar, Seal, Australian singing sensation, Delta Goodrem and late vocalist Eva Cassidy.

Rahman's earlier international collaborations include The Pussycat Dolls, Akon and a star-studed second version of Michael Jackson's 'We Are the World'.

22nd May 2011, 09:13 AM
YCna commerciala irukkum..so music should be good..afterall thalaivar is doin another film...that is enough :D

jinju
23rd May 2011, 12:41 PM
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/a-r-rahman-and-mick-jagger-form-supergroup/153032-45-75.html

A R Rahman and Mick Jagger form supergroup

New York: Academy award winning Indian musician A R Rahman has joined forces with rock legend Mick Jagger, 'Eurythmics star' Dave Stewart, Damian Marley and Joss Stone to form a supergroup.

The double Oscar winning 'Jai Ho' hitmaker has been secretly recording with the 'Rolling Stones' frontman, Bob Marley's youngest son and British soul singer Stone, reported New York Post online.

"They just finished a record and their first video and are talking to major labels about a deal. The name for the band at the moment is 'Super Heavy'," said a source close to the quintet.
"Each member has a very distinct and different style, but it works. Mick has been recording with Dave for a while, and both worked with Joss in the past," added the source.

Rahman, who also won two Grammies for his music in the Mumbai based potboiler 'Slumdog Millionaire', had also collaborated with American music icon Michael Bolton for the latter's new album releasing this June.

'Gems - the duet collection' by Bolton features a melody by Rahman along with works of global pop superstar, Seal, Australian singing sensation, Delta Goodrem and late vocalist Eva Cassidy.

Rahman's earlier international collaborations include The Pussycat Dolls, Akon and a star-studed second version of Michael Jackson's 'We Are the World'.

wah re wah...thalaivaaaaaaaa! mick jagger n u together one day...is this a dream!:notworthy:

23rd May 2011, 02:42 PM
Why Rahman is every director's favourite

http://www.rediff.com/movies/slide-show/slide-show-1-what-made-rahman-filmmakers-favourite/20110523.htm

baroque
26th May 2011, 04:47 AM
oh...yeah, Bhaiya works for Yash raj films soon.
good for him. they are popular for lush musicals from from dhoordarshan's popular tu hindu banega na ......dhool ka phool, Khaiyyam saab's noorie, trishul to 90s music hits dil to pagal hai, dilwale dulhania le jayenge... beautiful compositions.
tamil, malayalam, kannada, hindi etc.... EVER GORGEOUS INDIAN CINEMA. thank you, thank you... you are the stress busters.
vinatha.

baroque
26th May 2011, 04:48 AM
oh...yeah, Bhaiya works for Yash raj films soon.
good for him. they are popular for lush musicals from from dhoordarshan's popular tu hindu banega na ......dhool ka phool, Khaiyyam saab's noorie, trishul to 90s music hits dil to pagal hai, dilwale dulhania le jayenge... beautiful compositions.
tamil, malayalam, kannada, hindi etc.... EVER GORGEOUS INDIAN CINEMA. thank you, thank you... you are the stress busters.
vinatha.

genesis
28th May 2011, 04:25 AM
Yep, I am also not that happy with ARR teaming-up with Yash Chopra.... Most of their movies and music in the last 20 years at best mediocre. (including from son A.Chopra and K.Johar). They mostly want to use their time tested melodies with out much imagination (SAR songs sound creative in comparison). But I do think Chopra family has realized they can not sell old formula any more... they need embrace change. Signing ARR is may be one change. (The other change should be to give some "rest" to Lataji).

29th May 2011, 06:06 PM
ARR @ Vijay Music Awards

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6DMt2xUFdPQ

1st June 2011, 02:39 AM
now that ponniyin selvan is shelved and rana is put on hold it looks like we will have to wait min. 2 years for another release in tamil.

1st June 2011, 09:12 AM
Maddy's friend (Or was that Maddy?) : idha solradhukkudhAn nee kalyANathukku vandhiyA?

1st June 2011, 12:09 PM
now that ponniyin selvan is shelved and rana is put on hold it looks like we will have to wait min. 2 years for another release in tamil.
ithukku yen varuthapadareenga bro?harris songthan irukke!!!

1st June 2011, 12:45 PM
Everyone is entitled to their opinion: Rahman

The Mozart of Madras reacts to the recent accusation by composer Ismail Durbar that the Oscars had been bought

Its a free country and everyone is entitled to their opinion, says A R Rahman,when asked about the latest controversy about the Oscars being bought.
On the films front,the composer is busy composing the music for Superstar Rajinikanths Rana.I have completed three songs in the film.The title song Enge Poguthe Vaanam,Ange Pogirom Naam... is sung by S P Balasubramaniam.I will resume work on the album soon after the ailing Superstar returns hale and hearty from Singapore.I recently met him at the hospital in Chennai and had a brief chat with him.Rajinikanth has had a major influence on my life and I am a huge fan of his.I wish him a speedy recovery, says Rahman.
The musician has also completed work on Ranbir Kapoors Rockstar.The soundtrack is ready.The film might not be based on rock music,but its about the experiences of a man and elements that change his life,with rock in the backdrop.Ranbir used to frequent the studio and keenly observe me while I was composing the music.Besides,I have also signed another project with Yash Raj.
And thats not all.The musical genius has just turned a rockstar! He has expanded his horizons by collaborating with Mick Jagger for an album called Superheavy.Dave Stewart,Mick and I did a lot of sessions together in Los Angeles and completed the album 18 months ago.The soundtrack is quite interesting with a medley of rock,soul,Hindi and Jamaican songs,with a Rahman flavour, he says.
Meanwhile,ARR is delighted that his nephew,composer G V Prakash Kumar,who belted out some pulsating music for the National Award-winning film Aadukalam,is making waves in Kollywood.He has put in a lot of hard work to reach where he is today.Im proud of him, says Rahman.Now that his son Ameen has sung for Couples Retreat and his daughter Khatija for Endhiran,will his children follow his footsteps They are learning music,but I dont want to force anything on them.Let them pursue their passion, replies Rahman.And will his wife Saira,who is his designer,turn singer too No, says the musician and adds,She doesnt know music.

1st June 2011, 12:46 PM
The difference between buying an Oscar and buying love
by Vijaynarain Rangarajan on Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 11:13am
Just back from the A.R.Rahman concert in Bangalore. Every time I attend one I've always wanted to be "up there" instead of "down here" in the audience. But the latter's not a bad place by any means for someone who even remotely appreciates music. This post is not about the concert, so to put it in a nutshell, the concert was one of the best weekends I've ever had.

This post is about something that seems to have happened during the weekend of the concert and irked every fan of the legend. From Facebook statuses to Tweets, everyone is fuming at Ismail Durbar's comments about Rahman.

I am writing this post as someone for whom film music was defined by A.R.Rahman's songs, for whom musical inspiration means trying to unearth the different layers in Kannathil Muthamittal (the song) or the filter attack over the drum loop as Theendai reaches a crescendo, for whom musical nirvana is singing for the man. I am writing this post as a fanboy who looks up to his idol and not as an upcoming singer whose musical dreams were partly realized by singing chorus for him. So musicians and people from the industry, pardon my addressing the legend as Rahman and not Rahman sir, just like you would call Sachin Tendulkar by his first name and not Tendulkar sir.

Coming back to Ismail Durbar, he was the one who made me fall in love with Shreya Ghoshal the first time I heard her voice (though I doubt she would want to sing for him again and feel safe about it). I still haven't fallen out of that love. Devdas is still one of my favourite albums. Now why someone with so much talent and musical prowess( I am using Devdas as a yardstick for judgement) would want to attract cheap publicity by claiming Rahman "bought" the awards beats me. Also what I can't comprehend is why someone who knows his music would not sustain after giving the album of his lifetime. But I am not going to waste time analyzing this. I am a Rahman fan, so what I will do is listen to good music and think of ways to perhaps create some good music if I can. At least I will benefit from the process. If I want publicity, I want it by singing a song or composing it and finding that people like it... you know, the kind of publicity that earns you dignity and doesn't require you to strip yourself of it to gain more.

There are some things that people like Ismail Durbar need to know about true Rahman fans. We are a meek lot. We don't retaliate by swearing on forums, spreading hate mail and the likes. In fact, we don't even like to retaliate when someone speaks ill about our idol. Because we know he wouldn't want us to. But that doesn't mean we will stay silent every time you provoke us. Especially when the allegations are as serious as buying an Oscar. We can get sarcastic in our retorts, but I doubt you would be educated enough to catch it.

We like Rahman because the first time we heard his music, we wanted to know who the man behind the music was. And every single time there was some new music that we really liked, we checked out who it was and discovered it was this same meek looking silent unassuming man. Eventually, instead of listening to the music first and being pleasantly surprised to discover it to be a Rahman composition, we started looking forward to every Rahman release and found ourselves never once being let down by this man.

With time we discovered that there was more to this man than just his music. So we decided to learn from his good qualities. His philanthropy had an effect on our attitude, his humility taught us that no achievement is too great to gloat about, and the art is always greater than the artist. The charity work being done by some of our fellow fans is something Mr.Ismail Durbar probably couldn't have imagined to be a consequence of one man's music, no matter how much his scheming brain tried to think. Because at the root of it all, we are fans of a man whose intentions are noble, whose music touches an emotional chord deep down in our hearts, who we look up to for his music and for the person he is, and not for the awards he has brought. National pride, Filmfares, Oscars were all just a consequence, and reasons for us to celebrate. But they aren't the reasons we are fans of this man.

So what's an Oscar to Rahman fans? It is a sense of pride, it is an important milestone yes, but under no circumstance is it more important to us than the man himself and his music! The Oscar was a just another feather in his cap. A gust of wind may try to blow it away but it is the bearer of the cap that we are fans of! That having said, I would also like to mention here that the Oscars have had a history of reaching people rather late, sometimes not necessarily for their best work and sometimes not reaching them at all. Martin Scorcese, Alfred Hitchcock, Orson Welles, Stanley Kubrick, Charlie Chaplin, Peter O Toole are just a few names I can think of immediately. Of course there is not even a need to justify all this to someone like Ismail Durbar right now. Maybe we'll give him another twenty years just to make more good music if he is capable of that, and then make statments about Rahman getting Oscars. Hopefully by then we would've moved on to greater works from Rahman and the Oscar would be a mere formality.

I speak on behalf of every true Rahman fan when I say this. We may get hurt by allegations and attempts to taint our idol's name, but nothing will stop us from shedding a tear when Swarnalatha sings Porale Ponnuthai, or paying silent homage to H.Sridhar sir while mavelling at Pachai Niramey's mix, or loading our ipods with Yeh jo des hai tera and Des Ki Mitti when we leave our country. We will probably retaliate with posts like this if you continue to provoke us more. But we wont take it any further than that. We will just wait for Rahman's next album and enjoy it. You are too less important for us to bother going beyond facebook posts! Here's wishing Ismail Durbar speedy recovery from whatever it is that is bothering him and hoping he gets back to making music.
-arryg

1st June 2011, 12:48 PM
resul on ismai darbar

Ismail Darbar is a freaking idiot.I heard he is been saying AR Rahman bought the Oscars!!! One thing he has no idea about how Oscars is been conducted, he thinks that it's some kind of Indain film awards that can be favoured, more than that he is a frog in a well.It's appaling to see fellow artist making such trash statements.There has been a lot of criticism that Slumdog is nor AR Rahman's best work, but no doubt his body of work deserve the highest recognition in the field of cinema, so are like other's important work too.But I'm wondering, what's Ismail Durbars body of work,except Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam, which is more of Sajay Bhansali's biggest contribution, what's that he has done the nation is been singing to...It's really bad taste mr.Darbar, you are stooping so low to talk about AR's work in this manner.He has taken Indian cinema in far too height that you can only dream of...Don't be jealous,get real.I feel ashamed of myself having to have said things in this manner about you.A real artist should respect others work and others achievements.I'm sorry I have to say this to you but I can't help it!!!Mr.Darbar, one more thing, it's not AR, I bought the Oscars!!! And I talked about Om!!! The whole world celebrated me, The Academy even put it as the most touching speeches of the Oscars ever, so please leave AR...he is a saint!We had the biggest laugh the other day when I told some of the Academy members about this comment.We are only diminishing our own chances.Our chances of world celebrating us.it is this intolerance of our artists has been the biggest challenge of our cinema.Something that we as Global citizens to be ashamed of and be careful about.

1st June 2011, 03:19 PM
:shock: @ resul

//We are only diminishing our own chances.Our chances of world celebrating us.it is this intolerance of our artists has been the biggest challenge of our cinema.Something that we as Global citizens to be ashamed of and be careful about. //

nethiadi!

1st June 2011, 04:04 PM
When we feel proud about ARRs,Kamals,Rajnis and Manis, scumbags like Durbar come from no where to spoil the mood..

1st June 2011, 04:14 PM
When we feel proud about ARRs,Kamals,Rajnis and Manis, scumbags like Durbar come from no where to spoil the mood..

indha maadhiri aalunga ellaam illainaa ulagatthula oru 'balance' irukkaadhuppa...

1st June 2011, 05:05 PM
sirichittu pOittE irukkaNum :D

1st June 2011, 06:27 PM
http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/251351_2025729852959_1535402033_32215187_7689009_n .jpg

1st June 2011, 06:54 PM
LOL, this guy has history of hurling abuses on ARR. Poor fellow for all his talents, ends up as a loser because of this.

mahen01
1st June 2011, 08:32 PM
Sounds like Mr Tarpar has not much work in hand. Mr Email Tarpar not just you, no one in Bollywood can even dream about Oscar. If Rahman doesnt step in to bollywood, no one in the erth will be listening to Hindi songs. Leave alone ARR.. bollywood doesnt even have YSRs HJs or Vs..ofcourse at that low standard you might have atleast a few hindi guys follow ur music. Can understand your agoney. ARR steped in to bollywood set the standards up.. poor you.

1st June 2011, 09:27 PM
unanimously can people be happy for a man's success in this world?...not even once?

2nd June 2011, 12:09 AM
Sounds like Mr Tarpar has not much work in hand. Mr Email Tarpar not just you, no one in Bollywood can even dream about Oscar. If Rahman doesnt step in to bollywood, no one in the erth will be listening to Hindi songs. Leave alone ARR.. bollywood doesnt even have YSRs HJs or Vs..ofcourse at that low standard you might have atleast a few hindi guys follow ur music. Can understand your agoney. ARR steped in to bollywood set the standards up.. poor you.

100000% true

2nd June 2011, 02:22 AM
Over at arrfyg everyone seems to be mourning over the sad dismissal of Akash Shah an intact Rahmaniac.

"Here below is link is some of his work and after hear all the file u will know its a great loss for All of Us and Music Industry too.. :(

http://www.mediafire.com/?cj7833z88pmd8"

He has created some amazing stuff. May god bless him and his loved ones too.

2nd June 2011, 06:26 AM
anand, lets not spill rubbish in this place...

2nd June 2011, 08:10 AM
AR has been nominated in the Filmfare South 2011 Awards for:

BEST MUSIC : Endhiran

BEST MUSIC : Vinnaithandi Varuvaaya

2nd June 2011, 01:25 PM
AR has been nominated in the Filmfare South 2011 Awards for:

BEST MUSIC : Endhiran

BEST MUSIC : Vinnaithandi Varuvaaya

allready thalaivar 24 ff award vaangitaru![record]upcoming md's-ikku kudutha romba nalla irukkum innu nenakiren!please sir!

AudazJay
2nd June 2011, 01:52 PM
allready thalaivar 24 ff award vaangitaru![record]upcoming md's-ikku kudutha romba nalla irukkum innu nenakiren!please sir!

:shock: I hope you're not serious about not wanting ARR to win the award!

2nd June 2011, 02:13 PM
Sorry to counter, just IMO: up-coming down-going ellaam matter illai, only result, quality and people's acceptance matters. yaar music pOttaa enna? THE BEST album / song / music should be rewarded.

2nd June 2011, 02:15 PM
:shock: I hope you're not serious about not wanting ARR to win the award!

ada neenga vera sir!nichayam award avarukkuthan kedaikunum innu ellarukkum theriyum.but konja periya manasu panni new comer-rukku kodutal nallathu!avalothan!

2nd June 2011, 02:28 PM
Actually, national award kuduthurukkaNum VTV-kku(Atleast the Songs part. BGM, I had reservations but heck, a lot of you who liked the movie liked that too). Filmfare sounds so like a vengala kiNNam. Anand is right, the award doesnt deserve the honour this time :)

2nd June 2011, 02:46 PM
vijay tv music award-da oru allu alitaru,ini award ellam pothum sir,tamil-la neraya padam pannunga sir!athan enggalukku venum.innum 3 varusam aagum pola tamil album release aaga!

2nd June 2011, 03:07 PM
after that i lost interest in these.
kudutthaalum sari... kudukkaattiyum sari..

2nd June 2011, 03:10 PM
ha..ha..ha..

2nd June 2011, 05:36 PM
பணம் கொடுத்து ஆஸ்கார் விருது வாங்கியதாக ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமானை பழிப்பதா? கலைப்புலி தாணு கண்டனம்

தயாரிப்பாளர் கலைப்புலி தாணு வெளியிட்டுள்ள அறிக்கையில் கூறியிருப்பதாவது:-

இசையால் உலக திரையுலகை தன் பக்கம் திரும்பி பார்க்க வைத்தவர் ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமான். அவர் இசையில் மயங்காதார் எவரும் இல்லை. திரைக்கலைஞர்களின் லட்சிய கனவான ஆஸ்கார் விருதை 2009-ல் ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமான் பெற்றுக் கொண்டு எல்லா புகழும் இறைவனுக்கே என தமிழில் கூறிய வார்த்தைகளை கேட்டு தமிழ் கூறும் நல்லுலகம் அவரை உச்சி முகர்ந்து மெச்சி மகிழ்ந்தது.

தமிழ் மன்னர் புகழை பழித்து கல் சுமந்த கசடர்களான கனசவிசயர் வழித் தோன்றலாய் இப்போது ஒரு இஸ்மாயில் தர்பார் தன்னை வெளிப்படுத்தியுள்ளார். இவர் ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமானை பழித்து விளம்பரம் தேடியுள்ளார்.

அதாவது, “ஜெய்ஹோ” பாடல் ரகுமானுக்கு உரியதில்லை என்றும் காசு கொடுத்து ஆஸ்கார் விருதை வாங்கியுள்ளார் என்றும் அவர் வசை பாடியுள்ளார். ஏ,ஆர்.ரகுமான் இசை தனித்துவம் வாய்ந்தது. நவீன தன்மைகளை உள்ளடக்கியது.

மேட்டுக்குடி இசையோடு பள்ளத்தில் தள்ளப்பட்டு கிடக்கும் தலித் மக்களின் பறையையும் இணைத்து தரும் சிறப்புடையது. “சினேகிதியே”, “அழகிய லைலா”, பாடல்கள் நவீன தன்மையில் மிளிர்வன. “சின்ன சின்ன ஆசையாக மிளிந்து மானூத்து சந்தையிலே என வளர்ந்து கண்ணா மூச்சி ஏனடா என வியக்க வைத்து “டாக்சி டாக்சி” என இளைஞர்கள் இதயங்களை சுண்டி இழுத்தது.

அவர் இசையை பருகி உலகமே ஆனந்த கூத்தாடுகிறது. ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமானை விமர்ச்சிக்க இஸ்மாயில் தர்பாருக்கு அருகதை இல்லை. ஆஸ்கார் விருதை பற்றி அவதூறு கூறியதன் மூலம் இப்படியும் அனாமதேய பேர் வழிகள் விளம்பரம் பெற்று விடுகிறார்கள்.

ஆனால் வித்தக கலைஞர் ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமான் புகழுக்கு எள்ளவு கூட களங்கம் கற்பித்து விட முடியாது. ஆஸ்கார் விருது குழுவின் 30 உறுப்பினர்களையும் காசு கொடுத்து விலைக்கு வாங்குவது என்பது இஸ்மாயில் தர்பாரின் கற்பனையில் மட்டுமே சாத்தியம்.

இவ்வாறு அறிக்கையில் குறிப்பிடப்பட்டு உள்ளது.

2nd June 2011, 05:38 PM
அழகிய லைலா? மானூத்து சந்தையிலே?? :confused:

2nd June 2011, 05:42 PM
maanuthu mandhaiyilE - Kizhakku seemaiyilE
Azhagiya Laila - Confusion!

2nd June 2011, 06:02 PM
“சினேகிதியே" ?

2nd June 2011, 06:07 PM
Azhagiya Cindrellava irukkumo?

BTW, 'Maanoothu Mandhaiyile, Kannaamoochi Yenada and Taxi Taxi are songs from movies produced by Thanu himself. Idhuleyum oru vilambaram!! :lol2:

2nd June 2011, 08:36 PM
Sorry to counter, just IMO: up-coming down-going ellaam matter illai, only result, quality and people's acceptance matters. yaar music pOttaa enna? THE BEST album / song / music should be rewarded.
correct..Vtv was the best album..even hit wise enthiran and vtv is in the top 3 other one being paiyya(IMO)...may be yuvan will get a look in for paiyya and goa,nma..but ARdhan 75% chance..

2nd June 2011, 09:26 PM
ivalo rayusu vudara ismail bhai meethu namma aalu 'maana nashtam'kes pottara thannguvana??

2nd June 2011, 09:30 PM
ivalo rayusu vudara ismail bhai meethu namma aalu 'maana nashtam'kes pottara thannguvana??

ivarukku dhaan maanatthula nastam agumae thavira namakku onnum baadhippu illa...
dhayavu senju indha sappai topic'a loosela vittutu vera edhachum ubayogamaa pesalaamae.

3rd June 2011, 08:37 PM
பணம் கொடுத்து ஆஸ்கார் விருது வாங்கியதாக ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமானை பழிப்பதா? கலைப்புலி தாணு கண்டனம்

தயாரிப்பாளர் கலைப்புலி தாணு வெளியிட்டுள்ள அறிக்கையில் கூறியிருப்பதாவது:-

இசையால் உலக திரையுலகை தன் பக்கம் திரும்பி பார்க்க வைத்தவர் ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமான். அவர் இசையில் மயங்காதார் எவரும் இல்லை. திரைக்கலைஞர்களின் லட்சிய கனவான ஆஸ்கார் விருதை 2009-ல் ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமான் பெற்றுக் கொண்டு எல்லா புகழும் இறைவனுக்கே என தமிழில் கூறிய வார்த்தைகளை கேட்டு தமிழ் கூறும் நல்லுலகம் அவரை உச்சி முகர்ந்து மெச்சி மகிழ்ந்தது.

தமிழ் மன்னர் புகழை பழித்து கல் சுமந்த கசடர்களான கனசவிசயர் வழித் தோன்றலாய் இப்போது ஒரு இஸ்மாயில் தர்பார் தன்னை வெளிப்படுத்தியுள்ளார். இவர் ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமானை பழித்து விளம்பரம் தேடியுள்ளார்.

அதாவது, “ஜெய்ஹோ” பாடல் ரகுமானுக்கு உரியதில்லை என்றும் காசு கொடுத்து ஆஸ்கார் விருதை வாங்கியுள்ளார் என்றும் அவர் வசை பாடியுள்ளார். ஏ,ஆர்.ரகுமான் இசை தனித்துவம் வாய்ந்தது. நவீன தன்மைகளை உள்ளடக்கியது.

மேட்டுக்குடி இசையோடு பள்ளத்தில் தள்ளப்பட்டு கிடக்கும் தலித் மக்களின் பறையையும் இணைத்து தரும் சிறப்புடையது. “சினேகிதியே”, “அழகிய லைலா”, பாடல்கள் நவீன தன்மையில் மிளிர்வன. “சின்ன சின்ன ஆசையாக மிளிந்து மானூத்து சந்தையிலே என வளர்ந்து கண்ணா மூச்சி ஏனடா என வியக்க வைத்து “டாக்சி டாக்சி” என இளைஞர்கள் இதயங்களை சுண்டி இழுத்தது.

அவர் இசையை பருகி உலகமே ஆனந்த கூத்தாடுகிறது. ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமானை விமர்ச்சிக்க இஸ்மாயில் தர்பாருக்கு அருகதை இல்லை. ஆஸ்கார் விருதை பற்றி அவதூறு கூறியதன் மூலம் இப்படியும் அனாமதேய பேர் வழிகள் விளம்பரம் பெற்று விடுகிறார்கள்.

ஆனால் வித்தக கலைஞர் ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமான் புகழுக்கு எள்ளவு கூட களங்கம் கற்பித்து விட முடியாது. ஆஸ்கார் விருது குழுவின் 30 உறுப்பினர்களையும் காசு கொடுத்து விலைக்கு வாங்குவது என்பது இஸ்மாயில் தர்பாரின் கற்பனையில் மட்டுமே சாத்தியம்.

இவ்வாறு அறிக்கையில் குறிப்பிடப்பட்டு உள்ளது.

cycle gape-la rahman date ikku application kekkraro???

4th June 2011, 12:44 PM
A R Rahman wants a break

He might be busy composing for Rana (Tamil), Rockstar (Hindi) and Godfather (Kannada), but the Mozart of Madras seems to have cut down on his projects drastically post the Oscars.

"Yes, it was a conscious decision. I wanted a break. There was a lot of shuttling happening between cities and I was living out of suitcase. One needs to really think about the logistics when doing projects in different languages. Hence, I decided to take it slow," says the musical genius.

At the same time, the Isai Puyal is really proud of his Oscars, which catapulted him into a different league altogether in the music scene. "No one from the country was bequeathed with the Academy Awards all these days. So, I when got the Oscars for Slumdog Millionaire, I felt really proud. The credit goes to the director of the film, Danny Boyle."

Now that many music directors are coming together for collaborative work, any chances of music director Ilaiyaraja and Rahman teaming together for a project? "We are in two different zones now. We did meet a couple of months ago at an award function and it was good to catch up with him. But I don't see any project happening with him soon," says the maestro.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/news-and-interviews/A-R-Rahman-wants-a-break/articleshow/8722652.cms

4th June 2011, 04:59 PM
vandicholai chinnaraasu is by ARR...am i right?have this doubt for long time

4th June 2011, 08:41 PM
yes it is
The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 10 characters.

6th June 2011, 01:23 PM
Today morning there was an ad in the daily for a movie shoot start. Film name: Summer Holidays. Director: Kathir. No details about the music though..

http://epaper.timesofindia.com/Repository/getimage.dll?path=TOICH/2011/06/06/27/Img/Ad0270511.png

6th June 2011, 01:37 PM
kadhir :sigh2: :banghead:

satissh_r
6th June 2011, 01:47 PM
I think he is waiting for thaliavar's availability..

6th June 2011, 02:56 PM
launch of another to-be-shelved movie...
best wishes kadhir...
hindi dubbing songs'a illaama irundhaa sari...
and if its arr, we ll be getting the songs before a year...

6th June 2011, 04:59 PM
I will do my best to bring in A R Rahman
Jun 06, 2011

http://images.behindwoods.com/photo-galleries-q1-09/tamil-photo-gallery/kodai-vidumurai/kodai-vidumurai-kodai-vidumurai-01.html

Director Kathir famous for his heartwarming love stories like Idhayam, Kadhalar Dinam, and Kadhal Virus has announced his next project which will be called Kodai Vidumurai with Srikanth. Since Kathir had taken a break from direction for the past seven years, this film has already created expectations. He has opted to work with his usual team - cinematographer Vel Raj and lyricist Vali.

The big question is whether AR Rahman will compose the music for this film as the duo has been a winning combination in the past. Kathir has said that he will do his best to rope in the extremely busy Rahman for this project. The hunt is on for the heroine.

6th June 2011, 06:17 PM
Cinematographer Velraj is in usual team of Kadhir :lol2: Vaazhga BW reporting!!

6th June 2011, 06:33 PM
Kadhir has actually used different cinematographers for each of his movies, Arjun Jena for Kadhal Virus, KV Anand for Kadhal Desam, PC Sreeram for Kadhalar Dhinam. Not sure abt Uzhavan and Idhayam.

7th June 2011, 06:39 AM
srikanth:banghead:

7th June 2011, 08:17 AM
just hoping that AR will compose for Kadhir's film..
i am a huge fan of this combo..Yashraj filmku podradhuku Kadhir padathuku podalam..kamaan Kadhir :clap:

7th June 2011, 10:54 AM
ARR will surely do this movie..no doubt..i hope they just release the songs :) movie dvd-le/black market release panna pothum :) wide release ellam strictly no

7th June 2011, 10:55 AM
srikanth:banghead:

better that kunal :lol2:

7th June 2011, 03:04 PM
sari hero sariyillanu aagipochu...
figure yaarunu sollungappa...

satissh_r
7th June 2011, 03:35 PM
sari hero sariyillanu aagipochu...
figure yaarunu sollungappa...

Rockstarla nadicha athey heroine than...

7th June 2011, 03:53 PM
hello.... signal... we..kaa iruk....... toing........

7th June 2011, 04:44 PM

Satissh,

Even I fell for that trap.. :lol:

7th June 2011, 04:50 PM
poangayya... poangayya....
poi pullakuttingala padikka vaingayaa....

satissh_r
7th June 2011, 05:00 PM

Satissh,

Even I fell for that trap.. :lol:

enga othukitinga... neengalum vanthu athey build up maintain panniruntha nalla irunthirukkum :noteeth:

7th June 2011, 05:49 PM
மீண்டும் ரஹ்மானுடன் கூட்டணி போடும் கதிர்?

இயக்குநர் கதிர் - ஏ ஆர் ரஹ்மான் கூட்டணியில் வந்த படங்கள் வசூலில் பெரும் வெற்றி பெறாவிட்டாலும், அந்தப் படங்களின் பாடல்கள் நல்ல வரவேற்பைப் பெற்றன.

இருவரும் முதலில் இணைந்த படம் உழவன். இந்தப் படம் படுதோல்வியைச் சந்தித்தது. ஆனால் ரஹ்மானின் அலை அப்போதுதான் ஆரம்பித்திருந்த நேரம் என்பதால் படத்தின் பாடல்கள் வெற்றி பெற்றன.

அதன் பிறகு காதல் தேசம் வந்தது. இந்தப் படத்தில் இடம்பெற்ற முஸ்தபா முஸ்தபா இன்றும் கூட முணுமுணுக்கப்படும் பாடல். பின்னர் வந்த காதலர் தினம் படத்திலும் இருவரது கூட்டணியும் பெரிதாக பேசப்பட்டது. இருவரும் கடைசியாக பணியாற்றிய காதல் வைரஸ் படத்தில். இந்தப் படத்திலும் பாடல்கள் மட்டும பெரிதாக பேசப்பட்டன.

இப்போது கோடை விடுமுறை என்ற படத்தை இயக்குகிறார் கதிர். ஸ்ரீகாந்த் ஹீரோவாக நடிக்கும் இந்தப் படத்துக்கும் இசை ரஹ்மான்தான் என்று கதிர் கூறிவருகிறார். ஆனால் ரஹ்மான் இன்னும் அதிகாரப்பூர்வமாக அறிவிக்கவில்லை.

7th June 2011, 05:54 PM
Can Kathir rope in AR Rahman?

One time, Kollywood's favourite "feel good musical specialist", director Kathir is making a comeback after nearly 10 years with Kodai Vidimurai, which has Srikanth as hero.

The director is known for his musical love stories with AR Rahman in films like Kadhalar Dinam, and Kadhal Virus. The film was launched on Monday (6June) at a simple function.

The big question asked at the launch was whether Kathir could rope in AR Rahman to score music for the film?

Remember Rahman and Kathir share a strong bonding right from their first film together- Uzhavan (1993), Kadhal Desam (1996), Kathalar Dhinam (1999) and Kathal Virus (2002).

Who can forget Rahman's song Mustafa, Mustafa from Kadhal Desam or Roja, Roja from Kadhalar Dhinam which inspired a generation of youth ?

Though the Rahman-Kathir combo was a musical hit, at the box-office their films were lukewarm.

Now can Kathir rope in the Oscar winning director to create the old magic?

At the launch Kathir said: "I will do my best to rope in Rahman who is extremely busy and concentrating on his international projects".

http://www.sify.com/movies/can-kathir-rope-in-ar-rahman-news-tamil-lghkUiebdhc.html

7th June 2011, 05:57 PM
padam nichayam flopthan!but album nichayam super duper hit!

7th June 2011, 07:06 PM
I think GV Prakash will be the music composer for this movie. Wasnt there another movie of Kathir with Srikanth called Manavar Dhinam ?

7th June 2011, 07:07 PM
:shock: ivaruku avlo supportta.though he made crap films, heard he is still respected in the industry :)
http://images.behindwoods.com/photo-galleries-q1-09/tamil-photo-gallery/kodai-vidumurai/wmarks/kodai-vidumurai05.jpg
tips to kathir--shed some tears in front of ARR and he'll surely do this project :lol2:

7th June 2011, 07:10 PM
Today morning there was an ad in the daily for a movie shoot start. Film name: Summer Holidays. Director: Kathir. No details about the music though..

http://epaper.timesofindia.com/Repository/getimage.dll?path=TOICH/2011/06/06/27/Img/Ad0270511.png
nalla iruku :oops: poetic :oops:

7th June 2011, 07:40 PM
appakuda antha poo-va vidula parungga!antha poova nenachathan adi vayiru kalanguthu!

7th June 2011, 07:45 PM
enakku ivaru use panra heart symbol pattha dhaan konjam bayamaa irukku...
he is the person in this world who has abused heart, the symbol, the significance more than anybody in this world.
there is only one thing he has not done with this heart.

7th June 2011, 08:10 PM
Ar music pottadhan Kadhiruku mariyadhai...kaman AR music podunga :D

7th June 2011, 08:16 PM
Ar music pottadhan Kadhiruku mariyadhai...kaman AR music podunga :D

music potta odijidatha sir!

7th June 2011, 08:17 PM
apdi illai...
avar solra feelings idhayam padatthula nallaa irundhadhu... apram Kadhal Desam'la innum konjam vaasichaar...
apram thirumbavum kadhalar dhinam... kaadhal virusnu... orae feeling... orae maadhiri kavidhai pesara characters... greeting card... rojaappoo... thyagam panra hero...
nemba lengthya poiruchu... adhaan.

7th June 2011, 08:25 PM
apdi illai...
avar solra feelings idhayam padatthula nallaa irundhadhu... apram Kadhal Desam'la innum konjam vaasichaar...
apram thirumbavum kadhalar dhinam... kaadhal virusnu... orae feeling... orae maadhiri kavidhai pesara characters... greeting card... rojaappoo... thyagam panra hero...
nemba lengthya poiruchu... adhaan.

100% true but music beutifull music thavira, movie-ya perusa etheerpakka onnum irukaathu!

7th June 2011, 08:26 PM
music potta odijidatha sir!

Anand
Ar music potta padam its good for us,ille vera yaravudhu "potta" pulla kuda porakka vaippu ille :mrgreen:

7th June 2011, 10:39 PM
A.R. Rahman, Facebook Page Statistics

http://www.famecount.com/facebook/ar-rahman

8th June 2011, 02:05 AM
better that kunal :lol2:

paavam avarae uyiroda illa...(BTW he was tolerable in Kaadhalar dinam)..
Over acting perumaal srikaanth...nammalukku thevay muzig thaan like kadhalar dinam,kaadal desam....

8th June 2011, 02:20 AM
:shock: ivaruku avlo supportta.though he made crap films, heard he is still respected in the industry :)
http://images.behindwoods.com/photo-galleries-q1-09/tamil-photo-gallery/kodai-vidumurai/wmarks/kodai-vidumurai05.jpg
tips to kathir--shed some tears in front of ARR and he'll surely do this project :lol2:

two good movies he made overall kaadhal desam,kaadhalar dinam..

8th June 2011, 10:48 AM
Mahen.

I heard that he used the same strategy (shedding tears) earlier which made ARR to release Kadhal Virus.

8th June 2011, 10:57 AM
Strictly Audio vonly for me, if it happens. Theatre irukkara dhisai kooda thalai vechu padukka mAttEn

AudazJay
8th June 2011, 12:50 PM
Strictly Audio vonly for me, if it happens. Theatre irukkara dhisai kooda thalai vechu padukka mAttEn

Me too :yes:

8th June 2011, 12:58 PM
Music will be by Harris Jeyaraj going by the gate tag

AudazJay
8th June 2011, 01:03 PM
Music will be by Harris Jeyaraj.

We need not be looking forward to anything, if that's the case...Just listen to HJ's love numbers that was released in the past decade and you'll know that they will somehow end up in this album!

8th June 2011, 01:10 PM
Audaz check the poster :lol:

8th June 2011, 01:12 PM
pootula hearta thonga vitrukaaru :bow:

music man
8th June 2011, 04:20 PM
First of all no one was impressed with his shelved MAANAVAR DHINAM. I think ARR would have composed some tunes in that project. I think he had renamed, rechanged and rechristened his project as KODAI VIDUMURAI.
The first choice of Srikkanth as a hero itself is a setback.. Kathir himself is making a comeback and he could have opted for some current sensational hero. I also doubt whether ARR will be motivated enough to compose for this project.
Its hightime ARR gives importance to the scripts and avoid movies likes SAKKARAKATI which was nothing but crap.
But ARR-Kadhir combo is always great to hear and they will try to bring the nostalgic 90's back..No need to worry about music...Only movie is a headache..I love Kadhir's movies as they are soft and romantic. I loved his Kadhalar Dhinam, Kadhal Desam and Idhayam.
So all be prepared for garden full of roses, greeting cards and a college campus where the hero and heroine love each other singlesidely and at the climax, the couple is separated where either the hero or the heroine dies....

Kadavule...

8th June 2011, 04:40 PM
This time the audience will die..

8th June 2011, 04:45 PM
mullin meedhu pogumbodhum... kaalsivandha menmai nee....
kallin meedhu neeyumingae... povadhenna kanmani....
indha jenmam vaazhvadhae..... unakkenatthaan..............
endhan vaazhvin kaadhal nilavae.......

this songs keeps lingering in my mind since morning...

8th June 2011, 07:51 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=wvpctfkRYs0

8th June 2011, 08:06 PM
Academy may sue Ismail Darbar for Rahman slur

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) has been contemplating to press defamation charges against Indian composer Ismail Darbar for alleging that fellow composer A.R. Rahman had "bought" his Oscar award.

According to sources, the AMPAS was contemplating to sue Darbar for $50 million.

Darbar had last month started the controversy accusing the internationally acclaimed film composer of unofficially buying the Oscar awards as he did not deserve it. According to Darbar, Rahman bagged two Oscars in 2008 -- "Best Original Score" and "Best Original Song" -- for his music in Slumdog Millionaire by bribing the AMPAS officials.

Though Rahman had denied the charge, he had ruled out any legal action against Darbar for his defamatory allegation.

Meanwhile, despite the AMPAS's strong reaction over his allegation, Darbar appeared unfazed. In an interview to a leading daily, he said: "I am not aware of any such legal notice from the Academy. I will react if and when I receive it."

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/site/story/academy-may-sue-ismail-darbar-for-rahman-slur/1/140790.html

8th June 2011, 08:07 PM
ajay.... idhu koodavae innoru ARR song'um irukkumae....

8th June 2011, 08:09 PM
Academy may sue Ismail Darbar for Rahman slur

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) has been contemplating to press defamation charges against Indian composer Ismail Darbar for alleging that fellow composer A.R. Rahman had "bought" his Oscar award.

According to sources, the AMPAS was contemplating to sue Darbar for $50 million.

Darbar had last month started the controversy accusing the internationally acclaimed film composer of unofficially buying the Oscar awards as he did not deserve it. According to Darbar, Rahman bagged two Oscars in 2008 -- "Best Original Score" and "Best Original Song" -- for his music in Slumdog Millionaire by bribing the AMPAS officials.

Though Rahman had denied the charge, he had ruled out any legal action against Darbar for his defamatory allegation.

Meanwhile, despite the AMPAS's strong reaction over his allegation, Darbar appeared unfazed. In an interview to a leading daily, he said: "I am not aware of any such legal notice from the Academy. I will react if and when I receive it."

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/site/story/academy-may-sue-ismail-darbar-for-rahman-slur/1/140790.html

indha maadhiri aappu adichaa dhaan thirundhuvaanga'nu nenachaalum... namma naattu maanam, nandu kadhai kappalera pogudhaenu varutthamaa irukku...

8th June 2011, 08:10 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pw0uYEMRssQ

8th June 2011, 08:14 PM
indha maadhiri aappu adichaa dhaan thirundhuvaanga'nu nenachaalum... namma naattu maanam, nandu kadhai kappalera pogudhaenu varutthamaa irukku...

Periya aappa vekkanum avanukku!

8th June 2011, 08:25 PM
Will Kathir get A R Rahman to score music?

Here’s good news for music lovers and fans of Oscar-winning composer A.R. Rahman.

Sources say that the maestro has, after an interval, agreed to compose again for Tamil cinema. The film is titled Kodai Vidumurai (Summer Holidays). Directed by Kathir, the movie went on the floors recently.

Kathir, who returns to filmmaking after a huge hiatus of nine years, shares a great rapport with the Grammy winner. Most of his previous flicks like Uzhavan, Kadhal Desam, Kadhalar Dhinam, Kadhal Virus were musical blockbusters and needless to add, ARR’s songs created a massive buzz at the time.

Kodai Vidumurai has Srikanth in the lead. The actor was conspicuous by his absence at the launch.

Later he told DC that he was stuck at Shankar’s Nanban shooting outside the city. Several filmmakers from K’town like Cheran, Ameer, Mysshkin, Sasi, Vetri Maaran, Vikraman, RV Udhayakumar, SP Jananathan and Durai were present to greet their peer and wish him well on his return.

Vivek, Vijayakumar and his actress-wife Manjula, RB Choudhary among others were also present on the occasion. Speaking at the event, Kathir said the film would be a musical entertainer, but kept the composer’s name under wraps.

It was ace lyricist Vaali who let the cat out of the bag by saying the little genius AR Rahman would join hands with Kathir for the fifth time! Vel Raj will handle the camera and Thotta Tharani is the art director.

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/channels/showbiz/kollywood/will-kathir-get-r-rahman-score-music-093

8th June 2011, 08:27 PM
A.R. Rahman to Perform at the Hollywood Bowl on July 10th

Global superstar A.R. Rahman will return to Los Angeles for a special performance at The Hollywood Bowl on Sunday, July 10th. As part of KCRW's World Festival Series, Rahman will perform with the Los Angeles Philharmonic for an evening celebrating his prolific career and most beloved film scores, including songs from Slumdog Millionaire and 127 Hours as well as Rahman's spectacular Bollywood hits.

A two-time Academy Award winning composer, A. R. Rahman is popularly known as the man who has redefined contemporary Indian music.

A.R. Rahman has joined forces with rock legend Mick Jagger, Dave Stewart, Damian "Junior Gong" Marley and Joss Stone to form the supergroup, Super Heavy. The band has quietly been recording together over the past 18 months, with their debut LP planned for sometime around September.

To purchase tickets to A.R. Rahman, visit The Hollywood Bowl's website.

Are you going to see A.R. Rahman at the Hollywood Bowl?

http://www.artistdirect.com/entertainment-news/article/a-r-rahman-to-perform-at-the-hollywood-bowl-on-july-10th/8973993

9th June 2011, 01:01 AM
ivvolavu anti kadhir slogan ah ...atleast forgive him for getting good songs from ARR

9th June 2011, 04:24 AM
ARR almost confirmed for Kadir film.Soon startsTamil-Hindi bilingual musical for his home production YM Movies..reports Deccan chronnicle,chennai

AudazJay
9th June 2011, 06:51 AM
ivvolavu anti kadhir slogan ah ...atleast forgive him for getting good songs from ARR

That I got to agree, although I must also admit that ARR has given many good songs to quite a number of undeserved directors, Kathir included :(

OTOH, I can't help but wonder the reason for this asaikka mudiyatha paasamum nesamum between ARR and Kathir? Is there any sort of history between them that I'm not aware of? :???:

9th June 2011, 09:32 AM
That I got to agree, although I must also admit that ARR has given many good songs to quite a number of undeserved directors, Kathir included :(

OTOH, I can't help but wonder the reason for this asaikka mudiyatha paasamum nesamum between ARR and Kathir? Is there any sort of history between them that I'm not aware of? :???:

According to hearsay, he was the first director to approach ARR (even before Mani). That's why ARR doesn't say no to him.

9th June 2011, 11:00 AM
Yes.. Thats true.. Kadhir had approached ARR for 'Uzhavan' even before Mani. And hence the soft corner.

9th June 2011, 11:04 AM
Isn't kadhir related to ARR thru his sister? :roll:

9th June 2011, 12:06 PM
Idhu ennayya pudhu kadhai? :roll:

9th June 2011, 12:42 PM
http://www.mail-archive.com/arrahmanfans@yahoogroups.com/msg01691.html
http://musicrahman.blogspot.com/2007/02/year-1999.html

Is this true? Or someone took an advantage & spread this rumour of how he repeatedly gets chance from ARR.

9th June 2011, 01:28 PM
Humma

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tu4BbGnmz8A&feature=player_embedded

9th June 2011, 01:49 PM
Academy comes to Rahman's help

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/hindi/article/67496.html

Rahman, Oscar, Academy

http://www.supergoodmovies.com/19412/kollywood/Rahman-Oscar-Academy-News-Details

Oscar Academy to sue Ismail for `Rahman comment`

http://zeenews.india.com/entertainment/articles/story89602.htm

9th June 2011, 06:04 PM
http://www.mail-archive.com/arrahmanfans@yahoogroups.com/msg01691.html
http://musicrahman.blogspot.com/2007/02/year-1999.html

Is this true? Or someone took an advantage & spread this rumour of how he repeatedly gets chance from ARR.

:shock:......

9th June 2011, 06:12 PM
enna shocking idhula?

9th June 2011, 06:50 PM
A kathir-Rahman flick again?

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/events/27574.html

9th June 2011, 07:24 PM
A R RAHMAN SEE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFYrdF4MzV8&feature=related

10th June 2011, 12:35 AM
enna shocking idhula?

Never knew Kathir was related to ARR..

Got a copy of spirit of music from chennai :) reading it now..interesting :)

AudazJay
10th June 2011, 09:03 AM
Thanks for the info, LM, Ajay, and Scale. Didn't know that Kathir approached ARR way before Mani did. And Kathir being ARR's brother in law is definitely news to me.

Got a copy of spirit of music from chennai :) reading it now..interesting :)

Did you order it from online Mahen? The website I went to can only deliver in and around India. Which website did you go to? Did you get the Connection cd with the book?

10th June 2011, 10:18 AM
Thanks for the info, LM, Ajay, and Scale. Didn't know that Kathir approached ARR way before Mani did. And Kathir being ARR's brother in law is definitely news to me.

Did you order it from online Mahen? The website I went to can only deliver in and around India. Which website did you go to? Did you get the Connection cd with the book?

I ordered it online through Flipcart and got it delivered to a friend in India. it was cool, coz it was pay when delivered. just got the book to my hand yesterday with the Connections CD. Awesome! :)

10th June 2011, 12:08 PM

parents bought for me..They were in chennai for 3 months and they came back yesterday :)yeap..together with the CD..the cost of the book is abt RM40

AudazJay
10th June 2011, 12:45 PM
Thanks for the info Lancelot and Mahen. Looks like I can only get this book if I have a friend in India or if I go to India myself :(

10th June 2011, 02:58 PM
AR Rahman’s states of mind

The composer’s latest project is a movie production house that he hopes will create wholesome family entertainment and use music differently. Nasreen Munni Kabir’s interviews shed new light on his personality, writes Shana Maria Verghis. Kabir does a Q&A

After creating his music label and academy, AR Rahman, whose various projects included composing music for the late MF Husain’s Meenaxi: A Tale Of Three Cities, is starting a film company. It is named YM Movies.

In AR Rahman, The Spirit of Music, a series of interviews with the musical genius, by filmmaker Nasreen Munni Kabir, Rahman explained that AR’s film project is to, “provide a platform for new ideas and change the perception of music implementation in films.” Adding he was “keen that we produce family entertainment that enriches our lives. I’m hoping it will also help to change the status of musicians in India...The profession itself must be regarded as a stable one.”

Not many people know it was a singer and actor, the late Malaysia Vasudevan, who gave AR Rahman his first break as a music producer. In 1987, he composed an album with Vasudevan. It had various music styles, like disco, although the title of the collection was Disco Disco.

AR fans usually know he was in a band called Magic and another called Roots. Both with Sivamani.

The longer story behind Rahman’s early band days, is that the first one he formed, was with schoolmates, when he was in class nine. It was a rock music cover band. Another group, Magic, was created between 1985-86. It had two shows. A few years later, Roots did fusion music and disbanded after one show. Like Rahman’s last band, Nemesis Avenue, which was formed between 1990-91?

Nasreen Munni Kabir, a documentary filmmaker, who has produced books based on the screenplays of Awaara, Mother India and Pyaasa, uses the interview format he had applied for a previous book on Lata Mangeshkar, to unearth various facets like the above, about Rahman’s life and work. Published by Om Books, AR Rahman, The Spirit of Music is based on Kabir’s four years of chats with the music producer, beginning from the year 2007. In it, he discusses everything from his family, to his early days of struggle and also gives us insights into his perception.

Rahman said that working with the music director Shekar, had expanded his world vision. While Mani Ratnam’s collaboration, inspired him to think laterally. The influence of spirituality meanwhile had “helped me to think positively.” After Roja, for instance, Rahman felt a vacuum and was unsure whether he wanted to go on composing for films. When Ratnam told him his music should be “for the whole world”, he began to think differently. Instead of complaining things about things he realised it was better to think: “I can make a change, make a difference. I can do this. I can do that.”

He clarified in the book that he never toured on the Colours album (1992) with Zakir Hussain, but only played notes he was given on a keyboard. Nor has he ever studied at London’s Trinity College. Rahman did however sit for a Trinity exam at Musee Musical in Chennai which has followed Trinity’s Western classical music course for close to a century. The composer also said that creating jingles, helped him develop “linear thinking.” He commented, “Writing jingles requires a kind of superficial intelligence. Sometimes we need superficial intelligence. And when we don’t, we must switch it off.”

Rahman apparently does zikr, a meditation and goes into that state for some hours. It helps his composing. He remarked, “Ultimately, you should try and be a good human being if you want to make good music. You have to stay out of negativity — be in another state.” So he “needs to be quiet” and “distant from time to time.”

Here is Kabir in a Q&A:

A musical director in Bollywood, Ismail Durbar recently alleged that Rahman bought his Oscars. Did that ever come up while talking to him?

Ismail Durbar clearly doesn’t know on what basis Oscars are given out. I think he should be very careful about accusing the American Academy of selling Oscars to anyone. He is demeaning and slandering a reputed institution without proof. He should remember the Americans are famous for suing people for libel.

Your book doesn’t mention AR Rahman’s latest project with Dave Stewart and others, including Mick Jagger. But it has a picture of him with Stewart. Was that a deliberate omission?

Not a deliberate mission! We had to send the manuscript to the printer at the end of Feb for a May release. A book is not Twitter and can’t be up to the minute, thank Goodness. Or there would be no books. At least books have a kind of permanency.

Did you ever encounter an angry Rahman?

Everyone is bossy when they need things done. I never saw him angry.

What do you think is the source of constant innovations?

I think it is his spirituality and desire to create new sounds and push the boundaries of music.

Did you sit on sessions where he was working? What was that like?

Yes. I sat in on many sessions. He records quietly. Say he is working with his favourite flute player Naveen Kumar. They will talk gently. Then AR records Naveen’s improvisations. It gives the musician freedom to give something of himself. After that AR edits the whole piece together and the work is painstakingly done in a disciplined fashion.

AR told you he was weak in languages. I think he learnt Urdu and manages to get nuances.
He spoke of getting a Maulana to teach him. He’s weak at speaking languages but not weak at understanding. He grasps the essentials for sure.

What was happening at the conservatory when you visited. Does he find time to go there?

There was a piano class. I was floored by the standard of playing. Students were so young. So fired up. AR goes when he can, but is not a teacher. So he doesn’t need to be there on a daily basis.

http://www.dailypioneer.com/344680/AR-Rahman%E2%80%99s--states-of-mind.html

10th June 2011, 03:11 PM

song discussion la intha song okya machan nu kettirupar Rahman...udane koluthi pottirupaanga Kathir is ARR's brother in law nu :)

See this link http://www.mail-archive.com/arrahmanfans@yahoogroups.com/msg33493.html, supposedly taken from Kathir's interview in Rahmania show (Aaha FM), so these are words from the man himself

He knew ARR
> > > right from Roja Fame, and was waiting for the right opportunity to get
> > > assosociated with our Guru .
> > >
> > > 2. After Idhayam, he was in search of a new Music Director for his new
> > > film Kadhal desam. His very first meeting with ARR, he started liking him.
> > > ARR was playing the guitar for the song Chinna Chinna Aasai & Kadhal
> > > Rojave
> > > ( Roja ) . Kadhir was impressed by these songs, that he decided and
> > > desperately wanted ARR for his movies. At that time, his salaray levels
> > > were
> > > very low, and he wanted to book ARR for his movies, by paying him some
> > > advanceof Rs. 10,000 /-. So he borrowed this money from his friend. The
> > > first story that was discussed was Kadhal Desam, though Uzhavan got
> > > released
> > > first.

Getting ARR's date was very difficult, as every director wanted to
> > > Book ARR for their films. Kadhir was moving with ARR like his friend, and
> > > ARR used to ask Kadhir for poems everytime they met.

5. ARR was fond of Kadhir, which Kadhir attrbutes to God's Gift. More
> > > than being a professional, ARR was always friendly. Kadhir used to feel
> > > inspired seeing Rahman; thus seeing him as a role model

10th June 2011, 04:06 PM
Michael Bolton - GEMS Vignettes: A.R. Rahman MichaelBolton

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fMm88H-gHY

10th June 2011, 04:08 PM
M F Husain said 'Jai ho Rahman'

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/tabloid/glam-sham/m-f-husain-said-jai-ho-rahman-363

10th June 2011, 04:16 PM
Thanks for the info Lancelot and Mahen. Looks like I can only get this book if I have a friend in India or if I go to India myself :(

if you are in Kl, you can always get it from me :) i have finished it

11th June 2011, 02:54 AM
"Munbe Va" (A.R. Rahman cover) ft. Iyer Sisters - Shankar Tucker

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2dSjP7eyWRs

11th June 2011, 07:07 AM
ithu eppo vanthuchi? :oops: first time im seeing this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjMs_imWkFM&feature=related

12th June 2011, 03:27 PM
ரஹ்மான் லஞ்சம் கொடுத்து விருது பெறவில்லை-ஆஸ்கர் குழு பதில் (http://thatstamil.oneindia.in/movies/hollywood/2011/06/jai-ho-controversy-oscar-panel-replies-aid0128.html)

12th June 2011, 05:34 PM
sakala... ivanga solli dhaan idhu oorukku theriyumaa enna....
idhula paaraatradhukku enna irukkku?

12th June 2011, 05:37 PM
Kodai Vidumurai with Srikanth
Maybe because I saw Srikanth's name and Kathir's name first - I read this involuntarily as "Kodumai varaimuRai" at first :lol:

13th June 2011, 04:06 PM
Ismail Darbar Apologises Over Oscar Comment

After rumours about the Academy planning to sue him for $50,000 million, Ismail Darbar, who had accused AR Rahman of having bought the Oscar awards, says he is ready to apologise.

The musician had indicted Rahman, who received two Oscars in 2008 Best Original Score and Best Original Song for his music in Slumdog Millionaire, of having paid for them.

Following this, there was scuttlebutt that The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences might sue him for insinuating that the awards can be bought.

Darbar now says he has nothing against the Oscars and that he just wanted to warn his 'friend' Rahman for churning out inferior quality music since last one year.

Darbar says, "I am grateful that I have been respected in the industry for my work. I did say some things about Rahman, because as a friend I want to jolt him out of his reverie and start giving good music. I chose a public platform to do it, because he wouldn't listen to me otherwise. I have nothing against the Oscars. It is the most respected award, the whole world acknowledges it, and I do, too. If any of them (Academy) are hurt by my comments, I apologise to them."

Darbar says he is not saying this out of fear of anyone, but God.

"I am not scared. The truth is, I realise that those people who respected me for my work, might misunderstand me and think I am baddimaag (arrogant person). Also, the fact is, I can have nothing against the Oscar panel or those behind the awards. My issue was with Rahman and I guess he's got the message by now," he said.

13th June 2011, 04:10 PM
Ismail Darbar Apologises Over Oscar Comment

After rumours about the Academy planning to sue him for $50,000 million, Ismail Darbar, who had accused AR Rahman of having bought the Oscar awards, says he is ready to apologise.

The musician had indicted Rahman, who received two Oscars in 2008 Best Original Score and Best Original Song for his music in Slumdog Millionaire, of having paid for them.

Following this, there was scuttlebutt that The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences might sue him for insinuating that the awards can be bought.

Darbar now says he has nothing against the Oscars and that he just wanted to warn his 'friend' Rahman for churning out inferior quality music since last one year.

Darbar says, "I am grateful that I have been respected in the industry for my work. I did say some things about Rahman, because as a friend I want to jolt him out of his reverie and start giving good music. I chose a public platform to do it, because he wouldn't listen to me otherwise. I have nothing against the Oscars. It is the most respected award, the whole world acknowledges it, and I do, too. If any of them (Academy) are hurt by my comments, I apologise to them."

Darbar says he is not saying this out of fear of anyone, but God.

"I am not scared. The truth is, I realise that those people who respected me for my work, might misunderstand me and think I am baddimaag (arrogant person). Also, the fact is, I can have nothing against the Oscar panel or those behind the awards. My issue was with Rahman and I guess he's got the message by now," he said.

ya... the whole world's got the message.

14th June 2011, 07:14 PM
Ashutosh Gowarikar is all set to make a sequel of his critically acclaimed film ‘Swades’. According to the sources, Ashutosh is in talks to retain Shah Rukh Khan, who played Mohan Bhargava a NRI in the prequel.

“I am planning to make ‘Swades 2’ but it’s too early to talk about it,” said Gowarikar who denied to divulge more details about the story.

The sources also informed that though SRK is the first choice of the filmmaker, there shall be change as far as actress in the film is concerned. Gayatri Joshi was introduced opposite Khan in ‘Swades’ but since she has quit the industry after marriage, a new replacement is being considered.
Sources added that the story board is like a second chapter where Mohan Bhargava, the protagonist will be on a journey to set up basic amenities for another part of rural India.

The 200 odd minutes film ‘Swades’ which had a message for every Indian who desired to make his name abroad when his soil needed him the most is all set to move forward with a sequel which will show the NRI trying his best for the upliftment of his fellow Indian citizens.

Thanks - Daily Bhaskar

Source: http://www.srktimes.com/2011/06/swades-2-with-srk-ashutosh-gowarikar.html

:happydance:

15th June 2011, 07:09 AM
It is 10th Anniversary of Lagaan today. And a tibute post, about (what else) A.R.Rahman's best ever background score, in Lagaan

http://www.backgroundscore.com/2011/06/10th-anniversary-of-lagaan.html

15th June 2011, 03:31 PM
It is 10th Anniversary of Lagaan today. And a tibute post, about (what else) A.R.Rahman's best ever background score, in Lagaan

http://www.backgroundscore.com/2011/06/10th-anniversary-of-lagaan.html

Thanks you suresh

Lagaan.

What can I say about this film? I'm just a grain and a really miniscule fraction
of the population that stood up with their hands on their heart feeling the pride
of nation, regardless of their origin i.e. Indian, Pakistani or Bangladeshi.

If the Empire didn't arrive at the sub-continent, would there really be 3
countries or division.

Back to the topic – All songs can't be explained in mere words but the songs
that initially had me going were Chale chalo and Oh paalanhaare. Who would've
thought that Oh paalanhaare would start the triology followed by pal pal hai
bhari and mann mohana. With time Radha kaise na jale became the most heard song
for me and watching this song as stage performances many times ignited my
interest in this song furthermore.

However in terms of picturisation, I would say Ghanan ghanan is my pick from the
film and may be to a lesser extent, O re chori.

But for a deeper feel, Radha kaise na jale is the best song whether heard on
headphones or speakers. The percussion compliments the instrumentation so well.

Along with Radha kaise na jale the other song that equally catapulted to
forefront of my playlist was the theme song. Theme songs like this are not
churned every day and neither do they genrally/often appear for patriotic
movies. ARR redefined the music scene with this film once again or should I say,
"..... Once upon a time in india".

15th June 2011, 03:33 PM
for me the goosebump song was 'baar baar aa...'

16th June 2011, 10:47 AM
Akshay Kumar's Ko

Akshay Kumar is very excited about his remake of Ko and is putting together a team as quickly as possible. RS Infotainment and Fox will be producing this venture jointly. Daredevil that Akshay is, he loved the stunts in Ko and wants to do the same on a larger scale in his version.

Anthony D'Souza aka Tony will be wielding the directorial baton. He had formerly worked with Akshay in the debacle Blue. Word is that AR Rahman will be doing the score. Karthika might be the heroine but that bit of news is awaiting confirmation. There is no word on who will do Piaa's part.

16th June 2011, 11:19 AM
Karthika :shock: Again??? :shock: :shock: Boycotttttttttttttttttttttttt

16th June 2011, 12:34 PM
Akshay Kumar's Ko

. Word is that AR Rahman will be doing the score. .

no arr.....again for gindi

16th June 2011, 12:38 PM
கோழி குருடா இருந்தா என்ன? குழம்பு ருசியா இருந்தா போதாதா?

16th June 2011, 02:46 PM

whatt..... thaa....fffreaak..... :evil:

Sid_316
16th June 2011, 07:46 PM
AR Rahman: The Spirit of Music is an authorized biography. For someone so painfully shy, how difficult was it to allow someone to peep into your life and mind?
The whole idea while writing this book was that it should make sense to the person reading it and be a positive exercise. And to make it positive, I had to give them the whole route.

Did it take much convincing on the part of the author?
First of all, I agreed to do it because Munni was writing it and also because she’s multi-cultural. I too have both Indian sensibilities and a certain global understanding because I have lived abroad too.

What other goals have you set for yourself?
We’re celebrating 20 years of my music career. I’m going into another direction which is giving back to society. My music school KM Conservatory is moving forward.

How much do you get affected by criticism?
If there is no criticism you become lazy. But it should be constructive and it should be the truth.
Your theme song for the Commonwealth Games got a lot of flak… There were probably certain things we overlooked. Everyone was expecting an international song and we wanted it to be motivational. A lot of people were so drowned in Shakira’s Waka waka that they found Jiyo… very desi.

Does genius also err?
(Laughs). It is good to err. But making music in a film is not one person’s decision. They work as a team, but if the main guy, the director, goes terribly wrong then everyone hates the music and everything else associated with the film.

Did you feel terrible when Jhootha Hi Sahi and Raavan came a cropper after your Oscar win?
That’s how it is. But around the same time, I was working on 127 Hours which got an Oscar nomination.

Were you prepared when you lost the Oscars for 127 Hours?
I was prepared for it because I knew that after winning two Oscars, they wouldn’t give it to me again. So, after the awards, we skipped the governor’s ball and went to a Malayali restaurant and feasted on morkozhambu, rasam and sambar.

What is your take about the must-have item song in movies?
(Smiles) That’s the culture nowadays! If you’re making a commercial movie and people are enjoying it, it’s fine.

Have you heard Munni badnam Hui or Sheila ki jawani?
I liked Sheila ki jawani very much.

Heard you’re planning to produce films…
Yeah it’s an aspiration. For the past six months I’ve taken a break and going through ideas. We’ll mostly kick the venture with one Tamil and one Hindi film.

Would you remix an RD Burman song? What’s your stand on remixes?
No! As a composer, I’d rather do a new song. Sometimes, a remix is good because it reaches a whole new generation. But when it gets too much, it’s irritating.

Apparently, Mani Ratnam has gone back to Illayaraja for his next film...
No, I’m doing the movie. Hopefully.

Your collaboration with Mani Ratnam is magical.
We struck a rapport with the first movie. The movie that we are now working on is a typical South Indian one. So there’s going to be a lot of South Indian classical and folk music.

How often do you thank the Sufi saint Moti Baba (in Chennai) because it’s there your mother first saw your wife Saira?
(Laughs) Moti Baba! Man! I can’t complain to him when things go wrong. But seriously marriage is not just a physical thing. (Giggles) The institution of marriage works better when there’s a spiritual connection.

What kind of a father are you?
I am a friend when I need to be a friend, a father when I need to be a father and a musician when music calls. I switch roles accordingly.

Is it true that when you take your kids to Disneyland and elsewhere you film it, so that they don’t accuse you of not spending time with them later?
I have said this in the book in a cheeky way. You always cherish good memories. I thought it was important to have some documentation of whatever little I do.

Do you feel guilty of not spending enough time with your family?
(Laughs) No, I’m not guilty at all. At least they have a father. I didn’t have one. It’s not a perfect life. And that’s what makes it special. That’s what makes us more human.:

http://www.filmfare.com/articles/ar-rahman-its-not-a-perfect-life-2478.html

satissh_r
16th June 2011, 08:15 PM
I've read the same interview a month or so ago.. Looks like Filmfare rehashed it

16th June 2011, 08:17 PM
That's a good interview :thumbsup:

18th June 2011, 07:37 AM
Akshay Kumar's Ko

Akshay Kumar is very excited about his remake of Ko and is putting together a team as quickly as possible. RS Infotainment and Fox will be producing this venture jointly. Daredevil that Akshay is, he loved the stunts in Ko and wants to do the same on a larger scale in his version.

Anthony D'Souza aka Tony will be wielding the directorial baton. He had formerly worked with Akshay in the debacle Blue. Word is that AR Rahman will be doing the score. Karthika might be the heroine but that bit of news is awaiting confirmation. There is no word on who will do Piaa's part.
no remakes..adhvum Akshay kumar ..no never :evil:

20th June 2011, 05:05 PM
GVM's 101st announcement on his next project..

http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/jun-11-03/gautham-menon-jiiva-20-06-11.html

20th June 2011, 05:08 PM
arumaivadi

20th June 2011, 06:45 PM
i think we can ignore that news :) Let him finish his VTV remake first..GVM neraya pesuvaru but no action

21st June 2011, 07:29 AM
yes a film with mahesh babu,film wiht rana,film with telugu actor ram,love story with mirchi shiva,period film called anandan,a film with surya(initially was with ajith),ippo idhu :banghead:

AudazJay
21st June 2011, 08:14 AM

whatt..... thaa....fffreaak..... :evil:

Doesn't make a difference to me. With Akshay Kumar as the hero, no way am I going to watch the film anyway.

21st June 2011, 11:54 AM
3 great interviews of Rahman Sir coming your way very soon.

The first of the three is on CNN international - tomorrow where the interviewer discusses with Sir how he approaches composing for scores and Sir plays the piano and demonstraters.

The second is with Filmfare where you will read Sir's exclusive response to the Ismail Darbar controversy and when you read the reply, you will love and respect the man a thousand times more.

The last will be with Dr Roy of NDTV who specially flew down from Delhi to interview him. Dr Roy doesnt interview or runs a weekly program on his channel yet he was keen to do this with Sir.

-vijay@kmmusiq.com

21st June 2011, 11:56 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TdmBHEFyiE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dG0_foaJ5o&feature=related