View Full Version : Oscar Thamizhan 'Isaipuyal' AR Rahman News/Updates

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

3rd January 2011, 12:24 PM
My guess is somewhere near the kosu or garbage scene probably bohra testing chitti for approval or the labour ward.

3rd January 2011, 12:27 PM
I think he means the 'delivery' scene

3rd January 2011, 12:40 PM
Oh ok, thanks master. The same article mentions thalaivar as the MD, is it confirmed?

I'm not so sure :?

satissh_r
3rd January 2011, 02:16 PM
Twitter message from thalaivar:

[html:ffe6448e51]http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/hs038.snc6/166827_480458876719_63441126719_6465110_5649681_n. jpg[/html:ffe6448e51]

Hey Guys, watch out for the world premiere of my new music video...coming soon....

3rd January 2011, 02:33 PM
Indha manushan romba freeya irukkaru pola.. :-)

A.R. Rahman in FB:

The period portions of Magadheera (Telugu) and the 8th reel of Robot are pieces of Indian cinema which blew my mind last year... I haven't watched many Indian films though... Been watching south Indian songs on a HD satellite receiver... A world of difference in sound and picture quality...

Konjam relax aakattum :bow: so far only 2 releases in 2011.

3rd January 2011, 03:30 PM
[tscii:95a7088231]The MGR-Sivaji Academy Awards distribution ceremony was held under the aegis of V4 Entertainer at Lady Andal Hall in Chennai. Karthik was honored with the MGR award and Prabhu was felicitated with the Sivaji award for their yeoman service in the film industry.

Endhiran was adjudged the best film of 2010 and Sun Pictures’ Hansraj Saxena was presented with the award. The producers of Singam, Naan Mahaan Alla, Paiyya, Myna, Madarasapattinam, Angadi Theru, and Aatanayagan were also felicitated with awards.

The best directors’ award went to KS Ravi Kumar for Manmadhan Ambu, Prabhu Solomon for Myna, Vijay for Madarasapattinam, Samudrakani for Nadodigal, Lingusamy for Paiyya and Vasantha Balan for Angadi Theru.

The best actors’ award went to Jai (Kanimozhi), Jayam Ravi (Thillalangadi), Aadhi (Ayyanar), Srikanth (Drohi), Krishna (Kattradhu Kalavu) and Arun Vijay (Manja Velu). Both Vadivelu and Vivek took home the best comedian award.

AR Rahman enthralled the audience by singing the song Irumbile Oru Idayam from Endhiran on Vadivelu’s request.[/tscii:95a7088231]

3rd January 2011, 04:00 PM
Thalaivar at Vairamuthu's book launch.

[html:ed1dd2e917]http://images.behindwoods.com/photo-galleries-q1-09/tamil-photo-gallery/vairamuthu-1000/wmarks/vairamuthu-100010.jpg[/html:ed1dd2e917]

3rd January 2011, 07:17 PM
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/hs038.snc6/166827_480458876719_63441126719_6465110_5649681_n. jpg

Ghajini pada Surya maadhiri pose koduthurukkaru!!

4th January 2011, 03:41 AM
Pauletta Pearson Washington , Denzel Washington and A R Rahman - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-LLpptIhq1k

4th January 2011, 04:15 AM
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/hs038.snc6/166827_480458876719_63441126719_6465110_5649681_n. jpg

Ghajini pada Surya maadhiri pose koduthurukkaru!!

He sure does look like a dashing action hero returning from a task here hehe Thalaivar just keeps looking younger in every pic I see of him these days :notworthy:

5th January 2011, 08:59 PM
isai kadavuLukku iniya pirandha nAL vAzhththukkaL :notworthy:

6th January 2011, 12:50 AM
happy birthday ARR...
wish u many more victories this year.

6th January 2011, 12:53 AM
[html:781976dd22]http://rahmaniac.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/arr.jpg[/html:781976dd22]

6th January 2011, 01:58 AM
:cheer: Many more happy returns of the day to my hero and role model, AR Rahman. :cheer:

May this be another blessed year. :D

6th January 2011, 01:59 AM
Great pic btw LM. :)

6th January 2011, 03:31 AM
:2thumbsup: Happy birthday ARR sir. Not just a year older, but a year better.:2thumbsup:

[html:b9ccec68e9]http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/3628/32432008.jpg[/html:b9ccec68e9]

6th January 2011, 06:06 AM
HAPPY BIRTHDAY THALA :cheer: :cheer:

6th January 2011, 07:17 AM
Vaazhthugiren, Vanangugiren!!!

AudazJay
6th January 2011, 08:19 AM
:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: Happy birthday Rahman ji! My whole day is going to be filled with your wonderful music today :happydance: :happydance: :happydance:

6th January 2011, 08:57 AM
:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: Happy birthday Rahman ji! My whole day is going to be filled with your wonderful music today :happydance: :happydance: :happydance:

our whole life is filled with his music - Audaz :D

to the man, who gave us all our rebirths - happy birthday sir :bow:

6th January 2011, 09:28 AM
Happy Birthday Rahamn Sir!

Enakku ninavu therinja naal-la irunthu un paadal ketkatha naatkal kidayathu...i feel so lucky to listen ur creation :ty:

I take this opportunity to thank GOD for given birth to this soul AR in our earth!! :bow: :bow: :bow:

6th January 2011, 09:43 AM

So true

satissh_r
6th January 2011, 09:50 AM
Many many happy returns of the day thalaiva :) :)
May god bless you with peace and happiness throughout, may all that you longed for, come true this year :)

AudazJay
6th January 2011, 12:21 PM

to the man, who gave us all our rebirths - happy birthday sir :bow:

Yes but usually I don't have the luxury to listen to his songs 24 hours a day. Nevertheless I took a day off today and am at home- listening to all his songs from Roja onwards. :D Hmmmm...if only all days could be like this.

6th January 2011, 01:48 PM
enthan isai kadavulluke iniya pirantha naal vazthukkal :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

en marana padukayilum unthan uyir isai olikka vendum! :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:

6th January 2011, 01:49 PM
[tscii:9f6a036ba0]Happy B'day ARR Yuvan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJXKLCbXwg4

No Birthday Celebration This Year ¨C ARR

`SINCE I DID NIYYAT FOR MY LITTLE GIRL THERE ARE NO B'DAY CELEBRATIONS' "I'm off on a pilgrimage...I did niyyat (a vow taken to improve daughter's health) for my little girl. So, there are no birthday celebrations!" The global icon was obviously referring to his younger daughter, who underwent heart surgery recently.

Source : Deccan Chronicle
[/tscii:9f6a036ba0]

6th January 2011, 03:12 PM
wonder where he is off on pilgrimage? Umrah?

6th January 2011, 05:15 PM
[tscii:21b2f74017]Off Apple, Oranges and Mangoes

Once upon a time there was apple. Everyone loved it and appreciated it and never thought they could like anything else as they liked it. Then came orange and orange just blew everyone away with the number of oranges it was able to generate and its quality. People thought that was it and nothing in the world could come close to the combined class of apple and orange. But then came mango. This mango took the nation by storm. People were stunned and went crazy about this mango. It was mango everywhere. People loved shared and exported mango everywhere.

All was going well until the taste of mango was started to be reproduced through different people. It didn’t happen before with apple and orange. They had the uniqueness which still is preserved. But with mango there were many other similar mangoes produced which gave similar taste. While those who tasted the original mangoes stuck to it others started to look for alternatives.

Now the original mango sensed all this and started to change him into something new. Soon he transformed into an altogether new identity strawberry. This change however didn’t go down well with the lovers of his mango avatar. They couldn’t let go off his mango taste and adjust to the new strawberry taste. While those who lapped it up continued to enjoy it further. But now are faced with lot of questions asked about their taste. They being new are out numbered compared to the mango avatar lovers. In spite of all the success and fame strawberry is getting worldwide for its taste mango lovers still want the strawberry to change himself and return back to mango avatar.

We at cinecorn belong to a different group who enjoy both the mango and strawberry alternatively and do not crib on those who love the strawberry.We ideally would wish to see more people belong to our group who would enjoy both. But that doesn’t seem to be the case as of today. So we wish to see strawberry get greater success worldwide in coming years and get more and more followers who could eventually outnumber the mango followers for we have so many mango clones in the market. More power to strawberry followers this new year and on his birthday.

Source: ARROC[/tscii:21b2f74017]

6th January 2011, 05:48 PM
Why have you posted something about fruits in a thread about A R Rahman? :lol:
interesting read :)

6th January 2011, 06:12 PM
As a Crazy Mango Lover, I wish ARR all the best in his strawberry phase..
The new year has begun and this whole year ARR will have time only to collect awards all over the world!!!

6th January 2011, 11:37 PM
Happy Birthday to A R Rahman.

V_S
7th January 2011, 12:37 AM
Wishing a Very Happy Birthday to ARR!
On this beautiful occasion, please listen to these two special feature broadcasted last March, in one of our local FM station. I posted this link for different context earlier in another thread.

http://www.wrcjfm.org/index.php/film-classics

There are two presentations:
1. 03/01/09 -- A. H. RAHMAN (initials misspelled)
2. 02/22/09 - 2009 OSCAR SHOW

It is interesting and surprising that the Host 'Jack Goggin' mentions ARR as Isaipuyal and his whole history too! Ensoy!!

7th January 2011, 12:47 AM
http://www.youtube.com/user/ragenthan#p/c/C822173989DFFAEF/4/uJyKURPWudY

What song is this ? That sounds awesome

7th January 2011, 12:54 AM
On this beautiful occasion, please listen to these two special feature broadcasted last March, in one of our local FM station. I posted this link for different context earlier in another thread.

It is interesting and surprising that the Host 'Jack Goggin' mentions ARR as Isaipuyal and his whole history too! Ensoy!!

That's a great share, V_S. Thank you :)

7th January 2011, 01:00 AM
http://www.youtube.com/user/ragenthan#p/c/C822173989DFFAEF/4/uJyKURPWudY

What song is this ? That sounds awesome

I assume you don't know to read Tamil or you haven't watched the video fully. Around 3:54-4:00, there's a caption saying this is exclusively composed for Sun TV interview. But I vaguely remember something similar from one of his BG scores.

K
7th January 2011, 07:29 AM
http://radiospathy.blogspot.com/2011/01/blog-post.html

Rahman Birthday Special

V_S
7th January 2011, 08:42 AM

That's a great share, V_S. Thank you :)
Thank you LM for listening. Glad you like it.

7th January 2011, 10:56 AM
:bluejump: :redjump: :boo: :victory: :ty: :cool2: :happydance: :cheer: :pink: :2thumbsup: :musicsmile: :bluejump: :redjump: :boo: :victory: :ty: :cool2: :happydance: :cheer: :pink: :2thumbsup: :musicsmile: :bluejump: :redjump: :boo: :victory: :ty: :cool2: :happydance: :cheer: :pink: :2thumbsup: :musicsmile:

7th January 2011, 10:56 AM
I AM SOOOOOOOOO HAPPY!!! HURRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY

7th January 2011, 11:15 AM
This week's Kumudham has an article on Kamal's refusal to accept ARR as the next heir to the throne, which MSV and IR enjoyed once. YSR, VS and others MDs have refused to comment on the same as expected. Only GVP has said that its KH's personal opinion and there is nothing wrong in that. But the world knows what the truth is.. :-)

7th January 2011, 12:23 PM
This week's Kumudham has an article on Kamal's refusal to accept ARR as the next heir to the throne, which MSV and IR enjoyed once. YSR, VS and others MDs have refused to comment on the same as expected. Only GVP has said that its KH's personal opinion and there is nothing wrong in that. But the world knows what the truth is.. :-)

itha ellam perusa eduthukka venam!kamal MSV,IR next DSP'ya sonna the periya comedy :lol: ellam rahman mela ulla kovam-than avarukku!not avalaible for him!manmatha anbu song-la vara 'pona poguthunnu ponakka aapu veppanda,thedipoyi ninakka venumune kaaka veppanda' :lol: intha line yaarukku innu nenakaringga???

kamal fans kuda ivaru sonntha perusa serius-sa eduthukka maatangga!

satissh_r
7th January 2011, 12:29 PM

Enna matternga?

satissh_r
7th January 2011, 12:33 PM

My only problem or complaint with Kamal on this issue is, he has never been consistent. There was a period when he was against Rahman, then during Marmayogi and Oscars he became pro Rahman and now this...

7th January 2011, 12:42 PM

ennanu sonnaa naangallaam poraama paduvomla

7th January 2011, 01:47 PM
http://www.dnaindia.com/entertainment/report_ar-rahman-is-very-simple-despite-his-fame-danny-boyle_1490899

7th January 2011, 01:48 PM
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/site/Story/125727/Cinema/music-fraternity-wishes-rahman.html

7th January 2011, 01:49 PM
http://www.mtvdesi.com/slideshow/8-things-you-didnt-know-about-a-r-rahman/

7th January 2011, 01:49 PM
http://www.manoramaonline.com/advt/Music/Rahman_Special/index.htm

7th January 2011, 01:50 PM
http://itwofs.com/milliblog/2011/01/06/roja-music-review-tamil-a-r-rahman/

7th January 2011, 01:50 PM
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/news-and-interviews/Rahman-looks-forward-to-a-promising-year/articleshow/7228280.cms

7th January 2011, 02:38 PM

7th January 2011, 02:59 PM
Enkitta yaarkittayum sollakoodadhunnu sollittu inga pottu udachutteengalae, Anoop? :evil:

7th January 2011, 05:24 PM
Well, I would say that ARR has already heired the throne 19 years ago. Now he is on the way to do the same in Hollywood.

Kamal, get an oscar first and then lets talk about it again hahaha.

7th January 2011, 06:03 PM
Guys, why do we have to speculate what's on Kamal's mind based on a article in a magazine, that too Kumudam?

7th January 2011, 06:16 PM
Enkitta yaarkittayum sollakoodadhunnu sollittu inga pottu udachutteengalae, Anoop? :evil: :oops: :P i am somehow jumping up and down from today noon... aarva kolaaru he he

7th January 2011, 06:18 PM
Kavalapadheenga.. Thalaivar thideer programmelam pannuvaar. TOI concert and Marg concert (1st) where arranged in very short span of time.

7th January 2011, 06:34 PM
Enkitta yaarkittayum sollakoodadhunnu sollittu inga pottu udachutteengalae, Anoop? :evil: :oops: :P i am somehow jumping up and down from today noon... aarva kolaaru he he

Shall I restore the post :P

7th January 2011, 06:37 PM

Shall I restore the post :P :twisted: no no, Moderator padhaviya dushprayogam panna koodadhu :notthatway:

7th January 2011, 06:39 PM
Ok, ungalukkaga appadiye vittudaren :mrgreen:

7th January 2011, 06:45 PM

Shall I restore the post :Pnaa paaththuttEn :D

manushanga edhukkellaam sandhosha paduraanga paarunga :roll:

7th January 2011, 06:54 PM
is it about ARR performing here?
if that's the case, I posted about it long ago :?

7th January 2011, 06:56 PM
manushanga edhukkellaam sandhosha paduraanga paarunga :roll:

Idhavida enna sandhosham irukka mudiyum? Idhellam anubavichcha ungalukku puriyum. :)

7th January 2011, 06:59 PM
manushanga edhukkellaam sandhosha paduraanga paarunga :roll:Idhavida enna sandhosham irukka mudiyum? Idhellam anubavichcha ungalukku puriyum. :)enakku niraya anubavam irukku ajay :P

7th January 2011, 07:14 PM
Unga 'anubhavam' enakku theriyum, bro. Naan sonnadhu ARR fansku mattum kidaikkum anubhavam.. :-)

7th January 2011, 07:15 PM

Ivaruku enna thaan problem :sigh2:

7th January 2011, 07:18 PM
Unga 'anubhavam' enakku theriyum, bro. Naan sonnadhu ARR fansku mattum kidaikkum anubhavam.. :-):hammer: :hammer:
I meant what I said ajay.
Lets leave it. ;)

7th January 2011, 07:25 PM
March :boo: :boo:

7th January 2011, 07:54 PM

yaarukku?

7th January 2011, 08:05 PM

yaarukku?

Kamal thaan :x

7th January 2011, 08:09 PM
What did he do? :?

8th January 2011, 01:24 AM
Rare interview in 1995

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_PrTGH9Kzk&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zv3BN-2mihE&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sv4UjUIpYyI&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Knp8ZSxCJ1s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRG7G_MDFBg&feature=related

8th January 2011, 03:58 AM
BBC - BBC Asian Network Programmes - Gagan Grewal, AR Rahman - http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00x58yh

11th January 2011, 12:27 AM
what was the hindi show called where ARR donated money to a poor tamil woman ? there were also some small girls who sang.

11th January 2011, 02:56 AM
Rare interview in 1995

Rare and a great one. One of the best TV interviews I must say. Thanks for posting the links. You can see a shy 7-yr old GV Prakash in that video too. KB talking about Rahman was a rare bit, as well as the recording session with those nadhaswaram artists.

vel
11th January 2011, 05:22 PM

yaarukku?

Kamal thaan :x

Kamal will say anything to market his movie....but comparing DSP with MSV, Raaja was just too unbearable....

11th January 2011, 05:44 PM
First, I thought KH didnt like ARR's style of music. But after seeing him compare DSP with the other greats, i have no other option but to :rotfl: :rotfl2:

Benny Lava
11th January 2011, 06:50 PM
Rare interview in 1995

Rare and a great one. One of the best TV interviews I must say. Thanks for posting the links. You can see a shy 7-yr old GV Prakash in that video too. KB talking about Rahman was a rare bit, as well as the recording session with those nadhaswaram artists.

A really good show... must watch for every ARR fan. The short composing session was pretty interesting.

genesis
11th January 2011, 10:50 PM
Rare interview in 1995

Thanks for the links. Nice to see young Rehman - cool and composed just as he is today. Both SPB and KB predicted this young man will go far.....great minds indeed.

12th January 2011, 03:54 PM
Two possible future projects:

http://www.variety.com/article/VR1118030099?categoryid=4076&cs=1&nid=2562&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+variety/headlines+%28Variety+-+Latest+News%29

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xtfBIBf20Q&feature=player_detailpage#t=708s

12th January 2011, 11:08 PM

http://www.variety.com/article/VR1118030099?categoryid=4076&cs=1&nid=2562&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+variety/headlines+%28Variety+-+Latest+News%29

Great news! He has confirmed the animation project on Facebook.

13th January 2011, 02:12 AM
"Excited about entering the world of Dreamworks animation...!" - ARR (http://www.facebook.com/album.php?profile=1&id=820145130#!/arrahman/posts/182482345106811)

Great news indeed! :)

Not sure about the title though, Monkeys of Bollywood?! :/

13th January 2011, 02:54 AM
how long does it take to produce such an animated movie ?

13th January 2011, 10:34 AM
2,3 years?

BTW, Adhu Pixarna LM innum sandhoshapatturaapar!! :D

13th January 2011, 02:03 PM
"Excited about entering the world of Dreamworks animation...!" - ARR (http://www.facebook.com/album.php?profile=1&id=820145130#!/arrahman/posts/182482345106811)

Great news indeed! :)

Not sure about the title though, Monkeys of Bollywood?! :/
dis is a great news indeed.
hopefully it is a subject like UP which had beautiful music.

13th January 2011, 02:13 PM
Rare interview in 1995

Will definitely use the nadaswaram bit for my wedding :musicsmile:

Benny Lava
13th January 2011, 08:01 PM
2,3 years?

BTW, Adhu Pixarna LM innum sandhoshapatturaapar!! :D

LM mattum illa :D

13th January 2011, 10:15 PM
Latest snippets from GVM's interview...

* He starts(??) 'Chennaiyil oru mazhaikkalam' shooting from Pongal with ARR's music

* He is planning a sequel of Vettaiyadu vilaiyadu. But not as a movie. As a tv serial. Either Raghavan or Anbuselvan will be the hero. Different stories each week. He himself will direct. Music: ARR

13th January 2011, 11:04 PM
Latest snippets from GVM's interview...

* He starts(??) 'Chennaiyil oru mazhaikkalam' shooting from Pongal with ARR's music

* He is planning a sequel of Vettaiyadu vilaiyadu. But not as a movie. As a tv serial. Either Raghavan or Anbuselvan will be the hero. Different stories each week. He himself will direct. Music: ARR

Source and full interview details kodukka mudiyumaa ? TV serial ellaam sari varaathunnu thOnuthu. varavum koodaathu.

14th January 2011, 07:16 AM
Source: Latest issue of Ananda Vikatan. :-)

V_S
14th January 2011, 07:43 AM

Great news! He has confirmed the animation project on Facebook.
That's a big big news!! Dreamworks may be just the start, but I feel Pixar should not be that far. ARR music for Animation movies, sounds so yummy :D

14th January 2011, 08:46 AM
Kumudam has come up with Top 10 BO Tamil films of all time

http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/1719/bokumudam.jpg

Movie Crores Year
Enthiran 332 2010
Dasavatharam 231 2008
Sivaaji 112 2007
Billa 56 2007
Chandramuki 51 2005
Varalaaru 48 2006
Anniyan 46 2005
Vettaiyaadu vilaiyaadu 44 2006
Padayappa 37 1999
Indian 32 1996

Half the films composed by none other than ARR

14th January 2011, 06:20 PM
Just read in Vikatan online edition that Chennayil Oru Malaikaalam shooting starts tomorrow with actors from Tamil and Telugu. Movie will be released simultaneously in both languages. There was nothing written about ARR or the VV sequel. Maybe only subscribers could read the whole article.

15th January 2011, 10:08 PM
[tscii:849f851b74]Vairamuthu's interview..

இளையராஜாவை விட்டுப் பிரிந்து மற்ற இசையமைப்பாளர்களுடன் இணைந்து பாடல்கள் எழுதிக் கொண்டிருந்த நேரத்தில்தான் ரஹ்மான் அறிமுகம். அந்தச் சூழல் எப்படி இருந்தது?

ஏ.£ர். ரஹ்மானை அறிமுகமானபோது முதல் பாட்டிலேயே ஒரு புதிய தலைமுறைக்குத் தலைமை தாங்குகிறவன் வந்துவிட்டான் என்ற நம்பிக்கையை நான் பெற்றேன். அது வெறும் அவமானத்தால் வந்ததல்ல. அவருடைய அதீத திறமையால் வந்தது. ரஹ்மான் போன்ற ஒருவரின் வருகைக்காக நான் ஏழு ஆண்டுகள் காத்திருந்தேன். என் காத்திருப்பு வீண்போகவில்லை.

http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2011/jan/140111a.asp[/tscii:849f851b74]

15th January 2011, 10:12 PM
[tscii:336a4e9cd7]Critics Choice Awards 2011: AR Rahman grabbed the Best Original Song award.
By Shamaly Paul

The 2011 Critics’ Choice Awards took place yesterday at Hollywood Palladium in Los Angeles. There are numerous celebrities were presented at the event of 16th Annual Critics’ Choice Awards. The award ceremony was opened by former California Governor Arnold Schwartzenegger.

Apart from being recognition of aptitude and hard work the event has also showed a true display of style as sophistication as various female celebrities sported lust valuable evening outfits plus seductive hairstyles that emphasized their characteristics fantastically.

The awards was presented by the Broadcast Film Critics Association, they are considered well-built indicator for the Oscar awards.

A R Rahman has picked up the Best Original Song award for the song If I Rise in Danny Boyle’s film 127 Hours. It has been written by Rollo Armstrong and American artist Dido and the song was performed by Rahman and Dido.

The complete list of the winners of the Critics Choice Award 2011 is:
■Best Picture: The Social Network
■Best Actor: Colin Firth (The King’s Speech)
■Best Actress: Natalie Portman (Black Swan)
■Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale (The Fighter)
■Best Supporting Actress: Melissa Leo (The Fighter)
■Best Young Actor/Actress: Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit)
■Best Acting Ensemble: The Fighter
■Best Director: David Fincher(The Social Network)
■Best Original Screenplay: David Seidler (The King’s Speech)
■Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)
■Best Cinematography: Wally Pfister (Inception)
■Best Art Direction: Guy Hendrix Dyas (Inception)
■Best Visual Effects: Inception
■Best Sound: Inception
■Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3
■Best Action Movie: Inception
■Best Comedy: Easy A
■Best Picture Made For Television: The Pacific
■Best Foreign Language Film: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
■Best Documentary Feature: Waiting For Superman
■Best Song: If I Rise (127 Hours)
■Best Score: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (The Social Network)
■The Joel Siegel Award: Matt Damon
■The Music+Film Award: Quentin Tarantino
[/tscii:336a4e9cd7]

15th January 2011, 10:16 PM
[tscii:09d70426cc]Vairamuthu's interview..

இளையராஜாவை விட்டுப் பிரிந்து மற்ற இசையமைப்பாளர்களுடன் இணைந்து பாடல்கள் எழுதிக் கொண்டிருந்த நேரத்தில்தான் ரஹ்மான் அறிமுகம். அந்தச் சூழல் எப்படி இருந்தது?

ஏ.£ர். ரஹ்மானை அறிமுகமானபோது முதல் பாட்டிலேயே ஒரு புதிய தலைமுறைக்குத் தலைமை தாங்குகிறவன் வந்துவிட்டான் என்ற நம்பிக்கையை நான் பெற்றேன். அது வெறும் அவமானத்தால் வந்ததல்ல. அவருடைய அதீத திறமையால் வந்தது. ரஹ்மான் போன்ற ஒருவரின் வருகைக்காக நான் ஏழு ஆண்டுகள் காத்திருந்தேன். என் காத்திருப்பு வீண்போகவில்லை.

http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/Hotnews/2011/jan/140111a.asp[/tscii:09d70426cc]

He has mentioned about this in detail in the munnurai of his 1000 paadalgaL thoguppu. Will post it sometime later.

19th January 2011, 12:53 PM
LAVENDER-OFFICIAL PROMO

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDs_c2qNK2U

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8e6JlFr-R-M

AudazJay
19th January 2011, 01:37 PM
Thanks AB :D

Roshan, what happened to the news that you wanted to post about Vairamuthu and AR?

19th January 2011, 03:22 PM

Roshan, what happened to the news that you wanted to post about Vairamuthu and AR?

Thanks for reminding. Will do it tonight :)

21st January 2011, 04:14 AM
Awesome jamming session - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=syjotPKz3LE&feature=player_embedded#! :musicsmile:

21st January 2011, 09:32 AM

:twisted:

21st January 2011, 12:49 PM

:twisted:

:P :oops: innaikku postRaen.. was quite a busy week - innaikku week end so hopefully I can do it :)

22nd January 2011, 08:07 PM
Ok here we go... It's infact a 15 page urai and I am posting only the part related to IR and AR - as to how he started with IR and ended up with AR.

இளையராஜாவோடு பணியாற்றிய முதல் ஆறாண்டு காலத்தை என்னால் மறக்க முடியவில்லை. நெஞ்செல்லாம் கனவுகள் நுரைக்கட்டிக் கிடந்த காலமது. வெற்றிபெற வேண்டுமென்ற வேட்கை உடம்பையும் மனதையும் உலுக்கிய காலமது. பாட்டுக்குள்ளிருக்கும் வணிகம் என்பது மறந்து, கலை மட்டுமே முன்னிலைப் படுத்தப்பட்ட பொற்காலமது. முக்குளித்து வந்ததெல்லாம் முத்துக்கள்; தொட்டதெல்லாம் வெற்றி. முதல் மரியாதையை, சிந்து பைரவியை, காதல் ஓவியத்தை இப்போது நினைத்துக் கொண்டாலும் கண்கள் கட்டிகட்டியாய் நீர் கொட்டுகின்றன. இளையராஜாவோடு நேர்ந்த பிரிவுக்கு எனது அறியாமையே காரணம் என்று நானே பொறுப்பேற்றுக் கொள்கிறேன். அதிகப்படியான சுயமரியாதையும் ஓர் அறியாமைதானே!

இளையராஜாவின் பிரிவுக்கும் ஏ.ஆர். ரகுமானின் வரவுக்குமான ஆறாண்டு கால இடைவெளியை நிரப்புவதற்கு நான் பெரிதும் சிரமப்பட்டேன். என் தமிழ், சிங்கத்தின் பால் என்று நான் கருதிக் கொண்டாலும் அதை வாங்கி வைத்துக்கொள்ளத் தக்கதொரு தங்கப் பாத்திரம் இல்லை; அவ்வப்போது வாய்த்த வெள்ளி வெண்கலப் பாத்திரங்களில் மாற்றி மாற்றி ஊற்றிவைத்தேன்.

அந்த இடைக்காலத்தில் என் பாடல்கள் நான் எண்ணிய உயரம் எய்தவில்லை; ஆயினும் என் தினவோ கனவோ குறையவில்லை. பாட்டுத்தமிழ் என்பது கூட்டுத்தமிழ் என்று புரிந்து கொண்டேன். அந்த இடைக்காலத்தில் நானுற்ற அவமானங்களும் ஏளனங்களும், என்னதான் திண்ணிய உள்ளமிருந்தாலும் என்னைக் காயப்படுத்தவே செய்தன.

கே.பாலசந்தரின் தயாரிப்பில் மணிரத்னம் இயக்கத்தில் ரோஜா படத்திற்காக ஏ.ஆர். ரகுமனை அடைந்த போதுதான் நன்னம்பிக்கை முனை அடைந்த வாஸ்கோடகாமாவாய் உற்காகம் பெற்றேன்.

ஏ.ஆர். ரகுமான் இசை சர்வதேசத் தரத்தில் தயாரிக்கப்பட்டபோது என் பாடல்களையும் கவிதையின் சாயலில் படைக்கும் சந்தர்ப்பம் பெற்றேன். பாரதிராஜா-இளையராஜா-வைரமுத்து என்ற கூட்டணி எனக்கு உள்ளூர் வெளிச்சமென்றால், மணிரத்னம்-ஏ.ஆர்.ரகுமான் -வைரமுத்து கூட்டணி எனக்கு உலக வெளிச்சம் என்று கருதலாம்.

22nd January 2011, 09:13 PM
http://www.musicindiaonline.com/#/album/7-Hindi_Movie_Songs/885-Taal__1999_/

"Rafta Jogi" :curse:

The album is all time classic, yet some people are still ignorant.

22nd January 2011, 09:58 PM
Roshan Thank you :)

23rd January 2011, 03:37 PM
http://www.dinamalar.com/News_Detail.asp?Id=172117

உலக பொருளாதார மாநாட்டில் ஏ.ஆர்.ரஹ்மானுக்கு விருது

புதுடில்லி : சுவிட்சர்லாந்தின் தாவோஸ் நகரில் நடைபெற உள்ள உலக பொருளாதார மாநாட்டில் இந்திய இசையமைப்பாளர் இசைப்புயல் ஏ.ஆர்.ரஹ்மானுக்கு கிரிஸ்டல் விருது வழங்கப்பட உள்ளது. உலகில் கலை மற்றும் இசையில் சாதனை படைத்ததற்காக ரஹ்மானுக்கு இவ்விருது வழங்கப்பட உள்ளது. இந்த மாநாட்டில் சுமார் 11 நாடுகளைச் சேர்ந்த தொழிலதிபர்கள், அரசுத்துறை தலைவர்கள், கலைஞர்கள் உள்ளிட்ட 2500 பேர் பங்கேற்க உள்ளனர். இந்திய தரப்பில் மத்திய உள்த்துறை அமைச்சர் சிதம்பரம், பொருளாதார மற்றும் தொழிற்துறை அமைச்சர் ஆனந்த் சர்மா, கிராமப்புற மேம்பாட்டு அமைச்சர் கமல்நாத், மத்திய அமைச்சர் பிரஃபுல் பட்டேல், திட்ட கமிஷன் துணை தலைவர் மாண்டேசிங் அலுவாலியா உள்ளிட்ட 6 பேர் பங்கேற்க உள்ளனர்.

SMI
23rd January 2011, 09:08 PM
அவ்வப்போது வாய்த்த வெள்ளி வெண்கலப் பாத்திரங்களில் மாற்றி மாற்றி ஊற்றிவைத்தேன்.

இடைக் காலத்தில் அடைக்கலம் கொடுத்த சந்திர போஸ், ஷங்கர் - கணேஷ், ரவி தேவேந்திரன் போன்றோரை வெள்ளி, வெண்கலப் பாத்திரங்கள் என்கிறார். இவர்களெல்லாம் great என்று சொல்ல வரவில்லை. என்னே உம் நன்றிக்கடன் ஐயா. (தன்னடக்கம்) அறியாமை தான் காரணம் போலும்.

23rd January 2011, 11:06 PM
அவ்வப்போது வாய்த்த வெள்ளி வெண்கலப் பாத்திரங்களில் மாற்றி மாற்றி ஊற்றிவைத்தேன்.

இடைக் காலத்தில் அடைக்கலம் கொடுத்த சந்திர போஸ், ஷங்கர் - கணேஷ், ரவி தேவேந்திரன் போன்றோரை வெள்ளி, வெண்கலப் பாத்திரங்கள் என்கிறார். இவர்களெல்லாம் great என்று சொல்ல வரவில்லை. என்னே உம் நன்றிக்கடன் ஐயா. (தன்னடக்கம்) அறியாமை தான் காரணம் போலும்.

I knew these kind of nit picking will come up - it's 15 page note and he has thanked everyone in a nice way. I didn't post this for any arguments so I kindly request to take it somewhere else if any one needs to harp on VM (idhu vazhakkamaa nadakkuRathuthaanE - so nothing surprising :) ) This thread is not for such things. Thanks for the understanding.

SMI
24th January 2011, 07:26 AM
No arguments, nit picking or VM bashing :). As a VM fan those days, I was thankful for those lesser known MDs for keeping him active. But for them, he would have been down and out. VM on SG. (http://www.dhool.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3063&sid=9937ee54c45e1ae209dfdd5b6cf5a038#p7091) Evlo thanks sonna enna, adhan vengala paathiram-nu sollittarE. Let me stop here.

24th January 2011, 10:15 PM
[tscii:323fd60c59]Music maestro AR Rahman also admits that he no longer deals with films, only with tunes. “I have a tune bank but I wouldn’t like to believe that it is the best in the world. I compose music and there are a few tracks that are already composed and ready with me. When a film producer approaches me, I send them the samples.

The filmmakers select the tracks. I just wait for their approval before recording the song,” Rahman had said earlier, confirming the trend.

Comparatively, he admits to have been having a greater involvement with 127 Hours, Danny Boyle’s latest, which has Rahman in the running for another Oscar. “I have seen 127 Hours forty times,” he admits, adding that the trick is to cut down on assignments, so each film gets appropriate attention. “When you take too much work it gets too stressful for you. You then start compromising. I had taken too much on my plate and was also travelling too much. I will not compromise on my creativity any more,” he says.

When 'Jai Ho got' rejected
Such an approach can lead to strange incidents. Take the case of the 'Jai Ho' track that fetched AR Rahman an Oscar. Rehman first offered this track to Subhash Ghai for his film Yuvvraj. Ghai, believe it or not, rejected it. The ‘reject’ then went to Danny Boyle and became the Academy Award-winning central theme of Slumdog Millionaire.

source: Soumyadipta Banerjee (Daily news & analysis)[/tscii:323fd60c59]

25th January 2011, 12:15 AM
Evlo thanks sonna enna, adhan vengala paathiram-nu sollittarE. Let me stop here.வெள்ளி, வெண்கலப் பாத்திரம்னு சொன்னதில தப்பில்லைங்கிறேன். ராஜா, ரகுமானோடு ஒப்பிடும்போது இவர்களை வெள்ளி, வெண்கலம் எனச் சொல்வது பொருத்தமாகத் தானே இருக்கிறது. ஏதோ ஒரு உலோகம். இருந்துட்டு போகட்டுமே.

SMI
25th January 2011, 12:09 PM
பித்தளையாக கூட இருந்து விட்டுப் போகட்டும். வாய்ப்பளித்து, தொடர்ந்து களத்தில் இருக்கச் செய்தவர்களை நினைவு கூறும் விதம் சரியல்ல என்பது தான் என் கருத்து. One more time, I am the stop here.

25th January 2011, 07:33 PM
Rahman nominated for score and song (http://www.oscars.org/awards/academyawards/83/nominees.html)

Hope this is an annual event for many more years :clap:

25th January 2011, 07:47 PM
Just heard this news now.

Wow!!! :clap: :bow:

25th January 2011, 08:04 PM
33 days and 10 hours to go for the Oscars... 8-)

25th January 2011, 08:05 PM
I am delighted though it was quite expected !! :2thumbsup: :happydance: :cheer:

V_S
25th January 2011, 08:27 PM
Wow! Great news in the morning. Wishing ARR to win both of them, if not both, atleast one. High chances are there for original song. :D

Benny Lava
25th January 2011, 08:52 PM
Wow! Great news in the morning. Wishing ARR to win both of them, if not both, atleast one. High chances are there for original song. :D

Me too feels the same! Would rather say better chances than high chances.

Benny Lava
25th January 2011, 08:53 PM

Your birthday gift! :D

25th January 2011, 09:02 PM
வெற்றி பெறுவது மட்டுமே குறிக்கோள் அல்ல.. இறுதிப் பட்டியலில் இடம் பெறுவதே பெரிய விஷயம். அதுவும், "ஒரு முறை ஆச்சர்யம்" என்ற வகையில் இருந்துவிடாமல் தொடர்ந்து பங்கெடுப்பதே மகத்தான சாதனை. "இருத்தல்" என்பதற்கு சரியான உதாரணம். வாழ்த்துக்கள் ரஹ்மான். அதைத் தான் அவர் 1993 முதல் தொடர்ந்து தேசிய அளவில் செய்துகொண்டு வருகிறார். Another meaning for Consistency in our dictionary.

25th January 2011, 09:08 PM
http://www.radiosargam.com/films/archives/38562/ar-rahman-increases-price-now-to-charge-rs-8-crores.html

After the next Oscars he is going take 15 crores salary ??!

25th January 2011, 09:09 PM
wow news...
countdown starts...

thanks for the news pr... neenga unga kudumbam, kolandha kuttinga nallaa irukkattum..

V_S
25th January 2011, 09:15 PM
[tscii:58bfec3fed]

Agreed Benny, but why I said chances are high because the golden globe winner for Best Original song (You Haven't Seen The Last Of Me – Burlesque) is not there even in nominations. In fact Golden globe nominated two songs from Burlesque. Again, Golden globe had nominated both "I See The Light" from Tangled and Coming Home from Country Song, which is nominated here well. But since they didn't win Golden globe, same chances are here as well.

So for ARR only competitor IMHO is Randy Newman - Toy Story 3. Let's hope for the best!

PS: ARR won Critics Choice Award against Toy Story 3 and Burlesque.
[/tscii:58bfec3fed]

25th January 2011, 09:17 PM
http://www.radiosargam.com/films/archives/38562/ar-rahman-increases-price-now-to-charge-rs-8-crores.html

After the next Oscars he is going take 15 crores salary ??!
31 crores 21 lakhs 57 thousands 778 rubees 37.5 paisa, nethikkudhaan en kitta sonnaar!

Benny Lava
25th January 2011, 10:09 PM
[tscii:86cea8db6f]

Agreed Benny, but why I said chances are high because the golden globe winner for Best Original song (You Haven't Seen The Last Of Me – Burlesque) is not there even in nominations. In fact Golden globe nominated two songs from Burlesque. Again, Golden globe had nominated both "I See The Light" from Tangled and Coming Home from Country Song, which is nominated here well. But since they didn't win Golden globe, same chances are here as well.

So for ARR only competitor IMHO is Randy Newman - Toy Story 3. Let's hope for the best!

PS: ARR won Critics Choice Award against Toy Story 3 and Burlesque.
[/tscii:86cea8db6f]

Why I said better chances rather than high chances is because of the age old superstition of jinxing something you dearly want :lol: Apart from that I haven't heard any of the other contenders, let us hope for the best :shaking:

25th January 2011, 10:12 PM

Your birthday gift! :D

Yes Yes ! Naanum adhathaan nenechaen :happydance:

25th January 2011, 11:06 PM

Oscar nominations till date: 5

Oscar wins till date: 2

and he is not stopping... Jai Ho Rahmanji.

26th January 2011, 12:40 AM
Vaazthukkal ARR 8-)

jpkash
26th January 2011, 02:19 AM
ARR should win at least one Oscar this year just to show the media that he is still No.1 in the business. Last year all these media people were reporting against him saying that he lost his touch and he should take rest etc.,. It's time to give them back a big punch!!!!

thamburaj
26th January 2011, 04:03 AM
Great News..Again...Danny Boyle gives him the required reach and also good content to work on...Thanks to Danny...
Wish Kamal works with him in his direction soon before ARR gets out of reach or overtly expensive.. Thalaiva..do something... :pray:

baroque
26th January 2011, 04:07 AM
Fantastic.
A.R.Rahman pride and joy of India.
wishes,
vinatha.

26th January 2011, 07:21 AM
:victory:

26th January 2011, 06:09 PM

You forgot to mention:

3 American movies - 5 nominations

Hans Zimmer and all these other composers have like 5 releases a year with all of these movies being big budget movies.

26th January 2011, 06:23 PM

You forgot to mention:

3 American movies - 5 nominations

Hans Zimmer and all these other composers have like 5 releases a year with all of these movies being big budget movies.
ippO enna solla vareenga?

27th January 2011, 09:13 AM
He says ARR has got 5 nominations in just three films where as the other composers have 5 releases each year and all of them are big budget films.

P.S: Avar sonnadhaiye naan thiruppi solli irukken :lol:

27th January 2011, 12:03 PM
Davos Annual Meeting 2011 - Crystal Award Ceremony [A.R.RAHMAN]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q7ZAZJceRGg

at last speech as usual he say's 'ella pugalum iravanukke' :notworthy:

27th January 2011, 01:24 PM
பித்தளையாக கூட இருந்து விட்டுப் போகட்டும். வாய்ப்பளித்து, தொடர்ந்து களத்தில் இருக்கச் செய்தவர்களை நினைவு கூறும் விதம் சரியல்ல என்பது தான் என் கருத்து. One more time, I am the stop here.
Fair point. idhuvE Raja solli irundhAl....hey dandanakkA dhAn including people who defend VM now
BTW, happy to see Rahman's oscar nominations. Though chances are lesser this time(nAn ipdi solRadhum nalladhukku dhAn :) ), the strike rate is amazing.

27th January 2011, 02:32 PM
[tscii:6a89553592]http://www.wqxr.org/articles/wqxr-features/2011/jan/25/rahman-leads-oscar-nominees-music/

Composer A.R. Rahman Leads Oscar Nominees in Music

Long a megastar composer within India’s Bollywood film industry, A.R. Rahman has cemented his claim as a major Hollywood force, leading the music category nominees, announced on Tuesday.

Rahman’s music for the Danny Boyle film “127 Hours” was nominated in both the Best Score and Best Original Song categories.

Going up against Rahman for Best Score is Hans Zimmer, for “Inception;” Alexandre Desplat, for “The King's Speech;” John Powell, for “How to Train Your Dragon;” and Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross for “The Social Network.” Reznor and Ross recently took home the Golden Globe for their score to the Facebook drama.

The score category illustrates some of the diversity within Hollywood’s music quarters, both in the aesthetic and the stature of the nominees.

Rahman previously won two Oscars for his music for Slumdog Millionaire. With “127 Hours,” he may have faced the toughest challenge from a scoring standpoint. Not only did he have to set the tone of a film in which the camera is largely static, focused on just one character, but he also had to tackle a grizzly story about a trapped hiker who cuts off his own arm. At least one critic pointed out that Rahman could have made that scenario much worse, but his accompaniment was largely restrained.

A 49-year-old Frenchman, Alexandre Desplat has built a growing international reputation through scores for “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button,” “The Girl With the Pearl Earring,” “Syriana,” and “The Painted Veil,” for which he won a Golden Globe in 2007. “The King’s Speech” features a jaunty and genteel, piano-driven score, which shares the soundtrack with pieces by Beethoven and Mozart.

By contrast, Trent Reznor is a newcomer to Hollywood, having scored his first movie for "The Social Network." Together with composer Atticus Ross, he crafted an atmospheric piano-draped electronic score, much in the same vein as his work with the industrial rock band Nine Inch Nails. One of the pivotal scenes includes an adaptation of Grieg’s In The Hall of the Mountain King.

Hans Zimmer is the Hollywood stalwart among the five nominees, a four-time Oscar winner and two-time Golden Globe winner who has scored numerous big-budget films over the past two decades. For the surreal thriller “Inception” he crafted a darkly hypnotic and at times clangorous score that garnered some Internet buzz last year after it was discovered that he built a key musical cue around the framework of the Édith Piaf song “Non, je ne regrette rien.”

The surprise nominee in the field is British composer John Powell for his colorful accompaniment to “How to Train Your Dragon,” a Dreamworks Animation film. That score edged out Golden Globe nominee Danny Elfman, who scored the animated feature "Alice in Wonderland."

The Best Song category includes “If I Rise” from “127 Hours,” Rahman’s aforementioned collaboration with Dido and Rollo Armstrong. Joining him in the category is Randy Newman for "We Belong Together" (from the Disney animated film "Tangled"); Tom Douglas, Troy Verges and Hillary Lindsey for "Coming Home" (from "Country Strong"); and Alan Menken and Glenn Slater for "I See the Light" (performed by Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi, from "Tangled").

"The King's Speech" led all films with 12 Oscar nominations, while "True Grit" followed with 10, "The Social Network" and "True Grit" picked up eight each, and "The Fighter" earned seven.

The 83rd Annual Academy Awards will be broadcast live on ABC on Feb. 27 from the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood, Calif. [/tscii:6a89553592]

27th January 2011, 02:34 PM
ARR receives the World Economic Forum's Crystal Award at Davos, Switzerland.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q7ZAZJceRGg

27th January 2011, 02:35 PM
[tscii:2161569623]Rock on, Rahman

It's celebration time for A.R. Rahman who has been nominated for two Oscars for the film ‘127 Hours’. It feels fabulous, says the master composer

When you are Rahman, the bridge between failure and success is rather short. Just a couple of days ago, the master composer was answering questions about missing the Golden Globe award for Best Original Score (Motion Picture) for Danny Boyle's “127 Hours”. With news about his twin nomination to the Oscars (Best Song along with Dido and Rollo Armstrong and Best Original Score for “If I Rise”), it's celebration time again for Rahman.

“Getting nominated for the awards itself is a fabulous feeling. Winning is good too but, in the history of the awards, except possibly once, nobody has won it twice in a row,” says A. R. Rahman.

“I have two Oscars, two Grammys, a BAFTA and a Golden Globe. It's not just another award function where they shower their love on you every now and then by giving you an award. I think it is great to be in good company by getting nominated. It is just the five best composers across the world, from the U.S. point of view, pitted against one another. But I don't think the country goes gaga over me winning or not winning an international award. This isn't a cricket match,” he says.

“127 Hours”, which opened in theatres across India yesterday, has been released here by Fox Star Studios India. The trio of British pop star Dido, her brother Rollo and Rahman collaborated on this one quite by chance and hence, the nomination is even more special. “I was working with Dido on another album and that's when ‘127 Hours' came about and we thought we would do it together. It has the guy (Aron Ralston played by James Franco) imagining his future son. Dido's brother Rollo Armstrong had written these lines randomly and we thought it synched beautifully,” says Rahman.

Working with Danny and Christian Colson (producer: “Slumdog Millionaire”, “127 Hours”) was a special pleasure, says the composer-singer. “It is a great team to work with. After ‘Slumdog Millionaire', which was a very Indian film, getting to work with them on ‘127 Hours' was fabulous because you don't get tagged simply as an Indian composer. They understand that you can do a variety of things,” he says.

Rahman has recently released a music video titled “Changing Seasons”, featuring visuals from the movie “Raavan”. Released in Tamil and Hindi, it features the song “Uda Ja Re…”, which played during the roll over credits. The film flopped at the box office and Rahman's score for the film didn't become particularly popular. Why the need then to revive the single?

“In the urgency of life, a lot of good things go past and we don't pay attention to them. I think ‘ Raavan' had the most enchanting visuals by Santosh Sivan (cinematographer) and Aishwarya looked very beautiful. Mani (Ratnam) was kind enough to let me use unused stills from the film. When I was in Cape Town it occurred to me that these two could be gelled and we went ahead with the video,” explains Rahman.

Rahman has bagged the Dreamworks animation film being directed by Gurinder Chadha. “It is a great idea to work on and I am sure going to enjoy it! The title is not yet finalised but I think working on an animation film is creatively fulfilling. There is no limit to the imagination when it comes to animation.”

He has only Imtiaz Ali's “Rockstar” releasing this year and is happy to take a break from film music.

“I am in and out of Los Angeles currently. I have done enough movies last year. There is stuff I need to take care of. So I am taking a break. But there is always going to be music.”

http://www.thehindu.com/arts/music/article1126878.ece[/tscii:2161569623]

Benny Lava
27th January 2011, 05:39 PM
[tscii:77ec4a0270]
So I am taking a break. But there is always going to be music.”

http://www.thehindu.com/arts/music/article1126878.ece[/tscii:77ec4a0270]

:2thumbsup:

Benny Lava
27th January 2011, 05:40 PM
[tscii:4d08130c29]
The surprise nominee in the field is British composer John Powell for his colorful accompaniment to “How to Train Your Dragon,” a Dreamworks Animation film. That score edged out Golden Globe nominee Danny Elfman, who scored the animated feature "Alice in Wonderland."

LM, triple happy? :D[/tscii:4d08130c29]

27th January 2011, 05:40 PM
Eagerly awaiting 'Rockstar'.

27th January 2011, 06:15 PM
[tscii:338bec2b64]

LM, triple happy? :D[/tscii:338bec2b64]

:yes: If not for ARR, I would have rooted for John Powell to win for Original score.

Benny Lava
27th January 2011, 07:18 PM
Neenga pesaama Aascaar kamunaatee la poi ukkaralam! You are spot on with your preferences! :thumbsup:

27th January 2011, 07:29 PM
Fair point. idhuvE Raja solli irundhAl....hey dandanakkA dhAn including people who defend VM now ராஜா-ரஹ்மான் இடைப்பட்ட காலத்திலும் என் நிலைமை எப்போதும்போல நன்றாகவே இருந்தது எனச் சொல்லியிருந்தால் அதுவும் விமர்சனத்துக்கு உள்ளாயிருக்கும் அல்லவா! பாடல் ஆசிரியர்கள் படகுகள். இசையமைப்பாளர்கள் நதிகள். அப்படிப் பட்ட ஒரு பார்வையில் ராஜா, ரஹ்மான் மற்றும் மற்ற இசையமைப்பாளர்களில் தான் பணி புரிந்த காலங்களை இவர் எடை போட்டது சரியே. ஒரு புத்தகம் என வரும்போது கழுகுப் பார்வையில் சில இடங்களில் எழுதுவது தவிர்க்க முடியாதது.

27th January 2011, 08:05 PM
வெங்கி இதப்பத்தி தொடர்ந்து பேசப்போறோமா இல்லை ஆஸ்கர் சந்தோஷத்துல ச்சாய்ஸ்ல விடப்போறோமா. முடிவா சொல்லுங்க :lol2:

27th January 2011, 08:44 PM
Neenga pesaama Aascaar kamunaatee la poi ukkaralam! You are spot on with your preferences! :thumbsup:

27th January 2011, 10:27 PM
வெங்கி இதப்பத்தி தொடர்ந்து பேசப்போறோமா இல்லை ஆஸ்கர் சந்தோஷத்துல ச்சாய்ஸ்ல விடப்போறோமா. முடிவா சொல்லுங்க :lol2:ஐயா! கவிஞருக்கென்றே ஒரு திரியை (http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=15410)ஆரம்பித்து உள்ளேன்(ரொம்ப நாள் விருப்பம்!). தொடர நினைத்தால் அங்கேயே நீங்க எழுதலாம்.

28th January 2011, 03:40 AM
[tscii:9c5d4287c8]I’m No Sachin Tendulkar: Rahman

A R Rahman, with his double Oscar nominations this year for Danny Boyle's 127 Hours (Best Original Score and Best Song — If I Rise with Dido) may repeat his Slumdog Millionaire magic at the Academy Awards.

But while Slumdog saw the music maestro bring two Oscars to India, Rahman feels that it is going to be difficult to touch his previous glory.

"I have won the Oscars before and so winning is not a pressure situation for me. But yes, I want to win it again and if possible win both my categories. Which artist would not want to get an Oscar again," asks Rahman who was also honoured with the Crystal Award of the World Economic Forum at Davos recently for doing social and charitable work.

Rahman, who obviously wants the blessings of his fans in India, is quick to tell them, "I'm no Sachin Tendulkar. Whenever he takes the field, people expect him to score a century. I will try my best to live upto fans' expectations, but it's not possible to get an Oscar always."

The competition is tough this year. "We have seen some outstanding work last year and many great artists are in the list. Anyone can win this award," said Rahman, "so if I see a new person win the Oscar this time, I will be happy. Awards should act as an encouragement to new talent. Nothing is more satisfying than seeing the industry getting flooded with great talent who make things exciting."

http://rahman360.com/?p=3281

------------------------------
thats the attitude which raises him higher and higher...[/tscii:9c5d4287c8]

jinju
28th January 2011, 10:10 AM
soooooo happppppppyyyyyyy...nominated again! wishes n prayers thalaivaaaaaa!

28th January 2011, 07:51 PM
Avar kandippa Win pannuvare... pannuvare'ne enna.. PANURARE...

28th January 2011, 08:32 PM
engappa dinesh... romba naala aala kaanom... ?
how is studies..?
how is madhushree doing? any good news?

29th January 2011, 12:56 AM
engappa dinesh... romba naala aala kaanom... ?
how is studies..?
how is madhushree doing? any good news?

SS, i took a break from the hub. haha... i think nearly a year +... now im back... haha.... i couldnt help it seing the ARR forum not as active as it used to be. came back to help a lilttle around... haha..

studies r going good... exams r in may 2011... pressure started... haha..

Madhushree is good. she just had her album launched few days back. ive written a Tamil song for that album. do check it out when its in stores. dun think it has hit the stores YET. do feel free to comment on it. :D

thats awfully sweet of u to remember me and welcome me. :) thank u for that bro! ;)... hows things with u ???

- SORRY For the personal discussion guys.... haha

29th January 2011, 01:51 AM
Just when news about Endhiran is subsiding, brand Rajini is making news again: Not for his next (animated) movie Hara but for his next project with director KS Ravikumar. The news is official now that Rajini and KS Ravikumar have agreed to work on a project together which has been titled "Rana". The USP of the movie is that Rajinikanth will be acting in three roles in the movie. The last time we saw Rajinikanth in three roles was in Moondru Mugam.

Rana will be co-produced by Eros International and Ocher studios. The multi-lingual, which will be released in Tamil, Telugu and Hindi, will have music by AR Rahman who also scored music for Rajinikanht's last movie Endhiran. Editing will be done by Anthony and Ratnavelu, of Endhiran fame, will be the cinematographer. Art direction will be taken care by Rajeevan while The technical & special effects director will be Soundarya Rajnikanth and Charles Darby of Eyeqube Studios. The shooting is expected to commence in March this year and the film is expected to be released in 2012.

I thought Rahman ji wasn't signing anything this year. :?

K
29th January 2011, 02:48 AM
நான் வருவேன்:

already post panni iruka theriyathu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tlv0O6ksEuo&feature=player_embedded

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2SF1kZAfjB4&feature=player_embedded

A Tamil song by A.R.Rehman featuring Aishwarya Rai Bachan. Produced by Y.M.Movies. Executive Producers Prinz Productions and Ganashankar Balachandran. Lyrics (Tamil) by Vairamuthu and A.R.Rehman

ராவனன் திரைபடத்தின் கடைசியில் End Credits ஓடும் போது ஒலிக்கும் பாடல், ஒரு தனிப் பாடலாக காட்சி படுத்தப்பட்டுள்ளது. மிகவும் அருமையான படத்தொகுப்பு, பாடல், குரல்,ஐஸ் அக்கா எல்லாமே மிகவும் அழகு, பார்த்து கேட்டு ரசிக்க.

30th January 2011, 11:47 PM
[tscii:5651a4b445]
Maybe winning or losing at the Oscars won’t make any difference to AR Rahman, as he says, but there’s something that will definitely make a big difference — the music maestro doesn’t want his children to start a career in music immediately.

Rahman has three children, daughters Khatija, Rahima and son Ameen.
Not many know that Rahman has already composed two tracks that were sung by his children.

“I have recorded their songs and yes, they were pretty good. I liked the way they performed (Ameen sang the track NaNa from the Hollywood film, Couples Retreat and his daughter Khatija performed the track Pudhiya Manidha from Endhiran),” says Rahman.

Currently it’s A R Ameen who’s being talked about for his Hollywood debut. “It was an unexpected thing, but he did a good job.He is a keen listener and he has a lot of (musical) qualities in him,” says the doting father who’s in the Oscar race in two categories for Danny Boyle’s 127 Hours.

Even though Ameen has now made his big debut in a Hollywood film under his father, it is unlikely that the audience will get to see him more. “I think that it is too early for him to start a career in music. He is too young. It is time for him to concentrate on his academics first. Once he finishes off his studies, then he can choose his career,” says Rahman, ruling out a regular career for his son unlike so many child artistes in India.

Talking about the Oscar race, Rahman says that he will be happy if he finally wins an Oscar,but says that he is not exactly waiting for it with bated breadth.

“The next film that I will be doing is Rockstar (Ranbir Kapoor-Nargis Fakhri starrer). It is important for me now to keep composing without getting stressed with the number of projects that I have in hand. I have decided that new projects would only come in once I finish what I have in hand,” he says.

Rahman honoured at World Economic Forum
AR Rahman was bestowed with the Crystal Award at the opening ceremony of the World Economic Forum (WEF) at Davos on Thursday. The award is given annually by the WEF to outstanding artists who use their talent not only for their own profession but also for social and charitable work.

[/tscii:5651a4b445]

31st January 2011, 12:11 PM
A responsible father. :)

1st February 2011, 07:04 PM
I have opened a new group for ARR fans. Requesting your participation..

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/group.php?groupid=2

1st February 2011, 08:02 PM
new pic!

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/hs273.snc6/180141_167283493317636_142925602420092_338341_1081 310_n.jpg

1st February 2011, 11:12 PM
Idhu romba old pic bro.. :evil:

shocker
2nd February 2011, 09:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6oH4e2snQa0

3rd February 2011, 09:45 AM
Rajni to team up with Shankar again?
By Ambili [February 1, 2011]

Looks like our Superstar Rajinikanth is on a signing spree. Sources close to the actor reveal that after completing Rana, Rajni is likely to team up with director Shankar again for the third time. The proposed project will be produced by Udhayanidhi Stalin under his home banner Red Giants Movies.

Meanwhile, Rajni's Rana is likely to go on floors in March and Bollywood sensation Deepika Padukone will be the heroine. Rajni will be seen in a triple role and A.R. Rahman will compose music for this magnum opus. The cinematographer would be Ratnavelu and the special effects will be handled by Rajni’s daughter Soundarya. Rana will be made simultaneously in Tamil, Telugu and Hindi.

http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainment/livewire/id/Rajni_to_team_up_with_Shankar_again_46672.html

extremely confusing.....

suyambu
4th February 2011, 03:50 AM
Simple Makkale.....Sultan was renamed as Hara and now it is again renamed as Rana. thats all. KS Ravikumar is been roped to shoot some non-animated scenes to add business value. Shankar's movie is after this potentially.....hope this clears!!!

4th February 2011, 12:44 PM
Not sure if this has been posted before.

The director Baz Luhrmann notes (in 2005)

“I had come to the music of A. R. Rahman through the emotional and haunting score of Bombay and the wit and celebration of Lagaan. But the more of AR's music I encountered the more I was to be amazed at the sheer diversity of styles: from swinging brass bands to triumphant anthems; from joyous pop to West-End musicals. Whatever the style, A. R. Rahman's music always possesses a profound sense of humanity and spirit, qualities that inspire me the most."

Baz Luhrmann is the director of films such as Strictly Ballroom, Romeo + Juliet, Moulin Rouge! and Australia.

4th February 2011, 04:04 PM
Every few years Scott Bettencourt of FilmScoreMonthly compiles a list of top composers based on the projects they get and how much they're in demand. Take it for what it is worth.

ARR is in at #18 moving up from #25 in 2009.

http://www.filmscoremonthly.com/daily/article.cfm/articleID/6616/

4th February 2011, 04:06 PM
Simple Makkale.....Sultan was renamed as Hara and now it is again renamed as Rana. thats all. KS Ravikumar is been roped to shoot some non-animated scenes to add business value. Shankar's movie is after this potentially.....hope this clears!!!

may i know who you are?

4th February 2011, 04:57 PM
Hara is not Rana..Rendum vera :)

sunnyg
6th February 2011, 03:01 AM
Is 2010, the year of A. R. Rahman atleast for tamil film industry?

He started off with Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya, followed it up with the awesome Raavanan and finished off with Endhiran.

What do you guys think?

He re-established himself as the numero uno Music Directory in tamil. His albums were popular and commercially successful.

It is a shame that Mani did NOT make a movie to effectively showcase the magnificient music of Raavan/Raavanan.
ARR's music is like wine, it gets better with age. I personally did not like some of the Raavan songs but I love them now

Sunny G.

6th February 2011, 10:06 PM
Is 2010, the year of A. R. Rahman atleast for tamil film industry?

He started off with Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya, followed it up with the awesome Raavanan and finished off with Endhiran.

What do you guys think?

He re-established himself as the numero uno Music Directory in tamil. His albums were popular and commercially successful.

It is a shame that Mani did NOT make a movie to effectively showcase the magnificient music of Raavan/Raavanan.
ARR's music is like wine, it gets better with age. I personally did not like some of the Raavan songs but I love them now

Sunny G.

Yes, yes, and yes. Hands down, 2010 was ARRs year.

7th February 2011, 01:47 PM
AR Rahman will perform at the Oscars

The Mozart of Madras is all set to repeat his magic at the 83rd Annual Academy Awards. And if you thought that the genius from India has done us proud again, you are right. Except that he hasn't yet won the Golden Statuette, not yet.

Yesterday, the telecast producers of the 83rd Annual Academy Awards, Bruce Cohen and Don Mischer announced the artists who will perform the nominated songs on the Kodak Theatre stage on Oscar Night.

Gwyneth Paltrow will perform 'Coming Home' from the film Country Strong.

Original Song nominee A.R. Rahman and Florence Welch, of Florence & the Machine, will perform 'If I Rise' from the film 127 Hours. " Rahman is nominated for writing the music (Dido and Rollo Armstrong are also nominated for the song's lyrics).

Alan Menken, who is nominated for writing the music for 'I See the Light' from the animated film Tangled, will accompany singers Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi on the piano (Glenn Slater is also nominated for the song's lyrics).

8th February 2011, 01:09 PM
Yes, yes, and yes. Hands down, 2010 was ARRs year.

GV Prakash year-nu solRAnga? :lol:

Absolutely agree, it was Rahman's year in TFM. PirakasE optuhuppAr. avar fans dhAn...

satissh_r
8th February 2011, 01:25 PM
Thalaivar arriving at the Oscars Luncheon

http://www.gettyimages.com/detail/108887566/Getty-Images-Entertainment

satissh_r
8th February 2011, 08:36 PM
http://www.rajstar.com/blog/news/rahman-noodles/

Chicken Tikka meets Grits. Curry meets Steak. You get the idea. Rahman Noodles takes samples of AR Rahman’s work (i.e. Slumdog Millionaire, Bombay, etc.) and samples of various western musicians (i.e. Jay-Z, Michael Jackson), all taken completely apart and put back together, mixed with the finest of spices and elements of RajStar’s own production to bring you a completely unique sound…Rahman Noodles.

Billi Jean + Chikku Bukku is the only one I liked so far...

Edit: Goodbye Love is also nice :)

8th February 2011, 10:31 PM
The gracious Dido... Here is a lovely note from her...!

Hello everyone,

It’s been a month of amazing news for me and now I have some more to share. Me and my husband Rohan are expecting a baby and we’re beyond happy and excited about it. So as some of you already know, I won’t be able to travel to LA for the Oscars ceremony to perform ‘If I rise’. Obviously I’m really gutted about not being there – going to the Oscars has literally been a dream of mine since I was about 9 - but I’m absolutely thrilled that the wonderful Florence Welch has agreed to step in and sing the song. I can’t wait to hear her sing it as I’m a huge fan of hers and she’ll sound amazing. I will definitely be watching the whole thing live on TV and texting Rollo (who is going to be at the ceremony. But not singing... Thankfully...
:-) ) Also, me and AR are going to be filming a video for ‘If I rise’ next week which I’m really looking forward to.

Love, dxxx

source: http://www.facebook.com/notes/ar-rahman/the-gracious-dido-here-is-a-lovely-note-from-her/140213302708384

8th February 2011, 10:36 PM
sad and de ja vu - Sukhi could not travel during slumdog performance and MIA was pregnant at that time

9th February 2011, 01:19 AM
yes sathya....
the same happened to mia last time...
would it be an extended deja vu.....

9th February 2011, 04:49 PM
I have started a group for all Rahmaniacs and we already have got quite a good number of members added. Others, please visit the below given link to join and make the group the biggest among all

http://www.mayyam.com/talk/group.php?groupid=2

10th February 2011, 01:25 AM
Rahman Sir's Next Hollywood flick - Battleship???
Battleship is an upcoming 2012 science fiction naval war film based on the game of the same name. The film is being directed by Peter Berg and will be released by Universal Pictures. Starring in the film are Taylor Kitsch, Alexander Skarsgård, Brooklyn Decker, Rihanna, and Liam Neeson. Renowned Indian music director A.R. Rahman will score the music. The film was originally planned to be released in 2011, but rescheduled to May 18, 2012. The film will involve the Navy's response to an alien invasion.

http://www.orkut.com/Main#CommMsgs?cmm=16502&tid=5571527886751893011&start=1

LM, is this true?

10th February 2011, 07:40 AM
Not confirmed from ARR side as of yet. But I remember reading somewhere he is going to do a Peter Berg film.

jinju
13th February 2011, 07:36 AM
there was an interview of Bryan Adams in yesterday's The Hindu Metro Plus section...on asked "any plans on collaborating with Indian musicians?" Bryan's reply was "No plans now, but please give AR my number.":-D

13th February 2011, 12:08 PM
there was an interview of Bryan Adams in yesterday's The Hindu Metro Plus section...on asked "any plans on collaborating with Indian musicians?" Bryan's reply was "No plans now, but please give AR my number.":-D

Rahman regrets not meeting Bryan Adams

Priyanka Jain, Hindustan Times
Mumbai, February 06, 2011

Grammy award-winning singer and songwriter Bryan Adams, who is slated to perform in the country next week, will not be meeting Oscar winner AR Rahman this time around. The Canadian artiste and Rahman were scheduled to meet this month to discuss the music industry and possible collaborations in a closed-door meeting.

However, Rahman has been nominated in two Oscar categories for Music (Original Score), Music (Original Song) for Danny Boyle’s 127 Hours featuring James Franco because of which he will be in Los Angeles on the day when he was scheduled to meet Adams. “It is in fact unfortunate that I won’t be able to meet the legend (Adams) in person. I was really looking forward to this meeting and had cancelled all my other commitments for the day,” says Rahman.

Adams too was equally keen on meeting Rahman, who had bagged an Oscar for Boyle’s film Slumdog Millionaire in 2009. In fact, sources say the two were even planning to jam live during Adams’s forthcoming India Tour.

Rahman adds, “I wanted to exchange notes on music and explore possible collaborations. However, I hope the next time I’m in Canada or the next time Bryan is in India, we will meet and take things forward.”

jinju
13th February 2011, 12:45 PM
Rahman regrets not meeting Bryan Adams

Priyanka Jain, Hindustan Times
Mumbai, February 06, 2011

Grammy award-winning singer and songwriter Bryan Adams, who is slated to perform in the country next week, will not be meeting Oscar winner AR Rahman this time around. The Canadian artiste and Rahman were scheduled to meet this month to discuss the music industry and possible collaborations in a closed-door meeting.

However, Rahman has been nominated in two Oscar categories for Music (Original Score), Music (Original Song) for Danny Boyle’s 127 Hours featuring James Franco because of which he will be in Los Angeles on the day when he was scheduled to meet Adams. “It is in fact unfortunate that I won’t be able to meet the legend (Adams) in person. I was really looking forward to this meeting and had cancelled all my other commitments for the day,” says Rahman.

Adams too was equally keen on meeting Rahman, who had bagged an Oscar for Boyle’s film Slumdog Millionaire in 2009. In fact, sources say the two were even planning to jam live during Adams’s forthcoming India Tour.

Rahman adds, “I wanted to exchange notes on music and explore possible collaborations. However, I hope the next time I’m in Canada or the next time Bryan is in India, we will meet and take things forward.”

what an evening it wud've been for fanboys like me to see both together! still remember standing for 4-5 hours in all that dust in Palace Grounds throughout BA's show last time around, worth every bit! hope there'l be some collaboration in the future.

13th February 2011, 07:44 PM
BAFTA Live Tomorrow in Sony Pix at 2 AM IST.

14th February 2011, 01:53 AM
ARR misses out on the Bafta for Best Score to Alexandre Desplat for The King's Speech. :(

"19:10 The King's Speech has its first award of the evening: Best Score for French film composer Alexandre Desplat. He's previously been nominated for four Baftas, and also composed the music for The Queen."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/film/baftas/8319765/Baftas-2011-live.html

14th February 2011, 09:51 AM
AR Rahman at BAFTA 2011
http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/169087_172211196159094_119238248123056_345822_7879 601_n.jpghttp://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/169087_172211199492427_119238248123056_345823_5731 452_n.jpghttp://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/169087_172211202825760_119238248123056_345824_7615 347_n.jpghttp://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/169087_172211206159093_119238248123056_345825_5711 275_n.jpg
1 more at http://www.facebook.com/album.php?fbid=172210802825800&id=119238248123056&aid=35872

14th February 2011, 11:03 AM
Sad. But well done, thalaiva. :-)

14th February 2011, 11:09 AM
Thanks for the pics, Jaaze :D

14th February 2011, 05:10 PM
he losing bafta hints anything ?

14th February 2011, 05:17 PM
Of course it hints something. An Oscar win is on the cards!!! :-)

14th February 2011, 05:33 PM
ajay, if that comes true, ungalukku oru scotch anupparen :)

14th February 2011, 05:34 PM

15th February 2011, 10:27 AM
From Gmenon's recent interview..

But a more interesting tryst with television lies ahead, a long-running thriller in five-episode chunks that will plant the seeds of a crime on Monday and dole out a resolution on Friday. “That’s the most exciting thing on the anvil now. We’re producing. I’m directing. And Rahman has said he’ll do the music. It’s going to have Parthiban in the lead. It’s not inspired or adapted from 24 or CSI, but it’s along those lines. It’s written entirely, 150 individual episodes. We’re waiting to see if Vijay TV will pick it up.”

15th February 2011, 03:49 PM
yes thats more exciting.

17th February 2011, 12:17 PM
AR Rahman, who is set to perform at the Academy Awards that will also see Mandy Moore set the stage alight with her numbers, is expected to collaborate with this international sensation soon.

Rumour is rife that it is during the Oscars that will see them firming up the plan. Top sources in the music industry indicate that both Rahman and Mandy are very much aware of each others music and the sensibilities.

21st February 2011, 03:17 PM
http://i52.tinypic.com/2i74iz6.jpg

21st February 2011, 03:19 PM
http://i55.tinypic.com/2b1rwp.jpg

22nd February 2011, 08:11 PM
Bollywood wishes Rahman luck for Oscars.

Music maestro A.R. Rahman (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/search?q=A.R.%20Rahman) has bagged two nominations at the 83rd Academy Awards (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/Academy-Awards) for his work in Danny Boyle's " 127 Hours (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/127-Hours)" and the film frat is hoping that the composer triumphs again at the gala event Sunday.

His colleagues and friends wish him luck and are hoping he brings the golden statuette home again, having bagged two Oscars for the best original score and the song in 2009 for rags-to-riches drama " Slumdog Millionaire (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/Slumdog-Millionaire-%28film%29)". This time, Rahman has been nominated for the original score of "127 Hours" as well as original song "If I Rise".

"I feel great. I feel wonderful because Rahman is one person who has made us so proud and I am really, really happy. I wish him all the best," said Rani Mukerji.

Actor-producer Arbaaz Khan (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/Arbaaz-Khan) said: "That's a great achievement. The last time when he won the Oscar, it looked like one time dream. I wish him all the best. He is a true deserving candidate and pride of the country."

"He had to get the nominations. He has already has two to his credit. He will continue getting them. He has already made India (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/India) proud and would continue doing so. My best wishes are always with him," said singer Udit Narayan.

Singer Kailash Kher (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/Kailash-Kher) said: "I congratulate him and wish him all the best. Every year he should achieve more honours."

"The whole country is proud of him. He is good, he is talented and I hope he delivers time and again. I am very happy. I wish him all the best," actor Arshad Warsi (http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/topic/Arshad-Warsi) said.

Composer Pritam Chakraborty said: "I wish him luck. Anything you say about him is less. If you name a few pride of our country, he is one of them. I wish him all the best."

"It's something to be proud of that an Indian has made a golden mark on the world map," director Vishal Bhardwaj said.

source: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/news-and-interviews/Bollywood-wishes-Rahman-luck-for-Oscars/articleshow/7547477.cms

:omg: Only 5 days to go...

22nd February 2011, 10:51 PM
ennakki function?

28th February 2011, 12:47 PM
http://twitter.com/raviteja

AudazJay
28th February 2011, 02:58 PM
Could be a rumour. Even if it's true, I doubt they both will work together. It could be a case as in Kisna or Angaadi Theru, where MDs work on separate tracks.

28th February 2011, 02:59 PM
That will only spoil the movie..

28th February 2011, 05:10 PM
aaniyae pudunga venaam.

baroque
28th February 2011, 09:37 PM
Rahman with Ilayaraja... It will not happen.

28th February 2011, 09:40 PM
edhukku nadakkanum'garen... adhula irundhu enna kedaikkapogudhu? sila dream combo'laam dream'laye vittuttaa nalladhu...

baroque
28th February 2011, 10:07 PM
even in my dreams, I don't want.

1st March 2011, 12:22 AM
yes.. not needed. sanda mattum thaan varum.

baroque
1st March 2011, 02:42 AM
oh...don't worry, sandaiyellam varaadhu.
A.R.Rahman is aging gracefully, I trust his people skills & tact. adhumaariyellam vechchukkamaata.
IR with ARR...IT doesn't work. that's all.
I love both Shri.IR & A.R.R
I want them to be happy.
vinatha.

1st March 2011, 05:11 AM
A.R.Rahman is aging gracefully, I trust his people skills & tact. adhumaariyellam vechchukkamaata.
I want them to be happy.
vinatha.

parraaa...

baroque
1st March 2011, 06:16 AM
well..
silly rumors, they make no sense.

vinatha

1st March 2011, 06:17 AM
:lol: SS

Neega romba nallavanga vinatha :)

baroque
1st March 2011, 06:22 AM
appadiyaa?

1st March 2011, 12:43 PM
I want them to be happy.
vinatha.

IR, ARR sandai pottukka mattanga, avanga fans dhan sandai pottuppaanga :lol:

1st March 2011, 03:02 PM
Master... thala-thalapathi solla vandha karutha neenga purinjukkala.....

1st March 2011, 03:17 PM
Enakkum indha combo vendaam. Both have different styles and i doubt if they'l go hand in hand. Hope Mani opts only one. I dont care if its Raja or Rahman.

1st March 2011, 03:23 PM
Master... thala-thalapathi solla vandha karutha neenga purinjukkala.....

Thala-thalapathi = Ram :roll:

1st March 2011, 04:01 PM
http://i55.tinypic.com/eqw9di.jpg

1st March 2011, 04:28 PM
master, adhu summa oru reference dialogue...
i meant the post from baroque.

1st March 2011, 07:38 PM
What Next for A.R.Rahman?

http://www.backgroundscore.com/2011/03/what-next-for-arrahman.html

I don't know how many would agree.

2nd March 2011, 05:50 PM
ARR's recent FB update..

What a night... My son Ameen and me saw Toy Story 3 a couple of months back. When the Academy Award nominations for songs came in he said he wanted Toy Story's song to win... Well... It came so naturally from him... At the same time, Randy Newman's son Amos Newman, who is my manager in the US, wanted "If I Rise" to win because he was passionately behind the production, organizing the whole thing. A couple of days back, I asked Amos, "Is blood thicker than bread?" He had a confusing smile!

Last night, Ameen got what he wanted :-)

Twenty nominations and a charming personality... Randy Newman deserved it...

2nd March 2011, 06:24 PM
blood bread thick explain.

2nd March 2011, 06:28 PM
Amos wanted 'If i rise' (bread) to win. But the competitor was his father (blood). Hence ARR has asked him whether blood is thicker than bread.

2nd March 2011, 06:33 PM
valar'ra pullai aache'nu veliya suttha vitta ipdi ennennamo katthukittu vandhu pesudhu...

2nd March 2011, 10:42 PM
ARR's recent FB update..

What a night... My son Ameen and me saw Toy Story 3 a couple of months back. When the Academy Award nominations for songs came in he said he wanted Toy Story's song to win... Well... It came so naturally from him... At the same time, Randy Newman's son Amos Newman, who is my manager in the US, wanted "If I Rise" to win because he was passionately behind the production, organizing the whole thing. A couple of days back, I asked Amos, "Is blood thicker than bread?" He had a confusing smile!

Last night, Ameen got what he wanted :-)

Twenty nominations and a charming personality... Randy Newman deserved it...

I was quite moved with this note on FB :)

4th March 2011, 04:12 PM
Magic tent (Indian sesame street) meets ARRs Chaiyya Chaiyya

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMn3gtZvafQ&feature=player_embedded

6th March 2011, 11:40 AM
http://icdn1.indiaglitz.com/tamil/gallery/Events/music_union050311/music060211_534.jpg
http://icdn1.indiaglitz.com/tamil/gallery/Events/music_union050311/music060211_531.jpg
http://icdn1.indiaglitz.com/tamil/gallery/Events/music_union050311/music060211_454.jpg
http://icdn1.indiaglitz.com/tamil/gallery/Events/music_union050311/music060211_437.jpg

6th March 2011, 12:40 PM
when was it AJ?

6th March 2011, 02:15 PM
Yesterday (5th March)

6th March 2011, 04:52 PM
Yesterday (5th March)

What program is that? "Hariyudan Naan" program finalists ellaam irukkaanga padathula ..

6th March 2011, 05:41 PM
Cine Musicians Golden Jubilee function

6th March 2011, 10:01 PM
THE GOD Performing @ 50th Golden Jubilee Cine Musician Union

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CK7MOY9kCJ0

6th March 2011, 10:22 PM
http://kalakkalcinema.com/tamil_events_detail.php?id=2094&imgid=CMU050311_17-01.jpg

6th March 2011, 10:37 PM
ARR's Lavender song to release on First week of April

http://twitter.com/tom_mathew/status/44418863370223616#

6th March 2011, 11:14 PM
The news is untrue. AR has not scored and is not going to be scoring any track for this film.

- Gopal Srinivasan

7th March 2011, 09:32 AM
unnikrishnan is singing with AR in that function..good to see....this is the combo i miss badly...avanga combola vandha songs ellame memoriable 1s...i want AR to use unnikrishnan again...oru thevira rasigan oda anbu kattalai

7th March 2011, 10:59 AM
unnikrishnan is singing with AR in that function..good to see....this is the combo i miss badly...avanga combola vandha songs ellame memoriable 1s...i want AR to use unnikrishnan again...oru thevira rasigan oda anbu kattalai

In one still I saw Unni K and Harini singing with AR - Dont know if it is "sollaamal kEtpathillai". Hope they telecast the function.

7th March 2011, 11:02 AM
In one still I saw Unni K and Harini singing with AR - Dont know if it is "sollaamal kEtpathillai". Hope they telecast the function.they will for sure..will be fantastic...Unni k AR is my fav singer-MD combo..eagerly waiting

7th March 2011, 11:02 AM
Ajay, for which film is he referring to?

Anand, romba naala hub pakkam pakka mudiyala..:)

7th March 2011, 11:34 AM
Mahen,

Thats a malayalam film called 'lavender'. It has ARR's sagalai Rahman in the lead. There was a rumour that ARR is composing the title song for the movie and now it has been denied by Gops.

7th March 2011, 01:42 PM
thanks AB :)

7th March 2011, 11:15 PM
Gautham Menon says it only ARR!!

Director Gautham Vasudev Menon mentioned in an interview to NDTV Hindu that all his future films will have the music of A.R.Rahman unless and until ARR opts out of the project.

-ARRYG

7th March 2011, 11:17 PM
ARR's first interview

http://kalyanje.blogspot.com/2009/02/blog-post_26.html

music man
7th March 2011, 11:21 PM
In one still I saw Unni K and Harini singing with AR - Dont know if it is "sollaamal kEtpathillai". Hope they telecast the function.

Ya..We miss that combo very much... But its really a pain to see Unni struggling to sing...I believe he has some breathing problem...I have seen him sing at some live shows and talent shows...He really struggles and he tries to cope up with some jarring modulations...Any way good songs..Hope to see the program being telecast in tv...:-)

9th March 2011, 12:29 PM
Master,

Where is 'Rockstar' thread? :huh:

http://www.hindustantimes.com/entertainment/bollywood/Rockstar-a-modern-version-of-Devdas/Article1-670565.aspx

10th March 2011, 12:06 PM
http://indianautosblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Toyota-Etios-AR-Rahman.jpg

http://indianautosblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/AR-Rahman-Toyota-Etios.jpg

Toyota handed the keys of the first Etios in Chennai to AR Rahman, the Oscar winning musician who composed the tune for the Etios advertisements and theme song. Rahman’s Etios tune has really caught on with the Indian public (which tune hasn’t?)

We hope to see Toyota use his magical touch for the Etios Liva as well.

10th March 2011, 05:47 PM
Mahen,

Thats a malayalam film called 'lavender'. It has ARR's sagalai Rahman in the lead. There was a rumour that ARR is composing the title song for the movie and now it has been denied by Gops. oh ivanunga dhairiyama official promo la yum thalaivar per/padam pottirukkanga http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fhp4dQTMAKg at 5:16

K
10th March 2011, 06:47 PM
http://tfmpage.mayyam.com/talk/viewlite.php?t=8722

Raja and Rahman

10th March 2011, 07:24 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aVRrjKuW8GI

Also check out the little GVP!!

shylu65
14th March 2011, 10:59 AM
Yep, above interview by B.H. Abdul Hameed was so good. And I love the musical piece that's in part 5 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rfk_YnOb9yA :)

14th March 2011, 05:45 PM
lol..gvp is so shy

15th March 2011, 04:55 PM
http://desmond.yfrog.com/Himg611/scaled.php?tn=0&server=611&filename=x2axj.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640