View Full Version : ~~ Gadgets - Performance, Looks, Apps, Hottest Models ~~

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

7th February 2012, 10:47 AM
there is a pretty nice app in Android - app which takes the due date for all ur credit cards and then gives u option on which credit card to use on a given day so that u get maximum time leverage. Anyone knows if Apple has similar apps? I did a prelim search and cudnt find any...

8th February 2012, 09:42 PM
https://twitter.com/#!/VickyTamil/status/167145151049904129/photo/1

Tablet with Wifi Hotspot in Benagaluru MTC buses

https://p.twimg.com/AlHRoRqCMAAIloW.jpg:large

This news was there last year itself for Delhi. Any buses with tablets in delhi?!
http://gadgets.ndtv.com/shownews.aspx?id=GADEN20110169678

9th February 2012, 01:12 AM
Buy/Sell ur used mobile - http://www.priceshred.com/ Similar to Swappa.com but has to improve a lot

Best Budget Android Phones in India - http://androidos.in/2012/02/best-budget-android-phones-in-india/

11th February 2012, 02:40 PM
ipad3 buzz

http://www.ndtv.com/article/technology/10-likely-features-in-apple-s-ipad-3-175148

14th February 2012, 12:47 PM
Any console gamers here? x360, PS3, Wii.. I have never seen gaming discussions in the Hub. :yessir:

18th February 2012, 04:01 PM
Venki,

it seems the brand mentioned is available in India only, not in uk :|

Thanks any way :)

Got a player? Try iRiver. Its amazing in UI design and sturdy. I guess it must be available in UK. Its not available in India :(

22nd February 2012, 11:10 AM
A full Ubuntu desktop, on your docked Android phone (http://www.ubuntu.com/devices/android)

Soon, Ubuntu is gonna run on Spartphones with 1 GHz dual core. Instead of ubintu trying to become alternative for Android, which it tried and flopped, now its trying to run on Android itself. with Quad Core devices coming for android, i think this is a true innovation. Soon, a tablet will completely function as a phone, tablet and ubuntu PC! Yaahoooo!

http://www.ubuntu.com/sites/www.ubuntu.com/files/active/02_ubuntu/android-hero.png

http://www.ubuntu.com/sites/www.ubuntu.com/files/active/02_ubuntu/android-contacts.png

http://www.ubuntu.com/sites/www.ubuntu.com/files/active/02_ubuntu/android-messaging.png

Hardware requirements

Dual-core 1GHz CPU
Video acceleration: shared kernel driver with associated X driver; Open GL, ES/EGL
Storage: 2GB for OS disk image
HDMI: video out with secondary frame buffer device
USB host mode
512 MB RAM

23rd February 2012, 04:11 AM
those concerned about privacy on web, see this -> http://www.google.com/goodtoknow/

26th February 2012, 11:48 AM
Cheapest dual core Android phone from Micromax(INR 15.2) As its Nvidia Tegra2, we need not worry about the hardware!

http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2011-12-21/news/30542597_1_android-dual-core-apps

26th February 2012, 11:51 AM
BSNL launches three Android tablets, plans to rival Aakash with INR 3250 model (http://androidos.in/2012/02/bsnl-launches-three-android-tablets-plans-to-rival-aakash-with-inr-3250-model/#more-30935)

State-owned telecom operator BSNL has decided to jump in the tablet arena with the launch of three Android tablets. Manufactured by Pantel, these tablets will go on sale starting March 1 in the country with attractive data plans.

Everyone wants to grab a pie of tablet market these days and looking at how people wanted to buy Aakash tablet recently despite the fact that it was crap, there is certainly a lot of buyers for cheap tablets. Keeping the same in mind BSNL has announced three tablets and the cheapest one will cost you only INR 3,250. Other two tablets have been priced at INR 10,999 and INR 13,500.

Check out model specific features below:
penta 1 BSNL launches three Android tablets, plans to rival Aakash with INR 3250 model
Penta T PAD IS 701R : 7-inch resistive display with 800X480p resolution, 1GHz processor, 256MB RAM, Wi-Fi, Android 2.3, 3G Dongle support, 0.3MP camera, HDMI port, 3000 mAh battery, 2GB Internal memory and an expandable memory of 32 GB. Price – INR 3250.
BSNL T Pad WS704C front view BSNL launches three Android tablets, plans to rival Aakash with INR 3250 model

Penta TPAD WS704C: 1GHz processor, 512MB RAM, 7 inch capacitive display, Android 2.3, Wi-Fi, integrated SIM card, 2MP rear camera, 0.3MP front camera, Bluetooth, 4GB of internal storage, microSD card support, aGPS, HDMI port and 1080p HD playback support. Price – INR 10,999 BSNL T Pad WS802C white front view BSNL launches three Android tablets, plans to rival Aakash with INR 3250 model

Penta TPAD WS802C: 8 inch capacitive display, 1.2 GHz processor, 512MB RAM, Android 2.3, 4GB internal memory, microSD card support, 2MP rear camera, 0.3MP front camera, Bluetooth, aGPS, HDMI port and 1080p HD playback support. Price: INR 13,500

All the tablets carry one year of warranty and BSNL is offering 5GB 3G data usage for INR 750, and 7.5 GB 2G usage for INR 250 with these tablets.

There is no 3G in tablets. Instead, BSNL external USB Modem has to be brought, or if u already have an BSNL modem, u can use that.

These are nice offers...

26th February 2012, 08:22 PM
Bell Labs: A Hive of Invention (http://www.nytimes.com/imagepages/2012/02/26/sunday-review/26bell-gfx.html?ref=sunday)

True Innovation (http://www.nytimes.com/2012/02/26/opinion/sunday/innovation-and-the-bell-labs-miracle.html?hp)

8th March 2012, 12:05 AM
http://live.arstechnica.com/Event/Apple_iPad_3_Event

8th March 2012, 10:11 AM
http://viruvirupu.com/ford-reworks-touch-screens/14923/

புதிய தொழில்நுட்பத்துடன் கூடிய கார்களை வாங்கிய கஸ்டமர்கள், தலையைப் பிய்த்துக்கொண்டு கார் ஓட வேண்டிய நிலைக்கு கொண்டு போயிருக்கிறது இவர்கள் பொருத்தியுள்ள சிஸ்டம்.

ஃபோர்ட் கார்களில் பொருத்தப்பட்டுள்ள டச்-ஸ்கிரீன் சிஸ்டத்துக்கு இவர்கள் சூட்டியுள்ள பெயர், MyFord Touch. உண்மையில், முற்று முழுதாக இவர்களால் உருவாக்கப்பட்ட சிஸ்டம் அல்ல இது. மைக்ரோசாஃப்ட் நிறுவனத்துடன் செய்து கொண்ட ஒரு ஒப்பந்தத்தின் அடிப்படையில், இரு தரப்புமாக இணைந்து உருவாக்கியதே, MyFord Touch.

கஸ்டமர்கள் செய்யும் கம்பிளெயிட்டுகளில் பெரும்பாலானவை, கார் ஓடிக்கொண்டு இருக்கையிலேயே டச்-ஸ்கிரீன் சிஸ்டம் இயங்குவதை நிறுத்தி, சுயமாகவே ரீ-பூட் செய்யத் தொடங்குகிறது என்பதே. இது காரைச் செலுத்தும் சாரதிகளுக்கு பதட்டத்தை ஏற்படுத்துகிறது.

வாகனம் மணிக்கு 100 கி.மீ. வேகத்தில் ஹை-வேயில் ஓடிக்கொண்டிருக்கும்போது, எதிரேயுள்ள பானலில் அனைத்தும் பிளாக்-அவுட் ஆகிப் போனால், சாரதியின் மனநிலையை யோசித்துப் பாருங்கள்.dei, neenga innum thirunthalayaa?!? unga thollai thaangaama thaan 4 years back naan complete aa linux kku switch over aanen

8th March 2012, 10:13 AM
Compare iPad Models (http://www.apple.com/ipad/compare/)

9th March 2012, 02:54 PM
Sakala! Planning to buy iPad! Is it good/worth to go for latest 3rd Gen - Wi-Fi - 16GB one?

$499 - Quite big budget! Anyway, there are not enough competitors to the standard that iPad provides, right?

9th March 2012, 04:28 PM
venki...
heard that new ipas is getting launched at the same price and the existing model is gonna go down by 100£...
dono if its true or if the news would be of any use to u.

11th March 2012, 12:12 AM
Don't buy the new iPad! dastards :evil: cheating with quad-core graphic processors(GPU) as quad-core CPU's!

Apple A5X and the great quad-core confusion, explained (http://www.ubergizmo.com/2012/03/apple-a5x-not-quad-core/)

i wud suggest wait for Quad core iPad3 at 2013!

12th March 2012, 06:43 PM
which is the best tablet available at present? iPad 2 - 4g?

13th March 2012, 12:47 PM
if u ask that way, then, new ipad from apple side, and asus prime from android side. both are $499. both are technically superior though not equally superior. but both lack application.

new ipad has stunning display and a quad-core graphics processor. but app"lications which are needed to make use of the stunning display are yet to come. There are interesting use cases listed here - New iPad's HD display: The future of killer mobile visualization (http://www.zdnet.com/blog/perlow/new-ipads-hd-display-the-future-of-killer-mobile-visualization/20042?tag=nl.e539) but none of the use cases are for common man and day to day usages.

asus prime has stunning 4 core, 1st android tablet to come with a quad core processor. but alas, there are no great and essential software/apps designed to make use of that quad core.

both apple and android are heading towards delivering great hardware for tablets but as of now there is just no ground-breaking or dire-needed applications which make use of them. Google is always more a tech company than consumer comp, so this quad core is a feature which cannot be felt outside and one has to take effort to realize the quad core power. but apple is always a smart guy and so its new hd display will stun the regular consumer at first sight itself and creates an urge to buy that!

13th March 2012, 12:54 PM
rsubras, its not possible to just like that answer ur question, saying this one is best or that one is best. Tablet industry is keep on maturing slowly and you have to get inside to see what is available, what can be done and what day to day use it offers..

13th March 2012, 12:56 PM
When ppl here ask what is the need of a tablet, smartphone, i keep saying that both are a hot new platform, to keep innovating in multitude of ways. below is one such!

NETRA, The $2 Device That Turns Your Smartphone Into An Eye Test (http://singularityhub.com/2012/03/11/netra-the-2-device-that-turns-your-smartphone-into-an-eye-test/)

13th March 2012, 01:04 PM
Smart Tools - Android App (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=kr.aboy.tools)

innovative way to measure an object's length and breath,

https://lh3.ggpht.com/N9VsN-cNkMeFwQL1_Ow7rAlYrABfARAs3IBex10mHt3uIHDQ6n0ABpdZ CTW3iiZUaA

virtual protractor!

https://lh6.ggpht.com/ucHf6mwLVk87DdiG1FFWxgmR50UFLuyq65T_QV8LlpgjD4JmV0 0EOp7amXL8jd0sy6M

innovative way to measure the height of a person or tall building, suing smartphone's camera!

https://lh5.ggpht.com/RRKIQdvk4yQmSI12PC50nKrJsP_KMzm47M2UaB4QfLRP5JpXpV AcDLDG1DXyyaP8Z_0L

this app even had metal detector, virtual compass, sound meter etc

13th March 2012, 03:27 PM
rsubras, its not possible to just like that answer ur question, saying this one is best or that one is best. Tablet industry is keep on maturing slowly and you have to get inside to see what is available, what can be done and what day to day use it offers..

:) athu correct than, requirements sollirukkanum

1. Internet capability should be at its best
2. Display - competitive
3. Video - competitive and good
4. Audio - very good
5. Playing / Games - competitive
6. Size - does not matter
7. Price - competitive
8. Speed - competitive
9. Performance - best

in general, personal use ku (with moderate business use) laptop ku alternative irukka koodiya (above a smartphone) oru tablet

13th March 2012, 03:31 PM
If you are buying Android tablet, check for following

Atleast 1 GHz CPU. Better if its dual core.
Atleast 512 MB Internal RAM. 1Gb better
Atleast 4 GB internal Flash, 16 GB SD Card
Battery if its 7 inch tablet, around 4000 mAH, if 10 inch tablet, shud be 7000 mAH
Display resolution 800x480 for 7 inch & 1024x800 for 10 inch
GPS, USB, Wifi, Bluetooth, HDMI, Accelerometer, Compass, Gyroscope, Capacitive Touch screen(Avoid Resistive touch) Speakers Mic,
Rear camera 5MP with Flash, Front camera atleast 0.3MP,
Android OS above Version 3.0

Brands to look for:- Asus, Acer, Samsung, Motorola, Lenovo, HTC
Indian brands:- Beetel(Airtel), Reliance 3g Tab, HCL, iBall etc

Price:- Approx 20K for 10" and 15K for 7" tabs. Cost is more if 3G option is there.

13th March 2012, 07:15 PM
Mindboggling supply-chain numbers of Apple's new iPad!

http://www.zdnet.com/blog/btl/with-apples-new-ipad-supply-chain-is-the-hero/71382

15th March 2012, 12:06 PM
After updating ios 5.0.1, I am unable to send mms and I am not able to connect my laptop to iphone and use the personal hotspot. Dont know what went wrong. Any idea?

15th March 2012, 08:26 PM
16 reasons NOT to buy a new iPad (including 7 that haven’t changed from earlier iPads) (http://www.zdnet.com/blog/diy-it/16-reasons-not-to-buy-a-new-ipad-including-7-that-havent-changed-from-earlier-ipads/462?tag=nl.e539)

Reason 1: You already have an iPad
Reason 2: The retina display is mostly marketing hype
Reason 3: High-res apps will take more memory
Reason 4: 4G/LTE is expensive
Reason 5: 4G/LTE doesn’t work in a lot of places
Reason 6: The porn issue
Reason 7: The size
Reason 8: iPad 2 accessories won’t necessarily work
Reason 9: It’s still not 16×9
Reason 10: There’s still no USB port
Reason 11: You still have to use iTunes too often
Reason 12: There’s still no removable storage
Reason 13: Kindles are still much less expensive
Reason 14: You can still only run software approved by Apple
Reason 15: It still can’t be used as a standalone computer
Reason 16: Apple still won’t let you write or run programs that execute programs

New iPad's VGA front camera and Apple's history of holding back from perfection (http://www.zdnet.com/blog/mobile-gadgeteer/new-ipads-vga-front-camera-and-apples-history-of-holding-back-from-perfection/5606?tag=nl.e539)
Original iPhone: No 3G when it was readily available on other phones
iPhone 3G: 412 MHz processor, 2 megapixel camera, no voice control
iPhone 3GS: 3 megapixel camera with VGA video
iPhone 4: VGA front facing camera limited to WiFi only FaceTime use
iPhone 4S: No 4G LTE or fast HSPA+ (limited to just 14.4 Mbps speeds) and no increase in screen size.
Original iPad: No cameras, 256 MB RAM
iPad 2: Same 1024 × 768 resolution display, VGA FFC, lame rear camera
New iPad (iPad 3): Limited VGA FFC

15th March 2012, 08:39 PM
After updating ios 5.0.1, I am unable to send mms and I am not able to connect my laptop to iphone and use the personal hotspot. Dont know what went wrong. Any idea?
idhukku dhaan naan iPhone-computer connect pannradhE illai :mrgreen:

15th March 2012, 09:56 PM
ennamo iFans ellaam perumayaa solvaaingaLe "2009 la release aana iDevice kooda iOS 5 update panna mudiyin, android fragmentation" ippo ingeyum athe nelamai thaan pola! updates irunthum issues :lol:

hamid
21st March 2012, 01:11 PM
DH/Sakala/LM,

Bought a HTC explorer y'day.. as I was afraid tamil is not supported.. But saw a link that HTC explorer is the first HTC phone to support Tamil and Hindi through an OTA udpate.
But seems I cant get that udpate .. any way I can get it or make Tamil supported in my mobile.. throw your thoughts. Thanks.

http://tech2.in.com/news/smartphones/htc-explorer-gets-hindi-and-tamil-language-support/266202

22nd March 2012, 10:31 PM
No idea hamid, u shud contact cust.support on how to get/activate OTA. If possible, check the Phone settings.. hope you know the other generic ways to type/read tamil in any android phone...

Also see if their site has any info - http://www.htc.com/in/help/htc-explorer/

30th March 2012, 04:35 AM
When Google announced Android, it was not matured. Google knew it. But later versions slowly came and increased the technical capabilities. But as it is Open Source, the community did not wait. Community did various things. It ported Android to Tablets even before 3.0 Honeycomb was introduced. Also, android went to devices other than Smartphones and Tablets. That is how Open source evolves. For long time till now, there is a huge cry from serious Android-Wellwishers about Customer Support and Fragmentation. The worry is that there is no one clear party among Google, OEM, Carrier to solve the customer woes. That is true. But that may affect Android to good extent. But that effect will be to end consumers whereas developers and tech enthusiasts solved their issues themselves. There was third party ROMs like CyanogenMod. That is how Open Source evolves.

Becos of this Open Source nature, Android is getting ported to various devices which are limited only by our Imagination. Android may soon become the 1st Smartphones based OS which may travel to Space. Now, an US based Indian have come up with Android based Medical Tablet. This is not just a raw port. He has added many software packages relevant to Medical industry, to Android and also has hardware which allows to measure Blood pressure, ECG etc.

Link here - http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Now-a-tablet-thats-also-a-mini-lab-for-doctors/articleshow/12408561.cms

Inspite of fragmentation and poor Customer support in Smartphone and Tablet segment, Android is going to bring and converge many new devices like this Medical Tablet. The convergence of future is going to happen on Android. Lets wait to see how many devices Android Devices is going to replace and Merge, in future. Already the list is growing

Benny Lava
5th April 2012, 08:20 PM
I was really looking forward to Nokia Lumia 900 but the reviews are not so favourable :(

Anyone here with prior experience on Lumia 800 or any other Windows phone in general (WP7+)?

16th April 2012, 11:10 AM
India - The Android First Nation | AndroidOS.in http://androidos.in/2012/04/india-the-android-first-nation/ via @androidosblog

19th April 2012, 11:44 PM
After long time, another cheap, but better tablet release, this time it is Micromax, it says this tab is manufactured in india. not bad!

Rs. 6500 Buy - http://ncarry.nimbuzz.com/micromax/tabletpc/

Specs
- http://www.micromaxfunbook.com/features.html#features
- http://www.gsmarena.com/micromax_funbook_p300-4701.php

Review - http://www.fonearena.com/blog/48491/review-micromax-funbook.html

+ves
price
decent CPU & resolution
HDMI port

-ves
cam res very less
no bluetooth, depend on WiFi for file transfer

kirukan
21st April 2012, 06:12 PM
After long time, another cheap, but better tablet release, this time it is Micromax, it says this tab is manufactured in india. not bad!

Sakala,
Is it possible to have proper tamil rendering in android.i replaced main font by which able to see.linear tamil font,but not complex.
rom-miui
mobile-mb525 defy

22nd April 2012, 02:39 AM
Kirukan, this font replacing, has never brought good looking, thats the comment i hear from few ppl. Except the font support in native application, for ex dinamalar, they don't look good outside browser. but still serves the purpose of reading. Till now there is no effort from google to add Indic fonts to Android-as-the-whole. Even in ICS, the support is only limited to browsers, that too only about viewing. For typing, still we need to rely on tamil-visai types (though tamil-visai is not very bad)

22nd April 2012, 03:44 AM
XOLO X900 is the world's 1st Intel powered Android Phone at Rs.22K, its specs are superb attractive http://www.xolo.in/features

This phone is released in India, by Lava Mobiles

Highlights in the Specs:-

Processor Chipset Intel Atom Processor Z2460
CPU 1.6 GHz Intel® Atom™ with Hyper Threading
Graphics core Clock speed - 400 MHz
micro HDMI
Display Size 4.03"
Resolution 1024 x 600
Corning Gorilla Glass
Operating System - Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) (upgradable to Android 4.0)
Camera 8 MP
HD recording rear 1080p
Sensors Accelerometer, Gyroscope, Magnetometer, Ambient light sensor
Dual Speakers 0.3 W each
2 Digital Microphones, Ambient Noise Cancellation
NFC
Internal Memory 16 GB
RAM 1 GB
Browser HTML5
Battery 1460 mAh, 3.7V

One 1ve is Lacks microSD slot for storage expansion.

Compared with HTC Sensation, it fails in some areas like, dual core. Also, seeing that now Sensation is available in Flipkart for jsut 24K, this phone don't look a good choice. Also, intel's android performance is yet to be seen.

Intel goes to Android, Windows goes to ARM, meaning formers are suffering and laters are smiling!

http://www.xolo.in/sites/default/files/slider-banner_0.jpg

22nd April 2012, 09:32 AM
Laptop maintenance tips, again!

I have 2 laptops One is AMD based HP Pavilion(2008) (DV6605US) and another is Celeron based Acer(2007)

There is not much problems with Acer, its survivng on Ubuntu, still now no great problems. Now I am typing this frm that laptop only. The HP one already got into a problem, 1 year before and I spent 12K changing the mother board. Now the same problem. Heard that its becos of the NVidia chip and generally these AMd laptops are getting this issue. Thing is, due to heat, the Nvidia GPU is spoilt and thus no display! Now I have to replace that chip.

I asked, is this heat due to using laptop in a Non A/C area. The service man said that this heat is due to the battery which has lost its backup and always running on AC Mains power. I was shocked! Most laptop users put the mains charger for almost all the time and thus the battery loses its backup by a years time. Then the backup will come only for few mins. He said, that's true but in reality, NO laptop is meant for continuous use. I said I have to run git servers and need to keep laptop ON. He said "Then use desktop. Laptop is NOT designed for 24 hrs use. Laptops shud run only on battery power and when the charge is gone, only charge it and DON'T use it while charging. give break! like mobile phone"

He said some remedies to prevent it. Simple things. Sit in an A/C room. if not possible, put a extra cooling pad at bottom. Give break for the laptop every 3/4 hours. Aleast 20 minits break. If shut down not possible, the hibernate. He said that the recent intel CPUs are far far better in this and we get lots of AMD laptops with this problem. And the corporate grade laptops too don't have this problem.

Ok, now that my laptop is gone, i asked for remedy. Replace the GPU for 3.5K, or replace the whole motherboard itself(yes!) to an equivalent dual-core intel motherboard, for 8.5K and laptop will live for atleast 5 years. Don't forget to replace original HP battery for 3.5K. The duplicate ebay ones for 1.8K will actually do further damage.

So this is for all laptop users, especially AMD users. If till now, you didn't sit in A/C, use ur laptop for all the day, and don't use any cooling pad, and almost 4/5 years you didn't get any problem, you are a lucky lot. But still don't forget to

1. Replace original batt
2. Add a cooling pad
3. Give break every 3/4 hours.

22nd April 2012, 04:59 PM
guys i am planning of buying PS3....but have no idea on its models,space or anything...looking out for it in the net is gettin me confused..anyone who knows abt it can give me suggestions..:D

vithagan
22nd April 2012, 09:14 PM
Laptop maintenance tips, again!

I have 2 laptops One is AMD based HP Pavilion(2008) (DV6605US) and another is Celeron based Acer(2007)

There is not much problems with Acer, its survivng on Ubuntu, still now no great problems. Now I am typing this frm that laptop only. The HP one already got into a problem, 1 year before and I spent 12K changing the mother board. Now the same problem. Heard that its becos of the NVidia chip and generally these AMd laptops are getting this issue. Thing is, due to heat, the Nvidia GPU is spoilt and thus no display! Now I have to replace that chip.

I asked, is this heat due to using laptop in a Non A/C area. The service man said that this heat is due to the battery which has lost its backup and always running on AC Mains power. I was shocked! Most laptop users put the mains charger for almost all the time and thus the battery loses its backup by a years time. Then the backup will come only for few mins. He said, that's true but in reality, NO laptop is meant for continuous use. I said I have to run git servers and need to keep laptop ON. He said "Then use desktop. Laptop is NOT designed for 24 hrs use. Laptops shud run only on battery power and when the charge is gone, only charge it and DON'T use it while charging. give break! like mobile phone"

He said some remedies to prevent it. Simple things. Sit in an A/C room. if not possible, put a extra cooling pad at bottom. Give break for the laptop every 3/4 hours. Aleast 20 minits break. If shut down not possible, the hibernate. He said that the recent intel CPUs are far far better in this and we get lots of AMD laptops with this problem. And the corporate grade laptops too don't have this problem.

Ok, now that my laptop is gone, i asked for remedy. Replace the GPU for 3.5K, or replace the whole motherboard itself(yes!) to an equivalent dual-core intel motherboard, for 8.5K and laptop will live for atleast 5 years. Don't forget to replace original HP battery for 3.5K. The duplicate ebay ones for 1.8K will actually do further damage.

So this is for all laptop users, especially AMD users. If till now, you didn't sit in A/C, use ur laptop for all the day, and don't use any cooling pad, and almost 4/5 years you didn't get any problem, you are a lucky lot. But still don't forget to

1. Replace original batt
2. Add a cooling pad
3. Give break every 3/4 hours.

Thanks for the tips, I'm using my laptop 24*7 not for any useful purpose but for browsing and making it as TV ( connect thru HDMI to my TV). Its making noise like a big machine and its getting overheated. I'm planning to change the laptop(bought in November 2008) this Thanksgiving. I'm looking for a laptop as a desktop replacement. Most of the time it will be connected to TV, if i need to use then I'll connect to my monitor and use as desktop. DO you have any suggestions for my usage on laptops.

Off the topic, If I need to run multiple OS ( Windows / Mac OS / Linux ) if at all possible, whats my best bet, High end laptop or Desktop??

23rd April 2012, 10:48 AM
Vithagan, ( Windows / Mac OS / Linux ) Anything MAC, only Macbookpro! For best prices refer -> http://www.appleinsider.com/mac_price_guide/ If you can get an apple employee he will buy a Mac for you with good discount.

For regular laptops, if you are going for corporate kind, then IBM is the best bet, but may cost close to a lakh! Normal ones, i strongly reccomend Acer TimelineX. It has 7 hrs batery.

23rd April 2012, 01:03 PM
guys i am planning of buying PS3....but have no idea on its models,space or anything...looking out for it in the net is gettin me confused..anyone who knows abt it can give me suggestions..:D

Venkiraja bought a PS3 recently. Check with him.

23rd April 2012, 01:20 PM
thnx LM..will chk wid him :)

23rd April 2012, 02:41 PM
PS3 is 19K la ?? PSP 3004 eppadi ok va? i think Sony had stopped / slowed down its production in favor of PS Vita and the PSP E1004, but PSP 3004 @ 8K is a good buy nu naan feel panraen, pleas suggest?

and PSP 3004 ah mod panna mudiyuma? or i wud have to spend a fortune for buying good games ?

vithagan
23rd April 2012, 08:22 PM
Vithagan, ( Windows / Mac OS / Linux ) Anything MAC, only Macbookpro! For best prices refer -> http://www.appleinsider.com/mac_price_guide/ If you can get an apple employee he will buy a Mac for you with good discount.

For regular laptops, if you are going for corporate kind, then IBM is the best bet, but may cost close to a lakh! Normal ones, i strongly reccomend Acer TimelineX. It has 7 hrs batery.

Thank you sir..

Btw when you referred IBM, you mean Lenovo? As i said I have time till November, will keep looking till that.

23rd April 2012, 08:58 PM
Converting video raw MTS format into MPG/AVI format.

Which tool is available free in net which can perform this task?

Which format we can choose among MPEG-1, MPEG-2, MPEG-3, MPEG-4, AVI (there are lot! crazy!!) for a better quality and resolution?

Have numerous video's from few Birthday parties onto my Canon VIXIA HF M41. Before I convert , your valuable suggestions (based on personal experience) please.

23rd April 2012, 09:14 PM
Haven't worked on MTS files, but based on what I've did, MP4 (encoded with H264/X264) looks good. Check this thread (http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/273164-Best-way-to-Convert-AVCHD-(-MTS)-H-264-SD-(MP4)), will give you some idea about what software to use.

23rd April 2012, 10:23 PM
Thanks LM. will do.

24th April 2012, 01:19 AM
Generally for video and even audio format conversions, this software is popular -> http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html But finding the download link in that website itself is a daunting task!

24th April 2012, 01:24 AM
Thank you sir..

Btw when you referred IBM, you mean Lenovo? As i said I have time till November, will keep looking till that.

Vithagan, IBM and Lenovo(a chinese company) got splitted 1 or 2 yrs b4. So i doubt you would find IBM Lenovo, fresh ones. May be used ones. I guess now both are selling corporate/professional grade laptops seperately.

That apart, i don't have idea in corporate/professional grade laptops. Even Fujitsu is also having corporate laptops. I remember they had a laptop of 10+ hrs backup costing close to 1 lac.

I would say Macbook Pro, that too the recent one quad-core, if once brought, happily we can use for 7 years. Note - happily! Normal laptops are facing issues in 4 years time span

24th April 2012, 07:15 PM
Vithagan, IBM and Lenovo(a chinese company) got splitted 1 or 2 yrs b4. So i doubt you would find IBM Lenovo, fresh ones. May be used ones. I guess now both are selling corporate/professional grade laptops seperately.

Sorry for the nitpicking! IBM sold it's PC division to lenovo few years back and they just produce servers now. Thinkpad series is now sold by lenovo.

Vithagan,

For your kind of usage, I would recommend a desktop. Get something which doesn't occupy much space and you can abuse it as much as you like. Laptops are not meant to be used 24x7. If you really want a laptop, then buy a high end lenovo or Dell as they are quite reliable.

wizzy
24th April 2012, 08:57 PM
@Vithagan I do run my notebook 24/7 :mrgreen: would suggest that you give Asus a try...not well known but I would vouch for their build quality..I have used Asus U series which gives around 7-8hr battery and it comes with all the bells/whistles..If you are into gaming I suggest that you go through this site.

http://www.xoticpc.com/custom-gaming-laptops-notebooks-asus-laptops-ct-95_51_163.html

25th April 2012, 03:59 PM
I thought you bought one when you asked earlier.
Now, only 3004 is in the market and unfortunately it is not Jailbreakable. Only legit games :|

And yes, 320 GB PS3 + Move Bundle is 19k. The 160 GB standalone console comes for 16k.

PS3 is 19K la ?? PSP 3004 eppadi ok va? i think Sony had stopped / slowed down its production in favor of PS Vita and the PSP E1004, but PSP 3004 @ 8K is a good buy nu naan feel panraen, pleas suggest?

and PSP 3004 ah mod panna mudiyuma? or i wud have to spend a fortune for buying good games ?

Sakala annan, I rooted my Defy and is running CM7 nightlies currently.
How do I view tamil fonts by default now? I am a noob with command prompt gimmicks. I tried an application (bit.ly/I5gM5s) which didn't work. Is there any other app which patches fonts into the root?

26th April 2012, 06:12 PM
Venki, since u rooted the phone and u r comfortable with cmd prompt, As I said, you can replace existing fonts in the /system/fonts folder, I mean, copy some useless fonts to SD Card and then replace a Tamil font, renamed with same name, to the fonts folder. This may help to view tamil fonts, say, tamil fonts posted this forum hub will be viewable in any browser, which normally happens only within Opera Mini browser.

And also, looking at your image, this is a generic problem which even exists in net! In my ubuntu systems, there are some websites which looks like the image u posted, in that case, i change browsers, same page will appear correct in some browsers, and wrongly in some browsers. I switch between 4 different browsers.

Also, the way it looks in ur image, when it looks in my browser, i copy the text and put it in text editor (gedit) it will look OK. Another solution is, in firefox, there is an addon called Athiyan. Mostly dailythanthi font wont appear properly and this addon helps to view different addons correctly. See if you can put that same addon, using Firefox for android( Iam no sure if firefox for Android supports plugins)

So i recommend use Opera, becos, it renders the font bitmaps on its server and prints the image bitmap on your browser screen so that there is absolutely no chance for error. Until google itself takes effort, even font-replacing won't help and we need to rely on Opera Mini

Also, the app link you gave, it is not working for many.
Check the comments in the developer site -> http://xkrishx.wordpress.com/2011/07/30/tamil-unicode-font-for-android/
There is some issue in rendering.

vithagan
26th April 2012, 09:23 PM
Thanks Sakala, LM and Wizzy for your valuable inputs.

27th April 2012, 11:23 AM
Venki, since u rooted the phone and u r comfortable with cmd prompt, As I said, you can replace existing fonts in the /system/fonts folder, I mean, copy some useless fonts to SD Card and then replace a Tamil font, renamed with same name, to the fonts folder. This may help to view tamil fonts, say, tamil fonts posted this forum hub will be viewable in any browser, which normally happens only within Opera Mini browser.
Hehee. I was actually explaining that I am not comfortable with CMD.
And, I tried that method as well. 'DroidSansFallback.ttf' was replaced and still renders fonts like that.

And also, looking at your image, this is a generic problem which even exists in net! In my ubuntu systems, there are some websites which looks like the image u posted, in that case, i change browsers, same page will appear correct in some browsers, and wrongly in some browsers. I switch between 4 different browsers.

Also, the way it looks in ur image, when it looks in my browser, i copy the text and put it in text editor (gedit) it will look OK. Another solution is, in firefox, there is an addon called Athiyan. Mostly dailythanthi font wont appear properly and this addon helps to view different addons correctly. See if you can put that same addon, using Firefox for android( Iam no sure if firefox for Android supports plugins)

So i recommend use Opera, becos, it renders the font bitmaps on its server and prints the image bitmap on your browser screen so that there is absolutely no chance for error. Until google itself takes effort, even font-replacing won't help and we need to rely on Opera Mini

Exactly. This is a real issue for all Non-Samsung Droids which I confirmed through a very long thead in xda/ google forums. Looks like ROMs other than stock ROMs have an issue. All v2.3.4 running a stock ROM render Unicode fonts properly and the others screw it up.

Also, the app link you gave, it is not working for many.
Check the comments in the developer site -> http://xkrishx.wordpress.com/2011/07/30/tamil-unicode-font-for-android/
There is some issue in rendering.
Yes. In general Samsung's architecture supports much more compatibility wrt such issues. I don't know why HTC/ Dell/ Others lag far behind.
4.0 is the only possible solution I think. Let me wait for a stable ROM, until then I have Opera Mini!

28th April 2012, 02:03 AM
Those in US, Google has started to sell its new Galaxy Nexus Phone on its Play store. https://play.google.com/store/devices

While the 2 year contract is $200, the unlocked version has been priced at USD 399.99. Thats a good deal. Comparing this with HTC Sensation, Galaxy Nexus outsmarts Sensation in many specs -> http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=4219&idPhone2=3875

In India, Sensation is sold for 24K. I am comparing a phone sold in India vs sold in US :lol: I mean, buying the unlocked contract free version. Except for 5 MP camera, which is lower than Sensation's 8MP, Galaxy Nexus is much better than Sensation in all aspects including unlocked version price. Even for those travelling to US, planning to buy a smartphone, this Galaxy Nexus is an excellent buy! Samsung Galaxy Note retails here for ~30K and this one is just 20K but screen size is only slightly lesser, so it is easily pocketable, compared to Galaxy Note. Either for US or India, this is superb deal!

Prabo
3rd May 2012, 02:07 AM
Guys, any one using data cards in Chennai....I am fed up with BSNL BB. Pls do let me know which offers true unlimited and good speed Reliance or Tata Indi or Airtel. Not interested in 3G unless true unlimited plan is offered. So, 2G should be fine......

3rd May 2012, 02:03 PM
I thought you bought one when you asked earlier.
Now, only 3004 is in the market and unfortunately it is not Jailbreakable. Only legit games :|

And yes, 320 GB PS3 + Move Bundle is 19k. The 160 GB standalone console comes for 16k.

No i didnt buy at that time...... had a dilemma.....whether or not to go for it........ippo had same dilemma for PS2, burma buzaar la modified PS2 is up for sale @ 5.6K, right now out of stock...mostly will go for this one....

4th May 2012, 09:26 AM
Kickstarter Project Turns The iPad Into Apple’s First Touchscreen Laptop (http://www.fastcodesign.com/1669671/kickstarter-project-turns-the-ipad-into-apples-first-touchscreen-laptop)

http://thebrydge.com/images/ks/1.jpg

http://thebrydge.com/images/ks/3.jpg

4th May 2012, 09:31 AM
Venki, I did the font-replacement, i too face the same issue. See below. Replacing font this way solves half the problem, but there needs to add some library during compiling the android kernel itself. And that is different for every phone. so very tough! Samsung Galaxy series has this library precompiled for each of its phone.

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/7726/shot0000081.png

Try this app -> https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.KM.TF.DN&hl=en

Also look at this - ஆண்டிராய்டில் தமிழ் – Tamil on Android Phone (http://www.tamiloviam.com/site/?p=1803)
"ஆசை ஆசையாக ஆண்டிராய்டு வாங்கி தமிழ் பார்க்க ஒப்ரா மினி பயன்படுத்துபவரா…? அப்ப இந்த பதிவு உங்களுக்குத் தான்."

5th May 2012, 03:22 PM
Samsung Galaxy S III announced, coming with 4.8-inch 720p Super AMOLED display (http://androidos.in/2012/05/samsung-galaxy-s-iii-announced-coming-with-4-8-icnh-720p-super-amoled-display/#more-32736)

The Samsung Galaxy S III: The First Smartphone Designed Entirely By Lawyers (http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/05/04/the-samsung-galaxy-s-iii-the-first-smartphone-designed-entirely-by-lawyers/)

12th May 2012, 12:12 AM
What used to be in very expensive cars (luxury / sport etc) are now coming to ordinary models.

Some details on "driver assist stuff" available on the 2013 Ford Fusion
(family sedan that competes with Toyota Camry & Honda Accord in NA) :

====quote from an article====

A package of radar, ultrasonic, optical and motion sensors adds a new level of convenience for midsize sedan customers by transitioning beyond passive safety technology to offer drivers Lane-Keeping System, Driver Alert System, Blind Spot Information System (BLIS ®), active park assist, cross-traffic alert, adaptive cruise control, collision warning and a rear view camera.

“These new sensing technologies help extend the driver’s own senses, providing a level of assistance never before available to the family sedan buyer,” said Adrian Whittle, Ford Fusion chief engineer. “The new Fusion launches this year with these advanced technologies – making them more affordable and available than ever before.”

Fusion’s suite of driver assist technologies are the result of the addition of new sensors, including cameras and radar combined with existing technologies, such as electric power-assisted steering (EPAS) and data from the anti-lock braking and stability control systems.

Lane-Keeping System
Lane-Keeping System uses a forward-facing camera that can scan the road surface for lane markings. The Lane-Keeping System can evaluate if the car is drifting out of its lane and then alert the driver by vibrating the steering wheel. If the driver does not respond to the vibrations, the system provides steering torque to nudge the car back toward the center of the lane.

To view video about the Lane-Keeping System, click here: http://youtu.be/LFB-xOaTAKo

Driver Alert System
Driver Alert uses the front-facing camera to detect a pattern of vehicle motion consistent with a drowsy driver, and provides a series of alerts to suggest the driver stop and rest for a while. The visual alert includes a coffee cup icon appearing in the instrument cluster display indicating that pulling off the road and taking a break is a good idea. In a survey conducted by AAA Foundation, more than 40 percent of Americans acknowledge they have fallen asleep or nodded off while driving.

Pull-Drift Compensation
Pull-Drift Compensation is built into the electric power-assisted steering to counter the effects of steeply crowned roads or steady crosswinds. It can detect if the car is changing direction even if the steering angle sensor indicates the driver is not commanding this change. The Pull-Drift control then uses EPAS to provide gradual steering corrections that keep the car moving to where the driver wants to go.

Adaptive cruise control with collision warning
Adaptive cruise control uses a radar sensor that measures the distance and speed to the vehicle ahead.

With this extra information, the same engine power reduction and brake application techniques that are used to limit wheel spin by the traction control system can now be used to automatically slow the car and maintain a safe following distance when the adaptive cruise control is active. If the sensors detect the following distance is shrinking too quickly and a collision is likely, the system will provide a visual and audio alert so the driver can respond by steering or braking.

Active park assist
With available active park assist, the electric power-assisted steering and ultrasonic sensors at the corners of the car work in concert to help make parallel parking a breeze. The sensors measure the gap between parked cars to see if there is enough room, and then the car is automatically steered into the space. The driver just has to apply the accelerator and brake.

Blind Spot Information System with cross-traffic alert
No matter how careful drivers are, the physical constraints of sitting inside a car means there always will be places they cannot see. Rearview mirrors help, but the Fusion is available with radar sensors in the rear corners that can monitor the spaces beside and just behind the car.

On the road, these sensors trigger a warning light in the mirror indicating there is another vehicle in the blind spot the driver may not be able to see when changing lanes. When backing out of a parking space, these same sensors can see vehicles coming down the aisle while the back-up camera provides a view directly behind the rear bumper.

====end of quote====

17th May 2012, 12:46 PM
Beware of Samsung Galaxy S2

https://twitpic.com/show/large/9lxo5l

18th May 2012, 10:19 PM
I dropped my iPhone 4 yesterday on a sidewalk (concrete floor) from a height of just 2 feet. It fell on its back and guess what, I saw 100s of cracks. It dint quite *break*, I bought a case immediately and slid it in. Its holding on now. And I used to think cases are for sissys :oops:

But I had dropped the other versions, multiple times on all kinds of floors but none of them cracked this bad.

Some cheap material this iPhone 4 is made of. Apple ozhiga :twisted:

18th May 2012, 10:32 PM
switch to htc... naanlaam weekly once keela podren...

Benny Lava
19th May 2012, 08:07 AM
Even I cracked my iphone quite badly, but just as you said it didn't break completely. Apple stopped using Gorilla glasses on iPhone because they were too expensive.

19th May 2012, 11:43 AM
Even I cracked my iphone quite badly, but just as you said it didn't break completely. Apple stopped using Gorilla glasses on iPhone because they were too expensive.

Samsung Wave which costs Rs. 17000 has gorilla glass. 44K Iphone-kku gorilla glass poda mudiyalaiya :|

19th May 2012, 12:49 PM
Reiterating the matter posted in Kon Soheb thread. IPhone is the best. Android ellam velaikkavadhu, not yet. Munna pinna futures (features) irukkalaam, doesn't matter. Anyone who has used both phones will know this. :nonsense: :rascals:

Samsung GS2 use panna piragum neenga ippadi pesaradhu enakku manasukku sangadama irukku

Saai
19th May 2012, 12:57 PM
Have got Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1

Anyone have any idea of how to install tamil fonts in the android OS?

Saai
19th May 2012, 01:04 PM
Reiterating the matter posted in Kon Soheb thread. IPhone is the best. Android ellam velaikkavadhu, not yet. Munna pinna futures (features) irukkalaam, doesn't matter. Anyone who has used both phones will know this. :nonsense: :rascals:

super!!...ippo thaan oru pathu perta recommendation vandi samsung choose pannen :)

19th May 2012, 01:25 PM
See, KadavuL irukkaaraa illaiyaannu kooda kandupudichiralaam, but one can't end up the Android vs iPhone Debate!

I guess i posted this vid alread :- iPhone4 & Samsung Galaxy S2 drop test

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elKxgsrJFhw

19th May 2012, 01:26 PM
Android vs iOS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMiY1kSTHZw

See the full series here

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL04FC66EC25CBE28E&feature=plcp

btw, thalai seem to use Galaxy Note :wink:

19th May 2012, 01:38 PM
Have got Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1

Anyone have any idea of how to install tamil fonts in the android OS?

sutta pazham or sudaatha pazham?!? i mean
rooted or not rooted?

Rooted devices -> www.tamiloviam.com/site/?p=1803
Non rooted -> Install Opera Mini, then type in the browser addressbar -> about:config, go to last option, enable the Bitmap fonts by changing to "Yes" & Save. Don't forget to use ONLY OperaMini when you want to view tamil fonts. For typing tamil fonts, use the App Tamil Visai

19th May 2012, 02:02 PM
Saai & others wanting tamil fonts on Android :-

Try this app -> https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.KM.TF.DN&hl=en

Also look at this - ஆண்டிராய்டில் தமிழ் – Tamil on Android Phone (http://www.tamiloviam.com/site/?p=1803)
"ஆசை ஆசையாக ஆண்டிராய்டு வாங்கி தமிழ் பார்க்க ஒப்ரா மினி பயன்படுத்துபவரா…? அப்ப இந்த பதிவு உங்களுக்குத் தான்."

19th May 2012, 09:27 PM
switch to htc... naanlaam weekly once keela podren...
Vasathi illeeng. I mean I just got this 6 months or so back. Next upgrade due only after one and a half years. Appa niRaiya thillaalangadi phones vandhirukkum.

Samsung GS2 use panna piragum neenga ippadi pesaradhu enakku manasukku sangadama irukku
Things that matter to me -
Build - S2
Reliability - S2 (iPhone hangs quite frequently esp. when receiving a call)
Usability - iPhone (extremely intuitive)
Thamizh - iPhone (Havent tried sakala's link above)

Overall I like iPhone actually, but points 1 an 2 are major irritants.

19th May 2012, 10:22 PM
See the whole of the video i posted. You may know how most of the Android lovers think... He precisely points what and all is missing/too tough in iPhone which are possible in Android with ease.

19th May 2012, 10:41 PM
This guy uses both Apple and Android products heavily. This is what he has to say

https://twitter.com/#!/subatomic/status/193657030152691712

At the Apple service centre saw many people for whom the Apple products did not just work out of the box.

20th May 2012, 04:54 PM
Things that matter to me -
Build - S2
Reliability - S2 (iPhone hangs quite frequently esp. when receiving a call)
Usability - iPhone (extremely intuitive)
Thamizh - iPhone (Havent tried sakala's link above)

Overall I like iPhone actually, but points 1 an 2 are major irritants.
Adhu!
Oh ok. Build quality - Iphone seems solid, sila thadava vixhundhirukku, but Galaxy S2 remba light and fragile-a theriyidhu but indha vishayathula naan adhigam comment panna koodaadhu nu nenaikkaren

Usability-nu sonneenga paatheengala, adhaan matter. That's the most tangible and easily discernible factor. Inga dhaan nikkidhu Iphone.

20th May 2012, 05:31 PM
Arumaiyaa Marketing panni niruthi vechirukaanga

20th May 2012, 05:42 PM
Yeah, Apple enakke theriyaama ennaya morketing manager-a niyamichirukkaanga :lol2:

20th May 2012, 05:48 PM
The vid I posted shows clearly.

20th May 2012, 05:49 PM
I frequently post updates on Kamal. So Kamal appointed me for marketing and PR activities. Superb!

20th May 2012, 06:02 PM
I frequently post updates on Kamal. So Kamal appointed me for marketing and PR activities. Superb!
Unga post, adhilulla (?) logic a yosichu paarunga, neengale half an hour kekkapekka nu sirippeenga

Let me explain it for you at kili pillai level. Stay with me, let's go slowly

1. I had an overall opinion on Iphone vs Android (my exposure to Android is limited to my wife's Samsung GS2)
2. Nerd veetlayum same scenario. However, he finds more positives in the Android phone
3. My depth of expertise, exploration, R&D, yEmaNdi etc is very limited (even in Iphone, let alone Android)
4. I'm concerned mostly about certain specific factors and Nerd (someone like me who has *used* both phones, not someone who spends sleepless hours desperately looking for links and OTHER's points of views. Agenda? May not be, passion-maybe, it's your thing, no comments on that) addressed those factors
5. I'm not an evangelist to be concerned about the absolute truth on which is the best. I don't give a crap about under the hood stuff. I'm more or less at idhula Sun TV varuma level (for a techie). Oru end user-a enakku andraada usage la edhu mukkiyamo adha vechu pesitrukken.

So, when i make a statement, "usability-la Iphone pawns Android", an opinion that Nerd shares (he didn't fish for links. He has *used* both phones, the statement is purely based on empirical evaluation of utility. Oru agenda/passion vengaayamum kedaiyaadhu. So, neenga marketing nu solradhukku naan reply pannen "yeah, marketing dhaan enna pesa vechirukku, ennudaya experience illa" - sarcasm.
Adhukku meendum neengala unga allegation-a unga melaye vechukkareenga!!! (I post Kamal updates, am i a marketing manager?) :rotfl3:

20th May 2012, 06:09 PM
3. My depth of expertise, exploration, R&D, yEmaNdi etc is very limited (even in Iphone, let alone Android)

intha Yemandi onnu pothunmga! ithai thaan naan sonnen, before itself, that the choice varies with person to person, and its an endless arguement. It depends on what type of person you are, nnu kooda sonnen. And though it is an endless arguement, ppl would like to end with what they like. That's what i said.

Intha comedy kekkepekke ellaam ONLY when you connect the 'niruthi vechirukkaanga' to YOUR post! I mean it other way.

20th May 2012, 06:19 PM
Extending on the personal choice/individual requirement, the video CLEARLY says that, inspite of aipOne having only 2 or 3 models of hardware and a common OS on all, is not having some ultra basic things, when even some china phones has. Of course android, inspite of having multiple sozens of different hardware and versions of OS, not only has those features, but also the levels of customization, whoa! Ithellaam vadivelE urundu sirikkira aLavu Comedy!

All this matters very much if one uses Smartphone slightly above the phone level, not just as phone but PC like functions.

And in today's world, there is nothing like using both phones is the only mandatory thing. Which is best, using both phones in too limited way, or having worked extremely deep on one platform and being well informed thru concrete evidence, the pitfalls of other platform? Of course, though i don't own a aipOne, have used, did some basic dev-stuff et all.

20th May 2012, 06:59 PM
If I want to buy a smartphone and want to decide which is best, what will i do? Go to Chroma store and look, feel the devices. but how deep? Get to see devices from friends, but that too how deep and how long? Only way is to look for online reviews, specs, and indepth usage experiences posted on net. If only those who used iPhone only can comment, howcome that will be complete? That too users who use the devices very limited :lol: Nothing wrong about that but their review is only limited to their (limited) use no?! Will that become overall or complete opinion? Kind of living in stone age!

I don't need an real iPhone to know that it doesn't even integrate to its own installed apps. Whatta kevals of America :rotfl2: This i checked in my android phone and its the same as what he said! Sharing a website which we see on Safari browser, the options are too limited, whereas, in Android, it automatically links all the eligible apps in the Share Menu! I can share a picture inside the Gallery, or a weblink inside a browser as easy as an pie! i have "ubersocial" app for twitter and as soon i click the share, this app is listed. Clicking on it posts a tweet on my timeline.

Now if you don't do even this single thing and only use ur feature rich fone just as a phone and messaging device, what on earth is going to be there, for complaining?! In fact even there are discrepancies in these :lol2: as the video says!

20th May 2012, 09:34 PM
Sakala, thaNNiyakkudinga boss.

Phone idhellaam seyyum enbadharkkaaga adhayellaam senjE theeruvEnnu solluradhula - I am not with them.

And we only talked about how *we* use a phone and what *we* look for. That may be so far away from being a "true" user, but Do I care?

And it does not do what I want to do. It does not matter if it does many things which do not matter to me. And actually may be it does everything, but my point was the phones are not very intuitive.

Actually I am not an appletard, I find people queuing up in front of the apple stores on the day of a new phone's release incredibly stupid. What I am saying is my experience as a user (4+ years iPhones and ~1 year android phone).

20th May 2012, 10:14 PM
Illa nerd, i understand ur POV without any Qs. Its not complicated for me to get that point! I also didn't use my android as a phone and only for apps/browsing, for initial 2 months. Only when i used for full function, i found issues like batt life. Now, i have workarounds, so absolutely no issues wrt my Android experience.

But same time, about the extra functions, spartphone kke undaana features,ithaiyellaam seyyum nnaa athai seyyaNum thaane? Appadi illainnu, naanga website paathu therinjika mudiyaathaa?!? 40K kuduthu phone vaangi thaan therinjikkaNumaa?!

At same time, i don't know how it feels to use either iphone/android mainly in phone mode only(calls, messaging, very limited browsing and apps, camera, media-playing, blutooth, file-explorer, batt life, signal strength, not hanging while during this ultra-basic operation, easy UI wrt to these ultra-basic operations, is that what you say?)

Actually there are lots of apps to replace the stock Android functions for the above mentioned ultra-basics, which means, almost all the issues have alternatives/solutions. But lets leave them and consider only what comes with stock android. Can you tell me what hurdles you faced in whatever you did in Android?

20th May 2012, 10:17 PM
"how *we* use a phone and what *we* look for" - I understand but the, your POV may be too limited illayaa? Atleast if you say that you refer to common activities, which everybody needs, appadi sonneengannaa kooda athula oru artham irukku! Becos, when it comes to common things, its almost same across all iphones and even all android, irrespective of fragmentation becos common tasks are almost same among all versions of Android.

20th May 2012, 10:18 PM
Apple's dagaalti thanam, as a company, in phone business, athu oru sepatate topic. athai thevai pattaal appuram pesuvom. at that time, i am ready to discuss about Gokul Annan too

21st May 2012, 05:58 AM
Sahala
Let's try one more time :lol2:

Enga, indha post-a innorukka padinga pappom!

Sakala, thaNNiyakkudinga boss.

Phone idhellaam seyyum enbadharkkaaga adhayellaam senjE theeruvEnnu solluradhula - I am not with them.

And we only talked about how *we* use a phone and what *we* look for. That may be so far away from being a "true" user, but Do I care?

And it does not do what I want to do. It does not matter if it does many things which do not matter to me. And actually may be it does everything, but my point was the phones are not very intuitive.

Actually I am not an appletard, I find people queuing up in front of the apple stores on the day of a new phone's release incredibly stupid. What I am saying is my experience as a user (4+ years iPhones and ~1 year android phone).
The very act of posting in this forum in an Iphone vs GS2 would tell us about usability. Odane Sakala will post hundred links and videos that you can do this in Android blah blah. Of course you can, that's not the f-ing point.

21st May 2012, 06:03 AM
:rotfl: @ Sahala's last post

You seem to think
1. I care or take a stand on Apple's nobility or mollamaarithanam or whatever
2. Posting about Apple vandavaalam will get me all riled and worked up :lol:
3. "I didn't post it for you, i was just posting generally for the thread" nu neenga sollalaam (nambiduvom!). Well, just sayin.....

Idhukkapparamum puriyaama, menakkettu link post panni, illaadha straw man create panni demolish panradhellaam senjeenga,........... aludhuruven :cry3:

21st May 2012, 08:28 AM
1. I had an overall opinion on Iphone vs Android (my exposure to Android is limited to my wife's Samsung GS2)
2. Nerd veetlayum same scenario. However, he finds more positives in the Android phone
4. I'm concerned mostly about certain specific factors and Nerd (someone like me who has *used* both phones, not someone who spends sleepless hours desperately looking for links and OTHER's points of views. Agenda? May not be, passion-maybe, it's your thing, no comments on that) addressed those factors
5. I'm not an evangelist to be concerned about the absolute truth on which is the best. I don't give a crap about under the hood stuff. I'm more or less at idhula Sun TV varuma level (for a techie). Oru end user-a enakku andraada usage la edhu mukkiyamo adha vechu pesitrukken.

So, when i make a statement, "usability-la Iphone pawns Android", an opinion that Nerd shares (he didn't fish for links. He has *used* both phones, the statement is purely based on empirical evaluation of utility. Oru agenda/passion vengaayamum kedaiyaadhu. So, neenga marketing nu solradhukku naan reply pannen "yeah, marketing dhaan enna pesa vechirukku, ennudaya experience illa" - sarcasm. +100!!

i used to be a non user of IPhone/Ipad for a long long time - used SE for some time then switched to Omnia and then jumped to the Android bandwagon with Samsung Galaxy S... but after getting the Iphone for my wife my POV changed. then went and got Ipad as well... time to change my fone now - would definitely go for new Iphone or 4s itself. No more Galaxy S2 or S3.

with the thousand and one updates they make to the OS every other month its quite unstable. Only one advantage i can think of for android is its open and ppl can root or program things - and i have done that quite a few times as well so far. but all said and done i prefer the out of the box thing from Apple in Iphone which is very much stable and pawns android in user experience.

One thing Iphone has not got yet is video call support in 3g (ofcourse there is tango/skype/voodoo etc etc). thts the only time i would prefer my galaxy s phone over iphone.

21st May 2012, 11:47 AM
Bala, yet to read directhit's post. But after reading ur post, sorry, i VERY CLEARLY told in beginning, somethings:- Menakkettu re-type pannuren

1. This argument won't end
2. It depends on what type of person you are(any type is OK, nothing wrong)
3. Inspite of this, one will always talk about **his** usability only.

So, in what way did my posts take abeating?!? No way, man! And I needless to post links. As far as what I need, aappiL already gets nice, decent seppal-beatings from the vid. The guy who talks in the vid, too has used both thing FYI, becos you wud have never turned towards seeing it!

21st May 2012, 11:49 AM
Apple MoLLamaarithanam thavaipattaa post pannuren, appo, again thevaippattaa, Gokul Annan oda dagaalti pathiyum(and how that actually is not taxing more) pesurennu solli irunthen. Athu unga manasa maathi aaifone lernthu neenga Android kku poga vekkurathukkaagavaa :rotfl: unmaiylele neenga bayangaramaana aalu saar! neenga antraayidu pOn vaangi thaan activation count/no of devices increase pannura nelailayaa KooguL irukku!

21st May 2012, 11:59 AM
Walled garden kuLLa irukka aasaippaduravanga can happily be there. and directhit, i wonder why u apply ALL of the updates. or is it Samsung's bloat?! btw the update rate u say, summaa thamaasu thaane :lol: and you being a root guy wud have tried things like cyanogen, where the issues u say are non-existent. ennavo ponga, unga phone unga istam!

21st May 2012, 12:00 PM
Bala, okke okka ling thaan! a set of 6 videos. Another vid, that drop test, already posted nga! Venumnaa, antha okka ling is equal to 100, nnu sollalaam! baashaa maathiri! effect appdi irukkum!

21st May 2012, 12:09 PM
Walled garden kuLLa irukka aasaippaduravanga can happily be there. and directhit, i wonder why u apply ALL of the updates. or is it Samsung's bloat?! btw the update rate u say, summaa thamaasu thaane :lol: and you being a root guy wud have tried things like cyanogen, where the issues u say are non-existent. ennavo ponga, unga phone unga istam! :roll: i dont understand why u get so defensive of android, edhanaa apps specific for android develop pannitirukeengala? :lol:
its jus a device nga, was in samsung/android side for long - used to freely market iphone is useless etc etc for years together - few months of passive iphone usage changed my mind.
and regd Build quality - Samsung galaxy build aint great either - the make is almost like cheap plastic. OTOH you can get neat, almost original like casing for iphones for 20-30 bucks !!

21st May 2012, 12:15 PM
directhit, inge verikondu post pannitrukkom! if u not joining the game, atleast engaLa kurai sollaatheenga! Its like what u did once, in ur words "freely market iphone is useless etc etc" athe thaan! Intha arguments ellaam waste nnu nenaikkureengaLaa? Hav asked specific kostin to Nerd, ithellaam for useful discussions, not for timepass or fanboy fighting.

21st May 2012, 12:17 PM
directhit, inge verikondu post pannitrukkom! if u not joining the game, atleast engaLa kurai sollaatheenga! Its like what u did once, in ur words "freely market iphone is useless etc etc" athe thaan! Intha arguments ellaam waste nnu nenaikkureengaLaa? Hav asked specific kostin to Nerd, ithellaam for useful discussions, not for timepass or fanboy fighting. naan muzhichikitten, ungalayum ezhuppalaamnu dhaan :noteeth: dont think its so easy, u kantinuu :thumbsup:

21st May 2012, 12:17 PM
kernel driver pannirukken, on a device called Odroid-T --> hardkernel.com. Tablet will be like namitha, i mean minimum casing and covering! Few hubbers kitta en apps kaattirukken, not for market though! Ithukku mela details venumgravanga Pm pannalaam

21st May 2012, 12:20 PM
naan muzhichikitten, ungalayum ezhuppalaamnu dhaan :noteeth: dont think its so easy, u kantinuu :thumbsup:

illeeng! ippo laam ithuvum rajini kamal maathiri aagippochu! neenga yaaraiyum maatha mudiyaathu, incl me and you! and naan maatharathukkaagavum argue pannalai. just posting 'en tharappu vaathangaL'

22nd May 2012, 06:36 PM
Sakala, naan common activities paththi dhaan solREn, like surfing the Internet for example. Oru naaL time kidaikkumbOdhu padam varainju baagam pirikkiREn :-)

23rd May 2012, 01:20 AM
Nerd, sure! will wait for u to post ur experiences. if u get time, watch that video series.

23rd May 2012, 01:21 AM
The same guy, while heavily vouching for Android instead of iPhone, supports completely for iPad, when it comes to tablet

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hjhufve38r0

He has posted videos only recently and in this short times, there is good view number. And there are most likes than dislikes, for his "android vs iOS" series, that, mostly in an iDevices dominated US.

His videos are not that geeky, the things he does are mostly common day to day activities, reproduce-able in any android phones starting 2.2.

He also has a separate video to show how to do customizations, so that ur fone **exactly** becomes likes his config! You can no more say that he is faking!

23rd May 2012, 11:30 AM
When will ur HTC get ICS update

http://cdn.redmondpie.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/HTC-Devices-ICS-list.png

23rd May 2012, 01:19 PM
Geeks/Techies here, External Hard Drive recommendations please!!!. Want to buy a 1 TB drive at-least. Which Company drive should i buy and other specifications if there are any!!

Links most welcome/

23rd May 2012, 01:44 PM
Geeks/Techies here, External Hard Drive recommendations please!!!. Want to buy a 1 TB drive at-least. Which Company drive should i buy and other specifications if there are any!!

Links most welcome/

Stick with WD/Seagate. Reliabilty rendum orey maadhiridhan. I prefer WD usually. Specs doesn't matter much except USB 3.0.

23rd May 2012, 01:46 PM
i hv had two 1TBs both from Western Digital for some time now - both are quite good, doesnt heat up much and havent faced much lags. If you are just going to use the HDD to play movies/files from ur desktop then you can go for the 3.5 inch (u can save some money) - if not go portable

23rd May 2012, 02:13 PM
I brought 1TB internal HDD(Seagate, 3.5, SATA) for 4.5K and a Casing box which seats the HDD and gives out an USB to connect to PC. Thus, using an internal HDD as external. It works cool for past 2 years. Thevai pattaa PC kuLLa maattikkalaam. That was cheaper by Rs.700, the external thing with same HDD, Seagate Brand was 5.5K that time.

Now I get 2Tb for that same price

lydayaxobia493
24th May 2012, 03:48 PM
Naadu pora pokkula ithu romba mukkiyam thaan..

http://tamil.gizbot.com/news/drivegain-fuel-saving-app-on-iphone

காரில் பெட்ரோலை சேமிக்க ஐடியா கொடுக்கும் ஐபோன்!

http://tamil.gizbot.com/files/2012/05/fuel-saving-app-500.jpg

ட்ரைவ்கெயில் என்ற பெயரில் பெட்ரோலை எப்படியெல்லாம் சேமிக்கலாம் என்பது குறித்த ஐடியா கொடுக்கும் புதிய அப்ளிக்கேஷனை ஆப்பிள் அறிமுகப்படுத்தியிருக்கிறது.

டிரைவ்கெயின் என்ற அப்ளிக்கேஷன் மூலம், அதிக மைலேஜ் பெறுவதற்காக என்னென்ன வழிமுறைகளை கையாள வேண்டும் என்பது குறித்து ஆடியோ மற்றும் வீடியோ தகவல்களை இந்த புதிய அப்ளிகேஷன் மூலம் பெறலாம்.

ஒவ்வொரு வாகனத்தையும் கையாளுவதற்கென்று சில விதி முறைகள் இருக்கின்றது. ஒவ்வொரு வாகனத்தின் என்ஜினும் வித்தியாசப்படுகிறது.

அந்த என்ஜினுக்கு தகுந்த வகையில் வேகத்தை அதிகரித்தும், குறைத்தும் வாகனத்தை ஓட்டுவது ஒரு பெரிய கலை என்று தான் சொல்ல வேண்டும்.

வாகனங்களை கையாளும் விதம் தெரிந்து அதை ஓட்டினால் இதன் மூலம் பெட்ரோல் அதிகம் செலவாவதை குறைக்க முடியும். இதற்கு ஐபோனில் உள்ள டிரைவ்கெயின் அப்ளிக்கேஷனை பயன்படுத்தி கொள்ளலாம்.

ஐபோன் திரையில் வசதியை பயன்படுத்தி, ஆடியோ மற்றும் வீடியோ மூலம் வாகனங்களை ஓட்டும் பொழுது எவ்வளவு வேகத்தில் செல்ல வேண்டும் என்பது போன்ற விவரங்களை தகவல்களாக பெற முடியும்.

பெட்ரோல் விலை லிட்டருக்கு ரூ.7.50 உயர்த்தப்பட்டுள்ளது. வரலாறு காணாத இந்த விலை உயர்வு நாடு முழுவதும் மக்களிடம் பெரிய பரபரப்பை ஏற்படுத்தி உள்ளது.

இது போன்ற இக்கட்டான சூழ்நிலையை சந்திக்க எலக்ட்ரானிக் சாதன உலகம் பெரிதும் உதவி வருகின்றது என்று சொல்லலாம்.

இந்நிலையில் பெட்ரோலின் விலையை குறைக்க போராட்டம் நடத்துவதைவிட இதை எப்படி மிச்சப்படுத்துவது என்பதை யோசிப்பது தான் சிறந்த வழியாக இருக்கும். இதற்கு புதிய யுக்தியை கொடுத்துள்ளது ஆப்பிள் ஐபோன்.

இந்த டிரைவ்கெயின் அப்ளிக்கேஷன் ஹாலாந்தில் வெளியிடப்பட்டு, மக்களிடையே சிறப்பான வரவேற்பினையும் பெற்றுள்ளது. இதை தொடர்ந்து இங்கிலாந்திலும் இந்த அப்ளிக்கேஷன் வெளியிட உள்ளது ஆப்பிள் நிறுவனம்.

அடுத்து பிற நாடுகளிலும் இந்த புதிய அப்ளிகேஷனை அறிமுகப்படுத்த ஆப்பிள் திட்டமிட்டுள்ளதாம். அப்ப இந்தியாவுக்கு…?

24th May 2012, 04:49 PM
ட்ரைவ்கெயில் என்ற பெயரில் பெட்ரோலை எப்படியெல்லாம் சேமிக்கலாம் என்பது குறித்த ஐடியா கொடுக்கும் புதிய அப்ளிக்கேஷனை ஆப்பிள் அறிமுகப்படுத்தியிருக்கிறது.

:banghead: These tamil websites are miles lagging in reporting about tech.

vithagan
25th May 2012, 07:06 PM
When will ur HTC get ICS update

Thanks for the update. I don't see HTC Inspire, I believe its same as HTC Desire rt?

Iavnunga update panradhukulla enakku adhutha Phone upgrade eligibility vandhurum pola :)

lydayaxobia493
28th May 2012, 01:21 PM
http://tamil.gizbot.com/news/bump-app-for-transfers-photos-directly-to-pc

ஐபோனில் புதிய பம்ப் அப்ளிக்கேஷன்!

புகைப்படங்களை மொபைல்களில் இருந்து, கம்ப்யூட்டர்களுக்கு பரிமாறி கொள்ள புதிய பம்ப் அப்ளிக்கேஷன். இனிய காட்சிகள் கண்களில் பட்டவுடன், டக்கென்று மொபைலை எடுத்து பட்டென்று க்ளிக் செய்வது வழக்கமாகிவிட்டது.

இப்படி எடுத்த புகைப்படங்களை கம்யூட்டருக்கு மாற்றி அதை அப்லோட் செய்வதும் வழக்கமான ஒன்று. ஆனால் இனி இதற்கு அவசியம் இல்லை.

பம்ப் என்ற அப்ளிக்கேஷன் மூலம் இந்த மொபைல்களில் உள்ள புகைப்படங்களை, கம்ப்யூட்டருடன் இணைக்காமலேயே அதை எளிதாக உங்கள் கம்ப்யூட்டருக்கும் பரிமாறி கொள்ள முடியும்.

இது உண்மையிலேயே ஒரு சிறப்பான அப்ளிக்கேஷன் தான். செல்லுகின்ற இடமெல்லாம் கம்ப்யூட்டரும் கையுமாக செல்ல முடியாது.

ஆனால் மொபைலை எடுத்து செல்வது சாத்தியம் தான். இதனால் மொபைலில் புகைப்படத்தினை எடுத்துவிட்டு மறுபடி அதை பிசியுடன்(கம்ப்யூட்டருடன்) இணைத்து, புகைப்படங்களை பரிமாறி கொள்வது இரண்டு வேலை.

ஆனால் இந்த பம்ப் அப்ளிக்கேஷன் மூலம் கம்ப்யூட்டருடன் இணைக்காமலேயே எளிதாக புகைப்படங்களை, கம்ப்யூட்டருக்கு நேரடியாக பரிமாறலாம்.

இன்னும் சொல்லப்போனால் பத்திரிக்கை நிறுபர்களுக்கு இந்த பம்ப் அப்ளிக்கேஷன் மிகவும் பயன்படும். சம்பவ இடத்தில் இருந்து மொபைல்கள் மூலம் எடுக்கும் முக்கியமான புகைப்படங்களை நேரடியாக பிசி கம்ப்யூட்டர்களில் பரிமாறி கொள்ளவும் இது உதவும்.

இந்த அப்ளிக்கேஷனை ஐஓஎஸ் மற்றும் ஆன்ட்ராய்டு இயங்குதளத்தில் பயன்படுத்தலாம். இந்த பம்ப் அப்ளிக்கேஷனை கூகுள் ப்ளே ஸ்டோர் மூலம் எளிதாக பெறலாம்.

See also, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bump_%28application%29

DennisDex
28th May 2012, 01:49 PM
Thanks for posting the forum is to good

28th May 2012, 02:48 PM
we speak about the usability of phones ... lets take one small example.

Facebook app

1. App sucks in Android!!

2. Is a breeze in IPhone

now this could be attributed to developers or to the underyling OS. But when I as a customer gets affected i blame Android ;)

PS : Apple compensates for all this pros from usability by its single itunes app! :banghead: is a miracle everytime u manage to update new version without any mishaps

28th May 2012, 02:49 PM
Naan ippadhan Android phone vaangalam-nu yosichuttu irukken, aana ippadi kuzhappureengale :confused2:

28th May 2012, 03:08 PM
LM :lol:

its not jadeja level yet...

IPhone is more stable (less crash)/awesome camera (day time!)/battery better etc. And they are all out of the box - nothing for you to do! But everytime Apple comes up with itunes or iphone updates its a bigggggggggg pain syncing to sys etc etc. However you dont miss much by not updating them :lol2:

Android - actually the experience wud vary based on the phone maker.

HTC - user interface is good. if you are the kind who wants to keep changing the look of your phone software every week or two weeks best to opt this one. XDA forums have loads of ppl building custom ROMs etc and most of em are HTC based. Not sure of battery, however the resale value is very very low for HTC
Samsung - awesome AMOLED screen. Battery sucks! - true in both Galaxy S and S2 (seen it atleast with 5-6 ppl in my team itself!) not sure how the new S3 would fare though. Out of the box Samsung ROM wud invariably be taking up much of ur RAM/memory etc. You would be better off to put a new ROM onto it. Getting a good ROm wud decide ur experience :)
Sony - so far with Neo S Battery has been fairly good (defnly better than samsung). am not sure on how much support is there for custom ROMs etc on this. should be fairly limited in comparison. Xperia S has been quite good i guess...

28th May 2012, 03:08 PM
LM, what is ur budget?

better ask ur friends who are like minded, means, those u have same expectations like u, regarding smartphones, technology etc

28th May 2012, 03:10 PM
But everytime Apple comes up with itunes or iphone updates its a bigggggggggg pain syncing to sys etc etc. However you dont miss much by not updating them :lol2:

This is what we call fragmentation in iOS! But (global) media will only write more about Android fragmentation which is verymuch manageable

28th May 2012, 03:43 PM
LM, what is ur budget?

17k-20k. Currently have my eyes set on Sony Xperia Sola.

better ask ur friends who are like minded, means, those u have same expectations like u, regarding smartphones, technology etc

Adhanaaladhan ungakkitta kekkaren :)

lydayaxobia493
28th May 2012, 03:54 PM
17k-20k. Currently have my eyes set on Sony Xperia Sola.

LM...better to buy sony xperia ray...
very gud one..internet speed very gud..wi fi connection is very very gud...
my frnd hav tis..til date no complaint abt it..
simple & compact in hand..worth to buy..

http://www.google.com/url?source=imglanding&ct=img&q=http://www.android.gs/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/Sony-Ericsson-Xperia-Ray.jpg&sa=X&ei=G1LDT4fKGpGGrAet46i5CQ&ved=0CAsQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNGblvvteLbOA8B_ioyfRvdaH0hzEA

28th May 2012, 03:54 PM
LM :lol:

its not jadeja level yet...

IPhone is more stable (less crash)/awesome camera (day time!)/battery better etc. And they are all out of the box - nothing for you to do! But everytime Apple comes up with itunes or iphone updates its a bigggggggggg pain syncing to sys etc etc. However you dont miss much by not updating them :lol2:

I want a phone with very good camera. On par with my Samsung Wave. Iphone camera quality avvalavu pramaadhama irukkaradha theriyala. And I hate this itunes thingy.

Android - actually the experience wud vary based on the phone maker.

Idhudhaan ippo kuzhappudhu :? Seems Sony's timescape UI is good and there are no noticeable lags. I'm not going to buy a Samsung again.

28th May 2012, 03:55 PM
LM...better to buy sony xperia ray...
very gud one..internet speed very gud..wi fi connection is very very gud...
my frnd hav tis..til date no complaint abt it..
simple & compact in hand..worth to buy..

http://www.google.com/url?source=imglanding&ct=img&q=http://www.android.gs/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/Sony-Ericsson-Xperia-Ray.jpg&sa=X&ei=G1LDT4fKGpGGrAet46i5CQ&ved=0CAsQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNGblvvteLbOA8B_ioyfRvdaH0hzEA

Looking to buy Sola as it's a new model and I like it's simple looks. Pakkalam.

28th May 2012, 04:17 PM
Enakku inga ketta peru irukku :lol: So, take my word with a saakku pye full of salt!

btw, if u r ready to spend 20K, look at other options too!

http://www.flipkart.com/mobiles/compare?ids=MOBD9GEYZUWYTNZX,MOBCYW9HXBUDYJPH,MOBD 9MZ6FPCVWSGV,MOBD3N5YHDKEYFQT

HTC Sensation looks better than Sola, but its 3.5K extra! Only minus i see in Sola is no Front Cam & battery a bit low.! Anyways, In india, mobile video chat is slightly complicated.
And As of now, overseas video calls is not possible from mobile, within india. Even hacking won't help!

For android, atleast 1500mAH battery, the better!

28th May 2012, 05:33 PM
20K is already a stretch Sakala. Front cam-laam use panna poradhey illa, at least for another 2 years. Battery is a concern. Aana vera endha mobile-um nalla option-a thonala.

28th May 2012, 05:37 PM
Thanks LM, Anoop and Sakalai. Western Digital it is then.

28th May 2012, 05:48 PM
Thanks LM, Anoop and Sakalai. Western Digital it is then.

You got it? If you are buying WD My Book Essentials, please be aware that it comes with something called smartware, only through which you could access the data. Try to get WD Elements (http://www.flipkart.com/wd-elements-1-tb-external-hard-disk/p/itmd7yggq2gqjp99?pid=ACCD7YGFGAMH525N&ref=8848de27-8c77-4918-8b8a-167c6456d22d).

28th May 2012, 05:54 PM
I want a phone with very good camera. On par with my Samsung Wave. Iphone camera quality avvalavu pramaadhama irukkaradha theriyala. And I hate this itunes thingy. Iphone (4 and above) camera is sure :thumbsup: hv noticed its even better than galaxy S camera... had got sony neo for my mom; love the panaroma in that :) guess ur model also has that.... but the camera pics aint that great

Idhudhaan ippo kuzhappudhu :? Seems Sony's timescape UI is good and there are no noticeable lags. I'm not going to buy a Samsung again. yup i didnt hv any lags with neo v ... but if u ask me one small factor is

Android is known for ROMs and customization etc... not sure on the support for it in the Sony world ; how many ppl are android sony users ngaradha poruthu

28th May 2012, 06:07 PM
Iphone (4 and above) camera is sure :thumbsup: hv noticed its even better than galaxy S camera... had got sony neo for my mom; love the panaroma in that :) guess ur model also has that.... but the camera pics aint that great

Iphone 4 ellam vila romba adhigam aache :? I'm not looking to spend more than 20K :|

yup i didnt hv any lags with neo v ... but if u ask me one small factor is

Android is known for ROMs and customization etc... not sure on the support for it in the Sony world ; how many ppl are android sony users ngaradha poruthu

I haven't thought about custom ROMs yet. Aduttha research adhudhaan. I guess I won't be having much time to do that :p

28th May 2012, 06:34 PM
20K is already a stretch Sakala. Front cam-laam use panna poradhey illa, at least for another 2 years. Battery is a concern. Aana vera endha mobile-um nalla option-a thonala.

Last but long option! If u hav someone in US, thru them u can buy the Galaxy Nexus. Its $399 and sold online only in US
( http://www.google.com/nexus/buy.html ) This price is for outright, no contract, unlocked. This can be THE BEST phone since Android 4.0, ICS is developed on this phone only, and then usually ported to other devices.

http://www.google.com/nexus/#/tech-specs
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_nexus-4219.php

As this is a reference phone, there will be very few bugs and specs wise, it beats almost everything and is Only below the Galaxy Note and the newly released Samsung Galaxy S3

28th May 2012, 06:36 PM
Looking a cheap and best Home theater system! Any valuable suggestions are appreciated. (just to movie watching /song listening experience)

My so far plan is to buy speakers-woofer from BOSS and receiver from Denon/Pioneer. But BOSS products are high in price. Thinking.

28th May 2012, 06:38 PM
Last but long option! If u hav someone in US, thru them u can buy the Galaxy Nexus. Its $399 and sold online only in US
( http://www.google.com/nexus/buy.html ) This price is for outright, no contract, unlocked. This can be THE BEST phone since Android 4.0, ICS is developed on this phone only, and then usually ported to other devices.

http://www.google.com/nexus/#/tech-specs
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_nexus-4219.php

As this is a reference phone, there will be very few bugs and specs wise, it beats almost everything and is Only below the Galaxy Note and the newly released Samsung Galaxy S3

Thanks Sakala. Will check if my friend could get me this :)

28th May 2012, 06:39 PM
Looking a cheap and best Home theater system! Any valuable suggestions are appreciated. (just to movie watching /song listening experience)

My so far plan is to buy speakers-woofer from BOSS and receiver from Denon/Pioneer. But BOSS products are high in price. Thinking.

I guess you mean BOSE. My suggestion would be STAY AWAY from BOSE. What's your ratio of movies:music and your budget?

28th May 2012, 06:40 PM
Nope LM. Haven't bought it yet. But I will buy only WD. What's with their Passbook model?. Any ideas?

You got it? If you are buying WD My Book Essentials, please be aware that it comes with something called smartware, only through which you could access the data. Try to get WD Elements (http://www.flipkart.com/wd-elements-1-tb-external-hard-disk/p/itmd7yggq2gqjp99?pid=ACCD7YGFGAMH525N&ref=8848de27-8c77-4918-8b8a-167c6456d22d).

28th May 2012, 06:45 PM
WD Passport is the name given for their portable hard disks. I have a 250 GB passport and it's quite good. The one I suggested is bigger than that and has external power supply.

28th May 2012, 08:55 PM
awesome camera (day time!)
You kidding, aint you? Or do you have the 4S? Or any camera enhancing apps?

iPhone 4 camera sucks. Its 5MP and takes horrible pictures, even during day time. My benchmark is S2 btw.

28th May 2012, 09:02 PM
Nerd, is that becos of the retina display which the 5MP camera can never match for? Oru veLai PC la antha pictures pottu paathaa nallaa irukkumaa?!? Becos, i remember Engadget telling good things about 4S cam

28th May 2012, 09:17 PM
I don't know about the 4S. 4S camera is good I heard, but don't know how does it compare with the S2/S3 or the Note.

I was talking about the 4.0

28th May 2012, 09:46 PM
Venkki, also have Onkyo systems on your radar. Bought one 18 months ago. The bass is crystal clear and very deep. I don't listen to music as much as I watch movies/TV on that though.

28th May 2012, 11:20 PM
Nerd,

Which one do you have? Onkyo is generally known for great effects for movies, not so much for music reproduction.

29th May 2012, 08:33 AM
Thanks LM and Nerd for suggestions!

LM, I remember you mentioned some time back also not to go for BOSE ! Why ?

Yes Nerd. can you provide the Home theater specifications of yours?

Thanks!

29th May 2012, 09:22 AM
LM, I remember you mentioned some time back also not to go for BOSE ! Why ?

To put it simple, not worth the money :) You will get much better speakers for the same amount of money you spend on Bose. You would be paying for their marketing, not product quality. Also, you will never find the specs (frequency range, distortion values etc) for a BOSE speaker.

wizzy
29th May 2012, 10:28 AM

Venkki, basic rule is to get a good AVR which suits your taste and then add the speakers as and when your wallet permits... go for a 2 speaker setup initially with a floorstander and then add subs+sides whenever you find something amiss. If you are more into movie watching get a Yamaha/Onkyo..for purely music alone Marantz should suffice or Denon for 50-50..speakers depends on the music you get to listen and how friendly will be your neighbors if you were to pump up the decibels :lol2:..for a BOSE sub price you could get a heavy duty 2.1 setup made locally in Chennai and stay far far away from in-box home theater setups from Onkyo/Bose/Philips.

29th May 2012, 10:58 AM
You kidding, aint you? Or do you have the 4S? Or any camera enhancing apps?

iPhone 4 camera sucks. Its 5MP and takes horrible pictures, even during day time. My benchmark is S2 btw. mm on the contrary, i hv had good pics out of IPhone.. particularly good at moving subjects. very rich color tones. ofcourse the difference between 8mp (of Galaxy S2) and 5mp Iphone would be evident the moment you zoom in on the taken pic in computer. but as a 5mp v 5mp comparison good..

29th May 2012, 11:01 AM
always been wanting to ask - wireless home theatre set up is good? am guessing the quality wont be on par - but any recommendations on those? or suthha waste aa?

lydayaxobia493
29th May 2012, 11:24 AM
DH, for u.. http://asia.cnet.com/top-5-wireless-home-theater-in-a-box-39305533.htm

U can c both gud & bad.. specification s also given...

In my point of suggestion, sony product is always best... :)

29th May 2012, 11:38 AM
always been wanting to ask - wireless home theatre set up is good? am guessing the quality wont be on par - but any recommendations on those? or suthha waste aa?

As you said, quality would be a compromise if you go for wireless setup. And mostly, it will only help you to keep the surrounds wherever you want without being worried about wires all over the place. If you could manage concealed wiring for surrounds, go for wired setup and be happy :)

29th May 2012, 11:56 AM
Naan ippadhan Android phone vaangalam-nu yosichuttu irukken, aana ippadi kuzhappureengale :confused2:
+1 :lol: and all the comparison reviews :neutral: ,Athu kuzhappathai innum athigamaakkuthu.

lydayaxobia493
29th May 2012, 01:36 PM
http://tamil.drivespark.com/four-wheelers/2012/liviu-tudoren-designs-imove-car-002561.html

ஆப்பிள் ஐ-கார்... ஸ்டீவ் ஜாப்ஸின் கனவுக்கு உயிர்கொடுத்த இத்தாலியர்! :)

29th May 2012, 06:38 PM
Venkki/LM,

I bought a HTiB (I think the model name is HTS-S3300 or something like that, 4.7/5 reviews in amazon). I live in a apartment and most apartments in the USA have filmsy walls (luckily, the one we live is a lot better) and your neighbour can clearly hear your bass. That's why I did not want to go through the pain of selecting a receiver first and then bossting it up with speakers, its so not worth it with the setup I live in. And I did not want to burn a lot of money on this, since I will anyway not get the *real* effect. I got it for <$400. It had a subwoofer/ three front, 2 rear speakers and the receiver. But if Venkki, you don't have such restrictions pick up a receiver and slowly build on it. Mine is not a *permantent* setup. If I move into a real home, I would probably buy a completely new system.

Speakers are all wired and I hate it. In the USA you are not supposed to alter the ceiling or walls in apartments. So I have wires running all over the place. But the output is worth the pain. Don't listen to music that often, but no complaints, so far.

30th May 2012, 08:56 AM
Thanks LM, Wizzy and Nerd for your suggestions.

30th May 2012, 04:43 PM
The painful road to ICS firmware upgrade on Galaxy S2 -> http://newcollograph.wordpress.com/2012/05/30/the-painful-road-to-ics-firmware-upgrade-on-galaxy-s2/

Samsung has released Android 4.0 ICS update for many phones in India. Above is an experience of a tweeter trying that for his Samsung Galaxy S2. Horrible it seems. Google is not controlling OEMs and so they add bloatware and other issues which totally spoil the fun :(

Anyways, this will be useful for anyone trying to update their phone

wizzy
1st June 2012, 11:34 AM
for peeps wanting a quality In-ear headphones..get these..a steal @ offered price

http://www.amazon.com/Brainwavz-In-Ear-Headphones-headset-Smartphones/dp/B0068Z9YUS/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

lydayaxobia493
1st June 2012, 01:36 PM
LM, intha phone ok ya ungalukku..:)

http://tamil.gizbot.com/mobile/samsung-launches-galaxy-s3-at-rs-43180-in-indian-market

சாம்சங் கேலக்ஸி எஸ்-3 ரிலீஸ்!

http://tamil.gizbot.com/files/2012/06/Galaxy-S3-launched-in-India-for-Rs-43180.jpg

சாம்சங் கேலக்ஸி எஸ்-3 ஸ்மார்ட்போன் வெற்றிகரமாக வெளியிடப்பட்டுவிட்டது. புயல் கரையை கடந்துவிட்டதா என்ற செய்தியை தெரிந்து கொள்ள மக்கள் எவ்வளவு ஆர்வமாக இருப்பார்களோ, அந்த அளவு ஆர்வமாக வாடிக்கையாளர்கள் சாம்சங் கேலக்ஸி எஸ்-3 ஸ்மார்ட்போன் இந்தியாவில் வெளியாகிவிட்டதா என்று தெரிந்து கொள்ள காத்திருந்தனர்.

இந்த காத்திருப்புக்கு நேற்று பதில் கிடைத்துள்ளது. நேற்று மதியத்திற்கு மேல் இந்த சாம்சங் கேலக்ஸி எஸ்-3 ஸ்மார்ட்போன் இந்திய மொபைல் சந்தையில் வெளியிடப்பட்டது. இது சாம்சங் வாடிக்கையாளர்களுக்கு
சந்தோஷத்தினை ஏற்படுத்தும் செய்தி தான்.

இனி இந்திய மொபைல் மார்கெட்களில் இந்த ஸ்மார்ட்போனை பெறலாம். இதில் உள்ள 4.8 இஞ்ச் சூப்பர் அமோலெட் திரை வசதியின் மூலம் 1280 X 720 பிக்ஸல் திரை துல்லியத்தினை கொடுக்கும்.

8 மெகா பிக்ஸல் கேமரா மட்டும் அல்லாமல் 1.9 மெகா பிக்ஸல் கொண்ட முகப்பு கேமராவும் இதில் பொருத்தப்பட்டுள்ளது. அனைவரும் எதிர்பார்க்கும் ஆன்ட்ராய்டு 4.0 ஐஸ் கிரீம் சான்ட்விச் ஆப்பரேட்டிங் சிஸ்டத்தில் இயங்கும்.

16 ஜிபி, 32 ஜிபி மற்றும் 64 ஜிபி என்று மூன்று மாடல்களை கொண்ட இந்த ஸ்மார்ட்போன் 2,100 எம்ஏஎச் பேட்டரி வசதியினை கொண்டது.

கேலக்ஸி எஸ்-3 ஸ்மார்ட்போன் ரூ.42,500 விலை கொண்டதாக இருக்கும் என்று தகவல்கள் கூறுகின்றன. ஆனால் இந்த ஸ்மார்ட்போன் இந்தியாவில் 43,180 விலையில் கிடைக்கும் என்று அதிகார பூர்வமான
தகவல்கள் வெளியாகி உள்ளன.

1st June 2012, 01:41 PM
Sorry Rockstar. 38K kuduthu phone vaangaradha idea illa.

1st June 2012, 04:33 PM
for peeps wanting a quality In-ear headphones..get these..a steal @ offered price

http://www.amazon.com/Brainwavz-In-Ear-Headphones-headset-Smartphones/dp/B0068Z9YUS/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

Thanks for the suggestion!

Saai
2nd June 2012, 12:56 AM
sutta pazham or sudaatha pazham?!? i mean
rooted or not rooted?
:-):-)
Rooted devices -> www.tamiloviam.com/site/?p=1803
Non rooted -> Install Opera Mini, then type in the browser addressbar -> about:config, go to last option, enable the Bitmap fonts by changing to "Yes" & Save. Don't forget to use ONLY OperaMini when you want to view tamil fonts. For typing tamil fonts, use the App Tamil Visai

Thanks a lot sakala.... Opera mini bitmap settings worked like a charm :)

4th June 2012, 09:53 PM
http://blog.pricebaba.com/love-letters-from-htc-samsung-please-take-not

HTC One X fights over Samsung Galaxy S3

4th June 2012, 11:13 PM
Sakala, one help. Opera Mini's Tamil fonts work like charm - Thanks to ur inputs. What is the procedure for display and typing of Tamil fonts in apps for android. I installed Tamil Visai and turned it on - But twitter for Android's tamil fonts are still not proper. Ur inputs pls.
Thanks in advance (office mail maadhiri aagiduchi :lol: )

5th June 2012, 09:39 PM
Sathya, u hav reached the point where android really irritates :lol: Support to view tamil fonts outside browser needs Rooting.
See this link -> www.tamiloviam.com/site/?p=1803

To put it simple, you hav to root your phone and sintall this app -> https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...KM.TF.DN&hl=en To view tamil fonts outside web browser.

6th June 2012, 11:22 AM
skv - U hv done that? are the tamil fonts viewable in fb/twitter/browser etc after that - and does it work only on ics or froyo? - any idea.. planning to try over the weekend installing on my galaxy s..

6th June 2012, 01:04 PM
My phone (Dell XCD35) has some detection problems wrt that KM.TF app. I have manually done that and Tamil fonts visible but it looks like below! That is becos Dell doesn't add Skia Library for Rendering. But mostly Samsung, sony phones has that and shud work.

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/7726/shot0000081.png

6th June 2012, 01:06 PM
I suggest you go ahead with the links i gave, If you dont understand that tamiloviam link, Then All you need to do is Root your phone in a saw you know and then install that KM.TF app. Simple :)

6th June 2012, 08:39 PM
sakala . . :clap: for regularly updating this thread..
inge discuss panra gadgets ellam vanguradhukku ippodhaikku idea & budget illai...
still reading this thread & updating my knowledge

6th June 2012, 09:53 PM
nanRi hai SKV!

6th June 2012, 10:41 PM
(office mail maadhiri aagiduchi :lol: ) aPPdi ellaam yosikkaatheenga! unless u find it too silly or very simple thing which google aandavar can help, chummaa kEttu vainga :) therinjaa solren, illennaa therinjavanga solluvaanga! Kaasaa PaNamaa!

Enakkum apdiye, yaar yaar Android use panraangannu theriya varum!

7th June 2012, 01:11 AM
sakala . . :clap: for regularly updating this thread..
inge discuss panra gadgets ellam vanguradhukku ippodhaikku idea & budget illai...
still reading this thread & updating my knowledge

Aanestu, naduvula intha thread semma kaathu vaanguchi! nalla veLai, Android vs iPhone nnu oru topic vanthuchi :lol:

Ok, if only budget is ur problem, there is a suggestion, lowest cost but decent Android phone from micromax. Just 5.5K!

http://androidos.in/2012/06/micromax-launches-a45-punk-android-phone-for-inr-5499/

This phone has decent specs, released very recently. Not even a week old!

13th June 2012, 10:55 PM
iOS 6 The Truth About Apple Mobile OS vs Android

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9tQjE9h7jkA

14th June 2012, 10:58 AM
My phone (Dell XCD35) has some detection problems wrt that KM.TF app. I have manually done that and Tamil fonts visible but it looks like below! That is becos Dell doesn't add Skia Library for Rendering. But mostly Samsung, sony phones has that and shud work.

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/7726/shot0000081.png did this and am on the same boat as u now :p some crooked tamil fonts - guessing someone wud come up with a fix soon

KlamRoyA
14th June 2012, 02:10 PM
http://tamil.gizbot.com/music/platronics-launches-new-earphone

புதிய வையர்லெஸ் இயர்போனை வழங்கும் பிலாட்ரோனிக்ஸ்

சிறந்த இயர்போன் வாங்க வேண்டும் என்றும் எதிர்பார்ப்பவர்களுக்கு ஓர் புதிய செய்தி. பிலாட்ரோனிக்ஸ் நிறுவனம் பேக்பீட் கோ என்ற புதிய இயர்போன் நேற்று வெளியிட்டுள்ளது.
இந்த இயர்போன் சிறந்த துல்லியமான ஒலியை வெளிப்படுத்தும். பொதுவாக இயர்போன் பயன்படுத்துவதே மற்றவர்களை தொந்தரவு செய்யாமல் இசையோ, மற்றவர்களுடன் பேசுவதற்கோ தான். ஆனால் சில இயர்போன்களில் இரைச்சல் அதிகமாக உள்ளது.
இது போன்ற அதிகமாக இரைச்சல் இல்லாமல், ஆனால் துல்லியமான ஒலியை இந்த பேக்பீட் கோ இயர்போன் மூலம் கேட்க முடியும். இத்தகைய இயர்போனை வழங்குகிறது பிலாட்ரோனிக்ஸ் நிறுவனம்.
வெறும் 15 கிராம் எடை கொண்ட இந்த இயர்போனை எளிதாக பயன்படுத்தலாம். இதன் மூலம் மிக துல்லியமான ஒலியை கொடுப்பதனால் இதன் விலையும் கொஞ்சம் அதிகமாக தான் உள்ளது. இந்த பேக்பீட் கோ இயர்போன் ரூ. 4,990 :frightened: விலை கொண்டதாக இருக்கும்.

14th June 2012, 04:39 PM
did this and am on the same boat as u now :p some crooked tamil fonts - guessing someone wud come up with a fix soon

Did u try this app? -> https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.KM.TF.DN&hl=en

14th June 2012, 07:07 PM
yessu.. adhula thaan pannen :) the font rendering is an issue; either the font themselves have to be changed or maybe ICS rendering wud be different - i hvnt gone to ICS yet

14th June 2012, 07:16 PM
hmm, thanks for confirming that, that KM.TF app too is not doing the right thing!

The issue is, there is something called Skia Library which need to be packaged with Android during install time itself(Kernel Building) If not, it is very tough to correct this issue! And this issue is mainly for Tamil language. This solution works for Kannada and other fonts becos they dont need this library and just installing Indic fonts is enuf!

14th June 2012, 07:36 PM
Directhit, what is ur phone model and Android version? Hope u hav rooted ur fone right?!

14th June 2012, 08:00 PM
is there a gadget available which can charge ur phone in emergency where u dont find a power outlet or anything...

14th June 2012, 08:11 PM
SS, depending on ur fone model, there are battery packs available in sites like ebay. They come with internal battery, charging electronics, and a connector/cable which varies according to the model. There r some which are generic, means, by changing the cable, u can use them to charge various phones

14th June 2012, 08:16 PM
thanks sakala... will check.

16th June 2012, 02:33 PM
Directhit, what is ur phone model and Android version? Hope u hav rooted ur fone right?! I am asking this becos i need a favor.

Can you extract the APK of that app KM.TF? Becos, for my dell phone, the play store is showing the app as incompatible, but it is installable. So I want to side load the app and test. If you have Astro File manager, try to backup the app and then you will find the apk file in /sdcard/backup/apps folder. Then i will PM my mail id, u can send the app..

16th June 2012, 04:01 PM
SKV - sorry rendu moonu naal hub pakkam varalai... mine is Galaxy S and on Gingerbread version now - yes rooted. that app is setup as a private app, so apk's are not saved to drive in that format - would find a way to take that out and let u know..

16th June 2012, 05:28 PM
Oh ok DH! Actually i tied this in a non rooted phone and got the same thing. So i thot it may be extractable in a rooted phone, but now got to know the fact thru you! I will try to find a method to pull the private app and then post it here. If its ok, you can do this favor to me :) THanks!

21st June 2012, 12:40 PM
Finally Microsoft has come up with something unique in Tablet Market

Microsoft Surface Just Made the MacBook Air and the iPad Look Obsolete
http://gizmodo.com/5919521/microsoft-surface-just-made-the-macbook-air-and-the-ipad-obsolete

24th June 2012, 10:17 AM
Oh ok DH! Actually i tied this in a non rooted phone and got the same thing. So i thot it may be extractable in a rooted phone, but now got to know the fact thru you! I will try to find a method to pull the private app and then post it here. If its ok, you can do this favor to me :) THanks!
i used titanium backup to get the app out to my laptop, do pm me ur mail id and i can send over the files, they are in compressed format, but you can use titanium to again import them back to ur phone...

25th June 2012, 06:11 PM
DH, I have sent u PM, with my mail id, yesterday itself. Hope u got it :)

25th June 2012, 09:57 PM
// files senttu // :)

26th June 2012, 01:09 AM
thanks DH, just now saw that! thanks!

KlamRoyA
26th June 2012, 10:45 AM
http://tamil.gizbot.com/news/indias-first-android-based-microwave-oven-maid

இந்தியாவின் முதல் ஆன்ட்ராய்டு மைக்ரோவேவ் ஓவன்!

Technology is improved very much !!!

26th June 2012, 10:04 PM
Has Microsoft opened the door to the Linux desktop?

http://www.zdnet.com/blog/open-source/has-microsoft-opened-the-door-to-the-linux-desktop/11282

KlamRoyA
27th June 2012, 02:53 PM
http://tamil.gizbot.com/files/2012/06/fac-comm-edit-500.jpg

Now fb provides editing option for ur comments..
No need to del & rit again..

Cool...:)

28th June 2012, 06:55 AM
Google Annan comes up with new 7" Tab

http://www.engadget.com/2012/06/27/google-makes-the-nexus-7-tablet-official/

Google makes the Nexus 7 tablet official Android 41 Jelly Bean and a $199 price

Some of the mystery has been taken out of it, but Google has officially taken the wraps off of the Nexus 7, its first reference-grade tablet. The 7-inch slate is the first and currently only device shipping with Android 4.1 Jelly Bean, and takes advantage of its optimization for smaller tablet screens, magazines and movies -- it's also the first to ship with a finished Chrome for Android. Like what was widely suspected, the tablet is built by ASUS (shades of Eee Pad MeMO ME370T, anyone?) and mostly draws our attention in terms of what we get for the money: that quad-core Tegra 3, 1.2-megapixel front camera, NFC and 1280 x 800, IPS-based LCD are traits we'd normally look for in a pricier tablet. How much pricier, you ask? Google is asking just $199 for a dainty 8GB model and $249 for a 16GB version -- that's a lot of speed for the money, especially with a $25 Google Play credit and a slew of bundled content. There's no SD card slot, however.

7th July 2012, 10:48 PM
http://www.fixya.com/

The only thing people love more than their smartphone is complaining about their beloved device. The folks at FixYa have put together a report correlating several top smartphones with the most common complaints made about said smartphones

More at -> http://allthingsd.com/20120706/if-you-have-one-of-the-latest-smartphones-heres-what-you-are-probably-griping-about/

9th July 2012, 07:21 AM
Excellent Ars Technica's 5 page review of Nexus 7

Divine intervention: Google's Nexus 7 is a fantastic $200 tablet
http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2012/07/divine-intervention-googles-nexus-7-is-a-fantastic-200-tablet/

http://cdn.arstechnica.net//wp-content/uploads/2012/07/nexus-7-holding1.jpg

10th July 2012, 06:39 PM
Might buy the Nexus 7 after seeing it in stores, not for me, for my father.

Sakala,
We had this discussion a few weeks ago remember. What does an iPhone do so easily and the same thing in Android is a mess - We have a data plan - 200MB each per month. We both have similar kind of usage (Personal email / News / FB / Twitter etc.). My usage every month is 50 megs and her usage (Android) is close to 200, sometimes even over that causing us to pay extra each month. I still have not figured out why - just downloaded a traffic monitoring app and will let you know how it goes.

But the point is, its extremely easy to turn of polling (for updates every 5 minutes or so for FB/Emails etc.) for ALL the apps on an iPhone. I just go to Settings > Notifications and turn all of them off. But on the S2, I have to open each and every app, go to the homepage of the app sometimes, then tap on the settings, tap again on a couple of buttons to turn that off and I am successful only for that particular app. I have to repeat the same cumbersome process for all the data eating apps, which is extremely annoying from the usability POV.

11th July 2012, 01:28 PM
Oh!

But the point is, its extremely easy to turn of polling (for updates every 5 minutes or so for FB/Emails etc.) for ALL the apps on an iPhone.

What is polling?!? Some kind of monitoring?!? Mail/Facebook/Twitter running in background and sending Notifications on new mail,tweet etc? I guess iPhone fails in in-app integration(which helps easy sharing) where android scores and this One-touch Turn Off/On Notification, its vice verse! Searching this shows many android users has this complaint :(

Reg the unknown Data usage in Android, Google doesn't do any screening to the Apps posted in Market. So the apps try to steal and send data, as many as possible. Install this app - LBE Security - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.lbe.security.lite&hl=en. You can set rights similar to PC, to all apps about accessing SMS, Calls, Contacts, Network, Wifi etc. But the phone shud be Rooted!

wizzy
11th July 2012, 02:41 PM
Sennai based company releasing a tab running cortex A8 with call facility..crappy screen though.
Karbonn is planning a Aug release for their 9.7" tab..if only Android had apps to run on these tabs :lol2:

http://iberry.asia/auxus_ax03g.php

11th July 2012, 03:18 PM
doesn look so bad wizzy...
goot thing... innum neraya varum...

vithagan
12th July 2012, 10:32 PM
Might buy the Nexus 7 after seeing it in stores, not for me, for my father.

Sakala,
We had this discussion a few weeks ago remember. What does an iPhone do so easily and the same thing in Android is a mess - We have a data plan - 200MB each per month. We both have similar kind of usage (Personal email / News / FB / Twitter etc.). My usage every month is 50 megs and her usage (Android) is close to 200, sometimes even over that causing us to pay extra each month. I still have not figured out why - just downloaded a traffic monitoring app and will let you know how it goes.

But the point is, its extremely easy to turn of polling (for updates every 5 minutes or so for FB/Emails etc.) for ALL the apps on an iPhone. I just go to Settings > Notifications and turn all of them off. But on the S2, I have to open each and every app, go to the homepage of the app sometimes, then tap on the settings, tap again on a couple of buttons to turn that off and I am successful only for that particular app. I have to repeat the same cumbersome process for all the data eating apps, which is extremely annoying from the usability POV.

I use Android and Got the similar issue in Data plans. I recently installed this My Data Manager (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.mobidia.android.mdm), its really helpful in tracking the data usage. You can set your Monthly cycle date and your limit for example 200 MB. It will give you how much you have used and the remaining %, its always running so just dragging from the Top will give you the summary, also it gives a split up of data consumption by Apps. Hope it helps!!

12th July 2012, 10:35 PM
any tips to decrease the battery consumption of my android phone..
i battery is very very poor and if i use net, it wont last even half a day... dont tell me to change my battery pls... technicala edhuna irundhaa sollunga...

12th July 2012, 10:52 PM
Sakala is badly missing here too.

12th July 2012, 11:34 PM
varuvaar... pudhu panneerselvamaa varuvaar...

KlamRoyA
12th July 2012, 11:39 PM
http://howto.cnet.com/8301-11310_39-57463839-285/how-to-use-your-ipad-as-an-external-monitor-over-wi-fi/

How to use your iPad as an external monitor over Wi-Fi

13th July 2012, 01:40 AM
I use Android and Got the similar issue in Data plans. I recently installed this My Data Manager (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.mobidia.android.mdm), its really helpful in tracking the data usage. You can set your Monthly cycle date and your limit for example 200 MB. It will give you how much you have used and the remaining %, its always running so just dragging from the Top will give you the summary, also it gives a split up of data consumption by Apps. Hope it helps!!

Thanks Vithagan, will let you know how it goes :-)

13th July 2012, 05:50 PM
SS,

Urs sutta pazham or sudaatha pazham? means rooted or not? Rooted phones offer some extra ways to save battery, but even they can save max 5/10%

Batt life is something even iPhone users are worried of :lol: Appo Android sollave Vendaam! Even Galaxy note which has 2500mAH is not enuf. Motorola RAZR Maxx is the one rare device with excellent batt!

That apart, apps like Juice Defender are the only ones to use! This app allows heavy customisation to save batt life

Very general suggestion is, try to charge via mains or via USB. Most of the time we are seated in stretch of 2/4 hours b4 lappy and so best thing is to connect to USB charging. Of course the irritation of removing everytime u get call/walk away from table etc... Another way is to buy a battery pack!

All these are general solution. To be specific means, Docter kitta solra maathiri, unga phone model, ennenna apps running in background, and how old it is, ithellaam sollunga :lol:

13th July 2012, 05:56 PM
rooted/unrooted.. what ya?
htc desire...apps.. fb, gmail, google maps, playstore etc.,
andha battery pack patthi konjam vilaavariya renduvarila eludhunga...

13th July 2012, 06:37 PM
Ok, sust wait panunga SS, detailed post oda varren :)

13th July 2012, 07:18 PM
Very general suggestion is, try to charge via mains or via USB. Most of the time we are seated in stretch of 2/4 hours b4 lappy and so best thing is to connect to USB charging. Of course the irritation of removing everytime u get call/walk away from table etc... Another way is to buy a battery pack! from what i've seen - USB charging weakens ur battery sort of (aerkanave weak dhangaradhu vera vishayam). so ippodhaikku i have another charger at office :|

13th July 2012, 07:22 PM
its very annoying when u r on travel...
namma 1100 ellaam orukkaa charge panna rendu naalaikku ethhana message venaa pannalaam.. theera theera pesalaam...
bluetooth charging ellaam innum varalayaa?

13th July 2012, 07:25 PM
adhu madhiri onnu thaan battery pack ngara perla irukke, sakala vevaramaa post pannuvarnu nan vittutten :noteeth: its a portable charger kinda thing - would be able to charge your phone thru 100% twice or thrice... costs around 40-50.
but surprised to see ur battery going out with jus the apps u mentioned, mine also drains quite a bit - but youtube/movies are the culprit for my side

13th July 2012, 07:35 PM
dh... i hav a prob with my battery from the begining...

13th July 2012, 08:42 PM
Battery pack irukkattum, do u guys have this app -> https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.greatbytes.fastreboot&hl=en

just touching this once clears most of the apps running in background(mostly non used ones, closed apps)

13th July 2012, 08:47 PM
SS, If ur battery is an issue from beginning itself, i guess u may replace with fresh original one. Btw, this is the batt pack

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HTC-Desire-HD-Emergency-charger-Battery-Pack-9600mah-/170646885453?pt=PDA_Accessories&hash=item27bb58d44d

It comes for around $50 as DH says, though it says it is for HTC Desire, it works with almost any phone.

HTC Sense UI is running? Better try to remove it but You need to Root ur phone
At this moment, when u hit the Task manager, how many apps are running, roughly? The less it is good. After closing any app, touch the "Fast-Reboot" App once.
Once if u charge ur phone, from that moment, u use only for calls, how long does it lasts?? Ithai calculate senji paarunga

13th July 2012, 08:55 PM
approx 11 apps running... YIM service, obex service(for syncing i guess), google messaging service, fb mediauploadservice, fbservice, fb backgrounddeterctionservice, android.process.media, mediaplaybackservice, pendingnotificationservice for google play store, googlemaps prefetcherservice, googlemaps networklocationservice, touch input...

HTC Sense UI? i hav an app called Touch Input running...
what do u mean by rooting the phone..?
Fast-reboot app... wat is that?

13th July 2012, 09:10 PM
SS,

Root means something similar to admin access in PC. This will give full power so that Users can do advanced tweaking. All the phones sold are by default not-rooted. rooting will void warranty but again there is way to un-root too. But for unknown, better to leave it.

that Fast Reboot has 2 functions.

1) sometimes, some functionality wont work. for example the keyboard will never come up. In such cases the only option is to turn off the fone and restart. It will take time, this app will do that without need to turn of fone. whenever the fone hangs, run this app(if possible)

2) Just touchng this app will clear most of the idle apps running, thus saving both battery and memory space.

Install that app, run it once(means touch it once, we cannot do anything more than that!) and see what happens. Once you touch, the app will display for a short time, how much memory is freed and the list of apps closed.

13th July 2012, 09:58 PM
ok,
will try installing the fast reboot app and let u know.

16th July 2012, 06:10 PM
HTC announces full language support for Hindi, Tamil and Marathi for its smartphones

http://www.bgr.in/manufacturers/htc/htc-announces-full-language-support-for-hindi-tamil-and-marathi-for-its-smartphones/

16th July 2012, 07:53 PM
haiyyaa good... htc la vandhuttaa suttu galaxy S layum pottudalaam :noteeth: this tamil only problem in my phone... :(

thx SKV - fast reboot mattrum sila pala task managers lam try panniten, problem fone la (mattum) illa naan use panra vidhathulayum dhaan :lol2:

16th July 2012, 07:57 PM
Anoop,

Neenga Iphone-kku maarittadha ninaichen :?

16th July 2012, 08:38 PM
Anoop,

Neenga Iphone-kku maarittadha ninaichen :? illai, waiting for iphone 5 :oops: adhu varaikkum still holding onto my galaxy S

idhula dhideernu iphone battery issues vera paravudhu :| pesama nokia 1100 kku poidalam pola

16th July 2012, 08:44 PM
iphone 5 aduttha march dhaanaam...

17th July 2012, 07:10 AM
oh oh! but inga they are coming out with 4g network as well, so might have to wait to see if iphone 5 supports it, or else have to go for galaxy S3's 4g version

17th July 2012, 10:16 AM
//mild digress

Slow net? Pages loads slowly and struck with irritants like google syndication, fbcdn.net, even after clearing the FULL History?! Try this addon

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/noscript/

Shud be available for Chrome and other browsers too. this addon stops alomst ALL scripts. Will be very irritating till u setup for each and every page. but once done, this will help load pages faster.

another addon which is kind of essential is Flash blocker. But you have to click on youtube videos everytime, it won't play automatically.

I am using both this addons

end of mild digress//

17th July 2012, 10:19 AM
Amazing Alex, next game from Rovio, maker of "Angry Birds"

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rovio.amazingalex.trial

Interesting! (may look like chinna pasanga choppu saamaan kind, for some)

17th July 2012, 10:22 AM
DH/Sahala
Kilipillai level la 4G la ennenna vasadhigal irukkum nu sollunga please.

hamid
17th July 2012, 11:21 AM
DH/Sahala
Kilipillai level la 4G la ennenna vasadhigal irukkum nu sollunga please.

+1 video call and high speed internet 3Glaye irukke? athukkum mela enna irukku :think: ?

17th July 2012, 12:52 PM
B(K) and Hamid - surukkamaa sonna high speed mattum dhaan (like fibre optic broadband)

Current HSPA (3G) network provides data transfer at a rate of 15-20 Mbit per second in terms of speed. however 4G networks are supposed to provide 100 Mbits per second even while you are on the move and a whopping 1 Gigabit/second while stationary.

Applications wise Mobile TV (and Sports/movie streaming :p), youtubeing, Video conferencing would take off big time. Retail on the move and m-commerce appadi ippadinu naraya varum and medhuvaa 5G start aagum :lol:

Read somewhere that 3G networks still use a dedicated channel for transmitting voice/data (something they refer as circuit switching) and in 4G they would use packets instead making it more efficient

hamid
17th July 2012, 12:58 PM
Oh..okay..Thanks DH for the info... when is it going to be launched? or is it already in place? if so, where / which country?

17th July 2012, 01:48 PM
As DH said, speed is the main advantage. Infact it has many advantages for Operators/backend Its very easy for servie providers to migrate from 3G to 4G, than 2G to 3G. All the cost/tech/time is less for them. In India, there is 4G only for Datacards, in some places. Yet to get in phones.

Since speed is there, and if we have powerful devise to make use of it, this will be like portable broadband. And, video calls, i guess they are yet to become famous

17th July 2012, 05:15 PM
3g by itself is much faster...
last week, i went to my friends place where he was newly shifted to...
there was no internet... we jus created a hotspot from phone and connected our apple tv to that... done... it was streaming the hd movie without even a little delay... it was superfast too...

17th July 2012, 05:40 PM
Oh..okay..Thanks DH for the info... when is it going to be launched? or is it already in place? if so, where / which country? guess plans are for 2013. inga singai la already talks are goin on abt Mobile plans. 4G vara pora karanathinaala 3G plans la free ya kuduthittirundha 12GB ya 2GB yaa mathitainga :cry2:to entice ppl to join 4G. but supporting devices ellam vandhu popular aaga wud take a lot of time..

17th July 2012, 06:58 PM
3g by itself is much faster...

Even in India, i know many guys using Airtel 2G itself in Android phones. Speed is decent.

Btw, BSNL is giving the lowest cost 3G plans in india. THats the ONLY plus of having a BSNL number. Rs.330 Topup for 1Gb and there is no expiry. Recenlty, I moved to BSNL for browsing and I topup as less as Rs.10(voice) to keep the plan active.

18th July 2012, 05:52 AM
Nandri DH/SKV

BTW, DH, M1 la Ipad 4G plans potrukkaane?

18th July 2012, 07:44 AM
BTW, DH, M1 la Ipad 4G plans potrukkaane? oh, now went to their website to check. remember reading earlier that ipad2 doesnt support 4G outside of US (coz of different frequencies used) and it wud default to 3G (HSPA+) in Singapore

edit : confirmed (http://m1.com.sg/iPad/faqs.html)- its working on 3G -

Is the new iPad (WiFi+4G) compatible with M1's LTE network?
The new iPad is not compatible with M1's LTE network, based on current available information. However, the new iPad runs on our HSPA+ network offering speeds of up to 21Mbps.

20th July 2012, 10:41 AM
Nexus 7 Reviews & usage tips for beginners

http://blogs.computerworld.com/mobile-and-wireless/20711/12-tips-using-google-nexus-7-tablet

http://www.gottabemobile.com/2012/07/19/7-reasons-to-love-the-nexus-7/

http://www.gottabemobile.com/2012/07/18/google-nexus-7-tablet-will-replace-my-ipad-for-now

http://www.kotaku.com.au/2012/07/googles-nexus-7-tablet-is-the-best-way-to-play-android-games/
http://www.minimallyminimal.com/journal/2012/7/19/the-nexus-7-review.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=deo_xG2kutQ

satissh_r
20th July 2012, 01:14 PM
Sakala and others, Any idea when they plan to launch Nexus 7 in India?

wizzy
20th July 2012, 01:42 PM
probably grey for 15256

http://shopping.indiatimes.com/computers/ipads-tablets/google-nexus-7-tablet-8gb/40105/p_B977087

use SHOPCOMP for a 10% discount

imo not worth it if you are going to use it in India..no memory expansion slot/3G/TV out and to top it Googleplay content is still out of bounds in India..in this price range you could get a Ipad 2 or wait till Karbonn/Mircromax refresh their series next month...I was about to buy this tab last week only to talk myself out of it :)

20th July 2012, 02:12 PM
remember reading earlier that ipad2 doesnt support 4G outside of US (coz of different frequencies used) and it wud default to 3G (HSPA+) in Singapore
[/B]
You mean Ifad 3?

20th July 2012, 02:21 PM
Having a problem with my Iphone. I got Kindle on it. I could download the books I purchased using Amazon.com

But the problem's when I want to load .mobi files using itunes.

Two options: (both not working)

1) Menu 'Add files to' from 'Books' tab. I have 89 books already, when I try to add 5 .mobi files to it, I'm not seeing the new books nor the book count increase. But when I do the same for .epub/.pdf, it's working fine. I'm able to sync and get those on my iphone other than /mobi formats.

2) Trying to drop files on Apps in 'Apps' tab. I see the Apps from iphone after 'Sync' but it's not available to be clicked. IOW, I'm unable to click on 'Kindle' icon even if it's on the display.

satissh_r
20th July 2012, 02:39 PM
probably grey for 15256

http://shopping.indiatimes.com/computers/ipads-tablets/google-nexus-7-tablet-8gb/40105/p_B977087

use SHOPCOMP for a 10% discount

imo not worth it if you are going to use it in India..no memory expansion slot/3G/TV out and to top it Googleplay content is still out of bounds in India..in this price range you could get a Ipad 2 or wait till Karbonn/Mircromax refresh their series next month...I was about to buy this tab last week only to talk myself out of it :)

Thanks Wizzy, I was assuming the price would be around 11 or 12K.. Might as well look for other tablets. What about Milagrow?

20th July 2012, 02:44 PM
wizzy, grey or official? Are you expecting a 3G tablet with latest quadcore and hi res display, at this price?!

I would suggest if u hav anyone living in US, buy thru them. Its worthy with all the missing features u said. Most of us use this in home/ofice and So wiFi is there. That kind of solves the storage also. I mean u can move files. And there shud be a way to put Cd card via the USB.

Anyways, you should compare this with the 7 inch ones available in india, not with iPad

samsung's older 7" tab with 800mHZ CPU is still around 15K!

wizzy
20th July 2012, 03:20 PM
@Satissh_r Google is selling the 8gb ones w/o any margin in US so expect them to jack up the price in India if and when they launch it officially here. no idea about Milagrow.
Check out Ainol Novo 7 Elf II or Veedee..I wouldn't spend more than 8k on a chinese 7" android tab..for starters they release a new product upgrade every 3 months and their product support is around 6 months..not worth the trouble.

@Skv we should if a new android 7" inch is priced @ Ipad 2 range..having used Ipad 1 extensively yam craving for more space..7" is the right size to use on travel w/o space constraints+3G to boot will be the way forward.
Google won't make any profit on 8gb ones so restricting the slots could be to sell more 16gbs..with Ipad mini 7" rumors gathering steam expect more price drop in next 2 months.

20th July 2012, 05:46 PM
Apple iPhone 3GS available for Rs. 9,999
http://gadgets.ndtv.com/mobiles/news/apple-iphone-3gs-available-for-rs-9999-245716

remba cheapaa irukkae.... :shock:

20th July 2012, 06:42 PM
Please check nexGTv app, you can watch live TV - Vijay, Raj tv's from Tamil and lot of Hindi and news channels. Works brilliantly in 2G.

wizzy
20th July 2012, 07:42 PM
Apple iPhone 3GS available for Rs. 9,999
http://gadgets.ndtv.com/mobiles/news/apple-iphone-3gs-available-for-rs-9999-245716

remba cheapaa irukkae.... :shock:

+3K for activation..still cheap than what people paid a months ago..what could be the catch :confused2:

20th July 2012, 07:45 PM
adhu theriyala...
but the phone is worth 20k easily...

catch... could be like the postpaid contract thing... like in uk...

wizzy
20th July 2012, 07:57 PM
yep...looks like 1 year contract

21st July 2012, 01:39 AM
iPad mini coming... oru Android product nallaa sale aanaa FalseFruit kku porukkaathe! Added to that they r trying alot in background (like this -> http://www.macworld.co.uk/apple-business/news/?newsid=3370881 )

wizzy, the price is surely catchy so that i would suggest to spend some extra dollars to get the missing blocks (USB to SD, 3G Dongle like Huawei 3G Pocket Wifi Modem )

7" tabs with 3G, all samsung ones are costly irrespective of where u buy. If u wish to buy refurbished ones, newegg sells Dell Streak 7 (Dual Core) with 3G for around $250. So, in anyway you look, Nexus 7 is unbeatable.

It also excels well when compared with Kindle. Thats just a color e-reader! no camera, GPS, sensors etc...

21st July 2012, 01:42 AM
yep...looks like 1 year contract

If u add all the overhead costs it will come close to 15/17K for which u can get much better Android Phones. 3GS is such a old model! Even a 8K Dell XCD35(I own this) give a run for its specs, it has exact same display size and resolution is even more :lol: even CPU speed is same. Any 600meg phone, incl 3GS wont play HD videos and also someother drawbacks. (Both fone specs compared -> http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=3623&idPhone2=2826 )

I don't know how well iOS6 will worl on that device...

wizzy
21st July 2012, 12:15 PM
@SKV I would be surprised if Nexus 7 retails for <12k in the Indian market..Apple have its wow factor working big time so don't be surprised if people queue up Aircel centers to lap up a 3 yr old Iphone :lol: things will surely hot up if Apple enters 7" segment and the Yemantha Sonnagiri M$ will miss the bus once again with their Surface ;-)