View Full Version : The Face of Music - A R Rahman News & Updates - III

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

2nd September 2010, 01:15 AM
I am shocked by the way people are sensationalising this. There was a show held on a news channel just to criticise rahman.

2nd September 2010, 01:32 AM
Just listened to the song for the first time now. Well, i am hooked. The song is catchy. Excellent usage of guitar and sitar. Much better than Waka waka. I don't know what Mr. Malhotra expected.

2nd September 2010, 02:34 AM
If they are not satisfied with the song, they should not have released it...They should have discussed with ARR regarding this...

After releasing with much fun fare and then stabbing him back saying that the song is not worth the money is truly idiotic...After all they are politicians...Right???

Exactly, it's not like ARR released this song without letting them listen to it first. Someone in charge must've approved it.

Why go to the media about it instead of taking it up with ARR personally. Idiots.

Something fishy definitely going on.

2nd September 2010, 02:52 AM
Rahman Ji will always stand tall and the rest (childish politicians) will fall...

It rhymes hehe :D

prashanth12
2nd September 2010, 03:30 AM
I have some comments.

First of all, I don't like the song, but as far as ARR's personality goes, he always tries to please his "employer". So I really doubt that ARR did not consult with the organizers every step of the way to make sure he would deliver what they wanted. I think they probably screwed up and are trying to backtrack by blaming ARR.

2nd September 2010, 07:31 AM
my humble request to arr

1)please sir, stop doing worldtour [pothum pothum ingra alavukku panniachu!

2)plesase sir,doing more tamil movies atleast 3 movies in year and 2 movies in hindi!

3)1 interntional movie!

4)please sir,stop doing movie with mani and shankar [salichi pochi]
and collabrate with new talented director like gautham menon,selvaragavan,ameer,cheran,mishskin,ect...

intha theme song panrathu ellam thukki pottu,namma oorla-ye panna pothum!ella fans-sum ithathan ethir paakarangga! :notworthy:

ithukku mela innu enna venum,2 oscar,2 grammy,5 national award,23 filmfare award,padmasri.padmabhooshan,dr.a.r.rahman innu india-kuda illa,asia-laye entha md pannatha record ithu![intha sathainaya muraiyadikka inimel yaaravathu poranthu varanum]

so,unggalukku ellam kedachu!engallukku unga isai vendum!athuvum tamil-lil! :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: 'back to tamil'

2nd September 2010, 07:38 AM
my humble request to arr

2)plesase sir,doing more tamil movies atleast 3 movies in year and 2 movies in hindi!

3)1 interntional movie!

and collabrate with new talented director like gautham menon,selvaragavan,ameer,cheran,mishskin,ect...

intha theme song panrathu ellam thukki pottu,namma oorla-ye panna pothum!ella fans-sum ithathan ethir paakarangga! :notworthy:

ithukku mela innu enna venum,2 oscar,2 grammy,5 national award,23 filmfare award,padmasri.padmabhooshan,dr.a.r.rahman innu india-kuda illa,asia-laye entha md pannatha record ithu![intha sathainaya muraiyadikka inimel yaaravathu poranthu varanum]

so,unggalukku ellam kedachu!engallukku unga isai vendum!athuvum tamil-lil! :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: 'back to tamil'neenga paadaadha kurai thaan micham http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aVsXvGQxwy8 :lol:
agree with point 1

2nd September 2010, 07:43 AM
:rotfl: very...very...sad! :lol:

2nd September 2010, 09:10 AM
anyone got the song? where can i download it?

2nd September 2010, 09:17 AM
http://soundcloud.com/arrahman/cwg-theme-song

you will find that the song is heavily underrated

2nd September 2010, 09:44 AM
my humble request to arr

thirunelveli-kke halwa-va - humility kittaye humble-aa :lol:

:lol: yes true......but

money generated in a tour>> films
time spent for concerts<<time spent on films

yes he badly needs to do a couple of small tamil movies.......kalavani, VKK ellam panna enna thappu?? also, work with anurag kashyap or dibakar banerjee type of directors in hindi.....all these subjects will take hardly 2-3 weeks for thalaivar...

3)1 interntional movie!

adhu avaru kai-la illainnu nenaikkuren...

and collabrate with new talented director like gautham menon,selvaragavan,ameer,cheran,mishskin,etc

cannot agree more with this

so,unggalukku ellam kedachu!engallukku unga isai vendum!athuvum tamil-lil! :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: 'back to tamil'

back to tamil and in a meaningful way like working with small directors and small films

2nd September 2010, 09:48 AM
errrrrr WOW! i dont see anything wrong with this song? its actually really catchy. going to be playing this the whole day i am

2nd September 2010, 09:53 AM
errrrrr WOW! i dont see anything wrong with this song? its actually really catchy. going to be playing this the whole day i am

yes

sorry to bring politics here but congress govt. is known for "sodhappals".....i had a nappaasai that they will spare "country's pride" like AR atleast when i heard he is going to compose CWG song but i was wrong - they are dirty rats.......

music man
2nd September 2010, 09:59 AM
Yes...As Anand mentioned, enough of doing title songs...ARR is an expert doing theme songs...But this is enough...Its not very easy to compose a theme... Those in music field will understand this...

The legendary Vangelis had only a few gorgeous themes like "Chariots of Fire" , "The Bounty" and "Blade Runner" to his credit and the first one garnered him an Oscar....So its not an easy task at all...

Agreed with all points of Anand Sir..except for working with Shankar...ARR can avoid Mani..But Shankar..??? Both of them are a terrific combo...

ARR can work with small time directors and can work in movies like Kalavaani...Who stopped him??

After all ARR in his initial years worked only with new comers and most of them have benefitted because of ARR..

One thing ARR should avoid is Music Tours....

Pothum da saaami...................

He must focus on his first priority..(i.e) Film music..

2nd September 2010, 10:16 AM
lets consolidate these points and compose a mail in yahoo groups - thats one place where ARR signs in sometimes......even his FB, Twitter accounts are managed by someone else-nnu dhaan kelvi

2nd September 2010, 11:22 AM
He must focus on his first priority..(i.e) Film music..-MUSIC MAN

:yes: MM sir!tamil fist and 2nd hindi :D

one more thing,experimental music konjam korachi kittu ella fans-sum rasikaramathiri janaranjagama music podanum! :D classy and mass-sum senthu kalakanum!

2nd September 2010, 11:24 AM
thirunelveli-kke halwa-va - humility kittaye humble-aa :lol: -MADDY

2nd September 2010, 12:10 PM
i would think that ARR's first priority would be taking Indian music to the world and then his music school. the best way of taking Indian music to the world is doing international projects. the best way of making funds to get his school moving forward is through concerts. less time spent and more money

2nd September 2010, 04:46 PM
I don't think he should stop working with MR or Shankar, but he definitely needs a break from them. Especially MR. I think MR should promote some new musical talent or work with another MD. When he does come back to ARR it'll be better for both. Inject freshness back into their combo. But I have a feeling ARR can't say no to a MR film.

I think the World Tour was a good idea. I definitely enjoyed it! :D :D

2nd September 2010, 04:50 PM
surely i agre 100% with ANAND...arr shud work wid younger and budding directors..and strictly shud do more tamizh movies..hindi padam odave matengudhu..except for abbass..and he shud stopworking even wid subash...semme mokkai mvies he is giving.anurag,imtiaz..ellam gr8 prospects that wil b gud..but no more anthems for this crazy govt
thought the song wasnt gr8..i enjoyed it..typical rahman :)

3rd September 2010, 02:28 AM
Everywhere I read about the fee of 5 crores that ARR received for composing the CWG theme music. Is it possible that ARR just agreed to compose the song because of this huge sum ?

3rd September 2010, 07:14 AM
Congresswoman Sheila Jackson talks about AR Rahman

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hghqiviSaw0

3rd September 2010, 12:52 PM

What does she say? Positive or negative?

3rd September 2010, 03:13 PM

namma ooru congresswoman sheila dixit illa pa - this is US congresswoman Sheila Jackson......so obviously, it was full of praise to AR 8-)

infact its another big honor for AR - US congress passes resolution acnknowledging AR :bow:

3rd September 2010, 03:20 PM

namma ooru congresswoman sheila dixit illa pa - this is US congresswoman Sheila Jackson......so obviously, it was full of praise to AR 8-)

infact its another big honor for AR - US congress passes resolution acnknowledging AR :bow:

Nijamaave naa paera seriyaa padikkaama Sheila dixit nu thaan nenachittu irunthen. :lol: Video is blocked.

3rd September 2010, 03:55 PM
http://vijaynarain.blogspot.com/2010/09/cwg-theme-my-take-on-all-bs.html

3rd September 2010, 03:57 PM

Nijamaave naa paera seriyaa padikkaama Sheila dixit nu thaan nenachittu irunthen. :lol: Video is blocked.

semma kamedi pongga! :lol:

3rd September 2010, 04:02 PM
http://vijaynarain.blogspot.cohttp://vijaynarain.blogspot.com/2010/09/cwg-theme-my-take-on-all-bs.htmlm/2010/09/cwg-theme-my-take-on-all-bs.html

Link thappa irukkunnu nenaikiren...

satissh_r
3rd September 2010, 10:31 PM
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=441084222992 - Awe-Inspiring!! :notworthy:

prashanth12
4th September 2010, 12:24 AM

Doesn't really matter. she is a politician. she must have jumped at the chance to talk praise about an oscar winner and get some votes...

4th September 2010, 02:09 AM
http://diyaiit.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/of-songs-that-gorw-with-time/

Every Rahman fan who believes in the song-growing concept of ARR should read this blog post brought to light by our great friend Ajaybaskar.

4th September 2010, 07:07 AM
From Ananda Vikatan:
"அமெரிக்காவில் 24*7 பாலிவுட் பாடல்களை ஒலிபரப்பும் புதிய FM ஸ்டேஷன் ஒன்று உதயமாகி இருக்கிறது. Radio DesiBeat என்ற இந்த ரேடியோவின் உருவாக்கத்தில் ஏ.ஆர். ரஹ்மானுக்கும் பெரிய பங்கு உண்டு."

4th September 2010, 11:23 AM
ARR on Blind pianist

Yesterday morning was one of the best that i had ever had this year. I was invited for a piano recital by students of Dr Chatterjee who teaches the piano at KMMC (he follows the Russian conservatory method ). Most of the students had started learning to play the piano from scratch just months ago and were playing like they had played it all their lives. But the highlight of the concert was a visually challenged student who started just 4 months ago. He played like a pro and was stunning....and was better than all of the others .. God Bless! A R R

http://www.facebook.com/arrahman

4th September 2010, 11:27 AM
Do we need to defend A R Rahman?

http://reticentexpressions.blogspot.com/2010/09/do-we-need-to-defend-r-rahman.html

4th September 2010, 11:37 AM
Fantabulous article! Thanks Anand Saar! Ibnlive la article ezhudhinavana seruppaala adikkaNum. I say :evil:

4th September 2010, 11:39 AM
'Rahman's become overconfident'

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/Rahmans-become-overconfident/articleshow/6484596.cms

satissh_r
4th September 2010, 11:39 AM
Anand, mela naan oru facebook link post pannirukken, athula avaroda performance video irukku paarunga :)

4th September 2010, 11:45 AM
ibnlive poll vEra:
Your take on CWG anthem

Why does the CWG anthem Swagatham not work for you?
Slow-paced

Lacks punch

Rahman is missing

IvangaLe mudivu paNNittaanga, nallaa illainu. They shud have asked whether its gud / bad / average etc.

4th September 2010, 11:58 AM
Anand, mela naan oru facebook link post pannirukken, athula avaroda performance video irukku paarunga :)

thank u sir! :D :omg: i cannot control myself!

4th September 2010, 12:05 PM

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/Rahmans-become-overconfident/articleshow/6484596.cms

U too Sukhi?

It was this man who gave u life with 'Chayya Chayya'. Hope u dont forget the past... :evil:

4th September 2010, 12:06 PM

Ungrateful jerk...He hasnt forgotten the jai ho issue i guess

4th September 2010, 12:07 PM
Ellam kaalakkodumai, Mahen. Vera enna solla? :cry:

Reminded of a tamil proverb. But cant disclose the same in an open forum... :)

4th September 2010, 12:09 PM
AJ, PM pls

4th September 2010, 12:11 PM
satya, pm me translated version pls :)

4th September 2010, 12:12 PM
AJ :lol: Top one! Mahen, PMed

4th September 2010, 12:13 PM

U too Sukhi?

It was this man who gave u life with 'Chayya Chayya'. Hope u dont forget the past... :evil:

'valatha kada marula payuthu innu solluvangga'athu ithan! :twisted:

4th September 2010, 12:14 PM
Wonder how u translated the same for Mahen.. :-D

4th September 2010, 12:15 PM
ungaLukkum anuppiyirukkEn

4th September 2010, 12:17 PM
:lol: Thanks satya..bayangara proverb

4th September 2010, 01:27 PM
[tscii:f0f0437931]SOME THALAIVAR STILL AT SOUNDARYA RAJINIKANTH¡¯S WEDDING RECEPTION

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/m/Events/wed_rece030910/785496.html

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/m/Events/wed_rece030910/785495.html

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/m/Events/wed_rece030910/785497.html

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/m/Events/wed_rece030910/785536.html

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/m/Events/wed_rece030910/785540.html

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/m/Events/wed_rece030910/785593.html[/tscii:f0f0437931]

4th September 2010, 01:37 PM
Asara vaikkum usaramum illai... Kannai koosacheyyum colourum illai.. Aanalum oru arputhamaana personality...

4th September 2010, 01:37 PM
like his shirt 8-)

4th September 2010, 01:47 PM
like his shirt 8-)

me to! :D athey mathiri oru shirt kandippa vaanggidanum seekiram! :lol:

4th September 2010, 08:28 PM
wathch thalavar and his wife arrived at rajini daughter wedding function!semma security!

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/gallery/events/23419.html

see in clip 6

4th September 2010, 09:07 PM

Ungrateful jerk...He hasnt forgotten the jai ho issue i guessreally shocking to hear this from sukhwinder... :angry2:
************...idhule enne venalum arr fans fill pannikalam...dedicated to sukhwinder

4th September 2010, 09:31 PM
Rahman's avoiding a small wound now, which can later became a major catastrophe!"

Sukhwinder has been telling this for sometime now........i suspect this has to do something with his omission in squad which flew to kodak studio to sing jai ho........i know, there were some valid reasons given for his omission but i feel he is still holding the grudge and giving all these crap interviews.....but in case, if he was geuinely hurt or intentionally blocked by someone in AR's camp then that person needs to be uprooted.........even im not too happy with some of AR's PR moves lately......

there is another twist to this tale if i can recollect - sukhwinder is a "perenial drunkard" and his wife used to complain to AR abt this and AR has had pep talks with him........so, i dunno how much sukhwinder's qualms are to be taken seriously....

4th September 2010, 09:33 PM
ARR can thank God for this occassion, as this would have clearly identified his TRUE wellwishers to him.

4th September 2010, 10:53 PM
Enrique wants to work with Rahman
Would you know of any singer in India with whom you'd ever think of cutting an album with?
Umm.... As far as an Indian singer is concerned, I'd like to work with AR Rahman. I've heard Jai Ho with Pussycat Dolls. I really liked it.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/hollywood/news-interviews/Enrique-wants-to-work-with-Rahman/articleshow/6491738.cms#ixzz0yZCgIqXC

4th September 2010, 11:01 PM
//Maddy why u mention just AR? any reason? //

Sukhwinder bhaji bas karo .. aaj thoda jaatha ho gaya.. you are just a human commenting about brahmmaa.....

4th September 2010, 11:08 PM
Pookutty chetan http://twitter.com/resulp

Heard the CWG theme again and again,can't understand what's the big fuzz about it.The sound of AR's track is a wake up call to the Youth of India.Addressing the youth is a problem?!Or U want us to always live in the past,wake up and face the world.Please don't expect mountains from us,we are all like one among you.Don't break us with too much expectations.Don't expect Sachin to score century in every match he plays!

sunnyg
5th September 2010, 12:15 AM
Guys

My two cents.

My philosophy has always been - Netri kannani thirandhalum kutram kutrame!

Firstly, I have not listened to the CWG song enough times to comment about it. On first hearing, it sounded really good.

Second, I am surprised that ARR would have said something about the song being more memorable than Waka waka. The ARR I know never makes such statements. If he did, then its probably the first time and it tells us that this is an instance of success going to his head.

We all keep talking about his humility. To me humility is also defined by actions which involve charging $$ to compose music. 5 crores is a lot of money to ask to compose 1 song. It does not reflect humility but an act by someone who thinks he is the #1 MD in India (we all know he is - there is a difference though; if he starts to have that conceit/false pride,it does not bode well -remember Ilayaraja;I hope and trust that is not the case)

The customers (Defined as the team that pays him to score music) in this case are not someone from the movie world. They are not repeat customers who will live and die by ARR. So he needed to have put extra care in making sure the song really met their expectations,knowing well that they could drag him down if things did not turn out as expected.

He does not have a movie director to inspire him with the scene and the message it is supposed to convey. I understand he has scored Vande Mataram album, which is similar to the situation here (similarity being there is no movie director to share a vision of what to expect from the song)

This event is a national pride, it gives him more visibility in the international circuit.This alone should inspire him and challenge him to compose a song that is instantly likeable, inspire athletes and the whole country.

On the whole, whether the whole situation today is politicised or not, ARR has taken a beating. The fact of the matter is, many people, including some of the CWG officials who paid him, do not seem to like the song.

What should he do (IMHO)? He can do one of two things:

1. Return the money back to the CWG folks who hired him and take the high ground. Wait for the song to catch on and be appreciated after repeated hearings.

2. Return the money back, to maintain his pride, and continue to work and put a different tune. This way, he will appear to acknowledge the unhappiness of people and come back with a fresh tune, showcasing his talent and ability, that will captivate all of us and shut the mouths of all his naysayers.

He has earned enough money and fame, keeping everyone, including us fans happy. He needs to pay back this ill-gotten $$, say goodbye to Indian movie music and focus 100% on hollywood projects.

He will make more $$ and earn more fame than in India.

5th September 2010, 12:28 AM
Whats the fuzz about Rahman telling that it will be better than waka waka...

he neednt have told it in an arrogant tone. "adha vida nallarukkum..bayapadaadheenga" ..apdingra tone ..is just usual.

Even if he is over confident or even arrogant...its none of our business...still, I dont think it anyway sugegsts that success has gone to his head...This is a guy tasted success in his first film and how?

5th September 2010, 12:40 AM
here is the speech in question
see for yourself whether there was any hint of over confidence present, and whether he really said "my song's better"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aAQsTvm_AWg

5th September 2010, 01:03 AM
The customers (Defined as the team that pays him to score music) in this case are not someone from the movie world. They are not repeat customers who will live and die by ARR. So he needed to have put extra care in making sure the song really met their expectations,knowing well that they could drag him down if things did not turn out as expected.

In music, it is difficult to define expectations. The committee members told him that they liked the song before releasing it, so how do u say it did not meet their expectations.

5th September 2010, 05:53 AM
ungaLukkum anuppiyirukkEn

curiosity is killing me. send it to me also please in both languages :D

5th September 2010, 06:18 AM
here is the speech in question
see for yourself whether there was any hint of over confidence present, and whether he really said "my song's better"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aAQsTvm_AWg

he over and over says that everyone involved is happy with the out come of the song. even mentioned the older wiser people were happy with the electric guitar used. May be the officials involved liked it but, the politicians who only listened to it after it was released didnt like it?

how has the response actually been? whats the official download rate?

As fans of ARR, i think we need to be happy with the fact that we are getting 2 awesome tunes. :)

its the media who blows up a conflict out of proportion. seems like the case here.

5th September 2010, 06:22 AM
We all keep talking about his humility. To me humility is also defined by actions which involve charging $$ to compose music. 5 crores is a lot of money to ask to compose 1 song. It does not reflect humility but an act by someone who thinks he is the #1 MD in India (we all know he is - there is a difference though; if he starts to have that conceit/false pride,it does not bode well -remember Ilayaraja;I hope and trust that is not the case)

it might be that 5 crores is a huge sum of money for a song. i know for a fact (from reliable sources) that ARR is not about the money. if he charged a huge sum for the song, its because he is involved so much in charity. most of his money goes to charity, his music school and promoting India among the world. all i can hope for is that my country has someone who can carry the flag as high as ARR does for India.

m_karthik
5th September 2010, 06:27 AM

Doesn't really matter. she is a politician. she must have jumped at the chance to talk praise about an oscar winner and get some votes...

Oscar jeyichavangala pugazhdhu pesuna.. US election la vote poduraangala???? :roll: :evil:

5th September 2010, 08:39 AM
My philosophy has always been - Netri kannani thirandhalum kutram kutrame!

romba nalladhunga

Second, I am surprised that ARR would have said something about the song being more memorable than Waka waka. The ARR I know never makes such statements. If he did, then its probably the first time and it tells us that this is an instance of success going to his head.

he just said its something beyond that - when he was repeatedly asked abt waka waka song.......really, comparing waka waka to AR's works is a shame - its just a dance number.....

let me tell you a story(told to me by a doctor when i was a kid)

a doctor in a nearby locality charges Rs.100 for every consultation.....he gets 10 patients per day and spends 4 hrs for them.....rest of 12 hrs in the day he spends for his food/family/research work......

he becomes very successful like our AR, and starts getting 30 patients per day within 1 or 2 yrs.......he is forced to spend 6 hrs for the patients per day just like our AR, because he believes in perfection and curing the patients......the time he spends for his family, food and research/personal work reduces to 10 hrs

no. of patients become 50, he makes 2 shifts of 4 hrs each - so total time for patients is 8 hrs and his personal time becomes 8.....

when no. of patients become 100, he starts scheduling appointments and inceases his fees to rs.500 per consultation to keep the no. of patients at 100 only so that he keeps the 8 hrs atleast for himself......

is doctor wrong in charging this amount???

why did they approve the song then???

He does not have a movie director to inspire him with the scene and the message it is supposed to convey.

have u heard connections - without any director or scene or message, he has belted out a stunner........pls do not talk abt a ocean like AR without facts.......

This event is a national pride, it gives him more visibility in the international circuit.

u r wrong - AR doesent get any international viewing due to this.......

What should he do (IMHO)? He can do one of two things:

1. Return the money back to the CWG folks who hired him and take the high ground. Wait for the song to catch on and be appreciated after repeated hearings.

2. Return the money back, to maintain his pride, and continue to work and put a different tune. This way, he will appear to acknowledge the unhappiness of people and come back with a fresh tune, showcasing his talent and ability, that will captivate all of us and shut the mouths of all his naysayers.

He has earned enough money and fame, keeping everyone, including us fans happy. He needs to pay back this ill-gotten $$, say goodbye to Indian movie music and focus 100% on hollywood projects. He will make more $$ and earn more fame than in India.

so its the money he earned made u feel bad......giving the money back fixes the issue :clap: .......my humble request - pls dig out

1. kalmadi, the person and his controversies
2. CWG controversies
3. media giants like Times's fight with CWG committee

and then talk abt AR who is just being "used" to pay back things at a business, political, financial conflict....

5th September 2010, 08:56 AM
Maddy, idha edhirpaarthudhaan naan nethikku Tamil Films sectionla oru post senjen. Delete senjuttaanga! Matter ennannu theriyaama advice / jibes kodukka ellaarum vandhiduvaanga, especially for ARR. My anticipation was 100% correct. adhu epdinga ARR mattum simple, humble, effective, nice, down-to-earthaavum irukkNum. yaar enna thittinaalum amaidhiyaa irukkaNum a la "Romba Nallavar". 100% ellaarayum satisfy seiyyaNum (which is not applicable to others). At the same time freeyaavum senju kodukkaNum, comedykku oru aLavE illaama pOchu!

5th September 2010, 08:57 AM
CON gress had cleverly used their media house ibnlive to create this stir so that the MOST IMPORTANT ISSUES like CWG corruption, under-preparation etc etc are swept under the carpet.

5th September 2010, 09:08 AM
Sunny,

Agreed that CWG games is the country's pride. But pls be aware the country's so called pride is already in stake, thanx to Kalmadi and co's heroics and their inability to meet the standards required for hosting an international event. A theme song is the last thing I would look into, for boosting up the lost pride.

5th September 2010, 12:43 PM
[tscii:a96e7f8ff2]Lost to the world

Has India¡¯s favourite music composer moved on to a bigger, global platform?

From Internet blogs to the denizens of Delhi¡¯s South Block, everyone is splitting hair over his compositions. But the man behind it all is ensconced in his Chennai studio, unfazed by the furore around him. Like the proverbial eye of the storm.

For A R Rahman, these are the best of times, the worst of times. His art is at its most eclectic, garnering international acclaim heralding him as one of the world¡¯s best. In his own country detractors are declaring that he has lost his touch. He is buying a five-acre plot in Los Angeles to set up his production facility with sound engineer Resul Pookutty. He is also being accused of being indifferent, aloof to his Bollywood projects, delaying them and churning out music that often stumps listeners. With every milestone in the West, Rahman seems to move a step away from home.

His fiercest critics are ironically in the industry that has given him his biggest successes ¡ª until of course Slumdog. The Hindi film fraternity has always had an uneasy relationship with Rahman, who is still god down south. Many in Bollywood find it hard to accept his artistic ways ¨C he remains in Chennai, works mostly at night, has his own creative yardsticks for choosing projects and delivers only when he is ready. Some feel his best is behind him, others feel he is constantly breaking new ground.

¡°Given his style of functioning and his inaccessibility,¡± says trade expert Amod Mehra, ¡°Bollywood always had a problem working with him.¡± Rahman has never made any excuses for the way he functions. And his studio can seem forbidding, or inspiring.

¡°There is a divine energy there,¡± says Subhash Ghai, who has shared an emotional bond with the composer since his Shikhar days. ¡°It is not your usual sharaab-kebab kind of atmosphere that you encounter in most Mumbai studios.¡± Ghajini-producer Madhu Mantena, who has worked closely with Rahman since Rangeela, too says watching the maestro in his studio is like entering a very sacred space.

CONSPIRACY THEORIES
But Rahman¡¯s inaccessibility ¨C which critics say has increased post his international-success ¨C has not helped.

¡°If you are a newbie,¡± says a producer who has met the maestro and is still waiting for his verdict on his proposal. ¡°You have to make at least 10 trips to his studio to discuss your project with him. Unlike other music composers, money is no criteria for him. There is no saying why or when he will pick one project over the other,¡± the producer adds.

¡°Now he is zipping around the world,¡± rues an ad filmmaker who is still waiting for a meeting, ¡°it is almost impossible for one to get his time and consent.¡± Rubbishing these as conspiracy theories, Mantena points out that Rahman has worked with several newcomers including Abbas Tyrewala, whose Jaane Tu... he had accepted way before Aamir Khan came into the picture.

¡°Besides, he is so dedicated to his work that each song probably goes through more changes than the script itself,¡± Mantena reveals, agreeing with other insiders like Ram Gopal Varma. ¡°No matter how pressured he is, Rahman will never let a tune pass until he is happy about it.¡±

On the flip side, that can translate into nail-biting moments for the always-in-a-tearing-hurry Bollywood producer. Thus, the notion that Rahman is delaying projects.

Mantena denies the maestro kept him waiting for months for the title track for his latest, Jhootha Hi Sahi. ¡°There are nine songs and the time taken was the same as any other album,¡± the producer says.

There were also rumours that the Jodhaa Akbar music launch was delayed because the soundtrack was not ready, though the label and the production house denied it. The Commonwealth Games theme took six months, and then it was back to the drawing board after the organising committee wanted Rahman to make changes.

¡°A single failure does not bring anyone down, not at least Rahman, who still has the mass with him,¡± says Mehra, referring to the Commonwealth controversy. ¡°However, Rahman has not been showing his best elements on his recent works,¡± he adds.

¡°You cannot judge Rahman on the basis of one song,¡± says sitar maestro Pandit Kartick Kumar, who was featured in Rahman and Bharat Bala¡¯s Jana Gana Mana project. Pandit Kumar worked with Pandit Ravi Shankar during Asiad ¡¯82, when the sitar legend composed the then-hugely popular Swagatham. ¡°People have been comparing that tune to what Rahman has created. It is not fair to compare a classic with a more contemporary track,¡± Pandit Kumar says. ¡°But, yes, maybe Rahman should not have sung the song himself. Just because his Vande Mataram clicked, does not mean he can bring the same energy to every song he lends his voice to,¡± adds Kumar.

The veteran sitar exponent puts it down to an unfortunate error of judgement by an otherwise superlative production designer and musician.

CRITICS VS LOYALISTS
Rahman¡¯s world is divided into critics and loyalists. ¡°It is every filmmaker¡¯s dream to work with Rahman,¡± says director Anthony D¡¯ Souza, who has graciously accepted all the brickbats for the mega-budget disaster called Blue. Critics flayed Blue¡¯s Chiggy Wiggy, in which Rahman worked with one of the world¡¯s biggest pop stars, Kylie Minogue. ¡°I am willing to do anything to have Rahman agree to my next,¡± D¡¯Souza maintains.

Rahman loyalists say you cannot judge a Rahman tune instantly; it¡¯s not fast food, it¡¯s gourmet cuisine. Others seriously question whether he takes any real interest in the Bollywood projects any more.

Ram Gopal Varma, who gave Rahman his first Hindi break with his 1995-hit Rangeela, wrote in his blog about the making of the soundtrack: ¡®...the compositions he came up with used to surprise me, though not always pleasantly. That is because his tunes were so original in his interpretation of the emotion of a situation that a conventional ear will take time to let it sink in.¡¯
Mantena too believes Rahman¡¯s style is so ¡®different¡¯ that it shocks you the first time. ¡°It depends a lot on what you have been used to listening to,¡± adds the producer.

¡°Rahman has always maintained he cares less about how the music is received and more about being true to the project,¡± says Mehra. ¡°And while in the past his musical instincts have served him well, something seems to be going wrong now.¡±
The evolution of Rahman from the man who made hummable, instantly likeable tunes to someone who makes stylised and challenging music that often leaves you scratching your head on first listen, has coincided with his exposure to the best in the West. Sagar Desai, composer, sound designer of Quickgun Murugan-fame, has an explanation: ¡°May be Rahman does not feel obliged to make tunes that appeal to the humble rickshawwallah anymore, but is more interested in staying true to his artistic core, no matter what the consequences.¡±

There¡¯s no denying Rahman is one of the world¡¯s busiest musicians. He has toured across continents ¨C including trying to put up a Michael Jackson-esque show in his last aborted US tour ¨C worked on some of the world¡¯s biggest projects, with the world¡¯s biggest names. He has also delivered at least 60 soundtracks (Hindi, Tamil, Telugu, you name it), with a hit or three in every one of them. But increasingly, the misses have piled up. Has Rahman ¡ª who once admitted to being bad at multitasking ¡ª spread himself too thin?

¡°When Rahman was working for Taal,¡± says Ghai, ¡°he was completely immersed in the craft of composing. But while working with him on Yuvraaj, I realised he was probably having trouble focusing with so much on his plate these days. You cannot blame him. He is an explorer who is hungry for more and wants to discover new sounds and new techniques. You have to allow him to grow. May be there are not enough challenges for him here.¡±

One of Rahman¡¯s biggest contributions to the Indian music industry is the way he has treated musicians, who often feel short-changed by most composers.

¡°What makes him stand apart from the others is his ability to understand a musician and his comfort zone,¡± says Neil Mukherjee, who has played guitar for Rahman over seven years on several projects. ¡°He will never make you feel uncomfortable.¡± And this quality of empathy, feels Mukherjee, is also tied to the maestro¡¯s strong spiritual leanings.

But in the chop and change world of Indian film music, you cannot survive on spirituality. ¡°He is extremely spiritual and sharp at the same time,¡± says Ghai. ¡°He is like Lord Krishna.¡±

Rahman¡¯s demanding the lion¡¯s share of the music publishing rights for his films has not earned him too many well-wishers in the industry. The Om Shanti Om music composer shift (from Rahman to Vishal-Shekhar) was because Rahman wanted part of the music royalty rights. ¡°Any change is frowned at,¡± he said then, ¡°I am standing up for what I think is right.¡±

Ghai also says Rahman has become tech savvy, worldly wise over the years: ¡°I have seen him update his gadgets and consoles after every six months, and 2001 onwards [post-Lagaan], I have seen him get increasingly clued into what is happening across the world. He is the best we have. Sometimes the artiste becomes much bigger than his art. You can¡¯t help it.¡±

Recent Rahman

CWG Anthem
Only for Rahmaniacs

Robot
Hit in south, crashing elsewhere

Raavan
Confusing

Blue
Mixed, mostly negative

Slumdog Millionaire
Global phenomenon, but perplexing at home

Delhi 6
Acclaimed

Jaane Tu...
Pappu made India dance

Yuvvraj
Better than the film

Ghajini
Mixed response

Jodhaa Akbar
Esoteric, classy

http://www.bangaloremirror.com/article/81/2010090420100904205519203a6b75953/Lost-to-the-world.html

[/tscii:a96e7f8ff2]

5th September 2010, 01:03 PM
A.R. Rahman Brand Ambassador For Radio DesiBeat

http://www.indiajournal.com/pages/event.php?id=12293

5th September 2010, 01:20 PM
he just said its something beyond that - when he was repeatedly asked abt waka waka song.......really, comparing waka waka to AR's works is a shame - its just a dance number.....

That is what they were expecting from ARR, I guess. Though CWG theme song is good and nice it lacks some dappanguthu standard :huh:

muzammil_fr
5th September 2010, 02:10 PM
waka waka original http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OtDBiuO_5_4
hahahha everyone praise for a copy song and critics for original song, ARR always is best in Original.

6th September 2010, 08:04 AM
thalaivar at vairamuthu son wedding

http://i.imgur.com/9HPSp.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/BKzu2.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/R5wy5.jpg

http://www.images.behindwoods.com/photo-galleries-q1-09/tamil-photo-gallery/vairamuthu-son-wedding/vairamuthu-son-wedding-87.html

http://www.images.behindwoods.com/photo-galleries-q1-09/tamil-photo-gallery/vairamuthu-son-wedding/vairamuthu-son-wedding-92.html

music man
6th September 2010, 10:50 AM
[tscii:dadd70f7fa]Here's that stupid article from IBN Live..Good comedy article...Its as stupid as saying ARR's Swagatham was a dud....

Swagatham fiasco:
Rahman's top 10 duds
ibnlive.com
Posted on Sep 03, 2010 at 11:24 | Updated Sep 03, 2010 at 11:52

The verdict is in. 'Swagatham', A R Rahman’s anthem for the Commonwealth Games, has received anything but rapturous welcome.

People who have heard it are cool, downloads are flat, music professionals are looking away – even politicians are denouncing the song.

The slow-paced number, sung by Rahman himself, has got everyone wondering whether this is what the Games deserves.

Worse, Rahman’s own claim that the song would be hotter than Shakira’s World Cup 2010 anthem 'Waka-Waka' has fallen flatter than some of his notes.

While everyone may wonder what went wrong, it’s worth remembering that Rahman, for all his apparent Midas touch with melody, has had his share of duds. Unfortunately, the tune that the nation was looking forward to has turned out to be one of them.

Some of the songs Rahman composed in his early years for Malayalam and Telugu films have remained unpopular.

Fans who have grown used to the trademark Rahman style over the years have also complained the composer is repeating himself.

Towering expectations of the man dubbed “Mozart of Madras” of repeating the legendary success of ‘Roja’ in every film may have also led to a slump in quality in some soundtracks.

“I’ve heard better from Rahman,” was the common sentiment on the streets when “Jai Ho” received international acclaim.

Here, then, are Rahman’s top 10 dud soundtracks from a musical career spanning almost 20 years – songs that have either bombed at the charts or simply faded from memory for lack of fizz:

1. 'Swagatham': A nation, eagerly awaiting its own ‘Waka Waka’ from its trusted composer, is bitterly disappointed at the outcome of the Commonwealth Games anthem. Critics call it a “cacophony” while fans find the punch missing.

2. 'Raavan': The music of Raavan is dark and appeals to specific audiences. One of the most anticipated films of 2010, Rahman brings in contemporary techno and marries it off to Punjabi folk creating tracks like ‘Thok de killi’ that lack the hummability of ‘Behne de’ or its staying power.

3. 'Fire': Rahman composed the background score for Deepa Mehta's Fire. It had the appeal of any Rahman classic but failed to leave a mark in India as the soundtrack was available only through mail order from a German company.

4. 'Vinnaithandi Varuvaaya': Rahman’s Tamil album comes after a hiatus of two years and disappointed fans say the songs lack character.

5. 'Parasuram': Rahman tries to experiment with lyrics in ‘Jack and Jill’ and the effect is disastrous. Fans trash the music of this 2003 starrer and ‘Dolna Dolna’ is the only song that leaves a mark in an album that has songs sung by Hariharan.

6. 'Jeans': After a decade, ‘Ajooba’ sang by Hariharan is the only Jeans soundtrack that sticks with audiences. Beautiful lyrics by Javed Akhtar and Hariharan’s lilting vocals failed to move traditional Rahman fans looking for more than just instrumental fusions and contemporary background score.

7. 'Mr. Romeo': This Prabhu Deva starrer had songs such as “Mona Lisa” composed by Rahman that faded with the film.

8. 'Yodha': An off beat Malyalam film that had Buddhist music in it, shifting away from the usual Rahman style.

9. 'Lovebirds': ‘No Problem’ – perhaps the only song that has outstayed the film’s shelf life – is part of a collection put together by Rahman that is mostly forgettable.

10. 'Kadhal Desam': Rahman sang some of the tracks of the 1996 Tabbu starrer. While Mustafa Mustafa went on to become a hit with several versions being replicated on the internet by budding artists, numbers such as 'Hello Doctor' never caught on.

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/swagatham-fiasco-rahmans-top-10-duds/130209-3.html?from=tn

[/tscii:dadd70f7fa]

music man
6th September 2010, 11:12 AM
[tscii:9add9d7b5e]Here's that stupid article from IBN Live..Good comedy article...Its as stupid as saying ARR's Swagatham was a dud....

Swagatham fiasco:
Rahman's top 10 duds
ibnlive.com
Posted on Sep 03, 2010 at 11:24 | Updated Sep 03, 2010 at 11:52

The verdict is in. 'Swagatham', A R Rahman’s anthem for the Commonwealth Games, has received anything but rapturous welcome.

People who have heard it are cool, downloads are flat, music professionals are looking away – even politicians are denouncing the song.

The slow-paced number, sung by Rahman himself, has got everyone wondering whether this is what the Games deserves.

Worse, Rahman’s own claim that the song would be hotter than Shakira’s World Cup 2010 anthem 'Waka-Waka' has fallen flatter than some of his notes.

While everyone may wonder what went wrong, it’s worth remembering that Rahman, for all his apparent Midas touch with melody, has had his share of duds. Unfortunately, the tune that the nation was looking forward to has turned out to be one of them.

Some of the songs Rahman composed in his early years for Malayalam and Telugu films have remained unpopular.

Fans who have grown used to the trademark Rahman style over the years have also complained the composer is repeating himself.

Towering expectations of the man dubbed “Mozart of Madras” of repeating the legendary success of ‘Roja’ in every film may have also led to a slump in quality in some soundtracks.

“I’ve heard better from Rahman,” was the common sentiment on the streets when “Jai Ho” received international acclaim.

Here, then, are Rahman’s top 10 dud soundtracks from a musical career spanning almost 20 years – songs that have either bombed at the charts or simply faded from memory for lack of fizz:

1. 'Swagatham': A nation, eagerly awaiting its own ‘Waka Waka’ from its trusted composer, is bitterly disappointed at the outcome of the Commonwealth Games anthem. Critics call it a “cacophony” while fans find the punch missing.

2. 'Raavan': The music of Raavan is dark and appeals to specific audiences. One of the most anticipated films of 2010, Rahman brings in contemporary techno and marries it off to Punjabi folk creating tracks like ‘Thok de killi’ that lack the hummability of ‘Behne de’ or its staying power.

3. 'Fire': Rahman composed the background score for Deepa Mehta's Fire. It had the appeal of any Rahman classic but failed to leave a mark in India as the soundtrack was available only through mail order from a German company.

4. 'Vinnaithandi Varuvaaya': Rahman’s Tamil album comes after a hiatus of two years and disappointed fans say the songs lack character.

5. 'Parasuram': Rahman tries to experiment with lyrics in ‘Jack and Jill’ and the effect is disastrous. Fans trash the music of this 2003 starrer and ‘Dolna Dolna’ is the only song that leaves a mark in an album that has songs sung by Hariharan.

6. 'Jeans': After a decade, ‘Ajooba’ sang by Hariharan is the only Jeans soundtrack that sticks with audiences. Beautiful lyrics by Javed Akhtar and Hariharan’s lilting vocals failed to move traditional Rahman fans looking for more than just instrumental fusions and contemporary background score.

7. 'Mr. Romeo': This Prabhu Deva starrer had songs such as “Mona Lisa” composed by Rahman that faded with the film.

8. 'Yodha': An off beat Malyalam film that had Buddhist music in it, shifting away from the usual Rahman style.

9. 'Lovebirds': ‘No Problem’ – perhaps the only song that has outstayed the film’s shelf life – is part of a collection put together by Rahman that is mostly forgettable.

10. 'Kadhal Desam': Rahman sang some of the tracks of the 1996 Tabbu starrer. While Mustafa Mustafa went on to become a hit with several versions being replicated on the internet by budding artists, numbers such as 'Hello Doctor' never caught on.

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/swagatham-fiasco-rahmans-top-10-duds/130209-3.html?from=tn

[/tscii:9add9d7b5e]

My thoughts are:

1) Swagatham is a much better track and i liked it instantly...It grew on me when i listened...ARR's singing was top notch...I dunno hindi..so cannot comment on the lyrics..

2) Raavan had great music....the melodious Kalvare, Usure Pogudhey,stunning Naan Varuven,bombastic Khodu Pottaa and joyful Khatta Khatta,Veera and Ranja Ranja...

3) VTV was a much monstrous hit in recent times..

4) Parasuram was a decent album...Had the melodious "Muppathu Nimidam (adapted from May Madham BGM), beautiful Kaadhal Vettukili, catchy Dolna Dolna, and good tracks like Chittu Kuruvi and Kadhakali(ARR's old style)

5) Jeans was a great album.

6) Mr.Romeo was a decent hit...The movie was utter flop and it carried the songs down..But it had a beautiful BGM...It had a classy Romeo Attam Pottal, melodic Mellisaye and Thannerai Kadhalikkum..

7) Yodha had great melodic songs...

8) Love Birds again was a flop but had great songs like No Problem, Malargale, Nallai Ulagam etc..

9) Kadhal Desam was a great hit.....Hello Doctor, Ennai Kaanavillaye, Thendrale, Oh Vennila, Mustafa, Kaloori Salai were all evergreen hits....

6th September 2010, 11:44 AM
MusicMan sir,

intha article film section-la pothumaana alavukku namma aalungga thuppu thuppu innu thuppi aachu! :D too late!

6th September 2010, 12:32 PM
haaaaa ha ha ha ha ha that was a funny article. MusicMan, its not even worth your time to comment on it :)

music man
6th September 2010, 01:35 PM
Ya....I was just browsing the net..Came across this article..Was furious at the stupidity of this so called article...

So decided to post here...I was unaware of this article already posted here....Time waste ah pochaa......

6th September 2010, 06:17 PM
[tscii:d78191584f]SEE YOU SOON SAYS A.R. RAHMAN
A.R. Rahman
Sep 06, 2010
Home > More news
Double Oscar winner A.R. Rahman kicked off his 'A.R. Rahman Jai Ho Concert: The Journey Home World Tour' at the Nassau Coliseum in New York on June 11, 2010. This tour would span 16 major cities across the world. The organizer’s commitment was to give a 'theatrical experience' in each show utilizing new technologies and so it was in North America in cities like New Jersey, Washington, Chicago and London. The Jai Ho crew hit a roadblock when an accident happened on the sets in Detroit during the initial prep for the show. Though no one was injured seriously, the tour was postponed to a later date.

Now, the news is out that the Jai Ho tour resumes this weekend (September 11) in North America. The dates for the shows in various cities are, Los Angeles (Sep 11th), San Francisco (Sep 12th), Vancouver (Sep 14th), Dallas (Sep 17th), Houston (Sep 18th), Boston (Sep 22nd), Newark (Sep 23rd), Detroit (Sep 25th), Toronto (Sep 26th) and Raleigh (Sep 29th), See you soon North America, Rahman says out loud.
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-news-1/sep-10-02/ar-rahman-jai-ho-06-09-10.html[/tscii:d78191584f]

6th September 2010, 08:18 PM
[tscii:b75d698797]RIP KS Ravi (Mr. Romeo & En Swasak Kaatre)

KS Ravi director of Mr. Romeo and En Swasak Kaatre has passed away. RIP.

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/59800.html

Director KS Ravi who had directed films like ¡¥Honest Raj¡¦ in 1994, ¡¥Mr. Romeo¡¦ in 1996 and ¡¥En Swasa Katre¡¦ in 1999 passed away this evening due to cardiac arrest. KS Ravi was a good friend of AR Rahman and his friend had scored music for two of his three films.

He was 45. Director KS Ravi is survived by his wife Sumathi and a daughter Aishwarya. IndiaGlitz shares the grief with the family. May his soul rest in peace.

SOURCE:ARRYG[/tscii:b75d698797]

6th September 2010, 08:24 PM
Just 45 :-( Paavam, avar kudumbaththaarukku en aazhndha anudhaabangaL.

6th September 2010, 09:07 PM
Mr.Romeo - enna oru album....KS Ravi RIP :(

7th September 2010, 05:59 AM
Mr.Romeo - enna oru album....KS Ravi RIP :(

oh yeah..my favorite song was not Romeo attal pottal though :) loved monalisa and muthu muthu mazhai...Prabbhu deva was in top form..IF not for Arr's tunes, PRabhu deva engey iruparnu teriyelai :D

But the movie :twisted: too much masala

7th September 2010, 07:10 AM
[tscii:8caa54e24d]
Seeking honor by dishonoring the musical legend

Published on Sep 6 2010

Creative pieces of works are always open to criticisms. But certain fame-mongers try grabbing public cynosures with their cheap publicities. Needless to mention, A.R. Rahman’s theme song for Commonwealth Games 2010 Khelo Jeeyo, Hey-O, Let’s Go has gained more publicity for gimcracks. To put it in right terms, the goosey feedbacks by few jugheads have got their names published in newspapers and media channels. Of course, it’s all they wanted – make unsound judgments and seek the fame.

Starting off with BJP Leader and Commonwealth Games Organizing Committee Executive Board Member V.K. Malhotra, his statements pertaining to the theme song is completely rubbish. He has uttered that theme songs completely lack soul and this wasn’t something they expected from A.R. Rahman, who churned out some of the evergreen songs like ‘Maa Tuje Salaam’.

If V.K. Malhotra wanted same-fangled song, he could have better recorded this song’s lyrics with same tune of ‘Vande Mataram’. Will that make sense? So are his reasoning abilities.

A.R. Rahman holds special mention for redefining the New Line of Indian Music at global standards. Even his earliest works delivered in 90s holds great prominence in World famous charts of Billboard. He holds great mention for accomplishing with Next-Gen music from time to time.

And about V.K. Malhotra commenting a hefty fee 0f 5.5 Crores reveals of his gaudy gesture. For Rahman, it’s not about money, but a great passion for the work he does. If money was interesting him, he wouldn’t have refused more than dozen of Hollywood and international offers in the past one year that could have doubtlessly spanned him bigger sum.

Rahman’s songs cannot be judged at the first time. It’s because of his detailing factors he adds to his each number. Say for instance, the CWG 2010 theme song has such innumerable panoramas emblazoning the simple lyrics. It starts off on metal guitars with Santoor and Sitar played on fastest notes. Studded with a wonderful synchronized chorus, the song ends on a different octave with fiestas of Bhangra.

Rahman has reached a level of far behind criticisms and such amateurish claims wouldn’t affect him.

Playback Singer Ila Arun has openly admitted – it’s obvious that Rahman’s showpieces are bounded to mixed responses in the initial stages, but rightly reaches its epitome of success as the time grows in. It was all illustrious with his ‘Jai Ho’ song in ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ that didn’t gain publicity during the time of music release, but later stunned the whole world. Even a year after ‘Oscar’ and ‘Grammy’ triumphs, the ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ stands out at Top 10, in almost all the countries.

Thanks to Bollywood music director Pritham, who make a distinct statement saying, “It’s not just about the song, Rahman’s Super Brand will turn entire globe not alone towards the song, but on the complete event of CWG 2010 as well.

If music director Aadesh Shrivastava cannot understand the lyrics and music of CWG 2010, it’s just revealing that he hasn’t been wizardry in musical phase. In his statement, he has commented insisting A.R. Rahman to score 5 different versions of the same song. This poor musician has traveled a long journey of more than a decade in Bollywood and hasn’t been able to captivate the music lovers with his tunes. Starting from ‘KHATRA’ in 1991 till his recent release, none of the songs have been acclaimed at least as an average fare.

What is the point in comparing this song with FIFA Songs of Shakira’s ‘Waka Waka’ and Ricky Martin’s ‘The Cup of Life’. Well for those, who commented on music and lyrics, would they be able to easily grasp the lyrics of ‘Waka Waka’ and ‘Cup of Life’.

Music breaks the barrier of language and nativity and it’s an universal feel. Or else our own Tamil albums wouldn’t be holding such important places across the World.

If at all, Shakira and Ricky Martin were the best ones to compose theme song for ‘CWG 2010 Theme Song’, Mr. V.K. Malhotra could have signed them for same-patterned song.

Mark our words! A.R. Rahman’s ‘CWG 2010 Theme Song’ will undoubtedly carry its success across the globe and no such unwanted buzzes would trivialize its prodigiously surpassing fame.

http://www.cinefundas.com/2010/09/06/seeking-honor-by-dishonoring-the-musical-legend

[/tscii:8caa54e24d]

7th September 2010, 07:11 AM
ARR on Mani's recent honour

To my mentor, my brother and the man who taught me to be different... Mani, three cheers to you for getting this well deserved award at the Venice Film Festival... May God bless you with more...

www.facebook.com/arrahman

7th September 2010, 10:55 AM

To my mentor, my brother and the man who taught me to be different... Mani, three cheers to you for getting this well deserved award at the Venice Film Festival... May God bless you with more...

Thats poetic... :)

7th September 2010, 01:02 PM
[tscii:412805ecba]Ustad Autoxerox¡¯s Aria

Anthems are devised to make your spirit soar. When they crashland, they can also leave you sore. For some time now, A.R. Rahman has been on song. This time the song is on him. His anthem ¡®Jiyo, Utho, Badho, Jeeto¡¯ takes all of four minutes and 16 seconds to expose you to the perils of skydiving without a parachute. But then, this is the anthem for the 2010 Commonwealth Games and, like many other things connected with this year¡¯s CWG, it happens to be just another kind of cruel sport.

The idea of an anthem for sporting events is, it could be argued, to foreground a consistent theme as a focal point of the event and to unify the audiences with the adhesive of a familiar, infectious rhythm. In the present context of a CWG mired in debilitating controversy and hint of sleaze, a rousing anthem could have been the talisman to unlock some positive energy.

But the present offering of India¡¯s own Mozart, which was launched with much fanfare on August 23, has left even the Group of Ministers unhappy. That must be the ultimate ignominy for a composer¡ªthat aesthetic cynicism of such crass proportions can even affect the GoM, although one suspects it was not so much the notations on the music sheet but those on the bill that did the damage.

Even as Oscar hero Rahman was concatenating, at super-speed, his CWG jingle that jangles with some of the most pedestrian verses in recent times, he also fed in the punchy figure of some Rs 1.37 crore per minute of the song. Total: Rs 5.50 crore. In 2006, for the inaugural functions of the Frankfurt Book Fair, at which India was the ¡®Guest of Honour Country¡¯, a proposal by music composer Ilaiyaraja to present a Carnatic raga using a 120-piece Western philharmonic orchestra was summarily rejected because of the price tag of Rs 95 lakh. But times have changed.

The funny thing about Rahman¡¯s Swagatham number this time is that, after its recitative first part, with lines as stiff and strangulating as ¡®Junoon se, kanoon se, maidaan maar lo¡¯, the second performative segment breaks into a beat that sounds like a rip-off of his own composition ¡®Ramta Jogi¡¯ in the film Taal. Obviously, Rahman is now famous enough to plagiarise himself and even charge us for it. But the obvious question that needs to be asked is: why did he even try? Why did he not simply offer back the same ¡®Ramta Jogi¡¯ as the anthem for the CWG? The song has all the right foot-tapping ingredients, including oblique references to playful charlatans that would have blended well with the CWG.

Of course, Rahman¡¯s anthem cannot be disconnected with the overall plan for inaugural and closing ceremonies of the CWG. The fancy committee for the inaugural events has for a few months now been grappling with the logistics of how to present India in this highly televised event. It is a committee in search of a spectacle. The spectacle of a fake, make-believe India populated with Bollywood dancers and swirling silks, crooning divas and simpering starlets. The last time around, they were thinking of making a sound-and-light show using the sacred ¡®Om¡¯.

It is an India that has no specific location on this planet and is far removed from not just the lives, but even the fantasies, of its own people. This is an India that is the pet project of its numerous, prospering robber barons, who are enabled, time and again, to whisk away some more resources, all in the name of an abstract nation.

That the vulgar Rs 380 crore budget for the opening ceremonies could not set aside a few crores for a group of poets in different languages to write an appropriate song for the opening anthem tells its own story of gross disinterest even in the context of the indefensible. Instead, we have some utterly filmy gibberish like:

Uthi re ab iraadon mein tapan,
Chali re gori, chali ban tthan.

The lines, as much as the composition, are stolen from some other context. So, we believe, is the CWG.

http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?266982[/tscii:412805ecba]

AudazJay
7th September 2010, 01:04 PM

Mani Ratnam presented with Jaeger - Le'Coultre Glory To The Film Maker Award in Venice http://twitpic.com/2m20bv

Vikram, Mani Ratnam and Suhasini at Raavanan Photocall - 67th Venice Film Festival http://twitpic.com/2m228b

Vikram, Mani Ratnam and Suhasini at Raavanan Premiere - 67th Venice Film Festival http://twitpic.com/2m22v5

7th September 2010, 01:18 PM
thank u AJ! :D

7th September 2010, 01:29 PM
Mani Ratnam gets Glory Award at Venice

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/59417.html

AudazJay
7th September 2010, 02:11 PM
[tscii:e8ea7b6c32]Vishal Dadlani's latest twitter update:-

Today's guest on srgmp is the man himself, Mr. AR Rahman. Oddly, I've never met him before! Can't wait!

about 4 hours ago via Twitter for BlackBerry®

http://twitpic.com/2m2hqe - Finally met AR Rahman! He is one of my greatest inspirations!
22 minutes ago via Twitter for BlackBerry®

:yes: Guys don't miss out on ARR's episode in Saregamapa. I'm sure it will rock! ARR looks fabulous in the pic above![/tscii:e8ea7b6c32]

7th September 2010, 02:17 PM
who is vizhaldadlani???what program!!!

satissh_r
7th September 2010, 02:23 PM
who is vizhaldadlani???what program!!!

Vishal Dadlani is a lyricist, vocalist, song writer and co composer of the duo Vishal-Shekar :) Famous movies of the duo include Dostana, Bachna Ae Haseeno, Om Shanthi Om..

7th September 2010, 02:26 PM
thank u satissh! :D

AudazJay
7th September 2010, 02:28 PM
Anand, this is regarding a programme called Saregamapa- it's a singing competition. They show this every weekend in Zee TV (Astro Channel 108.) Kandipa parungga. ARR will come in one of the episodes.

7th September 2010, 02:30 PM
http://twitter.com/V1SH4L/status/23219854935

7th September 2010, 02:30 PM
Anand, this is regarding a programme called Saregamapa- it's a singing competition. They show this every weekend in Zee TV (Astro Channel 108.) Kandipa parungga. ARR will come in one of the episodes.

thank u bro! :D

7th September 2010, 06:55 PM
A.R. Rahman is human, not God: Vishal Dadlani

Bollywood music composer Vishal Dadlani is defending Oscar winner A.R. Rahman against all negative comments for the latter's composition "Jiyo Utho Bado Jeeto", which is the official song for the upcoming Commonwealth Games.

"The only infallible one is God, who sends music to us all. Everyone else is human, including Rahman. We're all allowed off days. Be nice. All you doubters, and haters, please understand that Rahman has done more for music and India's international image than almost anyone else," Dadlani of music director duo Vishal-Shekhar posted on Twitter.

Rahman, who is said to have charged over Rs.5 crore to compose the song, is receiving flak for lack of any catchy phrase a la 'Waka Waka'.

Nevertheless, a lot of his fans are also supporting him.

Dadlani is looking forward to meeting Rahman on the sets of Zee TV's "Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Singing Superstar".

"Today's guest on 'Sa Re Ga Ma Pa...' is the man himself, Mr. A.R. Rahman. Oddly, I've never met him before! Can't wait," he posted.

While Dadlani is one of the judges on the show, Rahman will be a special guest in one of the upcoming episodes.

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/ar-rahman-is-human-not-god-vishal-dadlani/130459-45-75.html?from=trhs

7th September 2010, 06:56 PM
Mani honoured at Venice Film Festival [VIDEO]

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/mani-honoured-at-venice-film-festival/130442-8-66.html

7th September 2010, 06:59 PM
http://twitpic.com/2m30vn

7th September 2010, 07:04 PM
Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker Award 2010

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U20NsApKrqg

THALAIVA VAZHGA!!!!! :clap: :clap: :notworthy: :notworthy: :happydance: :cheer:

sunnyg
7th September 2010, 09:19 PM
Maddy

Thanks for patiently responding to my thoughts on the CWG controversy.

I hope all our fellow fans understand where I am coming from. I do not want ARR to be besmirched and tainted by this controversy. It is indeed sad if people are airing their views just to get themselves some publicity - it is downright cheap.

I understand the pricing dynamics. My point is that in this current situation, ARR can get out of this project and distance himself by returning the amount.

Remember, Mani Ratnam and Rajini have set a precedent when their movies failed. They paid money back to the distributors.

I personally think ARR's mind is in Hollywood. As Anand mentioned, he has achieved name,fame and awards in India. It is time to move on and achieve glory in hollywood.

At this point, ARR needs a break from Tamil, Hindi and other Indian movies.

My honest observation - other than Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya, his other compositions have been mediocre by his lofty standards post Oscar awards.

SunnyG

8th September 2010, 07:03 AM
Anu Malik defends ARR in the NDTV show yesterday night

http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/the-buck-stops-here/no-rah-rahs-for-rahman/162276

8th September 2010, 07:11 AM
http://oh-my-india.posterous.com/how-to-convert-criticism-into-a-racial-slight

8th September 2010, 09:55 PM
[tscii:5a70eb1da6]Lost to the world

Has India’s favourite music composer moved on to a bigger, global platform?

http://www.bangaloremirror.com/index.aspx?Page=article&sectname=Sunday%20Read%20-%20Special&sectid=81&contentid=2010090420100904205519203a6b75953[/tscii:5a70eb1da6]

AudazJay
9th September 2010, 09:18 AM
I understand the pricing dynamics. My point is that in this current situation, ARR can get out of this project and distance himself by returning the amount.

Sunny, just out of curiosity, how does giving the money back would help in this case? Do you think people who have voiced their criticisms will start praising ARR now? I don't think so.

Remember, Mani Ratnam and Rajini have set a precedent when their movies failed. They paid money back to the distributors.

The situation you stated above is totally different from the situation of CWG. When movies fail, distributors have to face loss- the higher they pay for the movie, the bigger their losses would be if the films failed at the box-office. Thus Mani and Rajini's actions are nothing but a conscious move to ease the losses of the distributors.

Now tell me, who are the people who are facing losses with the so-called "failure" of the theme number? Government? Public? Opposition? No one, in fact. So what is the need to return the money now? The bigger question is, who is going to pocket the money once ARR returns them? Public are not going to benefit from this, I'm sure.

IMHO, theme song failing to impress the larger public is not a loss. It's either you like it or you don't. People went to South Africa to watch the FIFA, not to hear Shakira crooning Waka Waka. Waka Waka being famous is a bonus, if anything. Likewise no Britain, African, Chinese etc is going to come to the CWG hoping that they'll hear another Jai Ho or Waka Waka from ARR. They just want to watch the games and support their participants.

You want to know what is the bigger loss here? Top players from other countries are backing out from participating in the games. Is it due to ARR's theme song? No. It's because they hear rumors that the venues are unsafe for the games. As we know, bigger players guarantee bigger turnout, and bigger turnout guarantee higher money flow into the country. So, yes, lack of top players participating in the games is a big loss. People criticizing the theme doesn't even come close to the loss the country is about to face.

9th September 2010, 03:26 PM
Is ARR working too much in these times ? He's releasing 4 movies at the same time + CWG theme + Jai Ho concerts.

127 Hours, Puli, Endhiran, JHS -> one movie in each language releasing at the same time !

in addition to that he is facing the biggest critism in his whole career with the CWG theme.

He has also to rehearse for his concerts and go to America for that.

9th September 2010, 07:02 PM
Is ARR working too much in these times ? He's releasing 4 movies at the same time + CWG theme + Jai Ho concerts.

kavalai'ya vidungga!innum 2 varusathukku tamil entha album-mum varathu!hindi-la maybe 'rockstar' mattum than innu nenakiren! :lol:

9th September 2010, 07:16 PM
[tscii:af6bcc835e]Rahman's gift to Ashaji

In an industry where relationships hardly ever stand the test of time, double Oscar-winning composer AR Rahman certainly wants to be an exception.

The musician, who is being criticised nationally for his composition of the Commonwealth Games track written by lyricist Mehboob, made a hush-hush trip to Mumbai just for a day before boarding the flight to the US for the American leg of his world tour. BT has learned that while in the city, Rahman shot for a reality show but his main purpose was to meet one of his icons ¡ª Asha Bhosle, who turned 77 on Wednesday.

Rahman handpicked 77 roses for the legendary singer to celebrate her birthday but unfortunately both of them could not match their timings and he had to courier the bouquet of roses to Asha's residence on Peddar Road. One of Rahman's closest aides said, "It is a mark of respect from Rahman's side to Asha, a singer he has idolised for many years now. He somehow wanted to make the day special for her. When he realised that he couldn't meet her, Rahman made it a point that the roses reached Asha on her birthday. He also took a confirmation that the roses had reached her residence from the courier company before boarding the flight. Rahman wanted to keep the visit secret as he did not want unnecessary media attention on him at a time when he is being criticised by almost everyone."

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/Rahmans-gift-to-Ashaji/articleshow/6524662.cms[/tscii:af6bcc835e]

10th September 2010, 11:25 AM
[tscii:4925847a50]2010 ¨C A Promising Year for A.R. Rahman

Maybe, the previous year was his time to get acclaimed as one of the World¡¯s most acclaimed musician. His grand success of Academy awards, Grammy, Golden Globe, BAFTA and many more awards kept him high on spirits. And this year, it¡¯s been a real treat for his fans witnessing his heavy downpour of albums.

It all started with Gowtham Menon¡¯s ¡®Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya¡¯ and its Telugu version ¡®Ye Maaya Chesavo¡¯. Both the versions topped the charts and ennobled A.R. Rahman for his earnest attempts of taking Tamil music to the next level. Especially the song ¡®Hosanna¡¯ still remains over the top. Apparently, his next trilingual album ¨C ¡®Raavan¡¯, ¡®Raavanan¡¯ and ¡®Villain¡¯ and these albums grossed with record-breaking sales in Indian music market.

His direct Telugu album ¡®Komaram Puli¡¯ directed by SJ Suryah is already making good business at audio markets. After a long sabbatical gap, A.R. Rahman had composed music for a Telugu album and all the songs including ¡®Power Star¡¯, ¡®Amma Thale¡¯ have become the favorite numbers even amongst non-Telugu speaking communities.

Doubtlessly, his recent release ¡®Enthiran¡¯ has gone higher over the global charts breaking the records. It¡¯s worth mentioning that ¡®Enthiran¡¯ is the first Tamil album to have taken a position of No. 1 at World level. The other versions in Hindi and Telugu titled as ¡®Robot¡¯ have already become the chartbusters. The Hindi music channels have been continuously airing the songs of ¡®Robot¡¯¡*.

Apart from these albums, the academy award winner will score music for Gowtham Menon¡¯s Hind remake of ¡®Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya¡¯, which will have couple of additional tunes. He is now associated with 3 international projects ¡®Nair San¡¯, ¡®Desire¡¯, ¡®Paani¡¯ and ¡®Danny Boyles¡¯ Hollywood movie ¡®127 Hours¡¯. Not to forget, his next Hindi album ¡®Jhoota Hi Sahi¡¯ is fast on the way to audio tracks and his previous combination with Abbas Tyrewala in ¡®Jaane Ya Tu Jaane Na¡¯ was a tremendous success.

Possibly, ¡®127 Hours¡¯ should be yet another key for our Madras Mozart to win yet another academy honor.

http://www.cinefundas.com/2010/09/09/2010-%E2%80%93-a-promising-year-for-a-r-rahman[/tscii:4925847a50]

10th September 2010, 08:25 PM
ARR on 9th Sept

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=5581112&id=63441126719&ref=fbx_album

10th September 2010, 08:32 PM
When AR Rahman kickstarted this desi's career‎

http://movies.rediff.com/report/2010/sep/08/how-rahman-kickstarted-this-desis-career.htm

...I remember this bloke from Saregamapa 2008, he made it quite far aswell :)

Check out his rendition of tere bina ----> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XqWCm40cr6A

10th September 2010, 08:34 PM
[tscii:c679b3a11f]Is AR Rahman losing interest in Tamil?

CHENNAI: Even after 19 years in the film industry, AR Rahman’s association with ace filmmakers Manirathnam and Shankar has never disappointed his fans. In fact, his recent album ‘Enthiran’ topped the global charts.

The year 2010 has been the most promising year for him with nearly a dozen albums of his hitting the stands, starting off with ‘Vinnaithandi Varuvaaya’. His new Hindi albums ‘Jhoota Hi Sahee’ and Imtiaz Ali’s ‘Rockstar’ will be released by next month. Then there is his Hollywood film, ‘127 Hours’ that brings back the Oscar-winning ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ team together.

There are however some who are upset that he wouldn’t be scoring music for Shankar’s remake of ‘3 Idiots’ due to his prior commitments of international projects and global tours.

Rumours now claim that Manirathnam will be signing Yuvan Shankar Raja up to score music for his next film tentatively titled ‘Pookadai’ :shock:[/tscii:c679b3a11f]

http://expressbuzz.com/entertainment/news/is-ar-rahman-losing-interest-in-tamil/205649.html

10th September 2010, 08:43 PM
[tscii:dfc0ff06c9]Is A.R. Rahman losing his way in Kollywood?

September 9, 2010: It’s been 19 years of a stupendous journey and yet A.R. Rahman keeps offering the fresh and stunning music. The Madras Mozart’s association with ace filmmakers Manirathnam and Shankar has never disappointed his fans. In fact, his recent album Enthiran topped the global charts and even the Hindi version Robot is reportedly doing well at audio market.

The year 2010 has been the most promising year for his fans as nearly dozen of his albums have been released. Starting off with Vinnaithandi Varuvaaya, he continued striking gold with Ye Maaya Chesavo, Raavan, Raavanan, Villain, Komaram Puli, Enthiran, Robot (Telugu and Hindi versions) that have been prodigiously successful.

His next Hindi albums Jhoota Hi Sahee and Imtiaz Ali’s Rockstar (the complete film is based on music) will be released by next month. Apart from these films, his multilingual 3D project Sultan – The Warrior starring Superstar Rajnikanth will also release. Not to forget his Hollywood movie 127 Hours that brings back Oscar winning ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ team together.

However, Tamil buffs are slightly disappointed as he wouldn’t be scoring music for Shankar’s remake of 3 Idiots due to his prior commitments of International projects and global tour. There have been rumors that Manirathnam will be signing Yuvan Shankar Raja to score music for his next film tentatively titled as Pookadai.

http://www.realbollywood.com/news/2010/09/ar-rahman-losing-kollywood.html[/tscii:dfc0ff06c9]

10th September 2010, 09:00 PM
I doubt whether thalaivar will say no to Mani Sir. Paakkalaam

music man
12th September 2010, 09:25 AM
CWG NEW THEME SONG??????????????????

http://in.news.yahoo.com/248/20100910/1582/tnl-delhi-govt-has-a-new-theme-song-for.html

music man
12th September 2010, 09:26 AM
Its definitely a conspiracy

12th September 2010, 09:46 AM
[tscii:b37b26eb0c]Rahman's CWG song courts fresh controversy

New Delhi: AR Rahman's music composition for the Commonwealth Games seems to be generating unending controversies. Some well-known names in Indian classical dance who were supposed to perform on his tune have simply refused to do so.

The initial plan was that Rahman's composition would have been used as an introduction to an 11-minute sequence showcasing the best of Indian classical dance.

Six of Indian dance's best artistes, Pandit Birju Maharaj, Saroj Vaidhyanathan, Raja Reddy, Sonal Mansingh, Guru Singhajit and Bharati Shivaji were supposed to perform with almost 500 dancers. But now they have decided to compose their own tune.

Raja Reddy said, "Our message was different, so we chose to compose our own song."

Rahman¡¯s Commonwealth Games theme song have already courted significant controversy with many having questioned whether this was Rahman's own hard work.

For a man who is often credited with redefining the musical beats on the big screen, this was a controversy he could certainly have done without. But with each day as more and more CWG anthems hit the scenes, comparisons are bound to be drawn with Rahman's theme song.

Between the opening and closing ceremonies, some 10 thousand artistes are supposed to be performing at the CWG. A total of 300 crores is being spent on the ceremony and unfortunately along with others even the CWG music also seems to be caught in controversy.

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/rahmans-cwg-song-courts-fresh-controversy/130780-3.html[/tscii:b37b26eb0c]

12th September 2010, 09:50 AM
Its definitely a conspiracy

:yes: 100% true!

12th September 2010, 07:48 PM
Shekhar Kapur (@shekharkapur)
9/12/10 1:05 AM
It's impossible to compose a song for a govt committee, don't blame rahman till u give him the creative freedom

12th September 2010, 09:16 PM
Taj Noor Interview [ARR's assistant]

WORKING EXPIRENCE WITH RAHMAN

http://www.videos.behindwoods.com/videos-q1-09/director-interview/tajnoor.html

12th September 2010, 10:00 PM
ARR saab,

Pls go abroad and never come back. India is definitely not the place for you. For the first time in my life, I feel ashamed for being an Indian. I really cant stand this.

13th September 2010, 03:38 AM
AR Rahman refuses to recompose CWG 2010 theme song, six Indian legends refuses to perform -> http://ic-technews.com/entertainment/1051-ar-rahman-refuses-to-recompose-cwg-2010-theme-song-six-indian-legends-refuses-to-perform

Thank you, Rahman Ji, for not letting the so called politicians and useless media walk over you. What a shame that they don't recognize your sincere efforts.

:curse: :banghead: :cry2:

13th September 2010, 06:13 AM
-----

13th September 2010, 06:15 AM
Kalmadi backs Rahman, says theme song will slowly catch on

New Delhi, Sep 12 (IANS) Commonwealth Games Organising Committee chairman Suresh Kalmadi has reposed faith in Oscar winning composer A.R Rahman’s theme song for the Games that has been widely panned for being uninspiring.
Kalmadi, however, neither confirmed nor denied reports that Rahman will further tweak the song to make it more lively.

“Rahman is a great artist and we are aware of his credentials. He has won many international awards. I am very happy with the song.”

“He is going to Mumbai to film the song and once the video is out and it is played on TV, I am sure it will fast catch on with the audiences. They are going to cheer the song,” Kalmadi said.Rahman, who was paid Rs.5 crore for the CWG theme song, took six months to compose ‘Oh Yaaro, Ye India Bula Liya’

http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/sports/kalmadi-backs-rahman-says-theme-song-will-slowly-catch-on_100427470.html[/tscii:fb5a3696ad][/quote]

13th September 2010, 07:27 AM
intha buthi kalmani-ikku mothallaye iruntha ivalo pirachanai varuma,arr pera naradichu,media-va naradichu!

enna mathiri manusan ivan! :banghead: :banghead: :hammer:

music man
13th September 2010, 09:51 AM
intha buthi kalmani-ikku mothallaye iruntha ivalo pirachanai varuma,arr pera naradichu,media-va naradichu!

enna mathiri manusan ivan! :banghead: :banghead: :hammer:

No Anand Sir, Kalmadi is the only person who is in support of the song from the beginning..V.K.Malhotra and the Sports Minister are the ones who played spoilsport..

I thought ARR would succumb to pressure and compose another song...But man...he has got the guts to refuse to recompose...

Meanwhile the song is very good....But IMO, I think those politicians think, Bhangra and other Northern music is Indian music and when they see electric guitars and sitar strums...,they are perplexed...

I read somewhere they had compared this song to Maa Tuje Salaam...Both the songs cannot and should not be compared as both were composed for different situations...And I won't agree Maa Tuje Salaam is a fast number..Its also medium tempo song like CWG Theme song..

Its a joke to read that some classical dance gurus had refused to choreograph for this ARR song and they had decided to compose their own song...Lets see their versions also...

Our Indian dance forms can be so easily incorporated into their ARR's CWG Song...The song is melodic and pulsating...

Kavukkunom nu munaadiye mudivu panniyaachu...They are just executing it...

music man
13th September 2010, 10:21 AM
A.R.Rahman tweaks the CWG Theme Song

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/events-tournaments/commonwealth-games/top-stories/Rahman-peps-up-dull-Games-song/articleshow/6538627.cms

jpkash
13th September 2010, 11:26 AM
Danny Boyle's "127 hours" movie review:

(Rahman's closing theme works wonders here; so does a glimpse, just before the closing credits, of the real, smiling Aron Ralston and his wife.)

Read more: http://www.time.com/time/arts/article/0,8599,2017703,00.html

13th September 2010, 01:18 PM
Live review: A.R. Rahman at the Forum

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/music_blog/2010/09/live-review-ar-rahman-at-the-forum.html

sunnyg
13th September 2010, 08:59 PM
Friends,

I listened to the CWG song 3-4 times now, on youtube and personally it ROCKS!

I do not know what the issue is here? Why is this song not catching on?

I have typically been very critical of ARR's songs, a tad harsh sometimes. I still think some of his songs in Raavan, Enthiran lack soul.

However, I have loved this CWG song right from the first second. It has rythym, catchiness, indianness and is inspiring.

I think people need to listen to this song in a good system. The audio quality of some of the youtube recordings was pathetic.

Sukhwinder Singh is jealous that ARR has sung this song himself. ARR has sung this to perfection.

It does not resemble Ramta Jogi song from Taal in any way - I am trying to address some of the critics here.

There is no need for ARR to redo this song.

As I have always maintained, he has conquered Indian music, North, South, East and West.

It is time he embarks on something bigger and focuses full time on Hollywood. He needs to pursue what he is completely interested in. As a Fan, I will follow and listen to international music from ARR.

Long live our ARR

Sunny

14th September 2010, 03:19 PM
Shekhar kapur namma level-kku erangi support panraaru AR-a :lol: .......proud that we are getting support from him :bow:

@Shekhar Kapur tweets: " Prblm is cwg comitte askd rahman 'give us hit song like waka waka, nt 'give us grt composition "....

@Shekhar Kapur tweets: " I bet a govt commitee wld have rejected waka waka- marketing also makes a song "....

@Shekhar Kapur tweets: " When chaiya chaiya first came out ppl said Rahman is finished. It went out 2 becum an all time hit "....

@Shekhar Kapur tweets: " I know hundrds of ppl in d music bussiness that said Jai Ho was a terrible song b'fore it became a huge hit "....

@Shekhar Kapur tweets: " Jai Ho was rejected by none other than Subhash Ghai before it became the biggest international hit of last year "....

14th September 2010, 04:57 PM
maddy,

pookkadaikku edhukkunga vilambaram?
dharmam vellum.

14th September 2010, 05:12 PM
pookadai mela thuppina, thatti ketkanum - adhuvum saami-kku vekkura poo idhu

14th September 2010, 05:36 PM

kannutheriyadhavan mela kovapattu enna panradhu?
paatthu poppa'nu solli paridhabapadathaan mudiyum

14th September 2010, 06:31 PM

kannutheriyadhavan mela kovapattu enna panradhu?
paatthu poppa'nu solli paridhabapadathaan mudiyum
mottathulla neenga ellam elichavana irungga!naangga ippadithan thuppuvom innu solla varinggala??? :lol:

14th September 2010, 06:43 PM
pookadai mela thuppina, thatti ketkanum - adhuvum saami-kku vekkura poo idhuonly u fassible.. :clap:

14th September 2010, 07:07 PM

15th September 2010, 01:20 AM
Jai Ho tour - The Forum, Los Angeles Sep 11, 2010 pictures -> http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=233430&id=63441126719

AudazJay
15th September 2010, 08:16 AM
Shekhar kapur namma level-kku erangi support panraaru AR-a :lol: .......proud that we are getting support from him :bow:

Shekar Kapur has always been supportive of ARR. I still remember how he praised ARR's work and how disappointed he was when many of ARR's beautiful compositions were rejected by the producers of Elizabeth. :cry:

OTOH, I think the theme is steadily gaining good remarks from the public. The initial negative responses seems to have died down with more positive views coming up in the net :D

A lot of positive signs is seen coming towards ARR. Vishal (Vishal-Sekhar) defending ARR via twitter; 127 hours' music being praised by the western media; the upcoming release of JHS- looks like ARR will have big wins in the coming week! :yes:

15th September 2010, 08:52 AM

Shekar Kapur has always been supportive of ARR. I still remember how he praised ARR's work and how disappointed he was when many of ARR's beautiful compositions were rejected by the producers of Elizabeth. :cry:

OTOH, I think the theme is steadily gaining good remarks from the public. The initial negative responses seems to have died down with more positive views coming up in the net :D

A lot of positive signs is seen coming towards ARR. Vishal (Vishal-Sekhar) defending ARR via twitter; 127 hours' music being praised by the western media; the upcoming release of JHS- looks like ARR will have big wins in the coming week! :yes:

thirushti kalinjachu! :D

15th September 2010, 09:26 AM
NDTV from today have started using AR's CWG song for their coverage of CWG event :clap: once visuals come out, im sure it will be a huge hit and end up as egg on all detractors.........but AR should never ever again work with govt. committee

15th September 2010, 09:39 AM
NDTV from today have started using AR's CWG song for their coverage of CWG event :clap: once visuals come out, im sure it will be a huge hit and end up as egg on all detractors.........but AR should never ever again work with govt. committee

NDTV ivangga thane thalaivara room pootu thuppanAVAgga!

15th September 2010, 09:46 AM
AR should never ever again work with govt. committee

ithu oru nalla padam thalivarukku!

evan ethiri innu nalla therinjirukkum!

15th September 2010, 09:50 AM

NDTV ivangga thane thalaivara room pootu thuppanAVAgga!

that was CNN-IBN and headlines today.......NDTV did their part of criticism too but they have mellowed down.......infact their theme music itself was done by AR only :)

AudazJay
15th September 2010, 11:10 AM

:exactly: all said and done, CWG is like a blessing in disguise. This was clearly a case where it was more like "he had to compose" than "he wanted to compose", actually.

Had ARR refused to compose for CWG, then he would have to face criticisms from all corners with comments such as "ARR doesn't respect his country", "he prefers working with the westeners", etc. Remember the Radha ravi incident?

But with this whole controversy, at least he now has a reason to refuse any future projects with the government.

15th September 2010, 12:31 PM

Maddy, tamizhaga governmentOda avar work paNNadhu nallAve work out aachu.
Just shows who his real supporters are,on the balance. enna dhAn North India-la pugazh petRAlum, uriya mariyadhai inga dhAn kedaikkudhu illaiyA?

15th September 2010, 02:17 PM
even it worked well with Gujarat govt but its better to avoid working with govt agencies....

15th September 2010, 08:15 PM
A.R.Rahman Live in Concert- Khwaja Mere Khwaja

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8xFRTb4bR4

16th September 2010, 11:40 AM
[tscii:d9f05a2145]Naturally, Slumdog Millionaire composer¡¯s live show is cinematic, too

A. R. Rahman populates his stage with gorgeous entourage, shimmering visuals

Concert review: A. R. RAHMAN

Where: Pacific Coliseum

When: Tuesday night

Grade: A

-------

Indian superstar A.R. Rahman is famed for his film work. Fitting that his Jai Ho Concert: The Journey Home World Tour was cinematic in production.

From the golden temple gates projected onto the stage curtain opening to the pantheon of dancers popping out of trap doors on the ornate stage stairs, every gesture was grand.

In the middle of it all, the creator existed somewhere in the background.

Surrounded by exceptionally gorgeous dancers and backing musicians, Rahman was just that jeans and T-shirt dude with the platform-soled Docs.

The one with all the creative juices happily let the massive entourage score all the eye-candy time while he commanded the key vocals.

An arresting pageant of costumed finery inspired by regions of India roughly corresponding to the core central rhythmic theme of the songs boogied, bhangra¡¯d, ragga¡¯d ¡ª you name it ¡ª around the stage.

The multi-culti band of crack players pulled nearly every pop idiom and major Indian sub-continental style out in song after song.

While Brazilian berimbau, electric mandolin, tabla and taiko drums beat, visuals ranging from rivers in shimmering sunlight and waterfalls flowed over the backdrop.

It was quite the journey indeed.

For those more familiar with the song names from hit flicks such asSlumdog Millionaire and, I believe, Lagaan, the variety and set list was probably a veritable hit fest. For those of us less schooled in Rahman¡¯s vast catalogue, it was an awesome introduction to the man¡¯s music. All the way down to the duelling guitars and sitar cage-dance number that just needed a teeny bit more sacred cowbell.

http://www.theprovince.com/entertainment/Naturally+Slumdog+Millionaire+composer+live+show+c inematic/3525546/story.html?cid=megadrop_story#ixzz0zd9WshNC

[/tscii:d9f05a2145]

16th September 2010, 11:42 AM
[tscii:24609a8c84]"I would dedicate my success to A R Rahman. He has inspired me to go against the rules" ¨C Amit Trivedi
source: http://www.naachgaana.com/2009/02/01/i-would-dedicate-my-success-to-a-r-rahman-he-has-inspired-me-to-go-against-the-rules-amit-trivedi/

First of all, I'd like congratulate Amit trivedi, on his NATIONAL AWARD victory. He truly deserved it. I was very disappointed, when i saw Amit trivedi's name was ignored in various award functions. But now relieved to see, that his talent and sublime efforts have been acknowledged where it mattered the most, the National Awards. He continuously has acknowledged ARR as his biggest musical inspiration. No wonder, he;s such a great musician, he has great taste to begin with..

Here's an interesting article,(I'm sure most of the members here have seen it, but i just saw it yesterday, so thought i should share it) where Amit has beautifully described his favorite ARR albums, and how they influenced him.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arrahmanfans/4178999553/

And also some other articles and interviews of amit, where he has talked about our guru Mr. AR Rehman.

http://www.musicaloud.com/2010/07/05/amit-trivedi/
http://quiz-o-titanium.blogspot.com/2009/05/amit-trivedidiehard-fan-of-arrahman.html

[/tscii:24609a8c84]

16th September 2010, 11:47 AM
Vishal-Shekhar asked A R Rahman for autograph

Wednesday, 15 September , 2010, 10:16
Last Updated: Wednesday, 15 September , 2010, 10:29

They may be big names in the Bollywood music industry, but music director duo Vishal-Shekhar did not shy away from asking music maestro A.R. Rahman for his autograph.

They met Rahman on the sets of Zee TV's Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Singing Superstar -- the music maestro came with actor John Abraham to promote their upcoming project Jhootha Hi Sahi.

Vishal was especially enthusiastic about his first meeting with the Oscar winner and urged Rahman for an autograph, said a source from the sets.

On meeting Rahman, Vishal said: "Each decade in the Indian music industry has an identity - the melodious 60s, the swinging 70s, disco of the 80s and the 90s was a one man show - A.R. Rahman who pioneered a distinct phase in Indian film music combining western influences with Indian sounds, ranging from classical instruments to folk music."

Vishal even asked Rahman to sing the latter's version of Vande Mataram. But Rahman couldn't fulfill his wish.

"I will not be able to do justice to our national song today because it needs to be sung in a high pitch, and it will be difficult for me to summon that amount of energy on an empty stomach. It's the holy month of Ramzaan and I am fasting," Rahman said on the day of the shoot, Sep 7.

The special episode of the music reality show will be on air Friday.

16th September 2010, 12:00 PM

Maddy, tamizhaga governmentOda avar work paNNadhu nallAve work out aachu.
Just shows who his real supporters are,on the balance. enna dhAn North India-la pugazh petRAlum, uriya mariyadhai inga dhAn kedaikkudhu illaiyA?

maddy,antha perarinjar-ra konjam amit trivedi,vishal-shekar sonnatha konjam padikka sollungga!north indian's uriya mariyathai patti! :lol:

16th September 2010, 12:09 PM
Celebrating India the Jai Ho way: Composer A.R. Rahman follows up Slumdog Millionaire success with worldwide tour.

http://www.canada.com/Celebrating+India+Composer+Rahman+follows+Slumdog+ Millionaire+success+with+worldwide+tour/3529284/story.html

16th September 2010, 02:35 PM
Here's an interesting article,(I'm sure most of the members here have seen it, but i just saw it yesterday, so thought i should share it) where Amit has beautifully described his favorite ARR albums, and how they influenced him.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arrahmanfans/4178999553/

Thanks for the link. Was glad to note that quite a few of my favourite soundtracks of ARR find a place on Trivedi's list too, from Thiruda Thiruda to Delhi-6. Even the specific songs that he has mentioned, like Dil gira dafatan and Rehna Tu are strong favourites.
Being a HFM composer he still interestingly lists a lot of TFM soundtracks. He seems like a true blue fan to me.

16th September 2010, 09:10 PM
NEW DELHI: Lyricist Prasoon Joshi confirmed that Commonwealth Games theme song, which was composed by Oscar winning composer AR Rahman, has been pepped up and reduced.

Prasoon exclusively said to 'Times Now' that changes made to make the song more peppy.

"New song will have more energy and sporty. Rahman often tweaks his own songs," said Prasoon.

Commonwealth Games theme song revamped, reduced

Rahman, who was paid Rs.5 crore for the CWG theme song, took six months to compose 'Oh Yaaro, Ye India Bula Liya.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/events-tournaments/commonwealth-games/top-stories/Commonwealth-Games-theme-song-revamped-reduced/articleshow/6567106.cms

17th September 2010, 11:11 AM
AR Rahman Guinness World RecordFriday,

http://videos-tab2tab.blogspot.com/2010/09/ar-rahman-guinness-world-record.html

translate please!

17th September 2010, 11:35 AM
John - Rahman On 'Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Singing Superstar'

http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Television/MuB09f57/3/John-Rahman-On-Sa-Re-Ga-Ma-Pa-Singing-Superstar.html

17th September 2010, 02:34 PM
John - Rahman On 'Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Singing Superstar'

http://www.bollywoodhungama.com/broadband/video/Television/MuB09f57/3/John-Rahman-On-Sa-Re-Ga-Ma-Pa-Singing-Superstar.html

ennadhu CD distribeetion panraanga show-la :shock: yov, ennaya, sollungayya

17th September 2010, 06:31 PM
If ARR ever goes to support any ****** in times of their crisis, that'l be my last day as an ARR fan. :oops:

17th September 2010, 06:40 PM
If ARR ever goes to support any ****** in times of their crisis, that'l be my last day as an ARR fan. :oops:

What? :o :roll:

17th September 2010, 08:10 PM
National award winner Amit Trivedi lists his favourite ARR albums

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arrahmanfans/4178999553/lightbox/

18th September 2010, 04:56 AM
National award winner Amit Trivedi lists his favourite ARR albums

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arrahmanfans/4178999553/lightbox/

Lots of Tamil albums there, even lesser-known but excellent albums like Rhythm. He is a true ARR fan. Amit Trivedi is my favorite HFM composer, besides ARR. Dev.D was AMAZING, and his other albums are pretty good too.

18th September 2010, 07:24 PM
Sa Re Ga Ma Pa - A.R.Rahman Special - Full Episode HQ - Download

http://arrajib.blogspot.com/2010/09/sa-re-ga-ma-pa-arrahman-special-full.html

source:arryg

18th September 2010, 07:35 PM
Photos: Indian superstar A.R. Rahman plays the Pacific Coliseum

From the golden temple gates projected onto the stage curtain opening to the pantheon of dancers popping out of trap doors on the ornate stage stairs, every gesture and move was grand.

http://www.theprovince.com/Indian+superstar+Rahman+plays+Pacific+Coliseum/3525552/story.html

18th September 2010, 07:42 PM
KM WEBSIDE

http://www.kmmc.in/

19th September 2010, 03:02 PM
If ARR ever goes to support any ****** in times of their crisis, that'l be my last day as an ARR fan. :oops:enakku puriyale ajay..* eduthutte sollunge..namakule enne :P

19th September 2010, 07:18 PM
If ARR ever goes to support any ****** in times of their crisis, that'l be my last day as an ARR fan. :oops:enakku puriyale ajay..* eduthutte sollunge..namakule enne :P

enakku suttama puriyala!!!konjam PM panni sollunga ajay!early waiting! :)

20th September 2010, 12:22 PM
arr interview

http://www.hereandnow.org/media-player/?url=http://www.hereandnow.org/2010/09/rundown-917-2/&title=India%27s%20Superstar%20Composer%20Bridges%2 0Borders%20With%20Music&segment=5&pubdate=2010-09-17

21st September 2010, 12:30 PM
[tscii:0e23024d0b]A.R Rahman Jai Ho concert hits SA
Nadia Neophytou | 2 Hours Ago

It seems there is life after the World Cup for at least one of the country¡¯s stadiums. In November, the Moses Mabhida Stadium will play host to Oscar-winning musician A.R Rahman, the award-winning composer behind the Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack.

Rahman¡¯s theatrical show at Moses Mabhida will make history as he will be the first artist ever to perform in a FIFA stadium after the World Cup.

His successful global tour the A.R Rahman Jai Ho concert will be staged in Durban, Cape Town and at Sun City.

He told Eyewitness News his show is vibrant.

¡°The show is actually a celebration of music I have done for 20 years and the whole visual and artistic element is Indian,¡± said Rahman.

Last year the song Jai Ho won an Oscar for best original song and a Grammy for best song written for a motion picture.

http://www.eyewitnessnews.co.za/articleprog.aspx?id=48994[/tscii:0e23024d0b]

21st September 2010, 12:31 PM
'Slumdog Millionaire' composer goes over the top in Dallas

http://www.tradingmarkets.com/news/stock-alert/amr_-slumdog-millionaire-composer-goes-over-the-top-in-dallas-1177727.html

21st September 2010, 12:33 PM
Photo gallery: A.R. Rahman presents Jai Ho at American Airlines Center (September 18)

http://www.pegasusnews.com/news/2010/sep/19/photo-gallery-a-r-rahman-jai-ho-american-airlines/

21st September 2010, 05:55 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=suhvVFRntcU -> This is exactly why I love sir so much :bluejump:

21st September 2010, 06:22 PM
Jai Ho Dallas --- Enthiran -- Irumbilye

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0YoyHn9A_MY&feature=related

21st September 2010, 06:29 PM
[tscii:4d6b501ab0]Article on AR Rahman by The Editor of FILMFARE magazine

Letter from the Editor

A Golden Boy loses his sheen. A sensation stops being one. Or so we are told. So the naysayers who have nothing better to talk about once the Friday releases stop attracting attention. The man who brought India an Oscar award or two, who revolutionized the way Indian film music is made, and whom producers still queue in line for to meet. And yet, because of what he gives us, and because of the quality he made us get adjusted to, a lesser offering from A.R. Rahman is enough to get the tongues wagging and the keyboards rattling. And it is ironic that he unintentionally, subliminally, contributes to this air. He remains as unassuming an individual, his humility and shyness often misunderstood as arrogance.

He loves his work, and when he says he took a long time to compose something, he means it. Yet the same length of time is taken as an example for those who want to prove that he is losing his touch. They forget that Delhi 6, with its pathbreaking tracks, came in the same year as the forgettable soundtrack of Blue which no one heard coming. Jodhaa Akbar and Jaane Tu, two different soundtracks but equally fantastic, came in the same year. Endhiran is looking to break records in Tamil, and some. And that’s the problem with trendsetters, you see, with geniuses who set the standard. Anything lesser is supposed to become a trend, any failing is caught by the vultures of couch opinions. With the over information, helped along with news channels and the internet, it is easy to spread rumours and opinions. Remember us replaying the opening track of Roja till the cassette frayed over. Ashaji’s voice that set ablaze the charts and along with Urmila’s beach run, propelled Rangeela into film folkore.

Think of what might have happened had the waves lashed Arvind Swami’s face to a lesser score in the breathtaking wave-splashing sequence of Bombay. Refresh the joy of a nation as we tuned in one morning to watch his Oscar acceptance speech. The director calls the shots. The cinematographer weaves dreamscapes. The actors redefine their roles. And the music director, transitioning from a paan-chewing man with a harmonium to a brilliant but quiet man in a Chennai studio, drums up the songs that will stay with us long after the credits have rolled. The mainstream Indian film is never complete without its song. The man who started as a rebel against the rules of soundtrack, started to make the rules himself.

Every man is mortal, but some are less so. A.R. Rahman has already qualified for cinema immortaility. Let the man be. And let’s listen to what he has to offer. His music surely speaks far better than most of our words.

Jitesh Pillaai

http://www.filmfare.com/articles/letter-from-the-editor-1528.html
[/tscii:4d6b501ab0]

21st September 2010, 08:19 PM
Times is a mighty cunning group - they did a smear campaign on AR just bcos he was involved with CWG, which they didnt get money for and now after smear campaign, they are compensating with some positive news on AR.........wait for sometime, they will be back to their original pouring superlatives on AR - i hope AR refuses a couple of filmfare awards just to show them their "aukaat" or status as we say it in English

21st September 2010, 11:23 PM
Hey guys, i have a question. In recent times I read a lot about this new composer Amit Trivedi. As i am tamil I havent listened to his stuff. Is he really so good ? People are even calling him the next ARR which i know is impossible. Why is there so much hype just for winning a national award ?

22nd September 2010, 09:32 AM
Hey guys, i have a question. In recent times I read a lot about this new composer Amit Trivedi. As i am tamil I havent listened to his stuff. Is he really so good ? People are even calling him the next ARR which i know is impossible. Why is there so much hype just for winning a national award ?

its not just abt winning national award - he is really good.....is he next AR - only time can tell :D

visit here (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=12426&start=90)

22nd September 2010, 03:46 PM

its not just abt winning national award - he is really good.....is he next AR - only time can tell :D
visit here (http://mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=12426&start=90)

:notthatway: only one rahman!

22nd September 2010, 09:20 PM

Other than ARR, Amit Trivedi is the only Indian composer whose albums I will buy without even hearing them. Dev.D (his best album so far) was in my regular rotation for most of 2009 and I still listen to it every now and then. Aamir (his first film soundtrack) is very good, and so is Udaan, though Aisha doesn't have a lasting impact.

22nd September 2010, 10:37 PM

Other than ARR, Amit Trivedi is the only Indian composer whose albums I will buy without even hearing them. Dev.D (his best album so far) was in my regular rotation for most of 2009 and I still listen to it every now and then. Aamir (his first film soundtrack) is very good, and so is Udaan, though Aisha doesn't have a lasting impact.

So can you say that he is more like Harris Jeyaraj who is giving hit album after hit album or even like Yuvan Shankar Raja who gives good music but not only for commercial movies. But what I dont understand is that Amit is already getting compared to A.R.Rahman even though he has released only a handfull of movies. I remember that Himesh Reshamiya was also hyped like this but nowadays I don't hear nothing about him.

23rd September 2010, 08:41 AM
[tscii:337ea1d3d9]Thuppariyum Anand from March 2011

September 22, 2010 (Sampurn Wire): Gowtham Menon is constantly hitting headlines for his continuous projects. The filmmaker has recently completed shooting for Nadunisi Naigal, a psychological thriller and will soon commence the second schedule for Hindi remake of his very own Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya. As known earlier, the film features Prateik Babbar and Trisha in lead roles.

Apart from his own directorial, the filmmaker is busy producing couple of films ¨C Veppam and Azhagar Saamiyin Kuthirai.

Veppam is directed by newcomer Manju, once an associate of director Gowtham Menon while Susindran handles direction for Azhagar Saamiyin Kuthirai.

Gowtham Menon¡¯s Thuppariyum Anand was supposed to feature Ajith Kumar in lead role. But the duo parted ways due to creative difference of opinions and Suriya is reported of replacing Ajith now.

The filmmaker¡¯s closer associates have mentioned that he will start shooting for Thuppariyum Anand by March 2011, soon after the release of Hindi VTV. A.R. Rahman will be scoring music for this film and Manoj Paramahamsa handles cinematography with Anthony on editing.

According to the sources, the film is based on Tamil novel Thuppariyum Sambu that was written by Devan in the early 20th century. Set in backdrops of 1930s, the book centers on Devan, an ordinary clerk, who solves crime on fluke.

-- R. Richard Mahesh / Sampurn Wire

http://tellycafe.com/regional-cinema/3296-thuppariyum-anand-from-march-2011.html[/tscii:337ea1d3d9]

23rd September 2010, 11:52 AM
good news - AR, GVM, Surya

AudazJay
23rd September 2010, 12:07 PM

So can you say that he is more like Harris Jeyaraj who is giving hit album after hit album or even like Yuvan Shankar Raja who gives good music but not only for commercial movies. But what I dont understand is that Amit is already getting compared to A.R.Rahman even though he has released only a handfull of movies. I remember that Himesh Reshamiya was also hyped like this but nowadays I don't hear nothing about him.

There's a huge difference between Himesh and Amit. Amit's music is fresh, very earthy and at times even bold. Probably that's d reason for the comparison with ARR.

Frankly speaking, he still has a long way to go before he can be claimed as the next ARR. Nevertheless, there's no doubt that this guy is fabulous. Definitely a talent to watch out for.

23rd September 2010, 02:39 PM
[tscii:b7ed1ee989]Thuppariyum Anand from March 2011

September 22, 2010 (Sampurn Wire): Gowtham Menon is constantly hitting headlines for his continuous projects. The filmmaker has recently completed shooting for Nadunisi Naigal, a psychological thriller and will soon commence the second schedule for Hindi remake of his very own Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya. As known earlier, the film features Prateik Babbar and Trisha in lead roles.

Apart from his own directorial, the filmmaker is busy producing couple of films ¨C Veppam and Azhagar Saamiyin Kuthirai.

Veppam is directed by newcomer Manju, once an associate of director Gowtham Menon while Susindran handles direction for Azhagar Saamiyin Kuthirai.

Gowtham Menon¡¯s Thuppariyum Anand was supposed to feature Ajith Kumar in lead role. But the duo parted ways due to creative difference of opinions and Suriya is reported of replacing Ajith now.

The filmmaker¡¯s closer associates have mentioned that he will start shooting for Thuppariyum Anand by March 2011, soon after the release of Hindi VTV. A.R. Rahman will be scoring music for this film and Manoj Paramahamsa handles cinematography with Anthony on editing.

According to the sources, the film is based on Tamil novel Thuppariyum Sambu that was written by Devan in the early 20th century. Set in backdrops of 1930s, the book centers on Devan, an ordinary clerk, who solves crime on fluke.

http://tellycafe.com/regional-cinema/3296-thuppariyum-anand-from-march-2011.html[/tscii:b7ed1ee989]

I heard that Amy Jackson the heroine of Madrasapattinam will be playing the female part in this movie.

23rd September 2010, 03:18 PM
A R Rahman to sing 'Jai Ho' at CWG inaugural show

NEW DELHI: Music maestro A R Rahman is all set to rock the inaugural ceremony of the Commonwealth Games with his chart burster 'Jai Ho' and 'Maa Tujhe Salam' numbers.

As a tribute to the Father of the Nation, Rahman will also sing the Mahatma's favourite hymn 'Vaishnava Jan To' for the 60,000-strong audience at the inaugural ceremony of the Games at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium.

Besides, the audio-video presentation of 'Yaro India Bula Liya,' the theme song of the Games on 16 large screens, the audience would be treated to the 'Chhaiya Chhaiya' dance sequence mounted on a 'Human Train' conceived by a creative team involving 1,500 artistes.

Human Train is part of a 12-minute 'Great Indian Journey' dance sequence showcasing rural and small town India with the popular Hindi song Chhaiya Chhaiya from the film 'Dil Se' as a background score.

'Rhythm of India' involving 900 drummers followed by 'Swagatam' song by Hariharan are the other attractions of the inaugural show.

The 45-minute cultural extravaganza conceived by a creative team comprising Shyam Benegal, Prasoon Joshi, Javed Akhtar and Bharat Bala among others is now being finalised with stage rehearsal going on in full scale.

"We have worked for 14 months to present a contemporary image of India during the inaugural and closure ceremony," said Bala, the director of the creative team.

The theme song of the Games, rendered by Rahman, has been made into a video featuring Sania Nehwal, Milkha Singh, Samresh Jung and other sport personalities.

The opening and closing ceremony of the Games is estimated to cost Rs 300 crores involving about 10,000 artistes and state-of-the-art equipment.

While Rahman's 'Maa Tujhe Salam' will be the last song of the inaugural event, his composition 'Vande Mataram' will be rendered in the concluding ceremony.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/news-by-industry/et-cetera/A-R-Rahman-to-sing-Jai-Ho-at-CWG-inaugural-show/articleshow/6611445.cms

23rd September 2010, 09:50 PM
New CWG Theme song unveiled

http://ibnlive.in.com/videos/131589/first-look-rahmans-cwg-anthem.html?ref=nf

23rd September 2010, 09:54 PM
its not complete anand.

23rd September 2010, 09:55 PM
-deleted-

Guess_Me
23rd September 2010, 10:08 PM
its not complete anand.
I think this is the complete version

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=byJSRzDePCQ

23rd September 2010, 10:09 PM
Thalaivar rocking ma!!! :D

24th September 2010, 09:36 AM
its not complete anand.

thalaivar looking so young even at 44 :poramai: :bow:

manja maakkanunga........its the same song with some added guitar riffs(?) and visuals and they think its the revised version - im really impressed with their thinking power :lol:

24th September 2010, 10:10 AM
its not complete anand.

manja maakkanunga........its the same song with some added guitar riffs(?) and visuals and they think its the revised version - im really impressed with their thinking power :lol:

now they say's 'rahman finally gets its right' :lol: :lol: :lol:

24th September 2010, 12:37 PM
title suggestions for next thread (news & updates) welcome

A.R.Rahman - the 4th dimension of music, News/Updates
A.R.Rahman - Kodambakkam kabaleeswarar, News&Updates
A.R.Rahman - human music, beyond the barriers, Catch it here first

and i would love to see Anand open the thread for his continous updates and news items for this thread :bow:

24th September 2010, 01:15 PM
few more suggestions on thread title.
A R Rahman - The Music Messiah
A R Rahman - The Musical Rebel
A R Rahman - Notes from Heaven
A R Rahman - parisaaga vandha kadavuL

24th September 2010, 01:23 PM

and i would love to see Anand open the thread for his continous updates and news items for this thread :bow:

neengale open pannidungga maddy!i will update news item! sure!:D

24th September 2010, 01:28 PM

:rotfl: okkanthu yosipeenggalo!

24th September 2010, 01:34 PM

3rd title sounds good.

24th September 2010, 01:51 PM
if 90's thalaivar song are evergreen in tamil, after 2000,most of thalaivar best work goes to bollywood than kollywood.namma south makkal intha songs ellam kekka koduthu vekkala!
album like tehzeeb,swades,legend of bhagat singh,yuvraj,dehli6,rang de basanti,laagan,jtyjn,and now jhs!

24th September 2010, 02:13 PM
namma south makkal intha songs ellam kekka koduthu vekkala!

Who said? I bet those CDs are available in South also. CDs vidunga, they have all become net savvy, download panrathukku evalo neram aagum.

24th September 2010, 03:35 PM

Who said? I bet those CDs are available in South also. CDs vidunga, they have all become net savvy, download panrathukku evalo neram aagum.

athu vazhakama ella arr fans pandrathuthan but i said 4 non arr fans!

24th September 2010, 05:34 PM

athu vazhakama ella arr fans pandrathuthan but i said 4 non arr fans!

ARR fans liye nirayaa paer ku hindi-naaley allergy.

24th September 2010, 07:00 PM
athu nichayam oru silarukku irukathan seiyum bro! :)

including me!இசைக்கு மொழி கெடையதப்பா!

24th September 2010, 08:09 PM
[tscii:92d6a415d5]Hello
Just now came home from Newark, NJ Show.. I am lucky to catch two shows in this Jai Ho tour..first was on 13th June in Fairfax and second is today 23rd Sept at Newark..100 days :)
The show is spectacular. It is a feast. Visual and aural treat.
Very artistic and very professional.

The show started at around 9pm and went uninterruptedly until 11.30pm
All the singers, musicians, dancers were awesome..
ARR is Amazing… yea, he is like no one can imagine..you have to see him on the stage.

Following is the list of songs in that order.
I might have missed something in excitement.

1. Vandemataram bit – Vandemataram
2. Journey home- Bombay Dreams
3. O saya – Slumdog Millionaire
4. Athiradi - Sivaji
5. Nana – Couples retreat
6. Potters village - Meenaxi
7. Yeh jo des hai tera - Swades
8. Drum rhythm
9. Range Basanthi – Rang de basanti
10. Dreams on Fire - Slumdog Millionaire
11. Nazre mila – Jaane tu ya Jaane na
12. Nare Nare +Violin and flute jugalbandi - Guru
13. Dil se re – Dil se
14. Bombay theme - Bombay
15. Mausam and Escape - Slumdog Millionaire
16. Bharat humko - Roja
17. Theeyil bit and Lukki chuppi – Godfather+RDB.
18. Azaadi – Bose, the forgotten hero
19. Liquid dance - Slumdog Millionaire
20. Irumbile – Enthiran (Highlight of the show)
21. Pappu cant dance sala – Jaane Tu ya Jaanena
22. Bharatanatyam
23. Micheal Jackson bit
24. Vinnaithandi varuvaya - VTV
25. Hello Mister - Iruvar
26. Urvasi – Kadalan
27. Taxi taxi - Sakkarakatti
28. Hai rama - Rangeela
29. Only you - Vandemataram
30. Group sitting type
Bhor bhayi – Delhi-6
Tumri
O Cheliya - Premikudu
Kandukondein Kandukondein - KK
Dheemi dheemi - Zubeida
Hosana - VTV
Tu hi re - Bombay
Ambe kollade - Jeans
Genda phool – Delhi-6
Rehna tu – Delhi -6
Ishq bina - Taal
31. Mehendi hai Rachne - Zubeida
32. Mangalyam, endendrum - Alaipayuthe
33. Ringa Ringa - Slumdog Millionaire
34. Ek Onkar - RDB
35. O Palanhare - Lagaan
36. Zikr + Kwaja mere kwaja – Bose+Jodha Akbar
37. Ganesha – Bombay Dreams
38. Holi ayi re – Mangal Pandey
39. Chaiya Chaiya – Dil se re
40. Jai Ho - Slumdog Millionaire
41. Vandemataram bit - VM
42. Journey home ending – Bombay Dreams

The highlight of the show is Irumbile.. Man.. ARR has become DJ there.
The presentation of Irumbile is a complete surprise.

Do try to attend at least one show in this tour.

Took a Swades CD with me for ARR's sign but he looked soo jam packed busy that I did not even try to interrupt him.

Dear ARR, Thanks for the show, it is awesome!

SOURCE:ARRYG[/tscii:92d6a415d5]

24th September 2010, 11:14 PM
[tscii:58d1b96449]

Adhu! Exactly what I heard from my friends who went to the Dallas concert. Enna dhaan Hosaana etc ellaam pOttaalum.. :-)

[/tscii:58d1b96449]

24th September 2010, 11:26 PM
[tscii:64fa378a0b]

Adhu! Exactly what I heard from my friends who went to the Dallas concert. Enna dhaan Hosaana etc ellaam pOttaalum.. :-)

[/tscii:64fa378a0b]

Thats the best song of Endhiran. Gets Better in every hearing. It will never fade out.

25th September 2010, 03:28 AM
its not complete anand.

:lol: It's exactly the same! Just got some clapping sounds & it's condensed.

I still love it, deffo boosts my energy! :D

25th September 2010, 04:52 AM
[tscii:de4c00948f]Hello
Just now came home from Newark, NJ Show.. I am lucky to catch two shows in this Jai Ho tour..first was on 13th June in Fairfax and second is today 23rd Sept at Newark..100 days :)
The show is spectacular. It is a feast. Visual and aural treat.
Very artistic and very professional.

The show started at around 9pm and went uninterruptedly until 11.30pm
All the singers, musicians, dancers were awesome..
ARR is Amazing… yea, he is like no one can imagine..you have to see him on the stage.

Following is the list of songs in that order.
I might have missed something in excitement.

1. Vandemataram bit – Vandemataram
2. Journey home- Bombay Dreams
3. O saya – Slumdog Millionaire
4. Athiradi - Sivaji
5. Nana – Couples retreat
6. Potters village - Meenaxi
7. Yeh jo des hai tera - Swades
8. Drum rhythm
9. Range Basanthi – Rang de basanti
10. Dreams on Fire - Slumdog Millionaire
11. Nazre mila – Jaane tu ya Jaane na
12. Nare Nare +Violin and flute jugalbandi - Guru
13. Dil se re – Dil se
14. Bombay theme - Bombay
15. Mausam and Escape - Slumdog Millionaire
16. Bharat humko - Roja
17. Theeyil bit and Lukki chuppi – Godfather+RDB.
18. Azaadi – Bose, the forgotten hero
19. Liquid dance - Slumdog Millionaire
21. Pappu cant dance sala – Jaane Tu ya Jaanena
22. Bharatanatyam
23. Micheal Jackson bit
24. Vinnaithandi varuvaya - VTV
25. Hello Mister - Iruvar
26. Urvasi – Kadalan
27. Taxi taxi - Sakkarakatti
28. Hai rama - Rangeela
29. Only you - Vandemataram
30. Group sitting type
Bhor bhayi – Delhi-6
Tumri
O Cheliya - Premikudu
Kandukondein Kandukondein - KK
Dheemi dheemi - Zubeida
Hosana - VTV
Tu hi re - Bombay
Ambe kollade - Jeans
Genda phool – Delhi-6
Rehna tu – Delhi -6
Ishq bina - Taal
31. Mehendi hai Rachne - Zubeida
32. Mangalyam, endendrum - Alaipayuthe
33. Ringa Ringa - Slumdog Millionaire
34. Ek Onkar - RDB
35. O Palanhare - Lagaan
36. Zikr + Kwaja mere kwaja – Bose+Jodha Akbar
37. Ganesha – Bombay Dreams
38. Holi ayi re – Mangal Pandey
39. Chaiya Chaiya – Dil se re
40. Jai Ho - Slumdog Millionaire
41. Vandemataram bit - VM
42. Journey home ending – Bombay Dreams

The highlight of the show is Irumbile.. Man.. ARR has become DJ there.
The presentation of Irumbile is a complete surprise.

Do try to attend at least one show in this tour.

Took a Swades CD with me for ARR's sign but he looked soo jam packed busy that I did not even try to interrupt him.

Dear ARR, Thanks for the show, it is awesome!

SOURCE:ARRYG[/tscii:de4c00948f]

Ungal isai kadavulai kaanum bhagyam, yenakkum kidaithathu. Enakkum kadavulai paartha maathirithaan irunthathu. Fortunate to stay close to him, just 4 or 5 feet away, while he was performing. just a security guy in between us!!! Will post the video soon...

25th September 2010, 12:09 PM
welcome back njv sir!waiting 4 the video clip! :D

25th September 2010, 12:50 PM
[tscii:9eb0175786]Gautham Menon, ARR plan public issue in UK for film co

CHENNAI: Photon Kathaas Productions, an entertainment company which makes movies in Tamil, Telugu, Kannada and Malayalam, is tapping the London market with a public issue to raise £6 million.

The regional film industry has already caught the attention of US movie studios such as 20th Century Fox which has teamed up with producer-director A R Murugadoss of 'Ghajini' fame.

Photon Kathaas, promoted by filmmaker Gautham Vasudev Menon, is hitting the London market on October 15. The Singapore-registered company will be listed on LSE's Alternative Investment Market or AIM. AIM is the London Stock Exchange's international market for smaller growing companies. Other Indian film companies listed on AIM include Bollywood giant Eros and animation house DQ Entertainment.

Gautham Menon holds 29% stake and his friend and music director, A R Rahman, holds 3% in Photon Kathaas, according to a company filing with AIM. Other shareholders include Venky Somasundaram (29%), Reshma Ghatala (29%), Ravi Venkatraman (5.5%) and Madan Pandy (4.5%).

Rahman is Photon Kathaas' creative adviser. Michael Rosenberg, a co-founder of TV-AM, Britain's first commercial breakfast TV station, is the chairman. Former Channel 4 executive Nathalie Schwarz is on the board and Menon is the chief creative officer (CCO) of Photon Kathaas. The issue is advised by investment banker Seymour Pierce.

Gautham Menon was away in London and could not be reached.

According to a report in Britain's Daily Express, Photon Kathaas said: "The film industry in the south is fragmented, inefficient and fails to exploit its intellectual property rights properly. However, the market is large, with a value estimated at £230 million. The industry in the south accounted for around 60% of the 1,300 films made in India last year."

Photon Kathaas hopes to tackle the problems by establishing a studio-driven business model to produce films more efficiently and exploit them across a range of different media, the report said

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/chennai/Gautham-Menon-ARR-plan-public-issue-in-UK-for-film-co/articleshow/6623513.cms[/tscii:9eb0175786]

25th September 2010, 12:54 PM
[tscii:0dc9d2da68]
Rahman becomes Gautham’s partner

IndiaGlitz

Gautham Vasudev Menon, who recently floated Photon Kathas Productions, has reportedly made his good friend A R Rahman as one of the partners of the company, which would make movies in south Indian languages.

Photon Kathas, which is hitting the London market with a public issue on October 15, is expected to be listed on Alternative Investment Market (AIM), which is London Stock Exchange’s international market for growing companies.

If reports are to be believed, Gautham holds 29 per cent stake and he is the chief creative officer of Photon Kathas. Rahman holds three percent and the music maestro is the creative adviser. Other partners include Gautham’s friends and peers, who hold the remaining shares.

A Britain newspaper quoted Photon Kathas as saying: “The film industry in the south is fragmented, inefficient and fails to exploit its intellectual property rights. However the market is large. The industry in the south accounted for around 60 per cent of the films made in India last year.”

[/tscii:0dc9d2da68]

25th September 2010, 12:58 PM
Video of Games theme song brings some cheer

NEW DELHI: Amid all the gloom and doom, here's a piece of good news the organising committee (OC) has finally gotten the video of the Delhi Games 2010 theme song by A R Rahman out. The video, which didn't get an official launch in the midst of the controversies surrounding the Commonwealth Games Village, showcases a much peppier version of the theme song, Swagatham.

Conceptualized and produced by Bharat Bala productions, the video is atwo-minute long virtual treat with Rahman belting out the retuned version of the song even as India's sport icons like Saina Nehwal and Milkha Singh do what they do best: play a great game. Besides the two, Commonwealth Games ambassador Sushil Kumar is also shown besides several other international sport stars.

The video features a much shorter version of the song, with the refrain of "Letz go'' coming out on tops. "It's also much peppier and should go down far better than the original Swagatham did,'' said a senior OC official. While OC hasn't revealed if any formal launch of the video is planned, sources said the new version will be released on television "soon''. "As part of the awareness campaign, the video will be played on television within a day or two as well as released on radio. The idea is to reach as many people as possible before the Games start off from October 3,'' added the official.

The production of the video, said sources, cost approximately Rs 60 lakh, with Rahman not being paid a separate fee for his appearance, as he would be featured in the song. Bala, incidentally, is also the creative head of the ceremonies committee for the Delhi Games 2010.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/delhi/Video-of-Games-theme-song-brings-some-cheer/articleshow/6622993.cms

25th September 2010, 07:46 PM
Ariticle in Today's (25.09.2010) edition of New Indian Express Chennai

Rahman gets them rocking

Recently, India's music maestro A R Rahman rocked the Bay Area population with a three-hour concert. Some folks drove hours to reach Oracle Arena, California, to attend the musical extravaganza. The conversation in the milling crowd included comments of the admirable and the caustic kind. Folks discussed Rahman's Oscar win, some dissected his apparently mediocre Commonwealth Games anthem, while others were upset he charged a fee for it.
Once the curtains went up, the rhetoric subsided, and in true Rahman style, the maestro won his critics over with his music. The concert treated desis to music, unbridled and Bollywood style. Singing "Vande Mataram, Maa Tujhe Salam" as his opening number, he united the sari clad, salwar wearing, jeans sporting crowd under one patriotic umbrella.
Was it me, or did the audience turn emotional, as Rahman crooned the title track from Swades followed by Rang de Basanti, and Hariharan smacked the collective conscience with his vibrant rendition of Bharat Humko Jaan se Pyaara Hai. I did not have it wrong, the reference to "home" (as in India and not the sprawling mansions of Silicon Valley) held some audience members in a constant state of weepy nostalgia. A septuagenarian in the audience put the audience's feelings in a nutshell when she whispered she wanted to "get on a plane back to India right now."
The songs rained down on us in Telugu, Tamil, Punjabi and languages I was too emotional to recognise. Appreciation came in the form of two-finger piercing whistles true
Indian style, hand-aching clapping, shouts of "tamilaa" and "jo bole so nihaal." Now and then I sneak a look at the event security. They stood flummoxed by the audience reaction, their experience of American rock concerts being something else I'm sure.
And flummoxed is how I would describe Silicon Valley in its reaction to the criticism of Rahman's CWG anthem. Valley desis observe that even geniuses are entitled to "un-genius" moments. (No, don't even bother convincing them there is no such word in the dictionary.) The important thing, they say, is that Rahman, through his music, is succeeding where many other desi performers have failed in transcending a regional niche to
become an international music sensation. Is he there yet? As if in answer, the troupe belts out a tribute to Michael Jackson with a rendition of Black or White. Needless to say the crowd goes wild!
I first fell in love with Rahman's music with his Maa Tujhe Salam number, one that gives me the goose-bumps even today. So when he raked in the Oscar for Jai Ho, I was elated to see him break the glass ceiling of west dominated music. That the Mozart of Madras featured in ``The TIME 100: The World's Most Influential People'' does give him an acclaimed international address. Is this also why one mediocre score has drawn such flak?
Swagatham, like much of the maestro's music, is being discussed in Silicon Valley too. A Tamil fan made a valid point when he said music is subjective and what one person dislikes may turn out to be another's favourite. To those who say Rahman has disappointed with his pedestrian score, Silicon Valley has a smart repartee: World athletes may not understand the CWG anthem, or even remember it. But they will remember the quality of the stadiums and other infra-structure surrounding the Games. Maybe the government should focus on that! News that they did, would be sweet music to our ears!

25th September 2010, 07:51 PM
[tscii:82a306767b]AR making new songs for Hindi VTV?

Director Gautham Vasudev Menon has confirmed that the shoot of his thriller ‘Nadunisi Naaigal’ is complete and it is in its post production stages. ‘Nadunisi Naaigal’ stars one of his assistants Veera and sexy Sameera Reddy in the lead roles. It will hit the screen probably around Diwali.

Gautham’s other two home productions in Tamil are progressing in style as expected. One is ‘Veppam’ directed by his associate Anjana and the other is ‘Azhagarsamiyin Kudhirai’ directed by Suseenthiran.

Meanwhile Gautham is also moving ahead with the ‘Vinnaithandi Varuvaya’ Hindi remake. The project which a joint production between Gautham Menon and 20th Century Fox has already set he expectation meter rising.

A R Rahman who is much exited about the Hindi remake is making all new tunes for the Hindi version. Most of Gautham’s men like Anthony, Rajeevan, Nalini Sriram and Manoj Paramahamsa will work on the Bollywood project also.

On the lead cast Trisha is being retained and Prateik Babbar will essay Simbu’s role.

:shock: :shock: :shock:

[/tscii:82a306767b]

25th September 2010, 08:36 PM
Shakira to dance to Rahman's tunes?

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/music/Shakira-to-dance-to-Rahmans-tunes/articleshow/6626106.cms

25th September 2010, 09:00 PM
Jai Ho Dallas --- Aaromale

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SnpArRKk8s0&feature=player_embedded#

25th September 2010, 11:51 PM
கடந்த வியாழக்கிழமை நியூஜெர்ஸி நுவர்க்கில் நடைபெற்ற ஜெய்-ஹோ இன்னிசை நிகழ்ச்சிக்கு சென்ற அதிர்ஷ்டக் காரர்களில் அடியேனும் ஒருவன். ஐம்பது டாலர் செலவழித்து சென்று, திரும்பும் போது ஆயிரக்கணக்கான டாலர்களுக்கு ரஹ்மானிடம் கடனாளி ஆனது தான் மிச்சம். ஒரே வார்த்தையில் சொல்லணும்னா பேரின்பம். A perfect example for visual and aural treat.

நிகழ்ச்சிக்கே ராஜ முத்திரை வைத்தது... "இரும்பிலே என் இருதயம்" பாடல் தான். ஆரம்பத்தில் பெண் குரலில் பாடல் அறிமுகமானபின் பல்லவி ஆரம்பித்தபோது ரஹ்மானின் குரல் மட்டுமே கேட்கிறது. அரங்கத்தில் எந்த மூளையில் நின்று பாடுகிறார் என கண்களை சுழட்டி சுழட்டி ஏமாற்றமே மிச்சம்.. அகண்ட திரையில் ரஹ்மான் அதுவும் பெரிய Head Set மாட்டிக்கொண்டு.. "சரி, புத்தம் புதிய பாடல், அதனால் முன்பதிவு செய்து ஒளிபரப்புகிறார்கள் போல" என ஏமாற்றம் அடைந்த தருணத்திலேயே பார்வையாளர்களின் கவனம் மேடைக்கு எதிராக 200 அடித் தொலைவில்.. நான் உட்கார்ந்த இடத்திற்கு அருகிலேயே.... சிலிர்த்து விட்டது. பாடல் எப்போ அரம்பித்தது, எப்போ முடிந்தது என்பதை நினைத்துப் பார்க்கும் முன்பேயே மின்னல் போல முடிந்து விட்ட பாடல் அது.

ஹரிஹரன் மேடைக்கு வந்தாலே அப்படியொரு ஆளுமை. ரங்கீலா ஹே-ராமா பாடலை பிரித்து மேய்ந்து விட்டு சென்ற போது, கைத்தட்டல் நிற்க சில நிமிடங்கள் பிடித்தது.

சய்ய சய்யா பாடலை விஜய் பிரகாஷ் பாட ஆரம்பித்த போது "இந்த பாட்டுக்கே ஒரு நிறைவு சுக்வீந்தர் குரல் தானே..அவர் இல்லாமல் எப்படி சமாளிக்கப் போகிறார்கள்!" என வியப்புடன் பார்க்க ஆரம்பித்து போது, அதைவிட ஒரு படி சுவையான விருந்து படைத்தது அக்கார்டியன் கருவியில் விளையாடிய ரஹ்மானின் விரல்கள் தான். அந்த ஒரு முயற்சிக்கே சொத்தை எழுதிவைக்கலாம்.

படங்களுக்கான பாடல்கள் ஒரு பரிமாணம் என்றால், ரஹ்மான் இதுபோன்ற இன்னிசை நிகழ்ச்சிகளுக்காக உழைத்து உருவாக்கிய பாடல்களின் கலவை இன்னொரு பரிமாணம். ஊர்வசி ஊர்வசி பாடலின் ஆலாபனையை ரஹ்மான் ஆரம்பித்து முடிக்கையில் டாக்ஸி டாக்ஸி பாடலில் தாளக்கட்டு வருகிறது. விண்ணைத்தாண்டி வருவாயா பாடலின் ஆரம்பத்தை ரஹ்மான் பியோனாவில் வாசித்து, உடனே ஹலோ மிஸ்டர் எதிர்கட்சிக்கு தாவிய இடம்.. இது போன்ற பல சுவையான திருப்பங்கள் நேர்த்தியான முறையில் வடிவமைக்கப் பட்டிருக்கின்றன.

பல வகையில் திருப்தி அடைந்திருந்தாலும், ஒரு சிலப் பாடல்களை இங்கேயும் பாடியிருக்கலாம் என நினைத்தது..ஆரோமலே.. ( அல்போன்ஸ் எப்படா பாடப்போகிறார் என எதிர்பார்த்து எதிர்பார்த்து)

வியாழக்கிழமை என்றபோதும், குவிந்திருந்த கூட்டம் மலைக்க வைத்தது.

வழக்கமான சிவமணி இல்லை. பிரபல தலைகள் பாலு, சித்ரா, சுஜாதா, கவிதா கிருஷ்ணமூர்த்தி, ஷங்கர் மகாதேவன், சுக்வீந்தர் யாருமே இல்லை. புதிய முகங்கள்.. புதிய கூட்டணி.. இருந்தாலும் மூன்று மணி நேரத்திற்கு ரசிகர்கள் அதே உற்சாகத்தில் இருக்கிறார்கள் என்றால், அது முழுக்க முழுக்க மலை போல உயர்ந்து நிற்கும் ரஹ்மானின் ஆளுமையினால் தான்.

ஜெய்-ஹோ!

26th September 2010, 01:46 AM
க்ளிக்கிய சில புகைப்படங்கள்!

இரும்பிலே என் இருதயம் (http://img832.imageshack.us/img832/9594/dsc00794bm.jpg)

chaiyya chaiyya (http://img832.imageshack.us/img832/2743/dsc00798lo.jpg)

26th September 2010, 01:49 AM
:ty: Venkki!

26th September 2010, 05:59 PM
please wacth this guy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQNsNdF-57U

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EVUjGlRNpiQ

புல்லரிப்பு! :D :D

26th September 2010, 06:02 PM
please wacth this guy!

புல்லரிப்பு! :D :D
:clap: vaadhdhiyakkaaranga sandaikku varappOraanga!

27th September 2010, 10:00 AM
please wacth this guy!

புல்லரிப்பு! :D :D :clap: :clap:

27th September 2010, 10:51 AM
Venkkiram :thumbsup:

27th September 2010, 12:30 PM
ஐம்பது டாலர் செலவழித்து சென்று, திரும்பும் போது ஆயிரக்கணக்கான டாலர்களுக்கு ரஹ்மானிடம் கடனாளி ஆனது தான் மிச்சம். ஒரே வார்த்தையில் சொல்லணும்னா பேரின்பம். A perfect example for visual and aural treat.[quote]

28th September 2010, 09:29 AM
thupparium anandan

http://www.photonkathaas.com/ta_movie.html

anandan!wooow!my real name :D

satissh_r
28th September 2010, 10:18 AM
thupparium anandan

Anand sir, officlea site blocked :( Can you post the gist of what is in there? Thanks!

rayan36
28th September 2010, 11:40 AM
thupparium anandan

nice website!!!!!

AudazJay
28th September 2010, 12:17 PM
[tscii:9cf28819ae]

thupparium anandan

Anand sir, officlea site blocked :( Can you post the gist of what is in there? Thanks!

Photon Kathaas Production

THUPPARIYUM ANANDAN
A Goutham Vasudev Menon Film

Sypnosis
A game of cat and mouse between a dashing young Indian cop and a bandit set in 1920 India. The sheer skill and intellect of one man’s genius in hunting down a dangerous criminal sans modern day technology but with brilliantly visualized action sequences.
[/tscii:9cf28819ae]

satissh_r
28th September 2010, 12:19 PM
[tscii:f07383a83d]

thupparium anandan

THUPPARIYUM ANANDAN

Sypnosis
A game of cat and mouse between a dashing young Indian cop and a bandit set in 1920 India. The sheer skill and intellect of one man’s genius in hunting down a dangerous criminal sans modern day technology but with brilliantly visualized action sequences.
[/tscii:f07383a83d]

:ty: Thalaivar than musica?

28th September 2010, 12:31 PM
[tscii:a3d8cbc391]

thupparium anandan

THUPPARIYUM ANANDAN

Sypnosis
[/tscii:a3d8cbc391]

:ty: Thalaivar than musica?

appadithan thonuthu! :D see the previes post!

28th September 2010, 12:39 PM
[tscii:8c29530959]Thuppariyum Anand from March 2011

http://tellycafe.com/regional-cinema/3296-thuppariyum-anand-from-march-2011.html[/tscii:8c29530959]

28th September 2010, 12:44 PM
thread 100 page thoda poguthu!!!yaaravathu puthu title-la pottu open pannungga! :D

sorry! i don't know how to open the new thread!

kodambakkam kabaleswarar news! :lol:

28th September 2010, 03:33 PM
thalaivar musicnu engayum mention pannalayae :(

28th September 2010, 03:45 PM
i have a super name to open a new thread, but i dont know how to make it sticky :(

28th September 2010, 03:48 PM
Lancy,

Sorry...

28th September 2010, 03:49 PM
what to do, you and i must be two of many who wanted to open the thread. you were just faster :)

28th September 2010, 03:55 PM
Continue here...

http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=14844&highlight=