View Full Version : Which non-Indian film did you watch recently

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

27th April 2010, 03:06 PM
Bounty Hunter - Not Bad. Not as good as The Break Up or The Ugly Truth, but good entertainment. 8-)

Kambar_Kannagi
27th April 2010, 03:15 PM
The Bounty Hunter

Please avoid..

Really that bad??? I like that hero yaar... :)

Warden
27th April 2010, 06:46 PM
Being There(Peter Sellers)
Scariest movie ever :shaking:

27th April 2010, 07:02 PM
K_K,

Even I like Gerard Butler and he is the reason for me watching that movie. As Surya mentioned, this is not upto the mark of The Ugly Truth or P.S I love you. Some silly jokes throughout tested my patience a lot..

tamizharasan
29th April 2010, 01:05 AM
Does comedy scare you?

Warden
29th April 2010, 01:21 AM
Does comedy scare you?
No,but anticipating vexation sure does.

29th April 2010, 05:16 PM
Does comedy scare you?
No,but anticipating vexation sure does. :lol:

30th April 2010, 11:35 AM
Edge of Darkness - decent watch. The film was little convoluted for me :?

30th April 2010, 11:15 PM
kg, seen the latest polanski film, ghost writer? :huh:

1st May 2010, 01:17 AM
yEn, engaLa ellaam kEtka maateengalaa?? Only pandithars? :twisted:

Kidding aside, last weekend theater varaikkum pOittu thirumbi vandhuttEn. Show-E illai, maththa mokkai padam paakka interest-um illai :oops:

1st May 2010, 11:44 AM
Shutter Island - :clap: Awesome!

I read the book when I was in High School, and I can't seem to recall the whole German Nazi Storyline...I think thats something the Director incorporated in the Movie.

It had so many dimensions to Teddy's Problem:

* The Memories which Haunt Him From What He Saw At The Concentration Camps.

*The Guilt as an American Soldier (That he could've have gotten there earlier to save this defenceless group of people from the Classic Genocidal Monsters)

*His Aversion to Water (Made Sense after what we learn what happened to him)

*His Conspiracy Theory abt what happens in Shutter Island. I like that dialouge where he says "I would hate to learn that we worked so hard to put stop to these Insane Human Experiments in Germany's concentration Camps just to learn that a few years later, the same thing goes on Here!"

If I say anything else I'm risking spoilers! :P

But Watch this One!!! It's Worth a second, third and even a Forth Watch in the Theaters! :thumbsup:

1st May 2010, 11:56 AM
Another scene that I loved which showed us the mental Climate of Ted:

He has a dream where he comes home from work, and sees what his wife (In the dream its the inmate Rachel) has done, and the way he reacts to it!

Him Mind Clearly Regrets what He really did, so tries to blind him from that memory with what he should've done (which isn't the right thing to do either, but that's the genius of it! When a loved one exhibits this sort of "behavior", What the hell do u do?) He just says: "you know i could get into trouble for this?"

and helps her clean up! His remorse for what happened is so powerful that it makes him wish that he had just gone alone with it! :clap:

But more than that, what hit me was the thought: What would I do if I was in his situation? Do what he actually did, or just do what his mind is trying to make him believe on some level? :oops2:

1st May 2010, 12:14 PM
yEn, engaLa ellaam kEtka maateengalaa?? Only pandithars? :twisted:

Kidding aside, last weekend theater varaikkum pOittu thirumbi vandhuttEn. Show-E illai, maththa mokkai padam paakka interest-um illai :oops:

Gaaru is much more of a pandithar than I am.. :poke:

Feddy asked because I'm a big Polanski fan. No, I haven't watched it. Dvd rip isn't out yet..

1st May 2010, 12:18 PM
yEn, engaLa ellaam kEtka maateengalaa?

UthamarAsA

Senthil: sister (Kushboo) naan solradhai kEttA..
GM: yEn sister kitte dhaan solveengaLA...brother enga kitte solla mAtteengaLA ?

2nd May 2010, 01:38 AM
Nerd, naangellam yengg bachelorss, ninga kudumbasthar!!. why distabanssnu than :P.

3rd May 2010, 07:07 AM
Iron Man 2

When I saw the trailer, I thought, "oh no, another Transformer", orey visual effects kasamusa. Erkanave I lowered the expectation, now I lowered it somemore.

But yesterday, I walked out pretty satisfied. It's still awesome. And it began with AC/DC's Shoot to Kill, and end with the same band's Highway To Hell, that itself makes up for the shortcomings. I loved it and wife wants a second round.

Minus point: The whole Avengers thingy tinikkapattatu athuvum....(PR's attention)....Scarlett Johansson :hammer: ...getting her to play superheroine in tights is like getting Randy Quaid play James Bond :evil:

Note: Mulling....why not give RDJ an Oscar nomination for this movie? Why not???

3rd May 2010, 03:55 PM
Revolutionary Road

One of the best movies I have seen in a long time.

DiCaprio & Winslet :clap:
Sam Mendes :bow:

3rd May 2010, 09:19 PM
Grouchss, How was Mick rourke in the film?.

Appu s
3rd May 2010, 09:54 PM
Three kings :thumbsup:

4th May 2010, 02:57 AM
I was just going through my favorite scenes in Inglorious Basterds.

Fav Scene #4: The French Pub Scene.

So far the story is that the British Lt, and Two other members of Aldo The Apache's "Special Team" have orders to meet a Famous German Film Actress, Von Hammersmack, who interestingly enough, is a Spy for the British. She has some important things to discuss with "The Inglorious Basterds" and the undercover British Lt. The three dress up as SS Officers to meet the German Actress in an isolated French Pub.

The Cover Is: The Trio of Upperclassmen of the Nazi Hierarchy, Officers of the SS (2 Lt's aka Obersturmfuehrer, and a Capt. aka Hauptsturmfuhrer) want to meet the clearly Larger than Life Celebrity Fruehling Von Hammersmark. This Isolated Pub might've been Chosen for a reason for a meeting attended by someone as dynamic as Fruehling Von Hammersmark.

As the Three Enter, they are surpriced to find several Enlisted Men. Why are there German Soldiers in This Pub? Is it a Coincidence? If so, one must exhibit behavior which shows Calmness and Normal Body Language, Normal means, Normal for an SS Officer. This should include the exhibition of certain traits.
*Superiority for Example.

If it is not a coincidence, then it means that tlhet've been Duped. Should they draw their weapons and blow their cover?

This is where the Scene Begins! With a setting like this, it is very hard for the following scene to go wrong. and the following pub scene is one of my fav scenes in movies of all time! The tension is gripping, and could be cur with a knife! Excellent Narration!

4th May 2010, 07:40 AM
Grouchss, How was Mick rourke in the film?.Opening scene we see his dying dad, and Vodka swigging Mickey by the deathbed. And after brief dialogues, father dies, leaving the grieving Rourke....and lump on Grouch's throat and this is supposed to be comic book movie. Ivaru enggeyoo epothoo poyirukkavendiyavaru...but never mind, he's back. They say he's playing the lead in John Millius' upcoming Ghengiz Khan...if its true, than I can't wait. This man could have been one of the greatest, but it's not too late.

Kambar_Kannagi
4th May 2010, 01:00 PM
Iron Man 2

When I saw the trailer, I thought, "oh no, another Transformer", orey visual effects kasamusa. Erkanave I lowered the expectation, now I lowered it somemore.

But yesterday, I walked out pretty satisfied. It's still awesome. And it began with AC/DC's Shoot to Kill, and end with the same band's Highway To Hell, that itself makes up for the shortcomings. I loved it and wife wants a second round.

Naanum pArthEn... Agree but I still prefer the first version... :)

Minus point: The whole Avengers thingy tinikkapattatu athuvum....(PR's attention)....Scarlett Johansson :hammer: ...getting her to play superheroine in tights is like getting Randy Quaid play James Bond :evil:

Thinikapatta mAthiri enakku therla. Thats the whole point of the this second version, isn't it...
Yeah, Charlize Theron would have been good. 8-)

Note: Mulling....why not give RDJ an Oscar nomination for this movie? Why not???

He got his own style, I say... I liked his Sherlock Holmes... :D

P.S Gerard butler is another cool actor... Both are going places... :clap:

AravindMano
6th May 2010, 10:35 AM
Julie & Julia. Movie is very average but Meryl Streep is awesome.

8th May 2010, 12:55 PM
Shakespeare In Love - Awesome Romantic Comedy...

8th May 2010, 04:08 PM
Bedtime Stories - Adam Sandler
Saturday afternoon timepass

8th May 2010, 04:22 PM
Started to watch American Pie last night. Finished it, then went on to American Pie II, then went on to American Wedding, Then I got bored of the "Stifflerness" and watched Shakespear in Love, then I went to sleep, and today I watched American Pie: Band Camp, American Pie: Beta House, American Pie: The Naked Mile, now I'm going to sleep, and watch American Pie: The Book Of Love after I wake up. :P

God I Love those American Pie Movies! :lol:

And Hate These Occasional Vetti Weekends with nothing to do! :x

AravindMano
9th May 2010, 11:24 PM
Whisky. Charming film. I don't remember how I landed up on this one (think it won a prize at Cannes), watched it sometime last year and picked it up again now and enjoyed it as much as I did the first time.

The way the film is shot (almost in every shot the objects on the screen are symmetric) and actors are pure delight. Hilarious and affecting. People who don't like ambiguous ending, please stay away.

10th May 2010, 03:27 PM
well i m dying to watch invictus.....really that film has got my attention

tamizharasan
10th May 2010, 11:22 PM
An education. Excellent movie. Not even single scene in the movie looked odd.
Carey Mulligan: Great acting and she should have won the oscar for this movie. Honestly Sandra bullock strong lobby helped among oscar voters. It is very hard to believe someone at the age 24 gave such a remarkable and matured performance. She is creating lot of expectations.

11th May 2010, 12:02 PM
China Town-the 1974 Roman Polanski film with Jack Nichalson and Faye Dunway.

Boy,was it engaging!Just held me to my chair for more than 2 hours.

For a thriller,there is very less action and too much conversation.But the way the film grows on you has to be felt.Highly recommended.

13th May 2010, 12:18 PM
On the Waterfront-1954 brando movie.

A done to death story elevated by the setting,script and execution by Elia kazan.

Brando was good but was more impressed by the supporting cast esp the one who played the priest.

Somehow went on imagining Kamal in Brando's role and how he would have electrified the screen with his presence and how he would have played the role.

Next:"Street Car named desire" by the same Brando/Kazan team.

narayanan
13th May 2010, 04:35 PM
Revolutionary Road

One of the best movies I have seen in a long time.

DiCaprio & Winslet :clap:
Sam Mendes :bow:

I liked this movie too. Bit too touching though :(

14th May 2010, 07:12 AM
Marley & Me

John Grogan:A dog has no use for fancy cars, big homes, or designer clothes. A water log stick will do just fine. A dog doesn't care if your rich or poor, clever or dull, smart or dumb. Give him your heart and he'll give you his. How many people can you say that about? How many people can make you feel rare and pure and special? How many people can make you feel extraordinary?

ரொம்ப நாளைக்கு அப்புறம் ஒரு படம் ஊன் வரை சென்று தொட்டதென்றால் அது "Marley & Me". கடைசி இருபது நிமிடங்கள் தொண்டையெல்லாம் அடைத்து, கண்ணில் நீர் தட்டி... படம் பார்த்து அரை மணி நேரமாவது depressive state-க்கு அழைத்து சென்று விட்டது Marley . நாய்கள் மேல் எனக்கு இதுவரை இல்லாத பாசம், இந்தப் படத்தின் மூலம் அதிகம் கூடிவிட்டது. Owen Wilson - Jennifer Aniston இருவருக்கும் இடையே மலரும் பிணைப்பும் அழகான முறையில் சித்தரிக்கப் பட்டிருக்கிறது.

இயக்குனர் David Frankel-க்கு :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Kambar_Kannagi
14th May 2010, 09:40 AM
ரொம்ப நாளைக்கு அப்புறம் ஒரு படம் ஊன் வரை சென்று தொட்டதென்றால் அது "Marley & Me". கடைசி இருபது நிமிடங்கள் தொண்டையெல்லாம் அடைத்து, கண்ணில் நீர் தட்டி... படம் பார்த்து அரை மணி நேரமாவது depressive state-க்கு அழைத்து சென்று விட்டது Marley .

நானும் அழுது விட்டேன். :oops:

Those who have pets can relate to this movie even more. Touching indeed. :)

15th May 2010, 11:56 AM
Yes.. A heartwarming movie which will leave you speechless for the last 30 minutes.

15th May 2010, 12:10 PM
INVICTUS..

Awesome.. Freeman as Mandela and Matt Damon as Francois Pienaar are stunning. Definitely a movie to watch! Has the film been released in India?

15th May 2010, 12:11 PM
INVICTUS..

Awesome.. Freeman as Freeman and Matt Damon as Francois Pienaar are stunning. Definitely a movie to watch! Has the film been released in India?

Corrected.

15th May 2010, 12:23 PM
Oh.. Sorry.. I'Ve still not come out of the movie I guess.. :wink:

No no. I think Freeman plays himself over and over again. I was seeing Freeman in every frame and not Mandela. I know this is pretty lame to bring up, but can't help..

15th May 2010, 12:24 PM
K_G?

You didn't like Freeman's portrayal of Mandela eh?

15th May 2010, 12:29 PM
It's not question of not liking. But it's just that Freeman's interpretation seems uniform, regardless of the kind of roles. Maybe he was always destined to play Mandela, but the kind of pristine, honorable demeanor, the "gravitas" or what have you, is amply evident in his earlier roles & his own personality, that eventually one finds nothing different in Mandela role. He kind of mimes the accent to differ a bit. But even that didn't help. In my case..

15th May 2010, 12:40 PM
But who else would've been more suitable to play the role?

Danny glover?

15th May 2010, 12:47 PM
Would have preferred a new face, but seeing that it's Freeman who wanted to make the film & pushed the script to Eastwood, it's futile to speculate..

Stiglitz
15th May 2010, 01:12 PM
Just got the opportunity to watch "The Pianist"

Roman Polanski is a freaggin Genius!! :clap: Few directors have the talent to Physically Remove the Audience from the current era and send them back to the era of the film.

Felt like I was an invisible spectator in Warsaw after the Nazi Invasion! :clap: :clap:

A few aspects of the movie which really touched me:

The War is Over... The Germans are retreating, and Wilm Hosenfeld played by Kretschmann, stands on the streets of Warsaw, looking at the destruction which the Germans are solely responsible for... It always interests me to think what will be going through the minds of a German Soldier or SS Officer at that point.

And more than any other aspect of the film....the main reason why I loved this film so much is because it kind of shows what a Nazi is thinking at this point of the war, after the entry of Wilm Hosenfeld. :clap:

The war had started with so much of Enthusiasm and Unquestionable Certainty of Victory under Hitler. The end of the war was supposed to result in: "More land for German Expansion, A German Population which is Hyper Patriotic, Nationalistic, Sophisticated, and Of Course, the Superior Group in Europe when it comes to Culture, Heritage, Genetics etc etc."

Such an elaborate Vision, and it seemed like any sacrifice was Justified for the Accomplishment of this Vision for a Great Germany.

Now...the war is over, everything has backfired, Germany faces another possible "Treaty Of Versille" which might make their economy Plummit into Oblivion once more...Not to mention the "Subconscious state of Germans involved in the War." Espicially Members of The SS which took care of most of the "Dirty Work" The Army was more into fighting The Allies than killing Jews. The SS took care of that mostly. What's going his mind at this point? Feelings of Overwhelming Guilt, Sorrow, Depression, Fear, and Regret. At this point, a German Captain, enters Szpilman's Life:

After just gazing at the destruction, The German Hapstrumfurher (Captain), runs into Szpilman inside the villa in which Szpilman has been 'Surviving.' Szpilman is trying to open a can of veges, and is caught by the Captain. The Captain with so much of....guilt...sympathy....astonishment... expressed through his eyes asks Szpilman to play the Piano after learning that he is a Pianist.

The German Captain listens, expressionless. The pale
moonlight shows him to be a handsome, elegant man.

Szpilman finishes playing.

Silence.

Somewhere, a cat mews. Distant burst of rifle fire.

The German Captain stares at Szpilman. After a moment:

THE GERMAN CAPTAIN
Are you hiding here?

Szpilman nods.

THE GERMAN CAPTAIN
Juden?

Long pause. Szpilman just stares at him.

THE GERMAN CAPTAIN
Where are you hiding?

SZPILMAN
(in German)
In the attic.

THE GERMAN CAPTAIN
Show me.

in the last 2 days, I've seen this movie 5 times. :clap:

My List for Best Nazi Movies now goes like this:

1. Downfall

2. Schindler's List

3. The Pianist

4. American History X

5. Valkyrie (I like this movie, but not that much because it is a little Bias. The Charecter played by Tom Cruise "Colonel Claus Von Stauffenberg" is shown to be this Catalyst who will stop all of these Injustices done to the JEWS by Hitler's SS, and stop Germany from Economic Destruction etc, but in reality, Stauffenberg was an Anti-Semite!! Which is never mentioned anywhere in the movie at all. Sure, he didn't believe in Exterminating Jews from the Face of Europe! But he did believe in "Keeping them in their place" and posing Economic and Cultural Restrictions on them. The movie conviniently forgot about that aspect of The German Army Colonel. :roll:

6. The Rise of Evil (Historically Inacurate, and full of Biased Anti-Nazi Material, not a good source for History, but still quite an interesting watch.)

7. Saving Private Ryan - A good movie from an American Soldier's Perspective. :)

I don't want to include movies like "the Dirty Dozen" or "Inglorious Basterds" because they're not really History...

More ever, I like movies which explore the Psycological Aspects and Mental Climate of the Nazis in various points of the existence of the National Socialist ideology...

There any other good Nazi Movies? Please lemme know.... :)

15th May 2010, 01:49 PM
American History X is American neo-Nazi, and much different from a Nazi film.

Stiglitz
15th May 2010, 02:58 PM
American History X is American neo-Nazi, and much different from a Nazi film.

It's still a Nazi Film, just not a film abt German Nazis. Neo-Nazis are still Nazis.

Stiglitz
15th May 2010, 03:04 PM
What's the name of this movie?

2 Jews get married, the next day they are moved to Concentration Camps. After the war is over, they find eachother again....My frnd told me this story, but couldn't recall the name. He said its a good movie.

Appu s
16th May 2010, 12:57 PM
[.REC] good :thumbsup:

Prabo
16th May 2010, 05:46 PM
Murder by Death - Nice spoof over murder mystery movies and characters. Enjoyable :D

18th May 2010, 03:34 AM
Food Inc. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Food,_Inc) :thumbsup:

Must watch for people living in America.

Prabo
18th May 2010, 05:29 PM
ரொம்ப நாளைக்கு அப்புறம் ஒரு படம் ஊன் வரை சென்று தொட்டதென்றால் அது "Marley & Me". கடைசி இருபது நிமிடங்கள் தொண்டையெல்லாம் அடைத்து, கண்ணில் நீர் தட்டி... படம் பார்த்து அரை மணி நேரமாவது depressive state-க்கு அழைத்து சென்று விட்டது Marley .

Then you might like 8 below & Hachiko too :)

19th May 2010, 12:14 PM
A street car named desire:I generally do not prefer watching so called social films in English,i.e the ones which deal with romance,relationships etc.

This one is as social as it gets but it kept me engaged though it was made 59 years back.

Marlon Brando was so damn impressive that it was difficult to take eyes off him.The supporting cast was equally good with Kim hunter playing the wife and karl Maden as his friend.

Viven Leigh in the other most important role as Blanche was grating to start with exaggerated body language and lyrical dialogues but got used to it as I saw a method in her madness.

The climax was intriguing with answers left to the audience to interpret.

19th May 2010, 12:54 PM
Sherlock Holmes.

Awesome making. Terrific BGM score. Expecting the sequel soon...

Rumour is that Brad Pitt is a part of the sequel..

Appu s
19th May 2010, 09:24 PM
Sherlock Holmes.

I read that they have approached Brad pit for that prof.moriarty role for the sequel...

tamizharasan
20th May 2010, 12:32 AM
Sherlock Holmes.

Great show. I loved that movie. Very engaging and entertaining also.
BTW I liked your signature. Hans zimmer is the one who did BGM for gladiator right?

20th May 2010, 08:45 AM
Yes..

Gladiator, Mission Impossible 2, Pirates of the Caribbean, Dark Knight are some of other notable works. He also won an academy award for 'The Lion King'.

21st May 2010, 07:02 AM
No no. I think Freeman plays himself over and over again.Finally. We have a classic Pasupathi scenario here. :|

Kambar_Kannagi
21st May 2010, 08:51 AM

Then you might like 8 below & Hachiko too :)

Yeah, 8 Below really moved me. Yet to watch Hachiko. :)

21st May 2010, 09:10 PM
Primal Fear .

Ed norton`s first movie, simply superb. Even though we can guess climax. The movie was superb. Norton was amazing.

22nd May 2010, 05:23 PM
Have been hearing and reading about Akira Kurosawa from donkey's years but had not created an opportunity for myself to watch any of his works.Set about changing that by watching two of his movies back to back-Yojimbo and The Seven Samurai.

Tells a lot about the film maker if his works can leave an impression 50 to 55 years after it was made.

If the nonchalant acting by Toshira Mifune,the cinematography and the cleverness of the script were the strengths of Yojimbo,Seven Samurai deserves every bit of it's classic status.At 3 and a quarter hours it's a long film but the way the film is told,the sets,the choice of cast,the technical aspects were just amazing.

BTW,a question-is "The Magnificent Seven" a retold version of the 7 Samurai?

22nd May 2010, 06:34 PM
Shrek forever after..

Good one.. These animation films, offlate, have succeeded in bringing normal human issues to screen. In this film, Shrek is struck by boredom caused by the normal mechanical life and tries to do something different which lands him in deep trouble.

24th May 2010, 07:09 AM
It Might Get Loud.

Finally got the DVD. Could have been awesome, if not for Jack White. Supposed to be about electric guitar. The Guitar kadavul talked about the era and the influences behind the emergence of the monster called Led Zeppelin. The Edge talked about his style and the sound of U2. White just talked, I am not sure about what but he's so uninteresting. All I know the White Stripes sound like Led Zep wannabe.

Then, there was one part where during discussion, Page strapped on his guitar and played the opening riff of Whole Lotta Love. The Edge looked like poor man who won lottery and didn't know what to do with it. Amazed and loss. White looked like spurned kid. Highly recommended for rock fans. Bala, partacha?

25th May 2010, 12:02 PM
No Country for Old men:I have to admit that the ending left me totally shocked and flustered.Used as we are to seeing movies which provide a definitive closure,this was difficult to digest.

In fact I spent some time analyzing why it ended the way it did and giving myself a closure for all charcters :D

The Coen brothers must have some audacity to finish things like that.

Otherwise,it's a gripping movie,got me totally involved.

25th May 2010, 12:07 PM
The Kingdom..

A thriller in the lines of Hurt Locker and Green Zone. Watchable....

Appu s
25th May 2010, 02:16 PM
Burn after reading, cant say a laugh riot film, the way they put the scenes together is commendable,it evokes laugh. watchable...

Appu s
25th May 2010, 02:18 PM
The Kingdom..

A thriller in the lines of Hurt Locker and Green Zone. Watchable....
Ajay Bro,you can add Three kings,it is good one too :D

25th May 2010, 02:48 PM
i'Ve not watched it.. It had the same team of 'perfect storm', right?

Appu s
25th May 2010, 04:40 PM
i'Ve not watched it.. It had the same team of 'perfect storm', right?except clooney and wahlberg nothing common in both movies i think.i said three kings also have US base in gulf,iraq.after gulf war 4 US soldiers tried to steal kuwaiti gold frm iraqi. Interesting movie.watch it.

25th May 2010, 04:50 PM
Namma Pioneer Muthula release aanadhaa nyabagam... :)

Appu s
25th May 2010, 08:02 PM
Namma Pioneer Muthula release aanadhaa nyabagam... :)
ohh :D anga oru eng. padathaium miss panrathu illa pola :yessir:

25th May 2010, 08:23 PM
More or less... Ippothaan Adhu vera maadhiri theatre ayiduche!

26th May 2010, 10:32 AM
There Will be Blood:A very arresting film charting a 3 decade period in the life of an oil prospector played brilliantly by Daniel Day Lewis.

What stuck me about the film was the scathing attack on the church and evangelism.

Don't think scenes or dialogues like that will even get through the censor forget a release, here.Namma dhaan democratic,secular country Aache!

26th May 2010, 10:38 AM
Like your commentary on all these films, Cinefan. Keep it coming. TWBB is my favorite American Mainstream film of the last decade. Of course, I do realize it isn't everyone's tea-cup. Glad that you fancy a sip, or a gulp more like !

26th May 2010, 10:39 AM
Here's the thread for the filmmaker who made TWBB:

http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=13997

My gushing praise for TWBB here:

http://www.imdb.com/user/ur22480757/comments

I'm dying to write a better one. This film deserves more engagement.

26th May 2010, 10:55 AM
Thanks k-g.have been wanting to see this film for 3 years now,did that only yesterday.Have heard about Magnolia and Punch Drunk love too but had no exposure to Paul Thomas Anderson.The link helped.

Films like TWBB require a different attitude to appreciate and yes it's not everyone's cup of tea.

Frankly,am enjoying a brief period of bachelorhood for the first time in 9 years and am making the most of it reading and watching movies.3 more days to go for this to come to an end. :D

26th May 2010, 11:02 AM
Haha. :thumbsup:

jinju
26th May 2010, 11:03 AM
There Will be Blood:A very arresting film charting a 3 decade period in the life of an oil prospector played brilliantly by Daniel Day Lewis.

What stuck me about the film was the scathing attack on the church and evangelism.

Don't think scenes or dialogues like that will even get through the censor forget a release, here.Namma dhaan democratic,secular country Aache!

wat a ferfo...wat dialogues...wat a filim...!

it's been sometime, thanks cinefan, am having a revisit ASAP! :P

26th May 2010, 11:05 AM
Gangs of New York..

Tamizh revenge drama paatha oru feel.. :-(

Watchable 4 Daniel Day-Lewis..

jinju
26th May 2010, 11:08 AM
Burn after reading, cant say a laugh riot film, the way they put the scenes together is commendable,it evokes laugh. watchable...

have got the dvd with me but never got around to watching it all this while...don't know why :? !

k_g, anyone else here, have shared their thoughts on this one?

26th May 2010, 11:33 AM

have got the dvd with me but never got around to watching it all this while...don't know why :? !

There's a Coens thread.

http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=12045

26th May 2010, 11:34 AM
Gangs of New York..

Tamizh revenge drama paatha oru feel.. :-(

Watchable 4 Daniel Day-Lewis..

:thumbsup: the best part of DDL is this character is an entirely different animal to Daniel Plainview in TWBB. There aren't that many actors who could create two diverse characters even if both share intemperate, rustic, violent tendencies..

I think Gangs makes a bit more sense if you consider the history of violence that New york had seen, before it transformed to a fully cosmopolitan - still the irony being that there are "Mean streets" where gang violence and mob rivalry pervades, the "Goodfellas" exist. What makes 1860's different from 1990's is that it especially takes into focus the Irish immigration and Civil war put into right context. The roots of these crime families are directly linked to the immigration and initial formation of gangs, that has rippled to modern day.

He made "The Age of Innocence", also starring DDL (as a remarkably different character to this), timelined little later and was focussed on Upper crust affluents of New york.

Scorsese till date sees New york as many different worlds, and some of it as unexplored. Here's an interesting interview where he discuses with Woody allen on New York (Woody is very evasive mind you):

On New York

Scorsese: Your New York is alien to me. When Barbara Hershey in ''Hannah and Her Sisters'' says, ''I have to go get my teeth cleaned,'' I mean, I also go. But it was, like, What are you talking about? She's going to get her teeth cleaned, O.K., that's an everyday thing. And it's on the corner of Madison and somewhere, and wow, it's a whole other world. And it's a very interesting thing for me, it's a little journey each time. I come from way downtown, in the Italian-American area, which is no longer. They have boutiques there now, artists and stuff.

Allen: I never think of depicting New York. If I didn't live in New York and wanted all the convenience of living at home and working near my home and all of that, I could make a movie elsewhere. That wouldn't bother me.

Scorsese: I made ''Age of Innocence'' because I wanted to learn more about old New York. I don't think I could have done an E. M. Forster novel.

Allen: I'm sure the fact that it was New York put you at ease.

Scorsese: It was very interesting to see if I could actually direct a different world. I grew up watching films by John Ford and by Orson Welles and by Preston Sturges, and I wanted to be more like them, but I came out of a different world. When I went to L.A. in the beginning, I wanted to make a western, a musical. And I made a musical, ''New York, New York,'' and it was so grim. What I probably had in mind to do was not ''The Band Wagon'' by Vincente Minnelli but ''The Man I Love'' by Raoul Walsh. And I crashed the two together. On top of that, the fascination I have with the improvisations, the way Cassavetes was doing films. And it was like a car crash.

Allen: But interesting. It turns out not to be a grim musical, really, it's an interesting musical because of those two disparate strains that are driving you forward.

Scorsese: It was a way, I thought, of reinventing the musical genre. We were doing that a lot in the 70's. I mean ''McCabe and Mrs. Miller'' is a western, but it evolves into something else. I remember Coppola telling us that you can't be that way, that the genre has a certain form and that you have to stick to that form. And I think, ultimately, he was right to a certain extent. But the things we were doing reflected a different time.

All said, one couldn't quite forgive "Gangs.." for its poorly paced structure (some events are visibly forced to define the characters - but no amount of defining mattered in scheme of things. All schemed out to be a "revenge" saga by its end. But even the events themselves were less interesting and less engaging. Something one never complains of his Italian-American films) and its shortcomings.

It also has bad casting mistakes (Hard to buy Leo's acting - he has considerable improved since, marked improvement in "The Aviator", gradually improved in "The Departed" and his best yet in "Shutter Island") and being a non-QT Weinstein production, it showed in the end.

jinju
26th May 2010, 11:40 AM
thanks kid...

26th May 2010, 12:05 PM
There are threads for Scorsese & Woody Allen too.

jinju
26th May 2010, 12:18 PM
There are threads for Scorsese & Woody Allen too.
scorsese ya, love him(who doesn't)!...i was in that thread last week n posted that Hindu article:D !

i've seen the number of woody allen fans here, and tho i stand the risk of offending them, i honestly say am a woody allen illiterate! stumbled on to vicky christina barcelona for the love towards javier bardem's work, and ya liked it..am now in the process of searching for woody allen's best works thanks to the thread :) !

26th May 2010, 12:30 PM
Btw if you dig Javier Bardem, he won best actor Cannes for Innaritu's Biutiful.

Innariu Gonzalez-Javier Bardem - now that's a dream combination for me.

Innaritu's "Biutiful" is not officially regarded a continuation of "Death trilogy", minimalist, and less "worldly" - it very much fixates its location. Guillermo Arriaga isn't involved.

Themes do remind a bit of 25th hour - shot by this film's DP.

Kambar_Kannagi
26th May 2010, 12:46 PM
The Losers :sigh2:

jinju
26th May 2010, 01:32 PM
Btw if you dig Javier Bardem, he won best actor Cannes for Innaritu's Biutiful.

Innariu Gonzalez-Javier Bardem - now that's a dream combination for me.

Innaritu's "Biutiful" is not officially regarded a continuation of "Death trilogy", minimalist, and less "worldly" - it very much fixates its location. Guillermo Arriaga isn't involved.

Themes do remind a bit of 25th hour - shot by this film's DP.

yeah heard that he got the award... :clap:

innarritu is also one of my favorites! had read that arriaga and innarritu had some differences after Babel....is that the reason they aren't working together anymore?

Appu s
26th May 2010, 09:57 PM
Ronin - Good timepass :thumbsup: Car chasing scenes are breathtaking. picturization of chasing scenes in the streets of city called Nice. :thumbsup:

Appu s
26th May 2010, 09:59 PM

Compared to other Coen bro's movies i have seen,this one is my least fav. now.IIRC Ajithfederer and Bala(k) liked the movie very much here...

26th May 2010, 10:17 PM
Jinju,

Oh, was it a rift between Innaritu and Arriaga? Creative differences possibly? Thats news to me.

27th May 2010, 08:19 AM
Appu,

Ronin was acclaimed for its chasing scenes.. But for a gr8 starcast, the movie was a letdown IMO.

27th May 2010, 10:41 AM
Ronin - anytime rewatchable movie for me. At that time, it was a treat for De Niro fans who wanted to see him in direct action films. Plus Frankenheimer making it up for the absence of car chase in The French Connection II. "What's in the case?" :D

Appu s
27th May 2010, 02:39 PM
Appu,

Ronin was acclaimed for its chasing scenes.. But for a gr8 starcast, the movie was a letdown IMO.
Agreed, but the casting is perfect IMO.De niro and jeno acted well, the plot is not much interesting.. Niro as action hero is a treat :D

Prabo
27th May 2010, 03:26 PM
Punch Drunk Love - Excellent :thumbsup:

27th May 2010, 05:17 PM
Throne of Blood(titled Kumonosu-jo meaning spider web castle in japanese):My third Kurosawa movie in the last week and the least impressive.

Before anybody gets me wrong,it's not a bad film but compared to the ones I saw last week,the flaws were visible.

For a 1 hr 40 min movie,the pacing in the first 50 minutes was a problem,there were times when I wanted to cut the scene and move on.

The most in-the face-problem was the casting of the woman(Isuzu yamada) who played the crucial part of Washizu's(played by Mifune) wife.She is the catalyst who gets things moving in a particular direction and she is supposed to be a very well known actress but looked expressionless with pathetic body language and voice modulation.She also looked older and ghostly.

I wanted to shake her up and tell her to please match Mifune who was excellent.

The last half hour was very good with the action choreography in the climax where Washizu is cornered by arrows being stunning.

Once again felt the cinematography was top rate.Seems to be a feature of Kurosawa's movies.

All in all a film where the great Akira Kurosawa looked mortal.

27th May 2010, 07:26 PM
Hitch - started of well, but the last 20 minutes were meh. Decent watch.

AravindMano
27th May 2010, 07:47 PM
Cinefan - A previous discussion about the actress.

The lady who acted as Macbeth :lol: yeRkanave moonju konjam izhuththu vechchu thechchaa maadhri irukku. Idhula she wears one stiff expression through out. Andhamma odradhu nadakkaradhu ukkaarradhu ellaame :lol: costume vera innoru oru periya comedy. tailor indha ammavoda height-ku alter paNRadhukku munnaadiyae kudhichchu odi vantaanga pola.

It is representative of a Japanese theatre style called: "Noh (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noh)". Its speciality is acting with a fixed/minal expression.

27th May 2010, 08:00 PM
Punch Drunk Love - Excellent :thumbsup:
Romba naalaa in the to be watched list. THanks for reminding :-)

28th May 2010, 08:23 AM
Sukiyaki Western Django - Idhellam Naanga Yojimbolayae paathutom

Tarantino, Quentin :rotfl2:

28th May 2010, 06:48 PM
Stepfather..

Another psycho thriller. Would love to see movies of same genre in Tamil.

28th May 2010, 06:54 PM
O'Quinn's performance in the original 80's film, is one to top ! I'd be surprised if the remake is half as good.

Prabo
28th May 2010, 08:12 PM
Nine Queens - Smart and very cool movie. Acting is good too. Liked it very much. This reminded 'Matchstick man' which is another entertaining movie. Nicolas cage condition in this movie :lol:

28th May 2010, 10:46 PM
I have seen the following Pacino films..

Godfather trilogy
Any given sunday
The Recruit
Scent of a woman.

Any other movie(s) that u guys recommend?

28th May 2010, 10:50 PM
Heat with robert de niro

Dog day afternoon
Serpico (he comes as Frank serpico) - Both directed by Sidney Lumet.

Scar face
Carlito's way
Insomnia is good. Directed by Chris Nolan

29th May 2010, 02:02 AM
Heat with robert de niro

Dog day afternoon

Scar face
Carlito's way

+

Devil`s advocate
Donnie Brasco
Glengary Glen ross , more of Jack lemmon movie.

29th May 2010, 02:05 AM
Nine Queens - Smart and very cool movie. Acting is good too. Liked it very much. This reminded 'Matchstick man' which is another entertaining movie. Nicolas cage condition in this movie :lol:

Heard his final movie of Nine queens was also good, El Aura. Yet to watch though.

Stiglitz
29th May 2010, 08:00 AM
Heat with robert de niro

Dog day afternoon

Scar face
Carlito's way

:shock: I didn't know it was CN! No wonder it was so good :)

29th May 2010, 08:21 AM

Godfather trilogy
Any given sunday
The Recruit
Scent of a woman.

Watch Carlito's way - mass movie/performance.

Dog day afternoon - superb performance

Donnie Brasco - another great performance[Usually we get to see Pacino as an invincible.Here we see him in a different light and he was awesome in this movie]

Stiglitz
29th May 2010, 08:47 AM
there are few Al Pacino movies to avoid however...

Dick Tracy is one of them. :P

My personal Pacino favs:

Heat
Carlito's Way
Insomnia
Oceans 13
Scarface
Donnie Brasco
Scent of a Woman
The Godfathers
and ofcourse....Say Hello To My Lil Frnd!!! :twisted: :shoot: Scarface.

29th May 2010, 09:09 AM

Heard his final movie of Nine queens was also good, El Aura. Yet to watch though.

Both the films are great in their own ways. There's so much energy in his films, a kinetic bravura so to speak. If the first one was starkly urban, the second is lush woods, yet both are presented the perfect landscape for sordid avarice. I especially like the lead actor in both the films.

Pity the filmmaker died after just two films.

jinju
29th May 2010, 09:20 AM

Godfather trilogy
Any given sunday
The Recruit
Scent of a woman.

Watch Carlito's way - mass movie/performance.

Dog day afternoon - superb performance

Donnie Brasco - another great performance[Usually we get to see Pacino as an invincible.Here we see him in a different light and he was awesome in this movie]

a role the man can do even if u've just woken him up from his sleep...'a favor's gonna kill u faster than a bullet" wah re wah :notworthy:

jinju
29th May 2010, 09:23 AM

this is the one they remade in hindi as Bluffmaster, na...and later in malayalam as Gulumaal...haven't watched the original, remakes-e ivlo enjoyableaa irukku na, original shud b nonstop fun!

29th May 2010, 09:27 AM
Carlito's way, Heat, Scent of a woman, and Scarface - Pacino's method is a bit overdoing, I have to say. But I still found him enjoyable in all these films.

His best performance is The Godfather, undoubtedly. Dog Day Afternoon and Serpico - Lumet gets the best out of him, very subtle despite the intense situations his characters are put into..

29th May 2010, 09:34 AM
Carlito's way, Heat, Scent of a woman, and Scarface - Pacino's method is a bit overdoing, I have to say.

I accept for these three films. But Carlitos way , I dint find it that way.He was just perfect in that role.

In Heat - Deniro rocked right from his silent opening scene - coolly walking out of the train. Pacino looked little old and also a bit overdoing.

But Carlitos way - only pacino can do that.

29th May 2010, 09:38 AM

this is the one they remade in hindi as Bluffmaster, na...and later in malayalam as Gulumaal...haven't watched the original, remakes-e ivlo enjoyableaa irukku na, original shud b nonstop fun!

As well,Nine queen was remade in English as criminal.

29th May 2010, 09:45 AM
A bit of a nitpick from my part, I admit. but still I enjoy all his films.

I agree that Pacino is closest fit to Puerto-Rican and Cuban convict.

Stiglitz
29th May 2010, 09:49 AM

I thought Bluffmaster was a fusion between Ocean's 11 and The Game starring Micheal Douglass and Sean Penn. :?

There's one scene where even the dialouges are the same:

George Clooney: Does he make u Laugh?
Julia Roberts: He doesn't make me Cry.

Abishek Bachan: Does he make u laugh?
Priyanka Chopra: He doesn't make me Cry.

:?

Prabo
29th May 2010, 02:02 PM

I thought Bluffmaster was a fusion between Ocean's 11 and The Game starring Micheal Douglass and Sean Penn. :?

There's one scene where even the dialouges are the same:

George Clooney: Does he make u Laugh?
Julia Roberts: He doesn't make me Cry.

Abishek Bachan: Does he make u laugh?
Priyanka Chopra: He doesn't make me Cry.

:?

Bluffmaster is a mixture of Nine queens, Matchstick man and The Game with Nine Queens making style. I liked Bluffmaster too, excellent songs :clap:

Prabo
29th May 2010, 02:16 PM

Both the films are great in their own ways. There's so much energy in his films, a kinetic bravura so to speak. If the first one was starkly urban, the second is lush woods, yet both are presented the perfect landscape for sordid avarice. I especially like the lead actor in both the films.

Pity the filmmaker died after just two films.

I liked the conversation parts between the 2 cons, it always happen in busy places like road, coffee shop, hotel, etc with people moving around them busily but they go on with their plans. No private scheming, everything happens in a open space.

29th May 2010, 05:22 PM
Yes Prabo, there's a great visual montage accompanying Ricardo Darin's long dialogue of the state of scheming that pervades the streets of Buenos Aires, and that there are cons everywhere

All the while the other guy listens to him, as if he's just a novice trying to learn the trade from a pro - which is always the artifice of conning and to stay unsuspected - that one acts as if he is in no equanimity of the situation (that Darin's character embodies). In this respect the other guy's baby-face also works tremendously well !

Appu s
29th May 2010, 08:33 PM
Primal Fear .

Ed norton`s first movie, simply superb. Even though we can guess climax. The movie was superb. Norton was amazing.

Thanks for posting it here Balaji,superb movie. :2thumbsup:
Have u noticed that spanish song in the Background, our Deva used it here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cm3PqFOLRQM&feature=related) :P

here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N5y-g47gu78) is the original song,loved the way they using it in the movie :cool2:

30th May 2010, 09:22 AM
http://www.aj6.org/jpbo/108/page3.html

30th May 2010, 10:06 AM
Thanks for posting it here Balaji,superb movie. :2thumbsup:
Have u noticed that spanish song in the Background, our Deva used it here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cm3PqFOLRQM&feature=related) :P

here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N5y-g47gu78) is the original song,loved the way they using it in the movie :cool2:

Thanks for the link , siva. I didnt remembered the song , "oh Vennila" from kushi till I saw this original peice :lol: . Deva is a legend :notworthy: . Aasai engenthu copy pannaru :thinking:

30th May 2010, 06:24 PM
prince of persia
well amazing visuals,graphics...actions scenes r off high voltage..enjoyable film..but again u have sit through the usual hollywood cliches..enjoyable film(as it is as the game)... :)

31st May 2010, 06:59 AM
Robin Hood.

Who gives a rat's a** about Robin's origin. Plus, he's also behind Magna Carta? Gimme a break!!!

Other than that, Crowe and Cate makes this film watchable.

31st May 2010, 09:29 AM
Children of Heaven..

Finally grabbed a copy of this one.. Truly a masterpiece. Those 2 kids were stunning. After watching the movie, I browsed the net for more info on the movie and found out one which gave me a sleepless night.. Priyadarsan is remaking this one as 'Bum Bum Bole' with Darsheel Safary in the lead... Thank god! I watched COH before that hits the screen..

AravindMano
31st May 2010, 11:44 AM
Children of Heaven..

Finally grabbed a copy of this one.. Truly a masterpiece. Those 2 kids were stunning. After watching the movie, I browsed the net for more info on the movie and found out one which gave me a sleepless night.. Priyadarsan is remaking this one as 'Bum Bum Bole' with Darsheel Safary in the lead... Thank god! I watched COH before that hits the screen..

Ajaybaskar - Bum Bum Bole released two weeks before. It was unanimously termed 'pathetic' by reviews. I gather it has a terrorism 'angle' weaved into the original story.

31st May 2010, 11:55 AM
Oh.. Idhu veraya?

31st May 2010, 12:42 PM
Priyadarsan is remaking this one as 'Bum Bum Bole' with Darsheel Safary in the lead... Thank god! I watched COH before that hits the screen..
adhu paravAyillainga... pasanga CoH-a overtake pannittadha saaru sonnadha vidava? :lol2:

CoH was suprisingly dubbed very well by Star Vijay. Try to watch that version as well.

31st May 2010, 03:32 PM
Children of Heaven..

Ajaybaskar - Bum Bum Bole released two weeks before. It was unanimously termed 'pathetic' by reviews. I gather it has a terrorism 'angle' weaved into the original story. :yes: :lol:

31st May 2010, 08:41 PM
The Shawshank Redemption..

Should have watched the movie before reading the synopsis.. Lost the suspense and thrill of the climax. Wonder what made this film a dud at the BO and then attain the 'cult classic' status... It had all the ingredients of becoming a commercial success IMO..

Jyothsna
31st May 2010, 09:11 PM
Priyadarshan, CoH a romba naasthi pannitatha kelvi patean.. :Banghead: sila padangala ellam athu battuku irukkatum nu vittudanum..

Jyothsna
31st May 2010, 09:13 PM
The Shawshank Redemption..

Should have watched the movie before reading the synopsis.. Lost the suspense and thrill of the climax. Wonder what made this film a dud at the BO and then attain the 'cult classic' status... It had all the ingredients of becoming a commercial success IMO..

Excellent climax.. I liked Morgan Freeman's performance.

1st June 2010, 11:29 AM
The Third man:Simple,uncomplicated thriller which instead of keeping me on the edge of the seat left me with a light head and a smile on the face.But I liked that feeling,whoever said thrillers have to be tension filled.

Pace was fast,acting all around was good.Graham Greene :thumbsup: for the screen play.

Jackie Brown:QT :cool2: .Enjoyed the smart,colourful,expletive ridden dialogues and for the first time the songs in an English movie.Samual Jackson was excellent as Ordell Robbie and so was Pam grier(who is she?) in the title role.The guy who played Max cherry(Robert Forster) also was impressive.

The only disappointment was Robert De Niro in a role which I felt was underwhelming.

complicateur
1st June 2010, 12:54 PM
Heh! Cinefan DeNiro angled really hard for Forster's role when QT was casting but was turned down!

Caught Ironman 2. It was fun while it lasted. Plays realllly well to the geek gallery!

1st June 2010, 01:18 PM
About deniro's part in Jackie Brown, from an earlier discussion (http://tfmpage.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=1925557)..

QT wanted an actor who could render that role with body language. He sent over the script to Deniro & he immediately wanted to do it. QT had asked Deniro to have the body-language of a pile of old clothes for the part. :lol: In the sense, his character should be able to show nuance, its history. This character had been in jail for many years, and Deniro's performance is so great that the audience could make-out what he had been through & the past more often than not, shows up in one's demeanor. It also explains the levels of indifference & self-containment that Deniro's character is able to manufacture, against Jackson's girlfriend, played by Bridget Fonda. After QT's elucidation, I'm able to appreciate Bobby's part a bit more! :D

1st June 2010, 01:44 PM
k-g,I could see that.You felt here was a guy who is tired in life and is indifferent.But still could not accept someone like De Niro in that part.

To say nobody else could have done it that way except him is hypothetical.

1st June 2010, 02:05 PM
OF course, somebody else would have nailed it. Someone in the stature of Deniro doing such a tiny part is sacrilege to me, too. But Deniro wanted to act in as many movies as he could (as he was building TribeCa complex and film festival), he signed for QT's film with Weinstein company (who have produced all QT films) And they also had a much-publicized payment tussle while doing that film. Apparently, Deniro shouted at QT on-set, for not getting paid. A recently leaked telephone conversation (http://www.slashfilm.com/2008/09/26/leaked-weinstein-and-tarantino-regroup-after-de-niro-flip-out/) between QT and Harvey Weinstein (who I hate for shuffling around Scorsese like old-school studio mogul)

2nd June 2010, 11:24 AM
A recently leaked telephone conversation[/url] between QT and Harvey Weinstein :shock: News to me. Also learned about Midnight Run 2. Ippo ulla nelamaiyila, athu Midnight Stroll-a-taan irukka mudiyum. But then, in Righteous Kill De Niro looked, say, about 15 years younger.

avven
2nd June 2010, 01:05 PM
unthinkable - super padam :thumbsup:

2nd June 2010, 05:31 PM
the good,the bad and the ugly
one of the best movie i have evr seen...clint eastwood :notworthy: :thumbsup: ...namme heroes neraya perukku avarode influence irukku :)

5th June 2010, 06:36 AM
Sherlock Holmes - Entertainment a plenty.

Downey Jr is perfect for Holmes and so is Jude Law for Watson. There are just toooo many details in the picture. I found it even difficult to follow with subtitles on. The ending of the film suggests there is a sequel. Looking forward. Guy Ritchie has done a splendid job. Cinematography was good.

Holmes experiment with Watson's dog :rotfl2:

5th June 2010, 10:58 AM
The Box..

This film started promisingly but faded away in the middle. Perfect example of how a bad screenplay can spoil a film. Climax was bit touching though..

5th June 2010, 04:57 PM
Pulp Fiction:Totally wacky film,great execution by QT.

Having watched two QT movies back to back(Jackie Brown and this),I felt JB was more impressive.Had a rollicking BGM/songs with interest levels never dipping.

Comparitively,PF had quite a few oh-so-boring moments.

The only thing common was Samual Jackson who was just amazing in both.

Don't think many will share my opinion as PF is winning the polls hands down in the QT thread.

Appu s
5th June 2010, 06:04 PM
Cinefan,PF is QT fan's most favorite film :lol: not only in our HUb :)

7th June 2010, 08:01 PM
Kes- Kenloach

Beautiful movie. A sort of dark subject - but the way it was handled :clap:

Humour persists through out the movie, while the overall plot is dark. I dont want to spoil the fun by giving too much hype as these types of movie wont work if watched with too much of hype.

A simple beautiful movie and there are 2-3 brilliant sequences in the movie.

7th June 2010, 08:06 PM
Raging Bull..

Perfectly made film. Wasnt very impresses with the previous 2 Scorcese movies that i watched.. Gangs of New york and Shutter Island. But this one was something different.

7th June 2010, 08:10 PM
Ippolam prechanai ennanna padathai paathutu "nalla irukku-nnu" oru pechukku sonna kooda hypennu solla aarambicharranga.

Kes- Kenloach

Beautiful movie. A sort of dark subject - but the way it was handled :clap:

Humour persists through out the movie, while the overall plot is dark. I dont want to spoil the fun by giving too much hype as these types of movie wont work if watched with too much of hype.

A simple beautiful movie and there are 2-3 brilliant sequences in the movie.

7th June 2010, 08:13 PM
af,

Nowadays I follow a strategy- I dont even read the plot element. I dont read reviews.

The only selection criteria for a movie is- I goto IMDB, search for a director/ look for similar movies / find a movie name which I feel worth downloading and just download it.

I read about nothing...Once I find a good director, I just download his movies at random without worrying about how it is reviewed or rated.

7th June 2010, 08:15 PM
I think thats the best option to watch the movie. Before watching the Shawshnak Redemption, i read the plot summary and lost the whole fun..

7th June 2010, 08:23 PM
I think thats the best option to watch the movie. Before watching the Shawshnak Redemption, i read the plot summary and lost the whole fun..

7th June 2010, 08:24 PM
Plot summary correctaa eludhirukaangalannu padathai paathu confirm pannikutingala :lol:.

Appu s
7th June 2010, 10:21 PM
The only selection criteria for a movie is- I goto IMDB, search for a director/ look for similar movies / find a movie name which I feel worth downloading and just download it.

IMDB rating-aa niraya thadavai nambi yemanthirukken,few exp. V-for vendetta,In bruges,boondock saints .. ellam bulb vaangina padangal...

7th June 2010, 10:34 PM

IMDB rating-aa niraya thadavai nambi yemanthirukken,few exp. V-for vendetta,In bruges,boondock saints .. ellam bulb vaangina padangal...

Nowadays I use IMDB just to find the movie names of the director :)

7th June 2010, 11:44 PM

I liked V for Vendetta :roll:

7th June 2010, 11:45 PM
Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels. Quite good, but not as funny as Snatch.

Appu s
8th June 2010, 12:18 AM

I liked V for Vendetta :roll:
Enakku sema boring-aa irunthuchu.... oru vithathilaium thirupthi illa.. :neutral:

Jyothsna
8th June 2010, 12:05 PM
Hitch- Watched jus for Will smith, he has done a good job. Also his client, i dont know the name of this guy, loved his performance especially the dancing sequence.

avven
8th June 2010, 01:17 PM
Undisputed III: Redemption :2thumbsup:

10th June 2010, 09:30 AM
Watched 2 Christian Bale movies..

The Dark Knight - Watched the movie just for the hype and hoopla around it. Wasnt disappointed, thanx to Heath Ledger. Is Hans Zimmer a split persona of ARR? That remains to be seen!

Rescue Dawn - Of the two movies, i liked this one better. The first 15 minutes had shades of Behind the enemy lines. But from then, it travelled in a different path altogether. Recommended..

Appu s
10th June 2010, 10:32 AM
The Dark Knight - Watched the movie just for the hype and hoopla around it. Wasnt disappointed, thanx to Heath Ledger. Is Hans Zimmer a split persona of ARR? That remains to be seen!

:bow: :bow:, IIRC there was another one credited for Music along with Hans zimmer.

10th June 2010, 10:39 AM

:bow: :bow:, IIRC there was another one credited for Music along with Hans zimmer.

James Newton Howard.

Appu s
10th June 2010, 10:54 AM

James Newton Howard.
:ty:

10th June 2010, 11:05 AM
Yeah.. But the major contribution should be from Zimmer if i am not wrong. His style is more or less the same as ARR and it was evident in lot of scenes..

Appu s
11th June 2010, 11:34 PM
Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark , the first one.. good :D

11th June 2010, 11:38 PM
The Karate Kid.

Entertaining stuff.. A bit lengthy (140 min) for a western film, but the screenplay was good enough to make us sit through. Jaden Smith and Jackie were awesome. Jaden is sure gonna make it big in future.

Pros: Jackie and Jaden, Action sequences, score by James Horner, the subtle comedy..

Cons: The budding romance between Jaden and his GF didnt go well with the audience (Afterall the kid is just 12 in the movie and he smooches the gal). Length of the movie.

Wonder if the film would've been a bigger hit in India had it been released during the summer holidays.

Prabo
12th June 2010, 06:51 PM
Arlington Road - A neat thriller

//Dig Jeff Bridges looks very much like Kurt Russell in this movie :shock:

Dinesh84
14th June 2010, 11:07 AM
Hot tub time machine :banghead:
in film posters they said, it was funnier than Hangover.. padam marana mokkai to me.. :x

14th June 2010, 12:23 PM
Casino royale - in tamil ... thanks to Sun TV
Hollywood masala movie.... if the same budget is provided, KSR will do a better one :smokesmirk: even hari will give a better masala movie with same budget :smokesmile:

14th June 2010, 10:47 PM
Karate Kid (2010) - Cliched, but good.

15th June 2010, 12:06 AM
Batman Begins

Should've watched it before the 'Dark Knight'. In spite of having a good actor in Liam Neeson, the villain was no where near the 'Joker'. However, the buildup to the the sequel was good.

16th June 2010, 05:47 PM
i am legend...will smith my fav actor..he is the best... :smokesmirk:

16th June 2010, 07:55 PM
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0427954/

i enjoyed this raw action movie yesterday....
TONY JAA :2thumbsup:

Yuvi
18th June 2010, 08:54 PM
Prince of Persia.. good time pass masala movie.. Go for it if you can withstand a Persian prince speaking in American accent :lol:

21st June 2010, 10:28 AM
Solino - german movie ..... nice movie with cool cinematography 8-)

Dinesh84
21st June 2010, 10:36 AM
[tscii:cc7a562a3b]Malèna - Italian Movie.. ippa thaan intha padam paakuraen.. :mrgreen:

intha padatha thazhuvi tamil la kooda oru padam vanthurukku.. [/tscii:cc7a562a3b]

21st June 2010, 10:37 AM
[tscii:22652de03d]Salt of this Sea (http://palestinefilmfest.com/en/festival/2009/salt-of-this-sea) - nice movie :D

Salt of This Sea is the story of Soraya, born in Brooklyn in a working class community of Palestinian refugees, who discovers that her grandfather’s savings were frozen in a bank account in Jaffa when he was exiled in 1948. Stubborn, passionate and determined to reclaim what is hers, she fulfills her life-long dream of “returning” to Palestine.[/tscii:22652de03d]

21st June 2010, 02:43 PM
[tscii:7356c21c90]Malèna - Italian Movie.. ippa thaan intha padam paakuraen.. :mrgreen:

intha padatha thazhuvi tamil la kooda oru padam vanthurukku.. [/tscii:7356c21c90]

Dinsu,

Inga neraiya peru Malena paathuttanga.. :wink:

Azhagaana ponnuthaan is the tamil version of Malena. Namitha in place of Bellucci... :cry:

Appu s
22nd June 2010, 10:06 PM
Ran by Kurosawa :bow: :bow: Brilliant , Periyavar appdiye sethukkirukkar padatha... brilliant performance
by that old man played hidetora.Cinematography :thumbsup: the war scenes :thumbsup:

22nd June 2010, 10:13 PM

He is Tatsuya Nakadai. Appu watch High and Low (He plays a police detective) and Yojimbo and Sanjuro in that order. He is the villain in both of those films.

Ran by Kurosawa :bow: :bow: Brilliant , Periyavar appdiye sethukkirukkar padatha... brilliant performance
by that old man played hidetora.Cinematography :thumbsup: the war scenes :thumbsup:

Appu s
22nd June 2010, 10:27 PM

He is Tatsuya Nakadai. Appu watch High and Low (He plays a police detective) and Yojimbo and Sanjuro in that order. He is the villain in both of those films.

:ty: feddy,
Sure will watch it,got a DVD of this one and Rashomon,liked both the movies,But this one Classic,the great lord walking out of the castle after the massacre, that scene was brilliantly taken,got emotional... stunned. :bow:

22nd June 2010, 10:58 PM
The Gift (2000)
Starring: Cate Blanchett, Keanu Reeves, Katie Holmes.
Directed by: Sam Raimi

Downloaded the movie with an expectation that it would be a trademark Raimi thrill-fest. The movie is a supernatural thriller which tells the experience of a fortune teller who unknowingly gets trapped in a deadly game. It was good in parts and if you are expecting something in the lines of Evil Dead or Drag me to hell, u will be disappointed.

22nd June 2010, 10:58 PM
The Gift (2000)
Starring: Cate Blanchett, Keanu Reeves, Katie Holmes.
Directed by: Sam Raimi

Downloaded the movie with an expectation that it would be a trademark Raimi thrill-fest. The movie is a supernatural thriller which tells the experience of a fortune teller who unknowingly gets trapped in a deadly game. It was good in parts and if you are expecting something in the lines of Evil Dead or Drag me to hell, u will be disappointed.

25th June 2010, 04:39 PM
Gran Torino:Simple touching film with an unexpected twist in the climax.Felt I watched an Indian film wrt the emotional content.

Clint Eastwood deserves a big round of applause for every thing(script,direction and acting)while the actors playing Sue and Thao were also good.

25th June 2010, 11:10 PM
Knight and Day: Funny, interesting and NOT-boring. Decent Time-pass flick. Cruise and Diaz are good.

25th June 2010, 11:48 PM
Gran Torino:Simple touching film with an unexpected twist in the climax.Felt I watched an Indian film wrt the emotional content.

Clint Eastwood deserves a big round of applause for every thing(script,direction and acting)while the actors playing Sue and Thao were also good.

The movie received standing ovation at the end from the theatre i watched....Thala clint has huge fan base still....But fans are probably above 50 :lol:

27th June 2010, 12:28 AM
watched "My name is nobody" produced by sergio leone

27th June 2010, 11:59 PM
Law Abiding Citizen - Started well, only to nosedive in the second half.

28th June 2010, 10:20 AM
Butler?

28th June 2010, 10:22 AM
Brilliant - English.... thanks to world movies channel .... good movie :)

jinju
28th June 2010, 10:22 AM
Butler?
avare dhaan

28th June 2010, 10:28 AM
Jinju,

I know its him.. Was enquiring abt LM's take on Butler's performance.. :-)

28th June 2010, 10:30 AM
Butler was good, Ajay.

28th June 2010, 10:34 AM
Lucky number slevin- ok movie....boring most of the places,only the twists in the climax given some relief. A good director would have handled it better.

jinju
28th June 2010, 10:36 AM
Jinju,

I know its him.. Was enquiring abt LM's take on Butler's performance.. :-)

oh wokayng...

my take (i know u didn't ask :D ): as usual, luks gud...

28th June 2010, 10:59 AM
my take (i know u didn't ask :D ): as usual, luks gud...

Opinions r always welcome... :D

28th June 2010, 11:28 AM
Casino Royale:4 years after we had a new Bond,caught up with the movie.

Mixed feelings,not typical of a Bond movie-he gets fooled badly,needs that person to give a lead to catch the bad guy,unheroic climax.

Daniel craig has that cool demeanor to carry of this role,but Brosnan was special(among the post 90's Bond).

Otherwise was a good time pass with a couple of gorgeous females,a thrilling chase 10 minutes into the movie,a well choreographed set piece action sequence pre climax.

BTW,I don't understand poker and so had no clue what was going on in the casino. :D

28th June 2010, 12:18 PM
A Touch of Evil - Orson Welles/Charlton Heston

Very ordinary content but many amazing parts. Apparently Welles asked for a bad script, which he would elevate with his directorial prowess.

29th June 2010, 07:41 AM
A Touch of Evil - Orson Welles/Charlton Heston

Very ordinary content but many amazing parts. Apparently Welles asked for a bad script, which he would elevate with his directorial prowess.Did he? A visually stunning picture. If he did, and he was certainly up to the task. Your next stop should be, Kiss Me Deadly, a film unfairly known as "that film recommended by Tarantino".

29th June 2010, 07:59 AM
Fight Club

On seeing the title, i thought this movie is a Van Damme kinda action entertainer. But was pleasantly surprised for an altogether different experience. I have seen another personality disorder movie of Norton long back. But this was a different approach to the issue.

30th June 2010, 05:46 PM
Before the devil knows you're dead
Starring: Philip Seymour Hoffman, Ethan Hawke

One of the best crime thrillers i've seen in recent times. Perfect example of how non linear narration can help the screenplay to be racy. Strongly recommended.

30th June 2010, 06:51 PM
race to witch mountains
title correcta nnu theriyale...starring my fav wwe superstar the rock(dwayne jhonson)....nalla oru pozhudhupokku padam..the rock comedyle kalakirpaaru :thumbsup:

30th June 2010, 08:28 PM
the rock comedyle kalakirpaaru :thumbsup:

avar wrestling ringlayum adhathana pannitu irundharu!

1st July 2010, 02:08 AM
Brando on The Dick Cavett Show, June 12, 1973. With representatives of the Cheyenne, Paiute and Lummi tribes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LAPDQ5MlLxE&feature=related

6 part interview. A good one :thumbsup:.

1st July 2010, 09:53 AM
Accused - 1988-English (www.imdb.com/title/tt0094608/) - superb :clap: :clap:

Dinesh84
1st July 2010, 12:25 PM

avar wrestling ringlayum adhathana pannitu irundharu! :evil: He is the People's Champion :lol2:

1st July 2010, 10:36 PM
Toy Story 3

A marvellous film.. It has everything. Action, comedy, romance, sentiment, etc, etc. Dont miss this one.. You r gonna regret for your life!!

Thanks LM for recommending it.. :-)

2nd July 2010, 08:44 AM

avar wrestling ringlayum adhathana pannitu irundharu! :evil: He is the People's Champion :lol2:YES :evil:

2nd July 2010, 11:00 AM

avar wrestling ringlayum adhathana pannitu irundharu! :evil: He is the People's Champion :lol2:YES :evil:
Vanmayana kandanam. School-la sinnappillaila paathadhoda niruthikkaama innum Wrestling ellam pakkaradhe thappu, idhula ellarum inga vandhu argue vera panreenga.. Sports section la oru thread vera. I will definitely write to the Indhu :evil:

2nd July 2010, 03:48 PM
:exactly: As a suo-moto move lock paNNalaamnu irukkEn. JOckradhai!

Dinesh84
2nd July 2010, 05:19 PM
I will definitely write to the Indhu :evil: :evil: Neenga Indu la eluthunga illa entha santhu la vennumunnalum eluthunga..

:exactly: As a suo-moto move lock paNNalaamnu irukkEn. JOckradhai! :evil: Munaf Patel (http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=7544) ku ellam thread irukum pothu ithuku iruntha enna?

Dinesh84
2nd July 2010, 05:20 PM
K-PAX nu oru padam download pannirukaen.. paarkalaama? yaaravathu paarthurukengala?

Prabo
2nd July 2010, 05:35 PM
K-PAX nu oru padam download pannirukaen.. paarkalaama? yaaravathu paarthurukengala?

Its good...Kevin Spacey characterisation and the mystery behind it was well done...

2nd July 2010, 08:16 PM

avar wrestling ringlayum adhathana pannitu irundharu! He is the People's Champion :lol2:YES

school padikkumpodhu naanum rasichu paathututhan irundhen..ippo avar puruvatha osathuradhu...slow motionla thirumbi paakuradhu ellam nenacha semma kamediya irukku!

namma favourite Stone cold ....ngoyala vaaipe illa...

2nd July 2010, 08:17 PM

indha padatha download panlama nu kepaanga..neenga enna vithiyasama ..download panniruken...pakata nu kekureenga?

2nd July 2010, 11:14 PM
Toy Story 3

A marvellous film.. It has everything. Action, comedy, romance, sentiment, etc, etc. Dont miss this one.. You r gonna regret for your life!!

Thanks LM for recommending it.. :-)
Sabai makkale,
Can one see TS3 without seeing the other parts?

2nd July 2010, 11:24 PM
i saw it....liked it

2nd July 2010, 11:28 PM
Bala bro,

Even i have not seen the 1st and 2nd. But still liked it.. Tomorrow i am going to buy those dvds as well.. :-)

2nd July 2010, 11:33 PM
Oh cool :)

Benny Lava
3rd July 2010, 12:01 AM
Bala!!!! :O

Innum vera endha padatha ellaam paakala??

:abhachaaram: :abhachaaram:

3rd July 2010, 12:05 AM
Sleeping with the enemy. Julia roberts is beautiful. Not a bad watch.

3rd July 2010, 12:14 AM
:oops: Ulagam/vevaram theriyaama valandhutten! :mrgreen:

3rd July 2010, 12:35 AM

indha padatha download panlama nu kepaanga..neenga enna vithiyasama ..download panniruken...pakata nu kekureenga?

3rd July 2010, 08:08 AM
Valkyrie

ஹிட்லர் பற்றிய படத்துல அப்படி என்னதான் விஷேஷமா எடுத்திருக்கப் போறானுங்க என்ற எண்ணத்துல படம் பார்க்க உட்கார்ந்தா படம் ஆரம்பித்த கொஞ்ச நிமிடங்களிலேயே மனதை தன்வயப்படுத்தும் திரைக்கதை மற்றும் வசனங்கள்.. ஆரம்பம் முதல் கடைசி வரை அப்படியே கட்டி இழுத்துப் போட்ட படம்.

துணிச்சலான Colonel Claus von Stauffenberg பாத்திரத்தில் Tom Cruise. கடைசி தருணங்களில் தனது உயர் ஊழியர் General Friedrich Olbricht பயத்துடன் அழ ஆரம்பிக்கிறார். அப்போது Stauffenberg அவரிடம் சொல்லும் "Look them in the eye. They'll remember you." என்ற வார்த்தைகள் மனதை தைக்கிறது என்றால், படத்தின் கடைசி வசனமாக Stauffenberg "Long live sacred Germany!" என பேசி முடிக்கும் போது துக்கம் தொண்டையை அடைக்கிறது..

இயக்கம் : Bryan Singer :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

3rd July 2010, 10:45 AM
:oops: Ulagam/vevaram theriyaama valandhutten! :mrgreen:
Too much recommendation for TS series in hub :P downloaded 1&2, paathathukku appuram TS3 paakkalmnnu mudivu pannirukken. :D

jinju
3rd July 2010, 01:54 PM
has anyone here checked out how's Knight and Day...?

4th July 2010, 09:51 PM
Green Zone - Ok kind of movie. sila edathula cameraava aatti aatti kaNN vali vandhudichu

4th July 2010, 10:01 PM
http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?p=2166119#2166119

has anyone here checked out how's Knight and Day...?

5th July 2010, 08:55 AM
x men origins:wolverine
saw it sterday in star movies...its an old s.p.muthuraman story...fight against brothers,revenge...nambiar type of villain who experiments on mutants..but technically brilliant..high jackman :thumbsup: ..chumma kalakraaru
but overall oru vaati pakkalam..

Dinesh84
5th July 2010, 12:49 PM
Watched Toy Story 3.. nice nice.. :clap: looked kinda similar to Toy Story 2 :? .. but who cares..

5th July 2010, 02:49 PM

:rotfl: :lol:

5th July 2010, 02:50 PM
PR, thread lock pannidungoo...any poll idea for the next one?

5th July 2010, 10:15 PM
A league of thier own :rotfl:

Tom Hanks :rotfl2:

All the girls :P

6th July 2010, 03:26 PM
saw casino royale in star movies..bond wil b most vulnerable in this film....amazing twist in climax...daniel craig
bond-never trusts any1... 8-) :smokesmirk: :cool2: :victory:

6th July 2010, 08:50 PM
Valkyrie

ஹிட்லர் பற்றிய படத்துல அப்படி என்னதான் விஷேஷமா எடுத்திருக்கப் போறானுங்க என்ற எண்ணத்துல படம் பார்க்க உட்கார்ந்தா படம் ஆரம்பித்த கொஞ்ச நிமிடங்களிலேயே மனதை தன்வயப்படுத்தும் திரைக்கதை மற்றும் வசனங்கள்.. ஆரம்பம் முதல் கடைசி வரை அப்படியே கட்டி இழுத்துப் போட்ட படம்.

துணிச்சலான Colonel Claus von Stauffenberg பாத்திரத்தில் Tom Cruise. கடைசி தருணங்களில் தனது உயர் ஊழியர் General Friedrich Olbricht பயத்துடன் அழ ஆரம்பிக்கிறார். அப்போது Stauffenberg அவரிடம் சொல்லும் "Look them in the eye. They'll remember you." என்ற வார்த்தைகள் மனதை தைக்கிறது என்றால், படத்தின் கடைசி வசனமாக Stauffenberg "Long live sacred Germany!" என பேசி முடிக்கும் போது துக்கம் தொண்டையை அடைக்கிறது..

இயக்கம் : Bryan Singer :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

if you have not seen it, try this movie also. It is a German movie with English subtitle....the movie depicts final days of Hitler.........see the man who acted as Hitler....amazing performance.... I loved the movie

7th July 2010, 04:57 AM
The Godfather 1 and 2 over and over in the last 3 weeks. I have to write a thesis on these films and the characters. I've started to read the Novel as well since the last week. Let's finish this thread with my most favorite character's Tribute.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niHKNAEdKDw

7th July 2010, 04:58 AM
Another 1.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pmRRiNn8DDI

7th July 2010, 08:41 AM
Please start new thread.