View Full Version : Medical & Health Issues....

13th September 2006, 06:29 PM
Dear All

It would be great if we can discuss about the Medical and Health issues...

I would like to start off with 'Laser Eye Treatment'.

Has any one done this?, or knows some one who has done this, if so please Contribute your valuable opinions and experiences please.

thanks

Please note: Unless offered by a proven, registered medical personnel, any discussions in this thread, suggestions, opinions or experiences cannot be held medically valid.

If quoting from the Internet, always provide the source for verification.

Hubbers please note that following any of the suggestions that may come up in this thread is at your own risk and you are advised to consult your doctor before you decide to follow any of them.

13th September 2006, 07:08 PM
It does not have 2 b laser eye treatment, it could be any medical & health issues....

15th September 2006, 06:36 PM
Raghu: my dad at the moment is undergoing laser eye treatment and his eye sight seems to be getting better :)

15th September 2006, 07:11 PM
Raghu: my dad at the moment is undergoing laser eye treatment and his eye sight seems to be getting better :)

Hi :)

Thanks 4 the response, really wish your dad gets the best eye sight.

Can you pls describe the procedure these opticians do to the patients? I have looked up in couple of various websites and but they were not helpful :(

15th September 2006, 07:20 PM
another question...

what are the causes of Fatigue? though I reguarly exercise, I feel sleepy most of the time, I do admit, I dont pay attention to my diet though :(

15th September 2006, 07:21 PM
Thanks Raghu! :)

I am not sure about the procedure as he is getting it done in India. I can ask him and let you know if you are interested. He realised all of a sudden, a month ago that his eye sight had gone real bad (he has been wearing glasses for years) because of diabetes. He has to go through 5 sittings supposedly. He has finished two and has three more to go. He can already feel the improvement... :)

15th September 2006, 07:31 PM
Thanks Raghu! :)

I am not sure about the procedure as he is getting it done in India. I can ask him and let you know if you are interested. He realised all of a sudden, a month ago that his eye sight had gone real bad (he has been wearing glasses for years) because of diabetes. He has to go through 5 sittings supposedly. He has finished two and has three more to go. He can already feel the improvement... :)

16th September 2006, 06:55 PM
One of the reasons for fatigue is when you have iron deficiency.. get your blood checked!

I've also noticed that people get tired when they are doing things they don't want to do but do it for the sake of doing!

Find things to do that interest you.

Actually diet plays an important role as well. Eat healthy and that makes a big difference :)

NM
17th September 2006, 10:03 AM
Hi Raghu Thambi!

I had LASIK done on my eyes in the past two years. I did not do both at the same time as I was apprehensive about it and wasn't sure if I would have side effects associated with laser eye surgery. but after doing my right eye (the worse fo the pair) in 2004, I decided to do my left in 2005. I do not have any complications although i've heard of some people who had many side effects such as blurred vision, 'halo', night vision problem etc. After I did mine, 3 of my friends went on to do the surgery and their visions are perfect now, the same goes for me, 20/20.

What I did was the LASIK (there are 2 other types like PRK or LASEK). But, I heard last year they has a much improved LASI technology. Before the surgery, eyes will be tested for the corneal strength, thickness and dilation etc. Once everything is satisfactory, the surgeon will set a date for the surgery,which takes less than 10mins per eye. Of course, prior to doing anything else, the consultant will talk to us about the risks associated with thsi surgery and you're required to sign a consent form.

Try googling 'OPTIMAX' - you'll get a lot of info from their website.

18th September 2006, 02:41 PM
One of the reasons for fatigue is when you have iron deficiency.. get your blood checked!

I've also noticed that people get tired when they are doing things they don't want to do but do it for the sake of doing!

Actually diet plays an important role as well. Eat healthy and that makes a big difference :)

thanks Anoushka, but Too much of Iron is not also good, and how do you know the safe dosage of Iron?

18th September 2006, 02:44 PM
Hi Raghu Thambi!

I had LASIK done on my eyes in the past two years. I did not do both at the same time as I was apprehensive about it and wasn't sure if I would have side effects associated with laser eye surgery. but after doing my right eye (the worse fo the pair) in 2004, I decided to do my left in 2005. I do not have any complications although i've heard of some people who had many side effects such as blurred vision, 'halo', night vision problem etc. After I did mine, 3 of my friends went on to do the surgery and their visions are perfect now, the same goes for me, 20/20.

What I did was the LASIK (there are 2 other types like PRK or LASEK). But, I heard last year they has a much improved LASI technology. Before the surgery, eyes will be tested for the corneal strength, thickness and dilation etc. Once everything is satisfactory, the surgeon will set a date for the surgery,which takes less than 10mins per eye. Of course, prior to doing anything else, the consultant will talk to us about the risks associated with thsi surgery and you're required to sign a consent form.

Try googling 'OPTIMAX' - you'll get a lot of info from their website.

NM acca,

Varuga Varuga, Longgggggg time no c :(

any way good 2 c u around :-)

was the surgery painful?, I heard ppl saying that it feels like some ant has biten you :roll: :shaking:

18th September 2006, 06:02 PM

thanks Anoushka, but Too much of Iron is not also good, and how do you know the safe dosage of Iron?

I don't think you would be eating too much of iron unless and untill you are eating all "jannal kambis" around you :) RDA for iron is about 10 mg a day for a male. Check http://www.clevelandclinic.org/health/health-info/docs/1700/1753.asp?index=7240 for more details :)

18th September 2006, 08:02 PM
I don't think you would be eating too much of iron unless and untill you are eating all "jannal kambis" around you :) RDA for iron is about 10 mg a day for a male. Check http://www.clevelandclinic.org/health/health-info/docs/1700/1753.asp?index=7240 for more details :)
Uh, I thot in the west, jannals (in ne bldgs.) dont hav ne kambis! :P :lol:
Neways, tks for the informative link Anou! I didnt know tat only pregnant/lactating women required more consumption of Iron (comp'd to men), I thot all women do...

18th September 2006, 08:48 PM
Lamby: :lol: we do not have jannal kambis alright :) I said that because I remember my brother teasing me years ago not to eat the train jannal kambis when I was travelling because I was very low on iron then! :lol:

18th September 2006, 09:03 PM
Thanks for the link anouksha

Lamby

Yes I was aware that lack of Iron makes one Anaemic, but too much Iron is dangerous, similarly to Potassium

19th September 2006, 12:35 AM
I am having Cold, nose congestion,Cough all nonsenses at present and it is irritating me :evil: any good advices...??

19th September 2006, 02:02 AM
MC/VSOP, ungaLukku theriyaathathaa !! I am not kidding here 8-)

19th September 2006, 02:21 AM
will it work nerd? :oops:

19th September 2006, 03:36 AM
will it work nerd? :oops:

Thanks Nerd! But ippo aapeesla irruken :oops:

AF .. MC Bdy works! ;) and also vicks applied cigarettes!! :oops:

College times gyabhagam varudhu :(

19th September 2006, 02:05 PM
Sridhar: eat oranges or drink plenty of orange juice... anything with vitamin C will help! Also drink milk with panankalkaNdu.... :)

19th September 2006, 02:31 PM
Sridhar,

Vitamin C is essential, in UK they sell something called 'Lemsip' it is lemon drink with paracetamol, if u can get it in India or where ever u r it is a good remedy...

20th September 2006, 02:22 AM
My cousin has Carpul Tunnel Syndrome since on average he spends 14 hours a day on the Computer...:roll:

He's been suffereing from severe wrist pain for the last week. :cry2: Anyone got any ideas of how to make it better? Besides him getting off of the comp that is. :P

20th September 2006, 07:56 PM
Surya,

Wouldn't wrists excercise help? or Yoga perhaps?

21st September 2006, 12:43 AM
He doesn't beleive in Yoga!! What the hell? It's like saying "I don't believe in Algebra!" :roll: Anywayz, Thanks Raghu Ji :D, I'll look into the Wrist Exercices to see if that'll help him! :D

21st September 2006, 03:14 PM
He doesn't beleive in Yoga!! What the hell? It's like saying "I don't believe in Algebra!" :roll: Anywayz, Thanks Raghu Ji :D, I'll look into the Wrist Exercices to see if that'll help him! :D

Surya machi,

You will find wrists excersises @ www.bodybuilding.com

This will strengthen his wrists.

vatta

21st September 2006, 03:14 PM
Surya machi,

I am so sorry 2 say this , one must insane to not to believe in Yoga :(

22nd September 2006, 06:54 AM
Surya machi,

I am so sorry 2 say this , one must insane to not to believe in Yoga :(

I agree 100%!! He also denies the possibilities of Global Warming (:rotfl: :banghead: ) so...:roll: :P

Thanks for the link!! :D :D

RP
24th October 2006, 09:01 AM
My cousin has Carpul Tunnel Syndrome since on average he spends 14 hours a day on the Computer...:roll:

He's been suffereing from severe wrist pain for the last week. :cry2: Anyone got any ideas of how to make it better? Besides him getting off of the comp that is. :P

Is it RSI or Carpal Tunnel Synd?
A wrist belt is available for the same......it will help

buvana
6th December 2006, 09:00 AM
Hi, My sister has this problem of recurrent severe headaches which sets suddenly on roughly thrice a week. (No cold, cough or sinus problems). She is a housewife with two small kids. She explains it as a banging headache around the head. She had to kill the headache by using paracetamols, but since the occurence has become regular, she approached her family doctor. The doctor has given medication,but they have side-effects like Gastric problems and constipation.

Can anyone help / advise ?

RP
6th December 2006, 10:12 AM
Hi, My sister has this problem of recurrent severe headaches which sets suddenly on roughly thrice a week. (No cold, cough or sinus problems). She is a housewife with two small kids. She explains it as a banging headache around the head. She had to kill the headache by using paracetamols, but since the occurence has become regular, she approached her family doctor. The doctor has given medication,but they have side-effects like Gastric problems and constipation.

Sound like a VASCULAR HEADACHE.........

She needs
1.To keep a dairy and note when the headache occured and if there were any precipatating factors (some people get these headache after eating cocoa products,
2.If there is a family history of Glaucoma(increased eye pressure)
get an eye check up and get her Intra-ocular pressure checked.
3.Consult an neurologist if she has any other symptoms like double vision,epileptic fits,etc

buvana
6th December 2006, 11:09 AM
Thanks, RP, for the guidance. She had further informed me of this phenomenon of blurred/blocked eyesight as well. I missed to post it. One day while travelling in bus, she could feel that there was a pain in the left eye, suddenly an opaque screen engulfs the retina thru which only dots of the surrounding could be seen, as if she is peeping thru a wooden piece with lots of holes in it. This lasts for 5/6 mins and gradually the opaque screen goes off leaving behind headache. It does not happen with the right eye. What do we call this phenomenon ??

This has been told to the doctor, but we are advised to wait for the course of medicines to complete. Then she may be referred to a specialist, if need be.

Anyway, Thanks for your reply.

snrajan
7th December 2006, 03:16 PM
Ask a pranic healer to heal your lil sis. she willbe alright

bulb_mani
7th December 2006, 10:49 PM
Great thread raghu :clap:

I suggest that hubbers go through this site :

http://www.home-remedies-for-you.com/

It is about home remedies ... it might be useful for u :D

snrajan
8th December 2006, 11:58 AM
Thank u bulb_mani,

I went through Site Home remedies as given by you and it is a very intrstg site. I have regd. myself over there.

Thanks once again,

with best regards,

bulb_mani
8th December 2006, 12:13 PM
Ur welcome rajan :D

RP
10th December 2006, 10:26 AM
Thanks, RP, for the guidance. She had further informed me of this phenomenon of blurred/blocked eyesight as well. I missed to post it. One day while travelling in bus, she could feel that there was a pain in the left eye, suddenly an opaque screen engulfs the retina thru which only dots of the surrounding could be seen, as if she is peeping thru a wooden piece with lots of holes in it. This lasts for 5/6 mins and gradually the opaque screen goes off leaving behind headache. It does not happen with the right eye. What do we call this phenomenon ??

This has been told to the doctor, but we are advised to wait for the course of medicines to complete. Then she may be referred to a specialist, if need be.

Anyway, Thanks for your reply.
She needs to get her Eye Pressure(Intra-ocular Pressure ) checked.
A visual Fields may be required though the history is suggestive of the earlier mentioned Vascular Headache!!
Hope she recovers soon :2thumbsup:

11th December 2006, 05:17 PM

Could b Constipation / Migraine or problems with Eyes, lack of excercises, etc etc..

pls ask her to excercise reguralaly, at least 30mins Cardio excercises a day, this increases blood circulation around the body, and makes ur heart stronger.

buvana
12th December 2006, 08:31 AM
Dear Raghu, Rajan & RP,
Thanks to all of you for the suggestions.

My sister has been diagnoised for Gastritis and all symptoms like headache, inability to eat full meal, loss of appetite etc. except the blocked eyesight problem were due to this, according to her doc (Mumbai). Now she feels much better after medication except for weakness. No more headaches, it seems. I have asked her to visit the eye specialist for the eye-pressure check-up as suggested by RP.

Mani, your site of homeremedies is of immense help !! Almost all common illness is covered. Infact, the remedies for Gastritis which are enlisted there was very helpful to my sis. Tender coconut water, cucumber, yoghurt etc. were given to her regularly for the past 3 days which helped bring coolness to the so-far inflammated stomach-lining.

I was more concerned and worried as she is young and has 2 small kids to care of. Thanks to all of you once again, and the creator of this thread Mr. Raghu, in particular.

12th December 2006, 04:41 PM
Hi Bhuvana

It is good deed 2 help others in any way we can.

Pls ask ur sis to do some serious exercises, like running(medium to fast) skipping, walking(fast) for 30 mins a day, to bring her heart level up, the more she sweat the more it is better for her heart , skin, lungs and all various organs within the body

and avoid junk food , drink 3-4 cups of T a day, no Coffee

snrajan
13th December 2006, 10:14 AM
Dear Raghu,

I want to reduce my wight, plz guide me

13th December 2006, 03:51 PM
Dear Raghu,

I want to reduce my wight, plz guide me

Hi

Pls post your query here

http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=1315

RP
26th January 2007, 11:33 PM
Dear All

It would be great if we can discuss about the Medical and Health issues...

I would like to start off with 'Laser Eye Treatment'.

Has any one done this?, or knows some one who has done this, if so please Contribute your valuable opinions and experiences please.

thanks

Please note: Unless offered by a proven, registered medical personnel, any discussions in this thread, suggestions, opinions or experiences cannot be held medically valid.

If quoting from the Internet, always provide the source for verification.

Hubbers please note that following any of the suggestions that may come up in this thread is at your own risk and you are advised to consult your doctor before you decide to follow any of them.

Hi theres great advances in refractive surgery for the eye!!
The "GET RID OF GLASSES " has really picked up.three of my friends at Bangalore have got rid of them...they r thrilled.Let me know if u need more details!!!

RP
26th January 2007, 11:38 PM
Minimally Invasive Blepharoplasty or Eyelid Tuck, The Pinch Blepharoplasty for Sagging, Excess Lower Eyelid Skin

The lower eyelids are the first facial feature to show signs of facial aging and blepharoplasty, the plastic surgery operation used to rejuvenate the eyelids is one of the most common eyelid surgery operations performed today. Many patients seeking blepharoplasty have puffy lower eyelids, dark circles under the eyes, wrinkles, and loose skin. Advanced eyelid aging changes such as these require a more complex blepharoplasty that includes fat removal or repositioning, arcus marginalis release, skin tightening or removal and canthopexy, a procedure that tightens the lower eyelid.