Baran
Children of Heaven
Schindler's List
The Bicycle Thief
The Road Home
Untouchables

3rd January 2007, 08:06 AM
Deja Vu! :thumbsup:....Denzel Washington is just so coooool....8-)....:)

..an interesting movie to see...makes you wonder the myriad of possibilities that we're capable of...BUT life is complicated as is...:sigh2:...

...watch if you get a chance... :)

manmadan
4th January 2007, 06:59 AM
Casino Royale :thumbsup:...

Daniel Craig impressed me....awesome performance...8-)

The construction site scene was well done. Story is good...I thought it would have ended earlier and felt there were too many turning points...still....
I enjoyed the movie thoroughly....:clap:...awaiting the next Bond movie....

yes casino royale is very nice movie, has really good action and twists in the story.
Car aston martin is wiked :wink:
I also really enjoyed the movie and would recommend it for others to watch.

8th January 2007, 09:59 AM
Pursuit of Happyness....good movie...:)
...fun to watch...

17th January 2007, 12:08 AM
Babel

Now that it has won a golden globe, its a must watch. This, IMO is not as good as innaritu's first two movies (Ameros Perros and 21 grams) but it is certainly the best this year. Odds are pretty high for an oscar :thumbsup:

18th January 2007, 06:19 AM
Lucky No Slevin

Really cool movie. Some really cool acting, great camera work and amazing art direction. Story is nothing new but the way the movie is shot is pretty cool. Check it out sometime.
Movie stars Bruce willis , Josh Hartnet and Lucy Liu.

kannannn
23rd January 2007, 12:38 AM
Weekend of Japanese movies. I became a big fan of Takashi Miike after watching 'Audition' and 'Dead or Alive'. I rented 'Visitor Q' this weekend and was not disappointed. Extremely violent and sexual in Miike's own way, the movie is as disturbing as is satisfying. It tells the story of a dysfunctional family, whose way of life changes after a stranger's visit. Not for the faint of heart though.

'Battle Royale' was the other movie I watched. A group of Japanese school children are left to fight and kill each other off until only one survives. Again the movie is extremely violent, but raises important questions about modern life style and state policing.

Looks like the Japanese aren't content with making 'normal' movies anymore. But I am not complaining. In fact, they are so much different from the usual fare that's on offer these days :).

manmadan
24th January 2007, 07:21 PM
Night at the museum

good entertaining movie with few decent comedy at intervals.
Beginning of the films starts very slow, so slow that i though the movie is going to be total crap but it got much better as the story moved on.

Worth a watch :wink:

24th January 2007, 10:33 PM
kannannn, I have Audition with me. I borrowed it from my friend a month back. But I am really scared to watch it after reading a few reviews :shaking:

kannannn
25th January 2007, 01:06 AM
Kasi, summa dhairiyama paarunga :). I won't reveal the scenes and spoil your fun :lol: , but let me know what you think after watching it.

25th January 2007, 01:35 AM
Deja Vu! :thumbsup:....Denzel Washington is just so coooool....8-)....:)

..an interesting movie to see...makes you wonder the myriad of possibilities that we're capable of...BUT life is complicated as is...:sigh2:...

...watch if you get a chance... :)

I saw that movie, but over-a kaadhula poo suthura maadhri illa? :roll:

25th January 2007, 08:26 AM
Kasi, summa dhairiyama paarunga :). I won't reveal the scenes and spoil your fun :lol: , but let me know what you think after watching it.

I finished watching it. After giving me a 30 mins break I am posting this. I badly needed it. Not because I am totally scared but you know its a weird feeling :lol: Like some of those Lynch movies give you.

I was watching it with two friends of mine. One left after the *phone* scene and the other at the very end (feet scene) and I was forced to watch alone :oops:

Dint quite understand the movie completely, but it has got me thinking :P But I dont think I will watch another Miike movie in the next ten days atleast :oops:

And yeh, strongly recommended :lol2:

25th January 2007, 09:17 AM
I saw that movie, but over-a kaadhula poo suthura maadhri illa? :roll:
:) ....I like Denzel Washington...and the story seemed different and interesting but it's not 'Blood Diamond' or 'The Departed'...I was just thinking of the concept of going back in time like he did...

Sridhar, i usually give good reviews for all movies :lol: (detailed review for movies that i really liked)...that's just me...inga enna over-a kaadhula poo suthinan?... :roll:....

25th January 2007, 01:42 PM
:) ....I like Denzel Washington...and the story seemed different and interesting but it's not 'Blood Diamond' or 'The Departed'...I was just thinking of the concept of going back in time like he did...

Sridhar, i usually give good reviews for all movies :lol: (detailed review for movies that i really liked)...that's just me...inga enna over-a kaadhula poo suthinan?... :roll:....

Neenga sollamalae theriyum :poke: . Sridhar , i heard the same comment from one of my friend . So I skipped the movie !!!

kannannn
25th January 2007, 09:13 PM
I was watching it with two friends of mine. One left after the *phone* scene and the other at the very end (feet scene) and I was forced to watch alone :oops:
:lol: oh yes, the phone scene and the man in the sack moving for the first time made me sit up with a jolt. And the girl's smile when she hears the phone ringing is unforgettable. Did you know that the girl was not acting when she was 'preparing' the food for her captive? I went crazy after reading that. All I could think of was: "What a sadistic b****** Miike is.."

Here is what wiki (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Takashi_Miike) says: "He is known for his black sense of humor and for pushing the boundaries of censorship as far as they will go." I for one accept it.

25th January 2007, 10:07 PM
And the girl's smile when she hears the phone ringing is unforgettable.
Exactly. And the kiri kiri ( or whatever, that means deeper) thing was spine-chilling and unforgettable as well. :shaking:

Did you know that the girl was not acting when she was 'preparing' the food for her captive? I went crazy after reading that. All I could think of was: "What a sadistic b****** Miike is.."

:omg: You almost made me throw up. Now dont tell me that the fella actually drank it :twisted:

And next in line is Visitor Q. I read somewhere that its the craziest movie ever made :shock: :lol:

kannannn
26th January 2007, 10:23 PM
:omg: You almost made me throw up. Now dont tell me that the fella actually drank it :twisted:
That's for us to infer :oops: .

And next in line is Visitor Q. I read somewhere that its the craziest movie ever made :shock: :lol:
Happy viewing :rotfl: ! No amount of warning can prepare you for what is in store..

Oh, BTW found this BBC interview with Miike on youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DwvvXZyMqE

27th January 2007, 11:42 PM
Neenga sollamalae theriyum :poke: . Sridhar , i heard the same comment from one of my friend . So I skipped the movie !!!
:poke:...then why did you ask for 300 words review on Guru?... :lol:
...too bad you missed it... :cry: ...

27th January 2007, 11:54 PM
:poke:...then why did you ask for 300 words review on Guru?... :lol:
...too bad you missed it... :cry: ...

Its still running in chennai. :roll: Is it really worth !!!

28th January 2007, 12:01 AM
:roll: ...Deja Vu? wait for the DVD and watch it :oops: ...it's interesting, but not great enough to see in the theatre...but Guru is... :) ...

28th January 2007, 12:42 AM
:roll: ...Deja Vu? wait for the DVD and watch it :oops: ...it's interesting, but not great enough to see in the theatre...but Guru is... :) ...

I have seen Guru last week itself.

2nd February 2007, 12:31 PM
Life Of Brian :

First half was damn hilarious. The movie starts with 3 men from the east to see the new born kid :rotfl:

Brian mom : What are u doing?
others: We are 3 wise men.
BM: what?
others:We are three wise men.
BM: What are u doing in the cowshed at 2.00 A.M that doesnt sound wise to me :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Mocking at stone thrwoing was :rotfl: :rotfl:

and when PFJ people front of jenohva plan grab pilate wife and the corresponding discussion about romans were funny.

What has roman done to us :rotfl: apart from
irrigation
roads
sanitation
medicine :rotfl:

all right, but apart from sanitation,medicine, education, wine, ..irrigation, roads, the fresh-water
system and public health... what have the roman done to us

Peace !!!

oh shut up :x

rocketboy
5th February 2007, 11:31 PM
B13 - French action flick .

Ordinary screenplay , very ordinary performance by artists. The saving grace is the fast paced action . There are some brilliantly executed stunt sequences in the movie. Particular mention should be made of the scene where the protagonist escpaes from a gang of drug peddlers(drug mafia) .Actually it was a big hit here in India. One just wonders how many years of hard work/training the hero had put to make his body so flexible and supple. Tired of watching slick dramas ? Yearning for some adrenalin packed experinece. Then this the movie for you.

Warning : Do not try out the stunt sequences at home. That you can't do is a different matter altogether.

thinkfloyd
7th February 2007, 01:45 AM
Kannan/Nerd,
Would you believe that Malavika (double) starrer C U at 9 is loosely based on Audition?? :lol:
The climax is a direct lift.

Audition - Enna solradhu :shock:

I used to wonder how it would be to make a whole movie which is nothing but a dream or nightmare and the lead character just wakes up in the end. Somehow, audition reminded me of that though it is not the same.

Singapore oru mini Saudi Arabia nu ippo dhaan puriyidhu. These guys have stupid censorship and cyber laws (they even censored Murder :banghead: ) .. had to watch Audition completely in Youtube.. inime adhaan pola irukku..

kannannn
7th February 2007, 02:23 AM
Audition? C U at 9? :shock: Endha padathayum soft porn aaka mudiyumnu prove pannitanga :notworthy: Sanjay Gupta miss pannittaru pola.

Singapore oru mini Saudi Arabia nu ippo dhaan puriyidhu. These guys have stupid censorship and cyber laws (they even censored Murder ) .. had to watch Audition completely in Youtube.. inime adhaan pola irukku..

Namba Burma Bazaar madhiri edamellam illaya? youtube'le paarkaringannale theriyudhu, nilamai evvalavu mosamnu.

thinkfloyd
7th February 2007, 10:01 AM
Audition? C U at 9? :shock: Endha padathayum soft porn aaka mudiyumnu prove pannitanga :notworthy: Sanjay Gupta miss pannittaru pola.

"Vaastu shastra" -ngara perla "The Shining" a remake pannadha kooda mannikkalaam, aana idhu remba over...

OK, Audition pathaachu, adutha natural progression Visitor Q-a? illai is there any other film of Mike that i should watch before VQ?

Namba Burma Bazaar madhiri edamellam illaya? youtube'le paarkaringannale theriyudhu, nilamai evvalavu mosamnu.
Irukku pola irukku but innum kandupidikkala...

thinkfloyd
7th February 2007, 07:04 PM
Can someone give me Youtube links for good movies???

kannannn
7th February 2007, 09:22 PM
thinkfloyd, Miike's vast repertoire (30 films in 10 years!!) and the fact that he has dabbled in almost all genres (one of his latest is a children's movie!!), makes it impossible to choose. If you want extreme action with some wonderful BGM and innovative camera angles, I would suggest 'Ichi, the killer'. If you are in the mood for a metaphoric movie, I would say 'Visitor Q' (despite what some critics say, it is a well made and innovative film). If it is in order of violence and gore, then definitely 'Visitor Q' is what I would suggest. I thought 'Visitor Q' had to be the craziest movie, but that was until I watched 'Ichi, the Killer' (I am on a full blown mission to watch as many of his movies as humanly possible) . As one reviewer put it (http://www.montrealfilmjournal.com/review.asp?R=R0000772):"Ichi.. makes Audition and Visitor Q look like harmless chick flicks" (you get the idea :)). 'Dead or Alive' is another of his movies I watched, but after seeing his other movies, I should say it was rather average.

If censorship is the problem, may I suggest a few French movies that gave me a cinematic high?

Three Colours trilogy (named Blue, White and Red after the French flag) by Krzysztof Kieslowski was brilliant. The BGM and visual lavishness, especially in Blue and Red are sure to have you longing for more. The performances are top class too (Binoche rejected Spielberg's offer to star in Jurrasic Park to do Blue and rightly so). Each movie deals with a theme: Blue deals with Liberty, Red with Fraternity and White with Equality.

Hidden (Cache) tells the tale of a successful TV host who gets surveillence tapes of his own home in mail. When the tapes get unbearable he decides to investigate his stalker. The trail leads him to the home of an Algerian, whose adoption he had prevented as a child (out of jealousy). He now has to face the demons of his actions as a child. There are parallels to the French history (massacre of Algerian demonstrators in France in 60's) and present political situation in France.

Give the above movies a try. I felt they were great.

7th February 2007, 10:34 PM
Kannan/Nerd,
Would you believe that Malavika (double) starrer C U at 9 is loosely based on Audition?? :lol:
The climax is a direct lift.

You say what?? Thank God I have not seen C U at 9 yet.

Saw visitor Q yesterday. There are two ways to look at it. A violent, sick movie or a beautiful family movie which stresses how important the role of a mom is :P If you are able to take a stand then you will definitely enjoy the movie. But that will happen only in the second viewing I suppose. I was totally confused on which one to choose.

Again I was watching with a friend of mine and he left as soon as the mom dopes for the first time after showing her scars :oops:

Next in line is Gozu/Dead or Alive. Will try to get Ichi as well. Actually its a *guilty* pleasure being a miike fan :P

7th February 2007, 10:45 PM
Can someone give me Youtube links for good movies???

Youtube will soon remove all copyrighted material, I guess. Dailymotion is better. Try that. Have they blocked torrents also ??

kannannn
7th February 2007, 11:27 PM
If you are able to take a stand then you will definitely enjoy the movie. But that will happen only in the second viewing I suppose. I was totally confused on which one to choose.
Very true. The excesses hit you so hard the first time that it is difficult to see past it. On second viewing you see the director's perspective and uncover the meanings. For example, I could relate to the enthusiasm with which the mother runs to the super market only on second viewing.

Actually its a *guilty* pleasure being a miike fan :P
:thumbsup: :thumbsup: you said it!! It can even be addictive :oops: .

14th February 2007, 01:28 AM
Midnight Cowboy

The only X rated (NC 17 now) movie to have won an oscar and I guess it deserved the award but not the rating. May be during that time those things were taboo.. A very depressive movie about the lives of a male hustler and his new found friend in the streets of NY. Dustin Hoffman was awesome as a crippled, sick, penurious bloke, one of his best performances. John voight was pretty good as well. Strongly recommended 8-)

14th February 2007, 08:53 PM
Assault on precinct 13.

A very gud action movie starring ethan hawke

thimuru
22nd February 2007, 07:59 AM
Im searching for citizen kane for long!

any way of viewing it online?

in google video....sound not coming for the movie!

kannannn
26th February 2007, 07:40 AM
Thought I'd make it a De Niro weekend and revisited my favourites.
1. The Deer Hunter - De Niro's was the main character, but it was Christopher Walken who stole the show. Richly deserves the Oscar he won for the movie. And I am in love with Meryl Streep all over again.
2. Raging Bull - Only one word - powerful!!. Looking back, only De Niro could have done justice to the role. That man lives cinema. I don't say this often, but the ending leaves a lump in your throat.

Aandavan
26th February 2007, 12:13 PM

in google video....sound not coming for the movie! download...

www.torrentz.com

Aandavan
26th February 2007, 12:17 PM
The Prestige.

A very intense movie on a rivalry between two magicians.. Must watch atleast twice.

28th February 2007, 06:02 AM
Awakenings

I don't know if anyone had already mentioned about this movie in this thread. If it hasn't been I would be very surprised. One of the most under-rated movies, all time. Its about a doctor and a bunch of comatose patients (they are sleeping/senseless for about 30 years) and the awakenings encountered by them. Superb performances. De Niro deserved an oscar for this role and the movie deserved the best picture.(I haven't seen dances with wolves which apparently won that year). Robin williams was equally good as well. I am not a big fan of him but this is his best ever performance I guess. The last scene in which De Niro talks to his first ever girl friend was extremely moving. De Niro I thought was walking on a very thin line that separates acting and overacting and he did not cross the line even in one scene. Very depressive movie but strongly recommended :)

thinkfloyd
28th February 2007, 11:38 AM
Awakenings

I don't know if anyone had already mentioned about this movie in this thread. If it hasn't been I would be very surprised. One of the most under-rated movies, all time. Its about a doctor and a bunch of comatose patients (they are sleeping/senseless for about 30 years) and the awakenings encountered by them. Superb performances. De Niro deserved an oscar for this role and the movie deserved the best picture.(I haven't seen dances with wolves which apparently won that year). Robin williams was equally good as well. I am not a big fan of him but this is his best ever performance I guess. The last scene in which De Niro talks to his first ever girl friend was extremely moving. De Niro I thought was walking on a very thin line that separates acting and overacting and he did not cross the line even in one scene. Very depressive movie but strongly recommended :)
Dances With Wolves won over Goodfellas in that year in the academy awards...

28th February 2007, 08:30 PM
How did I miss that :oops:

Even raging bull was denied an oscar, so goodfellas, awakenings losing out to DWW is not very surprising :(

thinkfloyd
28th February 2007, 10:05 PM
How did I miss that :oops:

Even raging bull was denied an oscar, so goodfellas, awakenings losing out to DWW is not very surprising :(
Scorsese always seems to be the victim. The biggest joke was Rocky winning over Taxi Driver in 1976 :lol:

kannannn
28th February 2007, 11:03 PM
TF, Rocky over Taxi Driver? Wow! Oscars ka jawaab nahi.. They seem to better their ineptitude ever once in a while.

And Dances with the Wolves is grossly overrated. I wonder what the Academy found in this movie!! Oh yes, I forgot the ineptitude part.

thinkfloyd
1st March 2007, 08:27 AM
And Dances with the Wolves is grossly overrated. I wonder what the Academy found in this movie!! Oh yes, I forgot the ineptitude part.
Well, though DWW over Goodfellas might not be justified, i immensely liked the former, perhaps due to my positive bias towards native Americans :).... And it was a remarkable debut for Kevin Costner...

kannannn
1st March 2007, 05:24 PM
I felt DWW was a bit over-sentimental - hence the overrated tag. But I do agree that it was a good debut effort. Costner followed it up with the not-so-impressive 'The Postman'.

3rd March 2007, 11:01 PM
The Elephant Man

Truly amazing movie. Must watch movie !!!!

Few scenes were touching like when John hurt goes to doctor place for tea.

John would cry and would say I am not treated so well by the beautiful women.

John would see the photos and he would show his mom picture and would say " My mom has the face of the angel and I must have been a great dissapointment to her :( " .

:shock: Seems the elephant man makeup took 12 hours to apply each time .

3rd March 2007, 11:05 PM

in google video....sound not coming for the movie!

Try visiting Burma bazar you would get this movie at a throw away price

4th March 2007, 10:37 AM
Finally managed to watch Fincher`s The Game starring Doughlas and sean penn .

The movie is Unrealistic but the movie is interesting to watch rite from the word go !!! . :thumbsup:

narayanan
4th March 2007, 09:46 PM

I found the VCD in Bangalore Landmark yesterday.
~~~~~~
Little Miss Sunshine was a surprise family drama movie I recently saw, worth its place in the IMDB top 250 :thumbsup:

narayanan
4th March 2007, 09:52 PM
Did you guys watch Black Friday (the 1993 blasts documentary) ?

6th March 2007, 02:25 AM
The Elephant Man

Truly amazing movie. Must watch movie !!!!

That was the most depressive english movie I have ever seen. The last scene was too much for me. :cry:

I want to sleep like normal people :(

I cant belive that its by Lynch :o Anyway let me recommend 3 Lynch movies

Blue velvet, Mulholland Dr, Lost highway 8-)

6th March 2007, 05:17 AM
I loved watching the Elephant Man...until the very end I was hoping he would return to the doctor....the story is so stark and gritty....i love the end piece that is played as he dies...it's the same one played in "Platoon", it is called "Adagio for Strings" another must see...I have heard that both mulholland drive and blue velvet to be quite creepy and adult...so i don't think i'd watch them...still im very surprised this movie is by Lynch...i guess it is the epitome of the carnivalesque...

Adagio for Strings: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SsyTOW4cYvA
On a much lighter note I watched "Little Miss Sunshine" and recommend it as well...truly a laugh and delight...though a bit crude it's cute as well and a real tongue-in-cheek critique of beauty pageants :lol:

Has any one seen Pan's Labyrinth yet? I want to know how it is before I see it, I have quite high expectations for it. Please post your comments on it, if you have seen it. :D

6th March 2007, 08:41 PM
Blue velvet, Mulholland Dr, Lost highway 8-)

Thanks for the recommendation , Nerd. Mulholland Dr is in my list for quite sometime .

//dig

Have u got the movie Le Dinne de cons

end dig//

6th March 2007, 10:16 PM
Q: PL is one heck of a movie. It impressed even a fantasy hater like me :P Must watch, IMO 8-)

Great: No. Have you seen that? Is it any good? Coz the reviews arent so good :oops:

6th March 2007, 10:23 PM
yes Nerd I have seen that movie twice . I really enjoyed that movie

thimuru
7th March 2007, 02:39 PM
the good bad and the ugly- great!

BABEL - Nice one....one doubt...whats written in the paper written by thejapanese girl to the detective in the climax!

that plot is not necessary

7th March 2007, 10:48 PM
Hey Thimuru :D I heard that Babel was apart of a trilogy (but can be watched as standing alone) did you see the previous two movies?... Amores Perros and 21 Grams....I know there was a lot of praise for 21 grams...can you (or any other hubber) please just comment on the other two movies....or maybe even give a short synopsis???? :D

thimuru
7th March 2007, 11:07 PM
no querida..i havent watched those movies...

21 grams is said to be very good

narayanan
8th March 2007, 10:47 AM
I've seen 21 Grams, its very good :thumbsup:

9th March 2007, 03:50 AM
I have seen all the 3 movies :P Its basically a trilogy exploring the heart and its emotions. Ameros Perros is my most favorite in this trilogy, followed by 21 grams and babel. Superb trilogy, must watch 8-)

narayanan
9th March 2007, 12:36 PM
Seems the elephant man makeup took 12 hours to apply each time .

I think you should've read the other trivia on IMDB too. This movie was the reason for the creation of Best Makeup category in the Oscars.

12th March 2007, 06:15 AM
exhausted/bored/braindead from studying too much? (i seem to find comedies extra funny only in these kinds of moods)
I would recommend this cheesy (try triple cheese) film "Napolean Dynamite" :tongueout:

14th March 2007, 10:38 PM
[tscii:f691830da0]I just watched "House of Sand and Fog" with the noted actor Ben Kingsley...heartbreakingly tragic... Kingsley and the iranian actress who portrayed his wife....they seemed so passionate yet inevitably mired in their world. I strongly recommend it!

Synopsis:

Academy Award® winners Sir Ben Kingsley ("Gandhi") and Jennifer Connelly ("A Beautiful Mind") star in the drama "House of Sand and Fog," based on the acclaimed bestseller by Andre Dubus III. Massoud Amir Behrani (Sir Ben Kingsley) is living a lie to fulfill a dream. Once a member of the Shah of Iran's elite inner circle, he has brought his family to America to build a new life. Despite a pretense of continued affluence, he is barely making ends meet until he sees his opportunity in the auction of a house being sold for back taxes. It is a terrible mistake. Through a bureaucratic snafu, the house had been improperly seized from its rightful owner, Kathy Lazaro (Jennifer Connelly). The loss of her home tears away Kathy's last hope of a stable life - a life that had been nearly destroyed by addiction - and Kathy decides to fight to recover her home ... at any cost. "House of Sand and Fog" exposes the unsettling truth that it is sometimes our hopes and not our hatreds that drive us to ruin, in a devastating exploration of the American Dream gone terribly awry. (http://www.dreamworks.com/houseofsandandfog/)
[/tscii:f691830da0]

15th March 2007, 05:28 AM
Hmm....On the Lighter Side:

Harold and Kumar Go To White Castle!! :rotfl2:

The Bathroom Scene :banghead: :puke: :rotfl:

The Jail Scene! :rotfl:

Everything and Every SCene! :rotfl:

15th March 2007, 06:50 AM
omg i can't believe i'm admitting this but Surya...i watched H&K in whitecastle..... :oops: :lol: that whole riding the cheetah thing....what the hell???? I love the doctor scene where he's like i don't want to try...and that um orderlie coming on to him...whoa....!

15th March 2007, 06:56 AM
YES! :rotfl:

The Scene with the Creepy guy who Drives the Tow Truck. :lol:

The Wierd Cop :?

The guy who pees with Kumar in the bushes! :lol:

"No I agree dude...I don't feel like gettin killed today." :rotfl:

Man the movie is a slapstick, and sexually perverse CLASSIC!!! 8-)

15th March 2007, 07:15 AM
oh btw I really don't think his new movie "the namesake" is gonna do too good...the whole abcd trying to balance out his identity between his unpopular desi roots and the seemingly cool american culture....I don't know it's kinda like same old same old...yeah yeah we get it already! :roll:

narayanan
15th March 2007, 11:02 AM
I heard 300 is very good. Has anyone seen it ?

thinkfloyd
22nd March 2007, 04:15 PM
Revisted Fight Club. The first time around i thought it was overrated. I changed my mind. summA sollakUdAdhu, ennamA thiraikkadhai ezhudhiyirukkaple Jim Uhls. As much as i hate the split-personality theory and its ubiquitous presence in the film world, the memorable dialogues and 'quotes' are too good to resist

I am Jack's raging bile duct

:2thumbsup:

thimuru
22nd March 2007, 04:49 PM
Revisted Fight Club. The first time around i thought it was overrated. I changed my mind. summA sollakUdAdhu, ennamA thiraikkadhai ezhudhiyirukkaple Jim Uhls. As much as i hate the split-personality theory and its ubiquitous presence in the film world, the memorable dialogues and 'quotes' are too good to resist

i also thought its overrated...

a doubt.....cosider a scene...

one drives car...one sits nearby....both talk...listeners behind

who is now really talking>>>OBVIOUSLY DRIVER AS CAR MOVES>>>

wont it be weird or listeners back seat>>as a guy keep on tlking unrelaTedly

is de movie logically correct completely ?

but good movie for sure

thinkfloyd
22nd March 2007, 08:22 PM
Vikki,
indha madhiri logic sila edathula idikkum... aana what i loved about the movie was the narration, irreverence, screenplay and dialogues...

22nd March 2007, 09:51 PM

#1. Do you think those bums will talk AGAINST Ed ??? :P

#2. Yes in a few, very few scenes.

Its a classic 8-)

thimuru
22nd March 2007, 10:05 PM
memento - sooperb......

4*

dialogues,screenplay,direction... :thumbsup:

guy pierce :wink:

its more thrillig to know wut happened before... :lol:

thimuru
22nd March 2007, 10:14 PM

#1. Do you think those bums will talk AGAINST Ed ??? :P

#2. Yes in a few, very few scenes.

Its a classic 8-)
:roll: :D

22nd March 2007, 10:16 PM

:yes: Amazing movie .

rocketboy
23rd March 2007, 01:29 AM
Wherez the burma bazaar equivalent in Bangalore?

thinkfloyd
23rd March 2007, 05:17 AM
Did you guys catch what was exactly the last frame of the film? :P :shock: :oops:
(There's one more scene where we can spot "cigarette marks")

24th March 2007, 09:13 AM
'300'....WOW...what a movie!! cinematography, direction, background music, acting...so well done!! :thumbsup:....

but...:roll:...i personally didn't appreciate/like the story as much...:oops:...it seemed to convey a very strong message about being pro-war :roll: (as in support of what's going on today, especially the Queen's speech :x)...

overall, a movie definitely worth watching....gruesome, violent, controversial and even disturbing but if you can handle it, then it's worth it...

manmadan
24th March 2007, 06:32 PM
'300'....WOW...what a movie!! cinematography, direction, background music, acting...so well done!! :thumbsup:....

but...:roll:...i personally didn't appreciate/like the story as much...:oops:...it seemed to convey a very strong message about being pro-war :roll: (as in support of what's going on today, especially the Queen's speech :x)...

overall, a movie definitely worth watching....gruesome, violent, controversial and even disturbing but if you can handle it, then it's worth it...

thanx for review :)

looking foward to watching it this weekend 8-)

26th March 2007, 10:15 AM
you're welcome....give us your review after you've seen it... :)

Kollywoodfan
27th March 2007, 03:32 AM
Sinthiya, I can see you enjoyed 300!! I loved it too! :D

Such a spectacular war movie, with amazing effects and an awesome soundtrack! The lines were awesome and powerful too...

"Tonight we dine in hell." :twisted: Haha!

Gerard Butler was simply brilliant as King Leonidas!! Definitely a mindblowing performance from him!! Movie is racy, characters are awesome...

Barring the vulgar scene at the beginning (a little too much if u ask me), everything else about the movie is must-see and memorable!! :victory: :victory: Go for it!!

27th March 2007, 03:35 AM
Did you guys catch what was exactly the last frame of the film? :P :shock: :oops:
(There's one more scene where we can spot "cigarette marks")

Just noticed this post. Yes that was the thing that Tyler mixes up in that children's movie, right. And yeh he did the same thing in the film's most heart warming part :lol: So that means Tyler still lives inside him and I am not really sure if he shot himself to death or not. Very obscure and interesting ending :)

thinkfloyd
28th March 2007, 06:08 AM
Akira Kurosawa's "Dreams" - The least impressive of his works :(

Couldn't even watch it fully...

Little Miss Sunshine :thumbsup:

thinkfloyd
28th March 2007, 06:10 AM
So that means Tyler still lives inside him and I am not really sure if he shot himself to death or not. Very obscure and interesting ending :)
mmm.. i'm not sure about that.. maybe its just a recursive trick Fincher pulled on us...(the last frame)

manmadan
28th March 2007, 06:10 AM

An awesome movie !!

BGM, Cinematograpgy, action story all superb. Wiked visual effects.
I normally h8 war films but this was sik.
Madness?? this is spartaa !! 8-)

Only some scenes with queen were :shock:

overall ill rate movie 8.5/10

its a must watch movie. :thumbsup:

30th March 2007, 08:43 AM
glad you enjoyed it!

8th April 2007, 03:06 AM
Pursuit of Happyness

Beautiful movie !!!

Will smith and W.Smith Jr was simply superb in this movie. ESp when smith was offered the post of broker , Smith acting was superb :thumbsup:

8th April 2007, 03:08 AM
So that means Tyler still lives inside him and I am not really sure if he shot himself to death or not. Very obscure and interesting ending :)
mmm.. i'm not sure about that.. maybe its just a recursive trick Fincher pulled on us...(the last frame)

:confused2: After Ed shot himself I thought Tyler is dead :?

thinkfloyd
8th April 2007, 03:13 AM
:confused2: After Ed shot himself I thought Tyler is dead :?
adha thaan naanum sonnen :)

thinkfloyd
8th April 2007, 11:49 AM
[tscii:df7fd3453b]Crónicas - [Ecquador - Spanish]

A tautly written thriller talking about the erosion of integrity and values in News Television and the subversion of justice and the irony of fate.

Superb acting by Damian Alcazar as Vinicio...[/tscii:df7fd3453b]

8th April 2007, 10:33 PM
Grindhouse

It was the best movie experience I have ever had. Fake trailers (prevuws of coming attractions :lol: ), fake ad, missing reels (but the reels were missing in probably the most interesting parts :P ), back to back features which were extremely fast paced, with great dialogs.

Rodriguez's movie was better than Tarantino's. Planet Terror had superb background score, terrific screenplay and terrific camera work. But the movie was gross, not everyone will enjoy that :oops:

Death proof was totally aimless. I mean Kurt russell kills a bunch of girls with his car and another set of girls knock Kurt down with their car. Thats the story for you. Out of the 1:30 mins, car chase scenes occupy 1:00 hour. BEST car chase scenes ever, much better than ronin. The movie had superb screenplay, fantastic camera angels (They show the first impact in 4 different camera angles) and good BG score.

9th April 2007, 10:20 AM
Shooter....:clap:....an excellent action movie to see - i was very satisfied with this movie...justice served...:thumbsup:...

thinkfloyd
9th April 2007, 02:36 PM
Annie Hall - (Woody Allen, Diane Keaton) :clap: :cool2:
A superbly witty and technically novel romantic comedy

P.S: Paul Simon (Simon and Garfunkel) comes in a guest role in the movie

kannannn
9th April 2007, 04:17 PM
Rodriguez's movie was better than Tarantino's. Planet Terror had superb background score, terrific screenplay and terrific camera work. But the movie was gross, not everyone will enjoy that
That's quite a claim!! Will take another month for the movie to hit the theaters here :(. Let me post my views then. I am awaiting Tarantino's "Inglorious Bastards" with more enthusiasm though. Collaboration ellam namba aalukku othu varathu..

Annie Hall - (Woody Allen, Diane Keaton) :clap: :cool2:
A superbly witty and technically novel romantic comedy

Brilliant movie. One of Allen's best. I loved the scene where they try to impress each other after the tennis session.

thinkfloyd
9th April 2007, 11:19 PM
Brilliant movie. One of Allen's best. I loved the scene where they try to impress each other after the tennis session.
Well, just watched "Match Point" - :thumbsup:
A film atypical of Woody Allen but is proof of his versatility and mastery of the medium. The second half had me gripped. For a change, the emphasis is on plot more than the characters (like Roger Ebert says in his review).
Scarlett Johansson is superb while Jonathan Rhys Meyers' accent is totally unconvincing/absent as an Irishman.

10th April 2007, 07:55 AM
12 Angry Men

Awesome movie !!!! Must Watch :cool2:

Henry fonda was simply superb :thumbsup:

narayanan
10th April 2007, 08:29 AM
Did you notice except for 3 or 4 of the jurors none of the other names are even told out. Henry Fonda says his name as they walk out of the court.

My favourite is that 'I will kill you' scene.

kannannn
10th April 2007, 07:10 PM
Well, just watched "Match Point" - :thumbsup:
A film atypical of Woody Allen but is proof of his versatility and mastery of the medium. The second half had me gripped. For a change, the emphasis is on plot more than the characters (like Roger Ebert says in his review).
Scarlett Johansson is superb while Jonathan Rhys Meyers' accent is totally unconvincing/absent as an Irishman.
I too liked Match Point. Too bad he followed it up with the insipid 'Scoop'. Scarlett was great in both movies though :thumbsup: .

tophilis
12th April 2007, 12:40 AM
12 Angry Men thats an awesome movie but couldn't help the fact that it felt like a theatre or stage drama. but awesome anyway...

Here are some movies I could reco from my side:

Fight Club
25th Hour
The Tenant
Rosemary's Baby
K-Pax
Mulholland Dr.
Se7en
Forrest Gump
The Elephant Man
Donnie Darko
Oldboy
Magnolia
Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels
Snatch

12th April 2007, 12:57 AM
12 Angry Men thats an awesome movie but couldn't help the fact that it felt like a theatre or stage drama. but awesome anyway...

Here are some movies I could reco from my side:

Fight Club
25th Hour
The Tenant
Rosemary's Baby
K-Pax
Mulholland Dr.
Se7en
Forrest Gump
The Elephant Man
Donnie Darko
Oldboy
Magnolia
Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels
Snatch

Hmmm it seems that I have pretty much the same taste in movies judging by the number that you have listed, I have already watched..therefore i will surely keep an eye out for the ones i have not watched yet...thanx! :D

thilak4life
12th April 2007, 01:55 AM
[tscii:5d50e1e12b]

BABEL - Nice one....one doubt...whats written in the paper written by thejapanese girl to the detective in the climax!

Now that I am going to sleep, I wanna write something. Now thats something interesting. Let's contemplate:

Spoilers ahead:

Deaf and dumb girl was desperate for sex. I think Jap girl's desperation is understandable, especially from the evidence of Japanese culture from different movies (J-pop J-urban embellishing 'hippie' society, not sure about accuracy ). Inarritu just went a level up showing it from a deaf-and-dumb girl’s perspective. And she sees her disability being the main reason for not having a guy in her life. In the restaurant , when a prick approaches her table (of deaf-and-dumb girls), he looks down at them with contempt and ridicules about them with his friends. She then shows her pussy to taunt them as if to say I can’t talk but I have a big vagina.

She sees 'sex' , as the only mean to get a guy liking her. She couldn’t take it any longer. Even in the dressing room, a girl makes fun of her virginity. Even some of my friends(girls included) seem to think 'getting laid', super-cool, being 'hip' and some people think 'virginity' as a weakness , it's a social construct. there wasn't anyone groping her or staring right into her eyes, that must have distressed her in the disc. That might have been her worry/concern but I was trapped into that trick, an average viewer to feel for 'deaf people dancing in the disc with no sound.

considering her looks, she could have got someone easily. Yeah, there are questions unanswered like why she wasn't able to get a similar deaf-and-dumb guy. However, for all we know, she might be from a deaf-and-dumb school exclusively for girls. She may not have met someone like that.

'Being deaf and dumb doesn't prevent one from getting laid for so long.' - That coupled with her good looks seals the argument. I don't think anyone can counter that point without assumptions. All we can do is assume that, she is under a transitional phase of adolescence. She isn’t close to her father (even more because he is a hunter). Her mother's death could have been traumatic to her and she feels empty even more. This might have been one of the many reasons for her 'desperation'. Too many assumptions for the viewer, I guess! Nevertheless, one clear incongruity of her 'wanting a relationship' is, when she even tried to seduce the dentist. She wanted to loose her virginity more than anything else. Finally, the director seals it with her nude 'attempt' in the end.

Now what did she write in that letter? It could be anything!

1) She lied to the inspector about her mother jumping down the building.(her mom actually shot herself dead) Could it be to apologize for that lie?

2) Japanese society suffers from many fetish behaviour and incest cases, did she lodge a complaint against her father?
haha, kidding!

3) did she plan to die? Maybe she wanted to jump from the balcony. But she changed her mind.

4) Maybe her father killed her mom..Maybe a confession letter..
Or maybe she killed her mom...

5)It could be a simple 'sorry'! Or maybe a brief synopsis of her situation.

6) None of the above..

[/tscii:5d50e1e12b]

12th April 2007, 02:44 AM
I am awaiting Tarantino's "Inglorious Bastards" with more enthusiasm though. Collaboration ellam namba aalukku othu varathu..

So am I. In Four rooms, his room was the least impressive :oops: And I guess its high time he stops showing his face on screen. He looks ugly and can't act for f***'s sake :twisted: Unfortunately at the grindhouse he is there in both the movies :banghead: :banghead:

thimuru
12th April 2007, 09:34 AM
[tscii:a142936da5]

Now that I am going to sleep, I wanna write something. Now thats something interesting. Let's contemplate:

Spoilers ahead:

Deaf and dumb girl was desperate for sex. I think Jap girl's desperation is understandable, especially from the evidence of Japanese culture from different movies (J-pop J-urban embellishing 'hippie' society, not sure about accuracy ). Inarritu just went a level up showing it from a deaf-and-dumb girl’s perspective. And she sees her disability being the main reason for not having a guy in her life. In the restaurant , when a prick approaches her table (of deaf-and-dumb girls), he looks down at them with contempt and ridicules about them with his friends. She then shows her pussy to taunt them as if to say I can’t talk but I have a big ******.

She sees 'sex' , as the only mean to get a guy liking her. She couldn’t take it any longer. Even in the dressing room, a girl makes fun of her virginity. Even some of my friends(girls included) seem to think 'getting laid', super-cool, being 'hip' and some people think 'virginity' as a weakness , it's a social construct. there wasn't anyone groping her or staring right into her eyes, that must have distressed her in the disc. That might have been her worry/concern but I was trapped into that trick, an average viewer to feel for 'deaf people dancing in the disc with no sound.

considering her looks, she could have got someone easily. Yeah, there are questions unanswered like why she wasn't able to get a similar deaf-and-dumb guy. However, for all we know, she might be from a deaf-and-dumb school exclusively for girls. She may not have met someone like that.

'Being deaf and dumb doesn't prevent one from getting laid for so long.' - That coupled with her good looks seals the argument. I don't think anyone can counter that point without assumptions. All we can do is assume that, she is under a transitional phase of adolescence. She isn’t close to her father (even more because he is a hunter). Her mother's death could have been traumatic to her and she feels empty even more. This might have been one of the many reasons for her 'desperation'. Too many assumptions for the viewer, I guess! Nevertheless, one clear incongruity of her 'wanting a relationship' is, when she even tried to seduce the dentist. She wanted to loose her virginity more than anything else. Finally, the director seals it with her nude 'attempt' in the end.

Now what did she write in that letter? It could be anything!

1) She lied to the inspector about her mother jumping down the building.(her mom actually shot herself dead) Could it be to apologize for that lie?

2) Japanese society suffers from many fetish behaviour and incest cases, did she lodge a complaint against her father?
haha, kidding!

3) did she plan to die? Maybe she wanted to jump from the balcony. But she changed her mind.

4) Maybe her father killed her mom..Maybe a confession letter..
Or maybe she killed her mom...

5)It could be a simple 'sorry'! Or maybe a brief synopsis of her situation.

6) None of the above..

[/tscii:a142936da5]

thank u thilak :D

thilak4life
12th April 2007, 11:07 AM
thank u thilak :D

Glad to be some help pal.

A movie that I would recommend to others: "That Obscure Object of Desire". Bunuel's shocking movie. If you like Surreal films, this is a must-watch. Even otherwise, it's pretty decent.

A Documentary that I would recommend/plead to be watched:" Root of all evil?" It's a must watch. Eye opener. Become an Atheist and live happily. Richard dawkins is God(metaphor) but God doesn't exist.

tophilis
13th April 2007, 12:53 PM
Just saw Deja Vu.

SPOILERS

It pretty much sounds, looks and feels like all other tony scott movies. It is a cross between Minority Report and Enemy of the State. But falls behind EOTS in pace and excitement. As usual Hollywood comes up with a new machine which could travel in space/time but dosen't come up with the concept the machine is built on. (At one point they claim the discovery to be a fluke)

Denzel does his role with ease although this isn't the kind of movie his name should be associated with.

15th April 2007, 11:22 PM
Namesake : The movie moves at a slow pace but it was not boring . I really enjoyed this movie and the BGM was good . Irfan khan and Tabu was good in this movie. Kal Penn :thumbsup:

17th April 2007, 06:56 AM
Pursuit of Happyness

Beautiful movie !!!

Will smith and W.Smith Jr was simply superb in this movie. ESp when smith was offered the post of broker , Smith acting was superb :thumbsup:

:exactly: Particulary when he walks out of the office. Wonder how Will Smith missed the Oscar. Knockout performance.

18th April 2007, 01:04 AM
Yeah ......in death proof he was ok.....in planet terror he was :oops:

I am awaiting Tarantino's "Inglorious Bastards" with more enthusiasm though. Collaboration ellam namba aalukku othu varathu..

So am I. In Four rooms, his room was the least impressive :oops: And I guess its high time he stops showing his face on screen. He looks ugly and can't act for f***'s sake :twisted: Unfortunately at the grindhouse he is there in both the movies :banghead: :banghead:

19th April 2007, 12:57 PM
Ppl said that davinci code is a bad movie. But i think its a passable one. Saw it yesterday.

19th April 2007, 09:07 PM
Amelie

:swinghead: Beautiful

Audrey Tautou :P was cute :P .

Its about a girl , Amelie, who tries to bring smile around her . The photography was really good 8-) . I liked the color used in this movie bright most of the times green color :D

Must watch movie.

kannannn
23rd April 2007, 01:04 AM
Weekend of German Cinema - highly recommended movies.

The Downfall (Untergang, Der) - On the last days of Hitler based on accounts of his secretary who was with him in the Bunker during the war in Berlin. Great war scenes and very good acting. But it was a bit troubling to see the human side of him. A different take nonetheless from the Germans themselves.

The Edukators: Three anti-capitalists vandalise the houses of rich people, when they are away (they don't steal anything though). On one such occasion, things go wrong and they are forced to kidnap the owner of the house. As the film progresses, the viewers are forced to ask disturbing questions. The film boasts some powerful dialogues.

The kidnapped man: My father used to say - "To be below 30 and not be an idealist is without heart, to be above 30 and still be an idealist is without brains"

The same man on another occasion: You fight your young life against exploitation, live in the woods with comrades, then you marry, have kids, find a job to support them, and then one fine day you go to the polling station and vote conservative.

23rd April 2007, 02:06 AM
Great both your recommendations (Amelie and Namesake) I happily agree with...I saw one scene in which Amelie talks to her little cow and i wanted to watch it! Namesake...was like destined to be watched....had tickets to "London Namastey" but went to watch first 20 mins of Namesake and did not leave....(thank goodness...London Namastey is rubbish!) i didn't like or agree with all of it....the BGM tired hard to capture the "present generation" and ended up sounding random rather than relating to movie...certainly Tabu and Irrfan were certainly the best pair to watch....there was a rather too much reliance on stereotypes...nowadays widely known and portrayed already...Kal Penn really did try hard....(looks more convincing with with head shaved!) the Zuleikha character is unsettling...and Penn's sister and girlfriend are pushed aside, appearing as flat characters.

24th April 2007, 10:46 PM
Heres a few:

Dead Man Walking - If you loved movies like Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile you'll love this one.

Contact - A Science vs Religion film. Superb performance by Jodie Foster.

Inside Man - Any Hollywood film that uses an ARR song has got to be good! :lol:

The Usual Suspects - Great twist at the end.......AJITH in VILLAIN (if you've seen the movie you'll know what I mean!)

Scary Movie 1-4 - The funniest, stupidest films of all time. SO SO FUNNYYYYYY!!! :rotfl:

26th April 2007, 12:41 AM
Fracture...:thumbsup:...

Ryan Gosling...awesome Canadian star...:clap:...

28th April 2007, 08:58 AM
Perfect Stranger...ok...
Bruce Willis is useless...:cry:...pathetic character for him...

still...ending is somewhat twisted...'someone is always watching you' :roll:...perfect stranger

thimuru
28th April 2007, 02:55 PM
Weekend of German Cinema - highly recommended movies.

The Downfall (Untergang, Der) - On the last days of Hitler based on accounts of his secretary who was with him in the Bunker during the war in Berlin. Great war scenes and very good acting. But it was a bit troubling to see the human side of him. A different take nonetheless from the Germans themselves.

it had lesser impact as i watched it after schindler's list.

kannannn
28th April 2007, 10:59 PM
Oh! They are entirely different in their treatment of the subject. Schindler's list was a bit sentimental and knowing Spielberg's love for Jewish history, it was not surprising. 'Downfall' awed me since Germans are generally ashamed of what happened during that time and don't portray Hitler in a favourable light. In the words of the director, they wanted to show that Hitler was no different from any other man, in that he had both the good and the bad mixed in him, albeit the bad qualities in greater proportion. I completely agree.

kannannn
7th May 2007, 02:35 AM
Funny Games: I immensely enjoyed Haneke's 2005 Cannes award winner Hidden (Cache) (easily one of the best modern French movies) and was recommended this movie by a friend. Funny Games (1997) tells the tale of a middle class suburban family that is held hostage by a pair of intruders for no apparent reason. The movie explores the prominence we have accorded to violence in the media. As we see the violence the family experiences on screen we cringe and pray for the bad guys to lose. One of the psychos even looks to the camera and asks 'you are on their side, right?'. But the movie manipulates our instincts and desires and delivers a stunning blow at the end. Wow!! movie making at its best :notworthy: :notworthy:. Absolutely recommended.

9th May 2007, 02:24 AM
watched "Departed"....was kinda confused...and surprised at my confusion cause usually can follow a story really well...if anyone can help do tell me what's the use of Costello being an informant...am i missing something?

I watched "Provoked" starring Aishwarya Rai and Nandita Das...the movie was documentarish...about an abused indian woman in the UK, I wish they chose someone more "normal" for the role rather than an unique beauty like Aish...though she plays the part well.

16th May 2007, 09:56 AM
El Laberinto del fauno (Pan's Labyrinth) directed by Guillermo del Toro
to me this is where fantasy meets violence. amazing movie.

El Espinazo del diablo (The Devil's Backbone) same director.
amazing again

watch both of them. you'll be blown away

shobana_in
17th May 2007, 08:46 PM
Citizen Kane

not boring...not interesting

but i liked it better than clockwork orange (odd comparison :lol: i saw the movies continuously.

17th May 2007, 08:47 PM
Of all the girls I know, NOBODY except may be one has liked ACWO :lol:

But IMO, thats from Kubrick's top rack :thumbsup:

thilak4life
17th May 2007, 08:49 PM

Who is that one?

Are you sure about it? :lol:

shobana_in
17th May 2007, 08:50 PM

im not a girl...see my signature

shobana_in
17th May 2007, 08:50 PM
i felt even the acting in clockwork orange to be loud.

thilak4life
17th May 2007, 08:55 PM

im not a girl...see my signature

People notice the pic or name but rarely they notice the signature!!!

And btw, the acting was supposed to be that way (exaggerated and hackneyed). BTW I loved the accent.

Welly welly welly welly well ..Viddy well, oh moi brother. Viddy well. Lemme go back to ma korova milkbar with my droogs.

17th May 2007, 08:58 PM
Oh well I should have known better. Now that I know who you are :shaking:

17th May 2007, 09:26 PM

Nerd... sometimes people think alike rite...?:D
ACWO is one of the best movies ever... period...
i actually came across it by accident.... and was introduced to one of the most amazing directors to have ever lived...

18th May 2007, 06:45 PM
Das Experiment - :thumbsup:
Goodbye Lenin - :thumbsup:

23rd May 2007, 05:42 PM

I prefer Eyes wide shut over CWO .

23rd May 2007, 08:43 PM

I prefer Eyes wide shut over CWO .

I think you are the first person to say that :shock: EWS is the least favorite of almost all Kubrick fans. But when talking about Kubrick we should not use words such as least, worst etc.., :P

CWO, S, 2001, SL are my most favorite Kubrick movies :)

25th May 2007, 09:01 PM
Saw Philadelphia & Step Mom last week... (for the nth time) would definetly recommend them :)

25th May 2007, 09:08 PM
CWO, S, 2001, SL are my most favorite Kubrick movies :)

I have seen EWS 2/3 times but CWO I have seen only once . I havent seen S , Lolita and 2001 yet, these 3 movies are in my list for pretty long time :(

25th May 2007, 09:16 PM
No Man's Land :thumbsup:
ennama padam edukkaraanga pa :notworthy:

28th May 2007, 10:07 PM
L'Enfant (French)
:clap: :clap: :thumbsup: :notworthy:

French cinema at its best

Rocky_
29th May 2007, 02:40 AM
Saw Philadelphia & Step Mom last week... (for the nth time) would definetly recommend them :)

Philadelphia is Tom Hanks and Denzel Washington @ their BEST!! :D :D

It's also an eye opener for many. Some of my friends are no longer Homophobes because of it.

6th June 2007, 04:31 PM
Terminal
Catch me if You can

7th June 2007, 09:30 PM
Rediff has come up with a list of must-see heist movies:

http://specials.rediff.com/movies/2007/jun/06sd1.htm

I have just seen 4 among the 10 they have listed,

The Italian Job
The sting
The Killing
Reservoir dogs.

I liked all the 4 movies and heist/con movies are good fun :P

thilak4life
7th June 2007, 09:38 PM
Le Cercle Rouge (The Red Circle) (1970) - haven't seen it..

The Sting (1973) - 9/10

Dog Day Afternoon (1975) - 8/10

Reservoir Dogs (1992) - 7/10

The Italian Job (1969) - haven't seen it. saw the remake.

The Thomas Crown Affair (1968) - haven't seen it. saw the remake.

The Killing (1956) - 8.5/10

The Ladykillers (1955) - 7/10

Rififi (1955) - 7.5/10

The Lavender Hill Mob (1951) - haven't seen it.

7th June 2007, 09:40 PM
Yeh. I have seen DDA as well, my most favorite Pacino movie :thumbsup:

shobana_in
7th June 2007, 10:10 PM
just seen reservoir dogs dog day day afternoon

both are good

7th June 2007, 10:22 PM
Le Cercle Rouge (The Red Circle) (1970) - haven't seen it..

A very interesting film, but ending marandhu pochu :oops:

7th June 2007, 11:38 PM
just seen reservoir dogs dog day day afternoon

both are good

just good??? they r few of my all time favs....
2 amazing moveis from some very talented ppl

11th June 2007, 03:44 PM
I had posted a review of the film, 'Tempus Fugit' in the Tamil films thread considering the Kamal Hassan connection - he has purchased its Indian remake rights - but I suppose this forum is more appropriate.

Here are 2 of my reviews on this film!

Tamil:
http://senthaen.blogspot.com/2007/06/blog-post.html

English:
http://itwofs.com/milliblog/2007/06/02/tempus-fugit-catalan-enric-folch/

The movie is absolutely fascinating but I'm sure very few people would have access to this film (at least in India - I've waited for over 2 years to get its DVD!) as its a tele-film made in Catalan language (from Spain). But it has been garnering amazing praise wherever it has been aired, in terms of film festivals and thats how I guess Kamal got to know of it/ saw it.

For those who want it legally - the DVD is available from Amazon.
http://www.amazon.com/Tempus-fugit-NON-USA-FORMAT-Reg-2/dp/B000N18CBA/ref=sr_1_9/002-4288333-4000005?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1181357792&sr=8-9

The same DVD has also been recently ripped in DivX format and is doing the rounds in torrent circles. Try a search in fulltorrents.com. Very few people may be sharing it though, so the best bet is the DVD. Also, the DivX file doesn't come with subtitles, so, unless you know Catalan, you're in for trouble! The DVD does come loaded with subtitles in Spanish, Catalan and English.

If anyone else has seen this, I'd love to know your opinion. It feels rather lonely to be the only one to have seen this amazing film - I guess I need to write to Kamal (and his friend, writer Sujatha) to check what he thinks :-)

Karthik

12th June 2007, 05:06 AM
inetk/Karthik,
I've been trying to get my hands on Tempus Fugit DVD ever since i read that Thalaivar had purchased the rights for this film.
Looks like the execution is novel and entertaining.
I don't think its available here in Singapore.

Thilak,
Any luck downloading this??

12th June 2007, 06:57 AM
Now that its confirmed that it may be maha difficult to get your hands on, here goes...

http://btjunkie.org/torrent/Tempus-Fugit-DVD-XviD-MP3-www-DivxTotaL-CoM-torrent/3865dd1c0de63db6ca8f3fd4bffbfd8dae204034f7ac

http://www.snarf-it.org/viewTorrent/870037-Tempus%20Fugit%20%5BDVDRIP%5D%5BSpanish%5D%5Bwww.n ewpct.com%5D.html

http://www.meganova.org/details/360604.html

Very few seeds, but worth a try.

I can rip the subtitles in the form of a .sub and .idx combination and upload it somewhere once you've finished downloading the movie.

thilak4life
12th June 2007, 03:24 PM
inetk/Karthik,
I've been trying to get my hands on Tempus Fugit DVD ever since i read that Thalaivar had purchased the rights for this film.
Looks like the execution is novel and entertaining.
I don't think its available here in Singapore.

Thilak,
Any luck downloading this??

Not available in torrents and whole of web :(

About the film, I read rants like "Holly must do more films like this". Really looking forward to watching it. But, It will be after Dasa :P

12th June 2007, 04:26 PM
Thilak,

Try the above three links....they work and I downloaded a copy just so that I can seed and help people reach this one...I'll be seeding almost all nights (Indian time)...if you want the subtitles, just PM me.

thilak4life
12th June 2007, 04:29 PM
Thilak,

Try the above three links....they work and I downloaded a copy just so that I can seed and help people reach this one...I'll be seeding almost all nights (Indian time)...if you want the subtitles, just PM me.

Thanks Inetk. Iniku night download arambikuradu munadi ungaluku PM anupuraen. :)

12th June 2007, 09:24 PM
seri naanum download panREn. But is it worth a download? Except karthik's I have not read ANY reviews on that movie, anywhere :shock:

thilak4life
12th June 2007, 09:37 PM
started downloading. :P

And a good movie that I don't recommend, at least not yet, but that is being recommended all the time in Imdb top 250 or many other non-mainstream forums, reviews, sites, lists, etc - what movie, you ask! 'All about eVe' - thats in the pipeline (and its waiting for a long time). Will review or rather rate it, once I watch it. :)

13th June 2007, 08:56 PM
Thilak, Have you finished downloading the movie . If so which link you have d/l , so that I can also download the same link.

14th June 2007, 06:50 AM
Anyone who has finished downloading...I've uploaded the subtitles here...actually found this in emule even before I could rip them off my DVD...its about 2.9 MB and is a .sub + .idx combo. Play it in GOM player and you can choose the language easily.

http://www.itwofs.com/temp/tempus_fugit_subs.zip

http://gomplayer.com/

thilak4life
14th June 2007, 08:54 AM
Great,

the first one. and I'm stuck at 70 % with no seeds. :(

15th June 2007, 12:56 PM
Alright, I have finished downloading, will try adding the subs.. lets see :D

narayanan
16th June 2007, 03:07 PM
Huh am still stuck at 57% :roll:

16th June 2007, 06:53 PM
narayanan:
I'm seeding it actively, all the time....usually the whole of both weekends and all weekday nights.

17th June 2007, 09:20 PM
Run, Lola Run :thumbsup: :thumbsup: A girl has 20 mins time to get 100000 DM to save his bf , before he robs the Supermarket . THe movie was visually appealing :thumbsup: . Has anybody seen this movie :huh: if so , who was the guy in the ambulance ? he looked like Lola`s father or was it Meyer :huh:

19th June 2007, 09:13 AM
Run, Lola Run :thumbsup: :thumbsup: A girl has 20 mins time to get 100000 DM to save his bf , before he robs the Supermarket . THe movie was visually appealing :thumbsup: . Has anybody seen this movie :huh: if so , who was the guy in the ambulance ? he looked like Lola`s father or was it Meyer :huh:

Yeh very good movie. The guy in the ambulance?? Which version are you talking about? The last version of the story, is it? Her dad's security guard will be lying down, slowly dying coz of a heart attack :huh: Anyway its been long, I saw it on Zee MGM :P

19th June 2007, 08:25 PM
yeah Nerd, I meant the 3rd version only . There was a hint in the final version though the security would tell Lola " Finally , you are back " . But the face somehow resembled that of Meyer.

How about Good Bye , Lenin :?: I liked the plot , Is it worth buying :huh:

thilak4life
19th June 2007, 08:50 PM
yeah Nerd, I meant the 3rd version only . There was a hint in the final version though the security would tell Lola " Finally , you are back " . But the face somehow resembled that of Meyer.

Worth it. :)

19th June 2007, 09:15 PM

Worth it. :)

:yes: And please try watching it with your mom :P

19th June 2007, 09:52 PM
Thanks guys :)

23rd June 2007, 04:57 PM
Allow me to recommend 'Tell no one', a recent French thriller, adapted from a best selling American novel of the same name by Harlan Coben.

Here's my review.
http://itwofs.com/milliblog/2007/06/23/ne-le-dis-a-personne-french-guillaume-canet/

Incidentally, the film's plot could make for a great Tamil/ Hindi thriller!

26th June 2007, 03:50 AM
1) One Hour Photo 2) The Truman Show 3) Mystic River 4) Viva Zapata (with Marlon Brando) (all within two weeks...pretty good by my standards :P)

1) That someone could easily do what Robin Williams does as an obsessive photo collector is what makes this movie so creepy. But that he keeps pushing against the limits at times really gives you an unsettling shock, especially his odd dream that seems to stir him into action....yet we are not left without reason/excuses for odd actions...

2) The Truman Show is a nice tame portrayal of a man who is "born" a moviestar, it is inspirational as well as mellow, Ed Harris as an impassioned director seems to have been put aside his power of portrayal that is seen in other movies...it is quite refreshing to see Jim Carrey at times bittersweet and serious character. Sometimes this transition doesn't exactly work (my half love for Adam Sandler's forays into seriousnesss such as "punch drunk love" and "reign over me"

3) An award winning cast which I would expect nothing less from...though I felt the final reason to the events was lacking yet (grudgingly possible). Tim Robbins was superb as the damaged yet honest man...sean penn's wife played by Laura Linney offers her chills with her miniscule yet pressingly presuasive justification...proving herself to be just as incrimated in Penn's actions as he is. The only confustion at the beginnging for me was the child that was supposed to by Kevin Bacon looked more like Sean Penn, while Penn's little version looked nothing like his older self. I liked how Bacon instead of being coerced into pointing fingers at his one time friends stands his ground, even Laurence Fishburne should be commended for his starkily pithy lines...not ever letting Bacon think he could play loyalties...though that is what happens anyway.

4) Viva Zapata ( I usually stay away from political dramas but Brando made me stay to watch) I liked how events became cyclical even without me noticing, there is no long lived glory nor is their idealism, the heroism of Zapata is very human and unwillingly upheld...

Synopsis: In 1909, Emiliano Zapata (Marlon Brando), a well-born but penniless Mexican Indian from a remote province, Morelos, comes to Mexico City to complain that their arable land has been enclosed, leaving them only in the barren hills. His expressed dissatisfaction with the response of the President Diaz (Fay Roope) puts him in danger, and when he rashly rescues a prisoner from the local militia he becomes an outlaw. Urged on by a strolling intellectual, Fernando (Joseph Wiseman), he supports the exiled Don Francisco Madero (Harold Gordon) against Diaz, and becomes the leader of his forces in the South as Pancho Villa (Alan Reed) is in the North. Diaz flees, and Madero takes his place; but he is a puppet president, in the hands of the leader of the army, Huetra (Frank Silvera), who has him assassinated when he tries to express solidarity for the men who fought for him. Zapata and Villa return to arms, and, successful in victory, seek to find a leader for the country. Unwillingly, Zapata takes the job, but, a while later, he responds to some petitioners from his own village with no more reassurance than had Diaz years before.....
courtesy of http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0045296/

6th July 2007, 12:18 AM
Few movies should never be rated , you got to watch those movies for its brillaince and feel like

Cinema paradisio :redjump: :bluejump:
and Seven Samurai

Though SS ran for more than 3 hours :shock: the movie was interesting :omg: Coming to think of the period in which it was shot :omg:

other 2 movies are

He Likes me He likes me not basically I saw this movie for Audrey Tautou :P upon the recommendation from Nerd. The movie was a good thriller , defn this movie is a worth watch.

Le Enfant (Child ) : After watching this flick anybody would defn think about think about this movie once or twice
The movie about a couple Bruno and Sonia , Bruno is a thief. What happens when he sell his 9 day kids follows the rest of the story . Though there is no big twists in this movie . But defn this movie is worth a watch.

6th July 2007, 12:19 AM
Few movies should never be rated , you got to watch those movies for its brillaince and feel like

Cinema paradisio :redjump: :bluejump:
and Seven Samurai

Though SS ran for more than 3 hours :shock: the movie was interesting :omg: Coming to think of the period in which it was shot :omg:

other 2 movies are

He Likes me He likes me not basically I saw this movie for Audrey Tautou :P upon the recommendation from Nerd. The movie was a good thriller , defn this movie is a worth watch.

Le Enfant (Child ) : After watching this flick anybody would defn think about think about this movie once or twice
The movie about a couple Bruno and Sonia , Bruno is a thief. What happens when he sell his 9 day kids follows the rest of the story . Though there is no big twists in this movie . But defn this movie is worth a watch.

manmadan
6th July 2007, 05:04 AM
Has any1 seen hostel 3 ?

I heard its really disturbing movie and horrifying.

Braandan
6th July 2007, 05:20 AM
"Knocked Up" - Hilarious dialogues.

tfmlover
8th July 2007, 10:31 AM
eye-popping , mind-blowing ,blood pumping ! you name it
awesome visual effects + sound ...
i always loved Transformers and my fav hero ! i love Optimus prime
he was soooo cool , and i cried when Bumblebee was hurt !( not fair Michael bay :evil: )
best movie for this summer watched it twice can watch many times

http://www.transformersmovie.com/
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZp75fWe-ss
and
Linkin Park's
http://www.transformersalbum.com/

8th July 2007, 05:40 PM
Yet another recommendation from my side. The Korean film 'Gwoemul' (The Host)

http://itwofs.com/milliblog/2007/07/08/gwoemul-korean-joon-ho-bong/

My review should hopefully induce you to watch this one!

thilak4life
8th July 2007, 10:50 PM
Heard about 'the host' creating big 'rift'. Saw the trailer in youtube sometime back.

Recently, Rottentomatoes (idiots) have put up a list of 100 Sci-Fis. This film is ranked higher than 2001 space odyssey, Solyaris, Brazil and what not :o

Maybe it's a good entertainer (from the evidence of the trailer). But the list was a shocker! Is it really that good? :roll:

9th July 2007, 06:54 AM
Well, let me put it this way - without getting into that Top 100 sci-fi list. New York times' reviews of the film actually compares The Host's director with none other than Steven Spielberg!

http://movies2.nytimes.com/2007/03/09/movies/09host.html

thilak4life
9th July 2007, 10:39 AM
Well, let me put it this way - without getting into that Top 100 sci-fi list. New York times' reviews of the film actually compares The Host's director with none other than Steven Spielberg!

http://movies2.nytimes.com/2007/03/09/movies/09host.html

OhO. BTW, I don't rate Steven high. But the man is king of mainstream entertainers - I would say. :)

Will take a look at 'the host' ASAP. :D

10th July 2007, 05:26 PM
Apocalypto

Worth a watch

10th July 2007, 09:49 PM
Recently, Rottentomatoes (idiots) have put up a list of 100 Sci-Fis.

10th July 2007, 09:57 PM
Bounds (1996)

Saw the film primarily coz its the maiden attempt of the wachowski bros, supposedly made to prove themselves to their producer before he would accept to produce Matrix.

And it really shows how a good cinema doesnt need extravagant things. The whole story is filmed within an apartment, there are only a handful of characters but yet it keeps ppl attached to the screen, mainly thanks to the intelligent screenplay and the powerful narrative. This is a film with so many twists that you will rarely blink your eye for the fear of losing on the plot.

Like in matrix, cinematography is excellent, artistic and rich. Don davis provides an extravagant and grim score and it looks like a precursor to the style that he adopted in Matrix trilogy. Highly recommended film :thumbsup:

10th July 2007, 10:01 PM
Syriana (2005)

A grim picture on the real world oil politics and global affairs. The plot develops at a leisurely pace and in parallel stories. But by the time all the sub-plots crawls towards the big moment, the punch is delivered already. The film has an everlasting impact. People may lose their patience halfway through the film, but those who hang on will reap the benefit. The film has an everlasting impact.

Recommended :)

tfmlover
11th July 2007, 09:32 PM
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix !
first show 12 midnight :D black magic !
ya movie is darker
less dazzling comparing to the previous ones
still wizardry
potter kissing ! everyone :lol: . i too
ok movie .watch it then

16th July 2007, 05:02 PM
Jules And Jim (Truffaut) :banghead:
Ennada solla vareenga????
Only slightly better than Godard's Les Carabiniers.
Is it a rule that "New Wave" means the characters have to be from Mars and the acting so *dead*?

P.S: I was baffled to read that it is based on a semi-autobiographical novel :shock:

thilak4life
16th July 2007, 05:03 PM
Jules And Jim (Truffaut) :banghead:
Ennada solla vareenga????
Only slightly better than Godard's Les Carabiniers.
Is it a rule that "New Wave" means the characters have to be from Mars and the acting so *dead*?

P.S: I was baffled to read that it is based on a semi-autobiographical novel :shocked:

I guess, this was your crib against Breathless too :)

16th July 2007, 08:21 PM
I guess, this was your crib against Breathless too :)
Band e part in particular , Breathless(A Bout de souffle) and Le Petit Soldat in general. However, the last two were atleast more accessible. Le Mepris was typical too but more "human". It may get better on repeated viewings (with commentary perhaps) but "Jules And Jim" - :huh:. You too, Truffaut?

neenga paathutteengala J & J? I'd like to know what you think about the characterizations, to start with (i'm not talking from a moral standpoint at all) :)

thilak4life
16th July 2007, 10:32 PM
CR,

I remember liking the film thoroughly :P. Forget the shots/style of presenting, the film was a ride. Liked the characterizations, they were played a little too 'dramatically', but thats okay. :)

kannannn
17th July 2007, 03:21 AM
CR :shock: . Breathless effect-a? I personally found J&J to be one of Truffaut's finest films. It ranks along with, if not higher than, 400 Blows and Wild Child. Characters were unusual, but that's what makes the movie special and so memorable. Scenes I liked: the one where they walk along the river bank, the one where Catherine recounts her encounters with the stranger to Jim and of course the final scene. That one was totally unexpected and shook me out of my chair. As I have said before, this one is Truffaut's masterpiece and poetry on screen :D.

PS: The plot of Hazaaron Khwaishen Aisi reminds me very much of J&J

thilak4life
17th July 2007, 10:42 AM
PS: The plot of Hazaaron Khwaishen Aisi reminds me very much of J&J

Same same..pinch pinch :) And, we know that Pulp fiction paid homage to this film through that memorable line. But, I can also see where QT's passion for the geeky bohemenian lines comes from :D[/b]

kannannn
17th July 2007, 03:17 PM
Thilak, :exactly: QT's love for New Wave is well known. In fact, I owe my love for foreign language and art house movies to his interviews. His enthusiasm is so contagious :D.

17th July 2007, 03:58 PM
Thilak/Kannan,
:omg: :shock: :shock: :twisted:

A few kostins:
1) I understand that a film with spineless and/or totally unpredictable and contradictory characters is not necessarily bad. However, i couldn't empathize with even a single character from that movie - Catherine(!!), Jules, Jim and even Gilberta. Are they humans? Do they react like humans? Do they have basic human qualities like anger, *jealousy*, love, hatred etc?
When the fundamental is flawed, how does it matter how the film is made or what innovations were used as far as technique is concerned?
2) OK, like i said, just because a film might portray these characters doesnt mean that the film can't be a great one.
I would like to know what was great or even good about these characterizations - Will anyone we know do the things they do? - Very unlikely (yes, its autobiographical and that's all the more sickening).
It's not that the characters are *unusual* that's my crib here. It's not funny, powerful, or anything of that sort. It's like, "what is the point??"

OTOH, say a film like ACO is about utterly despicable characters mainly but it has the viewer riveted all throughout. You may hate the characters but they are real.
3) To me, a good film would make me feel, and/or "see", and/or "think". J & J did nothing.
4) I knew the last scene was inevitable and it was only a matter of time before she did it.

Well, like the cliche goes, we should agree to disagree or disagree to agree or whatever :)

17th July 2007, 04:01 PM
Yes, HKA - 2 guys and a girl but then, KK and SA aren't "close" friends like J & J, are they? Moreover, HKA had real human beings as characters :razz:

[Sudhir Mishra-ve J&J padatha potrinaalum kutram kutrame! :) ]

kannannn
17th July 2007, 05:20 PM
Thilak/Kannan,
:omg: :shock: :shock: :twisted:

A few kostins:
1) I understand that a film with spineless and/or totally unpredictable and contradictory characters is not necessarily bad. However, i couldn't empathize with even a single character from that movie - Catherine(!!), Jules, Jim and even Gilberta. Are they humans? Do they react like humans? Do they have basic human qualities like anger, *jealousy*, love, hatred etc?
When the fundamental is flawed, how does it matter how the film is made or what innovations were used as far as technique is concerned?
I think the characters don't need our empathy. That's just the way they are. Both Jules and Jim find in Catherine the woman they were looking for, the 'perfect pair'. But Catherine is not someone who would be bogged down by 'love' as we know the term. She is free spirited, choosing to live life the way she wants - which incidentally is fine by both Jules and Jim. So there is no question of jealousy or hatred, though it is the unconditional love for Catherine that dooms both J&J.

2) OK, like i said, just because a film might portray these characters doesnt mean that the film can't be a great one.
I would like to know what was great or even good about these characterizations - Will anyone we know do the things they do? - Very unlikely (yes, its autobiographical and that's all the more sickening).
It's not that the characters are *unusual* that's my crib here. It's not funny, powerful, or anything of that sort. It's like, "what is the point??"

OTOH, say a film like ACO is about utterly despicable characters mainly but it has the viewer riveted all throughout. You may hate the characters but they are real.
Sickening? Wow, that's a strong word for the kind of movies we watch :lol: . I thought we have come beyond that characterisation. ACO was more surrealistic. J&J is a simple story of two men's obsession with something that yearns to be free. Does that obsession have to be exclusive? IOW, does love itself have to be exclusive? What stops someone from loving more than one person? And what stops someone from sharing his object of affection with others? J&J is an attempt to answer these questions.

Well, like the cliche goes, we should agree to disagree or disagree to agree or whatever :)
Agreed :lol:

kannannn
17th July 2007, 05:24 PM
As for HKA, I think neither KK nor SA is really possesive. Theirs is as complicated a relationship as J&J have with Catherine :D.

thilak4life
17th July 2007, 11:18 PM
Kannannn, CR
It's a long time since I watched this film. But, I almost relived it, looking back in a sort of introspective way as I read both your posts. Now I should watch it again :D

But, CR, I don't think new wave is all about 'neo-realism'. The unconventional characters dwelling in a reflective world (of reality) is the 'central' theme. Lets take 400 blows , it's the film which is claimed to be the most realistic of Truffaut films. It is, no doubt, but even that deals on the protagonist breaking free from 'conventionality'. New wave films also embodies the new wave itself, breaking traditions and modalities. J et J characterizations is no different. But, the beauty of NW characters is, they are not mere stereotypes. Same holds good for Kubrick's protagonists, Herzog's, etc having their own unique patterns, although the way it works, is different!

And NW films, I could connect to the what the 'character' is going through, I like the way it doesn't throw it out at our face. But, it's still effective. However, it looks like, it didn't work for you.

BTW I had already said, let's forget the way the film is presented, didn't I! :?

sehnthan
18th July 2007, 05:52 PM
Have anyone watched "The Prestige" ?..
i was glued to seat watching how magicians struggled to maintain their prestige those days...very nice movie...

20th July 2007, 04:47 PM
I think the characters don't need our empathy. That's just the way they are.

"Empathy" was not the right word. My bad English :oops:
It's the way they are (or portrayed to be) which is the problem. Even Sithan's character in Pithamagan can be justified saying "that's the way he is" :huh:
The point is, who would be the way he is?

Both Jules and Jim find in Catherine the woman they were looking for, the 'perfect pair'. But Catherine is not someone who would be bogged down by 'love' as we know the term. She is free spirited, choosing to live life the way she wants - which incidentally is fine by both Jules and Jim. So there is no question of jealousy or hatred, though it is the unconditional love for Catherine that dooms both J&J.

Catherine is a manipulative unstable and extremely contradictory character. If a character in a film is not realistic, he/she should be funny, interesting or powerful in some sort of a way (like ACWO). Catherine was just plain irritating IMO.
Unconditional *love*?? LOVE? idha love nu sonna appo love-a enna solradhu? Don't get me wrong, i'm not rattling off some Murali type sermon here :) The problem is, this whole triangle or rectangle is a bunch of spineless men taking all the crap that's sent their way by Catherine. It's difficult to decide who is more irritating - Jim, Jules or Catherine?

So there is no question of jealousy or hatred

No. Jim does, infact mention that he is jealous when he sits in the rocking chair while Catherine is trying to "seduce" Jules upstairs. I think the narrator also mentions about their jealousy.

J&J is a simple story of two men's obsession with something that yearns to be free. Does that obsession have to be exclusive? IOW, does love itself have to be exclusive? What stops someone from loving more than one person? And what stops someone from sharing his object of affection with others? J&J is an attempt to answer these questions.

A porn orgy would have been more realistic, and effective. It would have been a better attempt instead of a typical French poetic excuse like this, IMO :)

thilak4life
21st July 2007, 12:44 AM
:shock: :omg:

1st August 2007, 10:01 PM
Fast Food Nation - Yet another parallel-plots film, though it makes sense in this film.
The film is slow but raises a few important questions. Worth a watch, not because its a great film but atleast for the questions.

P.S: I didn't understand the college kids complaining about the way "the cows are treated" (unless they are vegetarians).

manmadan
16th August 2007, 11:21 PM
Rush Hour 3 :thumbsup:

If your looking for 2 hours of non stop comedy and entertainment then go for it :wink:

22nd August 2007, 07:29 AM
Rush Hour 3 :thumbsup:

If your looking for 2 hours of non stop comedy and entertainment then go for it :wink:
Rush Hour is a sentimental comedy film for me...first great memories with friends at the theatre for the RH 1&2... :)...

gotta watch the 3rd...!

23rd August 2007, 06:57 PM
Bourne Ultimatum - Best so called "blockbuster" movie released this summer.

Didn't think the first two Bourne movies were that great, but this one kicks ass (literally!). Mind blowing action plus a worthwhile storyline. Most, if not all the action sequences were done without the use of CGI, but they are still very very impressive!

Defo worth a watch. I give it 5/5 :2thumbsup:

Also saw Rush Hour 3. Personally thought it was a waste of time. RH 1 & 2 were funny(ish), but this one just dragged on. Same jokes, same action. I think Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker themselves are getting bored of doing these films. The "chemistry" they had in the first two films was lacking in this one. I think I read somewhere they were thinking of simulataeously shooting RH 4 with this movie! Good thing they didn't!!!

15th October 2007, 08:06 AM
We Own the Night...:thumbsup:...good...

tophilis
21st November 2007, 07:56 PM
Knocked Up

another movie from the fratt pack camp. Its good though i donno what all the hype was about.

kannannn
26th November 2007, 09:07 AM
[tscii:3dcfe84b0b]Noir weekend

Le Doulos (The Finger Man): A thief on his first job after coming out of jail is set up by his friend, and what follows is a roller-coaster ride of intrigue, double-cross and misplaced loyalties. Melville constructs his characters like only he can, confusing the viewer into taking sides before realising too late that they were done in.

Le Samourai (The Samurai): A paid assasin is seen leaving the scene of crime and with the police hot on his trail, he must find who his contractors were to extract revenge and possibly find time carry out one last assignment. This is without doubt THE BEST 'contract killer' movie I have ever seen. It was a pleasure to watch Melville unfold the plot at his own, leisure pace with great BGM to boot.

L'Armée des Ombres (Army of the Shadows): Not exactly a noir. The movie follows the hopeless efforts of a French resistance group during World War II to overturn Nazi rule and in the process desribes in stark detail their struggles to come to terms with betrayal, revenge and above all, commitment to their cause. Easily one of the best WWII movies I have ever seen and Melville's finest.

I had only seen (and liked immensely) Melville's Le Cercle Rouge before, but hadn't expected such consistency in his works. I am in awe of the man :notworthy: :notworthy:[/tscii:3dcfe84b0b]

26th November 2007, 09:15 AM
I had only seen (and liked immensely) Melville's Le Cercle Rouge
Same here - i've seen only LCR

Thanks for the recommendation :thumbsup:

thilak4life
26th November 2007, 09:32 AM
[tscii:eec4b5379e]
Le Samourai (The Samurai): A paid assasin is seen leaving the scene of crime and with the police hot on his trail, he must find who his contractors were to extract revenge and possibly find time carry out one last assignment. This is without doubt THE BEST 'contract killer' movie I have ever seen. It was a pleasure to watch Melville unfold the plot at his own, leisure pace with great BGM to boot.[/tscii:eec4b5379e]

I'm addicted to this film, the way it's made, and the way it unfolds. Deadpan protagonist has never been as apt! :lol:

kannannn
26th November 2007, 08:48 PM
Yes, and the way he remains cool even with a gun thrust on his face..
"Nothing to say? "
"Not with a gun on me. "
"Is that a principle?"
"A habit."

And towards the end when he goes on his final assignment..
"Why Jeff?"
"I've been paid to."

thilak4life
26th November 2007, 11:49 PM
[tscii:a21e301d74]Melville is both expressive and illustrative in his visual narrative, the mise en scène is utilized to the T. It's a feminist film in my estimation, especially the key here is to juxtapose Jane and Valerie, and study Jeff's motives, & the deceits from the other men, and it fits my claims. The general mood of the film is in line with the character's, in turn a Samurai or a Ronin's bushido (married to the noir elements, making it all the more special.)

P.S: The slow death of cagebird gave it away though, not to say the symbolism is impertinent.[/tscii:a21e301d74]

kannannn
27th November 2007, 02:57 AM
It's a feminist film in my estimation, especially the key here is to juxtapose Jane and Valerie, and study Jeff's motives, & the deceits from the other men, and it fits my claims.
That is a compelling argument :D. A common feature of Melville's movies, as far as I have noted, is the strong female characters. The defining moment of the film is, according to me, the scene where Valerie decides not to pick up the phone, instead choosing to move over to the Boss' side of the house, thereby pushing Jeff to become passive to an extent. I think the statement he makes to Valerie in the end is much more than what Wiki says (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Le_Samoura%C3%AF) - it is as if Jeff wants Valerie to see the implications of her refusal to help him.

The general mood of the film is in line with the character's, in turn a Samurai or a Ronin's bushido (married to the noir elements, making it all the more special.)

P.S: The slow death of cagebird gave it away though, not to say the symbolism is impertinent.

The starting scene (with the caged bird) pretty much sets the mood for the film, with the noir element accentuating the feel of solitude. It is perhaps this solitude that forces Jeff to choose his path later on.

Another common characteristic I noted in Melville's movies: The background music is mostly in live form - it is either the piano being played in a club house or a radio that has just been turned on. In fact, I didn't expect Valerie's character to have any significance, dismissing it as just another Melville trade mark. I was pleasantly surprised when her character turned pivotal :D.

thilak4life
27th November 2007, 11:57 AM
[tscii:7ca177bccd]
The starting scene (with the caged bird) pretty much sets the mood for the film, with the noir element accentuating the feel of solitude. It is perhaps this solitude that forces Jeff to choose his path later on.

:exactly: I also thought the water bottles in the apartment, the hats, coats, cars, keys, etc symbolizing the consumerist bourgeoisie, further resonated by the redundant life of Le Samourai. The confined apartment life. Furthermore, the bird's sound is repetitive and best resembles the monotony.

On Valerie, I read a review (http://www.filmreference.com/Films-Ro-Se/Le-Samourai.html)with an interesting take,

As a myth, on the other hand, Le Samourai is a variation on the theme of Orpheus being called to the underworld. If, in Orphée, it was the otherworldly Princess who becomes susceptible to human feelings and returns Orpheus's love, here it is the icy, solitary Jeff whose feelings are awakened and who, thus shorn of his strength, deliberately accepts death and destiny. And just to underline the parallel with Orphée, the Princess is a white woman dressed in black, while Valérie is a black woman dressed in white.[/tscii:7ca177bccd]

The ronin in Jef (the cold ruthless hardwilled warrior) is actually vulnerable, and it's the woman who finally wins him over. Valerie (translates to valorous ) is ultimately the pivotal.

kannannn
28th November 2007, 10:32 PM
[tscii:de71118a0f]

As a myth, on the other hand, Le Samourai is a variation on the theme of Orpheus being called to the underworld. If, in Orphée, it was the otherworldly Princess who becomes susceptible to human feelings and returns Orpheus's love, here it is the icy, solitary Jeff whose feelings are awakened and who, thus shorn of his strength, deliberately accepts death and destiny. And just to underline the parallel with Orphée, the Princess is a white woman dressed in black, while Valérie is a black woman dressed in white.

The ronin in Jef (the cold ruthless hardwilled warrior) is actually vulnerable, and it's the woman who finally wins him over. Valerie (translates to valorous ) is ultimately the pivotal.

Very interesting review there. Thanks Thilak :D. As I was reading the review, I couldn't help but notice the contrast in 'Le Samourai' and 'Le Cercle Rouge'. While the former heavily plays on the softer side of Jeff (vulnerable, as you have observed), the latter is stripped down of any such emotions. It is a purely masculine movie (I am sure CR would agree :D) with just hints of how our hero (?!), again immaculately played by Alain Delon, comes to realise the true betraying nature of his lover. In fact, the female character speaks all of one line in the whole movie. In 'Le Samourai', he deliberately lets himself to be led by Valerie. OTOH, in 'Le Cercle Rouge', he chooses his path as a means of getting back - and being defiant- at his previous love. Hmm.. maybe I should revisit 'Le Cercle Rouge' to look back at the finer points.[/tscii:de71118a0f]

thilak4life
2nd December 2007, 01:53 PM
Kannannn, I thought LCR was a lighter film, but as you said, there must be finer points. That's an exciting juxtaposition with Le Samourai.

BTW, the opening quotes with a revolving laughing budda!

"Siddhartha Gautama, the Buddha, drew a circle with a piece of red chalk and said: 'When men, even unknowingly, are to meet one day, whatever may befall each, whatever the diverging paths, on the said day, they will inevitably come together in the red circle.'"

Wiki says that Buddha said no such thing, and Melville made it up, just like the budisho epitaph in Le Samourai (There is no solitude greater than the samurai's, unless perhaps it be that of a tiger in the jungle.)

thilak4life
18th December 2007, 01:29 AM
Check this out,

Looking forward to this film (http://www.atasteforthetheatrical.com/deathtrap/default.htm)

kannannn
20th December 2007, 06:59 AM
Continuing with Noir, my latest is 'Rififi' (Boy, am I enjoying the Holidays!!). A demoralised and physically weak ex-convict is trying to turn clean when his associates coax him into leading them on one last job - to burgle the most famous jewellery shop in Paris. All goes well until one small mistake leads them into direct confrontation with one of Paris' most dangerous underworld gang. The film is most famous for its 30 minute, tersely silent heist scene, but that was not what engaged me. The screenplay, the dialogues, the portrayal of inner turmoil of the characters were so mesmerising that I found myself contemplating its near perfection much after it ended. The DVD comes with a 4 page booklet that details the fine points of the movie and provides an interesting account of its production history. Buy one and you won't regret it!!

thilak4life
20th December 2007, 11:54 AM
I enjoyed it, but for the lady's song - that was sitting in a hot stove! Except that you could read the characters (I suggest muting that piece and read the subtitles)!

kannannn
20th December 2007, 06:27 PM
I enjoyed it, but for the lady's song - that was sitting in a hot stove! Except that you could read the characters (I suggest muting that piece and read the subtitles)!
:lol: I actually liked the song, especially the way she goes, 'R..i..f..i..f..i..', and explaining what it meant (I didn't know what it meant too).
A few snippets from the booklet
1. Dassin was a communist suffering the consequences of the McCarthy commision and was blacklisted by Hollywood. He apparently hated the novel, but since his family was broke he found himself saying 'yes'.
2. The author of the book came to Dassin after reading the screenplay and placing a gun on the table demanded, 'where is my book?'. :lol:
3. There were two versions of the heist scene: one with BGM and the other without. When shown the muted version, the composer agreed that the score he wrote should be removed.

thilak4life
21st December 2007, 12:46 AM
Really interesting to know all that, Kannannn! Thanks!

Tia
24th December 2007, 10:04 PM
The Golden Compass is reallly goood!
its the book northern lights made nito a movie...but i must say the movie is a very dumbed down version of the book and the endings slightly wrong

but its a good movie! :D

Sid_316
12th January 2008, 05:21 PM
Following - One of the lesser known movies of nolan! but fantastic :)

13th January 2008, 10:24 AM
Yeh following is a terrific movie. You don't know what you are following until the climax. And the climax is just out of the world :P

13th January 2008, 10:37 AM
Yeh following is a terrific movie. You don't know what you are following until the climax. And the climax is just out of the world :P

Actually I never expected such climax, I thought it would be another Split personality :oops:

manmadan
15th January 2008, 06:31 PM
I am Legand :thumbsup: very good movie.

Definatley worth a watch.

malligai
16th January 2008, 08:59 PM

Yeah, i agree too...the movie is a good watch...

I haven't watched his "Batman Begins" yet...any reviews on that movie... :?:

18th January 2008, 10:03 AM
watched 'Juno'....:thumbsup:...a very funny, down-to-earth comedy that had an awesome actress!...she was straight-forward and real...

the best part of the movie is the soundtrack...wow...one of the coolest soundtrack in a loooong time....songs are very very cool! 8-)....

thilak4life
18th January 2008, 10:20 AM
Hi Malligai,

Reg. Batman begins. It's a change of style for Nolan to a more darker Frank miller-style, than kidding itself like Burton's, or the utterly "gutters"-like pathetic adaptations by Schumacher. Burton of course had his idiosyncratic look at his characters, and Gotham city (which is also true with his Planet of the apes remake). But I prefer the no-kidding Nolan fare. Picture this? Or, simply take a look at Nolan's Joker (The dark knight trailer) against the incredible Jack in Burton's BB! The eccentricity and his presentation varies. Moreover, I'm much looking forward to Nolan brothers' script..

To put it simply, Nolan and Bale have revived the franchise all by themselves, with Nolan's own vision surpassing the comic's, which is a good thing. Besides, his Batman (Baleman or Bateman :P ) is the most human, dark, and real so far..

18th January 2008, 10:27 AM
watched 'Juno'....:thumbsup:...a very funny, down-to-earth comedy that had an awesome actress!...she was straight-forward and real...

the best part of the movie is the soundtrack...wow...one of the coolest soundtrack in a loooong time....songs are very very cool! 8-)....

Ebert has named Juno as THE best movie of 07. I saw half and had to leave the hall, thanks to one of my friends.. From whatever I say the movie was DAMN good 8-)

18th January 2008, 10:34 AM
Ebert has named Juno as THE best movie of 07. I saw half and had to leave the hall, thanks to one of my friends.. From whatever I say the movie was DAMN good 8-)
I didn't expect much, but I wanted to see it when I heard she was Canadian :P so I decided to watch it...

the movie was well-done - quite creative...did you like the soundtrack? i want to download the songs :oops: otherwise, i may just buy it...

18th January 2008, 10:40 AM
I didn't expect much, but I wanted to see it when I heard she was Canadian :P so I decided to watch it...

the movie was well-done - quite creative...did you like the soundtrack? i want to download the songs :oops: otherwise, i may just buy it...
I dint pay much attention to the soundtrack :oops: Will do that this weekend. That girl was pretty. And I loved Michael Sera in superbad though he doesnt play that big a role (??) in this movie.. And I left the theater after the scene in which she and the prospective dad watch gore movies :lol: Can't wait to watch the rest!

18th January 2008, 10:50 AM
I dint pay much attention to the soundtrack :oops: Will do that this weekend. That girl was pretty. And I loved Michael Sera in superbad though he doesnt play that big a role (??) in this movie.. And I left the theater after the scene in which she and the prospective dad watch gore movies :lol: Can't wait to watch the rest!
The first thing i noticed was the soundtrack - from beg. till the end, I enjoyed all the songs...yeah the girl waaas pretty! Jennifer Garner kinda reminded me of Julia Roberts (I think Julia Roberts would've done better :P)

yeah, I remember that scene :lol: creepy guy...hehe...

Kollywoodfan
21st January 2008, 07:11 PM
Juno
The Pursuit of Happiness
Hitch

22nd January 2008, 07:30 AM
Sinthiya, the soundtrack of Juno was very cute and very *girlish* for my liking :P

22nd January 2008, 11:16 PM
JUNO - Simple, yet intense movie, digging out the various emotions of life... Looks like a chick-flick from the outside, but has a deep soul on the inside! 8-) 8-) 8-)

23rd January 2008, 09:17 AM
Sinthiya, the soundtrack of Juno was very cute and very *girlish* for my liking :P
hehe...yes, i guess that's why i like it...

malligai
6th February 2008, 03:17 AM
Hi Malligai,

Reg. Batman begins. It's a change of style for Nolan to a more darker Frank miller-style, than kidding itself like Burton's, or the utterly "gutters"-like pathetic adaptations by Schumacher. Burton of course had his idiosyncratic look at his characters, and Gotham city (which is also true with his Planet of the apes remake). But I prefer the no-kidding Nolan fare. Picture this? Or, simply take a look at Nolan's Joker (The dark knight trailer) against the incredible Jack in Burton's BB! The eccentricity and his presentation varies. Moreover, I'm much looking forward to Nolan brothers' script..

To put it simply, Nolan and Bale have revived the franchise all by themselves, with Nolan's own vision surpassing the comic's, which is a good thing. Besides, his Batman (Baleman or Bateman :P ) is the most human, dark, and real so far..

Thilak, thanks for the review... :thumbsup:

I guess u will have to put it more simply for me... :lol:

thilak4life
6th February 2008, 10:46 AM
Sorry, my bad english. :oops:

malligai
6th February 2008, 10:43 PM
oopss... :(

i din't mean it that way thilak...

i meant that ur english is real ''hi-fi".. :D

thilak4life
6th February 2008, 11:20 PM
Thanks Malligai. You're being too kind. I'm liable to confusing with my words. :) Btw, do check out "Batman begins" with lesser expectations (than for example, "Sincity", etc). The film should be gauged in lineage of the Batman franchise, that's why I see Nolan's films as a welcome change. It got darker for the good. :)

malligai
13th February 2008, 11:09 AM
thanks thilak...I will let u know as soon as I watch the movie... :)

malligai
13th February 2008, 11:17 AM
Btw, has anyone watched the movie "The Lake House" cast by Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves??

If so, can anyone please explain the movie to me... :D

i just cant understand how two people living in different times, like past and present, meet in the same time at the end... :roll:

Or did i get the whole movie wrong?? :D

19th February 2008, 07:14 AM
chrismass in ogos [japan movie]
beatifull love movie!

malligai
11th March 2008, 05:05 PM
Watched the "The Last of the Mohicans" recently...Its a 90's movie, but a must watch...the historical plot with an entwined romance is simply awesome...dont forget to keep the tv volume really high for the background score is great...

it is an adaptation of a novel by James Cooper.
Cast: Daniel Lewis as ''Hawkeye" and Madeline Stowe

12th March 2008, 06:53 PM
Atonement.. simply beautiful :notworthy:

18th March 2008, 08:20 AM
Jumper 8-) cool - wish i could teleport like him...

7th April 2008, 12:29 AM
Jumper 8-) cool - wish i could teleport like him...

completely stupid movie....Hate it!

harishkumar09
8th April 2008, 10:09 PM
I would advocate Solaris. A really good movie which questions the basis of human existence and its ability to comprehend extra-terrestrial life. George Clooney has given wonderful performance. Syrian is also good. Here again George Clooney has acted very well.

By the way , I have started a forum dedicated to just the four southern states of India. You can discuss everything there , from spirituality to music to films to Pre-History. You can access it at www.dravidanadu.com . I would also like some help in developing it and loooking for some moderators. If anybody is interested , please let me know.

kannannn
27th April 2008, 11:02 PM
Persepolis (French) : I don't remember the last time a cartoon left me so heavy at the heart. Persepolis, mostly drawn in monochrome, is the autobiographic account of an Iranian girl, as she grows in the one of the most tumultous periods of their country's history - that of the revolution and subsequent war with Iraq. Being sad and funny at the same time, the movie is statement against tyranny and yet stops short of being sententious. It works on many levels - as a story about a girl's longing for freedom, as a peek into the lives of ordinary Iranians and as a reminder of oppression in all its forms around us. A very big :notworthy: to Marjane Satrapi for adapting her graphic novel into a movie.

Please do youself a favour and watch it.

thilak4life
27th April 2008, 11:23 PM
Persepolis (French) : I don't remember the last time a cartoon left me so heavy at the heart. Persepolis, mostly drawn in monochrome, is the autobiographic account of an Iranian girl, as she grows in the one of the most tumultous periods of their country's history - that of the revolution and subsequent war with Iraq. Being sad and funny at the same time, the movie is statement against tyranny and yet stops short of being sententious. It works on many levels - as a story about a girl's longing for freedom, as a peek into the lives of ordinary Iranians and as a reminder of oppression in all its forms around us. A very big :notworthy: to Marjane Satrapi for adapting her graphic novel into a movie.

Please do youself a favour and watch it.

I watched it right after it was nominated by the academy. It deserved better than the film that won eventually, Ratatouille. That's another fine film and I loved it. (in spite of the aversion to major animation studios)

kannannn
27th April 2008, 11:39 PM
It deserved better than the film that won eventually, Ratatouille. That's another fine film and I loved it. (in spite of the aversion to major animation studios)
:exactly: I liked Ratatouille too, but this one was way above. What it lacked in sophistication, it more than compromised by way of narration, characterisation (the grandma was the best, IMO) and dialogues. Ippo novel thedum padalathil ullen.

thilak4life
28th April 2008, 12:37 PM
It deserved better than the film that won eventually, Ratatouille. That's another fine film and I loved it. (in spite of the aversion to major animation studios)
:exactly: I liked Ratatouille too, but this one was way above. What it lacked in sophistication, it more than compromised by way of narration, characterisation (the grandma was the best, IMO) and dialogues. Ippo novel thedum padalathil ullen.

Oh yes, I personally think the lack of sophistication personifies the theme of the film.

Sid_316
17th May 2008, 06:20 PM
hey guys recommend me some good movies! some all time favs "rare" stuff kind of... any genre!

17th May 2008, 06:29 PM
hey guys recommend me some good movies! some all time favs "rare" stuff kind of... any genre!

naan edhavadhu padatha solli..."heyyy...i have watched those movies already...its so famous nuteenganna" :roll:

Sid_316
17th May 2008, 08:48 PM

naan edhavadhu padatha solli..."heyyy...i have watched those movies already...its so famous nuteenganna" :roll:

paravala chumma sollunga :D i need recommendations pls

17th May 2008, 09:04 PM

paravala chumma sollunga :D i need recommendations pls

these are my most favs

deer hunter
cinema paradiso
pulp fiction
oldboy(korean)
once upon a time in america
dr.strangelove
bicycle thief
good bad and the ugly
dog day afternoon
king of comedy
life is beautiful
godfather 1 and 2
aparajito (watch it after pather panchali)
carlitos way
kill bill
audition(japanese)
saving private ryan
schindlers list
memento
seven samurai
and a lot

very serious movie buffs who watch films of tarkovsky,fellini types would recommend u more :)

Sid_316
18th May 2008, 06:04 PM
Good Recommendations i havent seen audition from that :) any recommendations of movies which are like not from mainstream Holly movies :) something like city of god