View Full Version : ◄lılı Thala AjithKumar ♥ Anushka • Yennai Arindhaal • A M Ratnam • GVM lılı◄
Pages :
[
11]
6th February 2015, 01:24 PM
pandikai release panni iruntha Linga record udaichirukkum, YA
Only super stars can release their movies on a non holiday and break records
6th February 2015, 02:01 PM
Unbelievable story narration, very intense tamil movie in a very very long time. Hats off to Actor Ajith , to pick this genre. GVM :clap: Superb Movie ! Having said that , I am not sure this movie is palatable for masses.
Another clear winner for 2015. Still shaking my head in disbelief so many nuance executed to perfection. Very sleek movie Just WOW!! School kids needs marks, not for grown up adult movie :) its 5/5 for me :lol:.
Sir Ajith is in completely in a different league all together :yessir:
One -ve HJ was either drunk or pissed off during RR ? felt like I was in some heavy metal concert utter nonsense.
6th February 2015, 02:02 PM
Ramesh @rameshlaus
From #Madurai, It's not #Chithrai festival crowd.. But #YA FDFS crowd @ #TamilJaya Theater..
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9IyqtVCEAA8M_j.jpg
:2thumbsup:
balakumar86
6th February 2015, 02:13 PM
Ayngaran @Ayngaranholland
#YennaiArindhaal has got an earth-shattering opening
He's right. Yesterday, I watched the movie in Zien and it was a houseful show. Normally, there would be only 2 shows for every Tamil movie (one on the day of release and one on Sunday). The show on the day of release wouldn't attract much crowd, but yesterday it was just the opposite. Even for the movie 'I', there were only 50+ people. But for YA, all 170 seats got filled.
ArulprakasH
6th February 2015, 02:19 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9Ecx2CCEAE9NBO.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9EcxfeCEAETuZK.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9EcxBOCYAEGIZP.jpg
Selva for you.. Sivakasi PalaniAandavar
princeofkerala
6th February 2015, 02:43 PM
national/international media elam kidu review rating ...
'Yennai Arindhaal' review: Ajith Kumar as the cop, the gangster, the father and the lover will win you over
Rating: 4/5
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/yennai-arindhaal-review-ajith-kumar-as-the-cop-the-gangster-the-father-and-the-lover-will-win-you-over/526841-71-174.html
princeofkerala
6th February 2015, 02:44 PM
തമ്പി ഇത് തലയുടെ തട്ടകം ഇവിടെ ജയം തലയ്ക്ക് സ്വന്തം
എങ്ങും മികച്ച അഭിപ്രായത്തോടെ എന്നെ അറിന്താൽ പ്രദർശന വിജയത്തിലേക്ക് ..
@kerala https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/1506029_628529350606067_1349341713003967016_n.jpg? oh=6c00f982785695cade5ef61f5ba98a23&oe=55515B54&__gda__=1433002538_91b7585e2ea3aec177b5856ee536fc5 4
princeofkerala
6th February 2015, 02:45 PM
Ajith's 'Yennai Arindhaal' Conquers Kerala; Mammootty's 'Fireman' Release Postponed
By Nicy V.P February 5, 2015 19:10 IST
Ajith movie "Yennai Arindhaal" is now holding its grip strongly in Kerala. The movie, directed by Gautham Menon, has opened to massive response in 107 screens on its opening today. This is the highest release ever for Ajith in the state
Ajith's "Yennai Arindhaal" hold its grip in Kerala; Mammootty's "Fireman" postpones its releaseFacebook/ Yennai Arindhaal/Fireman
Kerala distributor of the movie KG Nair had also made sure that the film had its first show by 7:30am at Shenoy Cinemax in Kochi. As per latest reports, the movie has got some overwhelming response and the booking for the movie for the upcoming days are getting filled at a fast pace.
http://www.ibtimes.co.in/ajiths-yennai-arindhaal-conquers-kerala-mammoottys-fireman-release-postponed-622622
Yennai Arindhaal Supermegahit Hatrik for ajith
http://www.kaumudiplus.com/news.php?nid=04bf8f3d8b2bdfcfec9793a884d8f72c&mcid=32&msid=3#.VNSGJeaUexO
ArulprakasH
6th February 2015, 02:57 PM
Thanks for the update PrinceofKerala :)
thala
6th February 2015, 03:51 PM
guys has the scene from the promo2 been chopped in india as well?
6th February 2015, 03:52 PM
i 'll be watching YA tomorrow...excited
6th February 2015, 03:52 PM
One -ve HJ was either drunk or pissed off during RR ? felt like I was in some heavy metal concert utter nonsense.
Dil ji,
I found the BGM quite impressive. And, yes, its not your normal stuff, but definitely puts you inside. Add in all the 'shake' in the camera like Monsieur Coutard style, the music does not create anything, but is the ticket to experience the proceeding live. His exessive use of Techno Industrial sounds were catchy mainly during ACT3 where Satya climbs the hospital building. The shoot outs, esp. the first one in the industrial gowdown synced very well. HR also has brought in some Dubstep guitars and at times he rams it, that stimulates the adrenalin. I also found that he gives a variety of sound according to the change in atmosphere and I felt it aided the character development. For eg : In the middle of Act2 (interval block), he plays it soft. Suituation - A trapped animal, fighting not with its trapper but within itself from not changing itself from an animal to a beast. That scene was a class in every way you look at it. HR played it in a melody that given enough space for the audience to feel whats really happening before them. Like wise there are few other top and note worthy scenes in the movie.
Sincerely, for the moment, I did not capture much and I know there is much more inside. Ajith fans were changing the hall into something else, and the above is just what I could make out. I am going to watch the film again tomorrow evening for GVM & HR alone.
And another reason I favour the BGM is because of "some heavy metal concert" (eventhough it was not that heavy). A Metal concert for 15 euros, I am in and I will be there for the noise that I always enjoyed (LoL).
6th February 2015, 03:54 PM
http://www.cinemalead.com/news-id-ajith-kumar-bo-office-reports-06-02-157263.htm
BO OFFICE REPORTS - YENNAI ARINDHAAL 1ST DAY WORLD BOX OFFICE COLLECTION
Ajith Kumar’s Yennai Arindhaal opened up grander than the reported screens. Initially, it was mentioned that it will have a TN release in just 500 screens, but gradually struck the 582 mark on the spur of moment. This is an authentic report from one of the leading film traders of the globe and the first day collection of this film is as follows.
TN - 12.80 CRORES – 582 SCREENS
KERALA – 3.75CRS 110 SCREENS
KARNATAKA – 2.54 CR 80SCREENS
REST OF INDIA – 1.36CRORES 50 SCREENS
OVERSEAS - 9.75CRORES 450 SCREENS
TOTAL – 30.20 CRORES APPROXIMATELY
It is worth mentioning that Ajith Kumar films usually are bound to action and violence that many female audiences wouldn’t prefer to watch. But with Gautham Vasudev Menon adding more romance, emotions and family elements to this film, it has drawn family audiences into the theatres. With the shows house packed for the entire weekend, we can expect Yennai Arindhaal to scale the great heights in box office. For now, it becomes the second biggest opener in the recent times with Lingaa collecting 37Crores and Vikram’s I with 27Crores and Kaththi – 23 Crores approximately on the first day worldwide.
THALA....:bow: take a BIG BOW.....THALA POLA VARUMAA......only possible by Thala.....Thala totally in a different league...
6th February 2015, 03:59 PM
are you talking about thuppakki-la thotta-illa...suttenaa...yes it is cut...the movie is 2 hours 56 mins 48 seconds and guess 11-12 mins of movie shot is cut... :(
even I don't why they cut enna...ready-aa...from the adharu song...
6th February 2015, 04:04 PM
Has the Film got English Subtitles ?
thala
6th February 2015, 04:06 PM
yes the thuppakile thotta illa scene i mean..and ya as well as "enna ready a"...those scenes were expected from most as they were shown in the promos...but didnt survice editor anthonys office i guess. Also gautham menon said vivek's scenes had to taken out. So some vivek one liners, the promo fight and may be some anoushka scenes were chopped i guess.
6th February 2015, 04:11 PM
yes the thuppakile thotta illa scene i mean..and ya as well as "enna ready a"...those scenes were expected from most as they were shown in the promos...but didnt survice editor anthonys office i guess. Also gautham menon said vivek's scenes had to taken out. So some vivek one liners, the promo fight and may be some anoushka scenes were chopped i guess.
ah....that's not good
ArulprakasH
6th February 2015, 04:11 PM
Yep... It is chopped here too..
ArulprakasH
6th February 2015, 04:16 PM
Has the Film got English Subtitles ?
Yes Params.. Nandhini Karky has done that.. For your information, SS reference is there in the movie..
Nandini Karky @nandinikarky
Happy to share I’ve subtitled #YennaiArindhaal, a moving portrayal of a man of honour.
6th February 2015, 04:17 PM
Yes Params.. Nandhini Karky has done that.. For your information, SS reference is there in the movie..
Thanks, I was going to go with a Non Tamilian, hence the question :)
yellow
6th February 2015, 04:32 PM
Bangalore Anjan & OORVASI
yellow
6th February 2015, 04:45 PM
என்னை அறிந்தால்- விமர்சனம் Posted by: Shankar Published: Thursday, February 5, 2015, 16:07 [IST] இந்த செய்தியை நண்பர்களுடன் பகிர்க: ஷேர் செய்ய ட்வீட் செய்ய ஷேர் செய்ய கருத்துக்கள் மெயில் -எஸ் ஷங்கர் Rating: 3.0/5 நடிப்பு: அஜீத், த்ரிஷா, அனுஷ்கா, அருண் விஜய், நாசர் ஒளிப்பதிவு: டான் மெக்ஆர்தர் இசை: ஹாரிஸ் ஜெயராஜ் தயாரிப்பு: ஏ எம் ரத்னம் இயக்கம்: கவுதம் மேனன் தொடர்ந்து சறுக்கல்களைச் சந்தித்த இயக்குநர் கவுதம் மேனன், அஜீத், அனுஷ்கா, த்ரிஷா, ஹாரிஸ், விவேக் என புதிய குழுவோடு களமிறங்கியிருக்கிறார். கவுதம் மேனன் சொல்லும் போலீஸ் அதிகாரியின் கதைகளில் என்னென்ன வழக்கமான அம்சங்கள் இருக்குமோ அத்தனையும் அடங்கிய கதை 'என்னை அறிந்தால்'. நேர்மையான அதிகாரி, மோசமான வில்லன், ஏற்கெனவே திருமணமான அல்லது விவாகரத்தான ஹீரோயின், வன்முறைகளின் உச்சமான மோதல்கள்... அத்தனையும் இதிலும் காணக் கிடைக்கின்றன. ஹீரோவின் சுய அறிமுகத்தோடு காட்சிகள் ஆரம்பிக்கின்றன. தந்தையை கொடூரமான முறையில் இழந்து, போலீஸ் அதிகாரியாகிறார் ஹீரோ. ஒரு மோசமான சமூக விரோத கும்பலை பழிவாங்க தாதா அருண் விஜய்யோடு தொடர்பு வைத்திருக்கிறார். சரியான நேரம் வரும்போது கும்பலை போட்டுத் தள்ளுகிறார். தப்பிக்கும் அருண் விஜய், ஹீரோவின் காதலியைப் போட்டுத் தள்ள... மீதி என்னவாக இருக்கும் என்பதை யூகித்துக் கொள்ளுங்கள். படத்தில் அஜீத் வசீகரிக்கிறார். ஒரு துடிப்பான இளம் போலீஸ் அதிகாரி, காதலியை இழந்து துயரில் கதறும் காதலன், பொறுப்பான அன்பான அப்பா என ஒவ்வொரு கட்டத்திலும் அவர் நடிப்பு முழுமையாக உள்ளது. சண்டைக் காட்சிகளில் அவர் நடிப்பில் பொறி பறக்கிறது. ஆஷிஷ் வித்யார்த்தியுடன் அஜீத் மோதும் காட்சியிலும், ரவுடி கும்பலை எச்சரிக்கும் காட்சியிலும் ரசிகர்கள் ஆர்ப்பரிக்கிறார்கள். த்ரிஷாவுக்கு சின்ன வேடம் என்றாலும் படமெங்கும் வியாபித்து நிற்கும் அளவுக்கு சிறப்பான வேடம். அழகு, நடிப்பு இரண்டிலுமே குறை வைக்கவில்லை. மழை வரப் போகுதே.. பாடலில் த்ரிஷா அள்ளுகிறார்! அனுஷ்காவின் நடிப்பில் குறையொன்றுமில்லை. சில காட்சிகளில் அவர் தோற்றத்தைப் பார்க்கும்போது, 'திருமணத்துக்கு நேரமாச்சு' என்ற அலாரம் கேட்கிறது! இன்னொன்று, உடை விஷயத்திலும், மேக்கப்பிலும் த்ரிஷாவை பார்த்துப் பார்த்து இழைத்தவர்கள், அனுஷ்காவை கண்டுக்கவில்லை போலத் தெரிகிறது. இறுக்கமான ஆக்ஷன் காட்சிகளுக்கு மத்தியில் விவேக்கின் வருகை பெரிய ரிலாக்ஸ்! படத்தில் அஜீத்துக்கு இணையான முக்கியத்துவம் வில்லனான அருண் விஜய்க்கு தரப்பட்டிருக்கிறது. அதை உணர்ந்து நடித்திருக்கிறார். முதல் முறையாக அவரது பாடி லாங்குவேஜ் பார்வையாளர்களை எரிச்சல்படுத்தாமல் இருப்பது இந்தப் படத்தில்தான். நாசர், ஆஷிஷ் வித்யார்த்தி, பார்வதி நாயர், அனிகா என அனைவருமே கதையின் மாந்தர்களாக வாழ்ந்திருக்கிறார்கள். முதல் பாதி திரைக்கதை கொஞ்சம் மெதுவாகத்தான் நகர்கிறது. பல காட்சிகள் காக்க காக்க, வேட்டையாடு விளையாடு படங்களை நினைவுறுத்துகின்றன. வசனங்களும். எண்பதுகளில் பெரும் வெற்றி கண்ட இயக்குநர்கள் தங்களுக்கென ஒரு பாணி வைத்திருந்தார்கள். ஆனால் முந்தைய படங்களின் காட்சிகள் எதுவும் ரிபீட்டாக மாதிரி பார்த்துக் கொள்வார்கள். ஆனால் இன்றைக்கு ஒரே கதை, ஏற்கெனவே வைத்த காட்சிகளை வேறு நடிகர்களை வைத்து ரீமேக் பண்ணுவது தனி பாணியாகிவிட்டது. கவுதம் மேனனும் இதிலிருந்து தப்பவில்லையோ என்று தோன்றுகிறது சில காட்சிகளை, பாத்திரப் படைப்புகளைப் பார்க்கும்போது. படத்தின் பெரும் பலம் இசை. ஹாரிஸ் ஜெயராஜ் இரண்டு இனிமையான பாடல்களைத் தந்திருக்கிறார். காட்சிகளுக்குப் பொருத்தமான பின்னணி இசை. டான் மெக்ஆர்தரின் ஒளிப்பதிவு இன்னொரு ப்ளஸ். ஒவ்வொரு சூழலையும் நாடகத்தனமின்றி காட்டியிருக்கிறது. கவுதம் மேனனைப் பொருத்தவரை, இந்தப் படம் அவருக்கு மிகப் பெரிய மறுபிரவேசத்துக்கு உதவியிருக்கிறது. அதற்கு ராஜபாட்டை போட்டுக் கொடுத்த அஜீத்துக்கு இன்னும் ஒரு பெட்டரான கதையை அவர் யோசித்திருக்கலாம்! அதே நேரம் எடுத்துக் கொண்ட கதையை ரசிக்கும்படி கொடுத்திருப்பதற்காக, இந்தப் படத்தைப் பார்க்கலாம்!
Read more at: http://tamil.filmibeat.com/reviews/yennai-arinthaal-review-033093.html
6th February 2015, 04:59 PM
The English Subtitles is a BOON as well as a BANE. :(
the subtitles is distracting enough...
Dinesh84
6th February 2015, 05:02 PM
Is it a mandate that all tamil films should include subtitles in Malaysia?
6th February 2015, 05:13 PM
I do think having subtitles would boost the income for the films, here in London, I have seen many Anglo Saxons, and our long lost Persian cousins watching Tamil movies, I have seen a considerable amount of non Indians ( quite shockingly) watching Tamil movies like Endhiran, Vishvaroopam, Lingaa and I. While it can be annoying for Tamilians , it is a good move for people with sight issues and non Tamilians !
6th February 2015, 05:14 PM
Yennai Arindhaal watch count - 2 on First Day Feb 5th. :)
6th February 2015, 05:17 PM
MASS response for YA for the Class Act by Ajith :)
thala
6th February 2015, 05:53 PM
what's your favourite scenes guys (without spoilers)? Mine are:
- dialogue confrontation btw thala and ashish vidyarthi.
- Ajith proposing Trisha
- Ajith waiting gethu in front of his door
- Ajith showdown with Matthew
- whole climax sequence
- Unnakkenna venum sollu picturazation
- Title card :-)
yellow
6th February 2015, 06:01 PM
முதல் நாள் வசூல்.. லிங்காவுக்கு அடுத்த இடத்தைப் பிடித்தது என்னை அறிந்தால்! Posted by: Shankar Published: Friday, February 6, 2015, 17:38 [IST] இந்த செய்தியை நண்பர்களுடன் பகிர்க: ஷேர் செய்ய ட்வீட் செய்ய ஷேர் செய்ய கருத்துக்கள் மெயில் முதல் நாள் வசூலில் ரூ 28 கோடியை வசூலித்து, ரஜினியின் லிங்கா படத்துக்கு அடுத்த இடத்தைப் பிடித்துள்ளது என்னை அறிந்தால். நேற்று உலகம் முழுவதும் வெளியானது அஜீத் நடித்த என்னை அறிந்தால். இந்தப் படத்துக்கு ரசிகர்கள் நல்ல வரவேற்பு கொடுத்து வருகின்றனர். முதல் நாளில் தமிழகத்தில் மட்டும் ரூ 12 கோடிக்கு மேல் வசூலித்துள்ளதாக பாக்ஸ் ஆபீஸ் செய்திகள் கூறுகின்றன. கேரளாவில் ரூ.3.5 கோடியும், கர்நாடகாவில் ரூ.2.54 கோடியும், பிற மாநிலங்களில் ரூ.1.36 கோடியும், வெளிநாடுகளில் ரூ.8 கோடியும் என மொத்தம் கிட்டத்தட்ட 28 கோடி வரை வசூலித்து சாதனை படைத்துள்ளது இந்தப் படம். இது தோராய கணக்குதான். முழு விவரங்கள் திங்களன்று கிடைத்துவிடும். ரஜினி நடிப்பில் வெளியான ‘லிங்கா' படத்தின் முதல்நாள் வசூல் ரூ.37 கோடி என கணக்கிடப்பட்டிருக்கிறது. லிங்கா முதலிடத்திலும் என்னை அறிந்தால் இரண்டாவது இடத்தில் உள்ளது. விக்ரம் நடிப்பில் வெளியான ‘ஐ' ரூ.27 கோடி வசூல் செய்து மூன்றாவது இடத்திலும், விஜய்யின் ‘கத்தி' ரூ.23 கோடி வசூல் செய்து நான்காவது இடத்திலும் உள்ளது.
Read more at: http://tamil.filmibeat.com/news/yennai-arinthaal-first-day-box-office-report-033116.html
6th February 2015, 07:39 PM
Phenomenal collections on opening day by an Ajith movie....Ajith proves why he is the King of Kings in the opening....Non-Holiday Non-Festival opening possible only by Ajith....
Adox
6th February 2015, 07:57 PM
A visibly super-thrilled Shalini Ajith
Yesterday with the release of Yennai Arindhaal, not just fans but even celebrities made it a point to see the earliest show of the movie to not miss out on the first day first show (FDFS) experience. While Simbu, Anirudh and Atlee saw the movie in Vetri theater in the outskirts of Chennai, Ajith's better half Shalini saw the film at Albert theater in Egmore, Chennai.
Albert is the place where Shalini always checks out the FDFS of her hubby's films and she was also accompanied by her brother Richard. At the end of the film, Shalini was visibly thrilled with the film's output and looked very pleased.
It must be noted that Shalini and Ajith are expecting the birth of their second child.
http://behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-cinema-news-15/a-visibly-super-thrilled-shalini-ajith.html
6th February 2015, 08:29 PM
[COLOR=#000000][FONT=latha]முதல் நாள் வசூல்.. லிங்காவுக்கு
So the opening day collection of Linga is greater than of Endhiran ? :shock:
Adox
6th February 2015, 08:46 PM
So the opening day collection of Linga is greater than of Endhiran ? :shock:
Appears so. Lingaa opening day > Endiran opening day
6th February 2015, 08:52 PM
Appears so. Lingaa opening day > Endiran opening day
\\
Hmm looks like thatha is "unstoppable" even at 60+ ! :)
//
BM
6th February 2015, 08:58 PM
'Yennai Arindhaal' takes a solid opening
Ajith's Gautham Menon directed Yennai Arindhaal has taken a very good opening worldwide. In US it has taken best ever opening for a Ajith film and in TN and Kerala also it has done well.
In Tamil Nadu the film has netted approximately Rs 8.35 Crore on day one (Feb 5) , which is good for a big film on a working day. If the film had released on a holiday and if it was tax free, collections would have been more impressive.
Tamil films seems to be doing well in Kerala. Yennai Arindhaal has grossed nearly Rs 1.65 Crore, a net of approximately Rs 1.30 Crores and a share of Rs 75 lakhs.
In US the distributors Atmus has said best ever Ajith's day one opening. It opened in 75 screens with a record opening of $113,232.
http://www.sify.com/movies/yennai-arindhaal-takes-a-solid-opening-news-tamil-pcgsJzfiahchd.html
8.35 crores net, i.e ~ 12 crore gross on a working day is way more than i expected. I was expecting around 10 Cr. With the good WOM it would be great, if the movie manage to gross an average of 7-8 Cr till Sunday.
BM
6th February 2015, 09:26 PM
An adolescent boy, who was in dilemma to take which side was accidentally watching Moondru Mugam "Alex Pandian - Ekambaram" confrontation scene in TV.
Boy grows. Becomes a policeman. Facing a similar situation. He reacts. Literally brings the theatre roof down.
Take a bow Gautham.
6th February 2015, 09:29 PM
An adolescent boy, who was in dilemma to take which side was accidentally watching Moondru Mugam "Alex Pandian - Ekambaram" confrontation scene in TV.
Boy grows. Becomes a policeman. Facing a similar situation. He reacts. Literally brings the theatre roof down.
Take a bow Gautham.
Oh Moondru Mugam references are here ?
6th February 2015, 09:30 PM
To me Alex Pandian - Ekambaram scene is aka similar to Sathyadev - Golden Raj scene....Ajith simply with his charismatic acting excels with a punch....
6th February 2015, 09:32 PM
YA will surely do well in A & B centres...but we need to see the reports from C centres in a week...please post the break-up of A, B & C centres if we get it....
6th February 2015, 09:33 PM
oh yes....what a response was there for this even today in the cinemas.....
BM
6th February 2015, 09:35 PM
Yes. GVM intentionally kept those scenes and that too in full screen.
6th February 2015, 09:39 PM
BM, paramasivan poyi paarkattum..avangala restless pannatheenga.... over-excite aagiduvaanga...:lol:
6th February 2015, 09:41 PM
Who is Victor ?
The fear is in the existence of evil and terror is through its presence. Victor lives, which is much more scary.
Victor is a "Clockworker". He changes over time. He is an evil that adapts within, where ever this within is. Plus he provides "bad time" to anyone coming his way. Satya inflitrates Victor's life. Evil is more than happy to see its own shadow. But when deception, the root of the evil is plucked, Victor goes into hiding, as a clockwork, he knows patience will lead him to Satya, as evil feeds on time, bad time.
Who is Satya ?
When violence appears to do good, the good is only temporary; the evil it does is permanent - Mahatma Gandhi
Satya is at the good side of the evil. He once says to Victor "If you understood everything I said, you’d be me". Satya kills. He eradicates the present danger, and as a side effect acculmates violence inside him which is waiting to take over him. Baltasar Gracian stated "Never open the door to a lesser evil, for other and greater ones invariably slink in after it." That's exactly what Satya does, a small opening, Victor inflitrates into his life, his turn to take down Satya. Satya becomes a shadow, where Victor becomes his form.
Who are they ?
Victor shouldn't have done years before what Satya just did a moment ago
The revenge play between Victor & Satya, upon each other, is just the skin. Whats inside is their collective ourbrust. Satya takes this side : If you try to cure evil with evil, you will add more pain to your fate (Sophocles), and allows the fate to determine his actions. Being on the other side Victor chooses "Between two evils, I always pick the one I never tried before (Mae West)" and unleashes his timely powers. Now they both are standing on the line that is seperating them. The light inside Satya provokes the lightening around them and the evil in Victor shuts it down with darkness. The resonating thunder is the reflection of the vengence in their heart.
One will fall today at a theatre near you - Yennai Arindhaal.
6th February 2015, 09:43 PM
Online copy of yennai arindhal is already out! That too a clear copy! Jeez!
cm123
6th February 2015, 09:45 PM
MM was literally copied, not only the reference.
YA is an average movie , saved by Ajith's underplayed performance, new found Victor and surprisingly beautiful Trisha.
6th February 2015, 09:45 PM
now they are showing a new tv spot where new scenes shown which are cut in the movie :shock:
6th February 2015, 09:46 PM
MM was literally copied, not only the reference.
YA is an average movie , saved by Ajith's underplayed performance, new found Victor and surprisingly beautiful Trisha.
Trisha-vukku kalyana kalai vandhirichu...what about Anushka? :)
6th February 2015, 09:50 PM
BM, paramasivan poyi paarkattum..avangala restless pannatheenga.... over-excite aagiduvaanga...:lol:
Lol, apdi Onnum ill bro, I have seen that film so many time, but couldn't see it in cinema, was too young ! and I guess it was released during the beginning of Eezha civil war! :( , I only saw the movie after coming to UK, that Alex Pandian walk ! :notworthy: :notworthy:
cm123
6th February 2015, 09:52 PM
Anushka is wasted completely. In singapore tomorrow's shows getting house full, that means wom is good n movie is hit already.
6th February 2015, 09:53 PM
beautiful Trisha.
Amani has been looking beautiful since her debut, day by day she looks better :)
Anu looks much matured, she looked odd in Linga too
6th February 2015, 09:54 PM
Anushka was a glam doll...
Daniel Balaji's blink and miss role...
Aadhi's loss is Arun Vijay's gain as VICTOR MANOHAR... :)
cm123
6th February 2015, 10:03 PM
Not bringing back Daniel Balaji in later part is brilliant by GVM.
6th February 2015, 10:03 PM
http://youtu.be/pIUPZ_Gn-zU
6th February 2015, 11:32 PM
வசூலில் சாதனை படைத்த என்னை அறிந்தால்: பாக்ஸ் ஆபீசிலும் ஹிட்
அஜித் நடிப்பில் தற்போது திரையரங்குகளில் விழாகோலம் பூண்டுள்ள படம் ‘என்னை அறிந்தால்’. கௌதம் மேனன் இயக்கத்தில் வெளிவந்துள்ள இப்படம் ரசிகர்கள் மத்தியில் பெரும் வரவேற்பு பெற்று வருகிறது. இதில் அஜித்துக்கு ஜோடியாக அனுஷ்கா மற்றும் திரிஷா நடித்துள்ளார்கள். மேலும் அருண் விஜய், விவேக் உள்ளிட்ட பலர் நடித்துள்ளனர்.
இப்படம் தமிழ்நாடு முழுவதும் 500க்கும் மேற்பட்ட திரையரங்குகளில் வெளியிடப்பட்டது. மேலும் உலகமெங்கும் அதிகப்படியான திரையரங்குகளில் திரையிடப்பட்டது. இப்படத்தின் முதல் நாள் வசூல் மற்ற படங்களை விட அதிக வசூல் படைத்துள்ளது.
தமிழ்நாட்டில் ரூ.12.80 கோடியும், கேரளாவில் ரூ.3.75 கோடியும், கர்நாடகாவில் ரூ.2.54 கோடியும், பிற மாநிலங்களில் ரூ.1.36 கோடியும், வெளிநாடுகளில் ரூ.9.75 கோடியும் என மொத்தம் 30.20 கோடி ரூபாய் வசூல் செய்து சாதனை படைத்துள்ளதாக கூறப்படுகிறது.
இந்த வசூல் சாதனை படைத்த புதுப்படங்களில் என்னை அறிந்தால் 2வது இடத்தை பிடித்ததாக கூறப்படுகிறது. ரஜினி நடிப்பில் வெளியான ‘லிங்கா’ படத்தின் முதல்நாள் வசூல் ரூ.37 கோடி என கணக்கிடப்பட்டிருக்கிறது.
லிங்கா முதலிடத்திலும் என்னை அறிந்தால் இரண்டாவது இடத்திலும் இடம் பெற்றிருக்கிறது. விக்ரம் நடிப்பில் வெளியான ஐ ரூ.27 கோடி வசூல் செய்து மூன்றாவது இடத்திலும், விஜய்யின் கத்தி ரூ.23 கோடி வசூல் செய்து நான்காவது இடத்திலும் உள்ளது.
இதேபோல் என்னை அறிந்தால் படம் பாக்ஸ் ஆபீசில் புதிய சாதனை படைக்க உள்ளது. இதுவரை தமிழில் வெளிவந்த எந்த படத்திற்கும் இல்லாத வரவேற்பு இந்த படத்திற்கு கிடைத்து வருகிறது. அதேபோல், முதல் நாள் வசூலிலும் இப்படம் சாதனை படைத்துள்ளதாக நம்பத்தகுந்த வட்டாரங்கள் தெரிவிக்கின்றன.
குறிப்பாக, அமெரிக்காவில் இப்படம் முதல் நாள் பாக்ஸ் ஆபீசில் புதிய சாதனையை படைத்துள்ளதாக கூறப்படுகிறது. அங்கு 98 திரையரங்குகளில் வெளியான இப்படம் அங்கு முதல்நாள் மட்டும் 1,13,232 டாலர்கள் வசூல் செய்துள்ளதாக கூறப்படுகிறது. இந்த வசூல் 75 திரையரங்குகளில் மட்டுமே கணக்கிடப்பட்டுள்ளதாகவும் கூறப்படுகிறது.
இதேபோல் துபாய், மலேசியா ஆகிய நாடுகளிலும் இப்படத்திற்கு மிகப்பெரிய வரவேற்பு கிடைத்துள்ளது. அஜித்தின் எந்த படத்திற்கும் இல்லாத வரவேற்பு இந்த படத்திற்கு கிடைத்திருப்பதால் அஜித் மற்றும் படக்குழுவினர் உற்சாகத்தில் உள்ளனர்.
Link - http://www.tamilstar.com/tamil/news-id-yennai-arindhaal-gautham-menon-06-02-1514725.htm
Freedom
6th February 2015, 11:35 PM
Anushka is wasted completely. In singapore tomorrow's shows getting house full, that means wom is good n movie is hit already.
Good to hear. Thanks for the update.
Freedom
7th February 2015, 02:25 AM
Interesting take on GVM and YA with excellent write up: http://madaboutmoviez.com/2015/02/06/yennai-arindhaal-movie-review-if-you-know-gautham/
**has spoilers**
Freedom
7th February 2015, 02:33 AM
maalaimalar detials about collection: http://www.maalaimalar.com/2015/02/06162016/Ajith-yennai-arinthaal-movie-b.html
Not sure how far this is true!
balakumar86
7th February 2015, 03:54 AM
Good to hear. Thanks for the update.
Good to hear that Anushka is completely wasted? :p
Freedom
7th February 2015, 04:48 AM
Good to hear that Anushka is completely wasted? :p
No idea, yet to see the movie(today evening). But oru thani paatu kuduthu konjam nadikka vekkarathe ippo ellam periya matter.
As a matter of fact Samantha had zero role (Zilch) in both Anjaan and Kaththi. So compared to that I think this is slightly better!
cujoo
7th February 2015, 07:05 AM
Watched it Thursday night. It was 80% full. Which is good for Thursday and released on Wed. Lets come to the movie.
+
Aijth character
Simple story with elegant Presentation (Impressed with Dan work)
Songs
Screen play
Screen space to everyone
of course Victor
Lengthy
BGM( HJ can only do music)
Anuksha introduction( could have started from Flight scene)
Over all its GVM movie and ajith(not Thala) played a character
Freedom
7th February 2015, 09:28 AM
- never mind-
Russellmvr
7th February 2015, 09:36 AM
anyone knows how to report piracy link?
Send the link to ayngaran Piracy division. They will take action.
antipiracy@ayngaran.com
ALWAR_AJITH
7th February 2015, 10:27 AM
Malaysia thala fans celebrations...
Kalyasi
7th February 2015, 10:28 AM
Saw the movie thrice in 3 days...
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ALWAR_AJITH
7th February 2015, 10:33 AM
CONTINUE...
VIDEOS:
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403473619830646&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403446889833319&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403034153207926&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403033316541343&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403032783208063&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403029679875040&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=402873076557367&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
NO great promos.. no deepavali .. no ponggal but thala rocks big time in Malaysia... clearly show who is mass after thalaivar !!
7th February 2015, 10:34 AM
Saw the movie thrice in 3 days...
seeing it on sat night
7th February 2015, 10:36 AM
Family Audience FDFS :) It is only possible for Thala Ajith movie...
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9NoFx2CUAA9zZC.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9NoF5pCQAAWF-A.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9NoF9eCQAA04ab.jpg
7th February 2015, 10:38 AM
After YA Result.. Screen count increasing in #Trichy (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Trichy?src=hash) . Yesterday #YennaiArindhaal (https://twitter.com/hashtag/YennaiArindhaal?src=hash) Released at Megastar
Thala....
7th February 2015, 10:40 AM
Thala....
counts increased in malaysia too I think
It is already rocking at Mayyaal.
7th February 2015, 10:42 AM
ArunVijay @arunvijayno1 (https://twitter.com/arunvijayno1) 14h14 hours ago (https://twitter.com/arunvijayno1/status/563716608729051136)
Overwhelmed with the tremendous response for #YennaiArindhaal (https://twitter.com/hashtag/YennaiArindhaal?src=hash) .. Moved and speechless seeing all your love for #Victor (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Victor?src=hash)... Thank you all :-)
Arun Vijay has become really emotional...
7th February 2015, 10:43 AM
counts increased in malaysia too I think
It is already rocking at Mayyaal.
:bow: we all take big bow in front of one man called THALA....and thanks to GVM, Arun Vijay, Trisha, Anushka..etc etc for being a part and doing their roles....
7th February 2015, 10:46 AM
and the baby cutie pie Anikha as Eesha too... :)
abkhlabhi
7th February 2015, 10:46 AM
2morrow at devi again YA
7th February 2015, 10:48 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/560390970416443394/QbEXLzIb_bigger.jpegSudhish Kamath @SudhishKamath (https://twitter.com/SudhishKamath) 10h10 hours ago (https://twitter.com/SudhishKamath/status/563780640353435649)
Nobody writes/presents women in mainstream action films like @menongautham (https://twitter.com/menongautham). Progressive modern brave independent & strong. #YennaiArindhaal (https://twitter.com/hashtag/YennaiArindhaal?src=hash)
Sudhish Kamath on GVM and Yennai Arindhaal
BM
7th February 2015, 10:49 AM
Harris Jayaraj @Jharrisjayaraj
I thank the fans, media, cast and crew of "Yennai Arindhaal" for the huge Success of the film. Praise The LORD.
7th February 2015, 10:50 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/549066678718324736/hgJ4cF1h_bigger.jpegHarris Jayaraj @Jharrisjayaraj (https://twitter.com/Jharrisjayaraj) 34m34 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/Jharrisjayaraj/status/563921645799088129)
I thank the fans, media, cast and crew of "Yennai Arindhaal" for the huge Success of the film. Praise The LORD
HJ on YennaiArindhaal
ALWAR_AJITH
7th February 2015, 10:57 AM
:bow: we all take big bow in front of one man called THALA....and thanks to GVM, Arun Vijay, Trisha, Anushka..etc etc for being a part and doing their roles....
yes its showing in more than 90+ screens due to multiplex ... tremendous response for the movie.. no negative review so far ...
Freedom
7th February 2015, 11:02 AM
Out to watch YA now. Going with family very excited! Will post my opinion after the show.
Bye guys!
BM
7th February 2015, 11:12 AM
yes its showing in more than 90+ screens due to multiplex ... tremendous response for the movie.. no negative review so far ...
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9N-QCECEAAYljx.jpg
BM
7th February 2015, 11:14 AM
#YennaiArindhaal Creates History for being the 1st Film to release in 6 theaters in Italy.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9N9UytCEAApWlM.jpg
BM
7th February 2015, 11:15 AM
#Yennaiarindhaal Released at Trichy Megastar From Yesterday
BM
7th February 2015, 11:15 AM
#YennaiArindhaal (Mumbai) : The film witnessed a big opening from 23 screens on Day 1. Average theatre occupancy was around 80 - 90%. #Ajith
BM
7th February 2015, 11:19 AM
Kaushik LM @Lmkmoviemaniac
Gonna be a huge box-office harvest day for #YennaiArindhaal in Chennai city. All shows for today already sold out or close to being sold out
7th February 2015, 11:21 AM
Today's opening should be high in US. All 3 theaters in Boston are screening the movie now. Regal west Borough joins with 3 shows. Last two days, only apple cinemas was screening it and it had just 1 show given the weekday. If someone posts less Us figures for the weekend, it will be a mega lie. Eager to see the figures for today :) ;)
7th February 2015, 11:24 AM
Tremendous response in Mumbai and other parts of NI....Small screen TV actors especially actresses going gaga over Ajith and GVM's narration and the romantic portions and portrayal of Trisha and Anushka...a BIG WINNER....
sakthii
7th February 2015, 11:27 AM
Arun Vijay has become really emotional...
Arun Vijay is one among good actor who is waiting for a break.
there are many such good looking with good acting skills in cine field waiting for good opportunities.
BM
7th February 2015, 11:29 AM
Mohan Raman @actormohanraman
How can people say YA is like Kaakka Kaakka and vettaiaadu ... in that way all Cop pictures are like Thangappadhakkam. Hero is in Khaki.
BM
7th February 2015, 11:30 AM
#YennaiArindhaal in SouthAfrica. Movie is a super duper hit! handsome Ajith's most awesome performance till date - Prabhu SA distributor.
BM
7th February 2015, 11:32 AM
Sudhish Kamath @SudhishKamath
Newfound respect for Ajith for turning into a director's actor & discarding star image. Except length, loved quite a bit of #YennaiArindhal.
BM
7th February 2015, 11:33 AM
Shridhar Raghavan @ShridharR
Saw YA with public. Damn proud. HUGE Ajith fan. All my life I whistled & clapped. Today I was moved. Nobody does it better. Thx Gautham :)
7th February 2015, 11:34 AM
Mohan Raman @actormohanraman
How can people say YA is like Kaakka Kaakka and vettaiaadu ... in that way all Cop pictures are like Thangappadhakkam. Hero is in Khaki.
:rotfl: :bow: Mohan Raman....YA is just a cop trilogy....I am just wondering how GVM would make a sequel to YA as he has expressed his desire and wish...if he had kept VICTOR MANOHAR sulking and hiding in the dark and SathyaDev waiting and searching for VICTOR... :roll: no no I am not a good filmmaker :) :lol:
BM
7th February 2015, 11:38 AM
Nobody writes/presents women in mainstream action films like @menongautham. Progressive modern brave independent & strong. #YennaiArindhaal
Glad he's finally not pandering to teenage fanboy base and maturing into a grown-up actor with larger appeal.
BM
7th February 2015, 11:47 AM
Few dialogues are typical gautham :tongueout:
"speechaadaa kudukkura #$@%"..
7th February 2015, 11:53 AM
Nobody writes/presents women in mainstream action films like @menongautham. Progressive modern brave independent & strong. #YennaiArindhaal
Glad he's finally not pandering to teenage fanboy base and maturing into a grown-up actor with larger appeal.
I know I know who Sudhish Kamath is targeting at :) ;)
7th February 2015, 11:56 AM
Few dialogues are typical gautham :tongueout:
"speechaadaa kudukkura #$@%"..
yes..this was very typical....and the way Ajith delivers it....
there are lots and lots of best scenes/moments from the movie...but to me the top scene/moment is when Eesha comes and gives the cop boot to Sathyadev....when he is totally confused what to do....that scene gives confidence in Sathyadev to put on the boots and go after Nilanjana's kidnappers and to rescue her....a very good one from GVM...
BM
7th February 2015, 12:04 PM
#YennaiArindhaal at Minneapolis, MN Carmike 15 now 9:40show houseful.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9N_L7PCAAARWjS.jpg
BM
#YennaiArindhaal,fans to participate in #VijayTV, #Thala program, Raghava-9840685717-cal him. Shoot starts in Vadapalani office (2pm) (Today)
Saturday 07th of February 2015 06:06:26 AM GMT
Ajith's 'Yennai Arindhaal' collects Rs.20.83 crore
(http://www.chennaivision.com/news/2015/153896.php)
Chennai, Feb 7 (IANS) Actor Ajith Kumar's Tamil action-thriller "Yennai Arindhaal", despite hitting the screens on a weekday, managed to gross Rs.20.83 crore within the first two days of release in Tamil Nadu.
The movie hit the screens Thursday.
"It's very unlikely for a star's film to release on a Thursday and expect to rake in the moolah, but 'Yennai Arindhaal' has achieved that. On release day, it collected a gross of about Rs.11.5 crore and went on to mint a total of Rs. 20.83 crore in the first two days," trade analyst Trinath told IANS.
Directed by Gautham Vasudev Menon, the film also features Trisha Krishnan and Anushka Shetty in the lead roles.
Despite mixed reviews, the film has fared well at the box office, added Trinath.
"Audiences have been complaining that the film is extremely slow and has traces of Gautham's earlier films, but that hasn't stopped it from doing well at the ticket window," he said.
In the film, Ajith plays a police officer, who is torn apart between his job and family.
Meanwhile, "Yennai Arindhaal" made Ajith's wife and former actress Shalini extremely proud.
"She watched the first show of the film on release day with audiences. Shalini was really proud of her husband's work and said it's his best film in years," a source close to Ajith told IANS.
Link - http://www.chennaivision.com/news/2015/153896.php?ref=tw
7th February 2015, 12:06 PM
#YennaiArindhaal,fans to participate in #VijayTV, #Thala program, Raghava-9840685717-cal him. Shoot starts in Vadapalani office (2pm) (Today)
when is this program telecasting live...at 2pm in star vijay today?
7th February 2015, 12:12 PM
CONTINUE...
VIDEOS:
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403473619830646&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403446889833319&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403034153207926&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403033316541343&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403032783208063&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=403029679875040&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=402873076557367&set=vb.174734722704538&type=2&theater
NO great promos.. no deepavali .. no ponggal but thala rocks big time in Malaysia... clearly show who is mass after thalaivar !!
intha culture-rum engey vanturicha.. :clap: very progressive our makkals
BM
7th February 2015, 12:13 PM
when is this program telecasting live...at 2pm in star vijay today?
Shooting today at 2. Don't know when it will be aired.
BM
7th February 2015, 12:17 PM
Link - http://www.chennaivision.com/news/2015/153896.php?ref=tw
So on Day 2 it maintained a steady ~ 9.5 Cr collection in TN. I hope similar trend continues on Saturday and Sunday.
BM
7th February 2015, 12:20 PM
This is how even ladies n girls celebrated the arrival of #Thala... such a fan base he has .. #YennaiArindhaal
https://twitter.com/prasath_ps/status/563937957485088769
BM
7th February 2015, 12:27 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9OP4H3CQAEvdvq.jpg
sakthii
7th February 2015, 12:35 PM
This is how even ladies n girls celebrated the arrival of #Thala... such a fan base he has .. #YennaiArindhaal
https://twitter.com/prasath_ps/status/563937957485088769
thaana serntha kootam.
7th February 2015, 12:56 PM
Sathyadev to Victor - arippu....aannaa nee nenaikara arippu illa....police-kaara arippu..... :)
ALWAR_AJITH
7th February 2015, 01:15 PM
intha culture-rum engey vanturicha.. :clap: very progressive our makkals
Its started with rajini n kamal movies like sivaji n dasa now its come to ajith.. eventhough for us its look weird.. one of the fans said nange enne tanni adichitu vanthoma ile cigarate pudichutu aduroma just thala movie celebrate panrom ithu thapanu.. .
BM
7th February 2015, 01:22 PM
Excellent review :clap:
http://indianexpress.com/article/entertainment/movie-review/yennai-arindhaal-human-drama-beneath-policemans-story/2/
‘Yennai Arindhaal': Human drama beneath policeman’s story
Rating : 3.5/5
The real heroes of ‘Yennai Arindhaal’, the third film in Gautham’s police franchise after ‘Kaakha Kaakha’ and ‘Vettaiyaadu Vilayadu’, are the heroines Trisha and Anushka, for whom the film’s best moments have been written.
If you’ve followed Gautham’s films, the kind of roles he writes for his heroines and the way he portrays them are commendable even if they were to feature briefly, and you wonder if any other filmmaker can supersede him in this regard. Most of the film’s story revolves around or should I say is linked to Hemalika and Thenmozhi, played by Trisha and Anushka respectively. Ajith, who plays police officer Sathyadev, puts his life on the line to protect them and not just because its his job.
‘Yennai Arindhaal’ is the evolved story of police officer Sathyadev, who strives hard to strike a balance as a family man as well. Everything about the film and its protagonist Sathyadev is evolved to the extent that he’s ready to accept a woman with a child in his life.
In one of the film’s best stretches he proposes to Hemalika, and as he waits for her reply, he goes on to talk about things they plan to do as a couple — like how they plan to send her daughter to the best school, buy a piece of land and settle down as a family.
He prefixes the word ‘they’ in these sentences to symbolically highlight she’s already been accepted in his life and he’s ready to do everything together. In an earlier scene, he drives her to the hospital when she’s in labour, not as a policeman, but while working incognito as an auto-rickshaw driver to nab a local rowdy.
When they reach the hospital, she pays him (a man’s got to earn, you see). And when they meet in court a few years later, she thanks him and says her daughter Isha came into this world because of him.
The icing on this relationship is the fact there’s no mention about Hemalika’s first husband (Isha’s father), and it really doesn’t bother Sathyadev. Gautham asks us, the audience, how many would be willing to accept a woman with a child without even inquiring about her past. There’s an indication that Sathyadev might have learnt about Hemalika’s past when he says how much he’s impressed with her decision to teach dance (she’s a dancer) free of cost. As a policeman it runs in his blood to do a background check on everybody he meets.
In the initial moments between Sathyadev and Thenmozhi, there’s a lot of talking, although they’re strangers who’ve just met on a plane. When she feels nauseated, he, a stranger, puts his hand on her shoulder to ask if she’s alright. For a change, he doesn’t stalk her; it’s the other way around.
There’s even a moment when it almost looks like he’s going to say I’ve fallen in love at first sight but Gautham avoids these cliches.
In this story, the women also become the weakness of the heroes, for Ajith and Arun Vijay, who plays the antagonist Victor. There are two scenes where both Sathyadev and Victor end up doing something because of the weakness for the woman in their lives. And it costs them heavily in their careers.
Talking about human drama, there’s a lot of focus on friendship and betrayal. Sathyadev is a man with an itch, as he describes himself, for inviting trouble. Gautham uses a thin line to separate the police officer Sathyadev from the gangster Victor. And the same line resurfaces in a scene towards the end when both are talking on cell phones and the screen splits into two halves separated by a thin black line.
The problem with ‘Yennai Arindhaal’, and of course with its creator Gautham, is the filmmaker’s growing obsession with some of his familiar tropes – the hot-headed and loud villain Victor (Arun is terrific in the role), who reminds you of Pandian from “Kaakha Kaakha”, the perennial danger the protagonist’s family gets into, the weakness for women, the role of a father, the songs that stop and break into conversations and again continue playing, the narratives that lose steam in the end and finally the length.
There’s a wonderful father-daughter relationship. At one point, the film does feel like a story of a police officer who wants to give his daughter a life his father couldn’t. There’s also a brief flashback scene with Sathyadev and his father, played by Nasser, and it only reminds us how much Sathya misses his father when he tries to be dotingly good to his daughter.
Despite some tonal and length issues, Gautham impresses mostly in ‘Yennai Arindhaal’, and gives this tale of a police officer a much need emotional tug. Ajith’s screen presence is unbelievably amazing and it takes guts for a star with a crazy fan following to do something so bold. It’s refreshing to see the actor in Ajith overshadowing the star and going on to prove who is much better.
BM
7th February 2015, 01:45 PM
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/ajiths-yennai-arindhaal-collects-rs-2083-crore/527046-71-174.html
Ajith's 'Yennai Arindhaal' collects Rs 20.83 crore
Actor Ajith Kumar's Tamil action-thriller 'Yennai Arindhaal', despite hitting the screens on a weekday, managed to gross Rs.20.83 crore within the first two days of release in Tamil Nadu.
"It's very unlikely for a star's film to release on a Thursday and expect to rake in the moolah, but 'Yennai Arindhaal' has achieved that. On release day, it collected a gross of about Rs.11.5 crore and went on to mint a total of Rs. 20.83 crore in the first two days," trade analyst Trinath told IANS.
Directed by Gautham Vasudev Menon, the film also features Trisha Krishnan and Anushka Shetty in the lead roles.
Despite mixed reviews, the film has fared well at the box office, added Trinath.
"Audiences have been complaining that the film is extremely slow and has traces of Gautham's earlier films, but that hasn't stopped it from doing well at the ticket window," he said.
In the film, Ajith plays a police officer, who is torn apart between his job and family.
Meanwhile, 'Yennai Arindhaal' made Ajith's wife and former actress Shalini extremely proud.
"She watched the first show of the film on release day with audiences. Shalini was really proud of her husband's work and said it's his best film in years," a source close to Ajith told IANS.
BM
7th February 2015, 01:50 PM
YENNAI ARINDHAAL SHOWS INCREASED
The year’s most happening surprise comes with Ajith Kumar’s Yennai Arindhaal. Usually, when a big ticket has its release, it would be offered enormous screens on the first two days and gradually be reduced considerably.
But Ajith Kumar’s Yennai Arindhaal is generating the huge sensation as the theatre owners are so much exhilarated about the response and are increasing the shows as well. It is merely because Ajith Kumar films usually have more significance for action and thrill elements and there has been no importance for romance.
In contrast, Gautham Vasudev Menon has added the best touch of poignant romance in a decent manner, which is drawing more family audiences to theatres. The episodes involving Ajith Kumar and Trisha have been beautifully carved, which has been garnering wonderful response from female audiences.
http://www.cinemalead.com/news-id-ajith-kumar-gautham-vasudev-menon-07-02-157271.htm#.VNXIqTZmFHU.twitter
BM
7th February 2015, 02:02 PM
there are lots and lots of best scenes/moments from the movie...but to me the top scene/moment is when Eesha comes and gives the cop boot to Sathyadev....when he is totally confused what to do....that scene gives confidence in Sathyadev to put on the boots and go after Nilanjana's kidnappers and to rescue her....a very good one from GVM...
That look Ajith gives when Eesha baby hands him over his shoes... Million Likes...
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9OmThrCEAAVzv6.jpg
JamesFague
7th February 2015, 02:03 PM
என்னை அறிந்தால் படம் ஓபனிங் வசூலில் லிங்காவுக்கு அடுத்த இடத்தைப் பிடித்துள்ளதாக தகவல்கள் தெரிவிக்கின்றன.
கடந்த 5 -ஆம் தேதி வெளியான இப்படம் முதல் நாளில் தமிழகத்தில் 12.8 கோடியும், கேரளாவில் 3.75 கோடியும், கர்நாடகாவில் 2.54 கோடியும் பிற மாநிலங்களில் 1.36 கோடியும், வெளிநாடுகளில் மொத்தமாக 9.75 கோடியும் வசூலித்ததாக கூறப்படுகிறது. மொத்தமாக முதல் நாளில் மட்டும் 30.20 கோடிகள்.
தமிழ்ப் படங்களின் முதல்நாள் ஓபனிங்கில் 37 கோடிகளுடன் லிங்கா முதலிடத்தில் உள்ளது. என்னை அறிந்தால் இரண்டாவது இடம். ஷங்கரின் ஐ 27 கோடிகளுடன் அதற்கு அடுத்த இடத்திலும், விஜய்யின் கத்தி 23 கோடிகளுடன் நான்காவது இடத்திலும் உள்ளன.
லிங்காவின் தெலுங்கு டப்பிங்கையும் சேர்த்தே 37 கோடி வசூல். என்னை அறிந்தாலின் தெலுங்கு டப்பிங் இன்னும் திரைக்கு வரவில்லை என்பது குறிப்பிடத்தக்கது
COURTRSY wEBDUNIA
BM
7th February 2015, 02:13 PM
Haricharan Pudipeddi @pudiharicharan
#YennaiArindhaal 2 days gross in TN is abt 20.83 crore (approx). Overseas number awaited
BM
7th February 2015, 02:18 PM
New TV spot.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nT8eSk3kzFQ
maniram_1234
7th February 2015, 02:51 PM
New TV spot.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nT8eSk3kzFQ
Actor Ajith Kumar's Tamil action-thriller Yennai Arindhaal, despite hitting the screens on a weekday, managed to gross Rs 20.83 crore within the first two days of release in Tamil Nadu.
The movie hit the screens Thursday. "It's very unlikely for a star's film to release on a Thursday and expect to rake in the moolah, but Yennai Arindhaal has achieved that. On release day, it collected a gross of about Rs 11.5 crore and went on to mint a total of Rs 20.83 crore in the first two days," trade analyst Trinath told IANS.
Directed by Gautham Vasudev Menon, the film also features Trisha Krishnan and Anushka Shetty in the lead roles. (Movie review: Yennai Arindhaal)
Despite mixed reviews, the film has fared well at the box office, added Trinath. "Audiences have been complaining that the film is extremely slow and has traces of Gautham's earlier films, but that hasn't stopped it from doing well at the ticket window," he said.
Meanwhile, Yennai Arindhaal made Ajith's wife and former actress Shalini extremely proud. "She watched the first show of the film on release day with audiences. Shalini was really proud of her husband's work and said it's his best film in years," a source close to Ajith told IANS.
Official from ndtv site not from webdunia one india blah blah blah
maniram_1234
7th February 2015, 02:53 PM
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/ajiths-yennai-arindhaal-collects-rs-2083-crore/527046-71-174.html
Ajith's 'Yennai Arindhaal' collects Rs 20.83 crore
Actor Ajith Kumar's Tamil action-thriller 'Yennai Arindhaal', despite hitting the screens on a weekday, managed to gross Rs.20.83 crore within the first two days of release in Tamil Nadu.
Meanwhile, 'Yennai Arindhaal' made Ajith's wife and former actress Shalini extremely proud.
unga aalu paranitharan 12.8crore apdinu solitu thiriyuraru konjam correct panunga
kaththi - 12.5 cr
ya - 11.5 croors
dot
BM
7th February 2015, 02:57 PM
This kid will go places. One hell of an actress in the making.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9OBicWCEAEucE_.jpg
sakthii
7th February 2015, 03:03 PM
unga aalu paranitharan 12.8crore apdinu solitu thiriyuraru konjam correct panunga
kaththi - 12.5 cr
ya - 11.5 croors
dot
pavam sir neenga...
let katttthhiiii generate 120 cr or 200 cr in one day or 12 day or in 100 days..
we least bothered!!
BM
7th February 2015, 03:08 PM
#YennaiArindhaal Salem Belt Theater INCREASE details.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9OwQCrCMAAgCYb.jpg
7th February 2015, 05:05 PM
MAniram can you please do all your BO related posts in BO theread, at least for next few days.
7th February 2015, 05:10 PM
Excellent review :clap:
http://indianexpress.com/article/entertainment/movie-review/yennai-arindhaal-human-drama-beneath-policemans-story/2/
‘Yennai Arindhaal': Human drama beneath policeman’s story
Rating : 3.5/5
The real heroes of ‘Yennai Arindhaal’, the third film in Gautham’s police franchise after ‘Kaakha Kaakha’ and ‘Vettaiyaadu Vilayadu’, are the heroines Trisha and Anushka, for whom the film’s best moments have been written.
If you’ve followed Gautham’s films, the kind of roles he writes for his heroines and the way he portrays them are commendable even if they were to feature briefly, and you wonder if any other filmmaker can supersede him in this regard. Most of the film’s story revolves around or should I say is linked to Hemalika and Thenmozhi, played by Trisha and Anushka respectively. Ajith, who plays police officer Sathyadev, puts his life on the line to protect them and not just because its his job.
‘Yennai Arindhaal’ is the evolved story of police officer Sathyadev, who strives hard to strike a balance as a family man as well. Everything about the film and its protagonist Sathyadev is evolved to the extent that he’s ready to accept a woman with a child in his life.
In one of the film’s best stretches he proposes to Hemalika, and as he waits for her reply, he goes on to talk about things they plan to do as a couple — like how they plan to send her daughter to the best school, buy a piece of land and settle down as a family.
He prefixes the word ‘they’ in these sentences to symbolically highlight she’s already been accepted in his life and he’s ready to do everything together. In an earlier scene, he drives her to the hospital when she’s in labour, not as a policeman, but while working incognito as an auto-rickshaw driver to nab a local rowdy.
When they reach the hospital, she pays him (a man’s got to earn, you see). And when they meet in court a few years later, she thanks him and says her daughter Isha came into this world because of him.
The icing on this relationship is the fact there’s no mention about Hemalika’s first husband (Isha’s father), and it really doesn’t bother Sathyadev. Gautham asks us, the audience, how many would be willing to accept a woman with a child without even inquiring about her past. There’s an indication that Sathyadev might have learnt about Hemalika’s past when he says how much he’s impressed with her decision to teach dance (she’s a dancer) free of cost. As a policeman it runs in his blood to do a background check on everybody he meets.
In the initial moments between Sathyadev and Thenmozhi, there’s a lot of talking, although they’re strangers who’ve just met on a plane. When she feels nauseated, he, a stranger, puts his hand on her shoulder to ask if she’s alright. For a change, he doesn’t stalk her; it’s the other way around.
There’s even a moment when it almost looks like he’s going to say I’ve fallen in love at first sight but Gautham avoids these cliches.
In this story, the women also become the weakness of the heroes, for Ajith and Arun Vijay, who plays the antagonist Victor. There are two scenes where both Sathyadev and Victor end up doing something because of the weakness for the woman in their lives. And it costs them heavily in their careers.
Talking about human drama, there’s a lot of focus on friendship and betrayal. Sathyadev is a man with an itch, as he describes himself, for inviting trouble. Gautham uses a thin line to separate the police officer Sathyadev from the gangster Victor. And the same line resurfaces in a scene towards the end when both are talking on cell phones and the screen splits into two halves separated by a thin black line.
The problem with ‘Yennai Arindhaal’, and of course with its creator Gautham, is the filmmaker’s growing obsession with some of his familiar tropes – the hot-headed and loud villain Victor (Arun is terrific in the role), who reminds you of Pandian from “Kaakha Kaakha”, the perennial danger the protagonist’s family gets into, the weakness for women, the role of a father, the songs that stop and break into conversations and again continue playing, the narratives that lose steam in the end and finally the length.
There’s a wonderful father-daughter relationship. At one point, the film does feel like a story of a police officer who wants to give his daughter a life his father couldn’t. There’s also a brief flashback scene with Sathyadev and his father, played by Nasser, and it only reminds us how much Sathya misses his father when he tries to be dotingly good to his daughter.
Despite some tonal and length issues, Gautham impresses mostly in ‘Yennai Arindhaal’, and gives this tale of a police officer a much need emotional tug. Ajith’s screen presence is unbelievably amazing and it takes guts for a star with a crazy fan following to do something so bold. It’s refreshing to see the actor in Ajith overshadowing the star and going on to prove who is much better.
:clap: :clap: :clap: Bang on !!
7th February 2015, 05:14 PM
Newfound respect for Ajith for turning into a director's actor & discarding star image. Except length, loved quite a bit of #YennaiArindhal.
;) :D :thumbsup:
Russelldwp
7th February 2015, 05:26 PM
http://www.dinathanthiepaper.in/722015/FE_0702_MN_20_Try3581.jpg
7th February 2015, 06:23 PM
Going for the 2nd time today @ 9:30///Will go home to cbe next week and will watch again...
7th February 2015, 06:40 PM
Done for 3 times, the last watched in Audi 1 in oscar cinema, Abu dhabi.. the biggest screen there, one show allotted for YA, it was fully sold out and mostly family audience.
This time was able to listen the dialogues clearly, i guess the missed sequence comes when victor talks to kandha about sathya in first frame, the BGM was done like that it leads to the flash back scene, GVM should have kept some scenes which were shot when sathya was with gangsters, badly missing it.
the BGM when victor met lisa and Sathya drifts the car 360 deg, very enjoyable bit :clap:
next to Ashish v the venugopal scene is my fav. one, sir thaan venugopal illainnu solttarla :lol:
Yennai arindhaal title song scenes, the whole sathya-hemanika scenes :bow:
7th February 2015, 06:43 PM
My friend's family managed to book only 8am show in Abhirami tomorrow ;)
sakthii
7th February 2015, 07:34 PM
increase in number of theaters in north india
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9PiA_PIEAE_6Lt.jpg
sakthii
7th February 2015, 07:41 PM
salem belt , increase in number of theaters
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9OwQCrCMAAgCYb.jpg
7th February 2015, 07:58 PM
Wow what a response ma ! it was a pandora's box experience described in a elegant manner. I thought for Sathaydev and Daughter's journey this song from ARR would have been opt one! Visually it was nothing short of stunning.. !!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e2rGhnGuCy0
Very First Ajith movie visiting second time with my homies from my ghetto tomorrow Sunday evening show ya ! Sambar Land prevails.
sakthii
7th February 2015, 08:26 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9P7ByACUAASBGT.jpg
7th February 2015, 08:29 PM
@lakshmi1979: #Mayajaal housefull shows for #YennaiArindhaal
Thurs -94
Fri -63
Sat -63
Sun -63
TOTAL 283 shows HOUSEFULL for the weekend. #Thala magic
7th February 2015, 08:35 PM
YA was released in 28 countries, most for any tamil movies
sakthii
7th February 2015, 08:36 PM
a twitter msg
Koushika @koushie_ 10m10 minutes ago
A solo song for Trisha and Anushka each. Also,equal space for the supporting actor. How can a star hero be so selfless?!✌ #YennaiArindhaal
sakthii
7th February 2015, 08:43 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9P3CptCEAA1Xr7.jpg
yellow
7th February 2015, 09:12 PM
@YennaiArindhaal (https://twitter.com/YennaiArindhaal) Reviews Maalai Malar : வெற்றி நிச்சயம்Dinakaran : பிரமாண்டம்Dinathanthi : வெற்றிக் கூட்டணி#HatTrickBlockBusterForAjith (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HatTrickBlockBusterForAjith?src=hash)
0 replies5 retweets1 favorite Reply
Retweeted5
Favorite1
sakthii
7th February 2015, 09:18 PM
cut out in bangalore
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9P2aekCMAAEhwr.jpg
YA crew with Thala
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9QJLJwCMAA1Ziz.jpg
7th February 2015, 09:41 PM
sakthii use link instead of just posting url.
yellow
7th February 2015, 09:43 PM
---
yellow
7th February 2015, 09:44 PM
Traffic Which Happened After The FDFS of YennaiArindhaal @ Tamiljaya, MADURAI
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ThtK41g0DR8
7th February 2015, 09:47 PM
Wow what a response ma ! it was a pandora's box experience described in a elegant manner. I thought for Sathaydev and Daughter's journey this song from ARR would have been opt one! Visually it was nothing short of stunning.. !!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e2rGhnGuCy0
Very First Ajith movie visiting second time with my homies from my ghetto tomorrow Sunday evening show ya ! Sambar Land prevails.
oh dibu, what a choice.. :D
yellow
7th February 2015, 09:51 PM
To
morrow3979
Ramesh @rameshlaus (https://twitter.com/rameshlaus) 29m29 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/rameshlaus/status/564089241890594818)
To meet the tkt demand, #AbiramiMegaMall (https://twitter.com/hashtag/AbiramiMegaMall?src=hash) allocates #YA (https://twitter.com/hashtag/YA?src=hash) show(s) in all its 4 screens.. #HatTrickBlockBusterForAJITH (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HatTrickBlockBusterForAJITH?src=hash)
7th February 2015, 09:56 PM
Yennai Arindhaal in Italy
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9NtwMuCYAAGavL.png
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9Nq8rlCIAAVd3A.jpg
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-X8kCpoKO2Cc/VNWPLJjNH3I/AAAAAAAAB9o/JYN6TrRevk8/s1600/kanapathi_ennai_arinthaal_03.jpg
yellow
7th February 2015, 10:00 PM
http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/yennai-arindhaal-stars-before-sunrise/article6868760.ece?secpage=true&secname=entertainment
Stars before sunriseLuxury Apartments in Pune (http://www.googleadservices.com/pagead/aclk?sa=L&ai=ClE6ogj3WVKbbO8OfuASR7oL4CP6z1dUGvq-m-OsBnvzD4ukBEAEgvYO_E2DlyuWDtA6gAcqtj88DyAEBqQLado6 aV1BRPqgDAaoE5wFP0N_bd42bOClwMeLR6MhQjdBEHxvQgA5t2 YBBmdGnMzxFGUd6RzE53bPtDZzkvlzD-5OP9iq0w2rwrKDH9bSRqvBi7gCkH-UaN16nSIb3dPi7XfXxtCjTsHd_dMw1r8dZ5Pl6YUP0oHjNqjWV HUxAVQnaxeSKxd0Yy2FrAdZYAu7f8vPz5Fk7vUTOsex2v1INpi YU9phjoaX1usFe1E48slp3opPJzV8k4DFBHMOy-icVjMJAY0_eqZBR0d6GpQ7LO0X_1gzB9xr0Y5Btowe55NPtOXk VVFR4txUnbHB0e-SRsF0rGLiIBgGAB57S8DA&num=1&cid=5GjL00Fqvhv4KD6mO6-Bypd3&sig=AOD64_37VHG0BFFYd__tyr7le-0FUSZSlQ&client=ca-hindu_site_html&adurl=http://www.sobha.com/emailer/elanza/%3Futm_source%3Dgoogle%26utm_medium%3Dcpc%26utm_ca mpaign%3DSobha-Elanza-Google-Nov-14) - World Class 3&4 BHK Homes from 1.99 Cr, Kothrud, Well-Connected to NH-4sobha.com/Sobha-Elanza-Kothrud (http://www.googleadservices.com/pagead/aclk?sa=L&ai=ClE6ogj3WVKbbO8OfuASR7oL4CP6z1dUGvq-m-OsBnvzD4ukBEAEgvYO_E2DlyuWDtA6gAcqtj88DyAEBqQLado6 aV1BRPqgDAaoE5wFP0N_bd42bOClwMeLR6MhQjdBEHxvQgA5t2 YBBmdGnMzxFGUd6RzE53bPtDZzkvlzD-5OP9iq0w2rwrKDH9bSRqvBi7gCkH-UaN16nSIb3dPi7XfXxtCjTsHd_dMw1r8dZ5Pl6YUP0oHjNqjWV HUxAVQnaxeSKxd0Yy2FrAdZYAu7f8vPz5Fk7vUTOsex2v1INpi YU9phjoaX1usFe1E48slp3opPJzV8k4DFBHMOy-icVjMJAY0_eqZBR0d6GpQ7LO0X_1gzB9xr0Y5Btowe55NPtOXk VVFR4txUnbHB0e-SRsF0rGLiIBgGAB57S8DA&num=1&cid=5GjL00Fqvhv4KD6mO6-Bypd3&sig=AOD64_37VHG0BFFYd__tyr7le-0FUSZSlQ&client=ca-hindu_site_html&adurl=http://www.sobha.com/emailer/elanza/%3Futm_source%3Dgoogle%26utm_medium%3Dcpc%26utm_ca mpaign%3DSobha-Elanza-Google-Nov-14)
Ads by Google (https://www.google.com/url?ct=abg&q=https://www.google.com/adsense/support/bin/request.py%3Fcontact%3Dabg_afc%26url%3Dhttp://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/yennai-arindhaal-stars-before-sunrise/article6868760.ece%253Fsecpage%253Dtrue%2526secnam e%253Dentertainment%26gl%3DIN%26hl%3Den%26client%3 Dca-hindu_site_html%26hideleadgen%3D1%26ai0%3DClE6ogj3 WVKbbO8OfuASR7oL4CP6z1dUGvq-m-OsBnvzD4ukBEAEgvYO_E2DlyuWDtA6gAcqtj88DyAEBqQLado6 aV1BRPqgDAaoE5wFP0N_bd42bOClwMeLR6MhQjdBEHxvQgA5t2 YBBmdGnMzxFGUd6RzE53bPtDZzkvlzD-5OP9iq0w2rwrKDH9bSRqvBi7gCkH-UaN16nSIb3dPi7XfXxtCjTsHd_dMw1r8dZ5Pl6YUP0oHjNqjWV HUxAVQnaxeSKxd0Yy2FrAdZYAu7f8vPz5Fk7vUTOsex2v1INpi YU9phjoaX1usFe1E48slp3opPJzV8k4DFBHMOy-icVjMJAY0_eqZBR0d6GpQ7LO0X_1gzB9xr0Y5Btowe55NPtOXk VVFR4txUnbHB0e-SRsF0rGLiIBgGAB57S8DA&usg=AFQjCNHUOkAAU37mQJehh0QjALZQMpJvhA)
SUDHIR SRINIVASAN
COMMENT (http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/yennai-arindhaal-stars-before-sunrise/article6868760.ece?secpage=true&secname=entertainment#comments) · PRINT (http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/yennai-arindhaal-stars-before-sunrise/article6868760.ece?css=print) · T (http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/yennai-arindhaal-stars-before-sunrise/article6868760.ece?secpage=true&secname=entertainment) T (http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/yennai-arindhaal-stars-before-sunrise/article6868760.ece?secpage=true&secname=entertainment)
inShare
http://www.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/02303/08CP_YENNAIARINDHA_2303441f.jpg
Fans of actor Ajith Kumar celebrating the realease of Yennai Arindhaal
TOPICS
cinema (http://www.thehindu.com/tag/cinema/483/)Tamil cinema (http://www.thehindu.com/tag/tamil-cinema/493/)
'Watching Yennai Arindhaal at dawn on release day wasn’t just a movie-going experience'
It’s Thursday, February 5, and my alarm rings at 3 a.m. It’s Yennai Arindhaaltime! I spring out of bed. Shortly, a few of my friends, one of who has managed tickets for a 4.30 a.m. show (I kid you not), find ourselves on our bikes heading towards Porur on empty roads, which for some strange reason remind me of the film Zombieland. Thanks to Google Maps, we find our way to a theatre named Gopalakrishnan, one I’ve never heard of in my three decades in the city. I expect to see a handful of droopy, sleep-deprived people lumbering in. The sun, after all, hasn’t even risen yet.
What I see though… a sea of people flooding into the obscure theatre with chants of ‘Thala’ ringing in the air. Bikes jostle for space, some fans seem drunk on alcohol, but most on the prospect of being among the first to watch the Ajith-Gautham Menon film.
We finally take our seats. I am surprised they are even numbered. The chairs are creaky, the cushions threadbare. More people pour in, and a random guy in the audience asks them to sit on the floor, yelling “Seat-laam kadaikaadhu!” Most people are dressed in lungis and shorts. Not the fancy shorts seen at posh theatres, but the multi-coloured ones you find on Parry's pavements.
But the noise, oh, the noise! Groups of men (of course, no women) whistle and hoot. When the ads start playing, the cheering makes you wonder if Ajith has walked in. A deafening roar erupts when the Censor certificate comes up — U, U/A, A… who cares?
Then the words Ajith Kumar appear on screen and as Sathyadev (Ajith’s character in the film) says later in the film, “All hell breaks loose”. Many people stand up on the seats, unable to control their excitement. Some like yours truly stand up on the seat too, to peer over the other heads. A few run towards the screen. In seconds, they are atop the stage up front and dancing, shirts in hand.
I’m not even looking at the screen now, only at the revellers. Some stop dancing, get phones out and begin taking selfies. I dimly realise that I can barely hear any music at all. Harris Jayaraj may as well not have bothered. The madness continues till the opening credits stop rolling.
But you know it’s a temporary lull. An Ajith intro scene is in the offing. Gautham Menon has his finger on their pulse — he teases them with a couple of scenes where only the actor’s eyes are visible. That primes them. Then, Ajith’s full face comes into view. If I thought I had heard the height of the noise, I was wrong. The din those 100-odd people raised — you had to pinch yourself to believe it was 4.35 a.m. on a weekday at an anonymous theatre.
Then, I see, in slow-motion, a sizzling cracker launched into the air. Breaths held. Thankfully, it falls at an empty spot up front and explodes, silencing the audience for barely a second, before the roar continues. In the commotion, a part of the screen is damaged. Two policemen finally walk in (did the explosion wake them up?) and try to identify the culprits. Ha, good luck!
The film is running, but nobody seems to care. It’s the opening show of an Ajith film, and everything else, even the film itself, is secondary. Having heard no dialogue for the first 15 minutes (the dreadful speakers are also to blame), I realise I’ll have to watch it again to review it.
It doesn’t matter. I couldn’t have stood on the seat at Sathyam.
yellow
7th February 2015, 10:03 PM
Anandh_Rj: Celebration on #Kerala (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Kerala?src=hash) #Kollam (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Kollam?src=hash) :-D
yellow
7th February 2015, 10:05 PM
எடிட்டர் ஆண்டனி.. இந்த சீன் விட்டு வச்சிருக்கலாமே :(( 0 replies0 retweets0 favorites Reply
Retweet
Favorite
More3981
yellow
7th February 2015, 10:08 PM
#YA (https://twitter.com/hashtag/YA?src=hash) Special Interview #GVM (https://twitter.com/hashtag/GVM?src=hash) @dancersatz (https://twitter.com/dancersatz) & @arunvijayno1 (https://twitter.com/arunvijayno1) Dance for Adharu Udharu !!! tomorrow @ 3pm in Vijay TV
yellow
7th February 2015, 10:19 PM
Goutham dancing ...after YA release
#AjithBestMoments - Tune in on Sunday @ 3 pm..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78GnV5hjOQY&feature=youtu.be
7th February 2015, 10:20 PM
The story behind the circumstances in which YA was made by GVM - written by Sudhish Kamath. Interesting read.
http://www.thehindu.com/opinion/blogs/blog-by-the-way/article6869054.ece
srimal
7th February 2015, 11:02 PM
watched it at Mayajaal - no tickets at spicinemas :(.... I'll try again next week...
coming to the movie - I felt it was awesome... from the censor certificate to we can skip the coffee - I was hooked :)
I loved the various avtars of Thala... be it the son(talking to Naser), father, lover, cop,etc... he has nailed every emotion... Trisha kitta pesarappo kannil oru vetkam... I now realise what was missing in GVM's previous efforts !!!
enna oru screenplay, subtle emotions, dialogs... loved watching Ajith-Trisha romance... no words... and the kutti girl was too good
I hope Arun Vijay will get good roles after this, he's always had good movies, but somehow never made it big.. !
And the music.. I felt every song, every tune, every lyric was apt.... first half may seem a bit slow, but it was full of undercurrents and emotions.. so I loved it as much as the second half..
Marupadiyum pakkanum... hopefully in spicinemas.. :)
yellow
7th February 2015, 11:06 PM
Malai murau news paper ......... #HatTrickBlockBusterForAJITH (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HatTrickBlockBusterForAJITH?src=hash)
yellow
7th February 2015, 11:07 PM
VAsool Mannan After Super Star Rajinikanth -- Malaimalar.
Freedom
7th February 2015, 11:37 PM
Watched it. Instant like and it will shatter thala's earlier movie records.This is seriously the best to come from Ajith. detailed review later
7th February 2015, 11:39 PM
Another top moment from YA movie...
Sathyadev comes in as Auto Driver (reminding Kadhal Kottai) to nab the criminal.....another auto driver asking Sathyadev who is he to cross and be at the auto stand and the moment when he gives a damn look at the auto driver....the auto driver goes stubborn and salutes when Sathyadev stops him....brilliant nuances.....is GVM setting a benchmark in this movie? oh boy ho
ArulprakasH
8th February 2015, 12:01 AM
Done with the second time. This time in Forum Value Mall Inox. 6:45 show full house with full of family audiences. Lot of kids were there too. One kid was even saying Bye Ajith when leaving the hall. :D
This time during the climax fight I too felt BGM was too loud. But in other places the same was adrenaline pumping like someone mentioned earlier.
I think, I wont get bored watching this movie few more times. Cant believe that one man played the role of contrasting cops as Vinayak Mahadev and Sathyadev... :notworthy:
While typing the above line it flashed in my mind what if Sathyadev chases Vinayak Mahadev? Wouldnt be interesting?
balakumar86
8th February 2015, 12:49 AM
Another top moment from YA movie...
Sathyadev comes in as Auto Driver (reminding Kadhal Kottai) to nab the criminal.....another auto driver asking Sathyadev who is he to cross and be at the auto stand and the moment when he gives a damn look at the auto driver....the auto driver goes stubborn and salutes when Sathyadev stops him....brilliant nuances.....is GVM setting a benchmark in this movie? oh boy ho
What I miss there is, everybody in the city (including the auto driver) knows he is a cop. And when he goes as under-cover, no villain knows who he is. Even, once Trisha mentions that she watched him on the TV. And I think nobody in the villain group watches TV.
8th February 2015, 01:17 AM
going to watch it in 3 hours. Very excited. Waited a long time to take my sisters to a tamil movie.
8th February 2015, 01:31 AM
@ShridharR: Saw YA with public. Damn proud. HUGE Ajith fan. All my life I whistled & clapped. Today I was moved. Nobody does it better. Thx Gautham :)
bimmer
8th February 2015, 02:14 AM
Watched it, awesome movie
+ ves
Ajith
Arun Vijay
Trisha, anoushka and the kutty papa and Vivek
2nd half especially the last 40 minutes
Songs and cinematography
Screenplay and GM way of narration. The cops were like cops and senior officials were like senior officials.
Negatives
First half seemed to be a little tad long, but not boring
Nasser and Ajith's relationship could have been established stronger
Overall one of the best Ajith movies in recent outings. Hope Ajith selects these types of scripts in future
8th February 2015, 04:35 AM
What I miss there is, everybody in the city (including the auto driver) knows he is a cop. And when he goes as under-cover, no villain knows who he is. Even, once Trisha mentions that she watched him on the TV. And I think nobody in the villain group watches TV.
The answer lies in the timeline of Satya's life otherwise put in Satya's Carrier.
When Satya's dad embraces the fate of Uncle Ben, Satya becomes an IPS as during that time of his father's murder Alex Pandiyan was playing on the TV and thankfully not Spiderman. From here, we are introduced to a dynamic Satya who could be in his late 20's. He is a Ghost, as his own colleagues aka other officials (except GVM ofcoarse - fantastic touch this is) do not know him (ref. 1st time you see Satya in uniform, unshaven). Father Mathew gang may not be his first mission, but certainly its not the last one. At this point in his carrier he is a nobody operating as an annonymous (ref. 1. Scene in the hotel Cabin room where Victor vouches for satya. Ref 2 Father Mathew is careful that he asks Satya to stay with the car). Why only this back story alone is to show us who is Victor.
Then, he is presented as a Police Officier, but he still continues going undercover, but his cover gets blown (narration in the parking garage inbetween the song sequence). This song / its lyrics are a part of the 2 Satya's you see - bearded one and the DCP. So now he is getting famous in the underworld, plus corruption is speaking volumes, he becomes a secret crime branch which handles executions. Its not yet the world know him (ref. scooter chat with his neighbour).
Now is the important part of the time line - He meets Hemanika. He is in charge of reporting, obviously seen thru the media (ref. Hemanika at the court house says she saw him on TV the next day). His task on hand now is not to inflitrate but to take down. In this suituation he is a backup (ref. the phone conversation with his team). So to mingle with the crowd he dresses up as a Auto Driver. The other Auto Driver does not recognise him, but even before his memory re-initialises, Satya's look pulls the strings of his hand to salute.
The 2nd meeting with Hemanika happens after 2 years from their 1st meeting (clue: it was quite obvious). In this spawn of 2 years, Satya has risen to a status that he is no more undercover or executioner but the brains and hands behind operations that he gets visitors to his house (read Golden Raj), plus he has his shining name on a board hung by his door - END of Satya's Curiculum Vitae with a note he is uncorruptable (ref. Nasser at his doorstep).
The time line is tracked thru the various facial hair Satya ports - unshaven, thick mustach, trimmed mustach ... you could not have missed the others. Enormous work has been done to perfect the time line through his looks. From Ajith part he does it with his voice.
So how is the title concerned in this short episode - Yennai Arindhal to the villans moment + the realisation of Satya - Power & Strenght he has - he simply is the Ruler now, that even a threat to his empire is the dust in the wind. He realises many other 'self' during the coarse of the movie, which I may cover later.
8th February 2015, 05:11 AM
YA crew with Thala
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9QJLJwCMAA1Ziz.jpg
Hats off to the whole team. A job well executed.
Could anyone point out who is who from this picture please. I would like to put a name to the face I am seeing. Thanks.
8th February 2015, 05:20 AM
the venugopal scene is my fav. one, sir thaan venugopal illainnu solttarla
LoL - awesome scene it was.
That guy in red t-shirt was funny - Yennada openinge seri illa, then he leaves saying 'antha allu vera bag-a mattikittu nikiran' ... LoL
This is another amazing scene where GVM visually potrays the 'Line' Factor. Satya shows his 'nallavan' part and deceides just to talk, thus the other half of his face is dark. Dan ji, hats off.
8th February 2015, 05:40 AM
I thought for Sathaydev and Daughter's journey this song from ARR would have been opt one!
Why not ? The best part is where the affection reflects beyond the screen and hits you in an emotional 3D effect, when he sees the 'mothers day' card. The bonding works big time.
8th February 2015, 05:53 AM
Why not ? The best part is where the affection reflects beyond the screen and hits you in an emotional 3D effect, when he sees the 'mothers day' card. The bonding works big time.
same to same feeling ya ! A man who lost everything looks for an inspiration from his past to take this new found relationship forward, brilliant narration GVM saab :notworthy:
8th February 2015, 06:01 AM
The answer lies in the timeline of Satya's life otherwise put in Satya's Carrier.
When Satya's dad embraces the fate of Uncle Ben, Satya becomes an IPS as during that time of his father's murder Alex Pandiyan was playing on the TV and thankfully not Spiderman. From here, we are introduced to a dynamic Satya who could be in his late 20's. He is a Ghost, as his own colleagues aka other officials (except GVM ofcoarse - fantastic touch this is) do not know him (ref. 1st time you see Satya in uniform, unshaven). Father Mathew gang may not be his first mission, but certainly its not the last one. At this point in his carrier he is a nobody operating as an annonymous (ref. 1. Scene in the hotel Cabin room where Victor vouches for satya. Ref 2 Father Mathew is careful that he asks Satya to stay with the car). Why only this back story alone is to show us who is Victor.
Then, he is presented as a Police Officier, but he still continues going undercover, but his cover gets blown (narration in the parking garage inbetween the song sequence). This song / its lyrics are a part of the 2 Satya's you see - bearded one and the DCP. So now he is getting famous in the underworld, plus corruption is speaking volumes, he becomes a secret crime branch which handles executions. Its not yet the world know him (ref. scooter chat with his neighbour).
Now is the important part of the time line - He meets Hemanika. He is in charge of reporting, obviously seen thru the media (ref. Hemanika at the court house says she saw him on TV the next day). His task on hand now is not to inflitrate but to take down. In this suituation he is a backup (ref. the phone conversation with his team). So to mingle with the crowd he dresses up as a Auto Driver. The other Auto Driver does not recognise him, but even before his memory re-initialises, Satya's look pulls the strings of his hand to salute.
The 2nd meeting with Hemanika happens after 2 years from their 1st meeting (clue: it was quite obvious). In this spawn of 2 years, Satya has risen to a status that he is no more undercover or executioner but the brains and hands behind operations that he gets visitors to his house (read Golden Raj), plus he has his shining name on a board hung by his door - END of Satya's Curiculum Vitae with a note he is uncorruptable (ref. Nasser at his doorstep).
The time line is tracked thru the various facial hair Satya ports - unshaven, thick mustach, trimmed mustach ... you could not have missed the others. Enormous work has been done to perfect the time line through his looks. From Ajith part he does it with his voice.
So how is the title concerned in this short episode - Yennai Arindhal to the villans moment + the realisation of Satya - Power & Strenght he has - he simply is the Ruler now, that even a threat to his empire is the dust in the wind. He realises many other 'self' during the coarse of the movie, which I may cover later.
Spoon feeding always helps kids growth ! Sir Mappi you are taking this thing to whole new level .... good sliver spoon reading ya I cherished it too YA YA! :lol:
George Thomas
8th February 2015, 07:22 AM
Watched it again second time...didn't feel the first half lengthy and felt the movie was awesome(thanks to theatre effect)..
Night show was fully filled with youths.. surprisingly chairs had to be put to accommodate the overwhelming crowd..
Amazing theatre response ..I felt like watching fdfs again..
8th February 2015, 07:53 AM
I wish someone exploits other talents of ajith without trying to get him back to Mugavari kind of roles often. I expect different genre/type of action movie from gautham if they join again in future.
8th February 2015, 07:54 AM
To me, this movie excels in showing ajith as a father. It captures lot of human emotions. Few really good mass scenes.
8th February 2015, 07:55 AM
But I wish he Avoids too much of salt and pepper. The crew cut look in coffee shop was good in salt and pepper but in other places, it was over done
8th February 2015, 08:39 AM
done watching. It worked out for me big time. I will write a few more lines later but I must say Thala is earning the respect of the people with self respect and common sense, in another words, sane people, from the way he leads his life and does characters.
sakthii
8th February 2015, 08:41 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9QoVvZCIAEoXow.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9Qaq8lCcAEQiMi.jpg
8th February 2015, 08:51 AM
done watching. It worked out for me big time. I will write a few more lines later but I must say Thala is earning the respect of the people with self respect and common sense, in another words, sane people, from the way he leads his life and does characters.
Lol :thumbsup:
balakumar86
8th February 2015, 09:54 AM
Mappi, nice explanation. Now I know what I really missed. The timeline.
balakumar86
8th February 2015, 10:05 AM
Spoon feeding always helps kids growth ! Sir Mappi you are taking this thing to whole new level .... good sliver spoon reading ya I cherished it too YA YA! :lol:
Yes, spoon feeding helps kids' growth. And insults like this hinder growth. I'd be better off without such insults. Actually that was a genuine question I had.
8th February 2015, 10:18 AM
generally top cops don't come in media too often...except for IG or DGP...but here Sathyadev is a DCP and that too he is not encounter specialist...not shown like that...also Trisha comes to know about only next day when she sees the TV....since the operation was carried out by DCP Sathyadev...
actually if you watch....even the auto driver didn't know who Sathyadev was....but Sathyadev's action and command in his speech made the auto driver realise that Sathyadev has come as an auto driver for an operation....and he starts saluting when Sathyadev stop him...brilliant scene...
8th February 2015, 10:26 AM
LoL - awesome scene it was.
That guy in red t-shirt was funny - Yennada openinge seri illa, then he leaves saying 'antha allu vera bag-a mattikittu nikiran' ... LoL
This is another amazing scene where GVM visually potrays the 'Line' Factor. Satya shows his 'nallavan' part and deceides just to talk, thus the other half of his face is dark. Dan ji, hats off.
it actually provided a lighter moment during that time because the audience would be thinking what would be the next step of Victor and the counters from Sathyadev....but when the black scorpio comes and the sentry asks Sathyadev to be alert...all the audience would have been at the edge of the seat expecting an action sequence immediately but GVM chose to keep the moment lighter...another brilliant one...
8th February 2015, 10:35 AM
Watched it again second time...didn't feel the first half lengthy and felt the movie was awesome(thanks to theatre effect)..
Night show was fully filled with youths.. surprisingly chairs had to be put to accommodate the overwhelming crowd..
Amazing theatre response ..I felt like watching fdfs again..
yes...you don't feel the first half lengthy after subsequent watches...actually the length or the screenplay justifies to buildup the character of Ajith and Trisha and portray their relationship to the next level...very well done by GVM....and he hasn't overdone and left the audience to imagination....
as per the movie...Sathayadev sees Hemanika (at this point he doesn't even know who she is and her name) after two years with the child Eesha at the court (family court, this one I don't understand, can criminal court and family court be at one place...am confused)...and when Sathyadev drives over the Adyar bridge and see the hoarding Maya Bazaar he comes to know about Hemanika and then starts to develop a relationship with her...they show that they are in a relationship for 3-4 years until Eesha is about 5-6 years and then Sathyadev proposes...the ensuing scenes when Sathyadev proposes to Hemanika has been done beautifully and very maturedly without any vulagarity....good one...
8th February 2015, 10:42 AM
I wish someone exploits other talents of ajith without trying to get him back to Mugavari kind of roles often. I expect different genre/type of action movie from gautham if they join again in future.
It is not the problem of the DIRECTORS :)...actually it is the problem of AJITH....
Ajith has created such a image that many directors see him in various aspects...
Ajith is one handsome actor who can do romance maturedly...
Ajith is one actor who can do stunts, actions...
Ajith has that MASS appeal who can do MASS masala type of roles...
Ajith is one emotional actor who can do roles like Mugavari, Poovellam Un Vaasam, Kireedom types of roles...he can go for improvisation on these roles each and every time...Yennai Arindhaal is one improvisation...
Ajith is one actor who can do Negative characters...
Ajith is one actor who can do Gangster roles....
actually GVM wanted to mash-up various acts of Ajith in YA thinking he won't get another chance to direct Ajith :) :lol:
8th February 2015, 10:44 AM
Yes, spoon feeding helps kids' growth. And insults like this hinder growth. I'd be better off without such insults. Actually that was a genuine question I had.
bala...take it light cool yaa....Dilbu is just saying it for fun....but to be honest....interacting with mappi makes me feel that I am a just born kid.... :) :lol: mappi brings in lot of nuances and experiences...
8th February 2015, 11:17 AM
cool cool !!that post was not for you !
8th February 2015, 11:35 AM
ATMUS Entertainment @ATMUSent
#YennaiArindhaal bcoms highest grossing #Thala film in USA by Satday, $415K,more scrns to rept. prev best Arrambam $380K. Target $500K now!
8th February 2015, 11:38 AM
South Africa Distributor
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9QbMOzCUAAz7W6.jpg
8th February 2015, 11:40 AM
Watching Yennai Arindhaal at dawn on release day wasn't just a movie going exp. it was a Festival says "The Hindu"
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9S5HbKCUAAxlw5.jpg
8th February 2015, 11:41 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9ShAOPCQAAy_Y8.jpg
8th February 2015, 11:54 AM
ATMUS Entertainment @ATMUSent
#YennaiArindhaal bcoms highest grossing #Thala film in USA by Satday, $415K,more scrns to rept. prev best Arrambam $380K. Target $500K now!
Wed (Premieres) - $113K
Thurs - $53K
Fri - $120K
Sat - $129K
Total - $415K [₹2.58 Crs]
" @ATMUSent Saturday is not done yet, more screens reporting, may reach $150K!!!
8th February 2015, 11:57 AM
In North India
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9SslK-CMAAHyd8.jpg
8th February 2015, 12:04 PM
Wed (Premieres) - $113K
Thurs - $53K
Fri - $120K
Sat - $129K
Total - $415K [₹2.58 Crs]
" @ATMUSent Saturday is not done yet, more screens reporting, may reach $150K!!!
I know Friday and esp Saturday will be huge. They screened in proper theaters only on Friday and the Wednesday shows had less screens.
Machi - where do we stand now? 500k is an achievable target. I think it can go beyond 700k at least given the no of screens
8th February 2015, 12:25 PM
I know Friday and esp Saturday will be huge. They screened in proper theaters only on Friday and the Wednesday shows had less screens.
Machi - where do we stand now? 500k is an achievable target. I think it can go beyond 700k at least given the no of screens
700K i doubt selva, we have only a Sunday now, i don't think there will be much foot fall on coming weekdays, and next weekend u have Anegan, it will reach 600K for sure, guess it is a SuperHit already there.
Arragesh
8th February 2015, 12:46 PM
To add to that timeline for characters also shown to the perfection like vivek and his team body language & salt pepper look & position and the Isha's timeline with her hair do, Smile and a very tad little maturity.
Wonderful work Gautam kudos
Yes I watched the movie.
I completely enjoyed the movie but didn't like Voice overs that GVM is so obsessed with.
Will write detailed one after my 2nd watch.
8th February 2015, 12:55 PM
another ~100 000 on sunday will take it over 5k. Weather wont be of much help in the next few days but it can definitely touch 7k.
8th February 2015, 12:58 PM
oh yeah i heard that the weather spoiled the party :twisted:
8th February 2015, 01:00 PM
" A NEW PROFOUND LOVE FOR AJITH AND GAUTHAM MENON ... "
By Anita @AnitaRaghuraman
How can a classy cop go down to the road and dance for a peppy number? How can an elegant gentleman use profanity with such style and ease? How can a dancer look so beautiful in a simple saree with a big round bindhi? Yes, it can happen in Gautham Menon's Yennai Arindhaal. While all my colleagues went ga-ga about using a ‘mass’ hero in Gautham Menon’s film and how they were waiting for its release, I kept calm and waited for the storm. It was a direct hit; right on my face. I sat in the theater amidst all the howls and screams stunned, for giving us Ajith as Sathyadev who you would fall in love with. Not a single movement, I consumed the film frame by frame without a blink. I experienced a new profound love for Ajith and Gautham Menon. I have defragmented the film to my understanding.
Ajith vs Sathyadev
With a bucket of ‘mass’ films like Kaththi, Lingaa, ‘I’ and now Yennai Arindhaal, most people watched them for its star value. To me Yennai Arindhaal was all about Sathyadev and not Ajith. Gautham Menon has taken out the mass factor in Ajith and gave him the Sathyadev mask. And without a doubt Ajith was the perfect fit. Well, this is how a film should be taken. A director should want to fit in a hero/actor in the lead role in his script rather than write a script for the hero/mass factor. Only Ajith could do the perfect Sathyadev. Be it using abusive words (though it was muted, lip movement says it all) or wearing those classy white shirts on khaki pants or confessing his love or enacting a caring father or dancing for a ‘kuthu’ song, such multifaceted elegance and effortless performance can’t be found in any other actor. Sathyadev definitely marks a new Ajith to all his fans.
GVM’s touch
When it is a love story there is a trademark that GVM makes the best use of. Although Yennai Arindhaal consisted almost a mix of Kaakka Kaakka and Vettaiyadu Vilaiyadu and the story was very predictable from the beginning, those sparkling moments of action sequences, the much-needed and well-fitted song breaks and all his characters make the film a definite watch (more than once). The story displays human emotions more prominently than just a tough cop fighting to save the world. Here Sathyadev is a poised gentleman and a classy cop who falls in love just like any other person from an upper middle class segment.
Portrayal of women in GVM’s films is something that I always look for. Though Trisha comes in just for a few minutes in the film, she depicts an independent and a single mother whose other half is her daughter. Beauty in the eyes of God, purity in her nature and serenity in her looks, Trisha steals the first half of the movie as she took Hemanika to the heights of Jessie from Vinnaithaandi Varuvaya. Anushka Shetty plays another independent single woman who falls in love with Sathyadev at first sight! Can it still happen? ( the love at first sight). In GVM’s film, it can, in the most convincing way.
The most sought after villain
A lost talent redeemed himself and regained some momentum with his performance here. This was Victor played by Arun Vijay at par excellence. One thing about Victor in Yennai Arindhaal is that, he looks as classy, angry and fierce as Sathyadev. His high energy performance in the last 30 minutes stole the show and that intensity was needed. The phone sequence for 5 minutes where Sathyadev and Victor talk (in split screen), showcases his unknown performance facet in a brilliant way. Be it the stunt sequence or showcasing his love interest, Arun Vijay deserved the much-needed appreciation.
Expectations fulfilled?
I watched this film as a neutral audience. To me this film brings back the Ajith of yore from performance based movies like Vaali, Villain, and Citizen, he was a class apart to take a script like this after Arrambam and Veeram, and it is a daring move. In Harris’ music composition, the songs and BGM were very apt. The background score not once looked like it was propelled into the film, but it blended in the film with an urban and contemporary touch.
Though Yennai Arindhaal is a predictable feast for GVM’s crowd, watch it for the long lost Ajith who is there in every frame of the film but not once does he bore you. Watch it for the emotional connect with the silver screen that you have longed. Watch it for the union of brilliant performers, contemporary storytelling and newfangled love interests.
http://behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-cinema-column/a-new-profound-love-for-ajith-and-gautham-menon.html
8th February 2015, 01:20 PM
Saw GVM interview with Madhan in Pudhuyugam channel. He revealed that Victor as a teenager is also at the hotel where Sathya's father is killed. Seeing the fear the shooter (Daniel Balaji) instills in the hotel owner he decides to become a gangster. The same incident creates both Sathya and Victor. GVM said that this is revealed later in the film in the uncut international version. For those who saw the film outside India....are these scenes there? I guess not and might be added after a few days as GVM said in an earlier interview.
8th February 2015, 01:39 PM
Saw GVM interview with Madhan in Pudhuyugam channel. He revealed that Victor as a teenager is also at the hotel where Sathya's father is killed. Seeing the fear the shooter (Daniel Balaji) instills in the hotel owner he decides to become a gangster. The same incident creates both Sathya and Victor. GVM said that this is revealed later in the film in the uncut international version. For those who saw the film outside India....are these scenes there? I guess not and might be added after a few days as GVM said in an earlier interview.
What you guys don't have that scene ?? :shock: yes he was seen in that hotel as a cleaner, one incident creates 2 different characters, Kottukku antha pakkam onnu Intha pakkam onnu ;)
8th February 2015, 01:41 PM
I wish GVM reduce Anushka's coffeteaarea dialogues scene and add some gangster scenes when he release it in Telugu.
What you guys don't have that scene ?? :shock: yes he was seen in that hotel as a cleaner, one incident creates 2 different characters, Kottukku antha pakkam onnu Intha pakkam onnu ;)
I think it is not there....am also slightly doubtful whether I missed it. But looks like it is not there in the Indian version.
oh yeah i heard that the weather spoiled the party :twisted:
Yes. 72 hours of snow started. Pretty bad
8th February 2015, 01:44 PM
Karnataka Boxoffice @KABoxoffice
Yennai arindhaal 3 days 2,19,00,530/- collection " Net ".
https://fbcdn-photos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xap1/v/t1.0-0/10898117_419974298153427_5361147902367070418_n.jpg ?efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&oh=7d6c99e46b3bf04f911076fa90486585&oe=555738F9&__gda__=1431846949_17a672e83c66d55d9ad5addd83a43a6 e
8th February 2015, 01:48 PM
I think it is not there....am also slightly doubtful whether I missed it. But looks like it is not there in the Indian version.
The scene comes towards the end when the voice over changed to Victor, the small and the only twist in the film ;)
balakumar86
8th February 2015, 01:51 PM
I watched in the Netherlands, and yeah those scenes were there, shown as inter-cut flashbacks. Very similar to the inter-cut flashbacks shown while Victor runs in slow-mo towards climax.
8th February 2015, 03:25 PM
I wish GVM reduce Anushka's coffeteaarea dialogues scene
https://38.media.tumblr.com/624f645d657028082cb16a9f99efed6a/tumblr_mwygpgrkdG1syqmbso1_400.gif
Pallathil oru yannai vizhunthalum, athan ullathai vizhithi vida miduyathu
8th February 2015, 03:32 PM
Thenmozhi
The whole beauty of the YA is how well the duality is considered as a driving force of human decision making. 'You become what you are provided you make up to it' - This realisation occurs to all the principle characters, except Satya, who gets into the multiple layers. Hemanika & Victor too face similar walls with a choice : either they can return or break the wall, meaning either to continue in harmony (Hemanika) or push forward what you have already made of yourself (Victor).
Thenmozhi is a sweet girl. She is at an age where an early sucess and beloved family gives her enough space to know what she desires - an handsome man. Her duality is when she finds that handsome man and how he becomes the man of her life. Its not entirely on that man, but through the search she does within herself.
Thenmozhi character is the muscle around the beating heart. Remove her, there will be a huge leak. She is introduced as a girl caught in the quick sand of our parent's culture. She is neat enough to say a NO without using the word NO. She likes to party. She likes to flirt. She meets Satya in the Flight and immediately an incident fills her with shame and the over shyness allows her to stamp Satya in her thoughts. Apart from his handsome looks, frankness, humour and gentle-man presentation, she gets hooked to him for the only reason - her dream unfolding before her (explained in the intro song). Maybe she was not much impressed with anyone else, or she hardly came across someone his caliber. Hesitant, she checks for Satya over the internet, satisfied, this time again on the steps like 'to-have-an-Police-Boyfriend-is-cool", she offers her love as a 'test-and-trail-run'. END of Thenmozhi-The Girl.
When Satya takes her home, she already got the needed image of Satya which is more than what she initially thought. Hesitant at the door, she actually falls for the maturity inside Aisha, crediting the upbringing. She then discovers the bonding between the little girl and Satya. She notes his hospitality. She admires his calmness. Through this calmness, her immense desire thats been hitting her heart like a rough ocean wave becomes a placid lake. Around her she sees many beautiful things, like the nature that occupies the scenary of a lake side. She is settled now and her heart which went disco previously chirps a melody that she lends her ears to. END - Brith of Woman in Thenmozhi.
And Anuska ... don't get me started. She is most gorgeous female lead ever walked on the corridors of TFI (ofcoarse the word 'most' comes with an additional label 'exceptions not included').
8th February 2015, 03:57 PM
Request : Is it possible to get the still or poster of Ajith sitting on the sofa as a gaurdien angel wating for Victor. It was fantastic on screen. I remember seeing it as an affiche in one of the cinema halls posted here. Thanks.
8th February 2015, 04:38 PM
watched YA last saturday. enjoyed a lot. GVM's done a great job. this was my first time watch ..
The things i liked
1.all songs and the picturization
2.able to see ajith as gangster, police man, lovestruck guy and father and every time his facial expressions :thumbsup:
3.trisha ajith's portion completely-The way he looks at trisha everytime-"mazhai vara poguthae song" -so beautiful :cool:
4.at coffee shop when aunshka tells her love his expression- loved it
5.vivek's comedy every time-so funny
6.ajith's expression just before he starts to shoot arun vijay's boss(silva)
7.arun vijay tall and slim energetic....great acting :clap:
8.ajith with ashish vidyathi during his home visit- so funny
8.when ajith and bad guys exchange bad words- so attractive :wink:
9.when anushka in ajith's house bad guys come to their house to get anushka and the following funny conversation
10.ajith- arun vijay final fierce phone conversation
11. all physical fights between ajith and bad guys when he was a gangster or police guy
so happy for ajith GVM and his fans including me..another blockbuster on the way :victory:
planning to watch it again this wk.
8th February 2015, 04:45 PM
mappi :) that tall glass cold coffee convo. didn't worked for me so as for many i guess, it was bit lengthy, IMO but their flight convo. and the song was well mixed, and why did she tell in the end " we can skip the coffee" i didn't get it :roll:
8th February 2015, 04:50 PM
watched YA last saturday. enjoyed a lot. GVM's done a great job. this was my first time watch ..
2.able to see ajith as gangster, police man, lovestruck guy and father and every time his facial expressions :thumbsup:
3.trisha ajith's portion completely-The way he looks at trisha everytime-"mazhai vara poguthae song" -so beautiful :cool:
9.when anushka in ajith's house bad guys come to their house to get anushka and the following funny conversation
Sir Venugopal..... Inga entha La***@** Ba*** illa :rotfl:
8th February 2015, 05:17 PM
Siva,
We can skip the coffee = Jalabula Junks.
The entire coffee shop sequence is to fold you into a lighter vien, which eventually heads to a big time entry for Victor. Here HJ drives the two "We meet Again" scenario excellently and distinctly. Arun Vijay gets a solid entry and cool lines which puts front an another dimension of Satya. Satya was at his preface dating, cool, playing it like a charm boy, and suddenly he jumps into action that not only the smashing glass panes answer but also his thundering cry of the battle - Speech ada kudukura U/A.
Now just imagine :
1/ Anuska walks in - Ajith Smiles - Masked men arrive - HJ rams his guitar.
2/ Anuska walks in - Satya invites her - Satya behaves himself - Anuska is shy but bold - HJ is flirting with his instrument - when suddenly masked men arrive - HJ picks up his guitar - Ajith gets up from his chair.
8th February 2015, 05:38 PM
Jalabula junks :lol:
I would go with your 2 option, would have shifted the louus and all in the following scene in the car.
8th February 2015, 05:48 PM
I would go with your 2 option
Thats what you actually see, with some toppings. The toppings will be for only that much time, the time taken to pull your fingers and meet your mouth to whistle.
I totally understand your point. Just giving you another way to experience the same. But if you still feel its was a bit over played, it must have been over played. Namba Swan mari irrukanum, Thani-a vittu, saraka mattum uriyanum ... LoL.
8th February 2015, 05:49 PM
That coffee was an excuse to know each other. Over a period of time, both get to know each other well and hence coffee can be skipped is what Thenmozhi implies.
8th February 2015, 06:43 PM
mappi check Pm
8th February 2015, 11:22 PM
Retweeted 321 times
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/426038811/suresh_bigger.jpgsuresh subha @sureshsubha (https://twitter.com/sureshsubha) 24h24 hours ago (https://twitter.com/sureshsubha/status/564120206897725442)
"Most magical mesmerizing screen presence" - These 5 words can be substituted with a single word: AJITH. yeah, 'Thala' rocks..!
Thala....
ArulprakasH
8th February 2015, 11:29 PM
A_A freeya vidunga... Desperate souls interested in YA BO more than us... Anyone who has a website or few hundred followers in Twitter can come up with these numbers... And media is making a story out of it... Eventually the most important thing is everyone involved in the trade has to be happy.. YA will certainly do...
ALWAR_AJITH
9th February 2015, 12:11 AM
A_A freeya vidunga... Desperate souls interested in YA BO more than us... Anyone who has a website or few hundred followers in Twitter can come up with these numbers... And media is making a story out of it... Eventually the most important thing is everyone involved in the trade has to be happy.. YA will certainly do...
Yes hatrick sucess for thala.. that too big response in malaysia [emoji106] [emoji106] [emoji106]
krajkumard123
9th February 2015, 12:30 AM
Yes hatrick sucess for thala.. that too big response in malaysia [emoji106] [emoji106] [emoji106]
Enjoyed the movie, really a very good movie, have a great time Ajith fans.........
9th February 2015, 12:32 AM
Enjoyed the movie, really a very good movie, have a great time Ajith fans.........
Thanks na.
ALWAR_AJITH
9th February 2015, 12:41 AM
[emoji106] [emoji106] [emoji106]
9th February 2015, 12:53 AM
Yennai Arindhaal public expectations & opinion in London | athavannews.com:
http://youtu.be/Qf49xJ4sreU
Srilanka ladies sema hard core fan-aa Irukkainga :D Thala should consider doing a movie for Ayngaran or Ayngaran collobrated venture once in a 3 years, that's enough for them to take Thala's image to different level ;)
Each and every one addressing him as Thala :bow: nowadays the nearby states telugu, mallus even north Indians call him as a Thala, I don't think any Tamil actors being called by their title everywhere ;)
ALWAR_AJITH
9th February 2015, 12:54 AM
Can anybody post gvm interview in vj tv?
9th February 2015, 12:55 AM
Arul, more than anything this movie and Thala's performance will be remembered for long time....
Prabo
9th February 2015, 01:07 AM
Watched it. Liked it. Will watch again.
Prabo
9th February 2015, 01:37 AM
In an old interview GVM mentioned, lots of auto drivers used to ask when he is going to direct Thala. So, that auto driver get up may not just be co- incidence.
Freedom
9th February 2015, 07:20 AM
YA in Movie City news:http://moviecitynews.com/2015/02/the-weekend-report-124/
The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge in the Water was the undisputed champion with a flushing estimated debut of $55.8 million. That left only disappointment for two other national newcomers. The futuristic Jupiter Ascending slotted third with $18.7 million while the supernatural power struggle Seventh Son bowed to $7.1 million.
In the niches new Indian imports ranged from a solid $413,000 debut for the Tamil Yennai Arindhaal to a flaccid $224,000 for the Hindi Shamitabh. In Quebec the French import Samba danced off to a nicely choreographed $93,200 and a solo bounce for Korea’s Gangnam Blues was an encouraging $14,800.
Best of the exclusive debs were the dance doc Ballet 422 with a two step of $31,200 and the American indie Old Fashioned downing $40,400 from a triple shot.
Weekend revenues ballooned to roughly $155 million for a 52% puff from seven days back. It was nonetheless a slight 1% dip from 2014 when the launch of The Lego Movie asssembled $69 million and bridesmaid The Monuments Men arrived with $22 million.
It’s been more than a decade since the venerable animated TV charmer SpongeBob Squarepants took to the big screen and tracking indicated a strong response for Sponge Out of Water. However estimates of $35 million or so seriously under appreciate his full appeal. The film had already got off to a good start last weekend with a $7.7 million gross in six foreign territories.
The character has been around long enough to instill adult interest and that provided much of the difference. It was also anticipated that the film would skew female but studio exit polls identified viewers as 53% female with 60% of the audience aged 25-years and younger. It also helped that early February has traditionally been a strong period for films with appeal to families and kids.
The session head scratcher was pitting two films with similar audience appeal against one another with the verdict that neither Jupiter Ascending nor Seventh Son would reach full commercial potential. The inside story added the fact that Seventh Son had been part of Relativity Media’s WB deal and was wrested away (with some difficulty) when the company migrated to Universal who slotted it in early February. Meanwhile one of Warners’ summer 2014 titles _ Jupiter Ascending _ missed crucial delivery deadlines and charitably opted not to go up against next weekend’s debut of 50 Shades of Grey.
Jupiter’s opening crowd was 57% male with 82% of ticket buyers aged 25-years and older while Seventh Son was 61% male and 68% aged 25-years and older.
With Oscar two weeks off one’s hard pressed to equate box office interest (or ancillary sales) to eventual winners. Nonetheless there are several handfuls of titles that have benefited from the awards spotlight and unquestionably a statuette is going to reap big rewards for several movies, particular those yet to substantially mine foreign soil.
CharlesPef
9th February 2015, 07:20 AM
-deleted with warning-
Freedom
9th February 2015, 07:23 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9XQKCRCUAAUqCN.jpg
Freedom
9th February 2015, 07:30 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9T7cQcCUAERVyZ.jpg
Super badhil adi to some immature fans....if only you can read tamil, I'll post translation later :)
CharlesPef
9th February 2015, 07:37 AM
Nice write ups...best ever movie from ajith...
Freedom
9th February 2015, 07:39 AM
Behindwoods super writeup on YA: http://behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-cinema-column/a-new-profound-love-for-ajith-and-gautham-menon.html
dell_gt
9th February 2015, 07:50 AM
Just watch it yesterday night.. Do you want YA:2 ??? yes yes yes I want it!!! super movie.. fully enjoyed :) I think ajith sir is there in all frames from beginning to ending.. diff mannerism in each episode.. truly satisfied.. sure 2nd round!!
CharlesPef
9th February 2015, 08:00 AM
Yeah...me too want that...the way they showed love scenes is really great....and at last ajith dialogue waiting for cup of cold coffee is really good...most engaging screenplay fromGVM...
Freedom
9th February 2015, 08:18 AM
Yennai Arindhaal Cummulative (ATMUS + Others) in US is 590K ....... I think ATMUS released in 89 screen and few other distributors: http://moviecitynews.com/2015/02/the-weekend-report-124/
See under Cummulative and read the numbers standing 0.59 mil. Pretty impressive. Kazhuvi Kazhuvi ootthanathukku, super collection!
http://i58.tinypic.com/xqm32s.png
Freedom
9th February 2015, 08:34 AM
-deleted-
Freedom
9th February 2015, 08:38 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9WoCGkCQAA9R5h.jpg
Freedom
9th February 2015, 08:55 AM
-deleted-
9th February 2015, 08:58 AM
lol I need to go read your comment.
sakthii
9th February 2015, 08:58 AM
Super badhil adi to some immature fans....if only you can read tamil, I'll post translation later :)
padathula oru msg sollittu real life la atharku maara seiyaruthu ellam ethula serkarathu?
pepsi ad?! these people often forget the real life character of the hero. they are living in dream world.
sakthii
9th February 2015, 09:07 AM
we have to ignore prashants review even if he gives good! ignoring is the best retaliation.
hope you guys understand
9th February 2015, 09:08 AM
I really had hard time explains my blood brothers who came to see this movie, it was not a rip off any hollywood or bollywood movies etc. They enjoyed movie with decent crowd , but one gentleman did however emphasized there is some Knight & Day inspired scenes. And I said Siv.S annea will be mad if I typed that here lets see;) . Never thought in 10 -15 years time Damil society will be so open ,when it comes to watching movies with Sanskrit equivalent pure dialogues with family :lol: great going ya.
Freedom
9th February 2015, 09:12 AM
-deleted-
9th February 2015, 09:15 AM
I really had hard time explains my blood brothers who came to see this movie, it was not a rip off any hollywood or bollywood movies etc. They enjoyed movie with decent crowd , but one gentleman did however emphasized there is some Knight & Day inspired scenes. And I said Siv.S annea will be mad if I typed that here lets see;) . Never thought in 10 -15 years time Damil society will be so open ,when it comes to watching movies with Sanskrit equivalent pure dialogues with family :lol: great going ya.
isnt cannada society also very open? at least heroines have been
9th February 2015, 09:31 AM
Yeah...me too want that...the way they showed love scenes is really great....and at last ajith dialogue waiting for cup of cold coffee is really good...most engaging screenplay fromGVM...
yep.. i liked it too....GVM can start YA2 with that clod coffee
9th February 2015, 09:40 AM
mappi :) that tall glass cold coffee convo. didn't worked for me so as for many i guess, it was bit lengthy, IMO but their flight convo. and the song was well mixed, and why did she tell in the end " we can skip the coffee" i didn't get it :roll:
i liked the whole scene...like in 'dheena' with laila...
and the dialogue "speech aada kodugurae @@#$$$$" dishoom :thumbsup:
Kalyasi
9th February 2015, 10:41 AM
Antha Vijay TV show link iruntha post pannunga makkale... Youtube subscription la 5 mins thaan varuthu...
Freedom
9th February 2015, 10:56 AM
-deleted-
Freedom
9th February 2015, 10:57 AM
Antha Vijay TV show link iruntha post pannunga makkale... Youtube subscription la 5 mins thaan varuthu...
watch before it gets taken down:
Part-1:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfFAHaEdW6g
Part -2 :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fT7rd7v3Q1Y#t=671
Kalyasi
9th February 2015, 11:05 AM
watch before it gets taken down:
Part-1:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfFAHaEdW6g
Part -2 :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fT7rd7v3Q1Y#t=671
Load aayite irukku bro...
9th February 2015, 11:14 AM
Kalyan - it is a Tapatalk issue. Check in chrome
Kalyasi
9th February 2015, 11:15 AM
Ok Selva...
yellow
9th February 2015, 11:25 AM
Spotted some banner in Sriram puram Bangalore with wishing YA success
Freedom
9th February 2015, 11:29 AM
un kathai mudiyum neram ithu........
Anjaan in that list ... itha vida kevalam ila!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B9YVmf7CcAEkNb6.jpg
yellow
9th February 2015, 11:29 AM
100 marks ...:smokesmirk: