View Full Version : UlagaNayagan KAMALHAASAN in ||"UthamaVillan"|| Directed by Ramesh Aravind

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

Russellpei
13th November 2014, 08:14 PM
http://i1277.photobucket.com/albums/y492/rhavichandran/68174_1546598315552138_5199455650854261891_n_zps6e 99b745.jpg (http://s1277.photobucket.com/user/rhavichandran/media/68174_1546598315552138_5199455650854261891_n_zps6e 99b745.jpg.html)

kumarsr
13th November 2014, 10:43 PM
http://i1277.photobucket.com/albums/y492/rhavichandran/10423757_571663316312736_4549219883610390991_n_zps 902e78ae.jpg (http://s1277.photobucket.com/user/rhavichandran/media/10423757_571663316312736_4549219883610390991_n_zps 902e78ae.jpg.html)

No wonder it is taking a lot time to complete all the Graphics work...

14th November 2014, 04:41 PM
Men will be Men :-)
I liked it sir :) (not sarcastic - take it friendly)

Pushpak - he's waiting to know who the heroine is and neenga vera directionla porenga :) Avar patiencea romba test pannathinga ... I thought it was Pooja Kumar is it not ?

Pooja Kumar is the actress, she was in Vishwaroopam too.

Take it easy boss :)

பின்ணிட்டீங்க :razz:

:P.....innum yaaru andha actress theriyalla...she doesn't look like Pooja Kumar....

14th November 2014, 05:29 PM
Let us accept that Nammavar's face has changed for his age... But the fitness and the way he can carry a younger role are still at the top.
A Mammootty or Nagarjuna or Salman may look "much younger to their age" compared to Kamal. But he can easily pull off a romantic scene or action scene much better.

Good point.. Well put Pushpak...

14th November 2014, 07:02 PM
:P.....innum yaaru andha actress theriyalla...she doesn't look like Pooja Kumar....

That is Pooja Kumar only and in twitter also she mentioned I think.

Chikatiloan
15th November 2014, 03:20 AM
After reading several reviews of "crimes and Misdemeanors" I dont think uthama villain is going to be a ordinary movie..Its going to be in line with classical "Anbe sivam" in terms of repetitive watching(not the storyline) but business wise need to wait & see..Also the film direction/screenplay will be little bit complicated with 2 stories running in parallel with flashback/18th century and i am sure kamalhaasan/ramesh aravind would have dealt carefully..Also it seems uthama villain will also talk about "human soul,philosophies of life,existence of god,etc"..
Below line i read from "crimes and Misdemeanors" review

And when it came to the question of God's existence he would add: "In case of doubt I will always choose God over truth."

I guess kamalhaasan phillosophy in uthama villain will be opposite " "In case of doubt I will always choose Truth over God."

Based on my assumption I can relate many things but its not right to mention all the points..
Also the movie has unbelievable scope for acting..

Marketing let anbe sivam down and this time marketing is very good for uthama villain and public talk also very good because of twitter,kumudam,ananda vikatan,attractive posters..if fast cut,racy trailer is released at right time before movie release then it will definitely be a earth shattering opening..

Visual treat awaiting for all us from kamalhaasan..

kumarsr
15th November 2014, 05:52 AM
After reading several reviews of "crimes and Misdemeanors"

Don't worry. I don't think UV will have anything to do with Crimes & Misdeameanors. He just mentioned it in passing. During Vishwaroopam, he compared it to "North by Northwest"...

Chikatiloan
15th November 2014, 09:03 AM
Don't worry. I don't think UV will have anything to do with Crimes & Misdeameanors. He just mentioned it in passing. During Vishwaroopam, he compared it to "North by Northwest"...

I am not worrying bother and infact I am more excited to watch UV than before..We know Virumandi screenplay is similar to Korean movie but its nothing to do with rashomon..Almost 80% of the movies around the world are inspirational but kamal takes inspiration that are very complicated yet he makes it very successful..
What i am thinking is Uthamavillain way of story telling might be inspired from Crimes & Misdeameanors like virumandi screenplay but story,dialogues,etc were not..

Saai
15th November 2014, 09:59 AM
-----

Saai
15th November 2014, 10:10 AM
--------

Saai
15th November 2014, 10:40 AM
He is very clear - he said, "I have tried something close to Woody Allen's Crimes & Misdemeanors, where the movie will show a trail and an ardent lover of films who tries his best to make a movie. ‘UV' to feature similar stuff, where the viewer will get to see an emotional side and a comic portion at the same time in two different timelines"

This is interesting! Woody is a documentary film maker in C and M kind of a non-conformist. He was forced to make a documentary of a rich and popular douchebag. He makes a movie that rather mocks at him and subsequently gets fired.

So, in Uthama Villian - the ancient time period probably talks about artistic liberty and quest for excellence in a very serious manner. The current time period story tells the same in a very funny way - like woody in C and M.

ahh, this movie will be good yaar!!!

15th November 2014, 10:45 AM
Men will be Men :-)
I liked it sir :) (not sarcastic - take it friendly)

Pushpak - he's waiting to know who the heroine is and neenga vera directionla porenga :) Avar patiencea romba test pannathinga ... I thought it was Pooja Kumar is it not ?

Pooja Kumar is the actress, she was in Vishwaroopam too.

Take it easy boss :)

பின்ணிட்டீங்க :razz:

That is Pooja Kumar only and in twitter also she mentioned I think.

avavh3
15th November 2014, 11:37 AM
i would love to have time travel concept in UV. (king coming to this century and actor travels to that century!) May be the first time in indian cinema.

15th November 2014, 11:40 AM
i would love to have time travel concept in UV. (king coming to this century and actor travels to that century!) May be the first time in indian cinema.

like Irandam Ulagam....oh no...this will totally not work out....

radiochandra1977
15th November 2014, 01:45 PM
Onnumey theriyaama .......... Nalla kilappureengayya Bheethiya. 😨

radiochandra1977
15th November 2014, 01:55 PM
Most inyersting fact according to me ......... The Theyyam artiste turns into a superstar actor. And Theyyam is practised by Low caste groups ONLY and is supported by anti brahminism groups. Itha vida ennayyaa venum ? Padam pattaya kilappum. Its gonna be one of KH best.

radiochandra1977
15th November 2014, 02:06 PM
Internet says ..... Brahmins consider Theyyam artistes as untouchables. BUT they still worship the art because it is deiva aattam ...... which became theyyam attam ie theyyam in short.

kumarsr
16th November 2014, 11:10 PM
Onnumey theriyaama .......... Nalla kilappureengayya Bheethiya. ��

RadioChandra has made an entry! Movie release must be round the corner.

kumarsr
16th November 2014, 11:12 PM
Most inyersting fact according to me ......... The Theyyam artiste turns into a superstar actor. And Theyyam is practised by Low caste groups ONLY and is supported by anti brahminism groups.

Neenga Bheethiya Kilappatheenga !!

16th November 2014, 11:36 PM
Onnumey theriyaama .......... Nalla kilappureengayya Bheethiya. 

Most inyersting fact according to me ......... The Theyyam artiste turns into a superstar actor. And Theyyam is practised by Low caste groups ONLY and is supported by anti brahminism groups. Itha vida ennayyaa venum ? Padam pattaya kilappum. Its gonna be one of KH best.

Internet says ..... Brahmins consider Theyyam artistes as untouchables. BUT they still worship the art because it is deiva aattam ...... which became theyyam attam ie theyyam in short.

:rotfl: now there will be poraattam in the form of brahmins staging protests.... :roll: hope kamal plays it safe....

Adox
17th November 2014, 04:26 AM
As in HeyRam where it was spread all over that its an anti-Mahatma and resulted in a ban when it was very much pro Mahatma, here we dont want to spread anti this or anti that. Let the movie come first please ...

Russellpei
18th November 2014, 06:46 PM
http://i1277.photobucket.com/albums/y492/rhavichandran/10606535_739620966132704_7541931592667421220_n_zps 5e33e6fd.jpg (http://s1277.photobucket.com/user/rhavichandran/media/10606535_739620966132704_7541931592667421220_n_zps 5e33e6fd.jpg.html)
Uthama Villan..Still

Chikatiloan
18th November 2014, 09:54 PM
What is the problem with producers of Uthama Villain? Atleast they should have released the trailers by now or audio release,atleast 1 thing should have happened by now..you cant keep on test the patience of fans when shooting of 3 movies are completed..We can understand the reason behind delay of Vishwaroopam as its high budget oscar production who is already facing problem in releasing 'I'..It seems Papanasam will release before Uthavillain..
If they dont release trailer or audio launch sooner then they will lose the momentum among common public,anwway kamal fans will be eager at any cost but beyond that..Release trailer by end of nov,audio launch by dec 15 and movie by christmas,jan1..

Adox
19th November 2014, 12:03 AM
KH has clearly said it'll be UV that is releasing first. Then comes Papanasam and later VR-2. Not sure why nothing much has happened in the other fronts like audio, teasers etc. Maybe they're giving space for Linga's promotion. Release of all his 3 movies will be in the early part of 2015.

19th November 2014, 12:39 AM
but at least a gap of 50 days should be maintained....all the movies are sure shot hit to blockbuster if releasing planned well...

pushpak
19th November 2014, 06:33 AM
Yes.. Why no audio launch !!
That too, inspite of the music director himself feeling the music of UV is the better one among these three !

Chikatiloan
19th November 2014, 07:08 AM
but at least a gap of 50 days should be maintained....all the movies are sure shot hit to blockbuster if releasing planned well...

I feel many will wait for 3 months between one and another but release one movie first..If uthama villain is not released immediately within pongal '15 then I am sure papanasam
will release first mostly by jan end..Malayalam producers wont wait for long time to make or release the movie and wide angle creations will take very short time..Also its remake/less budget movie so they don't need to wait for solo release or with 1000's of prints..

avavh3
19th November 2014, 12:48 PM
cant avoid the comparison. linga started while papanasam shooting started. now all three movies are in PP with no audio, trailor etc but see there..trailor, audio launch nu thool parakkudu. :fatigue:

19th November 2014, 03:02 PM
I feel many will wait for 3 months between one and another but release one movie first..If uthama villain is not released immediately within pongal '15 then I am sure papanasam
will release first mostly by jan end..Malayalam producers wont wait for long time to make or release the movie and wide angle creations will take very short time..Also its remake/less budget movie so they don't need to wait for solo release or with 1000's of prints..

+1. Exactly same feeling... The producers Sripriya / Wide Angle creations would be interested in releasing the movie asap.

19th November 2014, 03:14 PM
cant avoid the comparison. linga started while papanasam shooting started. now all three movies are in PP with no audio, trailor etc but see there..trailor, audio launch nu thool parakkudu. :fatigue:

When Uttama Villain started it was told as August release, now it is being rumoured as Pongal release...

pushpak
20th November 2014, 05:34 AM

I too feel the same. Time is money. More the delay, higher the required BO returns !
There is no doubt UV will be a much better movie than Linga. But if it is claimed that UV is getting delayed because it is a "bigger" movie than Linga, the BO results also need to be bigger.
Otherwise I do not see any logical reason behind the release getting delayed.

My guess is that VR2 and PN will cross 100C, but UV will not !
So by end of next year Nammavar will have 4 100C+ movies :-)

avavh3
20th November 2014, 10:18 AM
"There is no doubt UV will be a much better movie than Linga"..romba kusumbu sir, started a debate..now wait for torrents. (i do also feel the same. it will be full of masala for his fans which will be promptly forgotten after two years)

"My guess is that VR2 and PN will cross 100C, but UV will not"..but i will interchange PN and UV. PN is normal family thriller which will surely a hit but not mass. but UV has all potential to be a BB.

"So by end of next year Nammavar will have 4 100C+ movies".. lets hope

Chikatiloan
20th November 2014, 10:53 AM
I too feel the same. Time is money. More the delay, higher the required BO returns !
There is no doubt UV will be a much better movie than Linga. But if it is claimed that UV is getting delayed because it is a "bigger" movie than Linga, the BO results also need to be bigger.

Frankly speaking Papanasam BO collections will not cross 100C,reason the remake already released in AP,KA..In KL however the movie will have grand opening eventhough its remake but in AP it will not..It will be released with minimum prints in AP,KA..
I am expecting 50-80 crores collection and if that happens then its a blockbuster and everyone will be very happy..Its not a high budget movie and maximum production cost will be 5 crores ignoring Kamalhaasan salary..

Vishwaroopam definitely will cross 100 C and it has all the potential to cross 200C even considering the producers ability to reach very wide and fans eager to watch part2 after watching the stunning visuals/fight scenes in part1....

Uthamavillain is 50-50 to cross 100C because we even cant sense whether it will be commercial and classical or both like papanasam/VR..like anbe sivam or aboorva sagotharargal in terms of commercialism,need to wait and watch

kumarsr
20th November 2014, 06:51 PM
UV will either be a big hit or a big flop. Let's hope it turns into a big hit. Main reason cited for UV delay is the amount of graphics work which seems to have been underestimated initially.But, there is also some financial angle to this, I am sure. An audio/trailer release in December should help the movie to come out in January. Kamal has been in the news a lot lately with so many interviews etc. This is the ideal time to wrap up any pending work and move ahead with the release. I am hoping for the best.

pushpak
20th November 2014, 07:49 PM
Even if PN clicks 75% of the way the original clicked, it will cross 100+C.
It became the highest all time grosser in Malayalam. So if we take even 50% of the highest collected movie in Tamil, it is still 100+ !
As it is not a typical "mass movie", enough gap should be there between PN and the next release. It will be a long run movie.

My concern with UV is ... Let me do not worry too much about it now !

But what we need at the moment is solid&finalized release dates for these 3!

Nasc
20th November 2014, 11:11 PM

isnt he the highest grosser in TFI including his hits in other languages and accounting for inflation .....

anways the present is always is short lived ,what matters is after 100 yrs when this era is talked about ....who is talked about is what matters ( B.O collection or anything of that matter will be immaterial but the works will remain and nammavar has the versatility and content to stand the test of time )

we dont talk about the blockbusters of the 1940s or the 1930s - but we talk about the metropolis's of those worlds.....

Chikatiloan
21st November 2014, 12:46 AM
isnt he the highest grosser in TFI including his hits in other languages and accounting for inflation .....

anways the present is always is short lived ,what matters is after 100 yrs when this era is talked about ....who is talked about is what matters ( B.O collection or anything of that matter will be immaterial but the works will remain and nammavar has the versatility and content to stand the test of time )

we dont talk about the blockbusters of the 1940s or the 1930s - but we talk about the metropolis's of those worlds.....

Box office just elevates the stardom and makes actor survive for years..Naseerudin shah is best actor in Hindi but he is nowhere close to top actors..there are many actors who gave great movies but didnt survive long because of Box office issues..recent example - Rudhraiya directed only 2 movies..why? aval appadithaan flopped and so he didnt get chance to direct movies further..
If kamalhaasan makes movies like Rajaparvai,Guna continuously without purely commercial movies like AS,MMKR then he would havent survived for 50 years in industry..
In that sense he is very smart..Making movies like Anbe sivam,Vishwaroopam and in between movies like dasavatharam,Papanasam which makes him always in the top hero list..

pushpak
21st November 2014, 06:27 AM

What you are saying is 100% right. But being a hardcore fan and seeing Nammavar ruling BO for decades, that too 2 decades being clear number one in terms of long runs and openings, I still care for BO :(

21st November 2014, 09:00 AM
while we have been discussing about BO figures...if any of you have interacted with Kamal....let me know one thing...do you think that Kamal seriously cares for BO figures....

21st November 2014, 10:31 AM
while we have been discussing about BO figures...if any of you have interacted with Kamal....let me know one thing...do you think that Kamal seriously cares for BO figures....
he will definitely bother, if the movie made money or not.. i dont think he will be much bothered, if it made more money than a masala movie..

pushpak
21st November 2014, 08:56 PM
he will definitely bother, if the movie made money or not.. i dont think he will be much bothered, if it made more money than a masala movie..

Nammavar himself repeatedly says that, the happiest he feels is when more people watch the movie.
But yes, he may not be bothered by "biggest hit ever" tag etc.
But I am bothered :-)

avavh3
22nd November 2014, 07:46 AM
Nammavar himself repeatedly says that, the happiest he feels is when more people watch the movie.
But yes, he may not be bothered by "biggest hit ever" tag etc.
But I am bothered :-)

Nothing wrong with that feeling. That is the minimum ego satisfaction every fan expects. I felt euphoria in 1992 and opposite in 1995 (BO wise, not for content)

pushpak
22nd November 2014, 08:35 AM
Nothing wrong with that feeling. That is the minimum ego satisfaction every fan expects. I felt euphoria in 1992 and opposite in 1995 (BO wise, not for content)

For me it started by around 1980 and it still continues :)

24th November 2014, 02:27 AM
what do fans expect from Kamal's films in terms of BO success ?

1. should the movie be critically acclaimed as well as successful at the BO ?

2. how does one define BO success ?

3. is that a question of ratio of money invested versus money collected ?

4. if a movie makes money, how much should it make to call it a commercial success ? would it be enough if the movie just breaks even ?

24th November 2014, 07:53 AM
BO figures matter but in days of internet, unless there is a balance sheet, I sincerely doubt the 100Cs, 200Cs reports.

Recent Dr. Joseph padam claims they made this C that C, but neither director or producer are giving proofs. I can also give tweets like Leengaa made 500C in 10 hours, and fans will retweet. Height of exaggeration. I am expecting repeat performance from AndhraBoxOffice and other "vetti" social media handlers when Leengaa arrives. When Aameer khan's PK releases 2 weeks following it, we can expect even greater naansense numbers from that gumbal.

As long as Kamal & investors are happy with the returns, I call that a success. Else, it is loss.

pushpak
24th November 2014, 08:45 AM
what do fans expect from Kamal's films in terms of BO success ?

1. should the movie be critically acclaimed as well as successful at the BO ?

4. if a movie makes money, how much should it make to call it a commercial success ? would it be enough if the movie just breaks even ?

I am sure it will be different from fans to fans.

For me :
1. No.
If it is made for commercial purpose, BO success only matters.
If it is made for “art”, no one should lose money (producer, distributer etc). Lack of huge profits does not matter.
Recently a great movie was made in Malayalam in around 30 days. It might have cost 2 crores. But made good profits to the producer/distributor along with getting selected for multiple awards/film festivals.
The key is to make such movies within budget.

Everyone associated with the movie, release and theatres get good profits.

Yes. But we should add the actor’s remuneration (for his/her salary for a commercial movie) to the cost.
For example, if Linga is done in 3-4 months and Uthama villain takes more than an year, I expect Uthama villain to collect much more than Linga !

4. if a movie makes money, how much should it make to call it a commercial success ? would it be enough if the movie just breaks even ?[/QUOTE]
I am not an expert. But I think it depends on the star value. If two movies are made with exactly the same cost 80C. If one has Kamal and the other one is some XYZ other than Rajini, I expect Kamal movie to make more profits.

dell_gt
24th November 2014, 08:47 AM
"As long as Kamal & investors are happy with the returns, I call that a success. Else, it is loss. "

Sir, arumaiga soninga :)

pushpak
24th November 2014, 09:30 AM
BO figures matter but in days of internet, unless there is a balance sheet, I sincerely doubt the 100Cs, 200Cs reports.

Recent Dr. Joseph padam claims they made this C that C, but neither director or producer are giving proofs. I can also give tweets like Leengaa made 500C in 10 hours, and fans will retweet. Height of exaggeration. I am expecting repeat performance from AndhraBoxOffice and other "vetti" social media handlers when Leengaa arrives. When Aameer khan's PK releases 2 weeks following it, we can expect even greater naansense numbers from that gumbal.

As long as Kamal & investors are happy with the returns, I call that a success. Else, it is loss.

Amir Khan said the same - "If I say my movie made 300C, without checking the fact, you guys (media) will simply publish it. WHo validates all these figures !"

24th November 2014, 11:02 AM
I am sure it will be different from fans to fans.

For me :
1. No.
If it is made for commercial purpose, BO success only matters.
If it is made for “art”, no one should lose money (producer, distributer etc). Lack of huge profits does not matter.
Recently a great movie was made in Malayalam in around 30 days. It might have cost 2 crores. But made good profits to the producer/distributor along with getting selected for multiple awards/film festivals.
The key is to make such movies within budget.

Everyone associated with the movie, release and theatres get good profits.

Yes. But we should add the actor’s remuneration (for his/her salary for a commercial movie) to the cost.
For example, if Linga is done in 3-4 months and Uthama villain takes more than an year, I expect Uthama villain to collect much more than Linga !

I am not an expert. But I think it depends on the star value. If two movies are made with exactly the same cost 80C. If one has Kamal and the other one is some XYZ other than Rajini, I expect Kamal movie to make more profits.

Good points Pushpak.
Looks like Lingu & Kamal don't want to compromise on the quality. Probably want to do lot more in CG / Post production than their initial expectation. Would be happy if they can release by Pongal or a week prior to that.

24th November 2014, 11:19 AM
Kamal youthful ah ve irunthalum I feel we should have rather commented on a close up shot (surely he would have still appeared younger for his age there) than a long shot where even MGR would have looked youthful

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3LuB5ECcAAqj-S.jpg

Arvind Srinivasan
24th November 2014, 12:24 PM
Good points there Pushpak. It is imperative that every body associated with the movie makes profit. There can be no greater an encouragement for artists than a work of good art being appreciated. And with respect to films, it is through the profit it makes during its run. In that regard, I always find Kamal's recent so called 'commercial' ventures to be double whammies. There is enough fodder in each of his films for people to get intrigued. However a peculiar case is that of Manmandhan Ambu. The film was all fine till it decided to take a detour towards comedy at the end. The film for all you know may have been recieved a lot better had it completely used the audience's investment on the characters or the drama. Not only was Nisha (Trisha) confused at the end, so were the audience. Just hopeful that Uttama Villain doesn't thread this line. But even if it did ,I am sure there would be something for a guy like me to be intrigued at.

pushpak
24th November 2014, 02:43 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3LuB5ECcAAqj-S.jpg

WoW..
This is the problem which also happened during Manmadhan Ambu days.. Initially not much expectation.. But stills escalate the expectations...

Adox
24th November 2014, 05:25 PM
Box office performance dictates your brand and standing amongst producers, financiers, and other commercial machinery. Kamal establishes his top rating here only next to Rajini due to this criteria. Whereas Kamal as a brand among his fans and others (general public) is only due to his experimental and critical ventures. He has been for long trying to strike an effective compromise between the two and is rather rare to hit both the same time. Something worth saying here is that while he goes out to do a commercial flick, a failure as in MMA is sort of a setback because he got neither - a box office performance or a critically acclaimed. Hopefully he tries to avoid such ventures. A reasonable commercial movie with ingredients may be necessary every once a while to make sure everybody is happy ....

Adox
24th November 2014, 05:33 PM
While exact numbers in crores are in doubt, a movie's success and failure are quite evident. There's some degree of legitimacy with respect to BO reports in US, UK, Malaysia and other countries. We do know Endiran, VR, Thuppakki, Aarambam, Kaththi, Billa etc. have been successful ventures with some in the top draw setting records.

pushpak
24th November 2014, 07:36 PM
While exact numbers in crores are in doubt, a movie's success and failure are quite evident. There's some degree of legitimacy with respect to BO reports in US, UK, Malaysia and other countries. We do know Endiran, VR, Thuppakki, Aarambam, Kaththi, Billa etc. have been successful ventures with some in the top draw setting records.

I hope that skipping Dasavatharam was not deliberate :-)

Adox
24th November 2014, 08:11 PM
I hope that skipping Dasavatharam was not deliberate :-)

Absolutely not Pushpak! Dasa is in the top list/BB category .. Its an example of a commercial movie with most ingredients like comedy, action, emotions (first 15 min) etc. to keep many happy. I liked VR more though and happy for its success.

pushpak
24th November 2014, 09:18 PM
Absolutely not Pushpak! Dasa is in the top list/BB category .. Its an example of a commercial movie with most ingredients like comedy, action, emotions (first 15 min) etc. to keep many happy. I liked VR more though and happy for its success.

Was just kidding. Cool !

24th November 2014, 10:14 PM

Arvind Srinivasan
25th November 2014, 12:04 AM
Something worth saying here is that while he goes out to do a commercial flick, a failure as in MMA is sort of a setback because he got neither - a box office performance or a critically acclaimed. Hopefully he tries to avoid such ventures. A reasonable commercial movie with ingredients may be necessary every once a while to make sure everybody is happy ....

I agree...Manmadhan Ambu clearly his poorest movie quality wise in recent years. Dasavathaaram comes next, but it can be allowed to pass since it raked the moolah.

25th November 2014, 12:38 AM
I agree...Manmadhan Ambu clearly his poorest movie quality wise in recent years. Dasavathaaram comes next, but it can be allowed to pass since it raked the moolah.

-1. MMA is a good movie where Sangeetha, Trisha, Madavan and Kamal got noteworthy performances and its a clean family-romatic-fun entertainer. If someone find the last 15/20 minutes of the movie boring, I could understand. Nevertheless, the whole movie execution is very good. Recently I watched it and the first half just completed before you realize it. Such a feel good plot and KH's screen play and dialogues prove once again why he is unique.

ramdas2005
25th November 2014, 01:04 AM

I guess MMA was the reason KSR & Kamal split with that guy 'UStln' going to town saying he didn't like the story.

Adox
25th November 2014, 01:11 AM
-1. MMA is a good movie where Sangeetha, Trisha, Madavan and Kamal got noteworthy performances and its a clean family-romatic-fun entertainer. If someone find the last 15/20 minutes of the movie boring, I could understand. Nevertheless, the whole movie execution is very good. Recently I watched it and the first half just completed before you realize it. Such a feel good plot and KH's screen play and dialogues prove once again why he is unique.

Comeon Venki .. If someone just cant sit through the last 20 min. of any movie, what was built up initially however good is (even if exceptional - in this case about ok) is lost .. How could the movie then do anything in the BO or WOM ? Thats why it settled where it rightly should as far as BO is concerned. As a fan appreciating it is something different ...

Arvind Srinivasan
25th November 2014, 01:27 AM

Venki, I never said its a bad movie. If you had noticed, my earlier post talked about MMA being a missed chance to create something special. The comedy stuck out like a sore thumb and I was kind off let down by the light hearted way in which the whole drama was handled in the latter stages.

25th November 2014, 01:35 AM
Comeon Venki .. If someone just cant sit through the last 20 min. of any movie, what was built up initially however good is (even if exceptional - in this case about ok) is lost .. How could the movie then do anything in the BO or WOM ? Thats why it settled where it rightly should as far as BO is concerned. As a fan appreciating it is something different ...

No, I am not here reviewing MMA from a kamal fan perspective. With the normal parameters we set for any movie watching.. MMA stands with its own merits with respect to screenplay, dialogues and character establishments. Just look at the difference Kamal shown in scripting Sangeetha and Trisha characters. The way both the gals value their life with their ups and downs. Noteworthy. Show me another movie in Tamil to compare such things. I think we talked about many nuances about Kamal's screenplay and settings in the MMA thread during the release. The way Kamal penned the lyrics is a commendable job. Please listen again those bit songs about friendship from that movie. Awesome and captivating. Oorvasi-RameshArvind subplot is so touching and dialogues played a major role in evoking the needed feel. The making of 'Neela Vaanam' is epic. What else you want brother?

// If someone just cant sit through the last 20 min. of any movie, what was built up initially however good is (even if exceptional - in this case about ok) is lost // Not at all. A movie is a group of scenes. Not all the scenes a director kept in a movie needs to attract the audience. You grade a movie good or better or best or worst based on how many scenes on the whole you are very much impressed or how many scenes you do not like. Take the case of "Yuththam Sei". Comparing to the build up Mishkin creates from the very first scene, its climax is not up to the expectation. But Yuththam Sei always a top notch creation from Mishkin.

25th November 2014, 01:48 AM
A movie is a group of scenes. Not all the scenes a director kept in a movie needs to attract the audience. You grade a movie good or better or best or worst based on how many scenes on the whole you are very much impressed or how many scenes you do not like.

Excellent Venkkiram.

Comming to MMA, mine too is a bit differed from yours and closer to Aravind and Bill4u. But your argument is too good (I should give that to you). Let see how people are going to counter and catch-up with it.

Please continue ... finally an interesting thread & discussion.

Adox
25th November 2014, 02:12 AM
No, I am not here reviewing MMA from a kamal fan perspective. With the normal parameters we set for any movie watching.. MMA stands with its own merits with respect to screenplay, dialogues and character establishments. Just look at the difference Kamal shown in scripting Sangeetha and Trisha characters. The way both the gals value their life with their ups and downs. Noteworthy. Show me another movie in Tamil to compare such things. I think we talked about many nuances about Kamal's screenplay and settings in the MMA thread during the release. The way Kamal penned the lyrics is a commendable job. Please listen again those bit songs about friendship from that movie. Awesome and captivating. Oorvasi-RameshArvind subplot is so touching and dialogues played a major role in evoking the needed feel. The making of 'Neela Vaanam' is epic. What else you want brother?

// If someone just cant sit through the last 20 min. of any movie, what was built up initially however good is (even if exceptional - in this case about ok) is lost // Not at all. A movie is a group of scenes. Not all the scenes a director kept in a movie needs to attract the audience. You grade a movie good or better or best or worst based on how many scenes on the whole you are very much impressed or how many scenes you do not like. Take the case of "Yuththam Sei". Comparing to the build up Mishkin creates from the very first scene, its climax is not up to the expectation. But Yuththam Sei always a top notch creation from Mishkin.

Venki,

While the talk was about BoxOffice and critically acclaimed movies, this movie fails to achieve either of their respective parameters. Reason - despite a reasonable plot independently stitched together with the quality scenes as you describe, the end product falls flat. Why ? Because the screen play is sort of loose and not tightly maintained/coherent all through. Most movie watchers go for the entire package ... And not specifically selective great scenes here and there. It may have the merits and brilliance that Kamal put together but shouldn't we look at how the bridge stands and serves on the river rather than how nice and sturdy some of the quality of the materials are made ? While its just fine to appreciate and enjoy the nuances you describe, the final product should be tailored elegantly for most of the audience, imo. KH said in an interview after the movie when asked if the box office mattered to him - He said 'I wish every movie that I make a box office success' To that end, it couldn't achieve its target.

Chikatiloan
25th November 2014, 04:05 AM
Venki,

While the talk was about BoxOffice and critically acclaimed movies, this movie fails to achieve either of their respective parameters. Reason - despite a reasonable plot independently stitched together with the quality scenes as you describe, the end product falls flat. Why ? Because the screen play is sort of loose and not tightly maintained/coherent all through. Most movie watchers go for the entire package ... And not specifically selective great scenes here and there. It may have the merits and brilliance that Kamal put together but shouldn't we look at how the bridge stands and serves on the river rather than how nice and sturdy some of the quality of the materials are made ? While its just fine to appreciate and enjoy the nuances you describe, the final product should be tailored elegantly for most of the audience, imo. KH said in an interview after the movie when asked if the box office mattered to him - He said 'I wish every movie that I make a box office success' To that end, it couldn't achieve its target.

Nick statement is superb.. "As long as Kamal & investors are happy with the returns, I call that a success. Else, it is loss."
But i dont want Kamal to give movies like MX and MMA which is neither here nor there..If he wants to give movies for commercial success then dont use live recording,confused plot like in last 20 mins of MMA..AS,MMKR is great example of excellent commercial movie made diffierently with clear recording,superb acting with body language,no confusion in comedy scenes and also witty/intelligent..

I watched MMA with family and no-one liked the movie except my wife..The strange thing is apart from my wife everyone were kamal fans..My wife is rajni fan and she liked it very much..Before marriage i watched Mumbai express with whole family,again no-one liked the movie except me..The fact is we as core kamal fan were planning to go with family for kamal light hearted movie than serious experimental,hard-hitting movies like Vishwaroopam,Virumaandi(10A is exceptional) but last few light hearted movies MX,MMA were not upto the mark and infact he is more losing the family audience..however dasavatharam,UPO helped him somewhat..kamal has equal amount of old age fans like rajni or even more because most of sivaji fans are kamal fans but all MGR fans are not rajni fans,they are 50-50..
I watched dhrisyam recently and i feel papanasam should release first,This time i can assure the whole of my family will just love the movie and my mom will talk to neighbour papanasam is excellent movie,blah,blah..There are many old women,men above 50 years of age still love to see kamalhaasan movies but kamal is not giving the right movies for them to cherish..Papanasam will cherish them..TN family audience will just love the movie not because its a family movie with thriller but seeing kamalhaasan in family avatar is like once in a decade..
With that momentum he can release Uthama villain next as we feel the BO expectation is 50-50,success of papanasam with family audience expectation will help..No need to bother about vishwaroopam-2 BO success as its having own fan base after Vishwaroopam-1 and Aascar ravi to promote vigorously.

25th November 2014, 09:06 AM
One thing puzzles me no end.

The media forever tries to downplay the BO success of Kamal's films or even his commercial viability to such an extent, as if every movie of his has been turning up huge losses.

simple straightforward logic : if a series of products with a certain brand name continues to fail in the marketplace, no matter what the brand name is, it will bite the dust.

but Kamal has been giving films regularly and that in itself should negate the BO failure claims of a biased media.

Strictly from a commercial point of view, his films are definitely doing more than just breaking even, given that producers are willing to finance him over and over again.

Chikatiloan
25th November 2014, 09:22 AM

The media forever tries to downplay the BO success of Kamal's films or even his commercial viability to such an extent, as if every movie of his has been turning up huge losses.

simple straightforward logic : if a series of products with a certain brand name continues to fail in the marketplace, no matter what the brand name is, it will bite the dust.

but Kamal has been giving films regularly and that in itself should negate the BO failure claims of a biased media.

Strictly from a commercial point of view, his films are definitely doing more than just breaking even, given that producers are willing to finance him over and over again.

True!! Many willing to produce him/direct him.During Vishwaroopam audio launch murugadoss,dharani,lingusamy were willing to direct him and many producers willing to produce his film..but kamal doesn't accept the request as he feels many producers will not allow him to make movie with liberty..

pushpak
25th November 2014, 11:16 AM

Very recently in a malayalam channel program on Kamal, the guy says :
"...... Kamal tried a big experiment in Dasavatharam though it failed.... "
" .... Viswaroopam was made with a lot of challenges.. inspite of all hurdles, it turned out profitable..."
I am sure this guy is not "biased", but how come such a perception is getting created !

They never use "block buster" or "record breaking" kind of statements !!

25th November 2014, 12:44 PM
Excellent Venkkiram.

Comming to MMA, mine too is a bit differed from yours and closer to Aravind and Bill4u. But your argument is too good (I should give that to you). Let see how people are going to counter and catch-up with it.

Please continue ... finally an interesting thread & discussion.

:lol: nice sarcastic post. Kalakkal maapi. I think a decade after, Venki will be the only one praising MMA. As a Kamal and KSR fan, it is one film that I would like to forget.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Adox
25th November 2014, 06:49 PM

Its sensational and news worthy for the media to publish reports such as 'Kamal's gargantuan project bites dust or Kamal's controversial Hey Ram bombs in boxoffice' etc. to increase frenzy.

pushpak
25th November 2014, 07:43 PM
Its sensational and news worthy for the media to publish reports such as 'Kamal's gargantuan project bites dust or Kamal's controversial Hey Ram bombs in boxoffice' etc. to increase frenzy.

Why only Kamal?

Adox
25th November 2014, 08:00 PM
Why only Kamal?

Not many like him - daring, creative and experimental. Will make news if they write negatively on him like that rather than other way :(

ramdas2005
25th November 2014, 08:26 PM
Not many like him - daring, creative and experimental. Will make news if they write negatively on him like that rather than other way :(

It seems when it comes to which movie will break the top movie in collection, none of kamal's up coming movies are mentioned, it is almost like if it is about BO then ignore kamal...
@mappi - why this sarcasm in your post???

25th November 2014, 09:03 PM

there are many other things to write about kamal apart from BO successes nu ninaichirukkalam..........even in the erstwhile Sivaji vs MGR era, Sivaji films' commercial successes eppavume under rated ah than irunthirukku.........

radiochandra1977
25th November 2014, 09:21 PM
Test reply

radiochandra1977
25th November 2014, 09:26 PM
Kamal has 4 options ....... option 1 ) classic plus superhit potential like Thevar magan or Nayagan ...... 2) classic with flop potential ..... Like Anbe sivam or Hey Ram 3) Masala with superhit elements where Kamal can excel in a way only he can ..... eg .. Dasa , VV, VR 1 etc. Option 4 ) masala with no wow element where there is nothing great for Kamal as a performer or screenplay wright ...... classic eg ... Manmadhan Ambu.
I feel option 1 is ideal .... option 2 he can do once in 3 or 4 films to satisfy himself and every 2nd movie has to be option 3 for him to continue as a superstar. Option 4 is a waste of time of the 60 year old legend who has few years left and of his fans.

Chikatiloan
25th November 2014, 09:54 PM
Kamal has 4 options ....... option 1 ) classic plus superhit potential like Thevar magan or Nayagan ...... 2) classic with flop potential ..... Like Anbe sivam or Hey Ram 3) Masala with superhit elements where Kamal can excel in a way only he can ..... eg .. Dasa , VV, VR 1 etc. Option 4 ) masala with no wow element where there is nothing great for Kamal as a performer or screenplay wright ...... classic eg ... Manmadhan Ambu.
I feel option 1 is ideal .... option 2 he can do once in 3 or 4 films to satisfy himself and every 2nd movie has to be option 3 for him to continue as a superstar. Option 4 is a waste of time of the 60 year old legend who has few years left and of his fans.

Great points!! thats exactly i was thinking but cant put it in words,everyone will agree with your point..
out of 5 movies 2 each for option 1 & 3, 1 movie for option 2....
Option 4 is total waste and infact it damages his name very badly..You see anbe sivam,eventhough its average in collections people still praise him for that movie than any of his movies in last 15 years..
If you notice properly in mumbai express and manmadhan ambu he used the technique like A,B,C for conversation and some kind of music pattern which is quite irritating/confusing..i dont know from where he got that idea..may be execution is not proper

radiochandra1977
25th November 2014, 09:56 PM
As i typed this 4 pointer .... I also got reminded of another 4 pointer and would invite comments on both my posts.

radiochandra1977
25th November 2014, 09:59 PM
Kamal is probably the only hero in the world who would have done multiple role movies of all 4 possible categories
1) multiple roles being related by blood ., and their similar appearance is the key to the movie storyline ...eg ...Apoorva sago, MMKR, thoongathey thambi thoongathey, sattam en kaiyil, iru nilavugal, kalyanaraman

radiochandra1977
25th November 2014, 10:01 PM
2) multiple roles relaated by blood , but their similarity is not the core of the movie ..... eg ....Indian, kadal meengal , mangamma sapatham, punnagai mannan except maamavukku song.

radiochandra1977
25th November 2014, 10:02 PM
3) multiple roles not related by blood .... but the similarity in appearance is the key concept of the movie ...... eg ... Indiran Chandiran.

radiochandra1977
25th November 2014, 10:04 PM
4) multiple roles not related by blood and their similarity in physical appearance has no key part in the movie ...... eg .... Dasavatharam

kumarsr
25th November 2014, 11:07 PM
Why only Kamal?

I think some might feel that Kamal is acting too smart and feel happy even when there is minor setback. Others end up constantly comparing him with Rajini and Rajini's brand of uni-dimensional movies. Plus, KH would alternate different kinds of movies...for a stretch of several years, he used to do a quick comedy followed by another longer project.

kumarsr
25th November 2014, 11:24 PM

The thing is ...it is not so easy differentiating like this when you are about to begin a new movie. With Hindsight, it may be easier to classify movies in this fashion. How do you classify movies like PMK, Panchatantiram, Thenali, Kadhala(2), Mumbai Express etc? They all were similar types of movies lacking the so called WOW factor. Yet, some of the movies mentioned were super hits while others not so much.

Movies like MMKR, Apporva.. Nayagan, Thevar Magan, with the right mix of everything come once in a while and is difficult to recreate at will. That's why KH has worked on so many different films. Collaborating with different sets of people may also be useful. Again, he is doing just that...with 3 very different movies lined up.

kumarsr
25th November 2014, 11:32 PM
I liked MMA...still do. It had a good sense of non-slapstick humor and a non-frenetic pace. More like English movies like Sideways, 4 weddings & a funeral etc. I did not like the Ramesh Arvind bit and also the last several minutes...Those were typical Crazy Mohan. So one has to be careful. Remember, that movie did not take much time at all to make. It was done in less than 50 days.

radiochandra1977
25th November 2014, 11:36 PM
Today .... all the 5 movies u mentione including thenali and panchathanthitam is a waste of his time in my opinion ..... Mumbai express ... pks .... Kathala kathala .... would be a criminal waste of time.

radiochandra1977
25th November 2014, 11:37 PM
Thats why i have said potential hits and flops. It could turn otherwise. But the likelihood of Anbe sivam and Hey ram ..... i am sure he would have sensed the BO response even before release.

kumarsr
26th November 2014, 12:16 AM
Based on box office results, one can say that it is waste of time. He should continue to do variety of movies. Agreed, some movies may not make sense any more. But, in the last 8-9 years, there have only been 4 movies...Talk about waste of time. My wish is that he should focus on starting a new movie soon (January 2015) with a defined start and end date.

pushpak
26th November 2014, 06:27 AM

Kamals himself said : Vettri petra Guna thaan Thevar Makan. Vettri peratha Thevar Makan thaan Guna. Extremely difficult to differentiate between these 2 at the start of the movie and while deciding the budget etc.
Between 3 and 4 - Again not easy to measure the commercial success - but the 4th category will be a safer bet. Because 4 will be (I assume) can be by directors like Murugadoss or Shankar where Nammavar's involvement would be less or nul. But 3 will still have some elements of risk.
I think that to keep getting funds for 1 and 2, he should do 4 also - But in a short time. He has told in 1991 "acting and dubbing kku mattum ithu vareykum 40 naleykku mele dates ponathu kidayathu"
PS : Please excuse my Tamil

pushpak
26th November 2014, 08:14 AM
Today .... all the 5 movies u mentione including thenali and panchathanthitam is a waste of his time in my opinion ..... Mumbai express ... pks .... Kathala kathala .... would be a criminal waste of time.

I did not like Panchathanthiram and Kathala Kathala.. But without such movies and the stardom, will he get distributors?
Just imagine Virumandi with a no-star-value actor? The movie would have been equally good (probably more convincing) but will he get proper buyers?

Chikatiloan
27th November 2014, 02:30 AM
Came to know the team is planning to release Uthama Villain by 09-Jan-2015

ramdas2005
27th November 2014, 05:43 AM
Came to know the team is planning to release Uthama Villain by 09-Jan-2015

Wow that would make Pongal really interesting with 2 other films YA and I, but then will there be enough theatres for 3 films?

Chikatiloan
27th November 2014, 07:22 AM
Wow that would make Pongal really interesting with 2 other films YA and I, but then will there be enough theatres for 3 films?

YA and I releasing during pongal is still a question mark like uthama villain..YA still shooting not completed,for I release date is always a mystery becoz of AASCAR..AASCAR is known for releasing high budget movies solely which cant be done on festival days..
Also he always release the press news that movie will be released on this date and will check whether other star studded movies are backing out or not released because of other issues..if others are not backing out and planned to release as per plan then AASCAR will back-out..He normally does this for big budget movies..

radiochandra1977
27th November 2014, 07:26 AM
Vadivelu shopkeepera merattittu .... othungi ninnu response paappare ...... athu pola sollureenga. 😆

27th November 2014, 04:37 PM
YA and I releasing during pongal is still a question mark like uthama villain..YA still shooting not completed,for I release date is always a mystery becoz of AASCAR..AASCAR is known for releasing high budget movies solely which cant be done on festival days..
Also he always release the press news that movie will be released on this date and will check whether other star studded movies are backing out or not released because of other issues..if others are not backing out and planned to release as per plan then AASCAR will back-out..He normally does this for big budget movies..

Good observation about Aascar. :lol: Unfortunately Kamal had gone to him for VR-II.

27th November 2014, 05:45 PM
Rotfl

Chikatiloan
27th November 2014, 11:53 PM
Good observation about Aascar. :lol: Unfortunately Kamal had gone to him for VR-II.

AASCAR is a pure pure cunning businessman and he will do anything for business but good thing is he likes kamalhaasan and helps unorthodox/different talented directors/actors which is unusual for pure money minded businessman like him..
Everyone knows he promotes his movie aggrerssively but unknown thing he will promote other production movies also agressively through posters,theaters illegally..He controls NSC area and all theatre owners will listen to his words..he is like dada among NSC theatre owners..
Do anyone remember who distributed VV? Its AASCAR
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-articles/movies-03/30-08-06-vettaiyaadu-vilaiyaadu.html

It is the first tamil movie to release in many theatres in chennai but its not only in chennai its in entire NSC area,he also extended his power towards hosur,bangalore as well..In hosur 1st time the tamil movie released in 2 theaters and bangalore in more theaters..

Do you know how Chithiram pesuthadi became success? Initially it had bad run in theaters then AASCAR acquired the film rights and marketed only the vaala meenu song agressively and the movie became a super hit..To promote vaala meenu song i read somewhere he asked some theater owners in NSC area to play the song during intervals..Organized a group and asked Gana Ulaganathan to roam around places singing the song and ultimately paid some money to music channels to telecast the song frequently..
http://www.sify.com/movies/oscar-to-the-rescue-news-tamil-kkfvq1acjaf.html
Kamal missed distributor like him for Anbe sivam and instead he himself took the responsibility of distributing Anbe Sivam..Why he distributed some of his movies by that time is another story..

Everyone knows 10A is the first film to cross 200C in TN & he announced it just recently & not before..10A is the first movie that had 50 shows in mayajaal and as many number of shows in sathyam..he is trendsetter in distribution..
Dont be surprised if 'I' has 125-130 shows/day in mayajaal if its a regular 21/2 hr movie..16 screens * 8 shows(20hrs/screen) =128 shows..
Vishwaroopam is 2 hr movie so it can have 9 shows/screen which will lead to 16*9=144 shows...ha ha..

28th November 2014, 12:48 PM
AASCAR is a pure pure cunning businessman and he will do anything for business but good thing is he likes kamalhaasan and helps unorthodox/different talented directors/actors which is unusual for pure money minded businessman like him..
Everyone knows he promotes his movie aggrerssively but unknown thing he will promote other production movies also agressively through posters,theaters illegally..He controls NSC area and all theatre owners will listen to his words..he is like dada among NSC theatre owners..
Do anyone remember who distributed VV? Its AASCAR
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movie-articles/movies-03/30-08-06-vettaiyaadu-vilaiyaadu.html

It is the first tamil movie to release in many theatres in chennai but its not only in chennai its in entire NSC area,he also extended his power towards hosur,bangalore as well..In hosur 1st time the tamil movie released in 2 theaters and bangalore in more theaters..

Do you know how Chithiram pesuthadi became success? Initially it had bad run in theaters then AASCAR acquired the film rights and marketed only the vaala meenu song agressively and the movie became a super hit..To promote vaala meenu song i read somewhere he asked some theater owners in NSC area to play the song during intervals..Organized a group and asked Gana Ulaganathan to roam around places singing the song and ultimately paid some money to music channels to telecast the song frequently..
http://www.sify.com/movies/oscar-to-the-rescue-news-tamil-kkfvq1acjaf.html
Kamal missed distributor like him for Anbe sivam and instead he himself took the responsibility of distributing Anbe Sivam..Why he distributed some of his movies by that time is another story..

Everyone knows 10A is the first film to cross 200C in TN & he announced it just recently & not before..10A is the first movie that had 50 shows in mayajaal and as many number of shows in sathyam..he is trendsetter in distribution..
Dont be surprised if 'I' has 125-130 shows/day in mayajaal if its a regular 21/2 hr movie..16 screens * 8 shows(20hrs/screen) =128 shows..
Vishwaroopam is 2 hr movie so it can have 9 shows/screen which will lead to 16*9=144 shows...ha ha..

It is known to many that Aascar distributed Vettaiyadu in NSC, Got good money and produced Dasa...

Again He distributed VR, got good money and producing VR-2.

Arvind Srinivasan
28th November 2014, 11:56 PM
One of the conditions Aascar imposed for acquiring VV for distribution was that Kamal does a seperate movie for him. That was how Dasa was born. I still remember the days when no one was sure as to when VV would release. The silence was deafening and out of nowhere, came the Dinathanthi poster with the release date.

29th November 2014, 03:29 AM
a businessman is a businessman - what is this abt a businessman being 'pure and cunning' ?

as if the rest of the producers exist for the sake of promoting art!

this is not a diverse market that can provide niche audiences as in Hollywood, where Clint Eastwood or the Coen brothers can make their own brand of films with producers out to finance them no matter.

Tamil cinema has a looooong way to go - the nonsense in the way of VR release says a lot about how mature we are as a society.

so far as things don't change, men like Aascar will continue to do what they are good at - no point in cribbing

Chikatiloan
29th November 2014, 03:55 AM
a businessman is a businessman - what is this abt a businessman being 'pure and cunning' ?

as if the rest of the producers exist for the sake of promoting art!

this is not a diverse market that can provide niche audiences as in Hollywood, where Clint Eastwood or the Coen brothers can make their own brand of films with producers out to finance them no matter.

Tamil cinema has a looooong way to go - the nonsense in the way of VR release says a lot about how mature we are as a society.

so far as things don't change, men like Aascar will continue to do what they are good at - no point in cribbing

I am not cribbing boss and just menioned my observation..Infact I like him producing/distributing kamalhaasan movies

29th November 2014, 12:03 PM

may be he meant like this..........making all the necessary moves and winning over others to become no.1 is pure businessman, making all the necessary moves to make others lose thereby getting to no.1 position is cunning businessman.......

avavh3
29th November 2014, 08:44 PM
Very recently in a malayalam channel program on Kamal, the guy says :
"...... Kamal tried a big experiment in Dasavatharam though it failed.... "
" .... Viswaroopam was made with a lot of challenges.. inspite of all hurdles, it turned out profitable..."
I am sure this guy is not "biased", but how come such a perception is getting created !

They never use "block buster" or "record breaking" kind of statements !!

i remember reading somewhere in hub..the reporter meant the experiment has failed not the movie (ebola virus escaping..got it?!)

i also feel the same.. why this oravanjanai for kh movies :curse:

pushpak
30th November 2014, 06:54 AM
i remember reading somewhere in hub..the reporter meant the experiment has failed not the movie (ebola virus escaping..got it?!)

i also feel the same.. why this oravanjanai for kh movies :curse:

One of the top actors himself told something similar when he was interviewed in a Malayalam channel !
That was gross !!

1st December 2014, 01:00 PM
There is an article in Nakkeeran regarding the delay of Uttama Villain..

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3q9OKMCQAEQPn5.jpg

1st December 2014, 01:50 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3q9QI4CMAEouDl.jpg

1st December 2014, 01:51 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3q9RxOCcAAXXJ0.jpg

avavh3
1st December 2014, 03:04 PM
if this news is true it is atrocious. it seems there is nobody to help thalaivar in tfi. this is deja vu feeling :banghead:

1st December 2014, 09:30 PM
Kamal will come out victorious - idhellam avarukku small obstacle ! sappa matter

1st December 2014, 10:07 PM
if this news is true it is atrocious. it seems there is nobody to help thalaivar in tfi. this is deja vu feeling :banghead:
But nowadays he can take up those issues into proper channels and expose TN's state clearly. This is what happens when KH and VR been cornered. Such impact will bomb in opposite reaction, even the protesters had no clue. With the digital media, Kamal's image has got enlarged exponentially in all directions. Soon, he would be the first film celebrity to communicate everything in channels like youtube.

Chikatiloan
1st December 2014, 10:23 PM
But nowadays he can take up those issues into proper channels and expose TN's state clearly. This is what happens when KH and VR been cornered. Such impact will bomb in opposite reaction, even the protesters had no clue. With the digital media, Kamal's image has got enlarged exponentially in all directions. Soon, he would be the first film celebrity to communicate everything in channels like youtube.

Moreover kamal will not bother because he is not producer..all the 3 movies under different production house..
For movie like Uthama villain which many of kamal fans think BO success is 50-50 these kind of free marketing will help for bumper opening..

avavh3
2nd December 2014, 09:59 AM
[QUOTE=USV;1187048]
kamal will not bother because he is not producer
very wrong. at this stage of his life who is the producer doesnt matter, it is his movie so he will be reasonably worried.

these kind of free marketing will help for bumper opening
agreed this gives free marketing to some extent. considering the heart-burn, anxiety etc felt during vr release, free marketing in this fashion is the last option he/we need.

many of kamal fans think BO success is 50-50
where did you get this? this will be 100c + movie. mark my words.

2nd December 2014, 10:35 AM
Soon, he would be the first film celebrity to communicate everything in channels like youtube.

Looks like he is going in the right direction, and showing way for many more celibirities...

Chikatiloan
2nd December 2014, 11:57 AM
[QUOTE=USV;1187048]
kamal will not bother because he is not producer
very wrong. at this stage of his life who is the producer doesnt matter, it is his movie so he will be reasonably worried.

these kind of free marketing will help for bumper opening
agreed this gives free marketing to some extent. considering the heart-burn, anxiety etc felt during vr release, free marketing in this fashion is the last option he/we need.

Please note for 1st point I just mentioned by comparing the difficulty he faced as a producer in VR movie.Except for papanasam producer he should not bother about other 2 producers..Lingusamy has very good rappo with many ppl in theaters association..
so edho soolchi nadakura maadhri feeling,lingu'va cornered pandra maadhri aemaathi kamal'a corner panna paakuraangalo'nu thonuthu..

I understand he must be worried even though he is not producer but must be extremely careful...

pushpak
2nd December 2014, 08:22 PM
[QUOTE=USV;1187048]

Even if it makes 100+, media will say "...break even...", "...no one lost money...", "...which fared well at BO...", ... etc etc...

avavh3
2nd December 2014, 09:30 PM
+1. i still use to fume about the TOI review of dasa (one know-it-all b**ch reviewed it in tv also). dont know whats their prejudice. may be due to the fact KH knows everything about something and something about everything and media can tolerate only dumb artists. see how much coverage rk gets whenever he launches new project. even koch'sadai'yaav got gr8 coverage:curse:

kumarsr
2nd December 2014, 09:59 PM
This matter will be sorted out in a couple of weeks. I don't think it will drag on. No clarity on whether the graphics related movie work is all completed.

3rd December 2014, 03:33 AM
+1. i still use to fume about the TOI review of dasa (one know-it-all b**ch reviewed it in tv also). dont know whats their prejudice. may be due to the fact KH knows everything about something and something about everything and media can tolerate only dumb artists. see how much coverage rk gets whenever he launches new project. even koch'sadai'yaav got gr8 coverage:curse:

Leengaa is also (going to) follow suit.

Slight dig, but how long with RK associate with ARR. Tunes are getting boring and repetitive. high time he puts in his cents for new MD.

3rd December 2014, 09:58 AM
This matter will be sorted out in a couple of weeks. I don't think it will drag on. No clarity on whether the graphics related movie work is all completed.

A month back Ramesh Arvind told in a tv interview that it will take 6 to 8 weeks to finish off the Post production works for Uttama Villain. I that case it should be ready for release in the last week of December. Now Aascar is ready to release "I" for 2nd week of Jan, UV is getting pushed to Feb... Hopefully all gets sorted out and release in the 1st week of Feb.

kumarsr
6th December 2014, 06:56 PM
It seems they are going to Algeria to complete the VFX work. Whatever happened to this Madhu guy. I thought he was taking care of this...

Chikatiloan
7th December 2014, 12:19 AM
It seems they are going to Algeria to complete the VFX work. Whatever happened to this Madhu guy. I thought he was taking care of this...

Johnson PRO one guy was the first to post in twitter that kamalhaasan is going to Algeria for CG and song recording...soon all the medias published the same news without checking the reliability of a source..May be for song recording he would have gone to Algeria which makes sense as we heard from ghibran that kamalhaasan has bought musical instruments from Bali, Indonesia,Malay,etc and Algeria musicals also almost similar to malay,indonesia..

But going to Algeria for CG doesn't make any sense..Also yesterday kamal went to Abu Dhabi to receive shifa Al Jazeera Excellency Award..

pushpak
7th December 2014, 06:44 AM
Let him go to Algeria or Somalia or Antartica... Let him do or not do CG or VFX... We need movie to be released...

Chikatiloan
7th December 2014, 10:17 AM
Let him go to Algeria or Somalia or Antartica... Let him do or not do CG or VFX... We need movie to be released...

Instead of America he mentioned Algeria it seems..Photo of Kamalhaasan walking of los angeles airport circulated in twitter

radiochandra1977
7th December 2014, 10:24 AM
Oho .... innum 2 monthsla ...... naan ippo ellaila irukken. Ellaila irukken appadinnu oru interview kuduppaaru. Padam miga nandraaga uruvaayitukku ........ viraivil release seyyum muyatchiyil eedupatturikkindrom ........ live sound sync oru sila kaatchigalil kaanakkoodum ...... etc etc etc

Chikatiloan
7th December 2014, 10:48 AM
Oho .... innum 2 monthsla ...... naan ippo ellaila irukken. Ellaila irukken appadinnu oru interview kuduppaaru. Padam miga nandraaga uruvaayitukku ........ viraivil release seyyum muyatchiyil eedupatturikkindrom ........ live sound sync oru sila kaatchigalil kaanakkoodum ...... etc etc etc

By feb either uthama villain or papanasam will release surely..i guess now its too late to release uthama villain even if its ready..by Christmas,new year so many movies are releasing and by pongal I,Yennai arinthaal releasing..so its difficult to get more theaters..
but why the hell they are waiting to release songs or trailers?

radiochandra1977
7th December 2014, 10:50 AM
Papanasam releasing first will be a shame. Afterall ..... remake movie. Big deal.

7th December 2014, 11:08 AM
Algeriavula ISIS mittai thaan kidaikkum - SFX kidaikkaadhu !

Adox
7th December 2014, 12:46 PM
Papanasam releasing first will be a shame. Afterall ..... remake movie. Big deal.

Actually looking forward to Papanaasam ... Been a while since Nammavar did a similar family-man role.

avavh3
8th December 2014, 10:42 AM
Yes…We’ve signed Kamal’s Uthama Villain and Sivakarthikeyan’s Rajini Murugan with Eros International. Kamal sir’s film is over and CG work is on currently. We hope to release it during Pongal or immediately after.
some light at the end of tunnel

http://www.thehindu.com/features/metroplus/anjaan-and-after/article6668145.ece?homepage=true&utm_source=MostPopular&utm_medium=Homepage&utm_campaign=WidgetPromo

8th December 2014, 05:16 PM
In a recent media interaction, Lingusamy of Thirrupathi brothers has revealed that both Utthama Villain and Rajini Murugan rights are sold Eros International. He also added that the audio of Utthama Villain will be launched in Malaysia or Singapore soon and the release will be for Pongal or soon after the festival.

Sources say that Kamal Haasan is currently in Los Angeles with reputed sound-designer Kunal Rajan for Utthama Villain and once the sound-design gets ready, the film will be ready for release.

8th December 2014, 05:20 PM
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/kannada/movies/news/Kamal-Haasans-Vishwaroopam-2-delayed-again/articleshow/45409588.cms

Director Shankar's big-budget project 'I', which has delayed the release of many Tamil movies this year, has now claimed another victim. Superstar Kamal Haasan's highly anticipated movie Vishwaroopam II will not hit the theatres till 'I' releases because (Aascar) Ravichandran, who has produced both the movies, has to reportedly sort out the finances. ​

Though Vishwaroopam II is ready for release, it is learnt that Ravichandran is not keen on releasing it before 'I'.

The cards are stacked clearly in favour of 'I', which has already created a sensation in the market after the film's promo was released. Originally scheduled for release in December, 'I' will now hit theatres only in January 2015, three weeks after superstar Rajinikanth's Lingaa releases worldwide. "The Shankar-directed flick has received a tremendous billing from the market. It will be released in multiple languages, including international market, like China and Europe. The promos of the movie are yet to commence. There will be a gap of at least two months for the release of Vishwaroopam 2. The plan is to recover the investment on both the projects safely as significant money has gone into the making of the two movies," a trade source told Mirror.

As per the original plan, Vishwaroopam 2 was supposed to release in July this year. However, the delay in the post-production work (on account of shooting of I) pushed the movie's release to the latter half of 2014. The resultant delay in the completion of 'I' further upset Vishwaroopam 2's release. Now, Kamal Haasan's other movie, Uttama Villain, which went on the floors after Vishwaroopam 2, will release first. Trade sources say this happens to every actor in any language film industry. "Kamal is unperturbed as he is aware of the commercials and economics of the film industry... He wants a proper release for his ambitious sequel for Vishwaroopam. He does not mind waiting for a proper release rather than risk an unplanned release," a source close to Kamal said. Ravichandran has high expectations from 'I' and he does not want to lose out any opportunity.

Both I and Vishwaroopam 2 have the potential to become money spinners for Aascar and the producer seems to have taken a wise decision.

8th December 2014, 05:29 PM
Yes…We’ve signed Kamal’s Uthama Villain and Sivakarthikeyan’s Rajini Murugan with Eros International. Kamal sir’s film is over and CG work is on currently. We hope to release it during Pongal or immediately after.
some light at the end of tunnel

http://www.thehindu.com/features/metroplus/anjaan-and-after/article6668145.ece?homepage=true&utm_source=MostPopular&utm_medium=Homepage&utm_campaign=WidgetPromo

Thanks Unmai...

8th December 2014, 05:36 PM
Johnson PRO one guy was the first to post in twitter that kamalhaasan is going to Algeria for CG and song recording...soon all the medias published the same news without checking the reliability of a source..May be for song recording he would have gone to Algeria which makes sense as we heard from ghibran that kamalhaasan has bought musical instruments from Bali, Indonesia,Malay,etc and Algeria musicals also almost similar to malay,indonesia..

But going to Algeria for CG doesn't make any sense..Also yesterday kamal went to Abu Dhabi to receive shifa Al Jazeera Excellency Award..

"Kamal is going to Abu Dhabi to receive the Al Jazeera excellence Award. After that he will be going to America for CG work" - This is the correct news.

This so called P.R. guy published fake news as " Kamal is going to Algeria for CG Work". Algeria-vukkum Al Jazeera-vukkum confuse aayiruppaan pola..

avavh3
8th December 2014, 06:53 PM

Russellisf
8th December 2014, 07:39 PM
http://i1170.photobucket.com/albums/r521/yukeshbb/b_zps5c9860c1.jpg (http://s1170.photobucket.com/user/yukeshbb/media/b_zps5c9860c1.jpg.html)

pushpak
8th December 2014, 08:19 PM
Enough of dependencies and reasoning !
Feeling bad that for a B grade star movie, Nammavar has to give way :(

kumarsr
8th December 2014, 08:44 PM
Enough of dependencies and reasoning !
Feeling bad that for a B grade star movie, Nammavar has to give way :(

I think it is because of bad planning more than anything else. At least in the future, they have to set a target release date at the start of the project. Anywhere there is graphics work, there are delays. We have seen that in Dasa, VR etc. If you have to add an extra 6 months to every project, it may not be worth it!

Chikatiloan
8th December 2014, 09:53 PM
"Kamal is going to Abu Dhabi to receive the Al Jazeera excellence Award. After that he will be going to America for CG work" - This is the correct news.

This so called P.R. guy published fake news as " Kamal is going to Algeria for CG Work". Algeria-vukkum Al Jazeera-vukkum confuse aayiruppaan pola..

ha ha!! :roll::roll::roll:

This once again shows how the current generation media is..They just want news for publicity/TRP and not ready to check the credibility..tamiloneindia,kollywood news,indiaglitz,behindwoods,timesindia,etc all were like that..Dinamani,hindu still maintaining good..

One thing for sure maximum by feb 14 uthama villain will be released which is very good news..

9th December 2014, 10:26 AM
I think it is because of bad planning more than anything else. At least in the future, they have to set a target release date at the start of the project. Anywhere there is graphics work, there are delays. We have seen that in Dasa, VR etc. If you have to add an extra 6 months to every project, it may not be worth it!

Exactly... I think this is followed in Bollywood...

radiochandra1977
9th December 2014, 11:16 AM
Uthama villian confirmed 24 Jan. Papanasam in Feb 2015. Directly told by Madam to me. Enjoy.

Chikatiloan
9th December 2014, 11:42 AM
Uthama villian confirmed 24 Jan. Papanasam in Feb 2015. Directly told by Madam to me. Enjoy.

24th or 23rd Jan? madam?

radiochandra1977
9th December 2014, 11:45 AM
Sorry 23rd Jan friday. Madam is janaki @ bhanu @ proffessor vasanthi @ sumitra.

Chikatiloan
9th December 2014, 11:59 AM
Thanks boss!
When is the audio launch and trailer release??

9th December 2014, 02:20 PM

Thanks Dr... This is a very good news..

avavh3
9th December 2014, 03:04 PM

should have planned to harvest the harvest festival holiday crowd. bye the way.. who is she sir?

10th December 2014, 10:01 AM
Anni endru anbudan alaikkappadum thirumathi Gouthami.

10th December 2014, 10:11 AM
Anni endru anbudan alaikkappadum thirumathi Gouthami.

Oh.. Doctor has the privilege of talking to Madam...

avavh3
10th December 2014, 11:25 AM
:notworthy: Dr RC!

why not on pongal?

10th December 2014, 02:12 PM
Doc... :thumbsup:

Bhanu -- Thevar Magan

Prof.Vasanthi --- Nammavar

Janaki -- AS ???

Sumithra - Kurudhippunal ??

10th December 2014, 02:14 PM
This still leaves the release date of VR 2 open ??? With two movies within a month,logic says VR 2 will release only for the Summer of 2015 subject to performance of I.

There will also be a lot of news which will start floating on the web that Aascar does not want to clash with Vijay 58,Mass etc etc etc :facepalm:

avavh3
10th December 2014, 02:32 PM
Doc... :thumbsup:

Bhanu -- Thevar Magan

Prof.Vasanthi --- Nammavar

Janaki -- AS ???

Sumithra - Kurudhippunal ??

epdi ipdillam yosikka mudiyudhu?!

10th December 2014, 04:44 PM
epdi ipdillam yosikka mudiyudhu?!

Oru theevira Kamal fan-aala mattum thaan idhu mudiyum sir..

Chikatiloan
15th December 2014, 03:54 AM
It seems Uthama Villain trailer is ready and will be out next week

15th December 2014, 10:24 AM
Kamal in front of LA Paramount Studios where UttamaVillain's Sound mixing is on. It will be completed in a week's time and the movie will be ready for release.
Trailer is ready. Lingu & Co waiting for KH to come back for releasing it..

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B4wARbJCQAEkPbI.jpg

avavh3
15th December 2014, 01:06 PM
Paramount pictures on the background, for a sec i thought sir has started his Hollywood project :-D

avavh3
17th December 2014, 01:08 PM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-cinema-news-14/images/kamal-haasans-uttama-villain-releases-on-photos-pictures-stills-1.jpg
Uttama Villain to go truly global in early 2015
Dec 17, 2014
After a Kamal-less 2014, the coming year promises to begin with a bang for all Ulaganayagan fans. According to sources close to the team, Uttama Villain team is planning a grand audio launch in early January. They are planning to have the launch across Singapore and Malaysia.

The film's shoot is all done and the post-production is going on now at a fast clip. Last week, the social media was flooded with a snap of Kamal Haasan in a Hollywood studio. The actor is still in Hollywood, and is working on the film's sound design. It's said that the visual effects portions are outsourced to two companies - one in Chennai and the other abroad. Also, Sony Music is touted to be the music label for Uttama Villain.

2015 might be 'the' year for Kamal Haasan with three back-to-back releases: Uttama Villain, Papanasam and Vishwaroopam 2.
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-cinema-news-14/kamal-haasans-uttama-villain-releases-on.html

Chikatiloan
18th December 2014, 09:47 PM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-cinema-news-14/images/kamal-haasans-uttama-villain-releases-on-photos-pictures-stills-1.jpg
Uttama Villain to go truly global in early 2015
Dec 17, 2014
After a Kamal-less 2014, the coming year promises to begin with a bang for all Ulaganayagan fans. According to sources close to the team, Uttama Villain team is planning a grand audio launch in early January. They are planning to have the launch across Singapore and Malaysia.

The film's shoot is all done and the post-production is going on now at a fast clip. Last week, the social media was flooded with a snap of Kamal Haasan in a Hollywood studio. The actor is still in Hollywood, and is working on the film's sound design. It's said that the visual effects portions are outsourced to two companies - one in Chennai and the other abroad. Also, Sony Music is touted to be the music label for Uttama Villain.

2015 might be 'the' year for Kamal Haasan with three back-to-back releases: Uttama Villain, Papanasam and Vishwaroopam 2.
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-cinema-news-14/kamal-haasans-uttama-villain-releases-on.html

I dont understand why kamal & co want to have audio launch in malaysia & singapore..Manmadhan ambu audio launch also happened in singapore and it didnt go well..
If they are planning grand audio launch as part of marketing then they can do in TN,AP with huge market..remember vishwaroopam audio launch in madurai/coimbatore/chennai is successfull..I feel audio launch at overseas wont create extra hype for the movie and its waste of money

19th December 2014, 04:50 AM
I dont understand why kamal & co want to have audio launch in malaysia & singapore..Manmadhan ambu audio launch also happened in singapore and it didnt go well..
If they are planning grand audio launch as part of marketing then they can do in TN,AP with huge market..remember vishwaroopam audio launch in madurai/coimbatore/chennai is successfull..I feel audio launch at overseas wont create extra hype for the movie and its waste of money

probably to appease to the country that banned Vishwaroopam release.

Chikatiloan
19th December 2014, 05:04 AM
probably to appease to the country that banned Vishwaroopam release.

Ipdi oru smart'aana reply'a ethir paakala

19th December 2014, 10:38 AM
Ipdi oru smart'aana reply'a ethir paakala

me too... Good one Nicks..

avavh3
22nd December 2014, 12:06 PM
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-cinema-news-14/ghibrans-happy-but-why.html
Music director Ghibran who made his mark felt with his very first film Vaagai Sooda Vaa is quite a happy man with three of Kamal’s projects in his kitty- Vishwaroopam 2, Uthama Villain and Papanasam.

But in addition to these, there is one more reason for the talented and soft spoken music composer to rejoice. His wife recently delivered a boy baby.

A very happy Ghibran says, “'This will be my biggest gift from God. The feeling of being a father is enthralling. The kid and the mother are fine. The double delight is I have recorded Symphony in Bulgaria and mixing in the famous Paramount studios LA recently for 'Uthama Villain', I am glad my music is well appreciated in Telugu too following the stupendous hit of the film 'Run Raja Run'.

Russellpei
24th December 2014, 08:42 PM
'உத்தம வில்லன்தான்' பாலச்சந்தர் நடித்த கடைசி படம்- ரமேஷ் அரவிந்த் உருக்கம்

கமலஹாசன் ஹீரோவாக நடிக்கும், உத்தமவில்லன் திரைப்படத்தில் பாலச்சந்தர் சிறு வேடத்தில் நடித்துள்ளதாகவும், தன்னை நடிகனாக்கிய பாலச்சந்தர் கடைசியாக நடித்த படத்தை தான் இயக்குவதில் பெருமிதம் அடைந்துள்ளதாகவும் கூறுகிறார் ரமேஷ் அரவிந்த்.

இதுகுறித்து ரமேஷ் அரவிந்த் கூறியுள்ளதாவது: கமல்ஹாசன் நடித்துள்ள 'உத்தமவில்லன்' திரைப்படத்தை நான் இயக்குகிறேன். அதில் என்னை திரையுலகத்திற்கு அறிமுகம் செய்த பாலச்சந்தரை சிறு வேடத்தில் நடிக்க அழைத்தேன். அவரும் ஆறு நாட்கள் பெங்களூருவில் தங்கி படத்தில் நடித்துக் கொடுத்தார். அவருக்கு அளித்த வசனங்களை எடிட் செய்து கூர்தீட்டினார். என்னை திரையுலகத்திற்கு அறிமுகம் செய்த பாலச்சந்தர் நடித்த கடைசி திரைப்படத்தை இயக்கினேன் என்கிற பெருமை எனக்கு கிடைத்துள்ளது. உத்தமவில்லன் திரைப்படத்தை பாலச்சந்தருக்கே அர்ப்பணிக்க உள்ளேன்.

சினிமாவில் ஏதேனும் ஒரு பிரிவில் திறமைசாலிகளாக இருக்கும் இயக்குநர்கள் உண்டு. ஆனால் வசனம், கேமரா கோணம் உள்ளிட்ட அனைத்து துறைகளிலுமே திறமையானவர் என்றால் அது பாலச்சந்தர்தான். அனைத்து மொழி இயக்குநர்களுமே தெரிந்தோ, தெரியாமலோ அவரால் உந்தப்பட்டவர்கள்தான். பாலச்சந்தர் ஷூட்டிங் ஸ்பாட்டுக்குள் வந்தாலே அங்கு பிற கலைஞர்களிடமும் சுறுசுறுப்பு தொற்றிக்கொள்ளும். அவரை பார்க்க வெள்ளை உடை உடுத்திய சிங்கம் போலவே இருக்கும். சுந்தர ஸ்வப்னகலு, மனதில் உறுதி வேண்டும், ருத்ரவீணா என முறையே, கன்னடம், தமிழ், தெலுங்கு ஆகிய மூன்று மொழிகளிலும் அடுத்தடுத்து என்னை அறிமுகம் செய்தவர் கே.பி.சார்தான். இவ்வாறு ரமேஷ் அரவிந்த் கூறியுள்ளார்.

Read more at: http://tamil.filmibeat.com/news/it-s-perhaps-destiny-that-made-me-direct-balachander-last-film-032447.html

avavh3
28th December 2014, 08:06 PM
http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/...?homepage=true

I, YA are releasing for pongal. UV expected to release in jan 26. it would be diff to get many theaters :banghead:

avavh3
29th December 2014, 11:50 AM
http://www.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/02259/FotorCreated_2259886f.jpg
http://www.thehindu.com/features/metroplus/2015-the-year-at-the-movies/article6730841.ece?homepage=true
Uttama Villain

Cast: Kamal Haasan, Pooja, K. Balachander

Director: Ramesh Arvind

2015 could well be the year of Kamal Haasan, with atleast three of his films (Uttama Villain, Papanasam, Vishwaroopam-2) slated for release. The first one is likely to be Uttama Villain, a comedy-drama that will feature the Ulaganayagan and a host of other actors. The late legendary filmmaker K. Balachander will appear on the big screen for the last time in this movie.

dell_gt
30th December 2014, 12:21 PM
"UTTAMAVILLAIN"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXK4dBcXcgY

pushpak
31st December 2014, 05:35 AM
http://www.indiaglitz.com/Will-Kamal-Throw-A-Surprise-For-The-New-Year-tamil-news-122086

31st December 2014, 07:31 AM
"UTTAMAVILLAIN"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXK4dBcXcgY

வரவர இதுபோன்ற மலிவான யுத்திகளில் கமலும் இறங்கிவிட்டார் என்பதைப் பார்க்கும்போது ஒன்னும் சொல்றதுக்கில்ல. உ.வி. படத்திற்காக கமல் அமெரிக்கப் பயணம் மேற்கொண்டிருக்கிறார் என இணையத்தில் பரவலாக செய்தி வந்திருக்கிறது. இப்போ கமலே மெனக்கெட்டு ஒரு வீடியோ மூலம் அதையே சொல்லி..எவ்வளவு தடவதான் அரைத்தமாவையே அரைப்பது? கூடிய சீக்கிரம் ட்ரைலர் வந்துடும்ங்கிறார். சார்.. படத்தை சீக்கிரம் வெளியிடுங்க சார்.. சரி.. ஒரு ட்ரைலர் வருவதைக் கூட, ஒரு குறிப்பிட்ட தேதியைச் சொல்லி, அன்று வெளியிடுகிறோம் என சொல்லமாட்டேங்கிறார். முப்பது செகண்ட்ஸ் வீடியோவுல அப்படி என்னதான் புதுசா சொல்லிட்டார் கமல்? இந்த ஜனவரி 25, 2015 வந்தால் விஸ்வரூபம் வெளிவந்து இரண்டு ஆண்டுகள் நிறைவடையப் போகிறது. ஷப்பா! இனி இந்த திரிக்கு மாசம் ஒருமுறை விசிட் பண்ணலாம்னு இருக்கேன். குறைந்தபட்சம் படம் வெளிவரும் வரை.

kumarsr
31st December 2014, 09:12 AM
Padatha release pannunga ....Pothum

31st December 2014, 09:50 AM
@venkkiram,

ithula enna malivu irukku ??

avare, avaroda fans - kooda direct connect pannanumnu nenaikkiraar.. vetti bandhaa illaathavar.. avvalavu thaan ..

Arvind Srinivasan
31st December 2014, 09:56 AM
I think they are waiting for the fall of the new year for the trailer release. Will not be surprising if they release it by tomorrow.

31st December 2014, 09:59 AM
oruthan sonna date-kku seekkiram correct-aa release pannaa, quality comprised-nu solla vendiyathu.. nalla PP panni, release panrathukku yaaraa irunthaalum time venum ..

kumarsr
3rd January 2015, 02:27 AM
Varuthu Varuthuthu Sonnanga. Vantha Nalla Irrukkum. Trailer --> Audio Release --> Movie Release. Don't know what's stopping them.

3rd January 2015, 07:16 AM
Friends be practical. It is an April release ..

Chikatiloan
3rd January 2015, 01:39 PM

Yes that's what I believe..and its good to release in April 14 because of summer holidays with world cup starting by feb and exams by march..
Ivalavu naal wait panniaachu 3 months wait panna enna..in between audio release function,trailer,new film announcement apdi ipdinu votta vendiyathu thaan..vera vazhi illai..adhukku apram treat thaan by june papanasam release and during poojai holidays in sep VR-2..

3rd January 2015, 05:59 PM

what ???????

Two years 2 months without a release(assuming it will come through in April) despite 3 lined up,what to tell about a situation like this.

On top of this,read somewhere here,when asked about the release date,says the producer should be asked.Sir,neengalum indha padathoda one of the producers,marandhuteengala ??? illa mothama Eros-kku vithacha ??

He suddenly seems to have lost hair,saw a photo with KB on his FB page-both in the front and back,bald spots.

Adox
3rd January 2015, 06:29 PM
He suddenly seems to have lost hair,saw a photo with KB on his FB page-both in the front and back,bald spots.

Well he's past 60 and losing a little here and there is still better than so many (actors included) who went total at around 45. Some of them like arvind swamy, anbumani ramdass etc. went for transplants to restore it back.

kumarsr
3rd January 2015, 10:12 PM
I had an inkling that it will be April....but too much delay, no doubt. They should officially announce it rightaway so they can get max. number of screens for a blockbuster weekend!

kumarsr
3rd January 2015, 10:14 PM
Actually, the Malaysia function may not be a bad idea to release the trailer....or Pongal along with showing it with "I".

Leaves a question mark on Papanasam and VR2. I am getting a doubt if VR2 will ever see the light of day. It will be a tragedy if it turns out that way.

3rd January 2015, 11:39 PM
For VR2 to come, "I" has to release and make the max in collections. Only then Aascar will then start promotions. Athu varaikum, am hoping UV is Feb release at least. April konjam thalli...:(

Chikatiloan
4th January 2015, 12:39 AM
For VR2 to come, "I" has to release and make the max in collections. Only then Aascar will then start promotions. Athu varaikum, am hoping UV is Feb release at least. April konjam thalli...:(

We can keep VR2 aside as of now..but what for they are waiting to release when trailer and songs are ready for UttamaVillain..

4th January 2015, 08:16 AM
VR 2 will the last among the three. Aascar Ravi is very optimistic about this project. It will be a big success for sure.

4th January 2015, 08:50 AM
VR 2 will the last among the three. Aascar Ravi is very optimistic about this project. It will be a big success for sure.

Considering UV release in April then followed by Pabanasam.. VR 2 would take another year.. 2016. Then it would be 3 years difference between VR1 and VR2. A first time experience for Kamal and his fans.

4th January 2015, 08:55 AM
Considering UV release in April then followed by Pabanasam.. VR 2 would take another year.. 2016. Then it would be 3 years difference between VR1 and VR2. A first time experience for Kamal and his fans.
no.. it will release by this year end .. why should aascar lock his investment for so long ??.

4th January 2015, 09:04 AM
no.. it will release by this year end .. why should aascar lock his investment for so long ??. Let us see. if VR2 comes before 2015 ends, then that would be a reall treat for the fans who waiting for long period. But I am still skeptical about VR2 release.

kumarsr
4th January 2015, 07:14 PM

Yes, multiple hurdles to cross. Already a rumor that I may not make it for Pongal.

KH should start another new movie and let the issues with the 3 current movies sort themselves out. Anyway, it will take him a year to get the new movie completed. He should start now!

If UV is April, Papanasam can be released in Feb.

kumarsr
5th January 2015, 07:37 PM
With audio planned to release this month as per Sony, it is possible that movie might release in February and not April. Let us see.

avavh3
5th January 2015, 07:57 PM
where did april come into pic? it is feb for sure.

Chikatiloan
5th January 2015, 08:13 PM
Finally trailer and audio release going to happen asap

Sony Music South ‏@SonyMusicSouth · 5h5 hours ago
Audio of Kamal Haasan's #UttamaVillian in Ghibran's music, coming soon! pic.twitter.com/BHo2Z4WVPn

Thirrupathi Brothers ‏@ThirrupathiBros · 7h7 hours ago
RT..If you are awaiting for @Uttama_Villain trailer ✌️�� pic.twitter.com/Lr35iIm6bA

View photo 0 replies 198 retweets 163 favorites

radiochandra1977
5th January 2015, 08:14 PM
Miga miga viravivil ...... coming soon ...... what nonsense ? If its actually that close ..... kindly someone tell me wheres the date ? F....ck

Chikatiloan
5th January 2015, 08:27 PM
Miga miga viravivil ...... coming soon ...... what nonsense ? If its actually that close ..... kindly someone tell me wheres the date ? F....ck

Correct trailer,audio release ku rhomba overa panra maadhri theriyuthu..testing the patience of fans too much

pushpak
5th January 2015, 09:31 PM
Correct trailer,audio release ku rhomba overa panra maadhri theriyuthu..testing the patience of fans too much

May be theaters/distributors are not interested. Otherwise what benefit prducer / Nammavar get by making us wait indefinitely :-(
Excuses like "I" or other star release etc are humiliations.

kumarsr
5th January 2015, 10:43 PM
May be theaters/distributors are not interested. Otherwise what benefit prducer / Nammavar get by making us wait indefinitely :-(
Excuses like "I" or other star release etc are humiliations.

No, I don't think so. There have been huge delays even with Dasa. I think they underestimated the graphics work in UV which ends up taking a long time. The main thing that impacts these days is to get a suitable date for a solo release because no matter what, the initial weekend determines the box office fate for any movie especially in tamil. So the more theatres the better. There is no point releasing with I because it will impact both movies. But I wish they had planned this correctly right from the start and not delay this indefinitely leading to frustration.

radiochandra1977
5th January 2015, 10:46 PM
What u day holds good for movie release. But what about the trailer ? Appuram anna ma.....kku miga miga viraivilnu video pottu irritate pannanum ? Naamellaam muttaakk .....ngannu mudive pannittaaraa ?

Chikatiloan
6th January 2015, 12:29 AM
No, I don't think so. There have been huge delays even with Dasa. I think they underestimated the graphics work in UV which ends up taking a long time. The main thing that impacts these days is to get a suitable date for a solo release because no matter what, the initial weekend determines the box office fate for any movie especially in tamil. So the more theatres the better. There is no point releasing with I because it will impact both movies. But I wish they had planned this correctly right from the start and not delay this indefinitely leading to frustration.

i accept the point getting the dates for solo release causing the delay in movie release...
But what causing them to release the trailer and audio when its ready..as stated by radio chandra what is this "Miga miga viraivil" and now coming soon by thirupathi bros..its totally crap..announce the dates for trailer and audio function instead of saying coming soon..
Always i feel kamal movies has problem with promotion which goes like sinusoidal wave and not linear growing steadily..created hype with theyyam make-up teaser when movie shoot begins and no news after that..by august they released 1 min teaser as if movie is going to get released by diwali but nothing happened till date after august..

6th January 2015, 04:09 AM
i accept the point getting the dates for solo release causing the delay in movie release...
But what causing them to release the trailer and audio when its ready..as stated by radio chandra what is this "Miga miga viraivil" and now coming soon by thirupathi bros..its totally crap..announce the dates for trailer and audio function instead of saying coming soon..
Always i feel kamal movies has problem with promotion which goes like sinusoidal wave and not linear growing steadily..created hype with theyyam make-up teaser when movie shoot begins and no news after that..by august they released 1 min teaser as if movie is going to get released by diwali but nothing happened till date after august..

Kamal needs to get a better PRO besides businessmen. Nikkil Murugan ennada panran. :mad:

As for PP taking its time, would you rather see a shoddy product released just for sentiments? Let this I pass through our system. Then next will be UV. Best is releasing trailer for Pongal (or with YA). And UV issues maybe with Lingu more. Not sure how much he burnt with Anjaan, but at least unlike Pyramid Samira, UV was not dropped after pre-production like MY was.

pushpak
6th January 2015, 05:07 AM

1. After 50+ years of experience, such a big underestimate? IMPOSSIBLE. Additional 3-4 weeks more than estimated can be understood. Not an indefinite time.
2. It should have been "I" or other movies which should have got 2nd priority if solo release is required. Kamal or Rajini movie always got the preference over other hyped movies. (talking from historical point of view)

kumarsr
6th January 2015, 06:30 AM
Frankly, things are looking up over the last 2 days...Don't think Audio + Trailer will be delayed beyond Pongal. If that happens. movie should come out in Feb. Let's wait and see...that's what we have been doing all this time :)

6th January 2015, 08:49 AM
Sony Music just tweeted this. So this "miga miga viravil" is no joke
https://twitter.com/SonyMusicSouth/status/552039966608338944

Audio of Kamal Haasan's #UttamaVillian in Ghibran's music, coming soon!

radiochandra1977
6th January 2015, 08:51 AM
Shabaa ..... that tweet is now more than a day old. Optimism kku ellayey illayaa ?

pushpak
6th January 2015, 09:06 AM
Sony Music just tweeted this. So this "miga miga viravil" is no joke
https://twitter.com/SonyMusicSouth/status/552039966608338944

Audio of Kamal Haasan's #UttamaVillian in Ghibran's music, coming soon!

During Guna release time, we had printed notice which said "Athiveera Pandyan - Coming Soon"

6th January 2015, 09:45 AM
During Guna release time, we had printed notice which said "Athiveera Pandyan - Coming Soon"

:lol: Good that the movie was stopped with the pooja..

6th January 2015, 09:51 AM
Heard yesterday from friends in chennai that audio release function is being planned to happen anytime after Pongal, Organizers are looking for suitable date, most probably a Saturday in Nehru Indoor Stadium..

6th January 2015, 09:54 AM
no.. it will release by this year end .. why should aascar lock his investment for so long ??.

releasing 2015 end itself is long.

Chikatiloan
6th January 2015, 09:59 AM
Heard yesterday from friends in chennai that audio release function is being planned to happen anytime after Pongal, Organizers are looking for suitable date, most probably a Saturday in Nehru Indoor Stadium..

Ohh yunnum mudivae pannalaiyaa..adhukkulla coming soonu sony south scena podraanga..date mudivu pannittu pesungappa..

radiochandra1977
6th January 2015, 10:12 AM
On the road opposite Ananda theater.. Pondicherry .... April 14th 1992 ...... Singaravelan release day ....... a 9th standard school boy was in a group writing 3 names of future films on the tar road with Color chalkpieces ........ Athiveerapandiyan .... Nammavar .... Ponniyin Selvan. 1 and 3 never were made. And 2 was just a working title for Thever magan which got changed eventually. Then 9th standard boy later completed Mbbs, MD, MBA and MHA ...... but is still experiencing the pain of unreleased projects from the man he loves to hate.

6th January 2015, 10:38 AM
On the road opposite Ananda theater.. Pondicherry .... April 14th 1992 ...... Singaravelan release day ....... a 9th standard school boy was in a group writing 3 names of future films on the tar road with Color chalkpieces ........ Athiveerapandiyan .... Nammavar .... Ponniyin Selvan. 1 and 3 never were made. And 2 was just a working title for Thever magan which got changed eventually. Then 9th standard boy later completed Mbbs, MD, MBA and MHA ...... but is still experiencing the pain of unreleased projects from the man he loves to hate.

Romba naal uravu-nu sollunga... Post Thevar magan, most of his projects are taking longer time than usual. But this is the first time that 3 of his projects completed shooting stage and waiting for release.. Hope that 2015 would see all his films released one after other and make you happy...

Russellbba
6th January 2015, 08:04 PM

Nammavar's character name in Soora Samharam is ACP Athiveera Pandyan. Indha movie-kum adhukum any link? Or is it the initial title for Kurudhippunal.. I remember "Drohi" was a working title for Kurudhippunal.. Pushpak, please clarify :)

radiochandra1977
6th January 2015, 08:35 PM
No link with soora samharam. Athiveera rama pandiyan and then shortenned to athiveerapandiyan was announced in 1991 with Gangai Amaran as director and Aishwarya .... Lakshmi daughter as heroine. Pure masala script. Sametime ..... sangili Murugan offered thalaivar script of Kovil kaalai. Which captain did later with kanaka. After singaravelan not succeeding ...... kamal wanted to move away from masala and went on with thevar magan.

Russellbba
7th January 2015, 04:40 AM
No link with soora samharam. Athiveera rama pandiyan and then shortenned to athiveerapandiyan was announced in 1991 with Gangai Amaran as director and Aishwarya .... Lakshmi daughter as heroine. Pure masala script. Sametime ..... sangili Murugan offered thalaivar script of Kovil kaalai. Which captain did later with kanaka. After singaravelan not succeeding ...... kamal wanted to move away from masala and went on with thevar magan.

Thanks for the info Doctor sir.

Russellbba
7th January 2015, 04:47 AM
Not sure if this is posted earlier.. please watch from 3:30
'Crazy' Mohan says, he watched the movie. Movie is fantastic, this will be the best tribute to KB-sir

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jJ4LDeF_qM

pushpak
7th January 2015, 05:29 AM

Wow. You are great. (I mean it - not sarcasm)

pushpak
7th January 2015, 05:32 AM

Gangai Amaran even made an allegation that Athiveerapandyan thread was developed to Tevar makan. I think 'Bommai' weekly had some article on this. Kamal as usual maintained a dignified silence.
Are they in talking terms now?

avavh3
7th January 2015, 10:06 AM
singaravelan not succeeding..? that was a hit movie although not a BB

radiochandra1977
7th January 2015, 10:07 AM
No. It was an average grosser. Ilayaraja infact said sorry to KH for making that movie.

7th January 2015, 10:31 AM
Working title of Kurudhipunal was Raththapulli mutrum,no?

pushpak
7th January 2015, 12:06 PM
Working title of Kurudhipunal was Raththapulli mutrum,no?

Wasn't it "Drohi"?

avavh3
7th January 2015, 01:04 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singaravelan#Reception
Reception
Termed as a perfect summer entertainer, Singaravelan was a Super-duper hit at the box office. It was the first movie of any kind to be released in more than two theatres in a single complex in Chennai.

cant say about the 'duper' but seems a hit. dont know..HH endirundalum medaikku varavum

radiochandra1977
7th January 2015, 01:11 PM
Wikipedia quote ..... cant believe a KH fan do that. U know we can change it to flop within minutes.

radiochandra1977
7th January 2015, 01:12 PM
Padam release aanapothu vaazhnthu aarainthavan solluren .... singaravelan was an average grosser.

7th January 2015, 01:49 PM
Padam release aanapothu vaazhnthu aarainthavan solluren .... singaravelan was an average grosser.

In cities, yes an average grosser. Was panned by critics and A center audience. So after a good opening, it fell. For the first 1 week I couldn't get a ticket in Udhayam and watched it in the 2nd week. WOM was negative(before release it was hyped as another Sagala Kala Vallavan) & from 3rd week tickets were easily available.
But it had a much better run in B & C centers. My relatives in Kumbakonam said it was a super hit there. Also re-released many times.

7th January 2015, 01:52 PM
Wasn't it "Drohi"?

Yeah later changed to Drohi but since Kamal fans objected he renamed it as KP.
In Telugu it was Drohi. Though Tamil version was also a hit, the Telugu version did much better in BO.

7th January 2015, 02:23 PM

indha kaalatthu paya pullaiga ellaam wikipediava thaan numburaainga...

Yes, Singaravelan was an average grosser. Holiday season in April was very helpful.

avavh3
7th January 2015, 03:20 PM
yeskissme..i referred to wiki and said "I dont know" too. i know wiki can be manipulated. but at that time heard it was hit as mentioned by HH. and as hardcore fan, i hated that movie and count it among the few worst movie of KH. watched only once. songs were fantabulous and story was rusty. thalaiver looked very young.

as as far as drohi, remember nammavar fans objected to that title stating they cant wear a tee shirt with drohi written across it :-D

radiochandra1977
7th January 2015, 03:35 PM
Fans tee shirt poda mudiyaathathukkellaam padam pera KH maatha maattaaru. Thats for sure. Must have been something else

7th January 2015, 04:27 PM
yeskissme..i referred to wiki and said "I dont know" too. i know wiki can be manipulated. but at that time heard it was hit as mentioned by HH. and as hardcore fan, i hated that movie and count it among the few worst movie of KH. watched only once. songs were fantabulous and story was rusty. thalaiver looked very young.

as as far as drohi, remember nammavar fans objected to that title stating they cant wear a tee shirt with drohi written across it :-D

Unmai: my comments abt wiki was generic and not aimed to you..

7th January 2015, 04:54 PM
Rumours are saying that Trailer of Uttama Villain is ready, we may get to see the same in 2 or 3 days... waiting for official announcement

avavh3
7th January 2015, 05:21 PM
i know CR sir

Russellbba
7th January 2015, 06:06 PM
Kurudhippunal was adapted from Govind Nihalani's Drohkaal, and this might be the reason behind the earlier title 'Drohi'. At times when hero's name would be chosen as the title in tamil films, 'Kurudhippunal' came as a surprise, it was like sanga-thamizh title, roughly meaning 'ratha-aaru'. (consider the blood-shed depicted in the movie)

KH even had the opening scene where the school-bus explodes and falls off into a gorge, camera freezing towards the red river moving on to a blood circle.. 'Kurudhippunal' !! what a legend

pushpak
7th January 2015, 07:05 PM
KV Udayakumar after Singaravelan : "It mignot have become my biggest commercial hit ever; but this is the movie for which I got maximum appreciation letters from people, especially from rural areas."

radiochandra1977
7th January 2015, 10:51 PM
Rumours are saying that Trailer of Uttama Villain is ready, we may get to see the same in 2 or 3 days... waiting for official announcement
Trailer ready is official news. But the second part os just crap. Why do u get disappointed unnecessarily ?

Chikatiloan
8th January 2015, 04:19 AM
Trailer ready is official news. But the second part os just crap. Why do u get disappointed unnecessarily ?

Another comedy,,this tweet posted just few hrs before by the makers..this time its "trailer soon" instead of "trailer coming soon"..nammala paatha epdi theriyuthu..

Thirrupathi Brothers‏@ThirrupathiBros
#Uttama Villain #Kamal Hassan FC... Trailer Soon !!!! @Uttama_Villain @dirlingusamy

avavh3
8th January 2015, 11:03 AM
I is releasing on 14th. they should release it after 15 days. world cup starts in mid of feb which may affect BO to some extent.

3 thalaivar padam ore month la release aagirukku.. but 3 thalaivar padam pottikulla thoongardhu first time :fatigue:

kumarsr
8th January 2015, 10:25 PM
I is releasing on 14th. they should release it after 15 days. world cup starts in mid of feb which may affect BO to some extent.

3 thalaivar padam ore month la release aagirukku.. but 3 thalaivar padam pottikulla thoongardhu first time :fatigue:

Not so fast...New issues for "I"

9th January 2015, 10:50 AM
Not so fast...New issues for "I"

That's sorted out...

Chikatiloan
9th January 2015, 08:00 PM
Came to know from reliable sources that 2 trailers were ready for Uttama Villain and one of the trailer will be released by pongal..2nd trailer around release time which is speculated to be feb 20..audio release after pongal

kumarsr
9th January 2015, 08:22 PM
It may be better to release Papanasam in Feb and Uthama Villain on April New Year's day. everyone says UV has come out well and can be a blockbuster if a big holiday weekend is chosen without clashing with World cup etc.

Chikatiloan
9th January 2015, 08:38 PM
It may be better to release Papanasam in Feb and Uthama Villain on April New Year's day. everyone says UV has come out well and can be a blockbuster if a big holiday weekend is chosen without clashing with World cup etc.

Even I felt the same but papanasam is family entertainer and it has the potential to become huge hit if its released during summer holidays by april 14..No need to promote papanasam vigorously for huge 1st week collections since its family entertainer and people will come to theaters even after 10 days of release..
Whereas I feel Uttamavillain will not come under that category and promotion needs to be done hugely for 1st week collections..if you depend on 1st week collections then you can release the movie anytime,only thing is UV has to be classic like anbe sivam or normal entertainer/mass entertainer..if it falls under these 2 category then movie will be hit..anbe sivam didn't go well becoz of lack of promotions/publicity,lack of many social sites to promote after movie release and distributed by kamalhaasan..if UV is similar to anbe sivam in terms of classic then it will be super hit if not BB with good promotions,many social sites to promote and lingusamy distributing..

avavh3
10th January 2015, 01:17 PM
USV..what kind a logic is that?

it is the nature of the movie to work out in theater, huge promotions/publicity or not. best example is alavandhan. the same principle applies to movies like guna, hey ram and anbe sivam. hardcore fans will see them and enjoy the sheer brilliance, but general and family audience will not come to theater. so I disagree with ur logic. if a movie is not gripping and feel-good, it wouldnt work-out.

if papanasam is made as good and realistic as the original, it may not be liked in TN because there is sea of diff between our tastes. (just compare manichitra thaazh and chandramuki)

UV on the other hand, looking at the meager info, looks like an out-and-out masala movie with good story. it should work any time it is released.

10th January 2015, 03:54 PM
papanasam is not going to be as subtle as drishyam was ... its going to be a bit emotional ..

Saai
10th January 2015, 06:13 PM
papanasam is not going to be as subtle as drishyam was ... its going to be a bit emotional ..
Why or how do you say so?

radiochandra1977
10th January 2015, 06:17 PM
Director himself told that papanasam will not be subtle and the hero will be an emotional character

Saai
10th January 2015, 06:23 PM
Director himself told that papanasam will not be subtle and the hero will be an emotional character

Aha! Should had been the decission or input of thalaivar... I dont understand why!

Whenever he acts in direct hindi movies, he used to play littleover the top, compared to subtler tamil versions. His performance in avvai shanmugi is very subtle than chachi 420 and performence in saagar is little overplayed compared to his performances during that time in south....ek tu je keliye too...adhukke avinga vaya polandhu aahaa ohondrainga...

Mr.GreyShirt
10th January 2015, 07:48 PM
"UTTAMA VILLAIN" official trailer release on 14th January...!! - Kamal Haasan Facebook

kumarsr
10th January 2015, 09:24 PM
Periya manasu panni Trailerukku Naal select pannirukkanga!! Hopefully they will follow through.

Chikatiloan
11th January 2015, 12:33 AM
USV..what kind a logic is that?

it is the nature of the movie to work out in theater, huge promotions/publicity or not. best example is alavandhan. the same principle applies to movies like guna, hey ram and anbe sivam. hardcore fans will see them and enjoy the sheer brilliance, but general and family audience will not come to theater. so I disagree with ur logic. if a movie is not gripping and feel-good, it wouldnt work-out.

if papanasam is made as good and realistic as the original, it may not be liked in TN because there is sea of diff between our tastes. (just compare manichitra thaazh and chandramuki)

UV on the other hand, looking at the meager info, looks like an out-and-out masala movie with good story. it should work any time it is released.

I watched driishyam Malayalam movie and based on the nature of the movie papanasam will be liked by family ppl..
Those days guna,anbe sivam were not hits because when guna released another commercial movie thalapathy released,during anbe sivam masala movie dhool & few released..also WOM doesn't spread fast..now if anbe sivam is released it will be hit by releasing in more theaters as solo release and good WOM in social sites will help further..nowadays repeated audience and general audience also like classic movies if its made well like anbe sivam..lady audience also love classic movies if its made well..and people hate outdated sentiment movies and thrash them..
Heyram is totally different and it will be flop even if its released now because the movie is slow paced and with more languages spoken..

Anbe sivam released 10 yrs back and lot changed in these 10 years -audience taste,marketing,solo release with maximum number of theaters,first 1 week collection,multiplex culture,foreign market extension..so if UV is similar to anbe sivam in terms of classic it will be superhit and not average/flop..
For me UV is not masala film and I guess its the movie that speaks about truth/god..

radiochandra1977
11th January 2015, 12:37 AM
I sort of agree with USV above post. Only difference ...... UV is going to be like apoorva sago in kamal career rather than the other AS ..... Anbe Sivam. UV is a classic masala combo only KH possible ....... its gonna be one of the boggest hits in TFI.

Chikatiloan
11th January 2015, 12:42 AM
Periya manasu panni Trailerukku Naal select pannirukkanga!! Hopefully they will follow through.

But aen thevai illaama ivalavu scena potaanganu thaan theriyala..onnum pesaama irunthurukalaam illai pongal trailer releasenu firstae sollirukalaam..
adha vittutu "miga miga viraivil by dec 30","coming soon by thirupathi bros twice" sonnathu rhombha over..
They should not take their fans for granted and must show a degree of respect..Dont alienate them

Adox
11th January 2015, 05:21 AM
Kamal's Uttama Villain also for Pongal?

When there were almost 5 films battling for a Pongal release, very few have managed to squeeze through and get some screens amidst the I transformation. The 14th of January, the auspicious harvest day will also have Kamal chipping in with his.

The recent update from a trustworthy source is, Kamal's Uttama VIllain will have it's trailer released by the 14th of January. With just a teaser and a few photos, fans of Kamal always felt less satisfied. But this news is a definite boost to the entire industry and the film buffs.

Written by Kamal and directed by his long time associate Ramesh Aravind, Uttama Villain also has a cameo by the late KB sir. Will Viswaroopam 2, Uttama Villain and Papanasam also make it to the theatres before the end of this year? Can't wait !

http://behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-cinema-news-15/uttama-villain-trailer-on-14th.html