View Full Version : MAESTRO ILAIYARAAJA NEWS & TITBITS VER.2010-2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]

Srimannarayanan
29th December 2011, 02:02 AM
Superb Concert. I was lucky to see this concert.

Time ponathey therila. I didnt expect SPB and Jesudoss Superb Songs selection.

It was a great surprise to see Bala Murali Krishna.Still BMK has very good voice . I

IR is at his best. His timing was superb.

Kamal speech in the screen was very good and his timing was very good.

kameshratnam
29th December 2011, 08:17 AM
‎1. janani janani
2. Naanaaga naanillai - spb
3. Amma enrazhaikkaadha - kjy
4. idhayam pogudhey - IR
5. Paruvame - chithra
6. idhayam oru kovil - IR
7. nee paartha paarvai - hariharan
8. en iniya pon nilave - kjy
9. kanmaniye kadhal
10. aayiram malargale
11. putham puthu kaalai - chithra
12. chinna kannan azhaikkiran - bmk
13. vizhiyile malarndhathu - spb
14. poove sem poove - kjy
15. oru jeevan - IR, KSC
16. yetho mogam
17. madai thiranthu - spb
18. oru raagam paadalodu - kjy
19. sundari neeyum
20. naan thedum sevvanthi - IR, KSC
21. gum sum gum - bavatharini
22. aayiram thaamarai - spb
23. poongathave - deepan, uma
24. sundari kannal
25. ilangaathu veesuthey - sriram partha
26. en mana vaanil - hariharan
27. raja kaiya vecha - yuvan
28. ninaivo oru paravai - yuvan
29. vacha parva theerathadi - kjy
30. kaattu kuyilu - spb, kjy

buggle
29th December 2011, 08:20 AM
Any tit-bits shared by spb,kjy...etc?

KV
29th December 2011, 09:25 AM
Janma sabalyam :bow: :bow:

29th December 2011, 09:56 AM
En mana vaanil hariharan :banghead: - idhellaam oru concert? I boycott Jaya tv programme also. Subhashree ozhiga.

29th December 2011, 10:17 AM
Plum! Why this KolaveRi on Kaasi - Hariharan songs? ஒங்களோட எண்ணங்களால் மட்டுமே இந்த உலகமே இயங்கணும்னு நெனைக்கிறிங்க! காசிப் படப் பாடல்கள் எல்லாமே இலக்கணப் பூர்வமா ஆராயாமல் உணர்வுப் பூர்வமாக அணுகனும்! அப்படித்தான் அந்தப் பாடல்கள் ஏனைய வெகுஜன மக்களை ஊடுருவிச் சென்றது!

wizzy
29th December 2011, 10:27 AM
was hoping Swamigal would slap him for his screwups in nee paartha paarvai..
@KV reached home?

raja_fan
29th December 2011, 10:40 AM
Plum! Why this KolaveRi on Kaasi - Hariharan songs? ஒங்களோட எண்ணங்களால் மட்டுமே இந்த உலகமே இயங்கணும்னு நெனைக்கிறிங்க! காசிப் படப் பாடல்கள் எல்லாமே இலக்கணப் பூர்வமா ஆராயாமல் உணர்வுப் பூர்வமாக அணுகனும்! அப்படித்தான் அந்தப் பாடல்கள் ஏனைய வெகுஜன மக்களை ஊடுருவிச் சென்றது!

Venki,

I agree with plum. What song selection is this ?
Varusha kanakkaa kaathirundhu indha maathiri paattaa ? Thaanga mudiyalai :(
Why they did not remember "Meettaadha oru..." or "Poongaatre konjam..." etc for Hariharan ?

vanavil
29th December 2011, 10:48 AM
Did anyone spot KR? Surprised by him keeping a low profile. Did he come on stage?

Srimannarayanan
29th December 2011, 11:23 AM

Why Subashree Oliga?

Srimannarayanan
29th December 2011, 11:24 AM
Meetadha oru veenai is perfect choice.

kameshratnam
29th December 2011, 11:38 AM
I leave the detailed review of the show to all greats in mayyam/tfm page. Mine is just a brief description

The compere of the show was Prakash Raj

The programme started with a composition of 3 songs from the music troupe from Hungary. It was ok but no so great. After they finished, IR came on stage and he sat and sang janani

Raaja sir played the piano for nee partha parvai ku nandri

Prakashraj asked him what is symphony and raaja sir sang the Ithayamae poguthey song with the orchestra. This song was inspired by Shuberts(spelling may be wrong) symphony score.

K J Yesudas- I guess age is picking on him. Amma enru azhaikatha - he missed verses... Ammavai vangathu ...that line was sung in a different tune by him

His sooper SODAPAL was when he took off on the 2nd charnam in the poove sempoove song even before the interlude was over. IR stopped him and corrected it and K J Yesudas sang it wrong again...finally after the whole he repeated the 2nd charanam and got it correct

Yesudas sir, rehearsals are a must.

SPB : True master class in all songs

Balamurali KRishna: Chinna Kannan - What a rendering - voice still intact....

Chithra; I can understand her mood after she lost her only child...very very low profile and she sang well.

Hariharan: I AM BANGING MY HEAD ON THE WALL.......Hell with him...he cannot sing properly on stage concert..first he missed the beat in the nee partha parvaiku oru nandri song...

Surmukhi sang very well and it was a good platform for them

29th December 2011, 11:50 AM
kameshrathnam, thanks, really envy you guys :smile:. And I expected all the above comment,especially KJY and Hariharan.

skr
29th December 2011, 11:59 AM
Had an awesome time yesterday at the concert.
Had amazing fun.
Kamesh has already briefed some of the happenings
Here is the compete song list
1) Janani Janani - Thaai Mookambikai
2) Amma Endrazhithaal - Mannan
3) Naanaga Naanillai - Thoongathe Thambi Thoongathe
4) Idhayam Pogudhey - Pudhiya Vaarpugal (heart sliced into two)
5) Paruvame - Nenjathai Killathe (Bliss)
6) Idhayam Oru Kovil - Idhaya Kovil
7) Nee Paartha Paarvai - Hey Ram
8) En Iniya Pon Nilave - Moodupani
9) Kanmaniye Kadhal - Aarilirundhu Aruvadhuvarai
10) Aayiram Malargale - Niram Maaratha Pookal
11) Putham Pudhu Kaalai - Alaigal Oyvathillai
12) Chinna Kannan Azhaikiraan - Kavikkuyil (from the King himself BMK)
13) Vizhiyile Malarndhadhu - Bhuvana Oru Kelvikuri
14) Poove Sempoove - Solla Thudikkidhu Manasu
15) Oru Jeevan Azhaithathu - Geethanjali
16) Edho Mogam - Kozhi Koovudhu
17) Madai Thirandhu - Nizhalgal (Balu express)
18) Oru Raagam Paadalodu - Anandha Ragam
19) Sundari Neeyum - Michael Madhana Kamarajan
20) Naan Thedum Sevvanthi - Dharma Pathini
21) Gum Sum Gum - Paa
22) Aayiram Thamarai - Alaigal Oyvathillai
23) Poongathave - Nizhalgal
24) Sundari Kannal - Thalapathy
25) Ilangaathu Veesudhey - Pithamagan
26) En Mana Vaanil - Kaasi
27) Raja Kaiya Vacha - Aboorva Sagotharargal
28) Ninaivo Oru Paravai - Sigappu Rojakkal
29) Idhu Oru Nila Kaalam - Tik Tik Tik
30) Vacha Paarvai Theerathadi - Ilamai Kolam
31) Kaattukuyil - Thalapathy (a feast by SPB and KJY)
32) Kannan Oru - Bhadrakali
33) Ilamai Idho Idho - Sakalakala Vallavan (last song to end the event)

Other Extras:
i) Azhagarsamiyin Kuthirai Theme music
ii) Balki explaining Raaja's BGM composing and playing a scene from Paa
iii) Raaja performing a 2 note song with just Sa and Ri
iv) A medley comprising of Keladi Kanmani (Pudhu Pudhu Arthangal) , Poongatru Pudhidhanadhu (Moonram Pirai) , Yaar Thoorigai (Paaru Paaru Pattanam Paaru)

I feel the highlight was Idhayam Pogudhe orchestra , absolutely stupendous , spellbinding and out of this world .

29th December 2011, 12:49 PM
3) Naanaga Naanillai - Thoongathe Thambi Thoongathe
7) Nee Paartha Paarvai - Hey Ram
19) Sundari Neeyum - Michael Madhana Kamarajan
27) Raja Kaiya Vacha - Aboorva Sagotharargal
28) Ninaivo Oru Paravai - Sigappu Rojakkal
29) Idhu Oru Nila Kaalam - Tik Tik Tik
33) Ilamai Idho Idho - Sakalakala Vallavan (last song to end the event)
iv) A medley comprising of Keladi Kanmani (Pudhu Pudhu Arthangal) , Poongatru Pudhidhanadhu (Moonram Pirai) , Yaar Thoorigai (Paaru Paaru Pattanam Paaru)

Totally 8 pieces from Kamal films & a spl speech from kamal himself! :clap:

இசையும் தமிழும்போல் இணைந்தாலே இனிக்கும்
இளையராஜா கமல்ஹாசன் நட்பு

San_K
29th December 2011, 12:51 PM
Oh I was there for first 20 songs and rest and whole i will see on TV :( :)

29th December 2011, 12:57 PM
27. raja kaiya vecha - yuvan
28. ninaivo oru paravai - yuvan
Enna kodumai swamigale idhu!!!

wizzy
29th December 2011, 01:19 PM
to top it u1 did a lame mimic of Hassar :banghead:

29th December 2011, 01:26 PM
Sontha pAttE pAda koodathunu i yam opinion, ithu verayA....

Plum: Tennaiya petthA ilaneeru, pillaya petthA kanneeru....

San_K
29th December 2011, 02:26 PM

Vkrish
29th December 2011, 02:50 PM
Fabulous performance !! His orchestra - with Puru, Sada, Balesh, Revathi, Nepolean & others - was 100% perfect !! I believe no troupe in India will have such a mix of experienced professionals. Jesudas was thoroughly enjoying when he sang the song..Poove Semboove..we are lucky to hear the second interlude thrice :)
Poongathave...Uma ramanan was at her best, as usual. ehto mogum...orchestra was stunning..and the female singer voice was very apt to match janaki's.
I think participation of Jency & the rendering of Kadhal Oviyam..could have been a great treat !!
The short BGM of ASK was mindblowing...
A well organized and greatest indian musical show, i have ever seen :) but they could have started on time !!

skr
29th December 2011, 03:46 PM
Hi , actually it was believed that Kamal Hassan was part of the event and 3 songs were assigned for him to sing
viz Ninaivo Oru Paravai , Raja Kaiya Vacha and Sundari Neeyum.
But , seems he backed out coz of Vishwa Roopam shoot .
So Yuvan and Haricharan had to sing the songs assigned to him.
Was looking fwd to Kamal sing , that was one sad part in an otherwise very entertaining show .

29th December 2011, 04:24 PM
Yes yes kiravuch. AnA peddha puLLaiyAndAn Karthikeyan chamarthu enbadhai kooRi koLgiREn :noteeth:

29th December 2011, 04:27 PM
Venkki, Karikaran kills songs on stage. Plus,Kasi isn't much to write home about to begin with. Yesterday, Karikaran sang Viswanathan Velai Venum on Asianet. MSV aavi ivarai mannikkavE mannikkAdhu.

29th December 2011, 04:34 PM
@ attendeed - Better than the 2005 concert?
Rajasaranam enga aalaye kaanom?

Sound quality, balance ellaam eppadi irundhuchu? Bass, percussion ellam thenpattucha?

rajaramsgi
29th December 2011, 06:38 PM
விமர்சனம் கொடுத்த நல்ல உள்ளங்களுக்கு நன்றி. நிகழ்ச்சியை நேரில் பார்த்த உணர்வை ஏற்படுத்தி விட்டீர்கள். யேசுதாஸ் ஏன் இப்படி சொதபிட்டாரு?

கோபம் மற்றும் பொறாமையின் உச்சத்தில் தத்தளித்து கொண்டிருக்கிறேன்.. நானெல்லாம் ராஜா ரசிகன் என்று சொல்லவே வெட்கமாக இருக்கிறது. அத்தனை சிரமங்களுக்கு இடையிலும் ராஜாவை சப்போர்ட் பண்ண நேரில் ஆஜரான அத்தனை பேருக்கும் என் வாழ்த்துகள்.

29th December 2011, 08:40 PM
Venkki, Karikaran kills songs on stage. Plus,Kasi isn't much to write home about to begin with. Yesterday, Karikaran sang Viswanathan Velai Venum on Asianet. MSV aavi ivarai mannikkavE mannikkAdhu.
paavi-paavi-paavi@paavi.com MSV usuroda thaane irukkaru?

29th December 2011, 08:53 PM
:( - nemba uNarchi vasa pattuttEn. But Karikaran paadinadhai kEttA kanfaarm suicide paNNi iruppAr...adhu enna dhaan aanandhamo sambandhamE illAma aalapanai paNNi sangadhi ellaam izhuthu, paattai kolai pandradhula. It is not your composition - you have no right to kill it. Nee compose panna paattai epdi vENumnA molest paNNikko. Don't touch aduthavan poNdATti :evil:

29th December 2011, 08:54 PM
paavi-paavi-paavi@paavi.com MSV usuroda thaane irukkaru?

Jai anna

Annan Flau does have a point about about Hriharan, he is "hopeless" on stage! Absolutley hopeless!

29th December 2011, 09:02 PM
I have seen many Hariharan concerts on stage via TV / DVD ..etc , (since I am not willing to spend any money for his shows) and trust me these shows are absolute horrors, ithula etho periya Micheal Jackson mathiri dance adi adi thaan paaduvaram :sigh2: He tries to improvise the originals tunes by highly suthapifying! :evil:

29th December 2011, 09:07 PM
iii) Raaja performing a 2 note song with just Sa and Ri
sari-yaana sariprise! Any more comments on this piece?

I really look fwd to listening it..

29th December 2011, 09:15 PM
Aren't these gimmicks though? 3 note song, 2 note song, next concertnu onnu irundhaa one note songA?

kameshratnam
29th December 2011, 09:32 PM
Hariharan has to be controlled and has to be shown his place.

Did anyone who attended the concert notice the following? Ir went to play the piano for the nee partha paravai ku oru Nandri and when he finished the song and came he and hariharan did speak and i saw hariharans expression on his face...he gave a stupid reason for which raaja reacted in the opposite..

The show as good for SPB and IR - that is all...

Chithra is very talented but somehow i am not convinced about her singing S Janaki's songs or rather any of the young uppuma singers singing it

Someone asked if 2004/5 or 2011 concert was better..both are 2 different genres and cannot be compered but 2004/5 concert paved the way for IR's concert

Some - ves of the show

Bad management of tickets..many people with children were sitting on the steps

Worst of all 500 and 750 tickets had no differentiation at all

kameshratnam
29th December 2011, 09:34 PM
MSV composed a song with 4 notes and hence IR did with 3 notes and it always a mark of a genius to beat what he himself did and i guess IR is in the same way.

29th December 2011, 09:44 PM
Aren't these gimmicks though? 3 note song, 2 note song, next concertnu onnu irundhaa one note songA?
Plum, no. Gimmicks will be if raja were to land on the stage via a flying capsule while rockets crack up from around in all directions and liquid nitrogen spread on stage.. what he has done with 3 or 2 notes are musical challenges that even top musicians will dare attempt.

29th December 2011, 09:48 PM
To add further Oil to the burning Fire :lol2:

I watched a concert on TV with Hariharan And Anuradha Sriram. His on stage singing was as suthapyfying as mano's off stage singing!, Hariharan was all over the place on stage, he went off shruti , then he was holding Anuradha Sriram's hand and dancing, I was like come on man, both of you are married :huh:

Any way

skr
29th December 2011, 09:51 PM
On 14th january, there will be one hour program on making, rehearsals and practise sessions of 'ENDRENDRUM RAJA' .15th and 16th , 2 and a half hrs telecast of all that happened in the live show.
Timings will be updated soon.

29th December 2011, 09:56 PM
@PARAM - I chided plum for saying MSV's aavi - no sane person on the planet would have a second opinion on hariharan's sodhappal singing in the name of improvisation. Idhula kaamedy innaana indha aalu oru TV programla singersa judge panraaraama..

29th December 2011, 10:22 PM
இதுதான் வாய்ப்பு என இங்கே ஹரியின் மேடை செயல்பாடுகளின் மீது துவேஷமா? ரஹ்மானின் தொடர் மேடைக் கச்சேரிகளில் இன்னும் தொடர்ந்து இடம் பெற்று வருபவர் ஹரி! அங்கே அவருக்கு எப்படி வெகுமதிகள் கிடைக்கின்றன என்பது சென்று பார்த்தவர்களுக்கு தெரிந்திருக்கும். மேடையில் பரிட்சார்த்த முயற்சிகள் செய்ய எல்லா இசைக் கலைஞர்களுக்கும் இடம் இருக்கிறது. அசலைப் போலவே கேட்கணும் என்றால் மேடை நிகழ்ச்சி எதற்கு? தாளத்திற்கு ஏற்ப சரியான இடத்தில் எடுக்காமல் சொதப்பினால் தவறுதான். போதிய அளவு முன்பயிற்சி இல்லாமல் ஹரி நேரிடையாக ஒரு வேளை வந்திருக்கக் கூடும். அதுவும் தவறே! ஆனால் ஹரியை மொத்தமாக நிராகரிக்கும் போக்கு சரியல்ல.

29th December 2011, 10:38 PM
Idhula kaamedy innaana indha aalu oru TV programla singersa judge panraaraama..

Jai anna

Athuku thaan intha mathiri Kaamedy ellam naan parthapthillai !

29th December 2011, 10:45 PM
தாளத்திற்கு ஏற்ப சரியான இடத்தில் எடுக்காமல் சொதப்பினால் தவறுதான்

Ithai patri thaan sonnEn, avar adikadi shruthi thavari padiya ondu!

போதிய அளவு முன்பயிற்சி இல்லாமல் ஹரி நேரிடையாக ஒரு வேளை வந்திருக்கக் கூடும். அதுவும் தவறே!

Ellorum thavaru purivathundo, aanal oru professional ah irunthu kondu makalidam kasu vaangi paadum pothu konjam aavathu Professional Ethics vendrum!

To sum it he is an "Overated" singer!

29th December 2011, 10:49 PM
இதுதான் வாய்ப்பு என இங்கே ஹரியின் மேடை செயல்பாடுகளின் மீது துவேஷமா? ரஹ்மானின் தொடர் மேடைக் கச்சேரிகளில் இன்னும் தொடர்ந்து இடம் பெற்று வருபவர் ஹரி! அங்கே அவருக்கு எப்படி வெகுமதிகள் கிடைக்கின்றன என்பது சென்று பார்த்தவர்களுக்கு தெரிந்திருக்கும்..

That is because ARR is the one who introduced him to TFI, though Hari recorded a song back in 1979!, besides to Sing ARR's song, one does not need much skills, as ARR will cover up singer's technicall fault with his excellent BGM.

Sureshs65
29th December 2011, 11:35 PM
Met SKR yesterday (To be honest he came a long way around to meet me. Thanks for that.) Could not meet KV as he was sitting on the opposite side to me. Also met Usha and Shankar. I went with Rajasaranam and Eagle. The concert was superb. It had it failings in terms of singers not up to mark or making mistakes but overall it was a terrific show. They have put in extraordinary effort for this show and it showed. (Pardon the unintended pun.)

The orchestra was terrific and the song selection was a surprise. My friends were of the opinion that many 90s popular songs would be sung. They didn't have much hope on early 80s. And 70s was unimaginable. But they were in for a terrific surprise. After the mandatory 'Janani Janani' and 'Amma Enrazhaikkaadha' came the first surprise. No one expected 'Naanaga Naanillai' and it saw SPB sing it with gusto. After a brief 'Idhyam Pogudhe' came 'Paruvame'. Again a song people didn't expect in this program. 'en iniya pon nilave' was the next surprise, though some were expecting it based on some leaked clip. Then came 'Kanmaniye Kadhal Enbadhu' followed by 'Ayiram Malargale Malarungal' which had hubber 'Eagle' exclaim ecstatically "Wow, what song selection". And when 'Putham Pudhu Kaalai', 'Chinna Kannan azhaikkiraan', 'Vizhiyile Malarndhadhu' followed, his cup was spilling over and he commented, "Someone seems to have accessed the songs I listen to at night and made this playlist!!!" For me the most unexpected song was 'Oru Raagam Paadalodu'. It is a favorite song of mine but I would never have dreamt that they would have included it in this program. But include they did.

I personally feel that they did a good job in the way they structured the playlist. The more unexpected songs happened in the first half and in the later half, when people would be more tired, they included most of the tried and tested songs, 'sundari kannaal', 'madai thirandhu', 'ilangkaathu veesudhe' etc. That ensured the audience attention was kept intact upto midnight.

Coming to the inclusion of 'en mana vaanil' song, I too was of the same opinion as Plum. A friend sitting next to me remarked, 'this is a S A Rajkumar tune'. Eagle wasn't impressed and said, "no way. this has lot of work". It was only during the interludes and when Hariharan started singing the charanams I noticed what a remarkable song it was. I have never given it any time of the day and have always thought it was mediocre song but I now changed my opinion. The way the tune moves in the charanams and the energy the tune carries are amazing. And as Eagle perinently pointed out, "This song is supposed to be sung by a blind poor man. Not by some sophisticated fellow". With this background the song makes perfect sense.

All the while I was thinking of our fellows hubbers, especially app_eng and V_S as the songs featured are their favorite ones. I am sure they would have thoroughly enjoyed the program.

From my side, I wish there were a couple of more songs from the 2000s. 'Virumandi', 'Mumbai Express', 'Naan Kadavul' could have been my choices but given that 5 hrs is just too short for inclusion of everyones favorite, I think Subhasree and Jaya TV folks did a terrific job. Kudos to them for having the confidence in Raja fans and going ahead and choosing some lovely songs and not peppering the program with speeches or trying to fit in 'peppy' numbers.

Overall an excellent experience. Will probably write more about the experience in my blog soon.

baroque
30th December 2011, 01:02 AM
Hariharan has done mistakes during ARR concert too.

I remember one concert in san jose area , at Cow palace ,Oakland, during last decade, it was my first live ARR concert at San Jose, Hari made some mistake.

என் பையன் ரொம்ப சின்னவன், loves ரஹ்மான் songs , same time எல்லோரும் சத்தம் போட்டா பயப்படுவான்... so கடைசியா நின்னு concert கேக்க வைச்சோம்.:-D

so .. accurate ஆ சொல்லவில்லை என்றால் - ஹரி, ரஹ்மான் all என்னை மன்னிக்கவும்.

போயிட்டு போறது ஹரி... next time நன்னா பாடுங்கோ!

Bala sang Roja composition in tamil and hindi stanzas alternatively.
பாலா's ரோஜா song delivery பசுமையாக நினைவில் இருக்கு!:thumbsup:

anyway...
Keep/remember the good ones always....:ty:

Amazing concert , it was!

Vinatha.

30th December 2011, 06:11 AM
the problem is - he makes mistakes for only thamizh songs in south indian concerts..
oru ghazal farmaishla manushan ivvlo thappu pannuvaaraannu paarpom. mudhugula ton tonnaa tin kattuvaanga.

kameshratnam
30th December 2011, 08:03 AM
Mano sings very well in concerts. I Have heard him so many times. He has sung so many songs for IR. Mano was raaaja's pet singer..

Singers in the name of getting freedom of expression to sing try to improvise

Do u all remember how hariharan sodafied - Enna Solli paduvatho and also katril oru geethame

30th December 2011, 09:09 AM
R.Balki demonstrating the significance of Ilaiyaraaja's background score in a scene is the high-point of the concert for me

You can listen to what R.Balki did in the concert, here

http://www.backgroundscore.com/2011/12/tamil-film-background-scores-2011.html

skr
30th December 2011, 09:54 AM
Checked out Kaalai Mazhar programme on Jaya TV from 830am to 9am - Violinist Shri Embar Kannan interview. He had a lot to speak on Maestro.

He said IR's music cannot be explained in words and can only be experienced. He said its a 'Periya Bhagyam' for him to be playing for Maestro.
Also said , that he finished schooling in 1991 and the 1st movie which he saw after school was Thalapathy.
He said he performed in Raaja's house during 'Golu' in 1989 , which was watched very closely by Raaja Sir.
He had asked IR that he would love to record with him for which IR remarked 'Cheri Kanna Vandhudu' :)
He was also stressing on the fact that how recordings used to be so much of fun in Prasad studios where there used to be 25 violins , 8 violas , 4 Cellos , singers where everyone will be together in one place and the recording happens in Unison.
His first solo in Maestro's music was for the film 'Mogamul'.

30th December 2011, 11:45 AM
@PARAM - I chided plum for saying MSV's aavi - no sane person on the planet would have a second opinion on hariharan's sodhappal singing in the name of improvisation. Idhula kaamedy innaana indha aalu oru TV programla singersa judge panraaraama..

Being trained in classical music and a highly accomplished ghazal singer, nobody can question his vocal prowess. But I feel HH is normally up in his elements while singing free flowing tunes, say in a Rahman show, esp in songs like vennilave vennilave or malargaLe or UdhYa Udhaya . He seems a little out of comfort zone in rigid tunes of Raja and that is pretty evident on stage shows.

kameshratnam
30th December 2011, 01:23 PM
I asked Ms. Subashree thanikachalam as to why no other singers except chithra could not perform on the stage: I asked her about Jency and Sujatha

Kamesh Bavaratnam jency came and tried rehearsals but she was out of touch with stage, the other singer, no comments. I basicaly feel, excvept for big singers like janaki amma, suseela amma and othrs, these thukkadas who were in the field because of the maestro should volunteer to sing for raja. Chitra ma broke her silence only because raja sir asked her to sing. thats her tribute to raja sir and gratitude. why talk of others?? the show is for Raja sir ans everything else should take back seat

30th December 2011, 01:34 PM
Sujatha owes her resurgence to Rahman and might not feel any gratitude to Raja for introducing her. Which is understandable atleast to me. Chitra OTOH, respects Raja like he were God, and owes a lot to him. As for Hariharan, trained classical all fine but it is not just Raja's rigid tunes he butchers - I took the example of MSV's Viswanathan and Baroque spoke about his kolai in Rahman's show. The man simply is a molester of others' tunes. Deserves to be jailed for that :evil: - even SPB does that in Telugu shows sometimes but thankfully not to Raja's tunes. He has too much awe for Raja to attempt that. Singers imnsho, should only kaal amukkify not karutthu sollify. Composers are the Gods. Singers are just messengers - do not attempt to play God.

30th December 2011, 02:08 PM
I've seen quite a number of ARR's concert (TV/DVDs), and Hariharan is not perfect there, in the effort to get into the groove, and do the move, he sothapifies. Worst is his pronunciation. "NilA kAgirathu" :banghead:

30th December 2011, 02:19 PM
Yeah, he molested "Nilaa Kaigiradhu" and "UyirE" in that Asianet series as well.

raagas
30th December 2011, 02:20 PM
Plum is right! actually SPB also does what Hariharan does, probably to a lesser degree, but in similar dimension. Only difference is that SPB doesnt do it in Raaja's songs. For all other composers' songs, he is almost same as hariharan.

Hariharan's gimmicks are composer agnostic. He does it for his own compositions, other composers' songs.. What is surprising is that Raaja didnt make Hariharan to re-sing the whole thing again. Raaja made even Yesudas sing again, when he made mistakes, but Raaja lets hariharan off the hook! Why raaja why!!! :-(

30th December 2011, 03:19 PM
Being trained in classical music and a highly accomplished ghazal singer, nobody can question his vocal prowess. But I feel HH is normally up in his elements while singing free flowing tunes, say in a Rahman show, esp in songs like vennilave vennilave or malargaLe or UdhYa Udhaya . He seems a little out of comfort zone in rigid tunes of Raja and that is pretty evident on stage shows.

Mano is also trained in Classical/ghazel , but listen to his singing :huh:

30th December 2011, 03:27 PM
Yes, I agree that SPB also tries to improvise non IR songs on stage, but he is a master at that, and he has never ever gone off shruthi!

Recently I watched a SPB+ARR concert, where SPB did his gimmicks when he sang Kadhal roajave / Roja jaaneman, no one could notice the difference from the Original track to the one on stage! For the likes of SPB/KJY I can understand that they may have forgotten certain tunes, as they have been singing for almost 5 decades! so mistakes can be understood! But for some one like Hari, it is not acceptable! Like Jai anna mentioned he never makes any mistakes during Hindi concerts, he makes mistakes only in Tamil!

30th December 2011, 03:31 PM
I've seen quite a number of ARR's concert (TV/DVDs), and Hariharan is not perfect there, in the effort to get into the groove, and do the move, he sothapifies. Worst is his pronunciation. "NilA kAgirathu" :banghead:

If you talk about pronunciation he is not "exactly" the worst culprit compared to Udit Narayan, I think ARR made mistake by introducing these singers to TFI in the process of "introducing new talents" :(

BTW, even KJY had an issue with Tamil pronunciation those days :lol2: :yessir:

K
30th December 2011, 03:42 PM
http://pesalamblogalam.blogspot.com/2011/12/blog-post_30.html

vel
30th December 2011, 04:17 PM

Even if you think it were gimmicks, i would say 'well why not?' Nothing wrong in showing (proving) how the 7 notes can be flexibly (and sparingly!) used even though Raaja was still not compromising on the melody. It was not a mere academic exercise but had lot of music sense to it...The actual message one should takeaway is that this monstrous talent would need even bigger challenges to get him motivated, going forward!

vel
30th December 2011, 05:21 PM
thanks Narayanan for sharing part - I, here is the next

16) Edho Mogam - Kozhi Koovudhu - surprising only around 40% of the audience recognized the song when the first 30 seconds of the strings prelude was playing ! Then the applause was thundering & complete when the actual tune is played after 30 seconds or so. Karthik sang it effortlessly. I think apart from the strings magic, the chorus harmony work was outstanding…the harmony guys did fantastic backing ! Ageless song performed to full satisfaction ! ....another paisa vasool performance (#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

17) Madai Thirandhu - Nizhalgal – a balu thunder all the way….all the lines where the maestro is referred to (e.g. pudhu ragam padaipadhaale nanum iravane, OR isaikena irunkindra rasigargal etc), Balu threw a knowing glance appreciatively to Raaja and also the audience cheered out aloud….the second interlude harmonium bit was not accurately reproduced – may be because the original sound was by Raaja himself playing on his best friend – his harmonium ! Tough to reproduce …Overall this was SPB extravaganza all the way !! ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

18) Oru Raagam Paadalodu - Anandha Ragam – a gem of a selection – caught me by surprise that someone thought of including this rarely played number. KJY took us all to heaven with that blessed divine voice of his! (#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

19) Sundari Neeyum - Michael Madhana Kamarajan - grapevine has it that Kamal was supposed to sing this one along with two other numbers (ninaivo oru paravai and raja kaiyya vacha). Anyways, Haricharan did not disappoint. …a regular performance! I would have rather had them perform “vachalum vakkaama ponaalum” instead of this song….that would have been a feast ! ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

20) Naan Thedum Sevvanthi - Dharma Pathini – Given the heavy heavy expectations that the audience always has on the prelude alaap that Raaja sings, one could see some traces of restlessness on Raaja’s face as he settled down to start the song….it was a cakewalk as usual for him and as usual audience wanted “once more”…this time they didn’t get a repeatu ! ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

21) Gum Sum Gum - Paa – the hungary troupe came into play for this one…..Bhava sang this song and she managed to sail through the high pitched portions with some effort. The chorus too could have been more pronounced and accentuated. Could have been much better than what it was. ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

22) Aayiram Thamarai - Alaigal Oyvathillai – first time this was played, the mirudhangam sound in the prelude was not audible at all….then it as played again….though technically the mirudhangam notes were reproduced as per the original, the recreated sound was not the same as the original. It was sounding a bit different. Anyways, the song made splendid connection with the audience who were clapping along happily. Youthful SPB !! Racing strings portions !! The hungary
orchestra guys were perplexed at the complicated soundscape that this song has ! Paarthukongada, idhu dhaan enga Raaja ! ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

23) Poongathave - Nizhalgal – God knows why don’t composers use Uma Raman’s voice anymore. The golden pair from the original Deepan chaks and Uma sang this song superbly. Deepan especially sang it effortlessly. Perfect work by the orchestra. ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

24) Sundari Kannal - Thalapathy – magnum opus. We already know this will be a clear winner and it was. Grand to listen this one being performed live. ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

25) Ilangaathu Veesudhey – Pithamagan – Sriram parthasarathy at some places forgot that this is supposed to be light music. I think Raaja corrected him quickly during the interludes by telling in his ears not go too carnatic’ish and to keep it plain. Nice open throated singing anyways ! ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

26) En Mana Vaanil - Kaasi – while Hariharan sang the song, Raaja maimed in action throughout the lyrics. For the line ‘manamullor ennai paarpaar, manadhinal avarai parpen’ he pointed to the audience. The lyrics match Raaja so perfectly describing his rightful place (maaligai vaasam) he deserves and what he actually got (mara nizhal nesam) ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

27) Raja Kaiya Vacha - Aboorva Sagotharargal and 28) Ninaivo Oru Paravai - Sigappu Rojakkal – both sung by Yuwan. When Prakash asked what he could emulate from his father, he said he learnt about dedication from his father. BTW whose lousy idea was it to make him mimic like Kamal …thevaiya idhu? Usually Raaja pulls Yuvan’s legs on all shows, but he was merely watching his son adoringly like any proud father ! ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

29) Idhu Oru Nila Kaalam - Tik Tik Tik – Harmony people outstanding ! Who is that fattie who sung the ‘nagirdhana thiranana’? he got special applause from the audience. Reeta made full use of the opportunity she got and she sung this one beautifully with lot of feel. ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

30) Vacha Paarvai Theerathadi - Ilamai Kolam – Prakash raj introduced this song as a kuthu song. More than kuthu song, I would have personally wanted more folk numbers in this program. Folk genre was totally underrepresented in this concert playlist! Ok anyway, nice energetic performance by KJY ! ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

31) Kaattukuyil - Thalapathy – this was not just a performance. It was a phenomenon. SPB+KJY+Raaja as well joining towards the end. The percussions boomed thundersouly ! The emotional bonding between the three legends came to the fore. Spell binding performance for the class as well as the mass. ………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

32) Kannan Oru – Bhadrakali – interesting to note that this was originally composed for a drama troupe and was a song meant for lord muruga! Raaja sang those original lines much to the delight of the audience. Few interesting tidbits were discussd…It seems while recording this song, the orchestra made plenty of mistakes and also KJY recalled distributing sweets to all as it was Gokulashtami that day…………(#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

33) Ilamai Idho Idho - Sakalakala Vallavan (last song to end the event) ………there wont be another SPB….there wont be another Raaja…..you dont get to see such a powerful orchestra ensemble...nothing more to say on this song and the performance ! One cannot imagine any other song to be a fitting finish, as the year 2011 draws to a close. Thanks to Subashree thanikachalam for making this dream show happen (#endrendrum raaja chronicle)

Idha pathi ezhudhavae kanna kattudhe....idhai practise panni perform panradhu evlo kastamda saami ! I will write on some "out of the box" performance in part III

San_K
30th December 2011, 07:11 PM
let me try :)

1) Idhayam Oru Kovil (Idhayak Kovil) - always my sweeeety and quite underratted here (hub)
2) Eeramana Rojave (Ilamai Kalangal) - same
3) Idhu Oru Nila Kaalam (Tik Tik Tik) - should be an awesome song for a concert
4) Raaja Raajathi intha Raaja (Akni Natchathram) - purely for his fans and what a beats
5) Maalaiyil Yaaro (Sathriyan) - for Swarnalatha
6) Kodai Kaala Kaatre (Panneer Pushpangal) - for Malayasis Vasudevan
7) Ilamai Idho Idho (Sakalakala Vallavan) - an evergreen fresh song
8) Rakkamma Kaiya thattu (Dhalapathi) - no words
9) Mella Mella (Vazhkai) - wov song
10) Adiye Manam Nilluna (Neengal Kettavai) - sure crowd will dance

Song number 1, 3 and 7 were in the concert :D. Not bad prediction by me :lol:

30th December 2011, 08:31 PM
tunela ennanga rigid, free appdinnuttu?
tune is a tune - avlo dhaan. either u know it and can sing it well to improvise or you dont know it well that your improvisations are not distinguishable from ignorant abaswarams..
I find it perplexing that he should do this consistently ...

vel
30th December 2011, 09:53 PM
tunela ennanga rigid, free appdinnuttu?
tune is a tune - avlo dhaan. either u know it and can sing it well to improvise or you dont know it well that your improvisations are not distinguishable from ignorant abaswarams..
I find it perplexing that he should do this consistently ...

Adhane?

Thaviravum if 'nee paartha' and 'en mana vaanil' etc are not free flowing what else is? Kadavulae....

Romba simple annae....Eppavume "high spirits'la" irundha ippadi thaan aagum !

kameshratnam
30th December 2011, 10:16 PM
to hear what IR talks about symphony please come here to facebook and listen the audio file

become a member of the Raja fans community..sorry i cud not get the you tube link

http://www.facebook.com/groups/IlayaRajafans/

kameshratnam
30th December 2011, 10:34 PM
i have made the first part of it with the cellos and violins - http://soundcloud.com/kameshratnam/idhayam-poguthey-ir-concert

The guitar piece of the song will follow

kameshratnam
30th December 2011, 10:53 PM
yuvan sings in the concert

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Va0fYpoGUA&feature=youtu.be

skr
30th December 2011, 10:55 PM
My Raaja picks of 2011

Album of the Year : Sneha Veedu
Song of the Year : Sri Rama Lera ( Sri Rama Rajyam)
Find of the Year : Vandhaale Allipoo (Kann Sivanthal Mann Sivakkum)

San_K
30th December 2011, 11:05 PM
A small tidbit though not sure it is true :)

http://www.maamallan.com/2011/12/blog-post_18.html

rajaramsgi
31st December 2011, 06:39 AM
ராஜாவுக்காக யுவனின் சேட்டைகளை மன்னிக்கலாம் :-) பெருசு படுத்தாதீங்க.

வயசாகிடுசுன்னு யேசுதாசை மன்னிக்கலாம். ஆனா...ஹரியுடன் நான் ப்ரோக்ராம்ல ஹரிஹரன் கொஞ்ச நஞ்ச கூத்தா அடிச்சார்? இப்போ அவர் பாடும்போது தடுக்கி விலுந்துட்டாரே.

ராஜா தன்னுடைய துக்கத்தை மறந்து நம்ம சந்தோஷப்படுத்த வந்து இருக்கிறார் என்கிற அர்த்தத்தில் கமல் சொன்னது ரொம்ப சரியான விஷயம். (நான் கமல் ரசிகன் இல்லை. ஆனால், அன்பே சிவம் கமல் கமல் பற்றிய என்னுடைய அபிப்ராயங்களை மாற்றி விட்டது. ராஜா, அன்பே சிவம் பார்த்து இருப்பாரென்றால், இந்த படத்திற்கு நாம் இசை அமைக்க வில்லை என்று ஏங்கி இருக்கக்கூடும். saary paar the cross talk..)

ம்ம்.. நிகழ்ச்சிக்கு போனவங்க இன்னும் எழுதுங்க..

31st December 2011, 10:53 AM
Vel.. superb.. padicha udane :cry: :D

31st December 2011, 11:17 AM
[QUOTE=vel;792557]Adhane?

Thaviravum if 'nee paartha' and 'en mana vaanil' etc are not free flowing what else is? Kadavulae....

Kaasi albume enna porutha varai heard couple of times and forgotten for ever. Aana ippa thaan inga oruthar "en mana vaanil" ellaam IR standarda befit panra tune-ae illaingaraar , neenga ennadaannaa idha poi free flowingnu romba thaan mechikareenga ! ennamo ponga

31st December 2011, 11:47 AM
Mano is also trained in Classical/ghazel , but listen to his singing :huh:
True, but still compari Hari with Mano is unacceptable. Forget live shows. Mano squandered the golden opportunity Raja gave him in "then mozhi" and "mouname"[en jeevan paaduthu" to prove his mettle in Hindustani/ghazal . I dont remember ANY instance of Hari messing with those kind of songs esp in recordings , be it uDHAYA uDHAYA OR NILA KAIGIRADHU or even POONKAATRE KONJAM under IR's OWN.
Podhum enga velvet kuraloan HHai pathi innoru varthai sonna nadakkaradhe vera

San_K
31st December 2011, 12:17 PM
The real strength of En Mana Vaanil song is its Fabulous interludes. Even we raaja fans have "oru kannil vennai oru kannil sunnambu" thought towards his songs

San_K
31st December 2011, 12:27 PM
just listened Vennilavu kothippathenna. Mano oralavu nallathane paadi irukkar. Why this kolaveri

vel
31st December 2011, 01:02 PM
[QUOTE=vel;792557]Adhane?

Kaasi albume enna porutha varai heard couple of times and forgotten for ever. Aana ippa thaan inga oruthar "en mana vaanil" ellaam IR standarda befit panra tune-ae illaingaraar , neenga ennadaannaa idha poi free flowingnu romba thaan mechikareenga ! ennamo ponga

madam HH'oda rana-kodura visirinnu (thámizh word for hardcore fan) bagirangama theriyudhu.....Aaana onnu...HH coming to a concert so grossly underprepared is embarassing to say the least!

And you may still want to have a serious re-look at your benchmark for defining what amounts to a free flowing tune ....But since you said ""enna porutha varai, "" well for each, her own, ....Nadakattum Nadakattum !! Naan Jute !