South Indian Sambar
Topic started by Mani (@ dialup-63.208.113.191.weehawken1.level3.net) on Sat Jul 15 17:07:29 .
All times in EST +10:30 for IST.
Hi all,
Can anyone give me the receipe for the typical south indian samabar (arachu vitta samabar). Though I am preparing it well, would like to confirm on the ingradients used.
Responses:
on: Mon Jul 17 07:13:21 EDT 2000
Ingredients:
10 Spoons (tea) Dhaniya
1 spoon Channa Dal (kadalai paruppu)
1/2 spoon Vendhiyam
fry all three seperately in oil and grind together with 8 red chillies (long ones), 2 tea spoons coconut. Grid to a fine paste.
This replaces your Sambhar podi. for Vengaya Sambhar, add 1/4 portion of vengayam (onion) while grinding.
The above is for 300 ml of sambhar (3 tumblers)
on: Mon Jul 17 11:19:55 EDT 2000
º¢È¢Ð ¦ÀÕí¸¡Âõ §º÷ì¸×õ.
on: Tue Aug 21 07:30:28
how to prepare Gopi manchurian
- From: priya (@ dialup-63.215.152.128.dial1.washington1.level3.net)
on: Tue Aug 21 19:04:16
Hai Anu,
For GOpi manchurian...
Cut the cauli flower and capsicum into small pieces..r as u wish..
Mix 1 tsp of corn flour, 1 tsp of mida, a pinch of turmeric powder,a little chillies powder and a little salt with the cut pieces.
The mixer should be dry and cover all the pieces with this mixture.
Deep fry these pieces.
For gravy,
Fry musdard, jeera, a little spices, onion, chillies, ginger and garlic paste in oil. the add the fried cauliflower pieces to this.
Pour a little water, add chillie powder,turmeric powder, salt, a little kesari powder, tomato sauce, lemon juice and soya sauce to it.
Heat it for some time.
Now u will get tasty gobi manchurian.. serve it with chapathi.
- From: priya (@ dialup-63.215.152.128.dial1.washington1.level3.net)
on: Tue Aug 21 19:09:55
Hai mani,
Instead of sambar powder u prepare this paste and add.
1 tsp of kadalai paruppu,
1 tsp of thuvaram paruppu,
2 tsp of dhanniya,
a pinch of perungayam,
a little curry leaves,
a little jeera,
5 to 8 millagai vatral.
fry all these ingridents and grind it into a paste. Add this paste to sambar before adding tamarind water.
on: Thu Sep 13 17:58:48
http://family27.homestead.com/files/sambaar.html
CHeck this for sambaar receipe
CitiZen
on: Fri Jul 4 11:58:12
kINDLY SEND ME FULL RECIPE FOR GOPI MANCHURIAN
on: Tue Jul 8 07:30:40 EDT 2003
CAULIFLOWER (gobi) MANCHURIAN
Ingredients:
1 cauliflower, cut into small flowerets
3-4 green chilies
1 bunch of green onions or shallots
A bunch of coriander leaves
3 flakes garlic, crushed finely
4-5 flakes garlic, chopped
2 tbsp lemon juice
Little piece of ginger, crushed finely
3 tbsp chapathi flour
3 tbsp corn flour
Salt to taste
Oil for deep frying the cauliflower
2 tbsp butter for making the sauce
2 tsp red chili powder
1 tsp soya sauce
Method:
1. Make a batter out of the 2 tbsp corn flour and all the chapathi flour. To this, add crushed ginger, garlic, red chili powder, salt, cumin seeds, lemon juice, 1/2 tsp soya sauce and coriander leaves.
2. Dip the cauliflower flowerets in it and fry till golden brown in color. Drain and keep aside.
To make the sauce:
1. Dissolve the remaining corn flour in 1-2 tbsp of water. Add the remaining soya sauce, salt, chili sauce to the corn flour mixture and mix well. Keep it aside.
2. Heat butter in a frying pan and add chopped green chilies, chopped garlic, chopped green onions and stir-fry for about 5-6 minutes.
3. Then add the above prepared corn flour paste and lower the heat. The sauce will begin to thicken and when it is thick enough, take it from the fire and pour it over the fried flowerets.
4. Garnish with coriander leaves and serve hot.
SO Jaya, Hope this is the recipie you are looking for..good lucki
on: Wed Jul 9 01:50:16 EDT 2003
Why do you all mix the receipies? In sambaar thread your talking about Gobi Manchurian. Why not you open a new thread. It'll be useful to everyone.
on: Mon Aug 4 05:43:02 EDT 2003
my friend. this is not gopi. it should be gobi.
gopi is a persons name
gopi
on: Thu Sep 11 03:18:41
Can any one send me the preparation method for Sambar and Puli Kolambu
on: Tue Nov 4 16:38:55
can any one send me a sambar recepie with fresh smabhar masala. i dont want to add samabr masala which we get ready made in market. so if anyone knows pls do send it to me
on: Tue Nov 4 16:39:24 EST 2003
can any one send me a sambar recepie with fresh smabhar masala. i dont want to add samabr masala which we get ready made in market. so if anyone knows pls do send it to me
on: Tue Nov 4 22:21:38 EST 2003
Hello Darshana,
You may try the following link and prepare sambar to your heart's content.
http://www.hemant-trivedis-cookery-corner.com/rsd/udipi-sambar-2.html
http://www.hemant-trivedis-cookery-corner.com/powder/sambar-powder.html
on: Wed Nov 5 23:46:04 EST 2003
hello hemant i am not south indian so i cant understand many of the ingredients can u help me out in this case??
on: Wed Nov 5 23:46:15 EST 2003
hello hemant i am not south indian so i cant understand many of the ingredients can u help me out in this case??
on: Wed Nov 5 23:46:21 EST 2003
on: Wed Nov 5 23:47:04 EST 2003
i want to know how to prepare rassam??
on: Thu Nov 6 02:44:22 EST 2003
Hello Darshana,
The only thing you may not understand is Thorma Parappu. Gujarati for that is Tuvar Daal, rest of the names you can understand.
If you still have difficulty, the website has glossary. Click on thatbutton. You will get all names .
There are many Rasam recipes also there.
on: Thu Nov 6 09:45:00 EST 2003
thank you very much hemant
on: Sat Nov 15 01:21:50 EST 2003
Dear darshana,
U can maje fresh sambar with the following incredients.
Cooconut, jeera, small onion, red chillies, garlic, and danya.
Grind all the above together to a smmoth paste and pour into the cooked vegetables and allow to
boil till the raw smell goes. Then finally add the tamirand juice and the thoran paruppu(cooked).
Rest the same.
Shakuntala
on: Mon Nov 17 23:36:53 EST 2003
Hi mani,
my mum (ashta grama iyers, near kolar)has given me this recipe... hope you all like it.
2 tsp of kadalai paruppu,
2 tsp of ulthum paruppu,
3 tsp of dhaniya,
1/4 tsp jeera
a pinch of perungayam,
1/4 cup of thengai thuruval,(u can use the dried coconut- grate it)
1/4 tsp of khus khus
4-5 black pepper seeds (optional)
5/6 (red) millagai vattal.
1/2 slit onions (optional - tastes nice if you like it)
fry all the above in one tea spoon of oil. and grind it.
cook in a pressure cooker veg (like beans and carrot or use only peerkangai (i think called as ridge gourd, i am not sure) or use only podalangai (snake gourd) or use sorakai (bottle gourd)and thuvar dhal together and keep aside.
take a kadai put oil, season with mustard seeds, karuvapilai, and 2 small pcs of red dried chillies and 1 tomato (cut into small pcs) then add cooked veg and dhal and add masala and cook for few minutes.
sambhar ready.
if you feel like pls try it and give me the feed back.
thanks
on: Sun Apr 4 09:28:14
this will be useful
http://www.sysindia.com/kitchen/visitors/sambhar/18.html
on: Tue Apr 13 09:06:24 EDT 2004
pls send me samsung rigtoon
- From: abha nigam (@ dialup-4.231.109.230.dial1.houston1.level3.net)
on: Tue Sep 21 11:22:38
can any one help me "how to make kulche channe" this is north indian dish and it is very famous in delhi and haryana and other up state.
Tell your friend about this topic
Want to post a response?
Back to the Forum