what is kasoori methi? anyone?
Topic started by kavi (@ 213.78.72.60) on Fri Aug 29 12:43:11 .
All times in EST +10:30 for IST.
Responses:
- From: someone (@ adsl-64-108-207-73.dsl.chcgil.ameritech.net)
on: Fri Aug 29 14:22:13 EDT 2003
hai Kavi
Kasoori methi means dried fenugreek(methi) leaves .Its used to add to for gravies &non juicy
vegies also add to dough formaking indian foods.
its available in indian groceries
- From: someone (@ adsl-64-108-207-73.dsl.chcgil.ameritech.net)
on: Fri Aug 29 14:23:53 EDT 2003
typo
add flovour for gravies.
on: Sat Aug 30 04:36:53 EDT 2003
Mix and knead kasoori methi with wheat flour to make methi parantha (incase fresh mEthi is not available)
add lil chillies or chilli powder, salt.
on: Sat Aug 30 12:45:43 EDT 2003
Kasoori methi gets its name from Kasuer in Pakistan. Try using the dry kasuri methi leaves from Pakistan. The aroma and taste are simply heavenly. Before using this methi, wash and soak them in water for a while. Apart from use in rotis you can use them as garnishing on veggies, esp. gobi alu.
on: Wed Jun 9 12:03:27
hai
I want to know more about kasuri methi and please
let me know in which indian city or town is growen
heavily, and I want to know more about the trade
please let me know
thanking you
suresh babu.v
bangalore
080 36717153
on: Wed Jun 9 12:03:56 EDT 2004
hai
I want to know more about kasuri methi and please
let me know in which indian city or town is growen
heavily, and I want to know more about the trade
please let me know
thanking you
suresh babu.v
bangalore
080 36717153
on: Thu Oct 21 05:49:43
Respected Sir,
I want to know more about kasuri methi please .
I was working in CFTRI Resource Centre at Ludhiana (Hq: At Mysore). We did carry out research work on kasoori methi (samples were procured from Nagaur (Rajasthan) from different orchard and mandi and also visited MDH Factory at Nagaur and brought the same (including some informations also). Though I do understand, after literature survey, Kasaur pind in Pakisthan, the main originator of Kasoori methi, a little more, about the origin and especially nomenclaure and anyother place it is groving or can grow especially in India. Because two seed-sample of the same methi brought from Nagaur were grown at Ludhian, but the very essence/flavour was not even in traces....Please do write?
RC SEHGAL
0191-2 57 20 02-293 EXTN.
Tell your friend about this topic
Want to post a response?
Back to the Forum