Question about getting sprouts
Topic started by R (@ bgp530243bgs.ebrnsw01.nj.comcast.net) on Mon Dec 29 07:24:59 EST 2003.
All times in EST +10:30 for IST.
Hi all,
Can anyone tell me what are all the grains that we can get sprouts ? Because with kabuli channa or black channa, it seems tobe difficult to sprout unlike whole green gram.
Also, everytime, I face this problem. Sometimes, if I put it in a ziploc bag or airtight container, the sprouts are coming nicely. Some other times, if I tied with a cloth, nothing worked out, why this is happening ?
Any perfect way is there to make sprouts rather than changing one by one..
Thanks and Bye
Responses:
on: Mon Dec 29 11:07:26 EST 2003
Hi R,
I usually make sprouts from Moong dal or moth dal.
I soak the dal over night in a steel vessel. In the morning I drain away the water. Then I cover the vessel with a lid and sprinkle a few drops of water on the sprouts twice a day. The sprouts come out very well for me this way.
on: Mon Dec 29 11:26:25 EST 2003
thanks aarthi, will try your way.
By the way, do u have any idea, which is the beginning age, we can start giving sprouts to the kids ?
on: Mon Dec 29 11:38:44 EST 2003
Hi R,
I am really not sure. I think well cooked sprouts can be given after 1.5 years.
on: Mon Dec 29 12:14:39 EST 2003
that is ok, thanks anyway, yaar.
on: Wed Dec 31 05:30:13 EST 2003
Dear R,
yOU Can make sprout from ragi,kambu,masoordal (whole).kondaikadalai & kollu also.
take any one of the above or combination of 2or 3you can make a sprout.
Wash it well and immersed in water for about 20 hrs.
drain it.
put it over the sieve.
keep this sieve in one container &close the lid.
with in 10 hrs you will get an excellent sprout.
on: Wed Dec 31 06:48:57 EST 2003
combination of grains-that did not strike to me at all, it is really a good idea.
Having sprouts in our food for elders-what do u think ? because, I heard that whole moong dhal is not good for people those who have arithritis! so, everytime, i make sprouts, I am in a confusion, whether to take or not, can u clear me up ?
Thank u and Bye
on: Wed Dec 31 11:20:37 EST 2003
Hello R!
Sprouted green grams which are half-cooked with a little salt is a fine food for the elder people who have heart problems. You must give them 4 TO 5 SPS for the breakfast. It is said that it must be given continuously for 40 days and then the blocking in the blood vessels will disappear.
on: Wed Dec 31 15:50:50 EST 2003
Mrs.Mano, that is a new info. to me. thanks anyway for clarifying.
- From: Vidya (@ adsl-64-166-159-204.dsl.snfc21.pacbell.net)
on: Fri Jan 23 18:18:51
Hi All
Does green gram sprouts can cause constipation in 2 yr old children?
on: Thu Jan 29 09:54:10 EST 2004
http://www.iomx.com
on: Tue Mar 16 18:07:55
I have been facing this problem. Whenever I try to make sprouts, except black channa and whole moong, rest of the grains are getting delayed,not only that, a kind of stickiness is forming at the end of the day. Why it is happening ?
Like, today, I tried making with kaaramani, a few sprouts has started coming, but again the stickiness, so have to trash them. Also, some smell occurs because of the stickiness.
I just want to know whether I am the only one who faces this prob., or is it a common one?
on: Sat Jul 31 15:53:38
hai,
i ve been trying to makw sprouted whole moong dal powder which somebody said very good for skin especially for infants. is it true?Do i have to follow the same procedure to sprout whole moong dal? please help.
sasi
Tell your friend about this topic
Want to post a response?
Back to the Forum